Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
This action is non-final, and is in response to the amendments filed on May 18th , 2026.
Claims 1-6, 9-20 are pending and have been considered.
Claims 1, 20 are independent claims.
Claims 1, 20 have been amended. No claims have been canceled.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 of claims 1-6, 9-20 is withdrawn
Re rejections under 35 USC 103 Applicant’s arguments have been considered but have not been found persuasive. Independent claims 1, 20 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wu, (US 5017939 A) in view of Hallendorff R. H, A Method of Radome Compensation with Broadband Capability, 1964 in further view of Gardi et al, Multi-objective optimization of aircraft flight trajectories in the ATM and avionics context, Progress in Aerospace Sciences 83, p 1-36, 2016, in further view of Thompson et al, MLS Airplane System Modeling NASA Contractor Report CR 165700, 1981, in further view of Chang et al Two-Point Flight Path Planning Using a Fast Graph-Search Algorithm, 2006.
Dependent claims are also rejected under U.S.C. 103.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
The amendments and arguments filed on 05/18/2026 have been considered. Claims 1-6, 9-20 are pending and have been considered. Independent claims 1, 20 have been amended.
Re the rejection Under 35 U.S.C. § 101 for claims 1-6, 9-20. In view of the amendments of independent claims the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Applicant’s arguments have been considered but have not been found persuasive. The amendments are not sufficient to overcome the rejection since the added limitations is disclosed by the primary reference (Wu) and thus the combination of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, and Chang discloses all of the limitations of claim independent claims.
All the arguments go to the motivation to combine references in independent claims, and therefore a high level analysis is presented before the details, which provides in one place the logic for combination.
The independent claims are directed to optimization, then manufacturing, of a radome shell structure (tailoring it) to minimize degradation of EMG waves in a certain incidence distribution .
This is captured by the tailoring and manufacturing of the radome multi-layer structure (for an airborne vehicle) with optimized transmission in a given range of incidence angles [0-60] toughed by first reference. A POSITA would understand that the choice of the range of incidence angles affects the optimization, therefore if instead of the range of [0 60 degrees] a different range/distribution would be used, a different structure would be optimal. Thus, a POSITA would be motivated to find the actual range/distribution characteristic of the intended operation of the aircraft as that would result in an optimized radome structure. This is determined by flight conditions. If a single path is followed, a distribution of angles is during flight on single path. If multiple paths are followed, one would be motivated to combine the distribution for each path. This is not hindsight but logical, and such characteristics for other aspects of flights between two locations are similarly judged (e.g. fuel consumption distribution over the possible paths, time of flight distribution etc. The argument the references address different problems in different fields is not persuasive. There will be a strong motivation for a POSITA that tries to determine what angles to optimize for, to look at how such angles vary over the flight paths, and all reference are related to flights and/or antennas.
All claims, 1-6, 9-20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
ii. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
iii. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
iv. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims with similar limitations are grouped, and a single rejection analysis is performed, on a representative claim for the group.
Claims 1, 3-5, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, (US 5017939 A) in view of Hallendorff R. H, A Method of Radome Compensation with Broadband Capability, 1964 in further view of Gardi et al, Multi-objective optimization of aircraft flight trajectories in the ATM and avionics context, Progress in Aerospace Sciences 83, p 1-36, 2016, in further view of Thompson et al, MLS Airplane System Modeling NASA Contractor Report CR 165700, 1981, in further view of Chang et al Two-Point Flight Path Planning Using a Fast Graph-Search Algorithm, 2006.
A high level analysis is presented before the details, which provides in one place the logic for combining references. The independent claims are directed to optimization, then manufacturing, of a radome shell structure (tailoring it) to minimize degradation of EMG waves in a certain incidence distribution .
This is captured by the tailoring and manufacturing of the radome multi-layer structure (for an airborne vehicle) with optimized transmission in a given range of incidence angles [0-60] toughed by first reference. A POSITA would understand that the choice of the range of incidence angles affects the optimization, therefore if instead of the range of [0 60 degrees] a different range/distribution would be used, a different structure would be optimal. Thus a POSITA would be motivated to find the actual range/distribution characteristic of the intended operation of the aircraft as that would result in an optimized radome structure. If a single path is followed, a distribution of angles is during flight on single path. If multiple paths are followed, one would be motivated to combine the distribution for each path. This is not hindsight but logical, and such characteristics for other aspects of flights between two locations are similarly judged (e.g. fuel consumption distribution over the possible paths, time of flight distribution etc.
Regarding claim 1, representative of claim 20, Wu discloses
tailoring at least one radome shell structural component of the radome to minimize electromagnetic degradation of electromagnetic waves intersecting the radome at angles within the Combo-Iα-Dist. {[Claim 2] The multi-layered structure of claim 1 wherein said two impedance matching layers used in conjunction with a radome or lens provide a substantially optimized transmission bandwidth for both transverse electric and transverse magnetic polarizations of said electromagnetic energy for an angle of incidence from 0 to 60 degrees}. In broadest reasonable interpretation and in view of the specification tailoring at least one radome shell structural component of the radome to minimize electromagnetic degradation of electromagnetic waves intersecting the radome at angles within the Combo-Iα-Dist is interpreted as the matching layers in the multi-layered structure of the radome that provide optimized transmission of electromagnetic energy in a given range of angles of incidence.
wherein tailoring at least one radome shell structural component to minimize electromagnetic degradation of electromagnetic waves intersecting the radome at angles within the Combo-Ia-Dist comprises tailoring at least two distinct zones of the radome shell structural component, and wherein tailoring at least one radome shell structural component to minimize electromagnetic degradation of electromagnetic waves intersecting the radome at ang!es within the Combo-Ia-Dist comprises tailoring a characteristic of at least two structurally distinct zones that make up the radome shell structural component, wherein the characteristic is selected from the group consisting of a) a shape of each distinct zone, b) a placement pattern of each distinct zone in the radome c) a size of each distinct zone d) a location of each distinct zone in the radome e) a structure of each distinct zone in the radome, and f) any combination thereof {{(9) Of particular importance are the electromagnetic characteristics of materials used in building the radome or lens. Currently, the structures used to produce radomes and lenses possess permittivities that are not equal to that of free space or of the atmosphere.; (13) The present invention provides an impedance matching design for a structure, such as a lens or radome, and its surrounding environment. The design employs two (2) impedance matching layers.} at least two structural components, a structure of each different zone in the radome is interpreted as the two impedance matching layers.}
manufacturing the radome having the at least one radome shell structural component with the tailored characteristic {FIG. 6 is an environmental view showing a radome made in accordance with the teachings of this invention, the radome being mounted on an airborne vehicle; {[Claim 2] The multi-layered structure of claim 1 wherein said two impedance matching layers used in conjunction with a radome or lens provide a substantially optimized transmission bandwidth for both transverse electric and transverse magnetic polarizations of said electromagnetic energy for an angle of incidence from 0 to 60 degrees }
Wu does not disclose, however Hallendorff discloses
determining a Combination Incidence Angle Distribution (Combo-Iα-Dist) corresponding to the Combo-Lα-Dist, and {[page 13] graphical method were used to determine the angle of incidence as a function of station position along the perimeter as the antenna system is rotated. Figure 5 is a plot of the angle of incidence versus perimeter location L for both A’ and A’’. Note that at each gimbal angle (except 0°) the antenna apertures look through the radome at different points along the perimeters with different angles of incidence } In broadest reasonable interpretation and in view of the specification determining combination incidence angle distribution corresponding to the Combo-Lα-Dist is interpreted as determining angle of incidence as a function of the station position which corresponds with the look of the antenna aperture.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu with Hallendorf. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of optimal tailoring to the most relevant incidence angles, and that more precise determination would be made on something more easily and accurately measurable, which is in this case the look angle and - the appropriate distribution respectively.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. Hallendorff is merely relied upon to illustrate the determination of incident angles (and consequently incident angle distribution) from the look angles, which are much easier and more precisely to measure and record during flights. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles and determining incident angles from look angles are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu and Hallendorff would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu in view of Hallendorff.
Wu, Hallendorff does not disclose, however Gardi discloses
calculating a Combination Looking Angle Distribution (Combo-Lα-Dist) for the set number N of flight paths FPN {[Page 31 Section 6.4] Fig. 31 depicts a number of feasible and unfeasible avoidance trajectories generated by LOAS in real-time in the presence of multiple obstacles. Adopting a multi-phase trajectory optimisation formulation, the selection of the optimal trajectory along the first phase (safe steering) is typically based on minimising a cost function of the form… d {w,w,w ,w t d id f} are the positive weightings attributed to time, distance, integral distance and fuel respectively. In time-critical avoidance applications (i.e., closing-up obstacles with high relative velocities) appropriate higher weightings are used for the time and distance cost elements.
In broadest reasonable interpretation and in view of the specification (which recites ”the third step 130 of calculating a Combination Looking Angle Distribution (Combo-Lα-Dist) for the set number N of flight paths FPN may further include weighting each flight path FPN and using the weighted value for calculating the Combo-Lα-Dist. According to particular embodiments, weighting of each flight path may be based on a particular variable, such as, 1) distance of a given flight path relative to the other flight paths,”) the limitation is interpreted as calculating a weighted sum of contributing factors (the look angle distributions) where weight factors are determined by conditions such as the distance of a path relative to other paths. Thus the calculation of looking angle distribution for a set of flight paths is interpreted as a calculation that gives different weightings to distance cost elements.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff with Gardi. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of optimal tailoring to the most relevant incidence angles as affected by combination looking angle distribution different various factors over each path, and that more suited overall with the incident over a multitude of paths and conditions encountered.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome, and a minimization that is optimal if made over the multitude of encountered paths and conditions. Gardi is merely relied upon to illustrate how to aggregate the results from multiple paths and conditions. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles and determining the incident angles histogram over a number of conditions are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff and Gardi would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu in view of Hallendorffin further view of Gardi.
Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi does not disclose, however Thompson discloses
determining a Looking Angle Distribution (Lα-Dist) for each flight path FPN, {[page 36, second paragraph] Because the airplane is flying at a constant altitude and radius of curvature) its roll and pitch angles are fixed and equal to 21.5° and 5.6°) respectively. The local elevation and azimuth look-angle time histories for the transmitting and receiving antenna units are given in figures A-IS and A-19. [page 34] G2 (A_T) is obtained from the data of figure A-9(b). Similarly for the azimuth guidance system, G7 (AZT) is set equal to 0 dB and its elevation look-angle distribution G 1 (ELT) is derived from _Figure A-9(a).}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi with Thompson’s. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of optimal tailoring to the most relevant incidence angles using the exact angles characteristic of each path.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome, and a minimization that is optimal if made over the multitude of encountered paths and conditions. Thompson is merely relied upon to illustrate obtaining the look angle in each path. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, angles which are obtained from look angles, and determining the look angles are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi and Thomson would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu in view of Hallendorffin further view of Gardi, in further view of Thompson
Wu, Hallendorf, Gardi, Thompson does not disclose, however Chang discloses
defining a set number N of flight paths FPN, wherein each flight path FPN is between a first city and a second city, {[Abstract] This paper presents a method, using a fast graph-search algorithm, of finding a feasible flight path for an air vehicle that flies between two locations. [page 466 last paragraph] We next examine briefly the effect of varying the minimum turn angles and also the limited directions of take-off and landing. Shown in Fig. 16, the red solid lines represent the resulted paths… the algorithm begins to find the shortest path on the finer map by search…} defining a set number N of flight paths FPN, wherein each flight path FPN is between a first city and a second city is interpreted as the feasible paths for a vehicle that flies between two locations, where number of paths depends on various constraints which reduce the number, e.g. with paths with minimum turn angles or the one with shortest path.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson with Chang. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of collecting the data on the flight paths that would be of interest to optimize the radome for.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome, and a minimization that is optimal if made over the multitude of encountered paths and conditions. Chang is merely relied upon to illustrate obtaining the paths. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, depending on flight paths and, and determining the flight paths are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu in view of Hallendorff in further view of Gardi, in further view of Thompson in further view of Chang.
Regarding Claim 3, dependent on claim 1, Chang further discloses
wherein calculating the Combo-Lα-Dist for the set number N of flight paths FPN further comprises weighting each flight path FPN based on 1) distance of a given flight path relative to the other flight paths, 2) composition of leisure vs. business travel, 3) number of passengers on each flight (i.e. based on plane size), 4) use frequency of a flight path (i.e. how many times per day the flight path is traveled), 5) the number of people who buy Wi-Fi on a plane using a particular flight path. { [page 462 bottom] We proceed in this manner for n = 1, 2, 3, . . . until the cost of start point has been updated, …and then the optimal path with minimum distance cost can be found by the following procedure….….corresponding move of the shortest path from the start point to the destination point are recorded } weighting each path based on relative distance is interpreted as determining costs for each paths and determining the path with minimum distance cost as the shortest path (one single path , N=1).
The claim is interpreted as one of factors 1-5 is sufficient – per specification [0021] According to particular embodiments, the third step 130 of calculating a Combination Looking Angle Distribution (Combo-Lα-Dist) for the set number N of flight paths FP.sub.N may further include weighting each flight path FP.sub.N and using the weighted value for calculating the Combo-Lα-Dist. According to particular embodiments, weighting of each flight path may be based on a particular variable, such as, 1) distance of a given flight path relative to the other flight paths, 2) composition of leisure vs. business travel, 3) number of passengers on each flight (i.e. based on plane size), 4) use frequency of a flight path (i.e. how many times per day the flight path is traveled), 5) the number of people who buy Wi-Fi on a plane using a particular flight path.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang with further elements of Chang. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of better characterizing the relevant collection of data on flight paths that would be of interest to optimize the radome for.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome, and a minimization that is optimal if made over the multitude of encountered paths and conditions. Further elements of Chang are merely relied upon to illustrate how to best reflect the influence of each path. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, depending on flight paths and, and determining the influence of each path are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu in view of Hallendorff in further view of Gardi, in further view of Thompson in further view of Chang.
Regarding Claim 4, dependent on claim 1, Chang further discloses
wherein N is equal to at least 1 flight path. { [page 462 bottom and 463 first paragraph] the optimal path with minimum distance cost can be found by the following procedure….….corresponding move of the shortest path from the start point to the destination point are recorded } N is equal to at least 1 flight path is interpreted as the one path with minimum distance cost - the shortest path. (One single path , N=1).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang with further elements of Chang. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of better characterizing the relevant collection of data on flight paths that would be of interest to optimize the radome for, and for that determine on how many paths to consider, with some lower limits.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome, and a minimization that is optimal if made over the multitude of encountered paths and conditions. Further elements of Chang are merely relied upon to illustrate how the chose the number of flights. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, depending on flight paths and, and determining the number of flights are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu in view of Hallendorff in further view of Gardi, in further view of Thompson in further view of Chang.
Regarding Claim 5, dependent on claim 1, Chang further discloses
wherein N is equal to not greater than 29,000 flight paths. { [page 462 bottom and 463 first paragraph] the optimal path with minimum distance cost can be found by the following procedure….….corresponding move of the shortest path from the start point to the destination point are recorded } N not greater than 29,000 flight paths is interpreted as the one path with minimum distance cost - the shortest path. (One single path , N=1, N< 29,000).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang with further elements of Chang. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of better characterizing the relevant collection of data on flight paths that would be of interest to optimize the radome for, and for that determine on how many paths to consider, with some upper limits.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome, and a minimization that is optimal if made over the multitude of encountered paths and conditions. Further elements of Chang are merely relied upon to illustrate how the chose the number of flights. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, depending on flight paths and, and determining the number of flights are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu in view of Hallendorff in further view of Gardi, in further view of Thompson in further view of Chang.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, (US 5017939 A) in view of Hallendorff R. H, A Method of Radome Compensation with Broadband Capability, 1964 in further view of Gardi et al, Multi-objective optimization of aircraft flight trajectories in the ATM and avionics context, Progress in Aerospace Sciences 83, p 1-36, 2016, in further view of Thompson et al, MLS Airplane System Modeling NASA Contractor Report CR 165700, 1981, in further view of Chang et al Two-Point Flight Path Planning Using a Fast Graph-Search Algorithm, 2006, in further view of further view of Gariel et al, Trajectory Clustering and an Application to Airspace Monitoring, Trajectory Clustering and an Application to Airspace Monitoring, IEEE Trans Intel Transportation Sys, 2011
Regarding Claim 2, dependent on claim 1, Wu, Hallendorf, Gardi, Thompson, Chang do not disclose, however Gariel further discloses
wherein defining a set number N of flight paths FPN further comprises utilizing a clustering algorithm to group flight paths by a characteristic. {[VI. Conclusion] This paper presented two trajectory clustering methods and an application to airspace monitoring. The first method clusters trajectories that have turns at the same spatial locations. The second methodologies is based on a principal components analysis of resampled and augmented trajectories. Those algorithm are used to determine typical operations. The monitoring tool compares the conformance of current flights to identified typical operations in real-time. The version of the tool presented in this paper monitors the landings at SFO, but it can easily be modified to monitor any traffic pattern, by modifying the input dataset.}
Clustering algorithm to group flight paths by a characteristic is interpreted as the clustering methods used to cluster trajectories that have turns at the same spatial location (given as an example to illustrate clustering).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang with Gariel. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of using known methods (of clustering) to form the grouping of paths with similar characteristics.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome, and a minimization that is optimal if made over the multitude of encountered paths and conditions, where different weight is given to paths of different groups and characteristics. Gariel is merely relied upon to grouping of the paths using a grouping methodology. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, depending on flight paths and their characteristics , and grouping flight paths by characteristics using clustering are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang and Gariel would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang in further view of Gariel.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, (US 5017939 A) in view of Hallendorff R. H, A Method of Radome Compensation with Broadband Capability, 1964 in further view of Gardi et al, Multi-objective optimization of aircraft flight trajectories in the ATM and avionics context, Progress in Aerospace Sciences 83, p 1-36, 2016, in further view of Thompson et al, MLS Airplane System Modeling NASA Contractor Report CR 165700, 1981, in further view of Chang et al Two-Point Flight Path Planning Using a Fast Graph-Search Algorithm, 2006, in further view of further view of US Raeker et al (US 20170133754)
Regarding Claim 6, dependent on claim 1, Wu, Hallendorf, Gardi, Thompson, Chang do not disclose, however Raeker discloses
wherein tailoring at least one radome shell structural component to minimize electromagnetic degradation of electromagnetic waves intersecting the radome at angles within the Combo-Iα-Dist comprises tailoring an exterior shape of the radome. {[0005] Each of these methods requires that the antenna and radome structure be designed concurrently to achieve the desired performance, increasing the risk that design limits of one would require re-designs of the other. Additionally, the methods usually require that the shape of the radome or antenna be modified from the standard spherical or cylindrical geometry}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang with Raeker. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of using a better adaptation of the radome, adapting to antenna shapes and variable thickness of dielectric.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. Raeker is merely relied upon to illustrate the tailoring to include radome outer shape. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring by choosing a suitable external shape are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang and Raeker would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang in further view of Raeker.
Claims 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, (US 5017939 A) in view of Hallendorff R. H, A Method of Radome Compensation with Broadband Capability, 1964 in further view of Gardi et al, Multi-objective optimization of aircraft flight trajectories in the ATM and avionics context, Progress in Aerospace Sciences 83, p 1-36, 2016, in further view of Thompson et al, MLS Airplane System Modeling NASA Contractor Report CR 165700, 1981, in further view of Chang et al Two-Point Flight Path Planning Using a Fast Graph-Search Algorithm, 2006, in further view of further view of Tang et al, Multidisciplinary Optimization of Airborne Radome Using Genetic Algorithm, AICI 2009, pp 150157, 2009
Regarding claim 9, dependent on claim 1, Wu, Hallendorf, Gardi, Thompson, Chang do not disclose, however Tang discloses
wherein tailoring at least one radome shell structural component to minimize electromagnetic degradation of electromagnetic waves intersecting the radome at angles within the Combo-Iα-Dist comprises tailoring a number of structurally distinct dielectric layers stacked on top of each other to make up the radome shell structural component. { [page 152 bottom] The choice of materials and wall thickness has a significant influence on the structural strength and electrical performance. The idea in this paper is to find the proper configuration of these parameters; [page 153 top2.2 Structural Analysis of Radome] The basic issue in radome structural analysis is the material definition. This is very difficult because multilayer thin walled configurations including the A sandwich, B sandwich, and C sandwich are often used as illustrated in Fig.3. Taking A sandwich for example, it consists of three layers: two dense high-strength skins separated by a lower-density, lower-dielectric core material such as foam or honeycomb. [Page 155 middle] In our applications, we consider the multilayer sandwich as the radome wall. The radome optimization takes the thicknesses of each layer as design variables.
}
In broadest reasonable interpretation number of structurally distinct dielectric layers stacked on top of each other are the sandwich multi-layer, placement patterns of each distinct zone are illustrated in the sandwich configurations.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang with Tang. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of the ability of tailoring the radome shell to optimize EMG properties by properly combining different dielectric materials, acting on possible parameters of those components including their relative placement.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. Tang is merely relied upon to illustrate the tailoring to of the shell with a proper combination of dielectric materials components, in particular their relative position. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring by choosing suitable suitable components and their parameters are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang and Tang would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang in further view of Tang.
Regarding claim 10, dependent on claim 1, Wu, Hallendorf, Gardi, Thompson, Chang do not disclose, however Tang discloses
wherein tailoring at least one radome shell structural component to minimize electromagnetic degradation of electromagnetic waves intersecting the radome at angles within the Combo-Iα-Dist comprises tailoring a characteristic of at least two structurally distinct dielectric layers stacked on top of each other to make up the radome shell structural component,
wherein the characteristic is selected from the group consisting of: (a) a thickness of each distinct dielectric layer, (b) a material composition of each distinct dielectric layer, (c) an order of each distinct dielectric layer, (d) a “mesostructure” of each distinct dielectric layer, and (e) any combination thereof. { [page 152 bottom] The choice of materials and wall thickness has a significant influence on the structural strength and electrical performance. The idea in this paper is to find the proper configuration of these parameters; [page 153 top2.2 Structural Analysis of Radome] The basic issue in radome structural analysis is the material definition. This is very difficult because multilayer thin walled configurations including the A sandwich, B sandwich, and C sandwich are often used as illustrated in Fig.3. Taking A sandwich for example, it consists of three layers: two dense high-strength skins separated by a lower-density, lower-dielectric core material such as foam or honeycomb. [Page 155 middle] In our applications, we consider the multilayer sandwich as the radome wall. The radome optimization takes the thicknesses of each layer as design variables. [Page 156 top] In this section, the proposed optimization approach is demonstrated with a paraboloidal radome. For the structural analysis, the finite element model is illustrated in Fig.5. The A sandwich radome wall is modeled as a 7 layered laminate. Each skin is constructed with 3 layers, while the core is constructed with 1 layer.}
Fig 3 and Table 1 are provided below.
}
In broadest reasonable interpretation at least two structurally distinct zones are the sandwich multi-layer, thickness of each distinct dielectric layer and material composition of each distinct dielectric layer are illustrated by the choice of materials and wall thickness.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang with Tang. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of the ability of tailoring the radome shell to optimize EMG properties by properly combining different dielectric materials, acting on possible parameters of those components (materials, size, etc).
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. Tang is merely relied upon to illustrate the tailoring to of the shell with a proper combination of dielectric materials components. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring by choosing suitable suitable components and their parameters are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang and Tang would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang in further view of Tang.
Claims 11-12, 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, (US 5017939 A) in view of Hallendorff R. H, A Method of Radome Compensation with Broadband Capability, 1964 in further view of Gardi et al, Multi-objective optimization of aircraft flight trajectories in the ATM and avionics context, Progress in Aerospace Sciences 83, p 1-36, 2016, in further view of Thompson et al, MLS Airplane System Modeling NASA Contractor Report CR 165700, 1981, in further view of Chang et al Two-Point Flight Path Planning Using a Fast Graph-Search Algorithm, 2006, in further view of RADOME https://radome.net/tl.html 2020
Regarding claim 11, dependent on claim 1, Wu, Hallendorf, Gardi, Thompson, Chang do not disclose, however RADOME discloses
wherein minimizing electromagnetic degradation of electromagnetic waves intersecting the radome at angles within the Combo-Iα-Dist comprises minimizing an electromagnetic degradation selected from the group consisting of transmission loss for any incident polarization, co-polarization loss, cross-polarization loss, polarization change, boresight error, sidelobe level increase, main beam shape distortion, reflected power, noise increase, antenna VSWR increase or combinations thereof. {[Radome Framework Impedance Matching] one method of reducing radome transmission loss …}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang with RADOME. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of the having a radome with less interference with the intended communication.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. RADOME is merely relied upon to illustrate the minimization of an important component that degrades the EMG communication, respectively the transmissions loss. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring by reducing transmission loss are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang and RADOME would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang in further view of RADOME.
Regarding claim 12, dependent on claim 11, Wu, Hallendorf, Gardi, Thompson, Chang do not disclose, however RADOME discloses
wherein the radome comprises a transmission loss of not greater than -0.1 dB.
https://radome.net/tl.html 2020 {[Radome Framework Impedance Matching] one method of reducing radome transmission loss (Scattering loss) is to reduce the framework electronic signature….
Note that impedance matching decreases C-band transmission loss 5-fold from 0.5 dB to 0.1 dB.}
One should observe here the examiner note at the beginning of the Office Action, which makes the point that transmission loss is commonly expressed as a positive number.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang with RADOME. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of the having a radome with less interference with the intended communication, and 0.1dB is a good value as transmission loss.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. RADOME is merely relied upon to illustrate the minimization of an important component that degrades the EMG communication, respectively the transmissions loss. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring by reducing transmission loss are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang and RADOME would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang in further view of RADOME.
Regarding claim 16, dependent on claim 11, Hallendorf further discloses
wherein the radome comprises a boresight error of not greater than 20 mrad.
{[Fig 10] shows errors below 0.9 ‘spatial degrees’ i.e. 0.9o }}. 1o converted to mrad is PI/180 radians, approx. 17 mrad. 17mrad< 20mrad. QED.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME with further teaching of Hallendorff. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of the having a radome with small boresight error, and 20 mrad is a an acceptably small value.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. Hallendorff further elements are merely relied upon to illustrate the minimization of an important component that degrades the EMG communication, respectively the boresight error. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring to reduce boresight error are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang, RADOME and further elements of Hallendorff would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang/RADOME
Claim 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, (US 5017939 A) in view of Hallendorff R. H, A Method of Radome Compensation with Broadband Capability, 1964 in further view of Gardi et al, Multi-objective optimization of aircraft flight trajectories in the ATM and avionics context, Progress in Aerospace Sciences 83, p 1-36, 2016, in further view of Thompson et al, MLS Airplane System Modeling NASA Contractor Report CR 165700, 1981, in further view of Chang et al Two-Point Flight Path Planning Using a Fast Graph-Search Algorithm, 2006, in further view of RADOME https://radome.net/tl.html 2020, in further view of Gampala et al Efficient Design and Analysis of Airborne Radomes, microwavejournal May 13, 2015
Regarding claim 17, dependent on claim 11, Wu, Hallendorf, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME do not disclose, however Gampala discloses
wherein the radome comprises a sidelobe level increase of not greater than 10 dB. {[After Figure 3] The sidelobe levels are increased by 5.4 dB, because the signal blockage from the radome reflects RF energy back and reduces the gain.}
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME with Gampala. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of the having a radome with a reduced increase in sidelobe levels, and 10 db is a reasonable value.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. Gampala is merely relied upon to illustrate the minimization of an important component that degrades the EMG communication, respectively not increasing sidelobe levels. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring to not increase sidelobe levels are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang, RADOME and Gampala would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang/RADOME in further view of Gampala.
Claims 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, (US 5017939 A) in view of Hallendorff R. H, A Method of Radome Compensation with Broadband Capability, 1964 in further view of Gardi et al, Multi-objective optimization of aircraft flight trajectories in the ATM and avionics context, Progress in Aerospace Sciences 83, p 1-36, 2016, in further view of Thompson et al, MLS Airplane System Modeling NASA Contractor Report CR 165700, 1981, in further view of Chang et al Two-Point Flight Path Planning Using a Fast Graph-Search Algorithm, 2006, in further view of RADOME https://radome.net/tl.html 2020, in further view of Qamar et al, An Ultra-Wide Band Radome for High-Performance and Dual-Polarized Radar and Communication Systems, IEEE Access, 2020
Regarding claim 13, dependent on claim 11, Wu, Hallendorf, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME do not disclose, however Qamar discloses
[A13] wherein the radome comprises a co-polarization loss of at least -5.0 dB.
{see Fig 4} . Figure 4 reproduced in the following. S21 is interpreted as co-polarization loss. The values in Fig 4 show at least -5dB (in fact, much better, at least -0.5dB) for a wide range of frequencies.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME with Qamar. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of the having a radome with superior performance including the good performance under co-polarization loss, and-5 dB is a reasonable value.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. Qamar is merely relied upon to illustrate an aspirational target parameter for minimization, respectively co-polarization loss. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring to minimize co-polarization loss are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang, RADOME and Qamar would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Furthermore, the claim defines a result-effective variable – minimizing co-polarization loss, which is a known goal in radome design, and thus one would have been motivated to include this variable in the multi-criteria minimization for the radome.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang/RADOME in further view of Qamar.
Regarding Claim 15, Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang/RADOME do not disclose, however Qamar discloses:
wherein the radome comprises a polarization change of at least -100 dB. {[199372 bottom] radome having a depolarization ratio of −10 dB, [199375] Fig. 6c,d shows a 2-D graph of insertion loss for both polarizations at oblique incident angles. The red line is an insertion loss threshold equals to 0.3 dB, which shows that radome works up to 55◦ . The 0.1 dB mismatch as a threshold can be observed in both polarizations} Measurements graphs show co-and cross pol losses under 0.5dB and co-pol mismatch < 0.1dB demonstrating standard methods to minimize polarization change.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME with Qamar.
The claim defines a result-effective variable – minimizing polarization change, which is a known goal in radome design, as is reducing co-pol loss, and thus one would have been motivated to further minimize polarization change towards 100 dB. The art teaches radome designs and materials (multilayer dielectric stacks, sandwich structures) to further reduce polarization distortion and cross- pol leakage, minimize polarization change. Qamar discloses it in current reference, also Tang et al, Multidisciplinary Optimization of Airborne Radome Using Genetic Algorithm, AICI 2009, pp 150157, 2009
It would be obvious to a POSITA to use standard tactics to further minimize polarization loss towards lowest possible values, and would have been obvious to try various numbers, such as -60db, -70db -80dB -90dB or even-100dB, even if only to see the limits of the possible through a chosen minimization process.
Under 2144.05 II. Routine optimization, II (see e.g. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); Also, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. (the “finite number” for trying are the -60 dB, -70 dB, -80 dB , -90dB, 100dB indicated in the specification.
Achieving lower polarization change is predictable with known techniques like multi-layer of dielectrics, improved materials, etc. Even if exact -100dB isn’t in the prior art, design modifications to reach for it are obvious, especially since co-pol mismatch can already be < 0.1dB.
In conclusion, because minimizing polarization change is a known design objective, prior art already achieves less that -30 to -60dB levels, and the claimed -100dB threshold merely represents a result-effective optimization, claim 15 is obvious under 103.
As a further argument, should it be found needed, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. Qamar is merely relied upon to illustrate an aspirational target parameter for minimization, respectively polarization change. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring to minimize polarization change are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang, RADOME and Qamar would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang/RADOME in further view of Qamar.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, (US 5017939 A) in view of Hallendorff R. H, A Method of Radome Compensation with Broadband Capability, 1964 in further view of Gardi et al, Multi-objective optimization of aircraft flight trajectories in the ATM and avionics context, Progress in Aerospace Sciences 83, p 1-36, 2016, in further view of Thompson et al, MLS Airplane System Modeling NASA Contractor Report CR 165700, 1981, in further view of Chang et al Two-Point Flight Path Planning Using a Fast Graph-Search Algorithm, 2006, in further view of RADOME https://radome.net/tl.html 2020, in further view of Mancini, et al, Novel Instrument for Real-Time Measurement of Attenuation of Weather Radar Radome Including Its Outer Surface. Part I: The Concept, 2018
Re claim 14, should it be found that Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang/RADOME do not explicitly disclose, Mancini discloses:
wherein the radome comprises a cross-polarization loss of not greater than -10 dB.
{ see at least Mancini p965 Table 7} Table 7 from Mancini, reproduced below, indicates better than -33dB which is a smaller loss than -10dB.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME with Mancini. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of the having a radome with superior performance including the good performance under cross-polarization loss, and-10 dB is a reasonable value.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. Mancini is merely relied upon to illustrate an aspirational target parameter for minimization, respectively co-polarization loss. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring to minimize co-polarization loss are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang, RADOME and Mancini would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Furthermore, the claim defines a result-effective variable – minimizing cross-polarization loss, which is a known goal in radome design, and thus one would have been motivated to include this variable in the multi-criteria minimization for the radome.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang/RADOME in further view of Mancini
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, (US 5017939 A) in view of Hallendorff R. H, A Method of Radome Compensation with Broadband Capability, 1964 in further view of Gardi et al, Multi-objective optimization of aircraft flight trajectories in the ATM and avionics context, Progress in Aerospace Sciences 83, p 1-36, 2016, in further view of Thompson et al, MLS Airplane System Modeling NASA Contractor Report CR 165700, 1981, in further view of Chang et al Two-Point Flight Path Planning Using a Fast Graph-Search Algorithm, 2006, in further view of RADOME https://radome.net/tl.html 2020, in further view of Ametek, NSI-MI Radome Test Systems, Military 2021
Regarding Claim 18 Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang/RADOME do not explicitly disclose, however Ametek discloses
wherein the radome comprises a main beam shape distortion of not greater than 5%. {[page 2 middle] Pattern Distortion: +/- 0.5 dB} A 0.5dB pattern distortion corresponds to 6% amplitude deviation which encompasses a wide range of beam shape effects (main beam deflection, beamwidth variation etc). Thus main beam shape distortion of not greater than 5% is interpreted as pattern distortion of 0.5dB.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME with AMETEK. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of the having a radome with superior performance including the good performance in respect to main beam shape distortion, and-5% is a reasonable aspirational value.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. Ametek is merely relied upon to illustrate an aspirational target parameter for minimization, respectively main beam shape distortion. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring to minimize main beam shape distortion are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang, RADOME and Ametek would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Furthermore, the claim defines a result-effective variable – minimizing reflected power, which is a known goal in radome design, and thus one would have been motivated to include this variable in the multi-criteria minimization for the radome.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang/RADOME in further view of Ametek
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, (US 5017939 A) in view of Hallendorff R. H, A Method of Radome Compensation with Broadband Capability, 1964 in further view of Gardi et al, Multi-objective optimization of aircraft flight trajectories in the ATM and avionics context, Progress in Aerospace Sciences 83, p 1-36, 2016, in further view of Thompson et al, MLS Airplane System Modeling NASA Contractor Report CR 165700, 1981, in further view of Chang et al Two-Point Flight Path Planning Using a Fast Graph-Search Algorithm, 2006, in further view of RADOME https://radome.net/tl.html 2020, in further view of Tice et al. Techniques for Airborne Radome Design, 1966
Regarding Claim 19 Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang/RADOME do not explicitly disclose, however Tice discloses
wherein the radome comprises a reflected power of not greater than -0.1 dB.
{[Pg 271 Fig 5.33]} see graph below. A -0.1dB reflected power corresponds to a Power Reflection (R2) of 0.955. The graph shows all reflected power values below 0.7, which means all satisfy the requirement.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME with Tice. One would have been motivated to do so, in order to obtain the advantage of the having a radome with superior performance including the good performance in respect to power reflection, and-0.1 dB is a reasonable aspirational value.
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported that combining well known prior art elements, in a well-known manner, to obtain predictable results is sufficient to determine an invention obvious over such combination (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S.,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) & MPEP 2143). In the instant case, Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thompson, Chang, RADOME evidently discloses methods to tailor radome to minimize degradation of electromagnetic (EMG) waves incident to the radome. Tice is merely relied upon to illustrate an aspirational target parameter for minimization, respectively co-polarization loss. As best understood by Examiner, since tailoring the radome to minimize degradation under EMG incident angles, and tailoring to minimize reflected power are implemented through well-known computer technologies in the same or similar context, combining their features as outlined above using such well-known computer technologies (i.e., conventional software/hardware configurations), would be reasonable, according to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, since the elements disclosed by Wu, Hallendorff, Gardi, Thomson, Chang, RADOME and Tice would function in the same manner in combination as they do in their separate embodiments, it would be reasonable to conclude that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Furthermore, the claim defines a result-effective variable – minimizing reflected power, which is a known goal in radome design, and thus one would have been motivated to include this variable in the multi-criteria minimization for the radome.
Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over Wu/Hallendorff/Gardi/Thompson/Chang/RADOME in further view of Tice
Additional References Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20130002514
US 20100039346 A1
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188