DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunt (US 20210185878 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hunt discloses an agricultural implement (200) comprising:
a frame (201) comprising a pin (372), wherein the frame is configured to couple to an agricultural vehicle (100, Fig. 1);
a float arm (302) pivotably coupled to the frame (para. [0030] float arm 302 is configured to pivot about joint 358 thereby rotating relative to the frame 201), and having a lower rotational limit, wherein the pin abuts the float arm to define the lower rotational limit (see Fig. 5, forward-most limit of 372 in translational direction 382 corresponds to lower rotational limit of float arm 302);
a cutterbar (210) coupled to the float arm; and
an adjustable biasing component (352+374) coupled to the float arm and the frame (para. [0035-0036] fluid pressure of 352 is adjustable and rod of actuator 374 is adjustable to adjust degree of torque imparted on arm 302), wherein the adjustable biasing component biases the float arm away from the frame toward the lower rotational limit (Fig. 5, para. [0037] fluid-filled biasing member 352 exerts a force in the downward direction 366 and actuator 374 extends rod 376 biasing the base position of the arm 302 in the lowered direction 362).
Regarding independent claim 11, Hunt discloses a method of operating an agricultural implement (200) that includes a frame (201) comprising a plurality of pins (372), a plurality of float arms (302) pivotably coupled to the frame, a cutterbar (210) coupled to distal ends of the float arms, and adjustable biasing components (352+374 for each arm 302) disposed between the plurality of float arms and the frame (Figs. 5-6, para. [0035-0036] fluid pressure of 352 is adjustable and rod of actuator 374 is adjustable to adjust degree of torque imparted on arm 302);
the method comprising:
distributing a weight of the agricultural implement onto the ground via a plurality of float arms (weight of cutterbar is distributed over and carried by float arms), wherein the float arms have a lower rotational limit, wherein the plurality of pins abuts the float arms to define the lower rotational limit and wherein the float arms are configured to rest at the lower rotational limit (Fig. 5, para. [0037] fluid-filled biasing member 352 exerts a force in the downward direction 366 and actuator 374 extends rod 376 biasing the base position of the arm 302 in the lowered direction 362, when ground no longer contacts the cutter bar assembly, a weight of the cutter bar assembly causes the arms to rest at the base position, para. [0017]);
imparting a separating force that biases the float arms away from the frame toward the lower rotational limit (actuator 374 and fluid-filled biasing member 352 cause arm 302 to be urged downwardly 362, as seen in Fig. 5);
traversing the ground with the agricultural implement; and
adjustably biasing, with the biasing components the float arms away from the frame and towards the ground so that the cutterbar follows a contour of the ground as the agricultural implement is moved along the ground (para. [0026] fluid-filled biasing member 352 and actuator 374 enable the arm 302 to rotate/move vertically relative to the frame 201, thereby allowing the cutter bar assembly 210 to flex in response to variations in the contours of the field).
Regarding independent claim 19, Hunt discloses an agricultural machine (100) moveable along the ground for harvesting crop, the agricultural machine comprising:
an agricultural vehicle (Fig. 1);
an agricultural implement (200) coupled to the agricultural vehicle, the agricultural implement comprising:
a frame (201) comprising a plurality of pins (372) coupled to the agricultural vehicle;
a plurality of float arms (302) pivotably coupled to the frame, at least a portion of the weight of the agricultural implement imparted to the ground via the plurality of float arms (weight of cutterbar is distributed over and carried by float arms), wherein the float arms have a lower rotational limit, wherein the plurality of pins abuts the float arms to define the lower rotational limit (Fig. 5, para. [0037] fluid-filled biasing member 352 exerts a force in the downward direction 366 and actuator 374 extends rod 376 biasing the base position of the arm 302 in the lowered direction 362);
a cutterbar (210) coupled to distal ends of the float arms; and
an adjustable biasing component (352+374) disposed between each of float arms and the frame that biases the float arms away from the frame (Figs. 5-6, para. [0035-0036] fluid pressure of 352 is adjustable and rod of actuator 374 is adjustable to adjust degree of torque imparted on arm 302).
Regarding claim 2 and 20, Hunt discloses the agricultural implement of claim 1 and 19, further comprising an attachment frame coupled between the frame of the agricultural implement and the agricultural vehicle (Fig. 1 shows an attachment frame between frame 201 and vehicle 100).
Regarding claim 3 and 21, Hunt discloses the agricultural implement of claim 1 and 19, further comprising:
a center section (224); and
a wing (225,226) extending laterally from the center section, the wing pivotably coupled to the center section (para. [0025] lateral wing sections 225 and 226 are pivotable relative to the center section 224 to allow the cutter bar assembly to “follow the contour of the field more acutely”).
Regarding claim 4, Hunt discloses the agricultural implement of claim 1, wherein the float arm comprises a plurality of float arms (302, Fig. 3),
wherein the biasing component comprises a plurality of biasing components (352+374 for each arm 302), and
wherein each of the plurality of biasing components is associated with a corresponding float arm of the plurality of float arms and is disposed between the frame (201) and the corresponding float arm (302) (para. [0026] each arm 302 is coupled a fluid-filled biasing member 352 and actuator 374).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Hunt discloses the agricultural implement of claim 1, wherein the biasing component (352+374) comprises a spring (para. [0030] fluid-filled biasing member 352, e.g. an airbag, is a compressible air spring).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 15-16, Hunt discloses the agricultural implement of claim 1 and 11, wherein the biasing component (352+374) comprises a fluidic cylinder, as per claims 7 and 15, and wherein the fluidic cylinder comprises a pneumatic cylinder or a hydraulic cylinder, as per claims 8 and 16 (para. [0036] discloses that actuator 374 is a hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 17-18, Hunt discloses the agricultural implement of claim 1 and 11, wherein a biasing force applied by the biasing component (352+374) is adjustable, as per claims 9 and 17, in response to a user input, as per claims 10 and 18 (para. [0042] the user may adjust the extension of rod 376 and fluid pressure in the container 363 via input into user interface 394).
Regarding claim 12, Hunt discloses the method of claim 11, wherein biasing, with the biasing components (352+374), the float arms (302) away from the frame (201) and towards the ground so that the cutterbar (210) follows a contour of the ground as the agricultural implement is moved along the ground comprises extending one or more of the biasing components at a location along the agricultural implement where the ground forms a recess (Fig. 5, para. [0031] when the actuator 374 is extended, the assembly is biased into a downward position such that when the crop field no longer exerts a force on the cutter bar, a weight of the cutter bar assembly 210 exerts a force in the downward direction 366 at the first end 350 of arm 302 to move the cutter bar assembly toward the crop field, such as to remain in contact with the crop field).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt as applied to claims 5 and 13 above, and further in view of Racchella et al. (US 20220338416 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Hunt discloses the agricultural implement of claim 5, wherein the spring comprises an air spring instead of a coil spring or a torsional spring.
In the same field of endeavor, Racchella discloses a similar rotatable arm (306) for a header (200), wherein the arm is pushed downward against the ground 310 by a biasing member 406 such as a torsion spring, a coil spring, or an air spring (Figs. 3-4, para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize a coil spring or torsional spring in place of the air spring of Hunt, as taught by Rachella, since this is a mere simple substitution of one known spring for biasing the rotatable arm of a header for another to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103
Regarding the rejection of Claims 1-21, the Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments; however the arguments are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
“Hunt discloses an arm configured to rotate about a pivot joint and an actuator configured to change torque imparted on the arm but fails to disclose…a pin that abuts a float arm, a lower rotational limit, or biasing a float arm toward a lower rotational limit” [as recited in Applicant’s amended claims] (Applicant’s remarks page 7).
Regarding (a), the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that a different interpretation of Hunt is provided in this office action as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to read on Applicant’s amended claims.
Hunt’s second support 372 which abuts float arm 302 reads on the limitation “a pin that abuts a float arm” as it acts as a small device joining two parts so as to permit them to move in one plane relative to each other and/or a small device used to fasten, support, or attach things.
Furthermore, Hunt does disclose a lower rotational limit, i.e. (the “base position” of float arm 302 set by adjustable biasing assembly 352+374) such that “when the ground no longer contacts the part of the cutter bar assembly, a weight of the cutter bar assembly may cause the arms to move back to the base position” (see bottom para. [0017]). It can therefore be determined that this “base position” can be drawn to Applicant’s claimed “lower rotational limit” of the float arm.
Lastly, Hunt in Fig. 5, para. [0037] teaches that the float arm 302 is downwardly biased into this lowered “base position” by fluid-filled biasing member 352 and actuator 374.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIA C TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671