DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendments and remarks filed on 05MAR2026 have been entered and considered.
Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Claims 1-7, 10-12, & 14-17 have been amended.
Claims 8-9, & 13 have been canceled.
No claims have been withdrawn or added.
Claims 1-7, 10-12, 14-17 are under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05MAR2026 regarding the rejections under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and have been found to be persuasive. Therefore, the 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 05MAR2026 regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and have been found to be not persuasive. Parts deemed not persuasive discussed below:
Applicant states (see Page 13 of the Remarks):
As explained in para. [0017] of Yamagata, the "reconfiguring" process is a mathematical calculation to determine current values from already acquired magnetic field data. The "counter" in Yamagata tracks how many times a mathematical filter is applied to a static dataset to sharpen it. In contrast, the claimed "addition count" tracks actual physical trigger signals that cause stimuli to be applied to a living body.
The examiner maintains that Yamagata teaches the limitation because Yamagata ¶0017 shows that reconfiguring is done at every position of the spine, with the biomagnetic data being a direct result of stimulation. The application of the spatial filter, which is the reconfiguring of the stimulation data, is used to sharpen the data to a useable data set, which causes the data sets for each filter application to change as new ones are created and the dataset shrinks. Therefore, the number of time the filter is applied is representative of the limitations as the counter is tracking changes in stimulation data caused by the initial event and reconfiguration.
Applicant states (see Pages 13-14 of the Remarks):
The claimed invention as amended addresses a situation where measurement cycles differ across multiple parts of a living body. In such a situation, using the "same addition count" as a key to retrieve data ensures that the effectiveness of the addition-averaging process is standardized for each part of the body. Yamagata does not teach or suggest managing multiple parts of a body with different cycles, nor does it disclose synchronizing such data using a same stimulus-based addition count to achieve the effect of an addition- averaging process equally for each of the multiple stimulated parts.
However, the examiner is not persuaded. The examiner maintains that Yamagata discloses the limitations in ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”.” The examiner notes that the sensors having different measurement cycles per body location is a general principle of using biomagnetic sensors and does not further limit the limitation as the sensors per different body parts will need synchronization based on their assigned areas.
Applicant states (see Page 14 of the Remarks):
Furthermore, the claimed invention as amended uses the processing results to control the operation of the magnetic sensor (discontinuing or extending measurement). Yamagata's disclosure is limited to an image reconstruction algorithm and lacks any teaching of feedback control to the measurement hardware itself based on the processing results.
However, the examiner is not persuaded because Yamagata discloses in ¶0105 “On the other hand, in the third embodiment, the spatial filter is applied until the change in the reconfiguration data that converges to one of the convergence points satisfies a predetermined condition.”. This shows that the device sets limits for processing based on specified conditions such as error reduction and collection time limits to optimize the reconfiguration. The examiner maintains that this satisfies the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-12, 14-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2)as being anticipated by Yamagata (JP Publication No. 2018015036; Previously Cited)
Regarding claim 1, Yamagata discloses a biological-data measurement system comprising (Yamagata ¶0010 “FIG. 1 is a diagram showing a functional configuration of a magnetic field data processing apparatus according to a first embodiment.”; ¶0052 “magnetic field data processing apparatus 120”) : a measurement work station (Yamagata magnetic field data acquisition unit 710 as seen in Figure 7); a magnetic sensor connected to the measurement work station, the magnetic sensor configured to measure biomagnetic field data generated by a living body wherein measurement cycles of the magnetic sensor are different for each of a plurality of parts of the living body measuring biomagnetic field data of a biomagnetic field generated by a living body in a state in which measurement cycles of the magnetic sensor are different for each of a plurality of parts of the living body (Yamagata ¶0061 “The magnetic field data acquisition unit 710 acquires the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110 via the connection unit 607.”; ¶0013-¶0014 “As shown in FIG. 1 (a), the magnetic field data processing system 100 includes a magnetic sensor array 110 and a magnetic field data processing device 120. The magnetic sensor array 110 is a biosensor in which a plurality of magnetic sensors are arranged in an array. The magnetic sensor array 110 measures a magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation to a predetermined portion of the subject”. The examiner notes that the sensors having different measurement cycles per body location is a general principle of using biomagnetic sensors and does not further limit the limitation); an analysis work station (Yamagata RENS algorithm execution unit 730 as seen in Figure 7); and a storage configured to store data (Yamagata data storage unit 122 as seen in Figure 7) the measurement work station, the analysis work station, and the storage being communicatively connected to each other (Yamagata ¶0060-¶0068; Figure 7 showing the units all in connection), wherein the measurement work station includes a first processor and a first memory that includes instructions (Yamagata ¶0053 “As shown in FIG. 6, the magnetic field data processing apparatus 120 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 601, a ROM (Read Only Memory) 602, and a RAM (Random Access Memory) 603.”; ¶0055 “The ROM 602 is a nonvolatile main storage device. The ROM 602 stores various programs, data, and the like necessary for the CPU 601 to execute various programs stored in the auxiliary storage unit 604.”), which when executed, cause the first processor to execute: counting a plurality of trigger signals that cause stimuli to be applied to a plurality of parts of the living body in time series to acquire an addition count of biomagnetic field data measured in response to the plurality of trigger signals for the each of the plurality of parts (Yamagata ¶0014 “The magnetic sensor array 110 is a biosensor in which a plurality of magnetic sensors are arranged in an array. The magnetic sensor array 110 measures a magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation to a predetermined portion of the subject” where “magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation” can be interpreted as the trigger signals associated with an applied stimulus; ¶0022; ¶0030); performing an addition-averaging process to obtain addition-average data every time the addition count acquired by counting the plurality of trigger signals reaches a predetermined count (Yamagata ¶0067 “734 adds together the first reconstruction data and the second reconstruction data And calculates the average value of the reconstruction data of FIG. The reconstruction data calculated by weighting and summing the first reconstruction data and the second reconstruction data is hereinafter referred to as "optimized reconfiguration data".”; ¶0076 “In step S 803, the reconstruction unit 732 calculates the weight wi (r) in the case of application count = i based on the following expression (5)”; ¶0079 “In step S 805, the repetition control unit 733 determines whether or not the counter i exceeds the upper limit N of the number of times of application preset by the setting unit 731. In step S 805, when it is determined that the number is less than or equal to the upper limit N of the number of times of application (No in step S 805), the process proceeds to step S 806”), associating the addition-average data with the addition count; and transmitting the addition-average data in association with the addition count to the storage, wherein the storage is configured to store the addition-average data in association with the addition count received from the measurement work station (Yamagata ¶0120 “The output unit 735 stores the calculated current value S .sub.opt (r, t) of the optimized reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122” Where the optimized reconstruction data is obtained by apply the spatial filters until the data converges to the optimized result, therefore in nature being associated with the addition count to arrive at the stored results; ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”); wherein the analysis work station includes a second processor (Yamagata Figure 7 where each “unit” in Fig. 7 could be considered a separate processor or processing core) a second memory (Yamagata auxiliary storage unit 604) that includes instructions, which when executed, cause the second processor to execute acquiring the addition- average data, stored in association with the addition count, from the storage by specifying a same addition count for the each of the plurality of parts (Yamagata ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”; ¶0064 “Specifically, when executing the RENS algorithm, the reconstruction unit 732 reconstructs the current source by applying a spatial filter to the magnetic field data stored in the data storage unit 122, and reconstructs the reconstruction data”) and performing biological data processing based on the biomagnetic field data, by using the addition-average data corresponding to the same addition count specified for the each of the plurality of parts. (Yamagata ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”; ¶0064 “Specifically, when executing the RENS algorithm, the reconstruction unit 732 reconstructs the current source by applying a spatial filter to the magnetic field data stored in the data storage unit 122, and reconstructs the reconstruction data”; ¶0125 “The same is true even if there is. In other words, the same effect as in the first embodiment can be obtained by extracting reconstruction data that converges at each of a plurality of convergence points and performing weighted addition.”); displaying, on a display, the processing result of the biological data processing (Yamagata ¶0068 “The output unit 735 functions as an output unit, and stores the optimized reconfiguration data generated by the addition unit 734 in the data storage unit 122. Further, the output unit 735 displays the optimized reconstruction data generated by the addition unit 734 on the display unit 605”)., and displaying a processing result on a display of the analysis work station: allowing a user to view the processing result displayed on the display of the analysis work station (Yamagata ¶0068 “The output unit 735 functions as an output unit, and stores the optimized reconfiguration data generated by the addition unit 734 in the data storage unit 122. Further, the output unit 735 displays the optimized reconstruction data generated by the addition unit 734 on the display unit 605”); transmitting the processing result to the measurement work station (Yamagata ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”), and wherein the first processor of the measurement work station is further caused to execute controlling the magnetic sensor to discontinue or extend measurement based on the processing result (Yamagata ¶0105 “On the other hand, in the third embodiment, the spatial filter is applied until the change in the reconfiguration data that converges to one of the convergence points satisfies a predetermined condition.”; This shows that the device sets limits for processing based on specified conditions such as error reduction and collection time limits; ¶0109; ¶0030 also showing the limitations of signal collection).
Regarding claim 2, Yamagata discloses the limitations of claim 1. Yamagata further discloses the biological data processing is performed by estimating an intensity of an action current for each of the plurality of parts of the living body, based on the biomagnetic field data. (Yamagata ¶0027 “In the magnetic sensor array 110, the magnetic field generated by the flow of the volume current and the intracellular current is measured as a voltage signal, and the measured voltage signal is output as magnetic field data.”; ¶0029).
Regarding claim 3, Yamagata discloses the limitations of claim 1. Yamagata further discloses wherein the first processor is further caused to execute: accepting a specification of the addition count by the user (Yamagata ¶0065 “The repetition control unit 733 repeats the generation of the spatial filter and the notification to the reconstruction unit 732 until the upper limit N of the number of times of application set by the setting unit 731 is reached. As a result, the reconfiguration unit 732 generates the reconfiguration data N times”; ¶0062; ¶0070 “In starting the flowchart shown in FIG. 8, it is assumed that an upper limit N of the number of times the spatial filter is applied is set in advance by the setting unit 731”; ¶0079 “In step S 805, the repetition control unit 733 determines whether or not the counter i exceeds the upper limit N of the number of times of application preset by the setting unit 731.”; ¶0087).
Regarding claim 4, Yamagata discloses the limitations of claims 1 & 3. Yamagata further discloses wherein the first processor is further caused to execute: accepting a specification of the predetermined count by the user (Yamagata ¶0062; ¶0065; ¶0070; ¶0079; ¶0087).
Regarding claim 5, Yamagata discloses the limitations of claims 1 & 3. Yamagata further discloses wherein the first processor is further caused to execute: accepting a specification of an update interval count, wherein the predetermined count is automatically updated to a count obtained by adding the accepted update interval count by the user to the predetermined count, every time the addition count reaches the predetermined count. (Yamagata ¶0005 “In addition, each time the number of times of applying the spatial filter is incremented by 1, reconfiguration data of different convergence points are alternately calculated.”; ¶0065 “The repetition control unit 733 repeats the generation of the spatial filter and the notification to the reconstruction unit 732 until the upper limit N of the number of times of application set by the setting unit 731 is reached.”; ¶0087 “the RENS algorithm executing unit 730 calculates, for the upper limit of the number of times of application, the reconfiguration data in the case where the number of times of application = (N-1) and the number of times of application = N And reconstruction data are weighted and added to generate optimized reconstruction data.”; ¶0083).
Regarding claim 6, Yamagata discloses the limitations of claim 1. Yamagata further discloses wherein the first processor is further caused to execute: switching a method of performing the biological data processing according to the addition count. (Yamagata ¶0122 “The reconstruction data when the spatial filter was applied N times was extracted. However, the reconstruction data to be extracted is not limited to twice. For example, as the reconstruction data converging to the first convergence point, the reconstruction data when the spatial filter is applied (N - 3) times and (N - 1) times may be extracted. In addition, as the reconstruction data converging to the second convergence point, reconstruction data when the spatial filter is applied N times (N-2) times may be extracted.”; ¶0099; ¶0106; ¶0116).
Regarding claim 7, Yamagata discloses the limitations of claims 1 & 6. Yamagata further discloses wherein the switching includes switching the method only in response to determining that the addition count is a total addition count (Yamagata ¶0099; ¶0106; ¶0116), the biological data processing is performed at a high speed compared to a case where the addition count is the total addition count, in response to determining that the addition count is not the total addition count (Yamagata ¶0004 “Therefore, for example, by applying the RENS algorithm to the reconstruction processing of the current source in the subject's spine, it is possible to visualize the nerve activity in the spine with high accuracy”), and the biological data processing is performed with high precision compared to a case where the addition count is not the total addition count, in response to determining that the addition count is not the total addition count. (Yamagata ¶0052 “As a result, the error of the reconfiguration data can be reduced”; ¶0087 “As a result, according to the RENS algorithm executing unit 730 of the present embodiment, it is possible to reduce the error of the reconfiguration data to be output, and to suppress the fluctuation of the reconfiguration data caused by the application of the spatial filter.”).
Regarding claim 10, Yamagata discloses the limitations of claim 1. Yamagata further discloses wherein the first processor is further caused to execute: accepting an instruction by the user to either discontinue or extend the measurement by the magnetic sensor, and controlling the magnetic sensor to discontinue or extend the measurement according to the instruction. (Yamagata ¶0031 “with respect to the magnetic field data V (t) at time t out of the magnetic field data 301 output from the magnetic sensor array 110, the magnetic field data processing device 120 executes the RENS algorithm to reconstruct the current source”; ¶0062; ¶0113 “Thus, according to the third embodiment, the spatial filter is applied until the change in the reconfiguration data that converges to one of the convergence points is less than the predetermined threshold value Th. Thereby, according to the third embodiment, it is possible to apply the spatial filter until the reconstruction data that converges to one of the convergence points converges to a certain degree, and the error of the optimized reconstruction data is set to It can be suppressed to a desired value.”; ¶0121; ¶0058 "The input unit 606 is an input device for inputting various information (for example, information of the subject 140) to the magnetic field data processing apparatus 120. The connection unit 607 is a connection device that receives the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110.”).
Regarding claim 11, Yamagata discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a computer to execute a process by a biological-data measurement system including a measurement work station (Yamagata magnetic field data acquisition unit 710 as seen in Figure 7); a magnetic sensor connected to the measurement work station measuring biomagnetic field data of a biomagnetic field generated by a living body in a state in which measurement cycles of the magnetic sensor are different for each of a plurality of parts of the living body (Yamagata ¶0061 “The magnetic field data acquisition unit 710 acquires the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110 via the connection unit 607.”; ¶0013-¶0014 “As shown in FIG. 1 (a), the magnetic field data processing system 100 includes a magnetic sensor array 110 and a magnetic field data processing device 120. The magnetic sensor array 110 is a biosensor in which a plurality of magnetic sensors are arranged in an array. The magnetic sensor array 110 measures a magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation to a predetermined portion of the subject”. The examiner notes that the sensors having different measurement cycles per body location is a general principle of using biomagnetic sensors and does not further limit the limitation) an analysis work station (Yamagata RENS algorithm execution unit 730 as seen in Figure 7); and a storage configured to store data (Yamagata data storage unit 122 as seen in Figure 7) the measurement work station, the analysis work station, and the storage being communicatively connected to each other (Yamagata ¶0060-¶0068; Figure 7 showing the units all in connection), the process comprising; counting a plurality of trigger signals that cause stimuli to be applied toa plurality of parts of the living body in time series to acquire an addition count of biomagnetic field data measured in response to the plurality of trigger signals for the each of the plurality of parts (Yamagata ¶0014 “The magnetic sensor array 110 is a biosensor in which a plurality of magnetic sensors are arranged in an array. The magnetic sensor array 110 measures a magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation to a predetermined portion of the subject” where “magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation” can be interpreted as the trigger signals associated with an applied stimulus; ¶0022; ¶0030): performing an addition-averaging process to obtain addition-average data every time an addition count acquired by counting the plurality of trigger signals reaches a predetermined count (Yamagata ¶0076 “In step S 803, the reconstruction unit 732 calculates the weight wi (r) in the case of application count = i based on the following expression (5)”; ¶0079 “In step S 805, the repetition control unit 733 determines whether or not the counter i exceeds the upper limit N of the number of times of application preset by the setting unit 731. In step S 805, when it is determined that the number is less than or equal to the upper limit N of the number of times of application (No in step S 805), the process proceeds to step S 806”), associating the addition-average data with the addition count; transmitting the addition-average data in association with the addition count from the measurement work station to the storage; storing, in the storage, the addition-average data in association with the addition count received from the measurement work station (Yamagata ¶0120 “The output unit 735 stores the calculated current value S .sub.opt (r, t) of the optimized reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122” Where the optimized reconstruction data is obtained by apply the spatial filters until the data converges to the optimized result, therefore in nature being associated with the addition count to arrive at the stored results; ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”); causing the analysis work station to acquire the addition average data, stored in association with the addition count, from the storage by specifying a same addition count for the each of the plurality of parts (Yamagata ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”; ¶0064 “Specifically, when executing the RENS algorithm, the reconstruction unit 732 reconstructs the current source by applying a spatial filter to the magnetic field data stored in the data storage unit 122, and reconstructs the reconstruction data”); and performing a biological data processing based on the biomagnetic field data, by using the addition-average data corresponding to the same addition count specified for the each of the plurality of parts. (Yamagata ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”; ¶0064 “Specifically, when executing the RENS algorithm, the reconstruction unit 732 reconstructs the current source by applying a spatial filter to the magnetic field data stored in the data storage unit 122, and reconstructs the reconstruction data”; ¶0125 “The same is true even if there is. In other words, the same effect as in the first embodiment can be obtained by extracting reconstruction data that converges at each of a plurality of convergence points and performing weighted addition.”); and displaying a processing result on a display of the analysis work station, allowing a user to view the processing result displayed on the display of the analysis work station (Yamagata ¶0068 “The output unit 735 functions as an output unit, and stores the optimized reconfiguration data generated by the addition unit 734 in the data storage unit 122. Further, the output unit 735 displays the optimized reconstruction data generated by the addition unit 734 on the display unit 605”); transmitting the processing result from the analysis work station to the measurement work station (Yamagata ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”); and causing the measurement work station to control the magnetic sensor to discontinue or extend measurement based on the processing result. (Yamagata ¶0105 “On the other hand, in the third embodiment, the spatial filter is applied until the change in the reconfiguration data that converges to one of the convergence points satisfies a predetermined condition.”; This shows that the device sets limits for processing based on specified conditions such as error reduction and collection time limits; ¶0109; ¶0030 also showing the limitations of signal collection).
Regarding claim 12, Yamagata discloses a biological-data measurement system (Yamagata ¶0010 “FIG. 1 is a diagram showing a functional configuration of a magnetic field data processing apparatus according to a first embodiment.”; ¶0052 “magnetic field data processing apparatus 120”) a measurement work station (Yamagata magnetic field data acquisition unit 710 as seen in Figure 7); a magnetic sensor connected to the measurement work station, the magnetic sensor configured to measure biomagnetic field data generated by a living body (Yamagata ¶0061 “The magnetic field data acquisition unit 710 acquires the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110 via the connection unit 607.”; ¶0013-¶0014 “As shown in FIG. 1 (a), the magnetic field data processing system 100 includes a magnetic sensor array 110 and a magnetic field data processing device 120. The magnetic sensor array 110 is a biosensor in which a plurality of magnetic sensors are arranged in an array. The magnetic sensor array 110 measures a magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation to a predetermined portion of the subject”); an analysis work station (Yamagata RENS algorithm execution unit 730 as seen in Figure 7); and a storage configured to store data (Yamagata data storage unit 122 as seen in Figure 7) wherein the measurement work station, the analysis work station, and the storage being communicatively connected to each other (Yamagata ¶0060-¶0068; Figure 7 showing the units all in connection), wherein measurement cycles of the magnetic sensor are different for each of a plurality of parts of the living body (XXXXX); wherein the measurement work station includes a first processor (Yamagata ¶0053 “As shown in FIG. 6, the magnetic field data processing apparatus 120 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 601, a ROM (Read Only Memory) 602, and a RAM (Random Access Memory) 603.”; ¶0055 “The ROM 602 is a nonvolatile main storage device. The ROM 602 stores various programs, data, and the like necessary for the CPU 601 to execute various programs stored in the auxiliary storage unit 604.”) and a first memory that includes instructions, (Yamagata ¶0053 “As shown in FIG. 6, the magnetic field data processing apparatus 120 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 601, a ROM (Read Only Memory) 602, and a RAM (Random Access Memory) 603.”; ¶0055 “The ROM 602 is a nonvolatile main storage device. The ROM 602 stores various programs, data, and the like necessary for the CPU 601 to execute various programs stored in the auxiliary storage unit 604.”): the analysis work station includes a second processor (Yamagata Figure 7 where each “unit” in Fig. 7 could be considered a separate processor or processing core) a second memory (Yamagata auxiliary storage unit 604) which when executed, cause the processor to execute, counting a plurality of trigger signals that cause stimuli to be applied to a plurality of parts of a living body in time series to acquire an addition count of biomagnetic field measured in response to the plurality of trigger signals for each of the plurality of parts (Yamagata ¶0014 “The magnetic sensor array 110 is a biosensor in which a plurality of magnetic sensors are arranged in an array. The magnetic sensor array 110 measures a magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation to a predetermined portion of the subject” where “magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation” can be interpreted as the trigger signals associated with an applied stimulus; ¶0022; ¶0030); performing a segment addition-averaging process to obtain segment addition data on biomagnetic field data every time an addition count acquired by counting the plurality of trigger signals reaches a predetermined count (Yamagata ¶0076 “In step S 803, the reconstruction unit 732 calculates the weight wi (r) in the case of application count = i based on the following expression (5)”; ¶0079 “In step S 805, the repetition control unit 733 determines whether or not the counter i exceeds the upper limit N of the number of times of application preset by the setting unit 731. In step S 805, when it is determined that the number is less than or equal to the upper limit N of the number of times of application (No in step S 805), the process proceeds to step S 806”); the segment addition-averaging process being performed on the biomagnetic field data obtained by excluding a count that is specified separately (Yamagata ¶0061 “The artifact removal unit 720 removes artifacts included in the acquired magnetic field data and stores them in the data storage unit 122.”); displaying, on a display, the segment addition data to allow a user to determine whether the segment addition data is normal or abnormal (Yamagata ¶0068 “The output unit 735 functions as an output unit, and stores the optimized reconfiguration data generated by the addition unit 734 in the data storage unit 122. Further, the output unit 735 displays the optimized reconstruction data generated by the addition unit 734 on the display unit 605”); associating the segment addition data with the addition count; transmitting the segment addition data in association with the addition count to the storage; wherein the storage is configured to store segment addition data, in association with the addition count received from the measurement work station (Yamagata ¶0120 “The output unit 735 stores the calculated current value S .sub.opt (r, t) of the optimized reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122” Where the optimized reconstruction data is obtained by apply the spatial filters until the data converges to the optimized result, therefore in nature being associated with the addition count to arrive at the stored results; ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”); and wherein the analysis work station that includes instructions, which when executed, cause the second processor to execute performing an addition-averaging process to acquire segment addition-average data, the addition-averaging process being performed on the segment addition data acquired by excluding the segment addition data that is determined to be abnormal. (Yamagata ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”; ¶0064 “Specifically, when executing the RENS algorithm, the reconstruction unit 732 reconstructs the current source by applying a spatial filter to the magnetic field data stored in the data storage unit 122, and reconstructs the reconstruction data”) performing biological data processing based on the biomagnetic field data, with respect to at least one of the segment addition data or the segment addition-average data, acquired by specifying a same addition count for the each of the plurality of parts (Yamagata ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”; ¶0064 “Specifically, when executing the RENS algorithm, the reconstruction unit 732 reconstructs the current source by applying a spatial filter to the magnetic field data stored in the data storage unit 122, and reconstructs the reconstruction data”; ¶0125 “The same is true even if there is. In other words, the same effect as in the first embodiment can be obtained by extracting reconstruction data that converges at each of a plurality of convergence points and performing weighted addition.”); and transmitting a result of the biological data processing to the measurement work station (Yamagata ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”) and wherein the first processor of the measurement work station is further caused to execute controlling the magnetic sensor to discontinue or extend measurement based on the result (Yamagata ¶0105 “On the other hand, in the third embodiment, the spatial filter is applied until the change in the reconfiguration data that converges to one of the convergence points satisfies a predetermined condition.”; This shows that the device sets limits for processing based on specified conditions such as error reduction and collection time limits; ¶0109; ¶0030 also showing the limitations of signal collection).
Regarding claim 14, Yamagata discloses the limitations of claim 12. Yamagata further discloses and the biological data processing includes at least one of a process of estimating an intensity of an action current in the living body based on the biomagnetic field data (Yamagata ¶0027 “In the magnetic sensor array 110, the magnetic field generated by the flow of the volume current and the intracellular current is measured as a voltage signal, and the measured voltage signal is output as magnetic field data.”; ¶0029) or a process of performing frequency analysis on the biomagnetic field data, (Yamagata ¶0008 “A reconstruction means for reconstructing a current source in a living body by applying a spatial filter a plurality of times to biometric data measured by using a biometric sensor to generate reconstruction data”; ¶0064) and the displaying includes displaying the result of the biological data processing on the display. (Yamagata ¶0068 “Further, the output unit 735 displays the optimized reconstruction data generated by the addition unit 734 on the display unit 605.”).
Regarding claim 15, Yamagata discloses the limitations of claims 12-14. Yamagata further discloses wherein the displaying includes displaying a plurality of pieces of the segment addition data with a plurality of pieces of the segment addition-average data as separate graphs. (Yamagata Figures 3B (described in ¶0032) & 3C (described in ¶003) showing the data in varying graphical forms.; ¶0058 “The display unit 605 is a display device for displaying various screens.”).
Regarding claim 16, Yamagata discloses a biological-data measurement system comprising (Yamagata ¶0010 “FIG. 1 is a diagram showing a functional configuration of a magnetic field data processing apparatus according to a first embodiment.”; ¶0052 “magnetic field data processing apparatus 120”): a magnetic sensor connected to the measurement work station, the magnetic sensor configured to measure biomagnetic field data generated by a living body wherein measurement cycles of the magnetic sensor are different for each of a plurality of parts of the living body (Yamagata ¶0061 “The magnetic field data acquisition unit 710 acquires the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110 via the connection unit 607.”; ¶0013-¶0014 “As shown in FIG. 1 (a), the magnetic field data processing system 100 includes a magnetic sensor array 110 and a magnetic field data processing device 120. The magnetic sensor array 110 is a biosensor in which a plurality of magnetic sensors are arranged in an array. The magnetic sensor array 110 measures a magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation to a predetermined portion of the subject”. The examiner notes that the sensors having different measurement cycles per body location is a general principle of using biomagnetic sensors and does not further limit the limitation);a measurement work station (Yamagata magnetic field data acquisition unit 710 as seen in Figure 7); an analysis work station (Yamagata RENS algorithm execution unit 730 as seen in Figure 7); and a storage configured to store data (Yamagata data storage unit 122 as seen in Figure 7), wherein the measurement work station, the analysis work station, and the storage being communicatively connected to each other (Yamagata ¶0060-¶0068; Figure 7 showing the units all in connection), wherein the measurement work station includes a first processor; and a first memory that includes instructions, which when executed, cause the first processor to execute (Yamagata ¶0053 “As shown in FIG. 6, the magnetic field data processing apparatus 120 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 601, a ROM (Read Only Memory) 602, and a RAM (Random Access Memory) 603.”; ¶0055 “The ROM 602 is a nonvolatile main storage device. The ROM 602 stores various programs, data, and the like necessary for the CPU 601 to execute various programs stored in the auxiliary storage unit 604.”): counting a plurality of trigger signals that cause stimuli to be applied to the plurality of parts of the living body in time series to acquire an addition count of biomagnetic field data measured in response to the plurality of trigger signals for each of the the plurality of parts (Yamagata ¶0014 “The magnetic sensor array 110 is a biosensor in which a plurality of magnetic sensors are arranged in an array. The magnetic sensor array 110 measures a magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation to a predetermined portion of the subject” where “magnetic field generated when an electric current flows through nerves inside the spinal column of a subject by applying electrical stimulation” can be interpreted as the trigger signals associated with an applied stimulus; ¶0022; ¶0030); performing a segment addition-averaging process on biomagnetic data to obtain segment addition data every time an addition count acquired by counting the plurality of trigger signals reaches a predetermined count; (Yamagata ¶0076 “In step S 803, the reconstruction unit 732 calculates the weight wi (r) in the case of application count = i based on the following expression (5)”; ¶0079 “In step S 805, the repetition control unit 733 determines whether or not the counter i exceeds the upper limit N of the number of times of application preset by the setting unit 731. In step S 805, when it is determined that the number is less than or equal to the upper limit N of the number of times of application (No in step S 805), the process proceeds to step S 806”); the segment addition-averaging process being performed on the biomagnetic data obtained by excluding a count that is specified separately (Yamagata ¶0061 “The artifact removal unit 720 removes artifacts included in the acquired magnetic field data and stores them in the data storage unit 122.”); displaying, on a display, the segment addition data to allow a user to determine whether the segment addition data is normal or abnormal (Yamagata ¶0068 “The output unit 735 functions as an output unit, and stores the optimized reconfiguration data generated by the addition unit 734 in the data storage unit 122. Further, the output unit 735 displays the optimized reconstruction data generated by the addition unit 734 on the display unit 605”); associating the segment addition data with the addition count; and transmitting the segment addition data in association with the addition count to the storage, wherein the storage is configured to store the segment addition data in association with the addition count received from the measurement work station, and all epoch data associated with the plurality of trigger signals, each piece of the all epoch data being each piece of biomagnetic field data corresponding to each of the plurality of trigger signals (Yamagata ¶0120 “The output unit 735 stores the calculated current value S .sub.opt (r, t) of the optimized reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”; ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”), the analysis work station includes a second processor (Yamagata Figure 7 where each “unit” in Fig. 7 could be considered a separate processor or processing core) a second memory (Yamagata auxiliary storage unit 604), and wherein the analysis work station includes instructions, which when executed, cause the second processor to execute performing an addition-averaging process to acquire addition-average data, the addition-averaging process being performed on the epoch data acquired by excluding the epoch data in the segment addition data that is determined to be abnormal. ; performing biological data processing based on the biomagnetic field data, with respect to at least one of the segment addition data or the segment addition-average data, acquired by specifying a same addition count for the each of the plurality of parts (Yamagata ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”; ¶0064 “Specifically, when executing the RENS algorithm, the reconstruction unit 732 reconstructs the current source by applying a spatial filter to the magnetic field data stored in the data storage unit 122, and reconstructs the reconstruction data”; ¶0125 “The same is true even if there is. In other words, the same effect as in the first embodiment can be obtained by extracting reconstruction data that converges at each of a plurality of convergence points and performing weighted addition.”); and transmitting a result of the biological data processing to the measurement work station (Yamagata ¶0017 “The magnetic field data processing unit 121 processes the magnetic field data transmitted from the magnetic sensor array 110, calculates a current value flowing through each position in the spine of the subject, and generates reconstruction data. Calculation of the current value flowing through each position by processing magnetic field data is generally referred to as “reconfiguring the current source”. The magnetic field data processing unit 121 stores the generated reconstruction data in the data storage unit 122”), and wherein the first processor of the measurement work station is further caused to execute controlling the magnetic sensor to discontinue or extend measurement based on the result (Yamagata ¶0105 “On the other hand, in the third embodiment, the spatial filter is applied until the change in the reconfiguration data that converges to one of the convergence points satisfies a predetermined condition.”; This shows that the device sets limits for processing based on specified conditions such as error reduction and collection time limits; ¶0109; ¶0030 also showing the limitations of signal collection).
Regarding claim 17, Yamagata discloses the limitations of claim 16. Yamagata further discloses wherein the predetermined count and a segment width are set separately. (Yamagata ¶0037 “In FIG. 4, each point plotted at the number of times of application = 1 indicates the current value calculated for each position r on the xy plane and the spatial filter applied 16 times, (error) between the current value calculated for each position r on the xy plane.”; ¶0062 “The RENS algorithm execution unit 730 executes the RENS algorithm using the magnetic field data stored in the data storage unit 122. The RENS algorithm executing unit 730 includes a setting unit 731, a reconfiguration unit 732, a repetition control unit 733, an addition unit 734, and an output unit 735.”; Showing that they are set separately based on the use of distinct parts setting unit 731 & repetition control unit 733.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN T FEDORKY/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/UNSU JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792