DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 7/27/2026:
Claims 1 and 3-19 are pending in the current application. Claim 2 is canceled.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the arguments.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because a new ground of rejection has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-11, 13, 15-16, and 19 are rejected as being unpatentable over Karner et al. WO-2019023666-A1 (hereinafter “Karner”), Fortier et al US-20180321325-A1 (hereinafter “Fortier”), Fukuda et al. US-20170077561-A1 (“Fukuda”), and Nitzani et al. US-20190165340-A1 (hereinafter “Nitzani”).
Regarding Claim 1, Karner discloses an intelligent battery power system (intelligent energy storage system) with per-cell monitoring of the battery cell operation (battery pack 200 is comprised of monoblocs 100 which may comprise one battery cell each with a monitor circuit disposed within) in Figs. 1 and 2 (see paragraphs [0004]-[0006] and [0021]) comprising:
a battery pack (battery containing monoblocs) 200 comprising a plurality of battery cell systems 100, each of said battery cell systems 100 comprising a battery cell housing 110 containing a battery monitoring system (BMS) (battery monitor circuit) 120 integrated with a battery cell 100 within the battery cell housing 110 in Figs. 1 and 2 (see paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0021], [0026], and [0036]);
wherein
the BMS 120 is both in signal communication with and physically collocated with the battery cell within the battery cell housing 110 (see paragraphs [0004], [0032], and [0036]);
the BMS 120 further includes a voltage sensor 130 and temperature sensor 140 each within the battery cell system 100 (see paragraphs [0004] and [0032]); and
the BMS 120 includes a processor 150 and a memory having a machine-readable medium having encoded thereon machine-executable instructions that cause the processor 150 to perform process steps in an operation of the BMS 120 in Figs. 1 and 2 (see paragraphs [0004], [0022], [0024], and [0032]) comprising:
measuring one or more of the voltage and temperature of the battery cell with the voltage sensor 130 and temperature sensor 140, respectively in Figs. 1 and 2 (see paragraphs [0022] and [0032]),
storing the measured values of voltage and/or temperature in the memory (see paragraphs [0004] and [0024]), and
transmitting (via transmitter) the stored measured values of the voltage, and/or temperature to a second battery management system (remote device) external to the cell housing 110 (see paragraphs [0004] and [0024]).
Karner is silent on wherein the BMS further includes a current sensor and a pressure sensor, both within the battery cell system, measuring a pressure of the battery cell with the pressure sensor, storing the measured values of current and pressure in the memory, and transmitting the stored measured values of the current and temperature to a second battery management system external to the battery cell housing.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery management systems (see abstract), Fortier discloses using sensors in each battery cell to measure pressure, current, temperature, and voltage and that measuring these parameters can help monitor a battery’s state of health and generate alarms to mitigate thermal runaway when these parameters are outside of a predetermined threshold in Fig. 11 (see paragraphs [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0010], and [0053]). Fortier further discloses reporting parameters at the individual cell-level is crucial for good cell performance and a long life cycle of the battery pack (see paragraph [0006]). As such, a skilled artisan would be motivated to incorporate current sensors and pressure sensors at the cell-level and monitor their values in the same way temperature and voltage are measured and stored in Karner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system of Karner the BMS further includes a current sensor and a pressure sensor, both within the battery cell system, measuring a pressure of the battery cell with the pressure sensor, storing the measured values of current and pressure in the memory, and transmitting the stored measured values of the current and temperature to a second battery management system external to the battery cell housing, as disclosed by Fortier, in order to mitigate thermal runaway and ensure good cell performance and a long life cycle of the battery pack.
Karner and Fortier are silent on wherein the pressure sensor is further configured to detect deformation of the battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery monitoring (see abstract), Fukuda discloses that a pressure sensor may be used on each battery cell to detect swelling of the battery cells so abnormalities of specific battery cells can be determined in Fig. 2 (see paragraphs [0011]-[0015] [0092]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate way to monitor a battery’s pressure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system of Karner and Fortier wherein the pressure sensor is further configured to detect deformation of the battery cell, as disclosed by Fukuda, as an appropriate way to monitor a battery for abnormalities.
Karner, Fortier, and Fukuda are silent on the BMS further including a protective material configured to inhibit adverse chemical interaction between the BMS and the battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of BMS systems (see abstract), Nitzani discloses coating the BMS with an insulated material to protect a circuit of the BMS from the rechargeable cells (see paragraph [0042]). A skilled artisan would recognize the importance of protecting the BMS so that it can continue to function properly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery system of Karner, Fortier, and Fukuda wherein the BMS further includes a protective material configured to inhibit adverse chemical interaction between the BMS and the battery cell, as disclosed by Nitzani, in order to protect a circuit of the BMS and maintain proper functionality.
Regarding Claim 3, Karner discloses the battery power system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Karner further discloses wherein
the BMS 120 further includes a first counter circuit (counter) (see paragraph [0039]), and
the BMS 120, in operation, is further configured to determine an age of the battery cell utilizing a preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell (first day of battery’s life) that is stored in the memory and the first counter circuit (see paragraphs [0016], [0039], [0075], and Claim 9).
The BMS 120 begins storing/transmitting data upon initial operation (see paragraph [0016]) and stores a history of the amount of time the battery has been in measured states, forming a battery operating history matrix (see paragraph [0039]) and further comprises a clock to measure the time (see paragraph [0037]). A skilled artisan would understand this system correlates to the age of the battery.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Karner discloses the battery power system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Karner is silent on wherein the BMS, in operation, is configured to transmit to the second battery management system and trigger a failure alarm upon the pressure sensor detecting an expansion of the battery cell.
However, Fortier discloses using sensors in each battery cell to measure pressure to help monitor a battery’s state of health and generate alarms if the pressure is outside of a predetermined threshold in Fig. 11 (see paragraphs [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0010], and [0053]). In the combination with Fukuda discussed above, the alarm would be triggered upon the pressure sensor detecting an expansion of the battery cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system of Karner wherein the BMS, in operation, is configured to transmit to the second battery management system and trigger a failure alarm upon the pressure sensor detecting an expansion of the battery cell, as disclosed by Fortier and Fukuda, in order to safely monitor the battery’s state of health.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Karner discloses the battery power system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Karner further discloses wherein the BMS 120 includes a transceiver 160 configured to communicate with a master controller (remote device for additional analysis) in Fig. 1 (see paragraphs [0032] and [0037]); and
the BMS 120, in operation, is configured to transmit one or more of the voltage, temperature, and/or state values derived therefrom, to the master controller (via the processor 150) (see paragraphs [0032] and [0037]). In the combination discussed in claim 1 above, this would also include measurements of current and pressure (from the disclosures of Fortier and Fukuda).
Regarding Claim 10, Karner discloses a method for monitoring a performance of a battery cell 100 in an intelligent battery power system (intelligent energy storage system) having a plurality of battery cell systems 100, each of said battery cell systems comprising a battery cell housing 110 containing a battery monitoring system (BMS) (battery monitor circuit) 120 integrated with a battery cell 100 within the battery cell housing 110 in Figs. 1 and 2 (see paragraphs [0004]-[0006], [0027]), the method comprising:
powering each of said BMS 120 directly with the battery cell 100 collocated with said BMS 120 within the battery cell housing 110 (see paragraph [0040]);
measuring a plurality of characteristics of the battery cell with a plurality of sensors 130/140 of the BMS 120 collocated with said BMS 120 within a common battery cell housing 110 (see paragraph [0032]);
generating state values from the measured plurality of characteristics with the BMS 120 utilizing a processor 150 integrated within the BMS 120 (see paragraph [0032]);
and transmitting the state values to a master controller (remote device for analysis) that is external to the intelligent battery power system and is in signal communication with the BMS 120 (see paragraph [0037]).
Karner is silent on wherein the plurality of characteristics comprise a current and a pressure of the battery cell and the plurality of sensors comprise a current sensor and a pressure sensor configured to detect deformation of the battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery management systems (see abstract), Fortier discloses using sensors in each battery cell to measure pressure, current, temperature, and voltage and that measuring these parameters can help monitor a battery’s state of health and generate alarms to mitigate thermal runaway when these parameters are outside of a predetermined threshold in Fig. 11 (see paragraphs [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0010], and [0053]). Fortier further discloses reporting parameters at the individual cell-level is crucial for good cell performance and a long life cycle of the battery pack (see paragraph [0006]). As such, a skilled artisan would be motivated to incorporate current sensors and pressure sensors at the cell-level and monitor their values in the same way temperature and voltage are measured in Karner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system of Karner wherein the plurality of characteristics comprise a current and a pressure of the battery cell and the plurality of sensors comprise a current sensor and a pressure sensor configured to detect deformation of the battery cell, as disclosed by Fortier, in order to mitigate thermal runaway and ensure good cell performance and a long life cycle of the battery pack.
Karner and Fortier are silent on wherein the pressure sensor is further configured to detect deformation of the battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery monitoring (see abstract), Fukuda discloses that a pressure sensor may be used on each battery cell to detect swelling of the battery cells so abnormalities of specific battery cells can be determined in Fig. 2 (see paragraphs [0011]-[0015] [0092]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate way to monitor a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system of Karner and Fortier wherein the pressure sensor is further configured to detect deformation of the battery cell, as disclosed by Fukuda, as an appropriate way to monitor a battery for abnormalities.
Karner, Fortier, and Fukuda are silent on the BMS further including a protective material configured to inhibit adverse chemical interaction between the BMS and the battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of BMS systems (see abstract), Nitzani discloses coating the BMS with an insulated material to protect a circuit of the BMS from the rechargeable cells (see paragraph [0042]). A skilled artisan would recognize the importance of protecting the BMS so that it can continue to function properly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery system of Karner, Fortier, and Fukuda wherein the BMS further includes a protective material configured to inhibit adverse chemical interaction between the BMS and the battery cell, as disclosed by Nitzani, in order to protect a circuit of the BMS and maintain proper functionality.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Karner discloses the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above). Karner further discloses measuring a plurality of characteristics of the battery cell including measuring a voltage produced by the battery cell with a voltage sensor 130, and measuring a temperature produced by the battery cell with a temperature sensor 140 (see paragraph [0032]), and
generating the state values further includes generating the state values from the measured voltage and temperature with the BMS utilizing the processor (see paragraph [0032]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Karner discloses the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above). Karner further discloses transmitting the state values to the master controller (remote device for additional analysis) includes wirelessly transmitting the state values from the BMS to the master controller (via the processor 150) with a wireless transceiver 160 at the BMS 120 (see paragraphs [0032] and [0037]).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Karner discloses the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above). Karner further discloses storing the measured plurality of characteristics of the battery cell in a memory on the BMS 120 (see paragraphs [0004], [0024], and [0032]).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Karner discloses the method of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above). Karner further discloses counting a time that the battery cell has been operational with a first counter circuit (counter) (see paragraph [0039]); and
determining an age of the battery cell utilizing a preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell (first day of battery’s life) that is stored in the memory and the counted time from the counter circuit (see paragraphs [0016], [0039], [0075], and Claim 9).
The BMS 120 begins storing/transmitting data upon initial operation (see paragraph [0016]) and stores a history of the amount of time the battery has been in measured states, forming a battery operating history matrix (see paragraph [0039]) and further comprises a clock to measure the time (see paragraph [0037]). A skilled artisan would understand this system correlates to the age of the battery.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Karner discloses the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above).
Karner is silent on wherein the BMS, in operation, is configured to transmit to the master control and trigger a failure alarm upon the pressure sensor detecting an expansion of the battery cell.
However, Fortier discloses using sensors in each battery cell to measure pressure to help monitor a battery’s state of health and generate alarms if the pressure is outside of a predetermined threshold in Fig. 11 (see paragraphs [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0010], and [0053]). In the combination with Fukuda discussed above, the alarm would be triggered upon the pressure sensor detecting an expansion of the battery cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system of Karner wherein the BMS, in operation, is configured to transmit to the master control and trigger a failure alarm upon the pressure sensor detecting an expansion of the battery cell, as disclosed by Fortier and Fukuda, in order to safely monitor the battery’s state of health.
Claims 4-6, 12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karner in view Fortier, Fukuda, and Nitzani as applied to Claims 1, 3, 10, and 11 above, and further in view of Holme US-20200164763-A1 (hereinafter referred to as Holme).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Karner discloses the battery power system of claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above).
Modified Karner is silent on the BMS 120 including a second counter circuit and the BMS 120, in operation, being configured to determine a number of charge and discharge cycles that the battery cell has performed utilizing the preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell and the second counter circuit.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery management systems, Holme discloses a BMS with a counter circuit (see paragraphs [0015]-[0016]), and [0047]), and
the BMS, in operation, is configured to determine a number of charge and discharge cycles that the battery cell has performed utilizing the preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell and the counter circuit (see paragraphs [0022] and [0061]). Holme further discloses measuring values such as charge/discharge helps ensure predictable performance when using the battery (see paragraphs [0006]-[0007] and [0015]-[0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by modified Karner by including a second counter circuit to determine the number of charge and discharge cycles that the battery cell has performed, as disclosed by Holme, in order to ensure predictable performance of the battery.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Karner discloses the battery power system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Karner further discloses the BMS 120 further includes a voltage sensor 130 and temperature sensor 140 (see paragraphs [0004] and [0032]);
the BMS, in operation, is further configured to measure one or more of a voltage and temperature of the battery cell with the voltage sensor 130 and temperature sensor 140, respectively in Figs. 1 and 2 (see paragraphs [0022] and [0032]), and
the BMS 120 being in signal communication with the battery cell 100 (see paragraphs [0032] and [0037]) and analyzing the data to take safety actions when the temperature or voltage is outside of a predetermined range (see paragraphs [0044] and [0059]). In the combination with Fortier and Fukuda above, this would include taking safety actions when the pressure and current are outside of predetermined ranges.
Modified Karner is silent on the BMS 120 including a solid-state switch to disconnect the battery cell from the battery power system.
However, Holme discloses a solid-switch for use of disconnecting or controlling the battery (see paragraph [0047]). Holme further discloses that the BMS can limit power if abnormal conditions are detected (see paragraphs [0053] and [0087]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand disconnecting the battery if the analyzed data is found to be unsafe would be a safety action, and disconnecting the battery correlates to limiting power. Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by modified Karner by including a solid-state switch to disconnect the battery, as disclosed by Holme, in order to ensure safety by disconnecting or controlling the battery to if abnormal conditions arise.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Karner discloses the battery power system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Modified Karner is silent on the battery power system including a heating element configured to heat the battery cell.
However, Holme discloses a heating device for modulating the temperature of the battery (see paragraph [0069]). Holme further discloses if abnormal conditions of temperature are detected, hazardous conditions could arise (see paragraphs [0053], [0062], and [0087]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand modulating the temperature includes heating.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by modified Karner by including a heating element configured to heat the battery, as disclosed by Holme, in order to avoid hazardous conditions caused by the battery operating at an abnormal temperature.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Karner discloses the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above). Karner further discloses analyzing measured data to take safety actions (see paragraphs [0044] and [0059]).
Modified Karner is silent on measuring disconnecting the battery cell to stop a current flow from the battery cell if the measured pressure of the battery cell exceeds a pre-determined pressure value.
However, Holme discloses the BMS sensors 209 relate to and measure pressure (see paragraph [0097]). Holme further discloses the BMS can regulate the current based on measured data, including pressure (see paragraph [0015]). Additionally, Holme discloses that the BMS can limit power if abnormal conditions, such as abnormal pressure, are detected (see paragraphs [0053] and [0087]).
A skilled artisan would understand that disconnecting the battery (which correlates to limiting power) is a safety action and would necessarily stop the current flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Karner by measuring a pressure produced by the battery cell with a pressure sensor, and disconnecting the battery cell to stop a current flow from the battery cell if the measured pressure of the battery exceeds a pre-determined pressure value, as disclosed by modified Holme, in order to ensure safety by disconnecting or controlling the battery to if abnormal conditions arise.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Karner discloses the method of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above). Karner further discloses generating state values (e.g., values of voltage and temperature) (see paragraphs [0032] and [0037]). In the combination with Fortier and Fukuda, this would also include generating state values for the measured current.
Modified Karner is silent on generating a state of charge (SOC) value for the battery cell utilizing the measured voltage, current, and temperature.
However, Holme discloses measuring state values (additional parameters) to determine the battery’s state of charge (SOC) and as such assess the battery’s capability and avoid damage (see paragraphs [0009]-[0013], [0024], and [0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Karner by generating a state of charge (SOC) value for the battery cell utilizing the measured voltage, current, and temperature in order to assess the battery’s capability and avoid damage.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Karner discloses the method of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above). Karner further discloses analyzing measured data to take safety actions (see paragraphs [0044] and [0059]). In the combination with Fortier and Fukuda above, this would include taking safety actions when the pressure and current are outside of predetermined ranges.
Modified Karner is silent on disconnecting the battery cell from an intelligent battery power system output if the measured values of voltage, current, or temperature are outside of a predetermined range of operation for the voltage, current, or temperature, respectively.
However, Holme discloses that the BMS can limit power if abnormal conditions are detected, which includes a temperature or pressure outside of a pre-determined range (see paragraphs [0053] and [0087]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand disconnecting the battery if the analyzed data is found to be unsafe would be a safety action, and that disconnecting the battery correlates to limiting power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method discloses by modified Karner by disconnecting the battery cell from an intelligent battery power system output if the measured values of voltage, current, or temperature are outside of a predetermined range of operation for the voltage, current, or temperature, respectively, as disclosed by Holme in order to ensure safety of the battery.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karner in view Fortier, Fukuda, Nitzani, and Holme as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Vanderslice et al. US-5362942-A (hereinafter referred to as Vanderslice).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Karner discloses the battery power system of claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Modified Karner silent on the heating element including a switchable load element that is configured to switch across a cell voltage of the battery cell to self-discharge and heat up the battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery heating systems, Vanderslice discloses a programmable load 12 with two dissipative states and a DC charger 18 connected to the battery 10 in Fig. 1 (see Col. 2 Line 65-Col. 3 Line 24). Vanderslice further discloses that in response to a temperature sensor measuring less than 0 degrees centigrade, the battery 10 switches into a high power dissipative state and a discharge cycle occurs wherein the load 12 draws current through the battery 10, heating the battery (see Col. 3 Lines 25-44). Vanderslice additionally discloses this system eliminates the need for a separate battery heater and keeps the heat generation inside the battery where it needs to be (see Col. 1 Line 54-62).
A skilled artisan would recognize that the discharge cycle occurring in response to a measured temperature is analogous to self-discharging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by modified Karner by including a switchable load element that is configured to switch across a cell voltage of the battery cell to self-discharge and heat up the battery cell, as disclosed by Vanderslice, in order to eliminate the need for a separate battery heater and keep the heat generation inside the battery where it needs to be.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karner in view Fortier, Fukuda, and Nitzani, as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of Vanderslice et al. US-5362942-A (hereinafter referred to as Vanderslice).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Karner discloses the method of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above).
Modified Karner is silent on the method further including switching a switchable load element across a cell voltage of the battery cell, self-discharging the battery cell, and heating the battery cell as a result of self-charging the battery cell.
However, Vanderslice discloses a programmable load 12 with two dissipative states and a DC charger 18 connected to the battery 10 in Fig. 1 (see Col. 2 Line 65-Col. 3 Line 24). Vanderslice further discloses that in response to a temperature sensor measuring less than 0 degrees centigrade, the battery 10 switches into a high power dissipative state and a discharge cycle occurs wherein the load 12 draws current through the battery 10, heating the battery (see Col. 3 Lines 25-44). Vanderslice additionally discloses this system eliminates the need for a separate battery heater and keeps the heat generation inside the battery where it needs to be (see Col. 1 Line 54-62).
A skilled artisan would recognize that the discharge cycle occurring in response to a measured temperature is analogous to self-discharging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by modified Karner by further including switching a switchable load element across a cell voltage of the battery cell, self-discharging the battery cell, and heating the battery cell as a result of self-charging the battery cell, as disclosed by Vanderslice, in order to eliminate the need for a separate battery heater and keep the heat generation inside the battery where it needs to be.
Conclusion
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729