DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant has submitted amendments to the claims on 07/06/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: control circuitry in claim 21, 29.
Regarding control circuitry in claim 21 and 29, the generic placeholder is given functional language without providing a corresponding structure. Claim 22 provides a structure of a thermostat for the control circuitry. The instant specification also provides a structure as a wire detection circuit that has first and second wire sensing circuits. For the purpose of examination, the control circuitry is any device that can perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-26 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kates ‘657 (US PUB. 20150330657, herein Kates ‘657) in view of Storm et al (US PUB. 20120228393, herein Storm).
Regarding claim 21, Kates ‘657 teaches A Heating, Cooling and Ventilation (HVAC) controller system comprising:
control circuitry for receiving a plurality of signals from a plurality of sensors, each of the signals indicating a current temperature for a space in which a corresponding sensor is located (0040 “Sensors 101-105 monitor the temperature in various areas (zones) of the house. A zone can be a room, a floor, a group of rooms, etc. The sensors 101-105 detect where and when heating or cooling air is needed. Information from the sensors 101-105 is used to control actuators that adjust the flow of air to the various zones”);
a display configured to display a sensor priority screen (0095 “the central console 1300 displays the current temperature, setpoint temperature, temperature slope, and priority of each zone.”), wherein:
the sensor priority screen includes a plurality of graphic constructs (0042 “A control panel 301 provides one or more visual displays and, optionally, one or more user controls”), [wherein each graphic construct of the plurality of graphic constructs corresponds to a different sensor of the plurality of sensors] and displays a current temperature reported by the corresponding sensor (0070 “controller 1101 uses the visual display 1110 to show the current temperature”)
and wherein the control circuitry is further configured to control the HVAC system based on temperatures received from the subset of sensors that are designated as the priority spaces (0040 “Sensors 101-105 monitor the temperature in various areas (zones) of the house. A zone can be a room, a floor, a group of rooms, etc. The sensors 101-105 detect where and when heating or cooling air is needed. Information from the sensors 101-105 is used to control actuators that adjust the flow of air to the various zones”, 0095 “The central system determines how much to open or close ECRVs 702-705 according to the available heating and cooling capacity of the HVAC system and according to the priority of the zones and the difference between the desired temperature and actual temperature of each zone” ).
Kates ‘657 does not teach wherein each graphic construct of the plurality of graphic constructs corresponds to a different sensor of the plurality of sensors, the sensor priority screen identifies a subset of the plurality of graphic constructs that correspond to a subset of sensors that are designated as priority spaces and currently being used by the controller in controlling the HVAC system, and the sensor priority screen provides an indication of which spaces in the building structure are currently calling for HVAC system activation, a user interface configured to receive an input from a user to select which sensors of the plurality of sensors are designated as sensors corresponding to the priority spaces.
Storm teaches wherein each graphic construct of the plurality of graphic constructs corresponds to a different sensor of the plurality of sensors (0046 “a user may selectively operate virtual buttons 608 to successively display other zones having humidity sensors associated with them”)
the sensor priority screen highlights a subset of the plurality of graphic constructs that correspond to a subset of sensors that are designated as priority spaces and currently being used by the controller in controlling the HVAC system (0048 “A second zone (represented by a virtual button 806) may be selectively assigned as the humidity priority zone by operating the virtual button 806. The operation of the virtual button 806 may assign the second zone of the first HVAC system 100 as the humidity priority zone and may further cause the system controller 106 to display a humidity system overview menu 900.”, 0021 “Some HVAC systems comprising a humidity sensor use feedback from the humidity sensor to control indoor humidity” 0052 “user may select one of the humidity sensors and cause the selected humidity sensor to be assigned as the humidity priority sensor”, 0015 “FIG. 1 showing a first zone of a first system as a humidity priority zone for the first system” 0052 “a one of the plurality of humidity sensors may be assigned as the humidity priority sensor. In some embodiments, a user may select one of the humidity sensors and cause the selected humidity sensor to be assigned as the humidity priority sensor. In other embodiments, the system controller 106 and/or any other suitable component may monitor humidity using humidity sensors and automatically assign one of the humidity sensors as the humidity priority sensor based on historical feedback from one or more of the plurality of humidity sensors. In some embodiments, as shown in FIGS. 4-10, each HVAC system 100 may be required to use one of its own humidity sensors as the humidity priority sensor that will control the HVAC system 100. However, in alternative embodiments, a first HVAC system 100 may be configured to use a humidity sensor of a second HVAC system 100 as the humidity priority sensor for the first HVAC system 100. After assignment of a humidity sensor as a humidity priority sensor, the method 1100 may progress to block 1130”) ,
a user interface configured to receive an input from a user to select which sensors of the plurality of sensors are designated as sensors corresponding to the priority spaces (0052 “user may select one of the humidity sensors and cause the selected humidity sensor to be assigned as the humidity priority sensor”, 0015 “FIG. 1 showing a first zone of a first system as a humidity priority zone for the first system”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the zone priority teachings of Kates ‘657 with the graphical user interface teachings of Storm since Storm teaches a means for selectively control which of the humidity sensors affects operation of the HVAC system based off users desires (0005-0007).
Regarding claim 22, the cited prior art teach The HVAC controller system of claim 21.
Kates ‘657 teaches wherein a thermostat comprises the control circuitry (0012 “occupants can set the thermostat on the EVCR to control the temperature of the area or room containing the ECRV”).
Regarding claim 23, the cited prior art teach the HVAC controller system of claim 22.
Kates ‘657 teaches wherein the thermostat further comprises the display and the user interface (0070 “In the zone thermostat 1100, a temperature sensor 1102 is provided to a controller 1101. User input controls 1103 are also provided to the controller 1101 to allow the user to specify a setpoint temperature. A visual display 1110 is provided to the controller 1101”).
Regarding claim 24, the cited prior art teach the HVAC controller system of claim 22.
Kates ‘657 teaches further comprising: a remote computing device comprising the display and the user interface (0075 “the zone control functions of the blocks 710, 810, 910 are provided by a computer program running on a control system processor, and the control system processor interfaces with personal computer to provide the console 1300 on the personal computer…In one embodiment, the occupants can use the Internet, telephone, cellular telephone, pager, etc. to remotely access the central system to control the temperature, priority, etc. of one or more zones”).
Regarding claim 25, the cited prior art teach the HVAC controller system of claim 24.
Kates ‘657 teaches wherein the remote computing devices comprises one of a smartphone or a tablet computer (0075 “the zone control functions of the blocks 710, 810, 910 are provided by a computer program running on a control system processor, and the control system processor interfaces with personal computer to provide the console 1300 on the personal computer…In one embodiment, the occupants can use the Internet, telephone, cellular telephone, pager, etc. to remotely access the central system to control the temperature, priority, etc. of one or more zones”).
Regarding claim 26, the cited prior art teach The HVAC controller system of claim 22.
Kates ‘657 teaches wherein the thermostat comprises one of the plurality of sensors (0017 “the EVCR and/or the zoned thermostat includes an occupant sensor, such as, for example, an infrared sensor, motion sensor, ultrasonic sensor, etc”).
Regarding claim 35, the cited prior art teach The HVAC controller system of claim 21.
Storm teaches wherein the sensor priority screen displays an indication of which spaces in the building structure are currently calling for HVAC activation (0051 “a humidity sensor may be provided in a kitchen area, bathroom, exercise room, and/or any other room, zone, and/or area commonly associated with relatively large and/or relatively fast fluctuations in humidity. After providing the humidity sensors, the method may progress to block 1120”, 0052 “At block 1120, a one of the plurality of humidity sensors may be assigned as the humidity priority sensor. In some embodiments, a user may select one of the humidity sensors and cause the selected humidity sensor to be assigned as the humidity priority sensor”, 0053 “At block 1130, the method 1100 may proceed to operate the HVAC system 100 in response to feedback from the assigned humidity priority sensor. In some embodiments, operation of the HVAC system…operation of the HVAC system 100 may comprise controlling the HVAC system 100 to increase humidity in response to a measured humidity being less than a target humidity”, fig. 5 shows a screen calling for humidity HVAC activation).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kates ‘657 (US PUB. 20150330657, herein Kates ‘657) in view of Storm et al (US PUB. 20120228393, herein Storm) in further view of Kates (US PUB. 20060071089, herein Kates ‘089).
Regarding claim 28, The cited prior art teach The HVAC controller system of claim 21.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the control circuitry comprises a wall mountable thermostat, and the HVAC system is a non-zoned HVAC system.
Kates ‘089 teaches wherein the control circuitry comprises a wall mountable thermostat, and the HVAC system is a non-zoned HVAC system (claim 28 “said zone thermostat and said light switch configured to be installed in a standard electrical wall switch enclosure”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the zone priority teachings of Kates ‘657, the graphical user interface teachings of Storm with the teachings of Kate ‘089 since Kate ‘089 teaches that thermostat installed in an electrical wall enclosure is the standard way (claim 28).
Claim(s) 29-34, 36-38, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kates ‘657 (US PUB. 20150330657, herein Kates ‘657) in view of Storm et al (US PUB. 20120228393, herein Storm) in further view of Thind (US PUB. 20100235004).
Regarding claim 29, Kates ‘657 A Heating, Cooling and Ventilation (HVAC) controller system comprising:
control circuitry for receiving a plurality of signals from a plurality of sensors, each of the signals indicating a current environmental condition for a space in a building structure in which a corresponding sensor is located and an indication of occupancy for the space in which the corresponding sensor is located (0040 “Sensors 101-105 monitor the temperature in various areas (zones) of the house. A zone can be a room, a floor, a group of rooms, etc. The sensors 101-105 detect where and when heating or cooling air is needed. Information from the sensors 101-105 is used to control actuators that adjust the flow of air to the various zones”, 0074 “an occupant sensor 1201 is provided to the controller 1101”, 0095 “central console 1300 displays the current temperature, setpoint temperature, temperature slope, and priority of each zone”);
a display configured to display a sensor priority screen (0095 “the central console 1300 displays the current temperature, setpoint temperature, temperature slope, and priority of each zone.”) that includes a plurality of graphic constructs (0042 “A control panel 301 provides one or more visual displays and, optionally, one or more user controls”), [where each graphic construct of the plurality of graphic constructs displayed on the sensor priority screen]:
corresponds to a different sensor in a different space in the building structure (0040 “Sensors 101-105 monitor the temperature in various areas (zones) of the house. A zone can be a room, a floor, a group of rooms, etc. The sensors 101-105 detect where and when heating or cooling air is needed. Information from the sensors 101-105 is used to control actuators that adjust the flow of air to the various zones”, 0095 “The central system determines how much to open or close ECRVs 702-705 according to the available heating and cooling capacity of the HVAC system and according to the priority of the zones and the difference between the desired temperature and actual temperature of each zone”);
displays a current environmental condition for the corresponding space (0095 “central console 1300 displays the current temperature, setpoint temperature, temperature slope, and priority of each zone”)
and wherein the control circuitry is further configured to control the HVAC system in accordance with at least some of the plurality of the current environmental conditions for the spaces designated as the priority spaces in the building structure (0040 “Sensors 101-105 monitor the temperature in various areas (zones) of the house. A zone can be a room, a floor, a group of rooms, etc. The sensors 101-105 detect where and when heating or cooling air is needed. Information from the sensors 101-105 is used to control actuators that adjust the flow of air to the various zones”, 0095 “The central system determines how much to open or close ECRVs 702-705 according to the available heating and cooling capacity of the HVAC system and according to the priority of the zones and the difference between the desired temperature and actual temperature of each zone”).
Kates ‘657 does not teach where each graphic construct of the plurality of graphic constructs displayed on the sensor priority screen displays a current occupancy status for the corresponding space; and displays an indication of whether the corresponding sensor for the corresponding space is designated as a priority space such that the sensor belongs to a subset of sensors from the plurality of remote sensors that are currently being used by the controller in controlling the HVAC system; a user interface configured to receive an input from a user to select which spaces are designated as priority spaces.
Storm teaches where each graphic construct of the plurality of graphic constructs displayed on the sensor priority screen (0046 “a user may selectively operate virtual buttons 608 to successively display other zones having humidity sensors associated with them”)
and displays an indication of whether the corresponding sensor for the corresponding space is designated as a priority space such that the sensor belongs to a subset of sensors from the plurality of remote sensors that are currently being used by the controller in controlling the HVAC system (0053 “operation of the HVAC system 100 may comprise controlling the HVAC system 100 to increase humidity in response to a measured humidity being less than a target humidity”, 0052 “user may select one of the humidity sensors and cause the selected humidity sensor to be assigned as the humidity priority sensor”, 0015 “FIG. 1 showing a first zone of a first system as a humidity priority zone for the first system” fig. 5 shows a screen calling for humidity HVAC activation)
a user interface configured to receive an input from a user to select which spaces are designated as priority spaces (0052 “user may select one of the humidity sensors and cause the selected humidity sensor to be assigned as the humidity priority sensor”, 0015 “FIG. 1 showing a first zone of a first system as a humidity priority zone for the first system”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the zone priority teachings of Kates ‘657 with the graphical user interface teachings of Storm since Storm teaches a means for selectively control which of the humidity sensors affects operation of the HVAC system based off users desires (0005-0007).
Kates ‘657 and Storm do not teach displays a current occupancy status for the corresponding space.
Thind teaches displays a current occupancy status for the corresponding space (0009 “controlled environmental conditions are displayed on a graphical user interface, for example, by overlaying temperature heat maps and occupancy maps on a floor plan of the occupancy space.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the zone priority teachings of Kates ‘657 with the graphical user interface teachings of Storm with the occupancy map teachings of Thind since Thind teaches a means for predicting control settings through user occupancy (0010).
Regarding claim 30, Kates ‘657, Storm and Thind teach The HVAC controller system of claim 29.
Kates ‘657 teaches wherein a thermostat comprises the control circuitry (0012 “occupants can set the thermostat on the EVCR to control the temperature of the area or room containing the ECRV”).
Regarding claim 31, Kates ‘657, Storm and Thind teach The HVAC controller system of claim 30.
Kates ‘657 teaches wherein the thermostat further comprises the display and the user interface (0070 “In the zone thermostat 1100, a temperature sensor 1102 is provided to a controller 1101. User input controls 1103 are also provided to the controller 1101 to allow the user to specify a setpoint temperature. A visual display 1110 is provided to the controller 1101”).
Regarding claim 32, Kates ‘657, Storm and Thind teach The HVAC controller system of claim 30.
Kates ‘657 teaches further comprising: a remote computing device comprising the display and the user interface (0075 “the zone control functions of the blocks 710, 810, 910 are provided by a computer program running on a control system processor, and the control system processor interfaces with personal computer to provide the console 1300 on the personal computer…In one embodiment, the occupants can use the Internet, telephone, cellular telephone, pager, etc. to remotely access the central system to control the temperature, priority, etc. of one or more zones”).
Regarding claim 33, Kates ‘657, Storm and Thind teach the HVAC controller system of claim 32.
Kates ‘657 teaches wherein the remote computing devices comprises one of a smartphone or a tablet computer (0075 “the zone control functions of the blocks 710, 810, 910 are provided by a computer program running on a control system processor, and the control system processor interfaces with personal computer to provide the console 1300 on the personal computer…In one embodiment, the occupants can use the Internet, telephone, cellular telephone, pager, etc. to remotely access the central system to control the temperature, priority, etc. of one or more zones”).
Regarding claim 34, Kates ‘657, Storm and Thind teach The HVAC controller system of claim 30.
Kates ‘657 teaches wherein the thermostat comprises one of the plurality of sensors (0017 “the EVCR and/or the zoned thermostat includes an occupant sensor, such as, for example, an infrared sensor, motion sensor, ultrasonic sensor, etc”).
Regarding claim 36, Kates ‘657, Storm and Thind teach The HVAC controller system of claim 29.
Thind teaches wherein the at least some of the plurality of the current environmental conditions for the spaces designated as the priority spaces in the building structure comprises current environmental conditions for priority spaces that are determined to be occupied (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 37, Kates ‘657, Storm and Thind teach The HVAC controller system of claim 29.
Kates ‘657 teaches wherein at least some of the plurality of sensors include a motion sensor for sensing occupancy (0074 “the occupant sensor 1201, such as, for example, an infrared sensor, motion sensor, ultrasonic sensor, etc”).
Regarding claim 38, Kates ‘657, Storm and Thind teach the HVAC controller system of claim 29.
Kates ‘657 teaches wherein the current environmental condition comprises a current temperature (0095 “central console 1300 displays the current temperature, setpoint temperature, temperature slope, and priority of each zone”).
Regarding claim 40, Kates ‘657, Storm and Thind teach the HVAC controller system of claim 29.
Storm teaches wherein the sensor priority screen highlights the graphic constructs corresponding to the subset of sensors (0052 “user may select one of the humidity sensors and cause the selected humidity sensor to be assigned as the humidity priority sensor”, 0015 “FIG. 1 showing a first zone of a first system as a humidity priority zone for the first system”).
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kates ‘657 (US PUB. 20150330657, herein Kates ‘657) in view of Storm et al (US PUB. 20120228393, herein Storm) in further view of Thind (US PUB. 20100235004) in further view of Kates (US PUB. 20060071089, herein Kates ‘089).
Regarding claim 39, Kates ‘657, Storm and Thind teach the HVAC controller system of claim 29.
Kates ‘657, Storm and Thind do not teach wherein the control circuitry comprises a wall mountable thermostat, and the HVAC system is a non-zoned HVAC system.
Kates ‘089 teaches wherein the control circuitry comprises a wall mountable thermostat, and the HVAC system is a non-zoned HVAC system (claim 28 “said zone thermostat and said light switch configured to be installed in a standard electrical wall switch enclosure”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the zone priority teachings of Kates ‘657 and the graphical user interface teachings of Storm and the teachings of Thind with the teachings of Kate ‘089 since Kate ‘089 teaches that thermostat installed in an electrical wall enclosure is the standard way (claim 28).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/19/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kates ‘657 (US PUB. 20150330657, herein Kates ‘657) in view of Storm et al (US PUB. 20120228393, herein Storm).
Applicant argues that Storm does not teach the sensor priority screen highlights a subset of the plurality of graphic constructs that correspond to a subset of sensors that are designated as priority spaces and currently being used by the controller in controlling the HVAC system.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Storm teaches “FIG. 7 is a humidity system overview menu of the system controller of the HVAC system of FIG. 1 showing a first zone of a first system as a humidity priority zone for the first system” (0015). Storm further teaches “FIG. 9 is a humidity system overview menu of the system controller of the HVAC system of FIG. 1 showing a second zone of the first system as a humidity priority zone for the first system” (0017). Storm further teaches “a one of the plurality of humidity sensors may be assigned as the humidity priority sensor. In some embodiments, a user may select one of the humidity sensors and cause the selected humidity sensor to be assigned as the humidity priority sensor. In other embodiments, the system controller 106 and/or any other suitable component may monitor humidity using humidity sensors and automatically assign one of the humidity sensors as the humidity priority sensor based on historical feedback from one or more of the plurality of humidity sensors. In some embodiments, as shown in FIGS. 4-10, each HVAC system 100 may be required to use one of its own humidity sensors as the humidity priority sensor that will control the HVAC system 100. However, in alternative embodiments, a first HVAC system 100 may be configured to use a humidity sensor of a second HVAC system 100 as the humidity priority sensor for the first HVAC system 100. After assignment of a humidity sensor as a humidity priority sensor, the method 1100 may progress to block 1130” (0052). This corresponds to the broadest reasonable interpretation of the argued limitation since Storm teaches a user screen for users to select humidity sensors to be the priority humidity sensor for a priority space from among the overall sensors available in a graphical construct.
Therefore, claim 21 and its dependent claims are rejected.
No arguments have been made for claims 29-40.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116