DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt of the Response and Amendment after Non-Final Office Action filed 08/18/2026 is acknowledged.
NOTE: Paragraph 198 of the previous Office Action incorrectly indicated that action was Final, as Applicant noted (Applicant’s Remarks, p. 22, ¶3). The Office Action Summary (PTOL-326) correctly indicated the action was Non-Final.
Applicant has overcome the following rejections by virtue of the amendment or cancellation of the claims and/or persuasive remarks: (1) the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 57 has been withdrawn; and (2) the 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejections of claims 16, 19, 44, 47-49, and 79 have been withdrawn.
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendment stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1-23, 25-51, 53-79, and 81-86
Withdrawn claims: None
Previously canceled claims: 24, 52, and 80
Newly canceled claims: 3, 5, 6, 11, 13, 16, 19, 31, 39, 41, 57-84, and 86
Amended claims: 1, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20-23, 25-27, 29, 34-35, 37, 40, 42-46, 50-51, 53, and 55
New claims: 87-91
Claims currently under consideration: 1, 2, 4, 7-10, 12, 14, 15, 17-18, 20-23, 25-30, 32-38, 40, 42-51, 53-56, 85, and 87-91
Currently rejected claims: 1, 2, 4, 7-10, 12, 14, 15, 17-18, 20-23, 25-30, 32-38, 40, 42-51, 53-56, 85, and 87-91
Allowed claims: None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
NOTE: The claims are addressed separately in three groups based on independent parent claims 1, 29, and 87. Thus, even though claim rejections from corresponding claims may rely on the same combination of prior art references, the claim rejections do not group any claims from the two separate groups together in order to maintain clarity. The rejections of the corresponding claims in each group are essentially substantively identical.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20-23, 25, 26, and 85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagat (U.S. 2013/0261183 A1) in view of Raney et al. (U.S. 2013/0017594 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bhagat discloses a diet package system that may be provided in various discrete packages ([0012], where the packages may be indicated for use “three times daily”), and where the individual packages may comprise “drinks, snacks, meals, desserts, cereals, salad, side dish, sauces, desserts, spreads, etc.” ([0015], [0017]) in the form of “legume, grain, vegetable, fruit, meat, seafood, herb, spice, nut, seeds, oil, or butter” ([0039]-[0040]), and where the package may recite printed instructions specifying consumption of the meal portions during a single-day 24-hour fasting interval ([0012], where the packages may be marked to provide frequency of consumption, including three times daily), and wherein the packages may comprise “at least 80% of the individual’s caloric intake” ([0017]), which would include 100% of an individual’s caloric intake.
Though Bhagat does not explicitly disclose a diet package providing breakfast, lunch, and dinner meal portions for a one-day fast that comprises three meal portions comprising the claimed components, including the required caloric, macronutrient, and micronutrient limitations, the claimed diet package would be obvious in view of the disclosure of Bhagat for the following combination of reasons.
First, the claim is merely directed to a composite package comprising individually-packaged food elements that are all known food components, as will be established subsequently herein. Bhagat is so broad that it renders the inclusion of any known food components into packages in order to form a composite food package obvious, since the reference discloses that the food components may comprise “legume, grain, vegetable, fruit, meat, seafood, herb, spice, nut, seeds, oil, or butter” ([0039]-[0040]) and sweeteners ([0044]) that may variously constitute “drinks, snacks, meals, desserts, cereals, salad, side dish, sauces, desserts, spreads, etc.” ([0015], [0017]).
The descriptions of the package as being a “fasting mimicking diet package providing breakfast, lunch, and dinner meal portions for a one-day fast” constitute statements of intended use and/or designations that do not materially limit the claimed composite food package. MPEP 2111.02.
Regarding a composition claim that is merely directed to a combination of food ingredients, please note In re Levin, 84 USPQ 232, and the cases cited therein, which are pertinent to such a claim. The court in Levin states:
This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function. In re Benjamin D. White, 17 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 956, 39 F.2d 974, 5 USPQ 267; In re Mason et al., 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1144, 156 F.2d 189, 70 USPQ 221. Levin at 234.
The present claim does not require any coaction or cooperative relationship between any of the selected ingredients, especially one that produces a new/unexpected/useful function. The mere requirement that the three meal portions provide threshold values of calories, fat, sugar, protein, and micronutrients does not require any coaction between any of the ingredients, because, for example, a single ingredient may supply the minimum amount of fat and protein, as well as any ancillary micronutrients. The ingredients of the two remaining packages may thus still be relatively minimal. The claim also does not require a minimum amount of any of the claimed ingredients (so long as the claimed minimum of fat and protein are provided). The package merely is required to contain some “meal portion” that contains at least some minimal amount of the noted food components.
The printed instructions specifying the intended consumption protocol do not patentability limit the claim due to the printed matter not being functionally/structurally related to the associated physical substrate. MPEP 2111.05 (“[O]nce it is determined that the limitation is directed to printed matter, [the examiner] must then determine if the matter is functionally or structurally related to the associated physical substrate, and only if the answer is ‘no’ is the printed matter owed no patentable weight.”). Specifically, the instructions cannot be said to be functionally related to the associated physical substrate where no amounts/concentrations of food components or intervals for the eating occasions are required.
Given the determination that the general disclosure of Bhagat renders obvious the incorporation of essentially any food component into a diet package, the individually-claimed components are considered and shown to be known as food components as follows.
Bhagat discloses the food components as including:
a nut-containing ([0143]) nutrition bar ([0015]) containing almonds, macadamia, and pecan ([0143]);
a micronutritional vegetable ([0141]) powder ([0142]) including vitamin and mineral supplements ([0082]-[0083]);
an oil composition ([0143]);
a soup composition ([0123], where a combination of vegetables, legumes, meat, herbs, and milks that may be in the form of a liquid or semi-liquid would be fairly deemed a “soup”) that may additionally include rice flour ([0141]-[0142]), chicory root fiber (p. 16, Table 3, Prebiotics), onion ([0141]), olive oil ([0026]), salt ([0082]) and yeast extract ([0144], [0142]);
a kale cracker composition ([0141], kale; [0123], “a bakery food product such as a bread”) that may include almonds ([0143]), kale ([0141]), sesame seeds ([0143]), and tapioca flour ([0031], [0142], where a dry powder is considered to be a flour), and
an olive-containing composition ([0013]).
Duplication of any of the components, including the nut-containing composition and the soup composition, would be obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI B (“mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”).
Raney et al. discloses algal oil in particular as being suited for use in food products ([0006], [0119]) as a source of DHA, an omega-3 fatty acid ([0074]) and an Aurantiochytrium algal oil ([0069]). A skilled practitioner would find the incorporation of algal oil into the package as taught by Bhagat to be obvious, since Bhagat teaches generally that the package may include an edible oil ([0143]) and indicates a preference for the inclusion of DHA ([0013]) and Raney et al. teaches algal oil as being suited as a source of DHA for use in food products.
As for the claimed caloric content, MPEP 2144.04 IV A indicates that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious. Claim 1 does not require any amount of any component, which thus may be in any size so long as the fat and protein minimum concentrations are met. A package size that provides between 740-1140 kcal would thus be obvious.
As for the claimed macronutrient limitations, again, MPEP 2144.04 IV A indicates that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious. Claim 1 does not require any amount or relative amount of any component, which thus may be in any size and provide any amount of each individual type of nutrient. Thus, providing a package wherein the combination of all components falls within the claimed ranges for fat, sugar, and protein would be obvious to a skilled practitioner.
As for the claimed micronutrient limitation, its scope includes an embodiment wherein only infinitesimal amounts of micronutrients may be present, so long as at least some degree of “micronutrient nourishment” is provided.
As for claim 2, Bhagat discloses the inclusion of tea that may include lemon ([0180], Table 5, “Spices” and “Beverages”).
As for claim 4, Bhagat discloses the inclusion of inulin ([0084]-[0086]), almond butter ([0143], [0011]), crispy brown rice ([0141]), cocoa powder ([0141]-[0142]), flaxseed oil ([0143], [0119], Table 3, Lignans), rice dextrin ([0086], [0141]), grape juice ([0141], where grapes would comprise grape juice), and salt ([0082], where supplementation with sodium and chloride is considered to constitute salt). Bhagat further discloses the inclusion of chocolate (p. 7, Table 1, Flavonoids/Thearubigins; [0040]-[0041]). MPEP 2144.04 IV A/B indicates that changes in size/shape are insufficient to patentably distinguish a claimed product from the prior art, such that the disclosure in Bhagat of the use of chocolate is adequate to deem the use of chocolate chips obvious. Bhagat also discloses the inclusion of oats ([0141]), which renders the inclusion of any type of oats obvious, including rolled oats. Inclusion of these components in a second nut bar is within the scope of the disclosure of Bhagat in terms of the types of food components the ingredients may be contained in, as detailed previously in relation to claim 1.
As for claim 7, Bhagat discloses the compositions as comprising blueberries ([0141]).
As for claim 12, Bhagat discloses the compositions as comprising chia seeds ([0066]), flax seeds ([0143]), sunflower oil ([0026]), salt ([0082], where supplementation with sodium and chloride is considered to constitute salt), coconut sugar ([0143]), vinegar, chili pepper, black pepper, garlic, cumin seed, oregano (p. 23, Table 5, Spices), onion ([0141]), tocopherols ([0083]), and citric acid ([0141], as part of lemon or lime).
As for claim 14, Bhagat discloses the compositions as comprising tomato ([0141]).
As for claim 15, Bhagat discloses the composition as comprising tomato, basil, parsley, and whole grain brown rice ([0141]).
As for claims 17 and 18, MPEP 2144.04 IV A indicates that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious. Claim 1 does not require any amount of any component, which thus may be in any size. A package size that provides 50% or less (claim 17) or 25% or less (claim 18) of a daily recommended caloric intake for a subject would thus be obvious, since an especially small package would be presumed to fall well below the claimed threshold values.
As for claims 20-23, MPEP 2144.04 IV A indicates that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious. Claim 1 does not require any amount or relative amount of any component, which thus may be in any size and provide any amount of each individual type of nutrient. Thus, providing a package wherein the combination of all components falls within the claimed ranges for fat, sugar, and protein, would be obvious to a skilled practitioner.
As for claim 25, Bhagat discloses providing a diet package to a human subject in need of inducing differential effects on disease factors and markers associated with aging, wherein the symptoms of the medical condition (e.g., cholesterol, triglycerides) are ameliorated by the diet ([0011], [0012], [0014]), where the claimed contents of the package were shown to be obvious in view of Bhagat and Raney et al. as detailed previously in relation to claim 1. In addition, Bhagat discloses the inclusion of honey ([0144]), flaxseed ([0143]), coconut flour ([0143]), and rosemary extract ([0141]).
The claimed method step of instructing the person to consume the portions at relevant times during a 24-hour period without consuming any additional food does not amount to anything more than providing instructions, regardless of whether or not they are followed. Such instructions do not patentably distinguish the claimed method from Bhagat, since they do not materially affect any aspect of the claimed step of providing the diet package to the person. Further, the indication that the packages may be indicated for use “three times daily” ([0012]) implicitly suggests consuming portions during conventional meal times.
As for claim 26, the present specification indicates that an increase in blood ketone levels and a decrease in blood glucose levels are characteristics of physiological fasting, involving reduced carbohydrate consumption while maintaining/increasing protein/fat consumption ([0005]-[0007]). Bhagat suggests protein, lipid, and carbohydrate intake may be modulated as desired ([0037]), which would include diets that have reduced carbohydrates. Consumption of such a reduced carbohydrate diet would result in an increase in blood ketone levels and a decrease in blood glucose levels, as indicated in the present specification. Since the production of diets having reduced carbohydrates is considered to fall within the scope of the disclosure of Bhagat, the effects of consuming such a diet would likewise be obvious, which renders the claimed differential effect of an increase in blood ketones and a decrease in blood glucose levels during a single 24-hour fasting period obvious.
As for claim 85, Bhagat discloses administering the diet daily ([0012]). The presently-claimed method occurs for only one day and does not require anything beyond that day; the method is considered complete upon the administration of one day’s worth of the diet. Following the completion of the method, a person would be free to consume whatever he may choose, including a second-day regimen of the diet, resumption of a regular diet, or fasting.
Claims 8, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagat (U.S. 2013/0261183 A1) in view of Raney et al. (U.S. 2013/0017594 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 25 above, and further in view of Longo et al. (U.S. 2015/0004280 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Bhagat discloses the compositions as comprising vitamins A, E, K, B12, Ca, Fe, Cu, Mg, Mn, Se, and Zn ([0082]), vitamin C ([0074]), vitamin B6 ([0090]), vitamin B9 ([0083]).
Bhagat does not disclose the compositions as comprising D3, B1, B2, B3, B5, B7, iodine, chromium, or molybdenum.
However, Longo et al. discloses micronutrients suited for inclusion in a food product that include vitamins D3, B1, B2, B3, B5, and B7, as well as iodine (potassium iodide), chromium (chromium picolinate), and molybdenum (sodium molybdate) ([0036], Table 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising the noted vitamins and minerals. Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Longo et al., in order to determine a broader number of suitable vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of the noted vitamins and minerals in Longo et al. as ingredients suited for inclusion in a food product renders their inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Bhagat and Raney et al. disclose the method of claim 25.
The cited prior art does not specifically disclose the method as promoting stem-cell based regeneration of multiple organs and systems in the subject (claims 27) where the health benefit includes one of neurogenesis, hematopoiesis, or promotion of pancreatic beta-cells (claim 28).
However, Longo et al. discloses a method of promoting pancreatic beta-cell regeneration via the administration of a diet ([0003], [0008], [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to perform the method of claim 25 on the subject for the promotion of stem-cell based regeneration of systems, including pancreatic beta cells. Bhagat indicates that the diet is suited for the treatment of diabetes ([0014]) but does not provide detail regarding the nature of such a disorder. A skilled practitioner would be motivated to consult Longo et al. for further instruction in determining that diabetes is “characterized by progressive beta-cell failure” ([0006]). Since Longo et al. discloses that diabetes is characterized by beta-cell failure and teaches that administration of the diet treats such a condition ([0008]), a skilled practitioner would recognize that the treatment of diabetes as taught in Bhagat via the administration of a comparable diet would likely occur in a similar manner via the improvement of the beta-cell damage. As such, the claimed method of promoting stem-cell based regeneration of a system in a subject comprising administering the dietary composition of Bhagat (claims 27) where the health benefit includes promotion of pancreatic beta-cells (claim 28) would be obvious to a skilled practitioner.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagat (U.S. 2013/0261183 A1) in view of Raney et al. (U.S. 2013/0017594 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Longo et al. (U.S. 2015/0004280 A1), Rifkin (U.S. 2013/0287899 A1), Knutzon (U.S. 2010/0310710 A1), and Theuer (U.S. 5,837,309).
Regarding claim 9, Bhagat discloses compositions as comprising carrots, kale leaf, tomatoes, spinach ([0141]), collard leaf powder ([0141]-[0142]), ascorbic acid ([0025], [0074]), beta carotene ([0150]), and folic acid ([0082]).
Bhagat does not disclose the compositions as comprising the remaining components.
However, Longo et al. discloses micronutrients suited for inclusion in a food product that include calcium carbonate, cholecalciferol, chromium picolinate, cupric sulfate, cyanocobalamin, DI-alpha tocopherol acetate, ferrous fumarate, manganese sulfate, niacinamide, phytonadione, potassium iodine, pyridoxine HCl, riboflavin, sodium selenate, thiamine mononitrate, sodium molybdate, zinc oxide ([0036], Table 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising the noted vitamins and minerals. Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Longo et al., in order to determine a broader number of suitable vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of the noted vitamins and minerals in Longo et al. as ingredients suited for inclusion in a food product renders their inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Rifkin discloses a food product comprising functional ingredients ([0001]) that may include pantothenic acid ([0069], [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising pantothenic acid. Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Rifkin, in order to determine a broader number of suitable beneficial vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of pantothenic acid in Rifkin as a functional ingredient of a food product renders its inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Knutzon et al. discloses the addition of magnesium stearate to an edible product as a lubricant ([0125]). Knutzon et al. discloses the addition of tribasic calcium phosphate as a vitamin supplement in a milk substitute ([0196], [0203], [0206]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising magnesium stearate and tribasic calcium phosphate. Bhagat teaches the compositions may be administered as a capsule comprising a lubricant ([0125]) but does not detail suitable lubricants. A skilled practitioner would be motivated to consult Knutzon et al. for detail regarding a suitable lubricant. Since Knutzon et al. disclose the use of magnesium stearate as a lubricant in a capsule delivery form ([0125]), the inclusion of magnesium stearate in the composition of Bhagat would be obvious. Further, Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Knutzon et al., in order to determine a broader number of suitable beneficial vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of tribasic calcium phosphate in Knutzon et al. as a vitamin supplement of a food product renders its inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Theuer et al. discloses beet root powder for use as a food coloring agent (C9, L12-L15) in baby foods (C6, L47-L49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising beet root powder. Bhagat teaches that the compositions may be prepared as baby foods ([0017], [0124]), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult Theuer et al. for clarification regarding ingredients typically included in baby foods. Since Theuer et al. teaches the addition of beet root powder as a coloring agent in baby foods (C9, L12-L15; C6, L47-L49), the inclusion of beet root powder in compositions of Bhagat would be obvious.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagat (U.S. 2013/0261183 A1) in view of Raney et al. (U.S. 2013/0017594 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Longo et al. (U.S. 2015/0004280 A1), Rifkin (U.S. 2013/0287899 A1), and Theuer (U.S. 5,837,309).
Regarding claim 10, Bhagat discloses the compositions as comprising vitamins A, D, E, B12, Ca, Fe, Cu, Mg, Mn, Se, and Zn ([0082]), vitamin C ([0074]), vitamin B6 ([0090]), vitamin B9 ([0083]), folic acid, calcium, iron, magnesium, zinc, selenium, copper, manganese ([0082]), kale leaves, carrot root, spinach leaves, and tomatoes ([0141]).
Bhagat does not disclose the compositions as comprising vitamins B1, B2, B3, K1, biotin, pantothenic acid, iodine, chromium, molybdenum, or beet root.
However, Longo et al. discloses micronutrients suited for inclusion in a food product that include vitamins B1, B2, B3, and biotin (B7), as well as iodine (potassium iodide), chromium (chromium picolinate), and molybdenum (sodium molybdate) ([0036], Table 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising the noted vitamins and minerals. Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Longo et al., in order to determine a broader number of suitable vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of the noted vitamins and minerals in Longo et al. as ingredients suited for inclusion in a food product renders their inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Rifkin discloses a food product comprising functional ingredients ([0001]) that may include vitamin K1 ([0074]) and pantothenic acid ([0069], [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising vitamin K1 and pantothenic acid. Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Rifkin, in order to determine a broader number of suitable beneficial vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of vitamin K1 and pantothenic acid in Rifkin as functional ingredients of a food product renders their inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Theuer et al. discloses beet root for use as a food coloring agent (C9, L12-L15) in baby foods (C6, L47-L49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising beet root. Bhagat teaches that the compositions may be prepared as baby foods ([0017], [0124]), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult Theuer et al. for clarification regarding ingredients typically included in baby foods. Since Theuer et al. teaches the addition of beet root as a coloring agent in baby foods (C9, L12-L15; C6, L47-L49), the inclusion of beet root in compositions of Bhagat would be obvious.
Claims 29, 30, 32-35, 40, 42-51, 53, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagat (U.S. 2013/0261183 A1) in view of Raney et al. (U.S. 2013/0017594 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Bhagat discloses a diet package system that may be provided in various discrete packages ([0012), and where the individual packages may comprise “drinks, snacks, meals, desserts, cereals, salad, side dish, sauces, desserts, spreads, etc.” ([0015], [0017]) in the form of “legume, grain, vegetable, fruit, meat, seafood, herb, spice, nut, seeds, oil, or butter” ([0039]-[0040]), and where the package may recite printed instructions specifying consumption of the meal portions during a single-day fasting interval within 12-24 hours ([0012], where the packages may be marked to provide frequency of consumption, including three times daily or once daily).
Though Bhagat does not explicitly disclose a diet package providing meal portions for a one-day fast that comprises the claimed components, including the required nutrient limitations, the claimed diet package would be obvious in view of the disclosure of Bhagat for the following combination of reasons.
First, the claim is merely directed to a composite package comprising individually-packaged food elements that are all known food components, as will be established subsequently herein. Bhagat is so broad that it renders the inclusion of any known food components into packages in order to form a composite food package obvious, since the reference discloses that the food components may comprise “legume, grain, vegetable, fruit, meat, seafood, herb, spice, nut, seeds, oil, or butter” ([0039]-[0040]) and sweeteners ([0044]) that may variously constitute “drinks, snacks, meals, desserts, cereals, salad, side dish, sauces, desserts, spreads, etc.” ([0015], [0017]).
The descriptions of the package as being a “fasting mimicking diet package providing meal portions for a one-day fast” constitute statements of intended use and/or designations that do not materially limit the claimed composite food package. MPEP 2111.02.
Regarding a composition claim that is merely directed to a combination of food ingredients, please note In re Levin, 84 USPQ 232, and the cases cited therein, which are pertinent to such a claim. The court in Levin states:
This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function. In re Benjamin D. White, 17 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 956, 39 F.2d 974, 5 USPQ 267; In re Mason et al., 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1144, 156 F.2d 189, 70 USPQ 221. Levin at 234.
The present claim does not require any coaction or cooperative relationship between any of the selected ingredients, especially one that produces a new/unexpected/useful function. The mere requirement that the meal portions provide a certain nutrient profile does not require any coaction between any of the ingredients, because, for example, a single ingredient may supply essentially all of the necessary nutrients. The ingredients of the remaining package(s) may thus still be relatively minimal. The claim also does not require a minimum amount of any of the claimed ingredients or the exclusion of any additional ingredients. The package merely is required to contain some “meal portion” that contains at least some minimal amount of the noted food components. Further still, “consumption of the meal portions during a single-day fasting interval” as short as 12 hours includes an eating protocol wherein a person may simply fast for several hours (e.g., sleep) and then consume all meal portions concurrently at the last moment of the 12-hour fasting interval. There is no implied limitation requiring the meal portions to be consumed during conventional meal times or to be regularly spaced.
Given the determination that the general disclosure of Bhagat renders obvious the incorporation of essentially any food component into a diet package, the individually-claimed components are considered and shown to be known as food components as follows.
Bhagat discloses the food components as including:
a nut-containing ([0143]) nutrition bar ([0015]) containing almonds, macadamia, and pecan ([0143]);
a micronutritional vegetable ([0141]) powder ([0142]) including vitamin and mineral supplements ([0082]-[0083]);
an oil composition ([0143]);
a soup composition ([0123], where a combination of vegetables, legumes, meat, herbs, and milks that may be in the form of a liquid or semi-liquid would be fairly deemed a “soup”) that may additionally include rice flour ([0141]-[0142]), chicory root fiber (p. 16, Table 3, Prebiotics), onion ([0141]), olive oil ([0026]), salt ([0082]) and yeast extract ([0144], [0142]);
a kale cracker composition ([0141], kale; [0123], “a bakery food product such as a bread”) that may include almonds ([0143]), kale ([0141]), sesame seeds ([0143]), and tapioca flour ([0031], [0142], where a dry powder is considered to be a flour), and
an olive-containing composition ([0013]).
Duplication of any of the components, including the nut-containing composition and the soup composition, would be obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI B (“mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”).
Raney et al. discloses algal oil in particular as being suited for use in food products ([0006], [0119]) as a source DHA ([0074]). A skilled practitioner would find the incorporation of algal oil into the package as taught by Bhagat to be obvious, since Bhagat teaches generally that the package may include an edible oil ([0143]) and indicates a preference for the inclusion of DHA ([0013]) and Raney et al. teaches algal oil as being suited as a source of DHA for use in food products.
As for the limitations requiring a “nutrient profile operable to cause a human subject to fall below a cellular nutrient-detection threshold, thereby inducing a fasting-mimicking physiological state in the human subject characterized by elevation of blood ketone levels and suppression of blood glucose levels equivalent to those achieved during a water-only fast…while maintaining the nutrient intake below a cellular nutrient-detection threshold”, the present specification indicates that an increase in blood ketone levels and a decrease in blood glucose levels are characteristics of physiological fasting, involving reduced carbohydrate consumption while maintaining/increasing protein/fat consumption ([0005]-[0007]). Bhagat suggests protein, lipid, and carbohydrate intake may be modulated as desired ([0037]), which would include diets that have reduced carbohydrates. Consumption of such a reduced carbohydrate diet would result in an increase in blood ketone levels and a decrease in blood glucose levels, as indicated in the present specification. Since the production of diets having reduced carbohydrates is considered to fall within the scope of the disclosure of Bhagat, the effects of consuming such a diet would likewise be obvious, which renders the claimed limitations requiring a “nutrient profile operable to cause a human subject to fall below a cellular nutrient-detection threshold, thereby inducing a fasting-mimicking physiological state in the human subject characterized by elevation of blood ketone levels and suppression of blood glucose levels equivalent to those achieved during a water-only fast…while maintaining the nutrient intake below a cellular nutrient-detection threshold” obvious, especially where no minimum amounts of any components in the diet package are required.
As for claim 30, Bhagat discloses the inclusion of tea that may include lemon ([0180], Table 5, “Spices” and “Beverages”).
As for claim 32, Bhagat discloses the inclusion of inulin ([0084]-[0086]), almonds ([0143]), almond butter ([0143], [0011]), crispy brown rice ([0141]), cocoa powder ([0141]-[0142]), flaxseed oil ([0143], [0119], Table 3, Lignans), rice dextrin ([0086], [0141]), grape juice ([0141], where grapes would comprise grape juice), and salt ([0082], where supplementation with sodium and chloride is considered to constitute salt). Bhagat further discloses the inclusion of chocolate (p. 7, Table 1, Flavonoids/Thearubigins; [0040]-[0041]). MPEP 2144.04 IV A/B indicates that changes in size/shape are insufficient to patentably distinguish a claimed product from the prior art, such that the disclosure in Bhagat of the use of chocolate is adequate to deem the use of chocolate chips obvious. Bhagat also discloses the inclusion of oats ([0141]), which renders the inclusion of any type of oats obvious, including rolled oats. Inclusion of these components in a second nut bar is within the scope of the disclosure of Bhagat in terms of the types of food components the ingredients may be contained in, as detailed previously in relation to claim 1.
As for claim 33, MPEP 2144.04 IV A indicates that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious, such that any relative sizes between the first and second nut bars would be obvious. Bhagat further discloses the compositions as comprising almonds, macadamias, pecans ([0143]), honey ([0144]), flaxseed ([0143]), coconut flour ([0143]), and rosemary extract ([0141]).
As for claim 34, MPEP 2144.04 IV A indicates that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious, such that any relative sizes between the first and second nut bars would be obvious. Bhagat further discloses the compositions as comprising honey ([0144]), flaxseed ([0143]), coconut flour ([0143]), and rosemary extract ([0141]).
As for claim 35, Bhagat discloses the compositions as comprising blueberries ([0141]).
As for claim 40, Bhagat discloses the compositions as comprising chia seeds ([0066]), flax seeds ([0143]), sunflower oil ([0026]), salt ([0082], where supplementation with sodium and chloride is considered to constitute salt), coconut sugar ([0143]), vinegar, chili pepper, black pepper, garlic, cumin seed, oregano (p. 23, Table 5, Spices), onion ([0141]), tocopherols ([0083]), and citric acid ([0141], as part of lemon or lime).
As for claim 42, Bhagat discloses the compositions as comprising tomato ([0141]).
As for claim 43, Bhagat discloses the composition as comprising tomato, basil, parsley, and whole grain brown rice ([0141]).
As for claims 44-46, MPEP 2144.04 IV A indicates that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious. Claim 29 does not require any amount of any component, which thus may be in any size. A package size that provides 75% or less (claim 44), 50% or less (claim 45), or 25% or less (claim 46) of a daily recommended caloric intake for the human subject would thus be obvious, since an especially small package would be presumed to fall well below the claimed threshold values.
As for claims 47-51, MPEP 2144.04 IV A indicates that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious. Claim 29 does not require any amount or relative amount of any component, which thus may be in any size and provide any amount of each individual type of nutrient. Thus, providing a package wherein the combination of all components falls within the claimed ranges for fat, sugar, and protein, would be obvious to a skilled practitioner.
As for claims 53 and 54, Bhagat discloses administering the diet to the human subject in need of inducing differential effects on disease factors and markers associated with aging (claim 53), including cholesterol (hypercholesterolemia) and triglycerides (weight gain, obesity) (claim 54) ([0011], [0014]).
Claims 36, 55 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagat (U.S. 2013/0261183 A1) in view of Raney et al. (U.S. 2013/0017594 A1) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Longo et al. (U.S. 2015/0004280 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Bhagat discloses the compositions as comprising vitamins A, E, K, B12, Ca, Fe, Cu, Mg, Mn, Se, and Zn ([0082]), vitamin C ([0074]), vitamin B6 ([0090]), vitamin B9 ([0083]).
Bhagat does not disclose the compositions as comprising D3, B1, B2, B3, B5, B7, iodine, chromium, or molybdenum.
However, Longo et al. discloses micronutrients suited for inclusion in a food product that include vitamins D3, B1, B2, B3, B5, and B7, as well as iodine (potassium iodide), chromium (chromium picolinate), and molybdenum (sodium molybdate) ([0036], Table 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising the noted vitamins and minerals. Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Longo et al., in order to determine a broader number of suitable vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of the noted vitamins and minerals in Longo et al. as ingredients suited for inclusion in a food product renders their inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Regarding claims 55 and 56, Bhagat and Raney et al. disclose the composition of claim 29.
The cited prior art does not specifically disclose a method for promoting and inducing stem-cell based regeneration of multiple organs and systems in the human subject in need thereof comprising administering the composition of claim 29 (claims 55) where the health benefit includes one of neurogenesis, hematopoiesis, or promotion of pancreatic beta-cells (claim 56).
However, Longo et al. discloses a method of promoting pancreatic beta-cell regeneration via the administration of a diet ([0003], [0008], [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to administer the composition of claim 29 as taught in Bhagat to the human subject in need of promotion and induction of stem-cell based regeneration of systems, including pancreatic beta cells. Bhagat indicates that the diet is suited for the treatment of diabetes ([0014]) but does not provide detail regarding the nature of such a disorder. A skilled practitioner would be motivated to consult Longo et al. for further instruction in determining that diabetes is “characterized by progressive beta-cell failure” ([0006]). Since Longo et al. discloses that diabetes is characterized by beta-cell failure and teaches that administration of the diet treats such a condition ([0008]), a skilled practitioner would recognize that the treatment of diabetes as taught in Bhagat via the administration of a comparable diet would likely occur in a similar manner via the improvement of the beta-cell damage. As such, the claimed method of promoting and inducing stem-cell based regeneration of a system in a subject in need thereof comprising administering the composition of claim 29 (claims 55) where the health benefit includes promotion of pancreatic beta-cells (claim 56) would be obvious to a skilled practitioner.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagat (U.S. 2013/0261183 A1) in view of Raney et al. (U.S. 2013/0017594 A1) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Longo et al. (U.S. 2015/0004280 A1), Rifkin (U.S. 2013/0287899 A1), Knutzon (U.S. 2010/0310710 A1), and Theuer (U.S. 5,837,309).
Regarding claim 37, Bhagat discloses compositions as comprising carrots, kale leaf, tomatoes, spinach ([0141]), collard leaf powder ([0141]-[0142]), ascorbic acid ([0025], [0074]), beta carotene ([0150]), and folic acid ([0082]).
Bhagat does not disclose the compositions as comprising the remaining components.
However, Longo et al. discloses micronutrients suited for inclusion in a food product that include calcium carbonate, cholecalciferol, chromium picolinate, cupric sulfate, cyanocobalamin, DI-alpha tocopherol acetate, ferrous fumarate, manganese sulfate, niacinamide, phytonadione, potassium iodine, pyridoxine HCl, riboflavin, sodium selenate, thiamine mononitrate, sodium molybdate, zinc oxide ([0036], Table 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising the noted vitamins and minerals. Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Longo et al., in order to determine a broader number of suitable vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of the noted vitamins and minerals in Longo et al. as ingredients suited for inclusion in a food product renders their inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Rifkin discloses a food product comprising functional ingredients ([0001]) that may include pantothenic acid ([0069], [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising pantothenic acid. Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Rifkin, in order to determine a broader number of suitable beneficial vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of pantothenic acid in Rifkin as a functional ingredient of a food product renders its inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Knutzon et al. discloses the addition of magnesium stearate to an edible product as a lubricant ([0125]). Knutzon et al. discloses the addition of tribasic calcium phosphate as a vitamin supplement in a milk substitute ([0196], [0203], [0206]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising magnesium stearate and tribasic calcium phosphate. Bhagat teaches the compositions may be administered as a capsule comprising a lubricant ([0125]) but does not detail suitable lubricants. A skilled practitioner would be motivated to consult Knutzon et al. for detail regarding a suitable lubricant. Since Knutzon et al. disclose the use of magnesium stearate as a lubricant in a capsule delivery form ([0125]), the inclusion of magnesium stearate in the composition of Bhagat would be obvious. Further, Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Knutzon et al., in order to determine a broader number of suitable beneficial vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of tribasic calcium phosphate in Knutzon et al. as a vitamin supplement of a food product renders its inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Theuer et al. discloses beet root powder for use as a food coloring agent (C9, L12-L15) in baby foods (C6, L47-L49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising beet root powder. Bhagat teaches that the compositions may be prepared as baby foods ([0017], [0124]), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult Theuer et al. for clarification regarding ingredients typically included in baby foods. Since Theuer et al. teaches the addition of beet root powder as a coloring agent in baby foods (C9, L12-L15; C6, L47-L49), the inclusion of beet root powder in compositions of Bhagat would be obvious.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagat (U.S. 2013/0261183 A1) in view of Raney et al. (U.S. 2013/0017594 A1) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Longo et al. (U.S. 2015/0004280 A1), Rifkin (U.S. 2013/0287899 A1), and Theuer (U.S. 5,837,309).
Regarding claim 38, Bhagat discloses the compositions as comprising vitamins A, D, E, B12, Ca, Fe, Cu, Mg, Mn, Se, and Zn ([0082]), vitamin C ([0074]), vitamin B6 ([0090]), vitamin B9 ([0083]), folic acid, calcium, iron, magnesium, zinc, selenium, copper, manganese ([0082]), kale leaves, carrot root, spinach leaves, and tomatoes ([0141]).
Bhagat does not disclose the compositions as comprising vitamins B1, B2, B3, K1, biotin, pantothenic acid, iodine, chromium, molybdenum, or beet root.
However, Longo et al. discloses micronutrients suited for inclusion in a food product that include vitamins B1, B2, B3, and biotin (B7), as well as iodine (potassium iodide), chromium (chromium picolinate), and molybdenum (sodium molybdate) ([0036], Table 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising the noted vitamins and minerals. Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Longo et al., in order to determine a broader number of suitable vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of the noted vitamins and minerals in Longo et al. as ingredients suited for inclusion in a food product renders their inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Rifkin discloses a food product comprising functional ingredients ([0001]) that may include vitamin K1 ([0074]) and pantothenic acid ([0069], [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising vitamin K1 and pantothenic acid. Bhagat teaches generally the inclusion of vitamins and minerals ([0082]-[0083]; claim 56), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult an additional reference, such as Rifkin, in order to determine a broader number of suitable beneficial vitamins/minerals. The disclosure of vitamin K1 and pantothenic acid in Rifkin as functional ingredients of a food product renders their inclusion in the composition of Bhagat obvious.
Theuer et al. discloses beet root for use as a food coloring agent (C9, L12-L15) in baby foods (C6, L47-L49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the compositions of Bhagat comprising beet root. Bhagat teaches that the compositions may be prepared as baby foods ([0017], [0124]), which would prompt a skilled practitioner to consult Theuer et al. for clarification regarding ingredients typically included in baby foods. Since Theuer et al. teaches the addition of beet root as a coloring agent in baby foods (C9, L12-L15; C6, L47-L49), the inclusion of beet root in compositions of Bhagat would be obvious.
Claim 87-91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagat (U.S. 2013/0261183 A1) in view of Raney et al. (U.S. 2013/0017594 A1).
Regarding claim 87, Bhagat discloses a diet package system that may be provided in various discrete packages ([0012], where the packages may be indicated for use “three times daily”), and where the individual packages may comprise “drinks, snacks, meals, desserts, cereals, salad, side dish, sauces, desserts, spreads, etc.” ([0015], [0017]) in the form of “legume, grain, vegetable, fruit, meat, seafood, herb, spice, nut, seeds, oil, or butter” ([0039]-[0040]), and where the package may recite printed instructions specifying consumption of the meal portions during a single-day 24-hour fasting interval ([0012], where the packages may be marked to provide frequency of consumption, including three times daily).
Though Bhagat does not explicitly disclose a diet package providing breakfast, lunch, and dinner meal portions for a one-day fast that comprises three meal portions comprising the claimed components, including the required caloric and macronutrient limitations, the claimed diet package would be obvious in view of the disclosure of Bhagat for the following combination of reasons.
First, the claim is merely directed to a composite package comprising individually-packaged food elements that are all known food components, as will be established subsequently herein. Bhagat is so broad that it renders the inclusion of any known food components into packages in order to form a composite food package obvious, since the reference discloses that the food components may comprise “legume, grain, vegetable, fruit, meat, seafood, herb, spice, nut, seeds, oil, or butter” ([0039]-[0040]) and sweeteners ([0044]) that may variously constitute “drinks, snacks, meals, desserts, cereals, salad, side dish, sauces, desserts, spreads, etc.” ([0015], [0017]).
The descriptions of the package as being a “fasting mimicking diet package, wherein the fasting mimicking diet package provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner meal portions for a one-day fast” constitute statements of intended use and/or designations that do not materially limit the claimed composite food package. MPEP 2111.02.
Regarding a composition claim that is merely directed to a combination of food ingredients, please note In re Levin, 84 USPQ 232, and the cases cited therein, which are pertinent to such a claim. The court in Levin states:
This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function. In re Benjamin D. White, 17 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 956, 39 F.2d 974, 5 USPQ 267; In re Mason et al., 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1144, 156 F.2d 189, 70 USPQ 221. Levin at 234.
The present claim does not require any coaction or cooperative relationship between any of the selected ingredients, especially one that produces a new/unexpected/useful function. The mere requirement that the three meal portions provide threshold values of calories, fat, sugar, and protein does not require any coaction between any of the ingredients, because, for example, a single ingredient may supply the minimum amount of fat and protein. The ingredients of the two remaining packages may thus still be relatively minimal. The claim also does not require a minimum amount of any of the claimed ingredients (so long as the claimed minimum of fat and protein are provided). The package merely is required to contain some “meal portion” that contains at least some minimal amount of the noted food components. The claimed relative portion size between the first and second nut-containing nutrition bar is of no consequence absent any size for the first nutrition bar. Both bars may still be of such a small size as to be of only inconsequential nutritional value compared to other components, such as the soups.
Given the determination that the general disclosure of Bhagat renders obvious the incorporation of essentially any food component into a diet package, the individually-claimed components are considered and shown to be known as food components as follows.
Bhagat discloses the food components as including:
a nut-containing ([0143]) nutrition bar ([0015]);
a micronutritional vegetable ([0141]) powder ([0142]) including vitamin and mineral supplements ([0082]-[0083]);
an oil composition ([0143]);
a soup composition ([0123], where a combination of vegetables, legumes, meat, herbs, and milks that may be in the form of a liquid or semi-liquid would be fairly deemed a “soup”) that may additionally include rice flour ([0141]-[0142]), chicory root fiber (p. 16, Table 3, Prebiotics), onion ([0141]), olive oil ([0026]), salt ([0082]) and yeast extract ([0144], [0142]);
a kale cracker composition ([0141], kale; [0123], “a bakery food product such as a bread”) that may include almonds ([0143]), kale ([0141]), sesame seeds ([0143]), and tapioca flour ([0031], [0142], where a dry powder is considered to be a flour), and
an olive-containing composition ([0013]).
Duplication of any of the components, including the nut-containing composition and the soup composition, would be obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI B (“mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”).
Raney et al. discloses algal oil in particular as being suited for use in food products ([0006], [0119]) as a source of DHA, an omega-3 fatty acid ([0074]) and an Aurantiochytrium algal oil ([0069]). A skilled practitioner would find the incorporation of algal oil into the package as taught by Bhagat to be obvious, since Bhagat teaches generally that the package may include an edible oil ([0143]) and indicates a preference for the inclusion of DHA ([0013]) and Raney et al. teaches algal oil as being suited as a source of DHA for use in food products.
As for the claimed caloric content, MPEP 2144.04 IV A indicates that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious. Claim 87 does not require any amount of any component, which thus may be in any size so long as the fat and protein minimum concentrations are met. A package size that provides between 740-1140 kcal would thus be obvious.
As for the claimed macronutrient limitations, again, MPEP 2144.04 IV A indicates that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious. Claim 87 does not require any amount or relative amount of any component, which thus may be in any size and provide any amount of each individual type of nutrient. Thus, providing a package wherein the combination of all components falls within the claimed ranges for fat, sugar, and protein would be obvious to a skilled practitioner.
As for claim 88, Bhagat discloses the nut bar as containing almonds, macadamia, and pecan ([0143]).
As for claim 89, Bhagat discloses the compositions as comprising tomato ([0141]).
As for claim 90, Bhagat discloses the inclusion of tea that may include lemon ([0180], Table 5, “Spices” and “Beverages”).
As for claim 91, MPEP 2144.04 IV A indicates that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious. Claim 87 does not require any amount of any component, which thus may be in any size. A package size that provides 50% or less of a daily recommended caloric intake for a subject would thus be obvious, since an especially small package would be presumed to fall well below the claimed threshold values.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112: Applicant has overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection of claim 57 based on cancellation of the claim. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant has overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) rejections of claims 16, 19, 44, 47-49, and 79 based on amendment and/or cancellation of the claims. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103 of:
claims 1-7, 11-23, 25, 26, and 85 over Bhagat and Raney et al.; claims 8, 27, and 28 over Bhagat, Raney et al., and Longo et al.; claim 9 over Bhagat, Raney et al., Longo et al., Rifkin, Knutzon, and Theuer; claim 10 over Bhagat, Raney et al., Longo et al., Rifkin and Theuer;
claims 29-35, 39-51, 53 and 54 over Bhagat and Raney et al.; claims 36, 55, and 56 over Bhagat, Raney et al., and Longo et al.; claim 37 over Bhagat, Raney et al., Longo et al., Rifkin, Knutzon, and Theuer; claim 38 over Bhagat, Raney et al., Longo et al., Rifkin and Theuer; and
claims 57-63, 67-79, 81, 82, and 86 over Bhagat and Raney et al.; claims 64, 83, and 84 over Bhagat, Raney et al., and Longo et al.; claim 65 over Bhagat, Raney et al., Longo et al., Rifkin, Knutzon, and Theuer; claim 66 over Bhagat, Raney et al., Longo et al., Rifkin and Theuer:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argued that the disclosure of Bhagat is essentially too broad to render the claimed composition comprising defined meal portions and expressly recited components obvious (Applicant’s Remarks, p. 23, ¶8).
Examiner maintains that Bhagat is adequate for all that is relied on in the present claim rejections. As indicated in the previous Office Action, the claims remain substantially broader than Applicant's arguments. The claims do not require any amount of any component, any caloric content or macronutrient to be present in any particular ingredient, actual administration of the product, or the eating occasions as occurring at any particular time or sequence within the 24-hour fasting period. The claims remain directed merely to a generalized recitation of known food ingredients with ancillary claim limitations purported to limit the composition but that do not actually materially provide substantial limitation. Bhagat remains adequate for rejecting the present claims. Regarding the exclusion of extraneous food during the 24-hour fasting period, Bhagat discloses the packages may comprise “at least 80% of the individual’s caloric intake” ([0017]), which would include 100% of an individual’s caloric intake, which is considered to render the claim limitation obvious.
Applicant then argued that Raney et al. does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Bhagat (Applicant's Remarks, p. 24, ¶1).
Examiner maintains that no such deficiency exists and that the disclosure of Rainey et al. is adequate for all that is relied on in the present claim rejections.
Applicant next argued that method claim 25, newly amended to be independent, includes new limitations that addresses purported deficiencies highlighted in the previous Office Action, including “administration to a human subject, defined breakfast/lunch/dinner consumption during a single 24-hour period, exclusion of other food, and induction of a differential effect in an identified disease factor or marker” (Applicant’s Remarks, p. 24, ¶6). Applicant again argued that the disclosure of Bhagat was too broad to deem the claimed method obvious (Applicant’s Remarks, p. 24, ¶7 – p. 25, ¶1). Applicant argued that Raney et al. does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Bhagat (Applicant’s Remarks, p. 25, ¶2).
However, the claim is substantially broader than Applicant's arguments. Claim 25 does not require any amount of any component, any caloric content or macronutrient to be present in any particular ingredient, actual administration of the product, the eating occasions as occurring at any particular time or sequence within the 24-hour fasting period, the timing of the initiation of the 24-hour fasting period (e.g., 6:00 AM—with all meals coming shortly after the initiation of the period, 1:00 PM—potentially following a lunch meal outside the 24-hr period that could provide excessive calories, 9:00 PM—where the period may be initiated by an overnight sleep period and wherein the first meal may not be consumed until over halfway through the period). The claims remain directed merely to a generalized recitation of consumption of known food ingredients with ancillary claim limitations purported to limit the method/composition but that do not actually materially provide substantial limitation. Bhagat remains adequate for rejecting the present claim. Regarding the exclusion of extraneous food during the 24-hour fasting period, Bhagat discloses the packages may comprise “at least 80% of the individual’s caloric intake” ([0017]), which would include 100% of an individual’s caloric intake, which is considered to render the claim limitation obvious. Raney et al. and the additional secondary references are adequate for all that is relied on in the present claim rejections.
The rejections of claims 1, 2, 4, 7-10, 12, 14, 15, 17-18, 20-23, 25-30, 32-38, 40, 42-51, 53-56, and 85 have been maintained herein.
The rejections of the claims that were canceled have been withdrawn.
Regarding new claim 87, Applicant asserted arguments previously addressed related to claim 1 (Applicant’s Remarks, p. 25, ¶4 – p. 26, ¶1).
Examiner maintains the positions expressed previously herein, namely, the claim remains so broad that Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and that Bhagat and Raney et al. are adequate to deem the claimed composition obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-10, 12, 14, 15, 17-18, 20-23, 25-30, 32-38, 40, 42-51, 53-56, 85, and 87-91 are rejected.
No claims are allowed at this time.
/JEFFREY P MORNHINWEG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793