DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The applicant's election with traverse of species (A) X and Y are each independently CR''R''' or NR' and species (D) all of X1 to X18 are C or CR1 in the reply filed on 04/22/2025 was previously acknowledged.
Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13-31 read on the elected species.
Claims 3 and 12 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The applicant timely traversed the election requirement in the reply filed on 04/22/2025.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 11, 13-19, 21-23 and 26 amended and claims 27-31 are new due to the applicant's amendment.
Claims 1-31 are pending and claims 3 and 12 are withdrawn.
The objection to the specification and the abstract as set forth in the previous Office action are each overcome due to the applicant's amendment.
The objection to claims 1, 14, and 26 as set forth in the previous Office action are each overcome due to the applicant's amendment.
The rejections of claims 2-7, 9, 11, 13-19, and 21-23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the previous Office action are overcome due to the applicant's amendment.
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 10/28/2025 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. US-20190181349-A1 in view of Pflumm et al. US-20160190447-A1 as set forth in the previous Office action for the reasons discussed below.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. US-20190181349-A1 in view of Pflumm et al. US-20160190447-A1 as set forth in the previous Office action is herein revised to reflect the amended claim language due to the applicant's amendment and maintained.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments on pages 105-112 of the reply dated 10/28/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. US-20190181349-A1 in view of Pflumm et al. US-20160190447-A1 as set forth in the previous Office action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument -- The applicant argues on pages 105-112 of the reply that the data in the specification and the declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 10/28/2025 (hereinafter "the declaration") demonstrate that the claimed invention achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art. Specifically, the applicant argues that the cited data shows that the combination of the first compound and the second compound as claimed is superior to the combination of the first compound as claimed with a compound falling outside the claimed scope and the combination of the second compound as claimed with a compound falling outside the claimed scope. Further, the applicant argues that neither Xia nor Pflumm discloses the specific combination of the first compound and the second compound as claimed and a person skilled in the art could not have expected the technical effect could be achieved by combining the first compound and the second compound.
Examiner's response -- The applicants have the burden of explaining the proffered data as evidence of non-obviousness. Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. Evidence relied upon should establish that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. Evidence of nonobviousness must also be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. Comparison must be between the claimed subject matter and the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 716.02.
The cited data appear to be insufficient to overcome the rejection for at least the following reasons.
First, based on the teaches of Pflumm, it appears that the improvement in device performance is in fact expected. Pflumm teaches that when Pflumm's compound is employed in an organic electroluminescent device, it results in high efficiencies and low operating voltages (¶ [0120]), and the compounds has high stability (¶ [0121]-[0122]), therefore one having ordinary skill in the art would expect that incorporating the compound of Pflumm into the device of Xia would result in a device with high efficiency and low operating voltage, with high stability.
Second, the results are not commensurate in scope with what is claimed and taught by the prior art Pflumm. The data in the specification and the declaration shows only examples of claimed devices wherein the second compound is either II-7 or II-130 (shown below).
However, Pflumm teaches a compound of a formula (1) and teaches numerous exemplary compounds that meet the claimed Formula 2 in paragraph [0079], including, for example
(page 14) and compound (31)
(page 23), and compound 48
(page 28), and compound 153
(page 60). It is unclear that the same degree of difference in device performance would be observed in the case for the full scope of the second compound that is taught by Pflumm, for example, wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are groups that are more or less bulky than the biphenyl and fluorenyl groups of compounds II-7 and II-130, wherein Ar1 and Ar2 include a heteroaryl group, and/or wherein L3 is an aryl group instead of a single bond.
Third, comparison has not been made between the claimed subject matter and the closest prior art. There are no examples of claimed devices and comparative examples that differ by only the substitution of C for N at the positions corresponding to X1 and X4 in Xia's Formula 1, the modification discussed in the rejection of record. In new Comparative Example I-7, the compound PD-3 (see below) is used as the second compound and this is compared to the Example 1-1 comprising compound 70 (see below) as the claimed second compound. However, compound PD-3 differs from compound 70 by much more than only the substitution of C for N.
Therefore, it is unclear to what degree the differences in device performance in new Comparative Examples I-7 is due to the proposed substitution of C for N and to what degree the difference is due to the other differing structural features.
For at least the reasons above, the rejection is respectfully maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. US-20190181349-A1 (hereinafter "Xia") in view of Pflumm et al. US-20160190447-A1 (hereinafter "Pflumm").
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-11, and 13-31, Xia teaches light-emitting device is also disclosed, which comprises an anode, a cathode, and organic layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises a compound having a Formula 1 (¶ [0018]) in a hole injection layer (¶ [0032], ¶ [0100]), adjacent the anode (¶ [0037]), and wherein the device further comprises a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, and a light emitting layer between the hole injection layer and the cathode (¶ [0103]). Xia teaches exemplary devices wherein the hole injection layer is 10 nm and a hole transport layer is 20 nm (¶ [0153]). The device displays light and in therefore part of a display assembly. Xia teaches the device comprising the compound having improved voltage, efficiency and/or lifetime (Abstract, ¶ [0010]). Xia teaches examples of the compound of Formula 1 in paragraph [0088] including, for example,
(page 9).
Xia does not specifically disclose a compound of the claimed Formula 1. For example, the compounds shown above differ from the claimed compound in that the position corresponding to X1 and X4 in Xia's Formula 1 are each C instead of N. However, X1 and X4 in Xia's Formula 1 are defined as CR or N (¶ [0013]), and Xia teaches the compound may have the formula
or
among others (¶ [0083]).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Xia, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute C for N at the positions corresponding to X1 and X4 in Xia's Formula 1 in the compounds of Xia, because Xia teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the hole injection layer of the device of Xia and possess the properties of improved voltage, efficiency and/or lifetime as described above taught by Xia. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
The modified compounds of Xia are each a compound of the claimed Formula 1.
Xia does not specifically disclose a device as discussed above further comprising a second compound of the claimed Formula 2. However, Xia teaches that the hole injection layer may further comprise an arylamine compound (¶ [0102]).
Pflumm teaches an arylamine compound of a formula (1) for use in the hole-injection layer of an organic electroluminescent device (¶ [0095]-[0096] and ¶ [0006]). Pflumm teaches examples of the compound of Pflumm's formula (1) that meet the claimed Formula 2 in paragraph [0079], including, for example
(page 14), which corresponds to the claimed Il-1. Pflumm teaches that when the compound is employed in an organic electroluminescent device, it results in high efficiencies and low operating voltages (¶ [0120]), and Pflumm teaches that the compounds have high stability (¶ [0121]-[0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the compound of Pflumm in the hole injection layer of the device of Xia, based on the teaching of Pflumm. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a device with high efficiency and low operating voltage using a compound with high stability, as taught by Pflumm.
The compound of Pflumm is a compound of the claimed Formula 2.
The modified device of Xia in view of Pflumm meets claims 1-2, 5-11, and 13-26.
Regarding claim 4, Xia in view of Pflumm teaches the modified device as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Xia appears silent with respect to the property of wherein a Hammett constant of the electron withdrawing group(s) is greater than or equal to 0.05.
The instant specification recites that the electron withdrawing group of the present disclosure has a Hammett constant greater than or equal to 0.05 (see specification paragraph [0069]). Since Xia teaches the modified compound as discussed above comprising electron withdrawing groups specifically disclosed by the applicant, the property of wherein a Hammett constant of the electron withdrawing group is greater than or equal to 0.05 is considered to be inherent and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim, absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP § 2112.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: TAKIMIYA et al. in JP-2009242339-A disclose compounds of a formula
(page 2) including
(page 26).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786