DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character 618 has been used to designate both CORESET and Resource Elements (REs) on figure 6B.
Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office Action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended”. If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d) and as per 37 CFR 1.84(c) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the Examiner, the Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office Action. If a response to the present Office Action fails to include proper drawing corrections, corrected drawings or arguments therefor, the response can be held NON-RESPONSIVE and/or the application could be ABANDONED since the objections/corrections to the drawings are no longer held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 21, 22, 25-27, 32, 34, 35, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 2022/0393754 A1) in view of Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1).
Consider claim 1, Cao et al. disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE 404 – figure 4), comprising:
one or more memories (UE memory module 434 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110); and
one or more processors (UE processor module 436 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110), coupled to the one or more memories UE memory module 434 – figure 4), configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a first polarization of a transmit beam that is dedicated to perform measurements (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is dedicated to perform measurements – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receive a measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive
and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
perform, in accordance with the indication, a measurement of the measurement
resource based on the first polarization (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139 (where the measurement is performed)), wherein the first polarization is supported by the UE (UE 304/404 supports the polarization information indicated since the measurements are being made – paragraphs 0131 and 0139).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the apparatus disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson,
also disclose wherein the one or more processors, to perform the L3 measurement of the measurement resource, are configured to cause the UE to perform the L3 measurement of the measurement resource based at least in part on a UE capability to perform L3 measurements on the measurement resource based on the first polarization (UE 304/404 is capable of supporting the polarization information indicated since the measurements are being made accordingly hence they are performed based on a UE capability – paragraphs 0131 and 0139).
Consider claim 15, Cao et al. disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE 404 – figure 4), comprising:
one or more memories (UE memory module 434 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110); and
one or more processors (UE processor module 436 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110), coupled to the one or more memories UE memory module 434 – figure 4), configured to cause the UE to:
receive polarization information to measure a measurement resource, wherein the polarization information indicates a polarization of a transmit beam associated with the reception of the measurement resource (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is associated with the reception of a measurement resource – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receive the measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
perform a measurement of the measurement resource based at least in part on the polarization information (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139 (where the measurement is performed)).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the apparatus disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 17, and as applied to claim 15 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, also disclose wherein the one or more processors, to receive the polarization information, are configured to cause the UE to receive an identifier of a measurement target based on a polarization configured for reception at the UE that is configured for the measurement target (UE 304/404 receives SSB indexes (identifier of a measurement target) mapped to the polarization information – paragraphs 0010, 0131, and 0139).
Consider claims 21 and 25, and as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, Cao et al., as
modified by Nilsson, further disclose wherein the one or more processors, to receive the measurement resource, are configured to cause the UE to receive the measurement resource from a non-terrestrial network entity (SSB is received from a base station on board a satellite (i.e., non-terrestrial network entity) – paragraphs 0098, 0120, 0126, 0131, and 0139).
Consider claim 22, and as applied to claim 1 above, although Cao et al. disclose a non-terrestrial entity (satellite - paragraphs 0098, 0120, 0126, 0131, and 0139), Cao et al. do not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to report the L3 measurement to the non-terrestrial network entity.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to report the L3 measurement to a network entity (terminal reports back the (L3) measurements results to the network (paragraphs 0005 and 0006)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to report the L3 measurements results as disclosed by Nilsson to the satellite in the apparatus disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 26, Cao et al. disclose a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE 404 – figure 4), comprising:
receiving an indication of a first polarization of a transmit beam that is dedicated to perform measurements (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is dedicated to perform measurements – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receiving a measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which
include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive
and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
performing, in accordance with the indication, a measurement of the measurement
resource based on the first polarization (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139 (where the measurement is performed)), wherein the first polarization is supported by the UE (UE 304/404 supports the polarization information indicated since the measurements are being made – paragraphs 0131 and 0139).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the method disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 27, and as applied to claim 26 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson,
also disclose wherein performing the L3 measurement of the measurement resource comprises performing the L3 measurement of the measurement resource based at least in part on a UE capability to perform L3 measurements on the measurement resource based on the first polarization (UE 304/404 is capable of supporting the polarization information indicated since the measurements are being made accordingly hence, they are performed based on a UE capability – paragraphs 0131 and 0139).
Consider claim 32, Cao et al. disclose a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE 404 – figure 4), comprising:
receiving polarization information for measuring a measurement resource, wherein the polarization information indicates a polarization of a transmit beam associated with the reception of the measurement resource (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is associated with the reception of a measurement resource – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receiving the measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
performing a measurement of the measurement resource based at least in part on the polarization information (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139
(where the measurement is performed)).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the method disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 34, and as applied to claim 32 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, also disclose wherein receiving the polarization information comprises receiving an identifier of a measurement target based on a polarization configured for reception at the UE that is configured for the measurement target (UE 304/404 receives SSB indexes (identifier of a measurement target) mapped to the polarization information – paragraphs 0010, 0131, and 0139).
Consider claim 35, Cao et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium (UE memory module 434 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110) storing one or more instructions for wireless communication, the one or more instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (UE processor module 436 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110), cause the one or more processors to:
receive an indication of a first polarization of a transmit beam that is dedicated to perform measurements (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is dedicated to perform measurements – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receive a measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
perform, in accordance with the indication, a measurement of the measurement
resource based on the first polarization (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139 (where the measurement is performed)), wherein the first polarization is supported by the UE (UE 304/404 supports the polarization information indicated since the measurements are being made – paragraphs 0131 and 0139).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3)
measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the medium disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 37, Cao et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium (UE memory module 434 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110) storing one or more instructions for wireless communication, the one or more instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (UE processor module 436 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110), cause the one or more processors to:
receive polarization information for measurement of a measurement resource, wherein the polarization information indicates a polarization of a transmit beam associated with the reception of the measurement resource (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is associated with the reception of a measurement resource – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receive the measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
perform a measurement of the measurement resource based at least in part on the
polarization information (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139 (where the measurement is performed)).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the medium disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 38, and as applied to claim 26 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, further disclose wherein receiving the measurement resource comprises receiving the measurement resource from a non-terrestrial network entity (SSB is received from a base station on board a satellite (i.e., non-terrestrial network entity) – paragraphs 0098, 0120, 0126, 0131, and 0139).
Claims 16 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 2022/0393754 A1) in view of Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1), as applied to claims 15 and 32 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2024/0259083 A1).
Consider claim 16, and as applied to claim 15 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, fail to disclose wherein the one or more processors, to receive the polarization information, are configured to cause the UE to receive the polarization information in a polarization configuration
field in a measurement resource configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou et al. disclose the use of a polarization configuration field (polarCongfig) in a measurement resource configuration (ssbFrequency) to indicate to a terminal the correspondence between a reference signal (RS) measurement frequency and the polarization manner (see paragraph 0502 and Table 19 - the network device configures, for the terminal device in a polarization configuration (polarCongfig) field, the correspondence between the RS measurement frequency of the neighboring cell in the ssbFrequency field and the polarization manner of the neighboring cell. For example, Table 19 shows a correspondence between an RS measurement frequency of a neighboring cell in an ssbFrequency field and a polarization manner of the neighboring cell. In response to the polarization manner of the neighboring cell of the cell in which the terminal device being located is left hand circular polarization, the network device sends, to the terminal device in the ssbFrequency field, the RS measurement frequency F0 of the neighboring cell, to indicate that the polarization manner of the neighboring cell of the cell in which the terminal device is located is left hand circular polarization. In Table 19, an object is a to-be-measured object, and the to-be-measured object is a cell or a beam.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use a polarization configuration field as disclosed by Zhou et al. in the apparatus disclosed by Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, for the purpose of, for example, optimizing the process of scheduling the polarization manner (Zhou et al. – paragraph 0005).
Consider claim 33, and as applied to claim 32 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, fail to disclose wherein receiving the polarization information comprises receiving the polarization information in a polarization configuration field in a measurement resource configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou et al. disclose the use of a polarization configuration field (polarCongfig) in a measurement resource configuration (ssbFrequency) to indicate to a terminal the correspondence between a reference signal (RS) measurement frequency and the polarization manner (see paragraph 0502 and Table 19 - the network device configures, for the terminal device in a polarization configuration (polarCongfig) field, the correspondence between the RS measurement frequency of the neighboring cell in the ssbFrequency field and the polarization manner of the neighboring cell. For example, Table 19 shows a correspondence between an RS measurement frequency of a neighboring cell in an ssbFrequency field and a polarization manner of the neighboring cell. In response to the polarization manner of the neighboring cell of the cell in which the terminal device being located is left hand circular polarization, the network device sends, to the terminal device in the ssbFrequency field, the RS measurement frequency F0 of the neighboring cell, to indicate that the polarization manner of the neighboring cell of the cell in which the terminal device is located is left hand circular polarization. In Table 19, an object is a to-be-measured object, and the to-be-measured object is a
cell or a beam.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use a polarization configuration field as disclosed by Zhou et al. in the method disclosed by Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, for the purpose of, for example, optimizing the process of scheduling the polarization manner (Zhou et al. – paragraph 0005).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 10-14, 23, 24, 29-31, 36, and 39 are allowed.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Consider claims 4, 29, and 36, the best prior art found during the examination of the present application, Cao et al. (US 2022/0393754 A1) and Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1), fails to specifically disclose the limitations of, in combination with the other limitations recited in the claim, perform(ing) a Layer 3 (L3) measurement of the measurement resource independent of a first polarization of a transmit beam associated with reception of the measurement resource, wherein the first polarization is dedicated to perform L3 measurements; and perform(ing) the L3 measurement of the measurement resource, based on a polarization of a most recent downlink communication from a serving cell, in response to a capability of the UE associated with the first polarization, wherein the polarization of the most recent downlink communication is different than the first polarization.
Claims 5-7, 10-14, 23, 24, 30, 31 and 39 are also allowed by virtue of their dependency on claims 4. 29, and 36.
Any comments considered necessary by Applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 15, 26, 32, 35, and 37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12 of the remarks, filed on August 6, 2025, with respect to claims 4, 29, and 36 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejection of claims 4-7, 10-14, 23, 24, 29-31, 36, and 39 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SPE interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez
R.P.G./rpg
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642
December 6, 2025