DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on March 10, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10-17, 21-27, and 29-40 are now pending in the present application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The replacement drawing sheets received on March 10, 2026 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
claims the Examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the Examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 21, 22, 25-27, 32, 34, 35, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 2022/0393754 A1) in view of Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1).
Consider claim 1, Cao et al. disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE 404 – figure 4), comprising:
one or more memories (UE memory module 434 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110); and
one or more processors (UE processor module 436 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110), coupled to the one or more memories UE memory module 434 – figure 4), configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a first polarization of a transmit beam, wherein the first
polarization is dedicated to perform measurements (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is dedicated to perform measurements – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receive a measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive
and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
perform, in accordance with the indication, a measurement of the measurement
resource based on the first polarization (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139 (where the measurement is performed)), wherein the first polarization is supported by the UE (UE 304/404 supports the polarization information indicated since the measurements are being made – paragraphs 0131 and 0139).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the apparatus disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson,
also disclose wherein the one or more processors, to perform the L3 measurement of the measurement resource, are configured to cause the UE to perform the L3 measurement of the measurement resource based at least in part on a UE capability to perform L3 measurements on the measurement resource based on the first polarization (UE 304/404 is capable of supporting the polarization information indicated since the measurements are being made accordingly hence they are performed based on a UE capability – paragraphs 0131 and 0139).
Consider claim 15, Cao et al. disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE 404 – figure 4), comprising:
one or more memories (UE memory module 434 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110); and
one or more processors (UE processor module 436 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110), coupled to the one or more memories UE memory module 434 – figure 4), configured to cause the UE to:
receive polarization information to measure a measurement resource, wherein the polarization information indicates a polarization of a transmit beam associated with the reception of the measurement resource, and wherein the polarization is dedicated to perform measurements (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is associated with the reception of a measurement resource and is dedicated to perform measurements – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receive the measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
perform a measurement of the measurement resource based at least in part on the polarization information (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139 (where the measurement is performed)).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the apparatus disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 17, and as applied to claim 15 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson,
also disclose wherein the one or more processors, to receive the polarization information, are configured to cause the UE to receive an identifier of a measurement target based on a polarization configured for reception at the UE that is configured for the measurement target (UE 304/404 receives SSB indexes (identifier of a measurement target) mapped to the polarization information – paragraphs 0010, 0131, and 0139).
Consider claims 21 and 25, and as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, Cao et al., as
modified by Nilsson, further disclose wherein the one or more processors, to receive the measurement resource, are configured to cause the UE to receive the measurement resource from a non-terrestrial network entity (SSB is received from a base station on board a satellite (i.e., non-terrestrial network entity) – paragraphs 0098, 0120, 0126, 0131, and 0139).
Consider claim 22, and as applied to claim 1 above, although Cao et al. disclose a non-terrestrial entity (satellite - paragraphs 0098, 0120, 0126, 0131, and 0139), Cao et al. do not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to report the L3 measurement to the non-terrestrial network entity.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to report the L3 measurement to a network entity (terminal reports back the (L3) measurements results to the network (paragraphs 0005 and 0006)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to report the L3 measurements results as disclosed by Nilsson to the satellite in the apparatus disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 26, Cao et al. disclose a method for wireless communication at a user
equipment (UE) (UE 404 – figure 4), comprising:
receiving an indication of a first polarization of a transmit beam, wherein the first polarization is dedicated to perform measurements (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is dedicated to perform measurements – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receiving a measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which
include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive
and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
performing, in accordance with the indication, a measurement of the measurement
resource based on the first polarization (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139 (where the measurement is performed)), wherein the first polarization is supported by the UE (UE 304/404 supports the polarization information indicated since the measurements are being made – paragraphs 0131 and 0139).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and
mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the method disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 27, and as applied to claim 26 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson,
also disclose wherein performing the L3 measurement of the measurement resource comprises performing the L3 measurement of the measurement resource based at least in part on a UE capability to perform L3 measurements on the measurement resource based on the first polarization (UE 304/404 is capable of supporting the polarization information indicated since the measurements are being made accordingly hence, they are performed based on a UE capability – paragraphs 0131 and 0139).
Consider claim 32, Cao et al. disclose a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE 404 – figure 4), comprising:
receiving polarization information for measuring a measurement resource, wherein the polarization information indicates a polarization of a transmit beam associated with the reception of the measurement resource, and wherein the polarization is dedicated to perform measurements (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is associated with the reception of a measurement resource and is dedicated to perform measurements – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receiving the measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
performing a measurement of the measurement resource based at least in part on the polarization information (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139
(where the measurement is performed)).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the method disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 34, and as applied to claim 32 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, also disclose wherein receiving the polarization information comprises receiving an identifier of a measurement target based on a polarization configured for reception at the UE that is configured for the measurement target (UE 304/404 receives SSB indexes (identifier of a measurement target) mapped to the polarization information – paragraphs 0010, 0131, and 0139).
Consider claim 35, Cao et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium (UE memory module 434 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110) storing one or more instructions for wireless communication, the one or more instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (UE processor module 436 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110), cause the one or more processors to:
receive an indication of a first polarization of a transmit beam, wherein the first polarization is dedicated to perform measurements (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is dedicated to perform measurements – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receive a measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
perform, in accordance with the indication, a measurement of the measurement
resource based on the first polarization (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139 (where the measurement is performed)), wherein the first polarization is supported by the UE (UE 304/404 supports the polarization information indicated since the measurements are being made – paragraphs 0131 and 0139).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3)
measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the medium disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 37, Cao et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium (UE memory module 434 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110) storing one or more instructions for wireless communication, the one or more instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (UE processor module 436 – figure 4 and paragraph 0110), cause the one or more processors to:
receive polarization information for measurement of a measurement resource, wherein the polarization information indicates a polarization of a transmit beam associated with the reception of the measurement resource, and wherein the polarization is dedicated to perform measurements (UE 304/404 receives polarization information of a transmit beam that is associated with the reception of a measurement resource and is dedicated to perform measurements – paragraphs 0002, 0005-0009, 0026-0030, 0103, 0131, and 0139);
receive the measurement resource (reference signals (RS) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), which are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 – paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0026-0029, 0131, and 0139); and
perform a measurement of the measurement resource based at least in part on the
polarization information (reference signals (RSs) (measurement resource), which include at least one of, among others, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), are receive and measure by the UE 304/404 in accordance with the polarization information indicated which also signaled the RSs – paragraphs 0006-0008, 0026-0029, 0103, 0131 (where the measurement is performed), and 0139 (where the measurement is performed)).
Although Cao et al. also disclose that Radio Resource Control (RRC) (which is a Layer 3 (L3) protocol) configuration is also signaled by the polarization information (see, for example, paragraph 0006), Cao et al. does not specifically disclose that the measurement performed is a Layer 3 (L3) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Nilsson discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have perform the measurements as Layer 3 (L3) measurements as disclosed by Nilsson et al. in the medium disclosed by Cao et al. for the purpose of, for example, mobility and beam management (Nilsson – paragraph 0006) in combination with saving processing time and power at the UE (Cao et al. – paragraph 0106).
Consider claim 38, and as applied to claim 26 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, further disclose wherein receiving the measurement resource comprises receiving the measurement resource from a non-terrestrial network entity (SSB is received from a base station on board a satellite (i.e., non-terrestrial network entity) – paragraphs 0098, 0120, 0126, 0131, and 0139).
Claims 16 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 2022/0393754 A1) in view of Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1), as applied to claims 15 and 32 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2024/0259083 A1).
Consider claim 16, and as applied to claim 15 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, fail to disclose wherein the one or more processors, to receive the polarization information, are configured to cause the UE to receive the polarization information in a polarization configuration
field in a measurement resource configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou et al. disclose the use of a polarization configuration field (polarCongfig) in a measurement resource configuration (ssbFrequency) to indicate to a terminal the correspondence between a reference signal (RS) measurement frequency and the polarization manner (see paragraph 0502 and Table 19 - the network device configures, for the terminal device in a polarization configuration (polarCongfig) field, the correspondence between the RS measurement frequency of the neighboring cell in the ssbFrequency field and the polarization manner of the neighboring cell. For example, Table 19 shows a correspondence between an RS measurement frequency of a neighboring cell in an ssbFrequency field and a polarization manner of the neighboring cell. In response to the polarization manner of the neighboring cell of the cell in which the terminal device being located is left hand circular polarization, the network device sends, to the terminal device in the ssbFrequency field, the RS measurement frequency F0 of the neighboring cell, to indicate that the polarization manner of the neighboring cell of the cell in which the terminal device is located is left hand circular polarization. In Table 19, an object is a to-be-measured object, and the to-be-measured object is a cell or a beam.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use a polarization configuration field as disclosed by Zhou et al. in the apparatus disclosed by Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, for the purpose of, for example, optimizing the process of scheduling the polarization manner (Zhou et al. – paragraph 0005).
Consider claim 33, and as applied to claim 32 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, fail to disclose wherein receiving the polarization information comprises receiving the polarization information in a polarization configuration field in a measurement resource configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou et al. disclose the use of a polarization configuration field (polarCongfig) in a measurement resource configuration (ssbFrequency) to indicate to a terminal the correspondence between a reference signal (RS) measurement frequency and the polarization manner (see paragraph 0502 and Table 19 - the network device configures, for the terminal device in a polarization configuration (polarCongfig) field, the correspondence between the RS measurement frequency of the neighboring cell in the ssbFrequency field and the polarization manner of the neighboring cell. For example, Table 19 shows a correspondence between an RS measurement frequency of a neighboring cell in an ssbFrequency field and a polarization manner of the neighboring cell. In response to the polarization manner of the neighboring cell of the cell in which the terminal device being located is left hand circular polarization, the network device sends, to the terminal device in the ssbFrequency field, the RS measurement frequency F0 of the neighboring cell, to indicate that the polarization manner of the neighboring cell of the cell in which the terminal device is located is left hand circular polarization. In Table 19, an object is a to-be-measured object, and the to-be-measured object is a
cell or a beam.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use a polarization configuration field as disclosed by Zhou et al. in the method disclosed by Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, for the purpose of, for example, optimizing the process of scheduling the polarization manner (Zhou et al. – paragraph 0005).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 2022/0393754 A1) in view of Nilsson (US 2020/0212986 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheema et al. (US 2024/0056847 A1).
Consider claim 40, and as applied to claim 1 above, Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, fail to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to switch to the first polarization in response to reception of the indication and in preparation for
reception of the measurement resource.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheema et al. disclose a user equipment (UE) receiving a configuration (i.e., indication) for a plurality of references signals to be measured (i.e., measurement resource) wherein the configuration includes polarization type (i.e., first polarization) and the configuration is received before reporting the measurements (see the abstract, figure 9, and paragraphs 0079, 0080, 0083, 0107, and 0108 – UE must switch to the polarization type of the reference signals to be measured prior to their reception and measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch to the polarization type of the reference signal to be measured as disclosed by Cheema et al. in the apparatus disclosed by Cao et al., as modified by Nilsson, because doing so would have predictably improved measurement accuracy, reduced polarization mismatch loss, and enabled more efficient beam/BWP management in NTN or NR systems using circular or other polarization modes, consistent with the express objectives of Cheema et al. and Cao et al. to support polarization-based measurements and reporting while reducing signaling overhead, and consistent with Nilsson’s objective of improving beam management by preparing the receiver polarization state for reference-signal reception.
This modification would have amounted to the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions under KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007) and MPEP § 2143, because Cheema et al. and Cao et al. provide the polarization-indicated CSI-RS/measurement-resource framework, while Nilsson provides the known receiver-side mechanism and rationale for configuring or switching polarization before reference-signal reception. The combination would have required only routine implementation by known UE processing circuitry and RF/antenna control components to apply the indicated polarization before measuring the configured resource, yielding the predictable benefit of improved polarization alignment and more reliable reference-signal measurement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 10-14, 23, 24, 29-31, 36, and 39 are allowed.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 4, 29, and 36 are allowed for the reasons set forth on page 17 of the Office Action mailed on December 10, 2025.
Dependent claims 5-7, 10-14, 23, 24, 30, 31, and 39 are also allowed by virtue of their
dependency on claims 4, 29, and 36.
Any comments considered necessary by Applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on March 10, 2026 with respect to claims 1, 15, 26, 32, 35, and 37 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant again argues, on page 17 of the remarks, that Cao et al. fail to disclose or suggest “receive an indication of a first polarization of a transmit beam, wherein the first polarization is dedicated to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements” because “signaling a polarization of synchronization signal block (SSB) beams, as described in CAO”, is not the same as the amended claimed language. “That is, CAO does not indicate or discuss “a first polarization” that “is dedicated to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements,” much less a UE configured to “receive an indication of a first polarization of a transmit beam, wherein the first polarization is dedicated to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements”. And that “signaling that includes an association between reference signals and polarization information, as described in Cao, does not disclose or suggest “receive an indication of a first polarization of a transmit beam, wherein the first polarization is dedicated to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements” as recited in amended claim 1”.
The Examiner again respectfully disagrees with Applicant's argument for, from among
several reasons, two main reasons.
First, the amended claimed language in claim was already implied in the previous claim set and was considered by the Examiner in the last Office Action as it was explained in the Advisory Action mailed on February 18, 2026. Additionally, Cao et al., as explained in the previous Office Action, disclose that the first polarization is dedicated to perform measurements (see, for example, paragraph 0006 and 0007 where Cao et al. specifically disclose that “receiving the polarization information includes monitoring (e.g., observing, watching, managing, etc.), by the wireless communication device, the polarization information being signaled by the base station” and “the signaling includes at least one of a first association between Reference Signals (RSs) and a plurality of frequency resources; a second association between the RSs and the polarization information; or a third association between channels and the polarization information” which makes clear that the polarization information is dedicated to perform measurements through the association of the RSs (which is the measurement resource) and the polarization information). Furthermore, to the extent that the Applicant might be intending to limit the interpretation of “dedicated” to be applicable only to performing measurements, it is worth noting that the claimed language is not limiting the first polarization information to be dedicated only to perform measurements but, even if that was the case, the specification of the present application fails to provide support for such interpretation as even the paragraphs relied upon by the Applicant to provide support for the proposed amendment, for example paragraphs 0103-0109, does not limit the polarization information to be dedicated only to perform the measurements as much more information could be could associated with the polarization information (e.g., see paragraph 0107 - polarization indication may indicate: polarization relationship between a source transmission and a target transmission, polarization associated with a downlink transmission or an uplink transmission, etc....). Finally, paragraph 0139 of Cao et al., as admitted by the Applicant, also disclose the signaling of polarization of synchronization signal block (SSB) (i.e., measurement resource) beams which meets the claimed language argued by the Applicant (i.e., wherein the first polarization is dedicated to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements).
Second, in response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In the instant application, Applicant’s argument, that Cao et al. fail to disclose or suggest “wherein the first polarization is dedicated to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements”, fails to account for the combination of the references as a whole as Cao et al., as explained above, do disclose that the first polarization is dedicated to perform measurements. However, Cao et al. only fail to disclose that the measurements performed, per se, are Layer 3 (L3) measurements. Nilsson, as stated in the previous Office Action, discloses that is known to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on downlink reference signals such as channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) and synchronization signal (SS) blocks for purposes of beam management and mobility (paragraphs 0004 and 0006). Therefore, the combination of the references as a whole clearly discloses the limitation argued by the Applicant.
Consequently, in view of the above reasons and having addressed Applicant's argument, the previous rejection is maintained by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Ma et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0109543 A1) disclose polarization indication signaling for channel state information reference signals.
Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0284277 A1) disclose a method for transmitting RACH on basis of polarization formation by terminal in wireless communication system.
Yin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0421879 A1) disclose polarization diversity in time-domain beamforming.
SPE interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez
R.P.G./rpg
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642
July 11, 2026