DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Amendment filed on 6/18/2026. Claims 1, 6, 17 and 19 have been amended. Claim 9 has been canceled. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 17 and 19 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references do not disclose the amended limitation.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The amendment can be read, with “select the plurality of cards based upon at least one of the plurality of web apps, xxxx”, here, Figs. 16A-16F of Greenberg, a card can be multiple of components, including links which is linked to external web sites/applications, such as appointment 202 lined to external websites in Fig. 16A and [0262]-[0263] of Greenberg, where the “cards” are selected based on web apps, such as appointment links to external websites, etc..
Therefore, the cited references still teach the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenberg et al (US 20160357373 A1) in view of Garibaldi et al (US 11137887 B1).
Referring to claim 1, Greenberg discloses an Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, (Fig. 4 of Greenberg, an electronic computer system, which inherently have memory and processor) cause the IHS to:
render an assist panel in a web browser, (Fig. 10C and [0233] of Greenberg, a wrap panel/assist panel in a web interface) wherein the assist panel comprises a plurality of cards, (Fig. 10C and [0233] of Greenberg, cards 1-4 as displayed in the panel 131) wherein each of the plurality of cards represents an aspect of a project, and wherein the project comprises a plurality of web apps; select the plurality of cards based upon at least one of the plurality of web apps, an upcoming event associated with the project, a conversation associated with the project, a tag or keyword associated with the project, a recent search associated with the project; and (Figs. 16A-16F of Greenberg, a card can be multiple of components, including links which is linked to external web sites/applications, such as appointment 202 lined to external websites in Fig. 16A and [0262]-[0263] of Greenberg) and select the plurality of cards based upon an interaction of a user with the assist panel. ([0086]-[0090] of Greenberg, when user selects/interaction with the cards from the assist panel, the card is selected. Further, [0163] of Greenberg, “ These might include items that may be expected to update frequently and others that may update very slowly. By way of example, a few examples of items that may be desirable to update dynamically include sports scores, stock prices, the number of tickets still available for purchase for an event, number of units of a product that are available or simply an indication of whether a product is in our out of stock, breaking news headlines, etc. A number of services can also benefit from the ability to dynamically update content based on information that can change while a wrap is displayed such as, the user's geographic location, social networking group information (e.g. friends or peers that are nearby, online, etc.), featured information, etc. For example, a card in a wrap for a sports stadium could show the nearest concession stands, restrooms, etc. which can vary as the user roams around the stadium. Another card could show the stats of a baseball player currently at bat. A social networking card may inform a user when their friends or others sharing similar interests are nearby. A retailer may wish to run special offers that update periodically. Of course, these are just a few examples. The types of content that an author may wish dynamically update is limited only by the creativity of the author. Other constraint objects may include declarations of specific behaviors that are intended to be associated with the component 16 and/or content 17. Such behaviors may include behaviors 60, 62 known to or accessible by the runtime viewer 50 as discussed above.”)
Greenberg does not specifically disclose select content by “a pattern discovery engine” and “the pattern discovery engine configured to look at activity over time to understand behavioral patterns to make predictions of what the user may need.”
However, Garibaldi discloses select content by “a pattern discovery engine” and “the pattern discovery engine configured to look at activity over time to understand behavioral patterns to make predictions of what the user may need.”(Fig. 11 and col. 20, line 53- col. 22, line 4 of Garibaldi, the content is selected based on learning user behavior over time and therefore provide the predicted output to the content displaying panel for the user based on the learned user preference)
Greenberg and Garibaldi are analogous art because both references concern filtering web information. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Greenberg’s organized dock cards with contents with predictive user preference of web contents as taught by Garibaldi. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide user with predicted output/user preferred contents based on the user’s past behavior.
Referring to claim 2, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclosed the IHS of claim 1, wherein to render the assist panel, the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to receive a command from the user, and wherein the command comprises at least one of: a swiping gesture, a keypress, or a hovering near an edge of the web browser. ([0008] of Greenberg, swipe gesture)
Referring to claim 3, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclose the IHS of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cards comprises at least one card selected from the group consisting of: documents, conversations, calendars, weather, people, news, health, clipboard, events, reminders, search results, and help. (Fig. 15B of Greenberg, component that can be added to the project includes documents, such as text, image, etc…)
Referring to claim 4, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclose the IHS of claim 1, wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to:
display, in each of the plurality of cards, a color derived from an image selected for the project; (Fig. 11C and [0240] of Greenberg, “Referring to FIG. 11C, a number of exemplary textual cards are illustrated. In each instance, a different card, each derived from a template with different layouts, structures, headers and/or sub-components, is illustrated. Also in each case, the style tools 146 are available to the author to define the different fonts, sizes, justification and potentially color (not visible) of the text in each of the cards. It should be noted that these examples are not exhaustive. Various templates of different structures, layouts and/or arrangements of components can be used to create an almost infinite number of textual card styles.”) and
display, in each of the plurality of cards, content retrieved from a corresponding one of the plurality of web apps via a respective Application Programming Interface (API). ([0096] of Greenberg, “The communication among the various plug-in services is accomplished through a common set of APIs.”)
Referring to claim 5, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclosed the IHS of claim 4, wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to expand a card selected by the user in the assist panel with additional content retrieved from a corresponding web app. (as shown in Figs. 15A-15B of Greenberg, once a card is selected, the content of the cards can be modified)
Referring to claim 6, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclose the IHS of claim 1, wherein to render the assist panel, the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to select the plurality of cards based upon at least one of: the project, a data source recently added to the project, an identity of a team member recently added to the project. (as shown in Figs. 15A-15B of Greenberg, once a card is selected, the content of the cards can be modified)
Referring to claim 7, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclose the IHS of claim 1, wherein to render the assist panel, the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to select the plurality of cards based upon context information comprising at least one of: a type of IHS, a posture of the IHS, a power state of the IHS, a location of the IHS, an identity of the user, a proximity of the user with respect to the IHS, a time-of-day, or an identity of a nearby user. ([0163] of Greenberg, “A number of services can also benefit from the ability to dynamically update content based on information that can change while a wrap is displayed such as, the user's geographic location, social networking group information (e.g. friends or peers that are nearby, online, etc.), featured information, etc.”)
Referring to claim 8, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclosed the IHS of claim 1, wherein to render the assist panel, the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to select the plurality of cards based upon an activity of the user related to the project. ([0163] of Greenberg, “ These might include items that may be expected to update frequently and others that may update very slowly. By way of example, a few examples of items that may be desirable to update dynamically include sports scores, stock prices, the number of tickets still available for purchase for an event, number of units of a product that are available or simply an indication of whether a product is in our out of stock, breaking news headlines, etc. A number of services can also benefit from the ability to dynamically update content based on information that can change while a wrap is displayed such as, the user's geographic location, social networking group information (e.g. friends or peers that are nearby, online, etc.), featured information, etc. For example, a card in a wrap for a sports stadium could show the nearest concession stands, restrooms, etc. which can vary as the user roams around the stadium. Another card could show the stats of a baseball player currently at bat. A social networking card may inform a user when their friends or others sharing similar interests are nearby. A retailer may wish to run special offers that update periodically. Of course, these are just a few examples. The types of content that an author may wish dynamically update is limited only by the creativity of the author. Other constraint objects may include declarations of specific behaviors that are intended to be associated with the component 16 and/or content 17. Such behaviors may include behaviors 60, 62 known to or accessible by the runtime viewer 50 as discussed above.”)
Referring to claim 10, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclose the IHS of claim 9, wherein the interaction is selected from the group consisting of: a card rank or position change, a card marked as helpful, a card marked as not helpful, a card clicked, a card manually added, and a search for content previously absent from the plurality of cards. ([0163] of Greenberg, “ These might include items that may be expected to update frequently and others that may update very slowly. By way of example, a few examples of items that may be desirable to update dynamically include sports scores, stock prices, the number of tickets still available for purchase for an event, number of units of a product that are available or simply an indication of whether a product is in our out of stock, breaking news headlines, etc. A number of services can also benefit from the ability to dynamically update content based on information that can change while a wrap is displayed such as, the user's geographic location, social networking group information (e.g. friends or peers that are nearby, online, etc.), featured information, etc. For example, a card in a wrap for a sports stadium could show the nearest concession stands, restrooms, etc. which can vary as the user roams around the stadium. Another card could show the stats of a baseball player currently at bat. A social networking card may inform a user when their friends or others sharing similar interests are nearby. A retailer may wish to run special offers that update periodically. Of course, these are just a few examples. The types of content that an author may wish dynamically update is limited only by the creativity of the author. Other constraint objects may include declarations of specific behaviors that are intended to be associated with the component 16 and/or content 17. Such behaviors may include behaviors 60, 62 known to or accessible by the runtime viewer 50 as discussed above.”)
Referring to claim 11, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclosed the IHS of claim 8, wherein to render the assist panel, the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to select the plurality of cards based upon an activity of another user related to the project. ([0163] of Greenberg, “ These might include items that may be expected to update frequently and others that may update very slowly. By way of example, a few examples of items that may be desirable to update dynamically include sports scores, stock prices, the number of tickets still available for purchase for an event, number of units of a product that are available or simply an indication of whether a product is in our out of stock, breaking news headlines, etc. A number of services can also benefit from the ability to dynamically update content based on information that can change while a wrap is displayed such as, the user's geographic location, social networking group information (e.g. friends or peers that are nearby, online, etc.), featured information, etc. For example, a card in a wrap for a sports stadium could show the nearest concession stands, restrooms, etc. which can vary as the user roams around the stadium. Another card could show the stats of a baseball player currently at bat. A social networking card may inform a user when their friends or others sharing similar interests are nearby. A retailer may wish to run special offers that update periodically. Of course, these are just a few examples. The types of content that an author may wish dynamically update is limited only by the creativity of the author. Other constraint objects may include declarations of specific behaviors that are intended to be associated with the component 16 and/or content 17. Such behaviors may include behaviors 60, 62 known to or accessible by the runtime viewer 50 as discussed above.”)
Referring to claim 12, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclose the IHS of claim 1, wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to, in response to a command to share a given one of the plurality of cards with another user, send a copy of the card to another IHS operated by the other user for display in another assist panel of another web browser. ([0099] of Greenberg, “The data integration capabilities of cards 14 can also be shared among other cards 14 in the same wrap package 10, with other wrap packages, with web sites, or just about any other data processing system.”)
Referring to claim 14, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclose the IHS of claim 1, wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to, in response to a copying command, copy content from a given one of the plurality of cards to a corresponding one of the plurality of web apps in the project. (Fig. 7 and [0222] of Greenberg, “For each wrap package 104, options are provided to “copy”, “Preview”, “Edit” and “Share”. By selecting any of these options, the corresponding wrap package 10 4 may be copied, previewed, edited or shared respectively.”)
Referring to claim 15, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclose the IHS of claim 1, wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to, in response to a copying command, copy content from a given one of the plurality of web apps to a corresponding one of the plurality of cards or display a new card with the content. (Fig. 7 and [0222] of Greenberg, “For each wrap package 104, options are provided to “copy”, “Preview”, “Edit” and “Share”. By selecting any of these options, the corresponding wrap package 10 4 may be copied, previewed, edited or shared respectively.”)
Referring to claim 16, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclose the IHS of claim 1, wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to, in response to a determination that the user has dragged-and-dropped a tab onto a launch bar of the web browser, parse a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) associated with the tab into a resource and a data source and add a web app icon corresponding to the resource to the launch bar. ([0140] of Greenberg, “In a non-exclusive embodiment, the specific behavior associated with the link may be declared in the same manner described above. For example, consider a situation where the trigger activates a link to an external website. There are several ways that such a link could be implemented. One approach might be to link to the target web page in the currently active browser tab, which has the effect of navigating away from the wrap. A second approach might be to open a new browser tab and open the target webpage in that new browser tab. A third approach might be to initiate a Cul-de-sac in the current browser tab and open the target webpage in the Cul-de-sac (a Cul-de-sac has the property of returning to the initiating wrap card/page when the user closes the target website). In such an arrangement, the card template developer can make these three link behaviors available to the trigger and the card author can select the desired behavior. The card developer can also define a default link behavior selection in the event that the card author does not affirmatively make a selection.”)
Referring to claims 17 and 19, Greenberg discloses a memory storage device having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution by an Information Handling System (IHS), cause the IHS to:
display an assist panel, wherein the assist panel comprises a plurality of cards, wherein each of the plurality of cards represents an aspect of a project, and wherein the project comprises a plurality of web apps selected by a user; (Figs. 16A-16F of Greenberg, a card can be multiple of components, including links which is linked to external web sites/applications, such as appointment 202 lined to external websites in Fig. 16A and [0262]-[0263] of Greenberg)
in response to a determination that the user has dragged-and-dropped a tab onto a launch bar of a web browser, identify a resource corresponding to a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) associated with the tab and add a web app icon corresponding to the resource to the launch bar; ([0140] of Greenberg, “In a non-exclusive embodiment, the specific behavior associated with the link may be declared in the same manner described above. For example, consider a situation where the trigger activates a link to an external website. There are several ways that such a link could be implemented. One approach might be to link to the target web page in the currently active browser tab, which has the effect of navigating away from the wrap. A second approach might be to open a new browser tab and open the target webpage in that new browser tab. A third approach might be to initiate a Cul-de-sac in the current browser tab and open the target webpage in the Cul-de-sac (a Cul-de-sac has the property of returning to the initiating wrap card/page when the user closes the target website). In such an arrangement, the card template developer can make these three link behaviors available to the trigger and the card author can select the desired behavior. The card developer can also define a default link behavior selection in the event that the card author does not affirmatively make a selection.”) and
update the plurality of cards with a new card corresponding to the resource; select the plurality of cards based upon at least one of the plurality of web apps, an upcoming event associated with the project, a conversation associated with the project, a tag or keyword associated with the project, a recent search associated with the project; and ([0161] of Greenberg, updating content of the card wrap) and select the plurality of cards based upon an interaction of a user with the assist panel ([0086]-[0090] of Greenberg, when user selects/interaction with the cards from the assist panel, the card is selected. Further, [0163] of Greenberg, “ These might include items that may be expected to update frequently and others that may update very slowly. By way of example, a few examples of items that may be desirable to update dynamically include sports scores, stock prices, the number of tickets still available for purchase for an event, number of units of a product that are available or simply an indication of whether a product is in our out of stock, breaking news headlines, etc. A number of services can also benefit from the ability to dynamically update content based on information that can change while a wrap is displayed such as, the user's geographic location, social networking group information (e.g. friends or peers that are nearby, online, etc.), featured information, etc. For example, a card in a wrap for a sports stadium could show the nearest concession stands, restrooms, etc. which can vary as the user roams around the stadium. Another card could show the stats of a baseball player currently at bat. A social networking card may inform a user when their friends or others sharing similar interests are nearby. A retailer may wish to run special offers that update periodically. Of course, these are just a few examples. The types of content that an author may wish dynamically update is limited only by the creativity of the author. Other constraint objects may include declarations of specific behaviors that are intended to be associated with the component 16 and/or content 17. Such behaviors may include behaviors 60, 62 known to or accessible by the runtime viewer 50 as discussed above.”)
Greenberg does not specifically disclose select content by “a pattern discovery engine” and “the pattern discovery engine configured to look at activity over time to understand behavioral patterns to make predictions of what the user may need.”
However, Garibaldi discloses select content by “a pattern discovery engine” and “the pattern discovery engine configured to look at activity over time to understand behavioral patterns to make predictions of what the user may need.”(Fig. 11 and col. 20, line 53- col. 22, line 4 of Garibaldi, the content is selected based on learning user behavior over time and therefore provide the predicted output to the content displaying panel for the user based on the learned user preference)
Greenberg and Garibaldi are analogous art because both references concern filtering web information. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Greenberg’s organized dock cards with contents with predictive user preference of web contents as taught by Garibaldi. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide user with predicted output/user preferred contents based on the user’s past behavior.
Referring to claims 18 and 20, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclose the memory storage device of claim 17, wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to send a copy of the new card to another IHS operated by another participant of the project. (Fig. 7 and [0222] of Greenberg, “For each wrap package 104, options are provided to “copy”, “Preview”, “Edit” and “Share”. By selecting any of these options, the corresponding wrap package 10 4 may be copied, previewed, edited or shared respectively.”)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenberg et al (US 20160357373 A1) in view of Blackwell et al (US 20150058318 A1).
Referring to claim 13, Greenberg in view of Garibaldi disclose the IHS of claim 1. Greenberg in view of Garibaldi do not specifically disclose wherein to render the assist panel, the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to, in response to a filtering command, filter the plurality of cards according to a type of content selected in the filtering command.
However, Blackwell discloses in response to a filtering command, filter the plurality of cards according to a type of content selected in the filtering command ([0023]-[0025] of Blackwell, a “search” prompting the user to filter the content of the docked search results to show up on the toolbar panel)
Greenberg in view of Garibaldi and Blackwell are analogous art because both references concern filtering web information. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Greenberg in view of Garibaldi discloses organized dock cards with contents with search prompt to search contents within the web contents as taught by Blackwell. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide user a more refined way of search for web content and displaying the search results.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Braithwaite et al (US 20130268837 A1): A method for managing information displayed on a computing device includes automatically creating, using an application executed by a processor of the computing device, an interactive content display panel, wherein the interactive content display panel includes a graphical user interface element associated with HTML content. The interactive content display panel is displayed in front of all other windows displayed in a work area of a display of the computing device. The displaying includes automatically adjusting the size the interactive content display panel, based on updates to the HTML content, and automatically positioning the interactive content display panel in the display, based on the automatic adjustment of the size of the interactive content display panel and based on available space in the work area of the display.
Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
In the interests of compact prosecution, Applicant is invited to contact the examiner via electronic media pursuant to USPTO policy outlined MPEP § 502.03. All electronic communication must be authorized in writing. Applicant may wish to file an Internet Communications Authorization Form PTO/SB/439. Applicant may wish to request an interview using the Interview Practice website: http://;www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice.
Applicant is reminded Internet e-mail may not be used for communication for matters under 35 U.S.C. § 132 or which otherwise require a signature. A reply to an Office action may NOT be communicated by Applicant to the USPTO via Internet e- mail. If such a reply is submitted by Applicant via Internet e-mail, a paper copy will be placed in the appropriate patent application file with an indication that the reply is NOT ENTERED. See MPEP § 502.03(II).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAIMEI JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2142