DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on (7 – 16 – 2025) has been entered.
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges that the amended claim set, and drawings corrects the issues noted by the previous office action of (4 – 17 – 2025). All of the previous drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments and remarks filed on (7 – 16 – 2025) have been fully considered but they are not persuasiveApplicant argues…
Beall et al. (US 20200298441 A1, hereinafter Beall) / Beall as modified does not teach the newly amended feature of that the closed part of the holes of the noodle prevents the forming raw material from passing through one or more openings of the die when extruding the forming raw material to produce a honeycomb formed body in which a part of the partition walls is lost so that at least two of the cells are connected to each other.
Applicant further argues that none of the other applied references make up for the deficiency of Beall / Beall as modified.
This is not found to be persuasive because…
While examiner agrees that the disclosure of Beall / Beall as modified does not speak to the closed part of the holes of the noodle prevents the forming raw material from passing through one or more openings of the die directly. However, the structure provided by Teruo et al. (WO 2011158914 A1, hereinafter Teruo) as illustrated in (Figs. 3, 5, 10, 14) Teruo an extrusion-molding device 10B that comprises a die 8 with a rate adjustment plate 5B / noodle provided before the die 8 on an upstream side of a passage of the forming raw material, with a portion of the holes of the noodle being closed and extruding the forming raw material to produce a honeycomb formed body. As such, any benefits, improvements or outcomes derived from that structure i.e., a noodle provided before the die on an upstream side of a passage of the forming raw material, a part of holes of the noodle being closed are understood to obtained by the structure provided by Teruo. Accordingly, the case law for substantially identical process and structure may be recited. Where, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2144.Additionally, an argument may be made for relevance of structure in method claims. Where to be entitled to weight in method claims, the recited structural limitations therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense, and not amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure, Ex parte Pfeiffer, 135 USPQ 31. Accordingly, the step of extrusion is not understood to affect the method in a manipulative sense i.e., extrusion with or without a noodle is still a step of extrusion and is not found to discernible change or modify how an extruder is handled or operated.
This is unpersuasive because as explained above there was not found to be deficiency in Beall / Beall as modified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 6 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beall et al. (US 20200298441 A1, hereinafter Beall) in view of Mase et al. (US 20150030510 A1, hereinafter Mase) in view of Teruo et al. (WO 2011158914 A1, hereinafter Teruo)Regarding claim 1,
A method for producing a honeycomb structure, the method comprising:
a forming step of extruding a forming raw material containing a ceramic raw material to obtain a honeycomb formed body,
the honeycomb formed body comprising:
an outer peripheral wall; and
partition walls disposed on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall,
the partition walls defining a plurality of cells,
each of the plurality of cells extending from one end face to the other end face to form a flow passage;
a drying step of drying the honeycomb formed body to obtain a honeycomb dried body; and
a firing step of firing the honeycomb dried body to obtain a honeycomb fired body,
wherein the forming step comprises
using a molding machine having:
a die; and
a noodle provided before the die on an upstream side of a passage of the forming raw material,
a part of holes of the noodle being closed, and
wherein the closed part of the holes of the noodle prevents the forming raw material from passing through one or more openings of the die when extruding the forming raw material to produce a honeycomb formed body in which a part of the partition walls is lost so that at least two of the cells are connected to each other.
Beall teaches the following:
(Abstract) teaches that the invention disclosed is for manufacturing honeycomb-structure-forming extrusion dies having a number of slots for use in producing extruded articles having complex honeycomb patterns. ([0055]) supplying extrudable material (e.g., a ceramic-forming mixture) to the slots 320, which is extruded by the slots 320 at the discharge face 310.
(Fig. 1C) shows an extruded article, where the two added arrows are found to point towards the outer peripheral wall.
& d.) ([0051]) teaches that the honeycomb formed has patterns of (Figs. 1A-1C) that resemble a square grid of alternating walls (corresponding to the slots of the extrusion die used to make the honeycomb structure) and channels (corresponding to the pins of the extrusion die used to make the honeycomb structure). As shown in (Figs. 1A-C, 8 & 13) the channels are formed from partition walls disposed on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall. With the channels found to extend from one face to another, while simultaneously providing a variety of channel sizes.
& i.) ([0049]) teaches that honeycomb extrusion dies are used to produce extruded articles having a honeycomb pattern. Where an extruder with extrusion die is understood to be utilized to form the honeycomb articles.
([0057]) teaches that one or more die inserts 100 are inserted into a slot 320 of an extrusion die 300 so as to block a plurality of portions 324 of slot 320. ([0065]) adding that (Fig. 8) shows a portion of an extruded article produced by an extrusion die having a continuous grid of square pins modified in accordance with the above so as to comprise square openings 532 (i.e., formed by a single square pin) and larger rectangular openings 534. The larger rectangular openings 534 are formed as the result of a tooth of the die insert blocking a portion of a slot (i.e., the portion of the slot located between an adjacent pair of square pins) such that no material is extruded through that portion of the slot, resulting in a discontinuous or empty portion (e.g., the discontinuous sections 505 discussed above). Highlighting, as shown in (Figs. 8 & 13), the honeycomb body comprises parts of the partition walls being lost so that some of the cells are connected to each other.
Regarding Claim 1 Beall is silent regarding details of the structure of the honeycomb channels extending from one end face to the other end face to form a flow passage and the drying & firing steps performed after extrusion. In analogous art for the production of a honeycomb body that has sections of its partition wall removed, Mase suggests details regarding the structure of the honeycomb channels and the drying & firing steps step performed after extrusion and in this regard, Mase teaches the following:
([0105]) teaches that the extruded material is a raw material.
([0012]) teaches the honeycomb structure body includes a circumferential wall positioned at an outermost circumference.
(Fig. 3) shows a schematic view illustrating the cross section of the honeycomb structure of an embodiment of the present invention parallel to the cell extending direction. As shown the cells extend from one end face to another.
([0108]) teaches after extrusion the obtained honeycomb formed structure is preferably dried. There is not any special restriction on a drying method, and examples of the method can include electromagnetic heating systems such as microwave heating drying and high-frequency dielectric heating drying, and external heating systems such as hot air drying and superheat vapor drying.
([0120]) teaches a calcination step that is preferably performed at 400 to 500° C. in the air atmosphere for 0.5 to 20 hours. ([0121]) teaches a sintering / firing step which is preferably performed at 1400 to 1500° C. in an inert atmosphere of nitrogen, argon, and the like for one to 20 hours. ([0133]) adding a post oxidation treatment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing a honeycomb with partition walls defining cells, by extruding material through a die, the die comprising a series of slots and die insert having a runner and a number of teeth into a slot of an extrusion die such that each of the teeth blocks at least a portion of the slot of the extrusion die of Beall. By modifying the manufacturing process to including a drying, calcination / sintering, as taught by Mase. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a drying, calcination / sintering step to the process as it provides a known means to control the amount of moisture remaining in the honeycomb, ([0108]) a known means for the removal of binder, ([0120]) and fabricate a honeycomb structure including activation of pore formers, ([0115]) & [0121])Regarding Claim 1, Beall as modified by Mase is silent regarding a noodle provided at the die on an upstream side and the details regarding the holes of the noodle being closed. In analogous art for the production of a honeycomb body that utilizing a forming die, Teruo suggests details regarding the implementation of an adjustment plate upstream of the die, and details regarding the holes of the adjustment plate being closed and, in this regard, Teruo teaches the following:
(Pg. 1, lines 31 – 36) teaches that the extrusion molding apparatus of the present invention includes a flow path for transporting a paste-like raw material composition, a screw provided upstream of the flow path for kneading the raw material composition while transporting it downstream, a die provided downstream of the flow path for extruding a molded body made of the raw material composition, a resistance tube connecting the flow path and the die, and a flow rate adjustment plate provided between the screw and the die. Where the flow rate adjustment plate acts as applicants noodle.
(Pg. 5, lines 205 – 207) teaches attaching pins P1 to the openings 5b, then the opening 5b is closed. The flow rate adjusting plate 5A shown in FIG. 5(a) has seven pins P1 attached to the center. The number of pins P1 is not limited to seven. (Pg. 2, lines 45 – 57) teaches that the flow rate of the raw material composition flowing near the inner wall surface of the flow channel is low, whereas the flow rate of the raw material composition flowing in the center of the flow channel is high. If the raw material composition were to be extruded through a die with this flow rate distribution to produce a green body for a honeycomb structure, problems would occur such as the partition walls in the central part of the green body being thicker than other parts or the partition walls being curved. Furthermore, if the flow rate of the raw material composition passing through the die is non-uniform, the material constituting the die will wear unevenly, which will not only cause a decrease in the dimensional accuracy of the molded product, but also may cause one portion of the die to wear preferentially, significantly shortening the die's lifespan. As such, by implementing closed and uncluttered openings 5b, the flow rate of the die is adjusted. Adding, that by adjusting the flow rate of the die, the partition walls of the honeycomb are uniformly fabricated reducing any issues with undesired dimensional changes (thickness) or curving.
As detailed above and illustrated in (Figs. 3, 5, 10, 14) Teruo discloses an extrusion-molding device 10B that comprises a die 8 with a rate adjustment plate 5B / noodle provided before the die 8 on an upstream side of a passage of the forming raw material, with a portion of the holes of the noodle being closed and extruding the forming raw material to produce a honeycomb formed body. As such, any benefits, improvements or outcomes derived from the structure i.e., a noodle provided before the die on an upstream side of a passage of the forming raw material, a part of holes of the noodle being closed are understood to obtained by the structure provided by Teruo. Accordingly, the case law for substantially identical process and structure may be recited. Where, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2144.Additionally, an argument may be made for relevance of structure in method claims. Where to be entitled to weight in method claims, the recited structural limitations therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense, and not amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure, Ex parte Pfeiffer, 135 USPQ 31. Accordingly, the step of extrusion is not understood to affect the method in a manipulative sense i.e., extrusion with or without a noodle is still a step of extrusion and is not found to discernible change or modify how an extruder is handled or operated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing a honeycomb with partition walls defining cells, by extruding material through a die, the die comprising a series of slots and die insert having a runner and a number of teeth into a slot of an extrusion die such that each of the teeth blocks at least a portion of the slot of the extrusion die of Beall as modified by Mase. By further augmenting the extruder to include a flow rate adjusting plate prior to the die, as taught by Teruo. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a flow rate adjusting plate prior to the die provides for controlling the flow rate of the extruded material by providing closed and uncluttered openings. Adding, that by providing a uniformed controlled the flow rate it helps reduce issues with the partition walls of the honeycomb being uniformly fabricated via reducing undesired dimensional changes (thickness) or curving and increases the lifespan of the die by providing even wear and tear during extrusion, (Pg. 2, lines 45-57).
Regarding claim 2 – 3 as applied to claim 1 respectively,
Wherein the forming step comprising using a molding machine having a die including a plurality of holes formed in a direction parallel to the extruding direction, in which a part of at least one hole of the plurality of holes is closed by inserting at least one pin to produce the honeycomb formed body in which a part of the partition walls is lost.
Wherein the forming step comprises using a molding machine having a die including a plurality of holes formed in a direction parallel to the extruding direction, in which a part of at least one hole of the plurality of holes is closed to produce the honeycomb formed body in which a part of the partition walls is lost.
Beall teaches the following:
& 3a.) ([0057]) teaches that one or more die inserts 100 are inserted into a slot 320 of an extrusion die 300 so as to block a plurality of portions 324 of slot 320. Teeth 140 are configured to be inserted into a slot 320 of extrusion die 300 so as to block a portion 324 of slot 320 to prevent extruded material from flowing through that portion 324 of slot 320. Teeth 140 are arranged on runner 120 in a configuration that corresponds to the arrangement of pins 315 and slots 320 for blocking a plurality of portions 324 of a slot 320 of extrusion die 300. In this way, the extrusion die 300 can be used to produce an extruded article with a desired pattern comprising discontinuities (e.g., the discontinuous sections 505) corresponding to each of the portions 324 that are blocked by the teeth 140. Highlighting, as shown in (Figs. 8 & 13), the honeycomb body comprises parts of the partition walls being lost so that some of the cells are connected to each other, resulting in a honeycomb comprising a variety of cell and channel sizes.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the method comprises forming a forming raw material having at least one hole capable of forming the honeycomb formed body in which a part of the partition walls is lost during extrusion molding, and
extruding the forming raw material to form the honeycomb formed body in which a part of the partition walls is lost.
Beall teaches the following:
([0055]) teaches supplying extrudable material (e.g., a ceramic-forming mixture) to the slots 320, which is extruded by the slots 320 at the discharge face 310.
([0057]) teaches that one or more die inserts 100 are inserted into a slot 320 of an extrusion die 300 so as to block a plurality of portions 324 of slot 320. Teeth 140 are configured to be inserted into a slot 320 of extrusion die 300 so as to block a portion 324 of slot 320 to prevent extruded material from flowing through that portion 324 of slot 320. Teeth 140 are arranged on runner 120 in a configuration that corresponds to the arrangement of pins 315 and slots 320 for blocking a plurality of portions 324 of a slot 320 of extrusion die 300. In this way, the extrusion die 300 can be used to produce an extruded article with a desired pattern comprising discontinuities (e.g., the discontinuous sections 505) corresponding to each of the portions 324 that are blocked by the teeth 140. Highlighting, as shown in (Figs. 8 & 13), the honeycomb body comprises parts of the partition walls being lost so that some of the cells are connected to each other, resulting in a honeycomb comprising a variety of cell and channel sizes.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the honeycomb structure has at least one linear slit including the cells,
the at least one linear slit being formed by removing a part of the partition walls, in a cross section perpendicular to a flow passage direction of the cells.
Beall teaches the following:
& b.) ([0057]) teaches that one or more die inserts 100 are inserted into a slot 320 of an extrusion die 300 so as to block a plurality of portions 324 of slot 320. Teeth 140 are configured to be inserted into a slot 320 of extrusion die 300 so as to block a portion 324 of slot 320 to prevent extruded material from flowing through that portion 324 of a slot 320. Teeth 140 are arranged on runner 120 in a configuration that corresponds to the arrangement of pins 315 and slots 320 for blocking a plurality of portions 324 of a slot 320 of extrusion die 300. In this way, the extrusion die 300 can be used to produce an extruded article with a desired pattern comprising discontinuities (e.g., the discontinuous sections 505) corresponding to each of the portions 324 that are blocked by the teeth 140. Highlighting, as shown in (Figs. 8 & 13), the honeycomb body comprises parts of the partition walls being lost in a linear manner, so that some of the cells are connected to each other, resulting in a honeycomb comprising a variety of cell and channel sizes.
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim ,
Wherein the method further comprises the steps of:
applying an electrode portion forming raw material containing a ceramic raw material to a side surface of the honeycomb dried body, and
drying the applied electrode portion forming raw material to obtain a honeycomb dried body with unfired electrode portions; and
firing the honeycomb dried body with unfired electrode portions to obtain a honeycomb structure having a pair of electrode portions, and
wherein the pair of the electrode potions are arranged on an outer surface of the outer peripheral wall across a central axis of the honeycomb structure so as to extend in a form of strip in the flow passage direction of the cells.
Regarding Claim 9, Beall teaches the above detailed. Beall is silent regarding applying an electrode on the surface of the honeycomb and the subsequent processing steps for the electrode. In analogous art as applied above, Mase suggests details regarding implementing an electrode on the surface of the honeycomb and the subsequent processing steps for the electrode and in this regard, Mase teaches the following:
([0130]) teaches that the electrode member forming raw material was applied, in a band-like state, to the side surface of the dried honeycomb
([0131]) teaches that the electrode member forming raw material applied to the honeycomb formed structure was dried
([0133]) teaches that the dried honeycomb body with electrode member raw material with the slits was degreased, fired, and further subjected to an oxidation treatment to obtain a honeycomb structure.
As shown in (Figs. 7-8) the electrode potions are arranged on an outer surface of the outer peripheral wall across a central axis of the honeycomb structure so as to extend in a form of strip in the flow passage direction of the cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing a honeycomb with partition walls defining cells, by extruding material through a die, the die comprising a series of slots and die insert having a runner and a number of teeth into a slot of an extrusion die such that each of the teeth blocks at least a portion of the slot of the extrusion die of Beall. By modifying the manufacturing process to including an application of an electrode to the surface of the honeycomb and subsequent processing of the electrode, as taught by Mase. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement an electrode to the surface of the honeycomb and subsequent processing of the electrode provides for the thermal shock resistance of the honeycomb structure can be improved, ([0084]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Orso et al. (US 3981657 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) a plastically moldable ceramic batch material, which may be flowable extruded under pressure into a self-supporting article of desired shape and configuration, is passed through a flow homogenizer positioned within an extrusion cylinder upstream of an article-forming extrusion die positioned on the discharge end of the extrusion cylinder.
Yasunori Yamazaki (US 20080102146 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a twin-screw extruder including a barrel, which has two screws disposed in parallel in its inside and an opening at one edge, and an extrusion molding die disposed to the opening side of the barrel through a straightening vane and a filter net, the straightening vane includes a first straightening vane and a second straightening vane.
Kaneko et al. (US 20080113858 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a die was provided for forming a honeycomb body having a structure provided with groovy slits on a front face thereof, the slits being formed by cell blocks and back holes on a back surface thereof, each hole being communicatively connected with the slit. The die is made of cemented carbide having wear resistance.
Makoto Murai (US 20090285924 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a jig for extrusion-forming is to be used to obtain a formed ceramic article by extrusion-forming. The jig for extrusion-forming includes a cylindrical extrusion passage into which kneaded clay is fed; a filtering mesh which is arranged to cover an inlet of the extrusion passage and which removes coarse particles and foreign matter from the clay.
Backhaus-Ricoult (US 20200255338 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A batch composition containing pre-reacted inorganic spheroidal particles and pore- former spheroidal particles.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743