DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the filing of amendments to the claims on 6/09/2026. As per the amendments, claims 1, 10, 30, 32, and 34 have been amended, and no claims have been added or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-16, 19-32, 34, and 36-37 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 11-12, 15-16, 19, 21-22, 26-27, and 31 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrow et al. (US Pub. 2013/0331753) in view of Barak et al. (US Pub. 2005/0159690) in view of Roth et al. (US Pat. 7,771,376).
Regarding claim 1, Farrow discloses a multifunction knee brace (see knee orthosis 10 in Figs. 1A-2A), comprising: a flexible sleeve (see Fig. 2A the structure of bladder 12), the flexible sleeve comprising: a third section comprising at least one additional inflatable chamber disposed in an area surrounding a knee of the patient extending from above the knee to below the knee (see Fig. 2A upper chambers 36 and 40; and see Figs. 1A-1B where the chambers 36/40 are placed in the area around the knee, being both above and below); a rigid frame portion extending at least in the third section and comprising an upper portion and a lower portion (see Figs. 1A and 4A-4B where hinge bars 90/106 extend along the knee joint, with upper portions 92/108 and lower portions 94/110); and a hinge portion movably connecting the upper portion and the lower portion which allows for bending of the rigid frame portion about a knee of a patient when fitted to the patient (see Figs. 4A-4B where the hinge bars 90/106 have hinges 96/112 for a pivotal motion between the upper and lower sections of the hinge bars, allowing for bending of the hinge bars about the knee); wherein a device is provided for controlling inflation of the inflatable chambers (see Fig. 2A fluid inlet line 64).
Farrow lacks a detailed description of a first section comprising a first set of inflatable chambers disposed in an area spanning approximately from toes of a patient to below a calf of the patient, a second section proximal of the first section comprising a second set of inflatable chambers disposed in an area spanning approximately from the calf of the patient to below a knee of the patient, the third section being proximal the second section, and a control device is provided for controlling inflation and deflation of the inflatable chambers.
However, Barak teaches a leg mounted compression system, having a first set of inflatable chambers disposed in an area spanning approximately from toes of a patient to below a calf of the patient (see Fig. 2, a set of a plurality of inflatable cells that are placed around the foot and heel, below the calf), a second section proximal of the first section comprising a second set of inflatable chambers disposed in an area spanning approximately from the calf of the patient to below a knee of the patient (see Fig. 2, another set of a plurality of inflatable cells that are placed above the ankle, around the calf, and below the knee), a third section being proximal the second section (see Fig. 2, a set of a plurality of inflatable cells that are above the knee, thus proximal the second section), with the inflation/ deflation being arranged to drive fluid towards the proximal end of the limb (see [0091]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compression bladders of Farrow to have additional bladder sections, with one around the foot/ ankle and another around the calf and below the knee as taught by Barak, as it would provide a full limb compression for providing venous pressure and helping prevent deep vein thrombosis (Barak; see [0003]). It is understood that in the modified Farrow device, the system of Farrow has additional sets of compression bladders, one around the foot and another around the calf of the user.
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of a control device is provided for controlling inflation and deflation of the inflatable chambers.
However, Roth teaches a worn garment with inflatable bladders, having a first, second, and third sections of inflatable chambers (see Figs. 2A-2B a first section having inflatable bladders 250a-250d, second section having inflatable bladders 250e-250h, and third section having inflatable bladders 250i-250l), and a control device is provided for controlling inflation and deflation of the inflatable chambers (see microcontroller 328 in Fig. 3B and Col. 9 line 58 to Col. 10 line 2 where the signals from the microcontroller are used to drive the compressor and solenoid valves for the selective inflation/ deflation of the bladders).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inflatable bladders, inflation system, and control thereof of the modified Farrow device to have their inflation/ deflation controlled as taught by Roth, as it would provide a massage effect to the worn brace as an additional form of therapy (Farrow; see [0009] where Farrow contemplates the inclusion of therapeutic interactions for improving patient health while wearing the brace), with the control device allowing for uniform inflation characteristics for a more satisfying massage (Roth; see Col. 1 lines 3-14).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Farrow device has wherein the first set of inflatable chambers, the second set of inflatable chambers, and the at least one additional inflatable chamber (Barak; see Fig. 2 where there is a distal first set of chambers, a middle second set of chambers, and a third additional chamber (the around-the-knee portion of Farrow)) are inflated in sequence from the most distal to the most proximal to reduce swelling in at least one of a joint and limb of a patient (Roth; see Fig. 4C and Col. 10 lines 28-46 where the bladders are inflated first from distal bladder 250a, then 250b, and in sequence to 250l, thus in the modified device having a sequence from the foot, to the calf, to the knee).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Farrow device has wherein the first set of inflatable chambers, the second set of inflatable chambers and the at least one additional inflatable chamber are deflated in sequence from the most distal to the most proximal (Roth; see Fig. 4C and Col. 10 lines 28-46 where the bladders are deflated first from distal bladder 250a, then 250b, and in sequence to 250l, and thus distal to proximal in the modified Farrow device).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Farrow device has wherein the control device cycles the inflation and the deflation of the first set of inflatable chambers, the second set of inflatable chambers, and the at least one additional inflatable chamber such that after inflation in the sequence the chambers are deflated in the same sequence from the most distal to the most proximal (Roth; see Fig. 4C and Col. 10 lines 28-46 where the bladders are inflated first from distal bladder 250a, which then deflates, then bladder 250b inflates and deflates, and continues in this sequence to 250l, and thus distal to proximal in the modified Farrow device).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Farrow device has wherein the control device repeatedly cycles the inflation and the deflation of the chambers for a programmable period of time (Roth; see Col. 11 lines 18-29).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Farrow device has wherein the control device is adapted to control the inflation and the deflation of the first set of inflatable chambers, the second set of inflatable chambers, and the at least one additional inflatable chamber independently of one another (Roth; see Fig. 2B and Col. 5 lines 20-30 and Col. 10 lines 15-20 where 310A-L are each independent inflation tubes that connect to a respective inflation bladder of the modified Farrow device).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Farrow device has one or more thermal elements for the application of heat or cold to at least one of the first section, the second section, and the third section (Farrow; see [0009] where the bladders can have a cold gel pack placed on them).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Farrow device has wherein the one or more thermal elements each comprise one of a gel pack (Farrow; see [0009]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Farrow device has wherein the first set of inflatable chambers comprises three inflatable chambers (Barak; see Figs. 2-4 where the foot section is made of a plurality of bladders, being at least three).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Farrow device has wherein the second set of inflatable chambers comprises three inflatable chambers (Barak; see Figs. 2-4 where the calf section is made of a plurality of bladders, being at least three).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Farrow device has wherein the frame portion is removably fixed to at least the third section (Farrow; see [0005] and [0010] where the hinge bars are removably connected to the bladders, which is the third section).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Farrow device has wherein the first set of inflatable chambers, the second set of inflatable chambers, and the at least one additional inflatable chamber are each inflated and maintained at a constant pressure to provide a rigid sleeve (Roth; see Fig. 4C where the applied pressure to each inflation bladder is a constant pressure value once inflated, and further see Col. 11 lines 46-53 where the pressure can be maintained via a hold input to a selection of bladders to continue to press against the body with some amount of rigidity).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Farrow device has wherein at least one of the first set of inflatable chambers, the second set of inflatable chambers, and the at least one additional inflatable chamber is inflated and maintained at a constant pressure to provide rigid portions of the sleeve (Roth; see Fig. 4C where the applied pressure to each inflation bladder is a constant pressure value once inflated, and further see Col. 11 lines 46-53 where the pressure can be maintained via a hold input to a selection of bladders to continue to press against the body with some amount of rigidity).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Farrow device has wherein an air pump is connected to the sleeve and in communication with the control device for inflating of the first set of inflatable chambers, the second set of inflatable chambers, and the at least one additional inflatable chamber (Roth; see Figs. 3A-3B where compressor 320 is within the inflation assembly 300 to act as a pump, and provide the inflation to the bladders when told by the microcontroller; see Col. 9 lines 20-44).
Regarding claim 27, the modified Farrow device has wherein a user device is in communication with the control device (Roth; see Fig. 3E where display panel 360 contains inputs for a user to control the device, such as hold button 380 and selectors 362/ 364/ 366 which communicate a user’s choices to the microcontroller for modifying the therapy).
Regarding claim 31, the modified Farrow device has wherein the control device is integral to the user device (Roth; see Fig. 3E where display panel 360 is formed with and integrally connect to inflation assembly 300).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrow in view of Barak in view of Roth as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Raley et al. (US Pat. 7,976,486).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Farrow device has cycles of compression and decompression.
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of a programmable wait period is provided between the cycles.
However, Raley teaches a similar compression garment, where the controller can have a wait cycle between subsequent pressurization events, which can be modified as necessary (see Col. 6 lines 58-64).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compression cycles of the modified Farrow device to be programmable to have a wait period as taught by Raley, as it would allow for better control over the use of the compression sleeve, especially during prolonged use where the limb will have time to rest and maintain regular blood flow between cycles.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrow in view of Barak in view of Roth as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Santa Maria et al. (US Pat. 9,956,113).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Farrow device discloses the second section, as well as thermal therapy (Farrow; see [0009]).
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of wherein the second section further comprises one or more temperature sensors.
However, Santa Maria teaches a similar limb compression device, which is used to deliver heat to the limbs (see Figs. 4A-4B and Col. 13 lines 40-55 where thermal energy is transferred through the body interface member 111, thermal energy transfer members 113, and blood flow regulation members 112), and includes temperature sensors (see Col. 8 lines 10-30 where temperature sensors can be included on the interface 111 for sensing the temperature and sending signals back to the control unit).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder inflation system of the modified Farrow device to include thermal energy transfer and temperature sensors as taught by Santa Maria, as it would provide means for monitoring and controlling the temperature of the patient’s limb, to promote blood flow and prevent hypothermia. It is understood that in the modified Farrow device, the temperature sensors can be placed anywhere along the device that interfaces with the patient, including the second section.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Farrow device has wherein the control device receives temperature readings from the one or more temperature sensors (Santa Maria; see Col. 8 lines 10-30 where temperature sensors send signals back to the control unit).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrow in view of Barak in view of Roth as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Santa Maria and McBean et al. (US Pat. 8,585,620).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Farrow device has the third section and a control device.
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of the third section comprises a thermal element for application of heat or cold therapy, and the control device receives temperature data from the thermal element.
However, Santa Maria teaches a similar limb compression device, which is used to deliver heat to the limbs (see Figs. 4A-4B and Col. 13 lines 40-55 where thermal energy is transferred through the body interface member 111, thermal energy transfer members 113, and blood flow regulation members 112), a section further comprises a thermal element for application of heat therapy (see Figs. 4A-4B and Col. 13 lines 40-55 where thermal energy is transferred through the body interface member 111, thermal energy transfer members 113, and blood flow regulation members 112) and the control device receives temperature data from the thermal element (see Col. 8 lines 10-30 where temperature sensors send signals back to the control unit).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder inflation system of the modified Farrow device to include thermal energy transfer and temperature sensors as taught by Santa Maria, as it would provide means for monitoring and controlling the temperature of the patient’s limb, to promote blood flow and prevent hypothermia. It is understood that in the modified Farrow device, the temperature sensors can be placed anywhere along the device that interfaces with the patient, including the third section.
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of one or more range of motion sensors fixed to the upper portion and the lower portion of the rigid frame portion, and the control device receives range of motion data from the one or more range of motion sensors.
However, McBean teaches a similar worn bracing device for the limb of a user, where range of motion sensors are fixed to the rigid frame and the control device receives range of motion data from the one or more range of motion sensors (see Figs. 3-4 where padding 6 on brace 7 shows a rigid frame to be placed around a limb, and see Col. 27 lines 2-17 where a range of motion sensor can be included on the device and communicates with the control software to provide feedback, the brace 7 having an upper and lower portion).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve and control system of the modified Farrow device to have range of motion sensors on the sleeve and communicating with the control system as taught by McBean, as it would allow for monitoring of the user’s range of motion to determine and track progress made with exercise/ therapy/ rehabilitation (McBean; see Col. 13 lines 24-39). Furthermore, it would be a simple matter of design choice for a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose where on the compression system to include the range of motion sensor, such as on the rigid frame portion of the modified Farrow device.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrow in view of Barak in view of Roth as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Parish et al. (US Pat. 9,119,705).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Farrow device has the multifunction sleeve and control device, and thermal elements (Farrow; see [0009]).
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of one or more thermal elements comprising at least one conduit section; wherein a thermal unit in communication with the control device provides heated or cooled fluid to the at least one conduit section.
However, Parish teaches a similar sleeve for a limb that delivers heat therapy, where the thermal elements can be a conduit for thermal fluid integrated into the sleeve (see Figs. 14-15 where a blanket 8 has an inlet hose 500 and outlet hose 502 for the thermal fluid, which is then sent through the blanket for transferring thermal energy) which is controlled by and connected to a control unit (see control unit 4 in Fig. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladders and control system of the modified Farrow device to include tubes for carrying heat transfer fluid into the bladder and the control thereof as taught by Parish, as it would add the thermal transfer of either hot or cold to the patient, for providing either hot or cold therapy to patients to benefit them during healing or deliver therapy (Parish; see Col. 1 lines 55-65).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Farrow device has wherein the thermal unit is one of wired or wirelessly connected to the control device (Parish; see Fig. 2 where the control unit 4 (as modified to be included into the inflation assembly 300 of Roth, as modified into the system of Farrow) includes a heat transfer assembly 202, thermal transfer plate 95, and other elements for the thermal unit which are part of the modified control system, and are connected either wired or wirelessly to the controller (where it is understood that the thermal unit is connected to and controlled by the modified control device, and must be at least one of wired or wirelessly connected as those are the only possible options for a connection and include all possibilities)).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrow in view of Barak in view of Roth as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McBean.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Farrow device has the frame portion.
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of one or more range of motion sensors fixed to the rigid frame portion.
However, McBean teaches a similar worn bracing device for the limb of a user, where range of motion sensors are fixed to the rigid frame (see Fig. 3 where padding 6 on brace 7 shows a rigid frame to be placed around a limb, and see Col. 27 lines 2-17 where a range of motion sensor can be included on the device).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve and control system of the modified Farrow device to have range of motion sensors on the sleeve and communicating with the control system as taught by McBean, as it would allow for monitoring of the user’s range of motion to determine and track progress made with exercise/ therapy/ rehabilitation (McBean; see Col. 13 lines 24-39). Furthermore, it would be a simple matter of design choice for a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose where on the compression system to include the range of motion sensor, such as on the rigid frame portion of the modified Farrow device.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrow in view of Barak in view of Roth as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Santa Maria and McBean.
Regarding claim 23, the modified Farrow device has the multifunction sleeve, and a thermal element for cold therapy (Farrow; see [0009]).
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of one or more temperature sensors.
However, Santa Maria teaches a similar limb compression device, which is used to deliver heat to the limbs (see Figs. 4A-4B and Col. 13 lines 40-55 where thermal energy is transferred through the body interface member 111, thermal energy transfer members 113, and blood flow regulation members 112), and includes temperature sensors (see Col. 8 lines 10-30 where temperature sensors can be included on the interface 111 for sensing the temperature and sending signals back to the control unit).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder inflation system of the modified Farrow device to include thermal energy transfer and temperature sensors as taught by Santa Maria, as it would provide means for monitoring and controlling the temperature of the patient’s limb, to promote blood flow and prevent hypothermia.
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of one or more range of motion sensors.
However, McBean teaches a similar worn bracing device for the limb of a user, where range of motion sensors are fixed to the rigid frame (see Fig. 3 where padding 6 on brace 7 shows a rigid frame to be placed around a limb, and see Col. 27 lines 2-17 where a range of motion sensor can be included on the device).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve and control system of the modified Farrow device to have range of motion sensors on the sleeve and communicating with the control system as taught by McBean, as it would allow for monitoring of the user’s range of motion to determine and track progress made with exercise/ therapy/ rehabilitation (McBean; see Col. 13 lines 24-39).
Regarding claim 24, the modified Farrow device has wherein the control device at least one of: receives temperature data from the one or more temperature sensors (Santa Maria; see Col. 8 lines 10-30 where temperature sensors send signals back to the control unit of the modified Farrow device).
Regarding claim 25, the modified Farrow device has a communication module enabling communication between the sleeve and the control device (Roth; see Fig. 3E where display 360 has selectors 362/ 364/ 366 which communicate with the microcontroller within the device to then control and communicate the inputs to the sleeve of the user); a microprocessor in communication with the communication module and with the one or more temperature sensors (Roth; see Fig. 3B where the microcontroller 328 receives the data and inputs of the entire system, including the temperature sensors as taught by Santa Maria), the one or more range of motion sensors (Roth; see Fig. 3B where the microcontroller 328 receives the data and inputs of the entire system, including the range of motion sensors as taught by McBean), the one or more thermal elements (Roth; see Fig. 3B where the microcontroller 328 receives the data and inputs of the entire system, including the thermal elements as taught by Santa Maria/ disclosed by Farrow), and the inflatable chambers for processing commands from the control device and providing data to the control device via the communication module (Roth; see Col. 9 line 58 to Col. 10 line 2).
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrow in view of Barak in view of Roth as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Rapp et al. (US Pub. 2017/0100300).
Regarding claim 28, the modified Farrow device has wherein: the user device is one of wired or wirelessly connected to the at least one of the control device (Roth; see Fig. 3E where display 360 has selectors 362/ 364/ 366 which communicate with the microcontroller and must be one of wired or wirelessly connected to the microcontroller).
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of wherein: the user device is one of wired or wirelessly connected to the at least one of the control device and the sleeve; the user device receives, stores and analyzes data received from the at least one of the control device and the sleeve.
However, Rapp teaches a similar compression garment device, wherein: the user device is one of wired or wirelessly connected to the at least one of the control device and the sleeve (see [0036] where outputted data from the device can communicate with a phone); the user device receives, stores and analyzes data received from the at least one of the control device and the sleeve (see [0036] where the phone can have an application for receiving and interpreting the data, and at least temporarily storing the data to display).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user device of the modified Farrow device to be a remote phone device as taught by Rapp, as it would allow for the system to connect to the ubiquitous smartphones for easy and remote access to the data from the device.
Regarding claim 29, the modified Farrow device has wherein the user device comprises at least one of a software application and a web-based software interface (Rapp; see [0036] where the phone can run an application).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrow in view of Barak in view of Roth in view of Rapp as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Sundaram et al. (US Pat. 9,786,148) in view of McBean.
Regarding claim 30, the modified Farrow device has wherein the at least one of the software application and the web-based software interface are adapted to predict an onset of an adverse patient health event based on the data received at the user device (Rapp; see [0037], [0040], and [0084]-[0085] where the phone can alert the user when the pressure is excessive and causing damage, or that the thermal application is not ideal and potentially harmful).
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of wherein at least one of the software application and the web-based software interface are configured to independently predict each of deep vein thrombosis, infection, and range of motion restriction as the adverse health event.
However, Sundaram teaches a system that is placed on the limbs, which detects the presence of an adverse patient health event that can be deep vein thrombosis or infection, among others (see Figs. 4A-4K and Col. 19 line 47 to Col. 20 line 40, where the device is able to use collected data from the user via the worn device, compute the data with some software application, and use it to predict a health issue such as deep vein thrombosis or infection).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the software of the modified Farrow device to make a diagnosis of the presence of deep vein thrombosis or infection as taught by Sundaram, as it would provide additional output that tracks changes to the body when using the device over time, helping to alert the user to possible health issues.
The modified Farrow device lacks a detailed description of wherein one of the adverse patient health events is a range of motion restriction.
However, McBean teaches a worn bracing device for the limb of a user, where range of motion sensors are fixed to a rigid frame (see Fig. 3 where padding 6 on brace 7 shows a rigid frame to be placed around a limb, and see Col. 27 lines 2-17 where a range of motion sensor can be included on the device), and the system can use parameters to calculate a desired range of motion for users with impacted range of motion (see Col. 15 lines 32-52, as well as changes to/ progress of the patient’s range of motion as seen in Col. 25 line 32 to Col. 26 line 51. It is understood that a detected/ calculated lack of success with the range of motion, or detected limit to the range of motion, is a restriction thereto).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the software of the modified Farrow device to monitor the range of motion to find limits and restrictions thereto as taught by McBean, as it would provide additional output that tracks changes to the body when using the device over time, as well as better ensure that the device does not force the user to move beyond their comfortable range of motion.
Claims 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth in view of Santa Maria in view of Rapp in view of Sundaram in view of McBean.
Regarding claim 32, Roth discloses a system for applying multiple modalities to a jointed limb (system of Fig. 1), comprising: a flexible sleeve (see inflatable garment 200 in Fig. 2A) comprising: a first section comprising a first set of inflatable chambers (see Figs. 2A-2B a first section having inflatable bladders 250a-250d), a second section proximal of the first section comprising a second set of inflatable chambers (see Figs. 2A-2B a second section having inflatable bladders 250e-250h), and a third section proximal of the second section comprising at least one additional inflatable chamber (see Figs. 2A-2B a third section having inflatable bladders 250i-250l); a control device (see microcontroller 328 in Fig. 3B), adapted to: control timing, order and duration of inflation and deflation of the first set of inflatable chambers, the second set of inflatable chambers, and the at least one additional inflatable chamber (see microcontroller 328 in Fig. 3B and Col. 9 line 58 to Col. 10 line 2 where the signals from the microcontroller are used to drive the compressor and solenoid valves for the selective inflation/ deflation of the bladders; see Col. 10 lines 47-64 where the order of compression can be adjusted, and see Col. 11 lines 17-28 where the timing and duration can be adjusted); and a user device in communication with at least one of the control device and the sleeve (see Fig. 3E where display panel 360 contains inputs for a user to control the device, such as hold button 380 and selectors 362/ 364/ 366 which communicate a user’s choices to the microcontroller for modifying the therapy).
Roth lacks a detailed description of one or more temperature sensors, one or more thermal elements for application of heat or cold therapy, a control device, adapted to: receive temperature data from the one or more temperature sensors; receive temperature data from the one or more thermal elements; and control application, timing, temperature, and duration of the heat or cold therapy.
However, Santa Maria teaches a similar limb compression device, which is used to deliver heat to the limbs (see Figs. 4A-4B and Col. 13 lines 40-55 where thermal energy is transferred through the body interface member 111, thermal energy transfer members 113, and blood flow regulation members 112), and includes temperature sensors (see Col. 8 lines 10-30 where temperature sensors can be included on the interface 111 for sensing the temperature and sending signals back to the control unit), where the temperature sensors are communicated to a control device to receive the temperature data (see Col. 5 lines 5-15), and the control devices controls the application, and temperature of the heat or cold therapy (see Col. 5 lines 5-15).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder inflation system and controller of Roth to include thermal energy transfer and temperature sensors being communicated with and controlled by the controller as taught by Santa Maria, as it would provide means for monitoring and controlling the temperature of the patient’s limb, to promote blood flow and prevent hypothermia. It is understood that in the modified Roth device, the modified Roth microcontroller is able to adjust the timing, duration, and intensity of both the applied pressure and the applied temperature.
The modified Roth device lacks a detailed description of the user device adapted to receive, store and analyze data received from the at least one of the control device and the sleeve, wherein an onset of an adverse patient health event based on the data received at the user device is predicted.
However, Rapp teaches a similar compression garment device, wherein: the user device is one of wired or wirelessly connected to the at least one of the control device and the sleeve (see [0036] where outputted data from the device can communicate with a phone); the user device receives, stores and analyzes data received from the at least one of the control device and the sleeve (see [0036] where the phone can have an application for receiving and interpreting the data, and at least temporarily storing the data to display), wherein an onset of an adverse patient health event based on the data received at the user device is predicted (see [0037], [0040], and [0084]-[0085] where the phone can alert the user based on sensed data to predict when the pressure is excessive and causing damage, or predict that the thermal application is not ideal and potentially harmful).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user device of the modified Roth device to be a remote phone device that can predict adverse health events as taught by Rapp, as it would allow for the system to connect to the ubiquitous smartphones for easy and remote access to the data from the device, while ensuring that the device does not damage the user.
The modified Roth device lacks a detailed description of wherein the user device is configured to independently predict each of deep vein thrombosis, infection, and range of motion restriction as the adverse health event.
However, Sundaram teaches a system that is placed on the limbs, which detects the presence of an adverse patient health event that can be deep vein thrombosis or infection, among others (see Figs. 4A-4K and Col. 19 line 47 to Col. 20 line 40, where the device is able to use collected data from the user via the worn device, compute the data with some software application, and use it to predict a health issue such as deep vein thrombosis or infection).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the software of the modified Roth device to make a diagnosis of the presence of deep vein thrombosis or infection as taught by Sundaram, as it would provide additional output that tracks changes to the body when using the device over time, helping to alert the user to possible health issues.
The modified Roth device lacks a detailed description of one or more range of motion sensors, and a control device, adapted to: receive range of motion data from the one or more range of motion sensors, and wherein one of the adverse patient health events is a range of motion restriction.
However, McBean teaches a worn bracing device for the limb of a user, where range of motion sensors are attached to the device (see Col. 27 lines 2-17 where a range of motion sensor can be included on the device) and the control device receives the range of motion data (see Col. 26 line 64 to Col. 27 line 17 and lines 34-41 where the range of motion data is communicated to a controller), and the system can use parameters to calculate a desired range of motion for users with impacted range of motion (see Col. 15 lines 32-52, as well as changes to/ progress of the patient’s range of motion as seen in Col. 25 line 32 to Col. 26 line 51. It is understood that a detected/ calculated lack of success with the range of motion, or detected limit to the range of motion, is a restriction thereto).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve and control system of the modified Roth device to have range of motion sensors on the sleeve and communicating with the control system as taught by McBean, as it would allow for monitoring of the user’s range of motion to determine and track progress made with exercise/ therapy/ rehabilitation (McBean; see Col. 13 lines 24-39), as well as better ensure that the device does not force the user to move beyond their comfortable range of motion.
Regarding claim 34, Roth discloses a method for applying multiple modalities to a jointed limb (system of Fig. 1), comprising: providing a flexible sleeve (see inflatable garment 200 in Fig. 2A) comprising: a first section comprising a first set of inflatable chambers (see Figs. 2A-2B a first section having inflatable bladders 250a-250d), a second section proximal of the first section comprising a second set of inflatable chambers (see Figs. 2A-2B a second section having inflatable bladders 250e-250h), and a third section proximal of the second section comprising at least one additional inflatable chamber (see Figs. 2A-2B a third section having inflatable bladders 250i-250l) controlling timing, order and duration of inflation and deflation of the first set of inflatable chambers, the second set of inflatable chambers, and the at least one additional inflatable chamber (see microcontroller 328 in Fig. 3B and Col. 9 line 58 to Col. 10 line 2 where the signals from the microcontroller are used to drive the compressor and solenoid valves for the selective inflation/ deflation of the bladders; see Col. 10 lines 47-64 where the order of compression can be adjusted, and see Col. 11 lines 17-28 where the timing and duration can be adjusted).
Roth lacks a detailed description of one or more temperature sensors, one or more thermal elements for application of heat or cold therapy, receiving temperature data from the one or more temperature sensors; receiving temperature data from the one or more thermal elements; and controlling application, timing, temperature, and duration of the heat or cold therapy.
However, Santa Maria teaches a similar limb compression device, which is used to deliver heat to the limbs (see Figs. 4A-4B and Col. 13 lines 40-55 where thermal energy is transferred through the body interface member 111, thermal energy transfer members 113, and blood flow regulation members 112), and includes temperature sensors (see Col. 8 lines 10-30 where temperature sensors can be included on the interface 111 for sensing the temperature and sending signals back to the control unit), where the temperature sensors are communicated to a control device to receive the temperature data (see Col. 5 lines 5-15), and the control devices controls the application, and temperature of the heat or cold therapy (see Col. 5 lines 5-15).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bladder inflation system and controller of Roth to include thermal energy transfer and temperature sensors being communicated with and controlled by the controller as taught by Santa Maria, as it would provide means for monitoring and controlling the temperature of the patient’s limb, to promote blood flow and prevent hypothermia. It is understood that in the modified Roth device, the modified Roth microcontroller is able to adjust the timing, duration, and intensity of both the applied pressure and the applied temperature.
The modified Roth device lacks a detailed description of the device predicting an onset of an adverse patient health event based on the received data.
However, Rapp teaches a similar compression garment device, wherein: the user device is one of wired or wirelessly connected to the at least one of the control device and the sleeve (see [0036] where outputted data from the device can communicate with a phone); the user device receives, stores and analyzes data received from the at least one of the control device and the sleeve (see [0036] where the phone can have an application for receiving and interpreting the data, and at least temporarily storing the data to display), wherein an onset of an adverse patient health event based on the data received at the user device is predicted (see [0037], [0040], and [0084]-[0085] where the phone can alert the user based on sensed data to predict when the pressure is excessive and causing damage, or predict that the thermal application is not ideal and potentially harmful).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user device of the modified Roth device to be a remote phone device that can predict adverse health events as taught by Rapp, as it would allow for the system to connect to the ubiquitous smartphones for easy and remote access to the data from the device, while ensuring that the device does not damage the user.
The modified Roth device lacks a detailed description of independently predicting each of deep vein thrombosis, infection, and range of motion restriction as the adverse health event.
However, Sundaram teaches a system that is placed on the limbs, which detects the presence of an adverse patient health event that can be deep vein thrombosis or infection, among others (see Figs. 4A-4K and Col. 19 line 47 to Col. 20 line 40, where the device is able to use collected data from the user via the worn device, compute the data with some software application, and use it to predict a health issue such as deep vein thrombosis or infection).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the software of the modified Roth device to make a diagnosis of the presence of deep vein thrombosis or infection as taught by Sundaram, as it would provide additional output that tracks changes to the body when using the device over time, helping to alert the user to possible health issues.
The modified Roth device lacks a detailed description of one or more range of motion sensors, and a control device, adapted to: receive range of motion data from the one or more range of motion sensors, and wherein one of the adverse patient health events is a range of motion restriction.
However, McBean teaches a worn bracing device for the limb of a user, where range of motion sensors are attached to the device (see Col. 27 lines 2-17 where a range of motion sensor can be included on the device) and the control device receives the range of motion data (see Col. 26 line 64 to Col. 27 line 17 and lines 34-41 where the range of motion data is communicated to a controller), and the system can use parameters to calculate a desired range of motion for users with impacted range of motion (see Col. 15 lines 32-52, as well as changes to/ progress of the patient’s range of motion as seen in Col. 25 line 32 to Col. 26 line 51. It is understood that a detected/ calculated lack of success with the range of motion, or detected limit to the range of motion, is a restriction thereto).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve and control system of the modified Roth device to have range of motion sensors on the sleeve and communicating with the control system as taught by McBean, as it would allow for monitoring of the user’s range of motion to determine and track progress made with exercise/ therapy/ rehabilitation (McBean; see Col. 13 lines 24-39), as well as better ensure that the device does not force the user to move beyond their comfortable range of motion.
Claims 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth in view of Santa Maria in view of Rapp in view of Sundaram in view of McBean as applied to claims 32 and 34 above, respectively, and further in view of Farrow.
Regarding claim 36, the modified Roth device has the compression system.
The modified Roth device lacks a detailed description of wherein the jointed limb comprises a knee joint, further comprising: a rigid frame portion extending at least in the third section and comprising an upper portion and a lower portion; and a hinge portion movably connecting the upper portion and the lower portion which allows for bending of the rigid frame portion about a knee of a patient when fitted to the patient.
However, Farrow teaches a similar leg support device with inflatable bladders, having a knee joint with a rigid frame portion extending at least in the third section and comprising an upper portion and a lower portion (see Figs. 1A and 4A-4B where hinge bars 90/106 extend along the knee joint, with upper portions 92/108 and lower portions 94/110); and a hinge portion movably connecting the upper portion and the lower portion which allows for bending of the rigid frame portion about a knee of a patient when fitted to the patient (see Figs. 4A-4B where the hinge bars 90/106 have hinges 96/112 for a pivotal motion between the upper and lower sections of the hinge bars, allowing for bending of the hinge bars about the knee).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the knee portion of the compression system of the modified Roth device to include a rigid hinge portion as taught by Farrow, as it would provide hinged braces that support a person and provide stability during walking, standing, and exercises (Farrow; see [0004]).
Regarding claim 37, the modified Roth device has the compression system.
The modified Roth device lacks a detailed description of wherein the jointed limb comprises a knee joint, further comprising: providing a rigid frame portion extending at least in the third section and comprising an upper portion and a lower portion; and providing a hinge portion movably connecting the upper portion and the lower portion which allows for bending of the rigid frame portion about a knee of a patient when fitted to the patient.
However, Farrow teaches a similar leg support device with inflatable bladders, having a knee joint with a rigid frame portion extending at least in the third section and comprising an upper portion and a lower portion (see Figs. 1A and 4A-4B where hinge bars 90/106 extend along the knee joint, with upper portions 92/108 and lower portions 94/110); and a hinge portion movably connecting the upper portion and the lower portion which allows for bending of the rigid frame portion about a knee of a patient when fitted to the patient (see Figs. 4A-4B where the hinge bars 90/106 have hinges 96/112 for a pivotal motion between the upper and lower sections of the hinge bars, allowing for bending of the hinge bars about the knee).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the knee portion of the compression system of the modified Roth device to include a rigid hinge portion as taught by Farrow, as it would provide hinged braces that support a person and provide stability during walking, standing, and exercises (Farrow; see [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record. Specifically, new teachings from Barak are relied upon for claim 1, modifying the bladder system of Farrow. With respect to claims 30, 32, and 34, newly applied reference Sundaram is relied upon to teach the claim amendments. Claim 10 has been adjusted to be dependent on teachings from McBean, rather than Neuenhahn.
For the reasons above, the rejections hold.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D ZIEGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785