DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 25, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 18 to recite feature not discloses by Risby. Examiner disagrees with this assessment. Claims 1 and 18 recites “torch inlet to provide a heat source to the fuel”. Risby reference discloses that one or more plasma source (same as claimed heat source) coupled to the reaction chamber whereby the plasma generator at least partly ionizes material for form a plasma prior to entry of the at least ionized material into the reaction region (Abstract) and wherein the plasma nozzles are used as the plasma sources, the fluid fed to the plasma nozzles is preferably at a temperature of between -20 C to 600 C (Paragraph [0037]); Thus, the plasma nozzles to provide a heat source to the ionized material (claimed fuel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Risby (US 2012/0034137 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Risby reference discloses a gas reactor, comprising:
a reactor chamber having a first end, a second end, and a lateral surface that extends between the first end and the second end (Figure 1, numeral 102 – reaction chamber);
a torch inlet positioned at the first end of the reactor chamber, the torch inlet configured for input flow of a fuel into the reactor chamber in a first flow direction (Figure 1, numeral 110 and Figure 2a and 2b, and 6, numeral 105), the torch inlet to provide a heat source to the fuel (Paragraph [0037]);
a reactant inlet positioned at the second end of the reactor chamber and configured to cause a reactant to flow into the reactor chamber in a second flow direction, wherein at least one of the fuel or the reactant moves through the reactor chamber in a vortex flow pattern (Figure 1, numeral 110 and Paragraph [0028]); and
an outlet port positioned at the second end of the reactor chamber, the outlet port configured for output flow of a product from the reactor chamber (Figure 1, numeral 101).
Regarding Claim 2, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the reactant inlet is configured to cause the reactant to flow into the reactor chamber in a second flow direction (Figure 1, numeral 111).
Regarding Claim 3, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 2, wherein the second flow direction is non- parallel with respect to the first flow direction (Figure 1, numeral 105 and Figure 2a and 2b, numerals 105).
Regarding Claim 4, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 2, wherein the reactant inlet is shaped to cause the reactant to flow into the reactor chamber in the second flow direction (Figure 1, numeral 111).
Regarding Claim 5, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 2, wherein the reactant inlet is positioned to cause the reactant to flow into the reactor chamber in the second flow direction (Figure 1, numeral 105 and Figure 2a and 2b, numerals 105).
Regarding Claim 6, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 2, wherein the reactant flowing into the reactor chamber in the second flow direction contributes to the vortex flow pattern (Abstract – the vortex flow and Paragraph [0023]).
Regarding Claim 7, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the reactant inlet is positioned at the second end of the reactor chamber and the positioning of the reactant inlet contributes to the vortex flow pattern (Figures 1, 2a and 2b, numeral 105 – nozzles).
Regarding Claim 8, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the first end and the second end each include a circular cross-section such that the reactor chamber includes a cylindrical shape, the cylindrical shape of the reactor chamber contributing to the vortex flow pattern (Paragraph [0028] – the chamber may be cylindrical).
Regarding Claim 9, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the vortex flow pattern is configured to invert and to follow the first flow direction of the input flow of the fuel in response to the vortex flow pattern of the reactant reaching a top surface of the reactor chamber (Figure 1, 2a, 2b, and 6, numerals 105 and 111).
Regarding Claim 10, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the reactant inlet is configured to cause the vortex flow pattern of the reactant to flow between the lateral surfaces of the reactor chamber and the input flow of the fuel (Figure 1, numeral 105 and Paragraph [0105]).
Regarding Claim 15, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the torch inlet is further configured for input flow of an oxidizer into the reactor chamber in the first flow direction (Paragraph [0124] - oxygen).
Regarding Claim 16, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the reactants include at least one of: carbon monoxide, hydrogen gas, water, carbon dioxide, or a hydrocarbon gas (Paragraph [0124] – water).
Regarding Claim 17, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the product includes at least one of: methanol, ethanol, hydrogen gas, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, water, ammonia, a polymeric plastic, a polymeric plastic monomer, a fabric, or one or more industrial chemicals (Paragraph [0031] – carbon and hydrogen as reaction products).
Regarding Claim 18, Risby reference discloses a method, comprising:
inputting a heated fuel into a fuel inlet at a first end of a reactor chamber of a gas reactor to cause the heated fuel to flow in a first flow direction in the reactor chamber, wherein the reactor chamber includes the first end, a second end, and a lateral surface (Figure 1, numeral 110 and Figure 2a and 2b, and 6, numeral 105 and Paragraph [0037]);
providing a gas reactant into a gas reactant inlet to the reactor chamber to cause the gas reactant to flow in a second flow direction in the reactor chamber (Figure 1, numeral 110 and Paragraph [0028] and Paragraph [0020]);
providing, in the reactor chamber, a vortex flow pattern for one or more of the fuel or gas reactant to move within the reactor chamber (Paragraph [0015]); and
outputting a product based on the fuel and the gas reactant through an outlet port at a second end of the reactor chamber (Abstract and Paragraph [0071]).
Regarding Claim 19, Risby reference discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the first flow direction is countercurrent to the second flow direction (Figure 1, numerals 111 – inlet port at first end, 105 – nozzles at second end – vortex flow – thus, creating countercurrent direction for the first flow and second flow).
Regarding Claim 20, Risby reference discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the gas reactant inlet is positioned at the second end of the reactor chamber such that the vortex flow pattern of the gas reactant is configured to invert and to follow the first flow direction of the fuel in response to the vortex flow pattern of the gas reactant reaching the first end of the reactor chamber (Figure 1, 2a, 2b, and 6, numerals 105 and 111).
4. Claim(s) 1- is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matveev (US Patent No. 7,452,513 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Matveev reference discloses a gas reactor, comprising:
a reactor chamber having a first end, a second end, and a lateral surface that extends between the first end and the second end (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 150 – first end and 110 – second end, 125 – lateral surface);
a torch inlet positioned at the first end of the reactor chamber, the torch inlet configured for input flow of a fuel into the reactor chamber in a first flow direction, the torch inlet to provide a heat source to the fuel (Figure 2, numeral 215 – torch inlet and 205 – torch – inherently provided heat to the reactor);
a reactant inlet positioned at the second end of the reactor chamber and configured to cause a reactant to flow into the reactor chamber in a second flow direction, wherein at least one of the fuel or a reactant moves through the reactor chamber in a vortex flow pattern (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 145 and 115 – located at the second end– reactant inlet – and Figure 5, numerals 149 and Column 6, Lines 26-41); and
an outlet port positioned at the second end of the reactor chamber, the outlet port configured for output flow of a product from the reactor chamber (Figures 1 and 2, numeral 110 – product outlet and Column 4, Lines 37-41).
Regarding Claim 2, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the reactant inlet is configured to cause the reactant to flow into the reactor chamber in a second flow direction (Column 6, Lines 26-41 and Figure 5, numeral 149).
Regarding Claim 3, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 2, wherein the second flow direction is non- parallel with respect to the first flow direction (Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 2, wherein the reactant inlet is shaped to cause the reactant to flow into the reactor chamber in the second flow direction (Figures 1 and 2, arrows).
Regarding Claim 5, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 2, wherein the reactant inlet is positioned to cause the reactant to flow into the reactor chamber in the second flow direction (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 115 and 145).
Regarding Claim 6, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 2, wherein the reactant flowing into the reactor chamber in the second flow direction contributes to the vortex flow pattern (Column 6, Lines 26-41 – third vortex created by the second fluid flow apparatus).
Regarding Claim 7, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the reactant inlet is positioned at the second end of the reactor chamber and the positioning of the reactant inlet contributes to the vortex flow pattern (Column 6, Lines 26-41).
Regarding Claim 8, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the first end and the second end each include a circular cross-section such that the reactor chamber includes a cylindrical shape, the cylindrical shape of the reactor chamber contributing to the vortex flow pattern (Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the vortex flow pattern of the one or more reactants is configured to invert and to follow the first flow direction of the input flow of the fuel in response to the vortex flow pattern of the reactant reactants reaching a top surface of the reactor chamber (Column 6, Lines 26-41).
Regarding Claim 10, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the reactant inlet is configured to cause the vortex flow pattern of the reactant to flow between the lateral surfaces of the reactor chamber and the input flow of the fuel (Figures 1 and 2, arrows).
Regarding Claim 11, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the reactant inlet is positioned along at least one of the lateral surfaces of the reactor chamber (Figures 1 and 2, arrows).
Regarding Claim 12, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the reactor chamber includes one or more baffles, wherein each of the baffles is positioned in a path of the vortex flow pattern of the one or more reactants (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 165).
Regarding Claim 15, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the torch inlet is further configured for input flow of an oxidizer into the reactor chamber in the first flow direction (Figure 2, numeral 205).
Regarding Claim 16, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the reactant reactants include at least one of carbon monoxide, hydrogen gas, water, carbon dioxide, or a hydrocarbon gas (The apparatus of Matveev is capable of performing the claimed intended uses).
Regarding Claim 17, Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1, wherein the product includes at least one of: methanol, ethanol, hydrogen gas, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, water, ammonia, a polymeric plastic, a polymeric plastic monomer, a fabric, or one or more industrial chemicals (The apparatus of Matveev is capable of performing the claimed intended uses)..
Regarding Claim 18, Matveev reference discloses a method, comprising:
inputting a heated fuel into a fuel inlet at a first end of a reactor chamber of a gas reactor to cause the heated fuel to flow in a first flow direction in the reactor chamber, wherein the reactor chamber includes the first end, a second end, and a lateral surface (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 150 – first end and 110 – second end, 125 – lateral surface and Column 6, Lines 1-41);
providing a gas reactant into a gas reactant inlet to the reactor chamber to cause the gas reactant to flow in a second flow direction in the reactor chamber (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 145 and 115 – located at the second end– reactant inlet – and Figure 5, numerals 149 and Column 6, Lines 26-41);
providing, in the reactor chamber, a vortex flow pattern comprising one or both of: the heated fuel or the gas reactant, to move within the reactor chamber(Figure 2, numeral 215 – torch inlet and 205 – torch – inherently provided heat to the reactor); and
outputting a product based on the heated fuel and the gas reactant through an outlet port at a second end of the reactor chamber (Figures 1 and 2, numeral 110 – product outlet and Column 4, Lines 37-41).
Regarding Claim 19, Matveev reference discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the first flow direction is countercurrent to the second flow direction (Figures 1 and 2, arrows).
Regarding Claim 20, Matveev reference discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the gas reactant inlet is positioned at the second end of the reactor chamber such that the vortex flow pattern of the gas reactant is configured to invert and to follow the first flow direction of the heated fuel in response to the vortex flow pattern of the gas reactant reaching the first end of the reactor chamber (Column 6, Lines 26-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Risby (US 2012/0034137 A1) in view of Rabinovich et al. (US 2016/0194202 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Risby reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1 except for the reactor chamber includes one or more baffles, wherein each of the baffles is positioned in a path of the vortex flow pattern. Rabinovich et al. reference discloses a reactor for reforming a liquid hydrocarbon fuel wherein the reactor includes reaction chamber with one or more nozzles that cause rotation of the fluids in the reaction chamber wherein the rotations of the fluids in the reaction chamber may be caused by various ways such as tangential nozzle or baffle inside of reaction chamber (Abstract and Paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reactor of Risby with the baffles as taught by Rabinovich et al., since Rabinovich et al. states at Paragraphs [0020]-[0021] that such a modification would increase the efficiency of the reactor.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 13, Risby and/or Matveev reference discloses the gas reactor of claim 1 except for a second reactor chamber, wherein the second reactor chamber includes: a second torch inlet fluidically coupled to the outlet port of the reactor chamber; a second reactor inlet; and an outlet port. There is no motivation/suggestion to modify the reactor of Risby and/or Matveev with the claimed second reactor chamber.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment and new cited IDS necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUY TRAM NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1774