DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed October 28, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-22 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 28, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, see pages 7-10, that previously presented prior art reference Scott et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2020/0028472), hereafter referred to as Scott, fails to disclose controllable bias current sources having current levels controlled by the saturation detector for both the peaking amplifier and the load modulating amplifier. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described in Scott, Figs. 4 and 10, the saturation detector 24 provides a control signal to control the bias current provided by the bias circuitry 48 to the peaking amplifier 18 (Scott, Paragraph 49, lines 1-9 and Paragraph 67, lines 19-21). In other words, the saturation detector of Scott controls the bias current level provided by the bias circuitry to control activation of the peaking amplifier. Examiner notes that the load modulating amplifier as claimed is similar to a peaking amplifier in that it is only activated when the signal level exceeds a predetermined threshold, and therefore, someone of ordinary skill in the art, when looking to combine Scott with previously presented prior art reference Barton et al. (Patent Number US 10,404,224) hereafter referred to as Barton, would use the saturation detector of Scott to control activation of both the peaking and load modulating amplifiers of Barton, which would have the benefit of providing an automated system for controlling the activation of all of the amplifiers of Barton (Scott, Page 3, Paragraph 40, lines 15-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton in view of Lyalin (Patent Number US 9,467,115 B2), hereafter referred to as Lyalin, and further in view of Scott.
Regarding claim 1, Barton discloses:
A power amplifier system (Barton, Fig. 6, annotated below) comprising: a combiner including a first terminal, a second terminal, a third terminal, and a fourth terminal (Fig. 6, see 2 boxes in bottom right corner, labeled combiner in annotated figure below), the combiner configured to provide a radio frequency output signal from the fourth terminal (Fig. 6, see arrow on bottom right corner “modulated RF output signal”); and a load modulating amplifier (Fig. 6, see top amplifier labeled class C) including an output coupled to the third terminal of the combiner (Fig. 6, see connected between top amplifier and combiner), but fails to disclose the combiner including a first capacitor electrically connected between the first terminal and the third terminal, a second capacitor electrically connected between the second terminal and the fourth terminal, and a third capacitor electrically connected between the third terminal and a ground voltage; a carrier amplifier including an output coupled to the first terminal of the combiner, the carrier amplifier including a saturation detector configured to monitor an amount of saturation of the carrier amplifier; and a peaking amplifier including an output coupled to the second terminal of the combiner, the peaking amplifier including a first controllable bias current source having a current level controlled by a first output of the saturation detector; the load modulating amplifier including a second controllable bias current source having a current level controlled by a second output of the saturation detector.
However, Lyalin teaches the combiner including a first capacitor (Lyalin, Fig. 14, see C1 in modified Fig. 14 below) electrically connected between the first terminal and the third terminal (Fig. 14, see connection between C1, T1, and T3 in modified Fig. 14 below), a second capacitor (Fig. 14, see C2 in modified Fig. 14 below) electrically connected between the second terminal and the fourth terminal (Fig. 14, see connection between C2, T2, and T4 in modified Fig. 14 below), and a third capacitor (Fig. 14, see C3 in modified Fig. 14 below) electrically connected between the third terminal and a ground voltage (Fig. 14, see connection between C3, T3, and ground in modified Fig. 14 below); a carrier amplifier (Fig. 14, 611) including an output coupled to the first terminal of the combiner (Fig. 14, see connection between 611 and T1 in modified Fig. 14 below) and a peaking amplifier (Fig. 14, 612) including an output coupled to the second terminal of the combiner (Fig. 14, see connection between 612 and T2 in modified Fig. 14 below), but fails to teach the carrier amplifier including a saturation detector configured to monitor an amount of saturation of the carrier amplifier; the peaking amplifier including a first controllable bias current source having a current level controlled by a first output of the saturation detector; the load modulating amplifier including a second controllable bias current source having a current level controlled by a second output of the saturation detector.
However, Scott teaches the carrier amplifier including a saturation detector configured to monitor an amount of saturation of the carrier amplifier (Scott, Fig. 4, Element 24); the peaking amplifier including a first controllable bias current source (Fig. 4, Element 48) having a current level controlled by a first output of the saturation detector (Paragraph 49, lines 1-9); the load modulating amplifier (Note: teachings of Scott are relevant for the load modulating amplifier because the load modulating amplifier requires activation means, as does the peaking amplifier) including a second controllable bias current source (Fig. 4, Element 48) having a current level controlled by a second output of the saturation detector (Paragraph 49, lines 1-9).
Barton, Lyalin, and Scott are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Barton to incorporate the teachings of Lyalin and Scott to include the combiner of Lyalin in the amplifier of Barton, which would have the effect of improving impedance adjustments (Lyalin, Col. 6, lines 45-51), to modify the main amplifiers of Barton to be part of a Doherty power amplifier, which would have the effect of enabling different operating modes to optimize performance based on signal properties (Lyalin, Col. 4, lines 47-62 and Col. 5, lines 8-15) and to include a saturation detector to monitor the saturation in the carrier amplifier and activate or deactivate the peaking and load modulating amplifiers by controlling a bias current source of the amplifiers, which would have the effect of providing an automated system for controlling the activation of different amplifiers (Scott, Page 3, Paragraph 40, lines 15-19).
Regarding claim 2, Barton further discloses:
wherein the load modulating amplifier is configured to activate at a second power threshold greater than the first power threshold (Barton, Col. 5, line 64 – Col. 6, line 2 [both main amplifiers are activated before the load modulating amplifier], but fails to disclose wherein the peaking amplifier is configured to activate at a first power threshold.
However, Lyalin teaches that the peaking amplifier is configured to activate at a first power threshold (Lyalin, Col. 4, lines 47-54).
Barton, Lyalin, and Scott are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Barton to incorporate the teachings of Lyalin to have the peaking amplifier activate at a power threshold lower than the activation of the load modulating amplifier, which would have the effect of enabling high output power when input power is high, while maintaining high efficiency when input power is low (Barton, Col. 6, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 3, Barton further discloses:
wherein when activated the load modulating power amplifier is operable to modulate down a load of the carrier amplifier and of the peaking amplifier (Barton, Col. 6, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 8, Barton further discloses:
wherein the combiner is a hybrid coupler (Barton, Col. 5, lines 5-6) including a first winding electrically connected between the first terminal and the fourth terminal (Fig. 6, see winding of combiner coupled between carrier amplifier and output in modified Fig. 6 above) and a second winding electrically connected between the second terminal and the third terminal (Fig. 6, see winding of combiner coupled between peaking amplifier and load modulating amplifier in modified Fig. 6 above), the first terminal corresponding to a zero degree port (Col. 5, lines 5-6 [main PAs 90° apart]), the second terminal corresponding to a ninety degree port (Col. 5, lines 5-6 [main PAs 90° apart]), the third terminal corresponding to an isolation port (Col. 3, lines 53-55), and the fourth terminal corresponding to a common port (Fig. 3, “modulated RF output signal” is connected to fourth terminal, making it a common port).
Regarding claim 9, Barton further discloses:
further comprising an input splitter configured to split a radio frequency input signal into a plurality of input signal components (Barton, Fig. 6, see bottom left on modified figure 6 above – box labeled input splitter) including a first input signal component provided to an input of the carrier amplifier (Fig. 6, see wire going from input splitter to carrier amplifier on modified figure 6 above) and a second input signal component provided to an input of the peaking amplifier (Fig. 6, see wire going from input splitter to peaking amplifier on modified figure 6 above).
Regarding claim 10, Barton further discloses:
wherein the plurality of input signal components further include a third input signal component provided to an input of the load modulating amplifier (Barton, Fig. 6, see wire going from input splitter to amplifier labeled “class C” on modified figure 6 above).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton in view of Lyalin and Scott as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Thompson. (Patent Number US 2004/0174213) hereafter referred to as Thompson.
Regarding claim 5, Barton further discloses:
wherein the load modulating amplifier includes a second class C bias circuit (Barton, Col. 3, lines 44-45), but fails to disclose wherein the carrier amplifier includes a class AB bias circuit and the peaking amplifier includes a first class C bias circuit.
However, Thompson teaches wherein the carrier amplifier includes a class AB bias circuit (Thompson, Paragraph 29, lines 1-3) and the peaking amplifier includes a first class C bias circuit (Paragraph 29, lines 3-4).
Barton, Lyalin, Scott, and Thompson are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Barton to incorporate the teachings of Thompson to give the carrier amplifier a class AB bias circuit and the peaking amplifier a class C bias circuit, which would have the effect of optimizing efficiency over a wide range of power levels (Thompson, Paragraph 26, lines 1-4).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton in view of Lyalin and Scott as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mu et al. (Patent Number US 11,239,802) hereafter referred to as Mu.
Regarding claim 6, Barton, Lyalin, and Scott fail to disclose wherein the load modulating amplifier includes a cascode amplifier stage.
However, Mu teaches wherein the load modulating amplifier includes a cascode amplifier stage (Mu, Col. 11, lines 17-22).
Barton, Lyalin, Scott, and Mu are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Barton to incorporate the teachings of Mu to modify the load modulating amplifier of Barton to include a cascode amplifier stage, which would have the effect of improving the drain-to-gate capacitance response (Mu, Col. 11, lines 26-27).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton in view of Lyalin, Scott, and Mu as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Thompson.
Regarding claim 7, Barton, Lyalin, Scott, and Mu fail to disclose wherein the carrier amplifier includes a first common-emitter amplifier stage, and the peaking amplifier includes a second common-emitter amplifier stage.
However, Thompson teaches wherein the carrier amplifier includes a first common-emitter amplifier stage (Thompson, Fig. 3, Element 210), and the peaking amplifier includes a second common-emitter amplifier stage (Fig. 3, Element 220).
Barton, Lyalin, Scott, Mu, and Thompson are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Barton to incorporate the teachings of Thompson to include common-emitter amplifier stages in the main amplifiers. Barton mentions using transistor amplifiers (Barton, Col. 3, lines 9-11), but does not suggest any details of what transistor amplifiers to use. Therefore, one would look to the prior art to determine a suitable variation, and would have found Thompson, which uses common-emitter amplifiers.
Claims 11-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyalin in view of Barton and Scott.
Regarding claim 11, Lyalin discloses:
A mobile device (Lyalin, Fig. 18, 900) comprising: an antenna configured to transmit a radio frequency output signal (Fig. 18, Element 916); and a front end system including a power amplifier system including a combiner (Fig. 18, 101 [which itself includes power amplifiers 110a-d, shown in detail in Fig. 14 with Element 620 being a combiner], a carrier amplifier having an output coupled to a first terminal of the combiner (Fig. 14, see connection between carrier amplifier 611 and combiner terminal T1 in modified Fig. 14 above), a peaking amplifier having an output coupled to a second terminal of the combiner (Fig. 14, see connection between peaking amplifier 612 and combiner terminal T2 in modified Fig. 14 above), the combiner including a first capacitor (Lyalin, Fig. 14, see C1 in modified Fig. 14 below) electrically connected between the first terminal and the third terminal (Fig. 14, see connection between C1, T1, and T3 in modified Fig. 14 below), a second capacitor (Fig. 14, see C2 in modified Fig. 14 below) electrically connected between the second terminal and the fourth terminal (Fig. 14, see connection between C2, T2, and T4 in modified Fig. 14 below), and a third capacitor (Fig. 14, see C3 in modified Fig. 14 below) electrically connected between the third terminal and a ground voltage (Fig. 14, see connection between C3, T3, and ground in modified Fig. 14 below); but fails to disclose a load modulating amplifier having an output coupled to a third terminal of the combiner, the combiner configured to provide the radio frequency output signal at a fourth terminal, the carrier amplifier including a saturation detector configured to monitor an amount of saturation of the carrier amplifier, the peaking amplifier including a first controllable bias current source having a current level controlled by a first output of the saturation detector, and the load modulating amplifier including a second controllable bias current source controlled by a second output of the saturation detector.
However, Barton teaches a load modulating amplifier having an output coupled to a third terminal of the combiner (Barton, Fig. 6, see top amplifier labeled “class C”), the combiner configured to provide the radio frequency output signal at a fourth terminal (Fig. 6, see arrow on bottom right corner “modulated RF output signal” and connection to combiner in modified figure 6 above), but fails to teach the carrier amplifier including a saturation detector configured to monitor an amount of saturation of the carrier amplifier, the peaking amplifier including a first controllable bias current source having a current level controlled by a first output of the saturation detector, and the load modulating amplifier including a second controllable bias current source controlled by a second output of the saturation detector.
However, Scott teaches the carrier amplifier including a saturation detector configured to monitor an amount of saturation of the carrier amplifier (Scott, Fig. 4, Element 24), the peaking amplifier including a first controllable bias current source (Fig. 4, Element 48) having a current level controlled by a first output of the saturation detector (Paragraph 49, lines 1-9), and the load modulating amplifier including a second controllable bias current source (Fig. 4, Element 48) controlled by a second output of the saturation detector (Paragraph 49, lines 1-9).
Lyalin, Barton, and Scott are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Lyalin to incorporate the teachings of Barton and Scott to include an additional load modulating amplifier (and modify the combiner to be the combiner taught by Barton to be able to connect the load modulating amplifier in the circuit), which would have the effect of allowing for dynamic load modulation, which improves efficiency (Barton, Col. 3, lines 9-13) and to include a saturation detector to monitor the saturation in the carrier amplifier and activate or deactivate the peaking and load modulating amplifiers by controlling a bias current source of the amplifiers, which would have the effect of providing an automated system for controlling the activation of different amplifiers (Scott, Page 3, Paragraph 40, lines 15-19).
Regarding claim 12, Lyalin discloses:
wherein the peaking amplifier is configured to activate at a first power threshold (Lyalin, Col. 4, lines 47-54), but fails to disclose and the load modulating amplifier is configured to activate at a second power threshold greater than the first power threshold.
However, Barton teaches and the load modulating amplifier is configured to activate at a second power threshold greater than the first power threshold (Barton Col. 5, line 64 – Col. 6, line 2 [both main amplifiers are activated before the load modulating amplifier]).
Lyalin, Barton, and Scott are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Lyalin to incorporate the teachings of Barton to activate the load modulating amplifier at a threshold greater than the threshold for activating the peaking amplifier, which would have the effect of enabling high output power when input power is high, while maintaining high efficiency when input power is low (Barton, Col. 6, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 13, Lyalin fails to disclose:
wherein when activated the load modulating power amplifier is operable to modulate down a load of the carrier amplifier and of the peaking amplifier.
However, Barton teaches wherein when activated the load modulating power amplifier is operable to modulate down a load of the carrier amplifier and of the peaking amplifier (Barton, Col. 6, lines 2-5).
Lyalin, Barton, and Scott are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Lyalin to incorporate the teachings of Barton to have the load modulating amplifier modulate the loads of the carrier and peaking amplifiers when it is activated, which would have the effect of allowing for high output power (Barton, Col. 6, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 17, Lyalin further discloses wherein the combiner is a hybrid coupler (Lyalin, Col. 7, lines 20-23) including a first winding electrically connected between the first terminal and the fourth terminal (Fig. 14, see winding connected between T1 and T4 in modified Fig. 14 above) and a second winding electrically connected between the second terminal and the third terminal (Fig. 14, see winding connection between T2 and T3 in modified Fig. 14 above), the first terminal corresponding to a zero degree port (Col. 5, lines 52-56), the second terminal corresponding to a ninety degree port (Col. 5, lines 52-56), the third terminal corresponding to an isolation port (Fig. 14, see VISO at T3 in modified Fig. 14 above), and the fourth terminal corresponding to a common port (Fig. 14, see output at T4 in modified Fig. 14 above).
Regarding claim 18, Lyalin discloses:
A method of amplification in a mobile phone (Lyalin, Fig. 18 and Fig. 14), the method comprising: providing a first radio frequency signal from an output of a carrier amplifier to a first terminal of a combiner (Fig. 14, see connection between carrier amplifier 611 and combiner terminal T1 in modified Fig. 14 above); providing a first radio frequency signal from an output of a peaking amplifier to a second terminal of the combiner (Fig. 14, see connection between peaking amplifier 612 and combiner terminal T2 in modified Fig. 14 above), the combiner including a first capacitor (Lyalin, Fig. 14, see C1 in modified Fig. 14 below) electrically connected between the first terminal and the third terminal (Fig. 14, see connection between C1, T1, and T3 in modified Fig. 14 below), a second capacitor (Fig. 14, see C2 in modified Fig. 14 below) electrically connected between the second terminal and the fourth terminal (Fig. 14, see connection between C2, T2, and T4 in modified Fig. 14 below), and a third capacitor (Fig. 14, see C3 in modified Fig. 14 below) electrically connected between the third terminal and a ground voltage (Fig. 14, see connection between C3, T3, and ground in modified Fig. 14 below), but fails to disclose monitoring an amount of saturation of the carrier amplifier using a saturation detector of the carrier amplifier; providing a first radio frequency signal from an output of a load modulating amplifier to a third terminal of the combiner; controlling a current level of a first controllable bias current source of the peaking amplifier using a first output of the saturation detector; controlling a current level of a second controllable bias current source of the load modulating amplifier using a second output of the saturation detector; and combining the first radio frequency signal, the second radio frequency signal, and the third radio frequency signal to generate a radio frequency output signal using the combiner, and providing the radio frequency output signal at a fourth terminal of the combiner.
However, Barton teaches providing a first radio frequency signal from an output of a load modulating amplifier to a third terminal of the combiner (Barton, Fig. 6, see top amplifier labeled “class C”; and combining the first radio frequency signal, the second radio frequency signal, and the third radio frequency signal to generate a radio frequency output signal using the combiner (Fig. 6, see 2 boxes in bottom right corner [labeled combiner in modified figure 6 above]), and providing the radio frequency output signal at a fourth terminal of the combiner (Fig. 6, see arrow on bottom right corner “modulated RF output signal” and connection to combiner in modified figure 6 above), but fails to teach monitoring an amount of saturation of the carrier amplifier using a saturation detector of the carrier amplifier; controlling a current level of a first controllable bias current source of the peaking amplifier using a first output of the saturation detector; controlling a current level of a second controllable bias current source of the load modulating amplifier using a second output of the saturation detector.
However, Scott teaches monitoring an amount of saturation of the carrier amplifier using a saturation detector of the carrier amplifier (Scott, Fig. 4, Element 24); controlling a current level of a first controllable bias current source (Fig. 4, Element 48) of the peaking amplifier using a first output of the saturation detector (Paragraph 49, lines 1-9); controlling a current level of a second controllable bias current source (Fig. 4, Element 48) of the load modulating amplifier using a second output of the saturation detector (Paragraph 49, lines 1-9).
Lyalin, Barton, and Scott are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Lyalin to incorporate the teachings of Barton to include providing a signal to an additional load modulating amplifier (and modify the combiner to be the combiner taught by Barton to be able to connect the load modulating amplifier in the circuit), which would have the effect of allowing for dynamic load modulation, which improves efficiency (Barton, Col. 3, lines 9-13) and to include a saturation detector to monitor the saturation in the carrier amplifier and activate or deactivate the peaking and load modulating amplifiers by controlling a bias current source of the amplifiers, which would have the effect of providing an automated system for controlling the activation of different amplifiers (Scott, Page 3, Paragraph 40, lines 15-19).
Regarding claim 19, Lyalin further discloses:
further comprising activating the peaking amplifier at a first power threshold (Lyalin, Col. 4, lines 47-54), but fails to disclose and activating the load modulating amplifier at a second power threshold greater than the first power threshold.
However, Barton teaches and activating the load modulating amplifier at a second power threshold greater than the first power threshold (Barton Col. 5, line 64 – Col. 6, line 2 [both main amplifiers are activated before the load modulating amplifier]).
Lyalin, Barton, and Scott are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Lyalin to incorporate the teachings of Barton to activate the load modulating amplifier at a threshold greater than the threshold for activating the peaking amplifier, which would have the effect of enabling high output power when input power is high, while maintaining high efficiency when input power is low (Barton, Col. 6, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 20, Lyalin fails to disclose:
wherein activating the load modulating amplifier includes modulating down a load of the carrier amplifier and of the peaking amplifier.
However, Barton teaches wherein activating the load modulating amplifier includes modulating down a load of the carrier amplifier and of the peaking amplifier (Barton, Col. 6, lines 2-5).
Lyalin, Barton, and Scott are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Lyalin to incorporate the teachings of Barton to have the load modulating amplifier modulate the loads of the carrier and peaking amplifiers when it is activated, which would have the effect of allowing for high output power (Barton, Col. 6, lines 2-5).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyalin in view of Barton and Scott as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Thompson.
Regarding claim 15, Lyalin fails to disclose:
wherein the carrier amplifier includes a class AB bias circuit and the peaking amplifier includes a first class C bias circuit, but fails to disclose wherein the load modulating amplifier includes a second class C bias circuit.
However, Barton teaches wherein the load modulating amplifier includes a second class C bias circuit (Barton, Col. 3, lines 44-45), but fails to disclose wherein the carrier amplifier includes a class AB bias circuit and the peaking amplifier includes a first class C bias circuit.
However, Thompson teaches wherein the carrier amplifier includes a class AB bias circuit (Thompson, Paragraph 29, lines 1-3) and the peaking amplifier includes a first class C bias circuit (Paragraph 29, lines 3-4).
Lyalin, Barton, Scott, and Thompson are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Lyalin to incorporate the teachings of Barton and Thompson to have the load modulating amplifier include a class C bias circuit, which would have the effect of making the load modulating amplifier activate only for high powers, increasing efficiency (Barton, Col. 3, lines 58-61) and to give the carrier amplifier a class AB bias circuit and the peaking amplifier a class C bias circuit, which would have the effect of optimizing efficiency over a wide range of power levels (Thompson, Paragraph 26, lines 1-4).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyalin in view of Barton and Scott as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Mu.
Regarding claim 16, Lyalin, Barton, and Scott fail to disclose wherein the load modulating amplifier includes a cascode amplifier stage.
However, Mu teaches wherein the load modulating amplifier includes a cascode amplifier stage (Mu, Col. 11, lines 17-22).
Lyalin, Barton, Scott, and Mu are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Barton to incorporate the teachings of Mu to modify the load modulating amplifier of Barton to include a cascode amplifier stage, which would have the effect of improving the drain-to-gate capacitance response (Mu, Col. 11, lines 26-27).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton in view of Lyalin and Scott as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Osawa.
Regarding claim 21, Barton, Lyalin, and Scott fail to disclose:
wherein the peaking amplifier includes a common emitter bipolar transistor having an emitter connected to a ground voltage and a collector connected to the second terminal of the combiner, the first controllable bias current source connected between a base of the common emitter bipolar transistor and the ground voltage.
However, Osawa teaches wherein the peaking amplifier includes a common emitter bipolar transistor (Osawa, Fig. 2, 4) having an emitter connected to a ground voltage (Fig. 2, see connection between emitter of 4 and ground) and a collector connected to the second terminal of the combiner (Fig. 2, see connection between collector of 4 and output terminal of amplifier of Fig. 2), the first controllable bias current source connected between a base of the common emitter bipolar transistor and the ground voltage (Fig. 2, see connection between base of 4 and ground via bias current source 6).
Barton, Lyalin, Scott, and Osawa are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Barton to incorporate the teachings of Osawa to include the peaking amplifier design of Osawa in the circuit of Barton, which would have the effect of providing an improved quality output signal (Osawa, Page 1, Section “Detailed Description of the Invention”, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 22, Barton, Lyalin, and Scott fail to disclose:
wherein the load modulating amplifier includes a cascode bipolar transistor, and a gain bipolar transistor having an emitter connected to the ground voltage and a collector connected to the third terminal of the combiner through the cascode bipolar transistor, the second controllable bias current source connected between a base of the gain bipolar transistor and the ground voltage.
However, Osawa further teaches wherein the load modulating amplifier includes a cascode bipolar transistor (Osawa, Fig. 2, 3), and a gain bipolar transistor (Fig. 2, 4) having an emitter connected to the ground voltage (Fig. 2, see connection between emitter of 4 and ground) and a collector connected to the third terminal of the combiner through the cascode bipolar transistor (Fig. 2, see connection between collector of 4 and output terminal of amplifier of Fig. 2 via transistor 3), the second controllable bias current source connected between a base of the gain bipolar transistor and the ground voltage (Fig. 2, see connection between base of 4 and ground via bias current source 6).
Barton, Lyalin, Scott, and Osawa are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving power amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Barton to incorporate the teachings of Osawa to include the peaking amplifier design of Osawa in the circuit of Barton, which would have the effect of providing an improved quality output signal (Osawa, Page 1, Section “Detailed Description of the Invention”, lines 1-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haynes et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2017/0359031) is similar to Barton, discloses two balanced amplifiers and a load modulating amplifier.
Chan et al. (Patent Number US 11,043,920) uses a deep class C bias circuit for one of its amplifiers.
Chen et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2022/0255506) discloses an AB biased load modulating amplifier being combined with two separately controllable peaking amplifiers.
Nakatani (Patent Number US 9,136,580) discloses (Fig. 18B) a hybrid coupler comprising inductors and capacitors coupled across terminals.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LANCE TORBJORN BARTOL/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843