DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 1/15/2026:
Claims 1 and 3-19 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 5-13, and 15-17 are amended, Claim 2 is canceled, and Claim 19 is newly added.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims are based on the claims as amended. The amended claims have been addressed in the new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-11, 13, 15, and 19 are rejected as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US-20180194243-A1 (hereinafter “Cheng”) in view of Karner etl al. WO-2019023666-A1 (hereinafter “Karner”), Nitzani et al. US-20190165340-A1 (hereinafter “Nitzani”), and Stefanopoulou et al. US-20200313152-A1 (hereinafter “Stefanopoulou”).
Regarding Claim 1, Cheng discloses an intelligent battery power system with per-cell monitoring of battery cell operation (battery management system for managing one or more batteries, and as such would function in per-cell monitoring) (see paragraphs [0002] and [0029]), comprising:
a battery pack 210 comprising a plurality of battery cell systems, each of said battery cell systems comprising a battery cell housing containing a battery monitoring system (BMS) 205a-205c integrated with a battery cell in Figs. 2-3 (see paragraphs [0029]-[0031]); wherein
the BMS is both in signal communication with and physically collocated with the battery cell (see paragraphs [0029]-[0031]);
the BMS further includes a current sensor within the battery cell system (the BMS may include various other modules related to monitoring and managing the operation of the battery, such as monitoring current in or out of the battery) in Figs. 2-3 (see paragraphs [0027] and [0038]-[0039]);
the BMS includes a processor and a memory 108 having a machine-readable medium having encoded thereon machine-executable instructions that cause the processor to perform process steps in an operation of the BMS in Figs. 2-3 (see paragraphs [0027]-[0030]) comprising:
measuring a current of the battery cell with the current a sensor 105 in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0027]-[0030] and [0038]-[0039]),
storing the measured values of current in the memory 108 in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0027]-[0030] and [0038]-[0039]), and
transmitting the stored measured values to a second battery management system (VCU) 230 external to the battery cell housing in Figs. 2-3 (see paragraphs [0027]-[0030]).
Cheng is silent on the BMS and sensors being integrated within the battery cell housing for each battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of BMS systems (see abstract), Karner discloses an intelligent battery power system (intelligent energy storage system) with per-cell monitoring of the battery cell operation (battery pack 200 is comprised of monoblocs 100 which may comprise one battery cell each with a monitor circuit disposed within) comprising: a battery pack (battery containing monoblocs) 200 comprising a plurality of battery cell systems 100, each of said battery cell systems 100 comprising a battery cell housing 110 containing a battery monitoring system (BMS) (battery monitor circuit) 120 integrated with a battery cell 100 within the battery cell housing 110 (located internal to monobloc or battery) wherein the BMS 120 is both in signal communication with and physically collocated with the battery cell within the battery cell housing 110 in Figs. 1 and 2 (see paragraphs [0004]-[0006], [0021], [0026], [0032], and [0036]).
Karner further discloses including the BMS internally to the battery cell housing prevents tampering by a user and thus improves the reliability of the reporting performed (see paragraph [0042]). As such, a skilled artisan would find this to be an appropriate structure for the per cell monitoring system of Cheng.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery system of Cheng wherein the BMS and sensors are integrated within the battery cell housing for each battery cell, as disclosed by Karner, in order to improve the reliability of the reporting performed.
Cheng is silent on the BMS further including a protective material configured to inhibit adverse chemical interaction between the BMS and the battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of BMS systems (see abstract), Nitzani discloses coating the BMS with an insulated material to protect a circuit of the BMS from the rechargeable cells (see paragraph [0042]). A skilled artisan would recognize the importance of the protecting the BMS so that it can continue to function properly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery system of Cheng wherein the BMS further includes a protective material configured to inhibit adverse chemical interaction between the BMS and the battery cell, as disclosed by Nitzani, in order to protect a circuit of the BMS and maintain proper functionality.
Cheng further discloses the BMS can protect the battery from over-pressure by preventing (or inhibiting) the battery from operating outside its safe operating area (see paragraph [0039]).
Cheng is silent on the BMS comprising a pressure sensor and measuring a pressure of the battery cell with the pressure sensor and wherein the pressure sensor is further configured to detect deformation of the battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of BMS systems (see abstract), Stefanopoulou discloses a battery management system (BMS) comprising a pressure sensor that measures the pressure of the battery cell and determines a risk of internal short circuit of the battery cell exists based on if the swelling force signal representative of the second electrical signal exceeds the reference level of the reference electrical signal by a threshold amount (i.e. detecting deformation) (see paragraphs [0012]-[0013] and [0048]).
Stefanopoulou additionally discloses this allows the user to be alerted of the risk of a thermal runaway (see paragraph [0048]). A skilled artisan would also recognize this would protect the battery from over-pressure as suggested by Cheng.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system of Cheng wherein the BMS comprises a pressure sensor and measures a pressure of the battery cell with the pressure sensor and wherein the pressure sensor is further configured to detect deformation of the battery cell, as disclosed by Stefanopoulou, in order to alert the user of the risk of a thermal runaway.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Cheng discloses the battery power system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Cheng is silent on wherein the BMS, in operation, is configured to transmit to the second battery management system and trigger a failure alarm upon the pressure sensor detecting an expansion of the battery cell.
However, Stefanopoulou discloses a controller (correlating to a second battery management system) receiving signals from the pressure sensor and initiating an alarm (alert) if it is determined a risk of internal short circuit of the battery cell exists (see paragraph [0048]).
Stefanopoulou additionally discloses this allows the user to be alerted of the risk of a thermal runaway (see paragraph [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system of Cheng wherein the BMS, in operation, is configured to transmit to the second battery management system and trigger a failure alarm upon the pressure sensor detecting an expansion of the battery cell, as disclosed by Stefanopoulou, in order to alert the user of the risk of a thermal runaway.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Cheng discloses the battery power system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Cheng further discloses wherein the BMS includes a transceiver (EMS) 220 configured to communicate with a master controller (VCU) 230 in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0030]); and
the BMS, in operation, is configured to transmit the current values derived therefrom, to the master controller 230 (see paragraphs [0030]).
Regarding Claim 10, Cheng discloses a method for monitoring a performance of a battery cell in an intelligent battery power system having a plurality of battery cell systems, each of said battery cell systems comprising a battery cell housing containing a battery monitoring system (battery management system for managing one or more batteries, and as such would function in per-cell monitoring) integrated with a battery cell in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0002] and [0029]-[0031]), the method comprising:
measuring a plurality of characteristics of the battery cell with a plurality of sensors of the BMS collocated with said BMS (see paragraphs [0038]-[0039]);
wherein the plurality of characteristics comprise a current of the battery cell and the plurality of sensors comprise a current sensor (the BMS may include various other modules related to monitoring and managing the operation of the battery, such as monitoring current in or out of the battery) in Figs. 2-3 (see paragraphs [0027], [0030], and [0038]-[0039]);
generating state values from the measured plurality of characteristics with the BMS utilizing a processor integrated within the BMS (see paragraphs [0027], [0030], and [0038]-[0039]);
and transmitting the state values to a master controller (VCU) that is external to the intelligent battery power system and is in signal communication with the BMS in Figs. 2-3 (see paragraphs [0027], [0030], and [0038]-[0039]).
Cheng is silent on the BMS and sensors being integrated within the battery cell housing for each battery cell and powering each of said BMS directly with the battery cell collocated with said BMS within a common battery cell housing.
However, in the same field of endeavor of BMS systems (see abstract), Karner discloses an intelligent battery power system (intelligent energy storage system) with per-cell monitoring of the battery cell operation (battery pack 200 is comprised of monoblocs 100 which may comprise one battery cell each with a monitor circuit disposed within) comprising: a battery pack (battery containing monoblocs) 200 comprising a plurality of battery cell systems 100, each of said battery cell systems 100 comprising a battery cell housing 110 containing a battery monitoring system (BMS) (battery monitor circuit) 120 integrated with a battery cell 100 within the battery cell housing 110 (located internal to monobloc or battery) wherein the BMS 120 is both in signal communication with and physically collocated with the battery cell within the battery cell housing 110 in Figs. 1 and 2 (see paragraphs [0004]-[0006], [0021], [0026], [0032], [0036], and [0036]).
Karner also discloses powering each of said BMS directly with the battery cell collocated with said BMS within a common battery cell housing (see paragraph [0040]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate way to power the BMS.
Karner further discloses including the BMS internally to the battery cell housing prevents tampering by a user and thus improves the reliability of the reporting performed (see paragraph [0042]). As such, a skilled artisan would find this to be an appropriate structure for the per cell monitoring system of Cheng.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery system of Cheng wherein the BMS and sensors are integrated within the battery cell housing for each battery cell and powering each of said BMS directly with the battery cell collocated with said BMS within a common battery cell housing, as disclosed by Karner, in order to improve the reliability of the reporting performed and power the BMS.
Cheng is silent on the BMS further including a protective material configured to inhibit adverse chemical interaction between the BMS and the battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of BMS systems (see abstract), Nitzani discloses coating the BMS with an insulated material to protect a circuit of the BMS from the rechargeable cells (see paragraph [0042]). A skilled artisan would recognize the importance of the protecting the BMS so that it can continue to function properly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery system of Cheng wherein the BMS further includes a protective material configured to inhibit adverse chemical interaction between the BMS and the battery cell, as disclosed by Nitzani, in order to protect a circuit of the BMS and maintain proper functionality.
Cheng further discloses the BMS can protect the battery from over-pressure by preventing (or inhibiting) the battery from operating outside its safe operating area (see paragraph [0039]).
Cheng is silent on the BMS comprising a pressure sensor and measuring a pressure of the battery cell with the pressure sensor and wherein the pressure sensor is further configured to detect deformation of the battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of BMS systems (see abstract), Stefanopoulou discloses a battery management system (BMS) comprising a pressure sensor that measures the pressure of the battery cell and determines a risk of internal short circuit of the battery cell exists based on if the swelling force signal representative of the second electrical signal exceeds the reference level of the reference electrical signal by a threshold amount (i.e. detecting deformation) (see paragraphs [0012]-[0013] and [0048]).
Stefanopoulou additionally discloses this allows the user to be alerted of the risk of a thermal runaway (see paragraph [0048]). A skilled artisan would also recognize this would protect the battery from over-pressure as suggested by Cheng.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system of Cheng wherein the BMS comprises a pressure sensor and measures a pressure of the battery cell with the pressure sensor and wherein the pressure sensor is further configured to detect deformation of the battery cell, as disclosed by Stefanopoulou, in order to alert the user of the risk of a thermal runaway.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Cheng discloses the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above). Cheng further discloses measuring a voltage produced by the battery cell with a voltage sensor and measuring the temperature produced by the battery with a temperature sensor (the BMS may include a temperature sensor module 340 and various other modules related to monitoring and managing the operation of the battery, such as monitoring voltages of individual cells); and generating the state values from the measured voltage and temperature with the BMS utilizing the processor, respectively in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0027], [0030], and [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Cheng discloses the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above). Cheng further discloses wirelessly transmitting the states values from the BMS to the master controller with a wireless transceiver at the BMS in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0049]-[0050]).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Cheng discloses the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above). Cheng further discloses storing the measured plurality of characteristics of the battery cell in a memory 108 on the BMS (see paragraphs [0027], [0038]-[0039], and [0042]).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Cheng discloses the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above).
Cheng is silent on transmitting to the master control and triggering a failure alarm upon the pressure sensor detecting an expansion of the battery cell.
However, Stefanopoulou discloses the controller receiving signals from the pressure sensor and initiating an alarm (alert) if it is determined a risk of internal short circuit of the battery cell exists based on if the swelling force signal representative of the second electrical signal exceeds the reference level of the reference electrical signal by a threshold amount (i.e. the battery cell has expanded) (see paragraph [0048]).
Stefanopoulou additionally discloses this allows the user to be alerted of the risk of a thermal runaway (see paragraph [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system of Cheng wherein the BMS, in operation, is configured to transmit to the second battery management system and trigger a failure alarm upon the pressure sensor detecting an expansion of the battery cell, as disclosed by Stefanopoulou, in order to alert the user of the risk of a thermal runaway.
Claims 3-6, 12, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Karner, Nitzani, and Stefanopoulou as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Holme US-20200164763-A1 (hereinafter referred to as Holme).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Cheng discloses the battery power system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Cheng further discloses the BMS includes a counter 315 (see paragraphs [0006] and [0031]).
Modified Cheng is silent on wherein the BMS, in operation, is further configured to determine an age of the battery cell utilizing a preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell that is stored in the memory and the first counter circuit.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery management systems, Holme discloses a BMS with a counter circuit (see paragraphs [0015]-[0016]), [0061], and [0047]), and
the BMS, in operation, is configured to determine an age of the battery cell utilizing a preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell that is stored in the memory and the first counter circuit (see paragraphs [0022] and [0061]). Holme further discloses measuring values such as battery age helps ensure predictable performance when using the battery (see paragraphs [0006]-[0007], [0015]-[0016], [0024], and [0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by modified Cheng by including a counter circuit to determine an age of the battery cell utilizing a preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell that is stored in the memory and the first counter circuit, as disclosed by Holme, in order to ensure predictable performance of the battery.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Cheng discloses the battery power system of claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above).
Modified Cheng is silent on the BMS 120 including a second counter circuit and the BMS 120, in operation, being configured to determine a number of charge and discharge cycles that the battery cell has performed utilizing the preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell and the second counter circuit.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery management systems, Holme discloses a BMS with a counter circuit (see paragraphs [0015]-[0016]), and [0047]), and
the BMS, in operation, is configured to determine a number of charge and discharge cycles that the battery cell has performed utilizing the preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell and the counter circuit (see paragraphs [0022] and [0061]). Holme further discloses measuring values such as charge/discharge helps ensure predictable performance when using the battery (see paragraphs [0006]-[0007], [0015]-[0016], [0024], and [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by Cheng by including a second counter circuit to determine the number of charge and discharge cycles that the battery cell has performed, as disclosed by Holme, in order to ensure predictable performance of the battery.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Cheng discloses the battery power system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Cheng further discloses the BMS further includes a voltage sensor and temperature sensor (the BMS may include a temperature sensor module 340 and various other modules related to monitoring and managing the operation of the battery, such as monitoring voltages of individual cells); and the BMS, in operation, is further configured to measure one or more of a voltage and temperature of the battery cell with the voltage sensor and temperature sensor, respectively in Figs. 1-3 (see paragraphs [0027], and [0038]-[0039]).
Cheng also discloses the BMS can protect the battery by preventing (or inhibiting) the battery from operating outside its safe operating area (see paragraph [0039]).
Cheng is silent on the BMS 120 including a solid-state switch to disconnect the battery cell from the battery power system.
However, Holme discloses a solid-switch for use of disconnecting or controlling the battery (see paragraph [0047]). Holme further discloses that the BMS can limit power if abnormal conditions are detected (see paragraphs [0053] and [0087]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand disconnecting the battery if the analyzed data is found to be unsafe would inhibit the battery from operating outside its safe operating area, and disconnecting the battery correlates to inhibiting the battery. Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by Karner by including a solid-state switch to disconnect the battery, as disclosed by Holme, in order to ensure safety by disconnecting or controlling the battery to if abnormal conditions arise.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Cheng discloses the battery power system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Cheng is silent on the battery power system including a heating element configured to heat the battery cell.
However, Holme discloses a heating device for modulating the temperature of the battery (see paragraph [0069]). Holme further discloses if abnormal conditions of temperature are detected, hazardous conditions could arise (see paragraphs [0053], [0062], and [0087]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand modulating the temperature includes heating.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by Cheng by including a heating element configured to heat the battery, as disclosed by Holme, in order to avoid hazardous conditions caused by the battery operating at an abnormal temperature.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Cheng discloses the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above). Cheng further discloses the BMS can protect the battery from over-pressure by preventing (or inhibiting) the battery from operating outside its safe operating area (see paragraph [0039]).
Cheng is silent on disconnecting the battery cell to stop a current flow from the battery cell if the measured pressure of the battery cell exceeds a pre-determined pressure value.
However, Holme discloses the BMS sensors 209 relate to and measure pressure (see paragraph [0097]). Holme further discloses the BMS can regulate the current based on measured data, including pressure (see paragraph [0015]). Additionally, Holme discloses that the BMS can limit power if abnormal conditions, such as abnormal pressure, are detected (see paragraphs [0053] and [0087]).
A skilled artisan would understand that disconnecting the battery would inhibit the battery from operating outside its safe operating area and would necessarily stop the current flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Cheng by measuring a pressure produced by the battery cell with a pressure sensor, and disconnecting the battery cell to stop a current flow from the battery cell if the measured pressure of the battery exceeds a pre-determined pressure value, as disclosed by Holme, in order to ensure safety by disconnecting or controlling the battery to if abnormal conditions arise.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Cheng discloses the method of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above). Cheng further discloses monitoring and managing the state of charge (see paragraph [0038]).
Cheng is silent on generating a state of charge (SOC) value for the battery cell utilizing the measured voltage, current, and temperature.
However, Holme discloses measuring state values (additional parameters) to determine the battery’s state of charge (SOC) and as such assess the battery’s capability and avoid damage (see paragraphs [0009]-[0013], [0024], and [0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Cheng by generating a state of charge (SOC) value for the battery cell utilizing the measured voltage, current, and temperature in order to assess the battery’s capability and avoid damage.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Cheng discloses the method of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above). Cheng further discloses counting a time that the battery cell has been operational with a first counter circuit (counter) (see paragraph [0006]).
Cheng is silent on determining an age of the battery cell utilizing a preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell that is stored in the memory and the counted time from the counter circuit.
However, Holme discloses a BMS with a counter circuit (see paragraphs [0015]-[0016], [0061], and [0047]), and
the BMS, in operation, is configured to determine an age of the battery cell utilizing a preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell that is stored in the memory and the first counter circuit (see paragraphs [0022] and [0061]). Holme further discloses measuring values such as battery age helps ensure predictable performance when using the battery (see paragraphs [0006]-[0007], [0015]-[0016], [0024], and [0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by modified Cheng by including a counter circuit to determine an age of the battery cell utilizing a preconfigured date of initial operation of the battery cell that is stored in the memory and the first counter circuit, as disclosed by Holme, in order to ensure predictable performance of the battery.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Cheng discloses the method of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above). Cheng further discloses the BMS can protect the battery by preventing (or inhibiting) the battery from operating outside its safe operating area (see paragraph [0039]).
Cheng is silent on disconnecting the battery cell from an intelligent battery power system output if the measured values of voltage, current, pressure or temperature are outside of a predetermined range of operation for the voltage, current, pressure, or temperature, respectively.
However, Holme discloses that the BMS can limit power if abnormal conditions are detected, which includes a temperature or pressure outside of a pre-determined range (see paragraphs [0053] and [0087]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand disconnecting the battery if the analyzed data is found to be unsafe would be inhibiting the battery from operating outside its safe operating area, and that disconnecting the battery correlates to limiting power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method discloses by Cheng by disconnecting the battery cell from an intelligent battery power system output if the measured values of voltage, current, or temperature are outside of a predetermined range of operation for the voltage, current, or temperature, respectively, as disclosed by Holme in order to ensure safety of the battery.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Karner, Nitzani, Stefanopoulou, and Holme as applied to claims 6 and 11 above, and further in view of Vanderslice et al. US-5362942-A (hereinafter referred to as Vanderslice).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Cheng discloses the battery power system of claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Cheng is silent on the heating element including a switchable load element that is configured to switch across a cell voltage of the battery cell to self-discharge and heat up the battery cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery heating systems, Vanderslice discloses a programmable load 12 with two dissipative states and a DC charger 18 connected to the battery 10 in Fig. 1 (see Col. 2 Line 65-Col. 3 Line 24). Vanderslice further discloses that in response to a temperature sensor measuring less than 0 degrees centigrade, the battery 10 switches into a high power dissipative state and a discharge cycle occurs wherein the load 12 draws current through the battery 10, heating the battery (see Col. 3 Lines 25-44). Vanderslice additionally discloses this system eliminates the need for a separate battery heater and keeps the heat generation inside the battery where it needs to be (see Col. 1 Line 54-62).
A skilled artisan would recognize that the discharge cycle occurring in response to a measured temperature is analogous to self-discharging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by Cheng by including a switchable load element that is configured to switch across a cell voltage of the battery cell to self-discharge and heat up the battery cell, as disclosed by Vanderslice, in order to eliminate the need for a separate battery heater and keep the heat generation inside the battery where it needs to be.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Cheng discloses the method of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above).
Cheng is silent on the method further including switching a switchable load element across a cell voltage of the battery cell, self-discharging the battery cell, and heating the battery cell as a result of self-charging the battery cell.
However, Vanderslice discloses a programmable load 12 with two dissipative states and a DC charger 18 connected to the battery 10 in Fig. 1 (see Col. 2 Line 65-Col. 3 Line 24). Vanderslice further discloses that in response to a temperature sensor measuring less than 0 degrees centigrade, the battery 10 switches into a high power dissipative state and a discharge cycle occurs wherein the load 12 draws current through the battery 10, heating the battery (see Col. 3 Lines 25-44). Vanderslice additionally discloses this system eliminates the need for a separate battery heater and keeps the heat generation inside the battery where it needs to be (see Col. 1 Line 54-62).
A skilled artisan would recognize that the discharge cycle occurring in response to a measured temperature is analogous to self-discharging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery power system disclosed by Cheng by further including switching a switchable load element across a cell voltage of the battery cell, self-discharging the battery cell, and heating the battery cell as a result of self-charging the battery cell, as disclosed by Vanderslice, in order to eliminate the need for a separate battery heater and keep the heat generation inside the battery where it needs to be.
Conclusion
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729