DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 01/06/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 11/06/2025. Independent claims 1, 21 and 29-30 are amended. No claims are added or cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-30 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 <3rd>
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-5, 21 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam396 et al. (2020/0037396 as submitted in IDS), Islam396 hereinafter , in view of Bala et al. (2023/0189147), Bala hereinafter, further in view of Jiang et al. (2020/0214078), Jiang hereinafter.
Re. claims 1, 21 and 30, Islam396 teaches a method (Fig. 9 & ¶0059, ¶0061-¶0062) of wireless communication (Fig. 1/Fig. 6) at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, 1400), a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing (Fig. 1, 1400 & ¶0025) computer executable code (Fig. 1, 1401/1402 & ¶0213/¶0221) at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, 1400) and an apparatus (Fig. 1, 1400) for wireless communication (Fig. 1/Fig. 6/Fig.9) at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, 1400), comprising: a memory (Fig. 1, 1400 & ¶0025); and at least one processor (Fig. 1, 1401) coupled to the memory and configured to: receive, from a base station, a configuration for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation (Fig. 9 & ¶0059 - In one example of the DRX mode operation of the UE, UE is acting based on a configured DRX mode, e.g., according to higher layer signaled DRX configuration. However, there can be two ON durations configured, a first ON duration when UE monitors for WUS, which if detected, triggers the UE to be ON for a subsequent duration. The first ON duration implies a period/duration during which UE monitors for WUS, i.e., the first duration comprises the monitoring occasions for WUS. Also, see ¶0061-¶0062 in reference to Fig. 9, DRX configuration may include drx-onDurationTimer-WUS as part of the configuration, Hence, the minimum ON duration every DRX cycle is drx-onDurationTimer-WUS, … Here drx-onDurationTimer-WUS comprises the monitoring occasions (i.e., a plurality of monitoring occasions) of WUS. In other words, UE receives DRX configuration, which includes drx-onDurationTimer-WUS. During the first ON duration as shown in Fig. 9, once UE detect WUS, it triggers the UE to be ON during the subsequent duration (the next DRX cycle as shown in Fig. 9). As shown in Fig. 9, during the Configured ON (where drx-onDurationTimer, starts), of the next DRX cycle, UE is awake for a plurality number of monitoring occasions (with M=>1), within the Configured ON of a single DRX operation, the number of monitoring occasions, is dictated/signaled by the drx-onDurationTimer-WUS parameter as disclosed supra.), wherein the configuration comprises a DRX on duration configuration comprising a DRX on duration activatable by a wake up signal (WUS) and a WUS configuration comprising a plurality of WUS monitoring occasions in a WUS monitoring window, and wherein the WUS monitoring window and the DRX on duration of the DRX operation overlap; (Fig.9 & ¶0059 – a first ON duration when UE monitors for WUS, which if detected, triggers the UE to be ON for a subsequent duration. The first ON duration implies a period/duration during which UE monitors for WUS, i.e., the first duration comprises the monitoring occasions (i.e., a plurality of monitoring occasions) for WUS. Fig.9 & ¶0061 - UE is operating with a DRX mode with two configured ON times. One being drx-onDurationTimer (e.g., configured ON time in FIGS. 9) and another drx-onDurationTimer-WUS (e.g., ON time (WUS) in FIGS. 9), where drx-onDurationTimer does not start unless WUS is detected during drx-onDurationTimer-WUS ….DRX configuration may include drx-onDurationTimer-WUS as part of the configuration. Hence, the minimum ON duration every DRX cycle is drx-onDurationTimer-WUS…. Here drx-onDurationTimer-WUS comprises the monitoring occasions of WUS (i.e., a plurality of WUS occasions !!!) for every DRX cycle!!. . Fig.9 & ¶0062 - In FIG. 9, it is assumed that drx-onDurationTimer starts immediately after drx-onDurationTimer-WUS ends and WUS is detected… In another example, there can be M=>1 monitoring occasions configured within the monitoring window for WUS. Here, monitoring window refers to ON time (WUS) drx-onDurationTimer-WUS in a DRX cycle; In other words, UE receives DRX configuration, which includes two configured ON times, namely, drx-onDurationTimer and drx-onDurationTimer-WUS. During the first ON duration as shown in Fig. 9, once UE detect WUS, it triggers the UE to be ON during the subsequent duration (the next DRX cycle as shown in Fig. 9). As shown in Fig. 9, during the Configured ON (where drx-onDurationTimer, starts), of the next DRX cycle, UE is awake for a plurality number of monitoring occasions (with M=>1), within the Configured ON of a single DRX operation, the number of monitoring occasions, is dictated/signaled by the drx-onDurationTimer-WUS parameter as disclosed supra. It is evident from the disclosure in ¶0062 along with Fig. 9, the WUS monitoring window (having a plurality of WUS monitoring occasions (with M=>1 in WUS monitoring window) and the on duration of the DRX operation <i.e., Configured ON > do overlaps each other, as because, the (having a plurality of WUS monitoring occasions (with M=>1 in WUS monitoring window) is within the monitoring window for WUS <i.e., Configured ON > as shown in Fig. 9. In fact, the aforementioned, disclosure by Islam396, is similar to instant application, at least in ¶0094, where it recites, “The WUS may be configured to comprise multiple WUS 804 which may be configured within an on duration”, quite contrast to applicant’s arguments at least in pages 9-10 as submitted on 01/30/2025); and monitor for communication from the base station based on the WUS configuration (Fig.9 & ¶0012 - FIG. 9 shows an example where UE immediately starts monitoring for PDCCH and other signaling for the configured ON duration after WUS is detected. Fig. 9 & ¶0059 - In one example of the DRX mode operation of the UE, UE is acting based on a configured DRX mode, e.g., according to higher layer signaled DRX configuration. However, there can be two ON durations configured, a first ON duration when UE monitors for WUS, which if detected, triggers the UE to be ON for a subsequent duration. The first ON duration implies a period/duration during which UE monitors for WUS, i.e., the first duration comprises the monitoring occasions for WUS. Also, see ¶0061-¶0062 in reference to Fig. 9.)
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the WUS monitoring window is after an expected burst arrival time,
However, in the analogous art, Bala explicitly discloses wherein the WUS monitoring window is after an expected burst arrival time, (¶0020 - FIG. 11 illustrates an example of a WUS burst offset relative to an SS burst. Fig. 11 & ¶0210 - a WUS burst offset relative to an SS burst. A WUS burst may be monitored with a time offset with respect to the associated SS burst, e.g., as shown by example in FIG. 11.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication to include Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption for the WTRU operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0097, Bala).
Yet, Islam396 and Bala do not expressly teach receive, from the base station, a blind decode indicator associated with a blind decode operation on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); perform the blind decode operation on the PDCCH when based on the blind decode indicator permits the UE to perform the blind decode operation;
However, in the analogous art, Jiang explicitly discloses receive, from the base station, a blind decode indicator associated with a blind decode operation on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); perform the blind decode operation on the PDCCH when based on the blind decode indicator permits the UE to perform the blind decode operation; (Fig. 4 & ¶0050 - Upon the receipt of the WUS, the UE may be switched to a ramp-up state in response to the WUS, and perform the blind detection on the PDCCH within the time length of the on-duration timer. Here, the blind detection on the PDCCH may be understood as data & control channel processing. Then, the UE may receive the PDCCH signal within a time length of an inactivity timer. After the expiration of the inactivity timer, the UE may be switched to a ramp-down state. Fig. 4 & ¶0051 - the time length of the on-duration timer or the DRX cycle may be indicated to the UE through the WUS or the go-to-sleep signal. As a result, it is able for the UE to monitor or perform the blind detection in accordance with the time length of the on-duration timer … Fig. 1-11 & ¶0068 - The payload may be understood as a dedicated signal for indicating the DRX parameter. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0069 - Step 702: transmitting the payload to the UE via the PDCCH. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0070 - the DRX parameter may include at least one of a time length of an on-duration timer, first blind detection information, and a DRX cycle. The first blind detection information may be blind detection information for the blind detection performed by the UE on the PDCCH within the time length of the on-duration timer. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0123 - the DRX parameter may include at least one of the time length of the on-duration timer, first blind detection information and the DRX cycle. The first blind detection information may be blind detection information for the blind detection performed by the UE on the PDCCH within the time length of the on-duration timer. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0128 - when the time length of the on-duration timer or the DRX cycle is indicated through the WUS or the go-to-sleep signal or at least one of the time length of the on-duration timer, the first blind detection information and the DRX cycle is indicated through the payload, it is able for the UE to perform the blind detection on the PDCCH in accordance with the DRX parameter, thereby to increase the success rate of the blind detection on the PDCCH, and reduce the power consumption for the UE, as shown in FIGS. 4 <See snapshot below>, 5, 8 and 9. In fact, the aforesaid disclosure by Jiang, is very similar to the instant application, at least in ¶0014, where it recites, “The apparatus configures a UE with a configuration for DRX operation, wherein the configuration comprises at least one blind decode indication during a DRX on duration of the DRX operation. The apparatus transmits the at least one blind decode indication during the DRX on duration, wherein the UE performs a blind decode operation based on the at least one blind decode indication.”, also, in ¶0103, ¶0129-¶0130 of PG-PUB, quite a contrast to applicant’s argument at page 9 of remarks as submitted on 01/06/2026.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system to include Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system , because it provides an efficient mechanism in receiving DRX parameter with sufficient flexibility for the configurations of the DRX parameter are adjusted in accordance with different requirements on different services, in turns, improves the probability of acquiring data increases remarkably when a blind detection is performed by a UE (User Equipment) on a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) using the DRX mechanism, results in an improved power consumption of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Jiang)
Re. claim 29, Islam396 teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1, 1400) for wireless communication (Fig. 1/Fig. 6/Fig.7) at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, 1400), comprising: means for receiving, from a base station, a configuration for discontinuous reception (DRX) operation (Fig. 9 & ¶0059 - In one example of the DRX mode operation of the UE, UE is acting based on a configured DRX mode, e.g., according to higher layer signaled DRX configuration. However, there can be two ON durations configured, a first ON duration when UE monitors for WUS, which if detected, triggers the UE to be ON for a subsequent duration. The first ON duration implies a period/duration during which UE monitors for WUS, i.e., the first duration comprises the monitoring occasions for WUS. Also, see ¶0061-¶0062 in reference to Fig. 9, DRX configuration may include drx-onDurationTimer-WUS as part of the configuration, Hence, the minimum ON duration every DRX cycle is drx-onDurationTimer-WUS, … Here drx-onDurationTimer-WUS comprises the monitoring occasions (i.e., a plurality of monitoring occasions) of WUS. In other words, UE receives DRX configuration, which includes drx-onDurationTimer-WUS. During the first ON duration as shown in Fig. 9, once UE detect WUS, it triggers the UE to be ON during the subsequent duration (the next DRX cycle as shown in Fig. 9). As shown in Fig. 9, during the Configured ON (where drx-onDurationTimer, starts), of the next DRX cycle, UE is awake for a plurality number of monitoring occasions (with M=>1), within the Configured ON of a single DRX operation, the number of monitoring occasions, is dictated/signaled by the drx-onDurationTimer-WUS parameter as disclosed supra.),; wherein the configuration comprises a DRX on duration configuration comprising a DRX on duration activatable by a wake up signal (WUS) and a WUS configuration comprising a plurality of WUS monitoring occasions in a WUS monitoring window, and wherein the WUS monitoring window and on duration of the DRX operation overlap; (Fig.9 & ¶0059 – a first ON duration when UE monitors for WUS, which if detected, triggers the UE to be ON for a subsequent duration. The first ON duration implies a period/duration during which UE monitors for WUS, i.e., the first duration comprises the monitoring occasions (i.e., a plurality of monitoring occasions) for WUS. Fig.9 & ¶0061 - UE is operating with a DRX mode with two configured ON times. One being drx-onDurationTimer (e.g., configured ON time in FIGS. 9) and another drx-onDurationTimer-WUS (e.g., ON time (WUS) in FIGS. 9), where drx-onDurationTimer does not start unless WUS is detected during drx-onDurationTimer-WUS ….DRX configuration may include drx-onDurationTimer-WUS as part of the configuration. Hence, the minimum ON duration every DRX cycle is drx-onDurationTimer-WUS…. Here drx-onDurationTimer-WUS comprises the monitoring occasions of WUS (i.e., a plurality of WUS occasions !!!) for every DRX cycle!!. . Fig.9 & ¶0062 - In FIG. 9, it is assumed that drx-onDurationTimer starts immediately after drx-onDurationTimer-WUS ends and WUS is detected… In another example, there can be M=>1 monitoring occasions configured within the monitoring window for WUS. Here, monitoring window refers to ON time (WUS) drx-onDurationTimer-WUS in a DRX cycle; In other words, UE receives DRX configuration, which includes two configured ON times, namely, drx-onDurationTimer and drx-onDurationTimer-WUS. During the first ON duration as shown in Fig. 9, once UE detect WUS, it triggers the UE to be ON during the subsequent duration (the next DRX cycle as shown in Fig. 9). As shown in Fig. 9, during the Configured ON (where drx-onDurationTimer, starts), of the next DRX cycle, UE is awake for a plurality number of monitoring occasions (with M=>1), within the Configured ON of a single DRX operation, the number of monitoring occasions, is dictated/signaled by the drx-onDurationTimer-WUS parameter as disclosed supra. It is evident from the disclosure in ¶0062 along with Fig. 9, the WUS monitoring window (having a plurality of WUS monitoring occasions (with M=>1 in WUS monitoring window) and the on duration of the DRX operation <i.e., Configured ON > do overlaps each other, as because, the (having a plurality of WUS monitoring occasions (with M=>1 in WUS monitoring window) is within the monitoring window for WUS <i.e., Configured ON > as shown in Fig. 9. In fact, the aforementioned, disclosure by Islam396, is similar to instant application, at least in ¶0094, where it recites, “The WUS may be configured to comprise multiple WUS 804 which may be configured within an on duration”, quite contrast to applicant’s arguments at least in pages 9-10 as submitted on 01/30/2025.); and means for monitoring for communication from the base station based on the WUS configuration (Fig.9 & ¶0012 - FIG. 9 shows an example where UE immediately starts monitoring for PDCCH and other signaling for the configured ON duration after WUS is detected. Fig. 9 & ¶0059 - In one example of the DRX mode operation of the UE, UE is acting based on a configured DRX mode, e.g., according to higher layer signaled DRX configuration. However, there can be two ON durations configured, a first ON duration when UE monitors for WUS, which if detected, triggers the UE to be ON for a subsequent duration. The first ON duration implies a period/duration during which UE monitors for WUS, i.e., the first duration comprises the monitoring occasions for WUS. Also, see ¶0061-¶0062 in reference to Fig. 9.)
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the WUS monitoring window is after an expected burst arrival time,
However, in the analogous art, Bala explicitly discloses wherein the WUS monitoring window is after an expected burst arrival time, (¶0020 - FIG. 11 illustrates an example of a WUS burst offset relative to an SS burst. Fig. 11 & ¶0210 - a WUS burst offset relative to an SS burst. A WUS burst may be monitored with a time offset with respect to the associated SS burst, e.g., as shown by example in FIG. 11.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication to include Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption for the WTRU operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0097, Bala).
Yet, Islam396 and Bala do not expressly teach means for receiving, from the base station, a blind decode indicator associated with a blind decode operation on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); means for performing the blind decode operation on the PDCCH when the blind decode indicator permits the UE to perform the blind decode operation;
However, in the analogous art, Jiang explicitly discloses means for receiving, from the base station, a blind decode indicator associated with a blind decode operation on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); means for performing the blind decode operation on the PDCCH when the blind decode indicator permits the UE to perform the blind decode operation; (Fig. 4 & ¶0050 - Upon the receipt of the WUS, the UE may be switched to a ramp-up state in response to the WUS, and perform the blind detection on the PDCCH within the time length of the on-duration timer. Here, the blind detection on the PDCCH may be understood as data & control channel processing. Then, the UE may receive the PDCCH signal within a time length of an inactivity timer. After the expiration of the inactivity timer, the UE may be switched to a ramp-down state. Fig. 4 & ¶0051 - the time length of the on-duration timer or the DRX cycle may be indicated to the UE through the WUS or the go-to-sleep signal. As a result, it is able for the UE to monitor or perform the blind detection in accordance with the time length of the on-duration timer … Fig. 1-11 & ¶0068 - The payload may be understood as a dedicated signal for indicating the DRX parameter. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0069 - Step 702: transmitting the payload to the UE via the PDCCH. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0070 - the DRX parameter may include at least one of a time length of an on-duration timer, first blind detection information, and a DRX cycle. The first blind detection information may be blind detection information for the blind detection performed by the UE on the PDCCH within the time length of the on-duration timer. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0123 - the DRX parameter may include at least one of the time length of the on-duration timer, first blind detection information and the DRX cycle. The first blind detection information may be blind detection information for the blind detection performed by the UE on the PDCCH within the time length of the on-duration timer. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0128 - when the time length of the on-duration timer or the DRX cycle is indicated through the WUS or the go-to-sleep signal or at least one of the time length of the on-duration timer, the first blind detection information and the DRX cycle is indicated through the payload, it is able for the UE to perform the blind detection on the PDCCH in accordance with the DRX parameter, thereby to increase the success rate of the blind detection on the PDCCH, and reduce the power consumption for the UE, as shown in FIGS. 4 <See snapshot below>, 5, 8 and 9. In fact, the aforesaid disclosure by Jiang, is very similar to the instant application, at least in ¶0014, where it recites, “The apparatus configures a UE with a configuration for DRX operation, wherein the configuration comprises at least one blind decode indication during a DRX on duration of the DRX operation. The apparatus transmits the at least one blind decode indication during the DRX on duration, wherein the UE performs a blind decode operation based on the at least one blind decode indication.”, also, in ¶0103, ¶0129-¶0130 of PG-PUB, quite a contrast to applicant’s argument at page 9 of remarks as submitted on 01/06/2026.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system to include Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system , because it provides an efficient mechanism in receiving DRX parameter with sufficient flexibility for the configurations of the DRX parameter are adjusted in accordance with different requirements on different services, in turns, improves the probability of acquiring data increases remarkably when a blind detection is performed by a UE (User Equipment) on a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) using the DRX mechanism, results in an improved power consumption of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Jiang)
Re. Claim 2, Islam396, Bala and Jiang teach claim 1.
Islam396 also teaches further comprising a transceiver (Fig. 1, 1402) coupled to the at least one processor (Fig. 1, 1401).
Re. Claim 3, Islam396, Bala and Jiang teach claim 1.
Islam396 also teaches wherein the WUS configuration comprises a minimum time gap indicating a minimum gap between a received WUS and a time when a DRX on duration timer starts. (Fig.1-9 & ¶0062 - there is a gap between when drx-onDurationTimer-WUS ends and drx-onDurationTimer starts. This implies WUS is monitored at an offset before when drx-onDurationTimer can start. In FIG. 8, it is assumed that WUS may potentially indicate BWP, e.g., UE wakes up and start monitoring for regular BWP in a different, possibly, larger BWP than used for WUS monitoring. In another example, similar to what is shown in FIG. 8, WUS can be monitored in a small BWP (e.g., BWP 1) and if detected, UE may switch to a default/configured bandwidth part (e.g., BWP 2) or the bandwidth part where the UE was previously in before DRX mode was configured. In FIG. 9, it is assumed that drx-onDurationTimer starts immediately after drx-onDurationTimer-WUS ends and WUS is detected. A parameter can be identified Ngap which indicates the inactivity duration which starts after drx-onDurationTimer-WUS expires and ends before drx-onDurationTimer starts. Ngap can be expressed in symbols or slots in a given numerology or in ms, Ngap can be indicated as part of the WUS signaling. In another example, there can be M=>1 monitoring occasions configured within the monitoring window for WUS. In one example, if UE detects WUS early during the monitoring window, UE may sleep for the remaining duration of the monitoring window and turns ON when configured ON duration for PDCCH monitoring starts. In that context, Ngap can be expressed as the time between the location of successful detection of WUS and when ON duration for PDCCH monitoring starts.);
Re. Claim 4, Islam396, Bala and Jiang teach claim 1.
Islam396 also teaches wherein the DRX on duration configuration comprises a plurality of DRX on duration timer start occasions within the DRX on duration, wherein one or more of the plurality of DRX on duration timer start occasions start after a start of the DRX on duration of the DRX operation. (Fig.1-9 & ¶0061 - In FIGS. 7-9 FIGS. 3(a)-3(c), UE is operating with a DRX mode with two configured ON times. One being drx-onDurationTimer (e.g., configured ON time in FIGS. 7-9) and another drx-onDurationTimer-WUS (e.g., ON time (WUS) in FIGS. 7-9), where drx-onDurationTimer does not start unless WUS is detected during drx-onDurationTimer-WUS and in one example drx-onDurationTimer-WUS drx-onDurationTimer. Fig.1-9 & ¶0062 - there is a gap between when drx-onDurationTimer-WUS ends and drx-onDurationTimer starts. This implies WUS is monitored at an offset before when drx-onDurationTimer can start. In FIG. 8, it is assumed that WUS may potentially indicate BWP, e.g., UE wakes up and start monitoring for regular BWP in a different, possibly, larger BWP than used for WUS monitoring. In another example, similar to what is shown in FIG. 8, WUS can be monitored in a small BWP (e.g., BWP 1) and if detected, UE may switch to a default/configured bandwidth part (e.g., BWP 2) or the bandwidth part where the UE was previously in before DRX mode was configured. In FIG. 9, it is assumed that drx-onDurationTimer starts immediately after drx-onDurationTimer-WUS ends and WUS is detected. A parameter can be identified Ngap which indicates the inactivity duration which starts after drx-onDurationTimer-WUS expires and ends before drx-onDurationTimer starts. Ngap can be expressed in symbols or slots in a given numerology or in ms, Ngap can be indicated as part of the WUS signaling. In another example, there can be M=>1 monitoring occasions configured within the monitoring window for WUS.).
Re. Claim 5, Islam396, Bala and Jiang teach claim 4.
Islam396 also teaches wherein each of the plurality of DRX on duration timer start occasions is associated with a respective WUJS monitoring occasion of the plurality of WUS monitoring occasions in the WUS monitoring window. (Fig.1-9 & ¶0061 - In FIGS. 7-9 FIGS. 3(a)-3(c), UE is operating with a DRX mode with two configured ON times. One being drx-onDurationTimer (e.g., configured ON time in FIGS. 7-9) and another drx-onDurationTimer-WUS (e.g., ON time (WUS) in FIGS. 7-9), where drx-onDurationTimer does not start unless WUS is detected during drx-onDurationTimer-WUS and in one example drx-onDurationTimer-WUS drx-onDurationTimer. Fig.1-9 & ¶0062 - there is a gap between when drx-onDurationTimer-WUS ends and drx-onDurationTimer starts. This implies WUS is monitored at an offset before when drx-onDurationTimer can start. In FIG. 8, it is assumed that WUS may potentially indicate BWP, e.g., UE wakes up and start monitoring for regular BWP in a different, possibly, larger BWP than used for WUS monitoring. In another example, similar to what is shown in FIG. 8, WUS can be monitored in a small BWP (e.g., BWP 1) and if detected, UE may switch to a default/configured bandwidth part (e.g., BWP 2) or the bandwidth part where the UE was previously in before DRX mode was configured. In FIG. 9, it is assumed that drx-onDurationTimer starts immediately after drx-onDurationTimer-WUS ends and WUS is detected. A parameter can be identified Ngap which indicates the inactivity duration which starts after drx-onDurationTimer-WUS expires and ends before drx-onDurationTimer starts. Ngap can be expressed in symbols or slots in a given numerology or in ms, Ngap can be indicated as part of the WUS signaling. In another example, there can be M=>1 monitoring occasions configured within the monitoring window for WUS).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam396 , in view of Bala, in view of Jiang, further in view of Zhou et al. (2023/0209532), Zhou532 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Islam396, Bala and Jiang teach claim 4.
Yet, Islam396, Bala and Jiang do not expressly teach wherein a value of a DRX on duration timer is configured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou532 explicitly discloses wherein a value of a DRX on duration timer is configured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (Fig. 29-30 & ¶0312 - the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters of one or more DRX configurations, each DRX configuration corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of DRX cell groups and each DRX configuration being associated with one or more DRX configuration parameters. The one or more DRX configuration parameters of a DRX configuration, of the one or more DRX configurations, may comprise: a timer value of a DRX on duration timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Zhou532’s invention of a system and a method for scheduling adaptation and power saving for multicast and broadcast services in LTE or 5G wireless network, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption for a wireless device with improved signaling efficiency for a base station serving the wireless device. (¶0271/¶0321, Zhou532).
Claims 7-20 and 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam396, in view of Bala, in view of Jiang, further in view of Maleki et al. (2023/0104198), Maleki hereinafter.
Re. Claim 7, Islam396, Bala and Jiang teach claim 1.
Yet, Islam396, Bala and Jiang do teach not expressly teach wherein the configuration comprises a plurality of search space sets within the DRX on duration and prior to a scheduled arrival time of data, wherein at least one of the plurality of search space sets are deactivated prior to a subsequent scheduled arrival time of data.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein the configuration comprises a plurality of search space sets within the DRX on duration and prior to a scheduled arrival time of data, wherein at least one of the plurality of search space sets are deactivated prior to a subsequent scheduled arrival time of data. (Fig. 3-9 & ¶0006 - Power savings is achieved by configuring the UE with a sparse search space for power savings and a packed search space for normal PDCCH monitoring. ….When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the sparse search space to cause the UE to switch to the packed search space. Fig. 3-9 & ¶0008 - The network node (e.g., gNB) configures a UE with a first search space for PDCCH monitoring during an ON duration of a DRX cycle. The network node further configures the UE with a second search space for PDCCH monitoring during the ON duration of a DRX cycle, the second search space having a reduced amount of control channel resources compared to the first search space. The network node transmits DCI to the UE to switch the UE between the first search space and second search space as the active search space for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0056 - … the UE 100 may continue to use the packed search space as the active search space until it receives an indication from the network 10, or until a timer expires. Fig. 3-9 & ¶0058 - the network 10 has the capability to signal the UE 100 to activate or deactivate certain search spaces (e.g., sparse search space) either explicitly (using DCI, see ¶0043) or implicitly.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 8, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 7.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein a first search space set of the plurality of search space sets is active at a beginning of the DRX on duration, wherein a second search space set is activated if a data set is received within the DRX on duration.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein a first search space set of the plurality of search space sets is active at a beginning of the DRX on duration, wherein a second search space set is activated if a data set is received within the DRX on duration. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0054 - When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring. For example, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 at the beginning of the DRX ON duration if there is immediate data to be delivered. In other embodiments, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 an any other time during the active time of the DRX cycle compatible with the sparse search space configuration. The network 10 may also send the DCI if it expects some data to be delivered to the UE 100 within the current active time.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 9, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 8.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the second search space set is deactivated prior to a next data set being received by the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein the second search space set is deactivated prior to a next data set being received by the UE. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0056 - If a downlink transmission is scheduled for the UE 100 on the PDSCH, the network 10 may send another switch command to the UE 100 at the end of the downlink data burst to switch the UE 100 back to the sparse search space if it does not expect any further downlink transmission to the UE 100 during the active time of the DRX cycle. Otherwise, the UE 100 may continue to use the packed search space as the active search space until it receives an indication from the network 10, or until a timer expires. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0058 - sparse search space and packed search space may be configured in different BWPS. In this case, the network 10 may send the UE 100 a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication to cause the UE 100 to switch from the BWP with the sparse search space to the BWP with the packed search space. In some embodiments, the network 10 has the capability to signal the UE 100 to activate or deactivate certain search spaces (e.g., packed search space) either explicitly (i.e., DCI) or implicitly.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 10, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 8.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the second search space set is deactivated based on predefined events.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein the second search space set is deactivated based on predefined events. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0056 - If a downlink transmission is scheduled for the UE 100 on the PDSCH, the network 10 may send another switch command to the UE 100 at the end of the downlink data burst to switch the UE 100 back to the sparse search space if it does not expect any further downlink transmission to the UE 100 during the active time of the DRX cycle. Otherwise, the UE 100 may continue to use the packed search space as the active search space until it receives an indication from the network 10, or until a timer expires. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0073 - at the end of a current data burst, the UE 100 is switched to the sparse search space, e.g. monitoring every 4th slot……At the end of the data burst, the UE 100 is switched back to the sparse search space.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 11, Islam396, Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 10.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the predefined events comprise at least switching to a DRX off configuration or an expiration of an inactivity or retransmission timer.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein the predefined events comprise at least switching to a DRX off configuration or an expiration of an inactivity or retransmission timer. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0056 - If a downlink transmission is scheduled for the UE 100 on the PDSCH, the network 10 may send another switch command to the UE 100 at the end of the downlink data burst to switch the UE 100 back to the sparse search space if it does not expect any further downlink transmission to the UE 100 during the active time of the DRX cycle. Otherwise, the UE 100 may continue to use the packed search space as the active search space until it receives an indication from the network 10, or until a timer expires. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least “and “or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 12, Islam396, Bala and Jiang teach claim 1.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the configuration comprises at least a first search space set active at a beginning of the DRX on duration, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform sparse monitoring of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) within the first search space set prior to a scheduled burst arrival time.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein the configuration comprises at least a first search space set active at a beginning of the DRX on duration, wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 10, 430) is further configured to: perform sparse monitoring of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) within the first search space set prior to a scheduled burst arrival time. (Fig. 3-9 & ¶0006 - Power savings is achieved by configuring the UE with a sparse search space for power savings and a packed search space for normal PDCCH monitoring. The sparse search space contains fewer PDCCH resources than the packed search space and thus requires less energy to monitor. The network is aware of the search space being monitored by the UE and can signal the UE to switch between the two search spaces by sending downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the search space being monitored by the UE. To conserve power, the network switches the UE to the sparse search space for PDCCH monitoring, which requires less energy than PDCCH monitoring in the packed search space. When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the sparse search space to cause the UE to switch to the packed search space. Fig. 3-9 & ¶0008 - The network node (e.g., gNB) configures a UE with a first search space for PDCCH monitoring during an ON duration of a DRX cycle. The network node further configures the UE with a second search space for PDCCH monitoring during the ON duration of a DRX cycle, the second search space having a reduced amount of control channel resources compared to the first search space. The network node transmits DCI to the UE to switch the UE between the first search space and second search space as the active search space for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0054 - When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring. For example, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 at the beginning of the DRX ON duration if there is immediate data to be delivered. In other embodiments, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 an any other time during the active time of the DRX cycle compatible with the sparse search space configuration. The network 10 may also send the DCI if it expects some data to be delivered to the UE 100 within the current active time.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 13, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 12.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: activate a second search space set to perform dense monitoring of the PDCCH within the second search space set, wherein the UE switches from the sparse monitoring of the PDCCH to the dense monitoring of the PDCCH.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 10, 430) is further configured to: activate a second search space set to perform dense monitoring of the PDCCH within the second search space set, wherein the UE switches from the sparse monitoring of the PDCCH to the dense monitoring of the PDCCH (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0006 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the sparse search space to cause the UE to switch to the packed search space. The DCI may comprise scheduling information, or a WUS-like signal indicating that the UE should switch search spaces for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 5 & ¶0071 - In the second ON duration, the UE 100 wakes and monitors the PDCCH in the sparse search space. In this example, the UE 100 detects DCI in the sparse search space and switches to the packed search space in the second BWP to continue monitoring the PDCCH in the packed search space. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0123 - WUS-like behavior is enabled by having a sparse/single PDCCH monitoring occasion during a DRX ON duration and switching to a dense/multi PDCCH monitoring occasion via BWP switching when data is transmitted to the UE 100.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 14, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 13.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a downlink grant within the first search space set.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 10, 430) is further configured to: receive a downlink grant within the first search space set (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0006 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the sparse search space to cause the UE to switch to the packed search space. The DCI may comprise scheduling information, or a WUS-like signal indicating that the UE should switch search spaces for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0040 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to switch to the packed search space. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0054 - When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 15, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 14.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein activation of the second search space set is indicated via downlink control information (DCI), wherein the second search space set is indicated by a value in the DCI.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein activation of the second search space set is indicated via downlink control information (DCI), wherein the second search space set is indicated by a value in the DCI. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0057 - the network 10 may send DCI scheduling a downlink transmission to the UE 100 in the sparse search space, which causes the UE 100 to switch search spaces. The DCI may include an additional bit field for a switch command or switch indication.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 16, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 14.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein activation of the second search space set is indicated based on reception of the downlink grant.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein activation of the second search space set is indicated based on reception of the downlink grant. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0054 - When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0057 - the network 10 may send DCI scheduling a downlink transmission to the UE 100 in the sparse search space, which causes the UE 100 to switch search spaces. The DCI may include an additional bit field for a switch command or switch indication.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 17, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 13.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein activation of the second search space set occurs after the scheduled burst arrival time.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein activation of the second search space set occurs after the scheduled burst arrival time. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0006 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the sparse search space to cause the UE to switch to the packed search space. The DCI may comprise scheduling information, or a WUS-like signal indicating that the UE should switch search spaces for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0040 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to switch to the packed search space. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0054 - When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 18, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 13.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the second search space set is deactivated prior to a next data set being received by the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein the second search space set is deactivated prior to a next data set being received by the UE. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0056 - If a downlink transmission is scheduled for the UE 100 on the PDSCH, the network 10 may send another switch command to the UE 100 at the end of the downlink data burst to switch the UE 100 back to the sparse search space if it does not expect any further downlink transmission to the UE 100 during the active time of the DRX cycle. Otherwise, the UE 100 may continue to use the packed search space as the active search space until it receives an indication from the network 10, or until a timer expires. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0058 - sparse search space and packed search space may be configured in different BWPS. In this case, the network 10 may send the UE 100 a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication to cause the UE 100 to switch from the BWP with the sparse search space to the BWP with the packed search space. In some embodiments, the network 10 has the capability to signal the UE 100 to activate or deactivate certain search spaces (e.g., packed search space) either explicitly (i.e., DCI) or implicitly. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0073 - at the end of a current data burst, the UE 100 is switched to the sparse search space, e.g. monitoring every 4th slot……At the end of the data burst, the UE 100 is switched back to the sparse search space.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 19, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 18.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the second search space set is deactivated via DCI.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein the second search space set is deactivated via DCI. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0058 - sparse search space and packed search space may be configured in different BWPS. In this case, the network 10 may send the UE 100 a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication to cause the UE 100 to switch from the BWP with the sparse search space to the BWP with the packed search space. In some embodiments, the network 10 has the capability to signal the UE 100 to activate or deactivate certain search spaces (e.g., packed search space) either explicitly (i.e., DCI, see ¶0043) or implicitly. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0073 - at the end of a current data burst, the UE 100 is switched to the sparse search space, e.g. monitoring every 4th slot……At the end of the data burst, the UE 100 is switched back to the sparse search space.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 20, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 13.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the second search space set is deactivated and the first search space set is activated based on predefined events or an expiration of an activity timer.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the second search space set is deactivated and the first search space set is activated based on predefined events or an expiration of an activity timer. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0040 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to switch to the packed search space. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0042 - UE 100 is configured to wake during each PDCCH monitoring occasion to check for any scheduled downlink transmission to the UE 100. Generally, the sparse search space is configured with a longer periodicity than the packed search space and fewer monitoring occasions. In one embodiment, the sparse search space is configured with a periodicity longer than the ON duration of the DRX cycle or with a periodicity longer than the inactivity timer (IAT) so that the sparse search space provides one PDCCH monitoring occasions in each DRX cycle. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0056 - If a downlink transmission is scheduled for the UE 100 on the PDSCH, the network 10 may send another switch command to the UE 100 at the end of the downlink data burst to switch the UE 100 back to the sparse search space if it does not expect any further downlink transmission to the UE 100 during the active time of the DRX cycle. Otherwise, the UE 100 may continue to use the packed search space as the active search space until it receives an indication from the network 10, or until a timer expires. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 22, Islam396, Bala and Jiang teach claim 21.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the configuration comprises at least a first search space set active at a beginning of the DRX on duration, wherein the method further comprises: performing sparse monitoring of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) within the first search space set prior to a scheduled burst arrival time.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein the configuration comprises at least a first search space set active at a beginning of the DRX on duration, wherein the method further comprises: performing sparse monitoring of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) within the first search space set prior to a scheduled burst arrival time. (Fig. 3-9 & ¶0006 - Power savings is achieved by configuring the UE with a sparse search space for power savings and a packed search space for normal PDCCH monitoring. The sparse search space contains fewer PDCCH resources than the packed search space and thus requires less energy to monitor. The network is aware of the search space being monitored by the UE and can signal the UE to switch between the two search spaces by sending downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the search space being monitored by the UE. To conserve power, the network switches the UE to the sparse search space for PDCCH monitoring, which requires less energy than PDCCH monitoring in the packed search space. When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the sparse search space to cause the UE to switch to the packed search space. Fig. 3-9 & ¶0008 - The network node (e.g., gNB) configures a UE with a first search space for PDCCH monitoring during an ON duration of a DRX cycle. The network node further configures the UE with a second search space for PDCCH monitoring during the ON duration of a DRX cycle, the second search space having a reduced amount of control channel resources compared to the first search space. The network node transmits DCI to the UE to switch the UE between the first search space and second search space as the active search space for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0054 - When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring. For example, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 at the beginning of the DRX ON duration if there is immediate data to be delivered. In other embodiments, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 an any other time during the active time of the DRX cycle compatible with the sparse search space configuration. The network 10 may also send the DCI if it expects some data to be delivered to the UE 100 within the current active time.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 23, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 22.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach further comprising: activating a second search space set to perform dense monitoring of the PDCCH within the second search space set, wherein the UE switches from the sparse monitoring of the PDCCH to the dense monitoring of the PDCCH.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses further comprising: activating a second search space set to perform dense monitoring of the PDCCH within the second search space set, wherein the UE switches from the sparse monitoring of the PDCCH to the dense monitoring of the PDCCH. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0006 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the sparse search space to cause the UE to switch to the packed search space. The DCI may comprise scheduling information, or a WUS-like signal indicating that the UE should switch search spaces for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 5 & ¶0071 - In the second ON duration, the UE 100 wakes and monitors the PDCCH in the sparse search space. In this example, the UE 100 detects DCI in the sparse search space and switches to the packed search space in the second BWP to continue monitoring the PDCCH in the packed search space. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0123 - WUS-like behavior is enabled by having a sparse/single PDCCH monitoring occasion during a DRX ON duration and switching to a dense/multi PDCCH monitoring occasion via BWP switching when data is transmitted to the UE 100.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 24, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 23.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach further comprising: receiving a downlink grant within the first search space set.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses further comprising: receiving a downlink grant within the first search space set. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0006 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the sparse search space to cause the UE to switch to the packed search space. The DCI may comprise scheduling information, or a WUS-like signal indicating that the UE should switch search spaces for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0040 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to switch to the packed search space. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0054 - When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 25, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 24.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein activation of the second search space set is indicated via downlink control information (DCI), wherein the second search space set is indicated by a value in the DCI.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein activation of the second search space set is indicated via downlink control information (DCI), wherein the second search space set is indicated by a value in the DCI. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0006 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the sparse search space to cause the UE to switch to the packed search space. The DCI may comprise scheduling information, or a WUS-like signal indicating that the UE should switch search spaces for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0040 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to switch to the packed search space. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0054 - When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0057 - the network 10 may send DCI scheduling a downlink transmission to the UE 100 in the sparse search space, which causes the UE 100 to switch search spaces. The DCI may include an additional bit field for a switch command or switch indication.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 26, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 24.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein activation of the second search space set is indicated based on reception of the downlink grant.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein activation of the second search space set is indicated based on reception of the downlink grant. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0006 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the sparse search space to cause the UE to switch to the packed search space. The DCI may comprise scheduling information, or a WUS-like signal indicating that the UE should switch search spaces for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0040 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to switch to the packed search space. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0054 - When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0057 - the network 10 may send DCI scheduling a downlink transmission to the UE 100 in the sparse search space, which causes the UE 100 to switch search spaces. The DCI may include an additional bit field for a switch command or switch indication.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 27, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 23.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein activation of the second search space set occurs after the scheduled burst arrival time.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein activation of the second search space set occurs after the scheduled burst arrival time. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0006 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE in the sparse search space to cause the UE to switch to the packed search space. The DCI may comprise scheduling information, or a WUS-like signal indicating that the UE should switch search spaces for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0040 - When the network expects to have downlink data to send, the network sends downlink control information (DCI) to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to switch to the packed search space. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0054 - When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Re. Claim 28, Islam396 , Bala, Jiang and Maleki teach claim 23.
Yet, Islam396 does not expressly teach wherein the second search space set is deactivated prior to a next data set being received by the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses wherein the second search space set is deactivated prior to a next data set being received by the UE. (Fig. 3-7 & ¶0056 - If a downlink transmission is scheduled for the UE 100 on the PDSCH, the network 10 may send another switch command to the UE 100 at the end of the downlink data burst to switch the UE 100 back to the sparse search space if it does not expect any further downlink transmission to the UE 100 during the active time of the DRX cycle. Otherwise, the UE 100 may continue to use the packed search space as the active search space until it receives an indication from the network 10, or until a timer expires. Fig. 3-7 & ¶0058 - sparse search space and packed search space may be configured in different BWPS. In this case, the network 10 may send the UE 100 a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication to cause the UE 100 to switch from the BWP with the sparse search space to the BWP with the packed search space. In some embodiments, the network 10 has the capability to signal the UE 100 to activate or deactivate certain search spaces (e.g., packed search space) either explicitly (i.e., DCI) or implicitly.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Islam396’s invention of a system and a method for downlink control channel signaling for improving UE power consumption in a wireless communication and Bala’s invention of wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) power saving associated with idle mode in a wireless communication system and Jiang’s invention of Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication mechanism in a wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of power saving techniques for downlink control channel monitoring, because it provides an efficient power saving techniques as a means to emulate Rel-16 WUS (wake-up signal) behavior, indicating whether a wireless device should monitor for a scheduling PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) in a given ON duration of DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle. (¶0072, Maleki)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/06/2026 for 35 USC §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 8-9 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that Jiang fails to teach, “receive, from the base station, a blind decode indicator associated with a blind decode operation on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); perform the blind decode operation on the PDCCH when based on the blind decode indicator permits the UE to perform the blind decode operation,”. See pages 8-9 of remarks as submitted on 01/06/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Jiang discloses that upon the receipt of the WUS <the base station 12 (Fig.1), generates a signal, which may be wake-up signal (WUS) or a go-to-sleep signal, see ¶0038-¶0039, DRX parameter <e.g., time length of an on-duration timer>, the signal, WUS is transmitted via PDCCH, see ¶0038-¶0040 >, the UE may be switched to a ramp-up state in response to the WUS, and perform the blind detection on the PDCCH within the time length of the on-duration timer. Here, the blind detection on the PDCCH may be understood as data & control channel processing. Then, the UE may receive the PDCCH signal within a time length of an inactivity timer. After the expiration of the inactivity timer, the UE may be switched to a ramp-down state…….the time length of the on-duration timer or the DRX cycle may be indicated to the UE through the WUS or the go-to-sleep signal. As a result, it is able for the UE to monitor or perform the blind detection in accordance with the time length of the on-duration timer. See ¶0050-¶0051 along with Fig.4 (reproduced next).
In the case, where the base station 12 (Fig.1), generates a payload, which contains DRX parameter (e.g., time length of an on-duration timer), and the payload may be a PDCCH signal dedicated to indicate the DRX parameter (e.g., time length of an on-duration timer). See ¶0041. In either case, UE performs blind detection on the PDCCH within the time length of the on-duration timer as shown in Fig. 4 reproduced above and also in Fig. 8, reproduced below.
Also, see claims 1 and 7-8 of Jiang, for example, Jiang claims (reproduced below):
A Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter indication method applied for a base station, comprising: generating a signal or a payload, the signal or the payload being used to indicate a DRX parameter; and transmitting the signal to a User Equipment (UE), or transmitting the payload to the UE via a channel, wherein the channel comprises a PDCCH, wherein the DRX parameter comprises at least one of a time length of an on-duration timer, first blind detection information or a DRX cycle, wherein the first blind detection information is the blind detection information for the blind detection performed by the UE on the PDCCH within the time length of the on-duration timer.
In fact, the aforesaid disclosures/claims by Jiang, are, very similar to the instant application, at least, in ¶0014, where it recites, “The apparatus configures a UE with a configuration for DRX operation, wherein the configuration comprises at least one blind decode indication during a DRX on duration of the DRX operation. The apparatus transmits the at least one blind decode indication during the DRX on duration, wherein the UE performs a blind decode operation based on the at least one blind decode indication.”, also, in ¶0103, ¶0129-¶0130 of PG-PUB, quite a contrast to applicant’s argument at page 9 of remarks as submitted on 01/06/2026
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam396, in view of Bala, further in view of Jiang.
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 21 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam396, in view of Bala, further in view of Jiang.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 21, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
There are NO specific arguments for any other references, hence, moot.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467