DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the appeal filed on 07/23/2026. Claims 1, 4-9, 14, and 16 have been amended. No claims have been canceled. No new claims have been added, Thus, claims 1-17 are presently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofoed (US 5789660 A), in view of Cline (RU 2678035 C2) and Nelson (US 20200129724 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kofoed discloses an airway adapter (FIG. 1-5 Airway adapter 20) forming a part of a breathing circuit (FIG. 4 and 5 “M”, “F”, and Airway adapter 20) connected to a test subject (Set forth in [Column 6 lines 23-25]), the airway adapter comprising:
a first cylindrical portion (FIG. 1 and 4 Second portion 26) that forms a male terminal fitted into a female member (FIG. 4 and 5 “F”) forming another part of the breathing circuit;
a second cylindrical portion (FIG. 1 and 4 First portion 24) that forms a female terminal compartmentalizing a fitting portion (FIG. 1 Center section 32) into which a male member (FIG. 4 and 5 “M”) forming another part of the breathing circuit is fitted;
an airway forming portion (FIG. 1 Flow passage 34) that is disposed in an internal space compartmentalized by the first cylindrical portion and that forms an airway communicating with the fitting portion;
wherein the first cylindrical portion has a first proximal end portion that is nearer to the second cylindrical portion (As shown in the annotated FIG. 4 below).
Kofoed does not explicitly disclose a first sealing member that is disposed on an outer circumferential surface of the first cylindrical portion and that has higher flexibility than the first cylindrical portion, and wherein the first proximal end portion is nearer to the second cylindrical portion than the first sealing member.
However, Cline teaches a sealing member (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b) that is disposed on an outer circumferential surface of a first cylindrical portion (Cline: FIG. 9B Housing 308) and that has higher flexibility than the first cylindrical portion (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b can be made of silicone, rubber, or another elastomer as set forth in [0067]), the sealing member (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b) disposed at a position nearer to the first distal end portion than to the first proximal end portion.
Kofoed and Cline are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical connection devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kofoed to incorporate the teaching of Cline and include a sealing member (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b) that is disposed on an outer circumferential surface of a first cylindrical portion (Cline: FIG. 9B Housing 308) and that has higher flexibility than the first cylindrical portion (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b can be made of silicone, rubber, or another elastomer as set forth in [0067]), the sealing member (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b) disposed at a position nearer to the first distal end portion than to the first proximal end portion. The sealing member (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b) disposed at a position nearer to the first distal end portion than to the first proximal end portion would mean that in Kofoed as modified by Cline the first proximal end portion would be nearer to the second cylindrical portion than the first sealing member. Doing so would ensure the desired parts of the apparatus properly engage and form a complete seal (Cline: Set forth in [0067]).
Kofoed as modified fails to explicitly disclose, wherein in a case where the first cylindrical portion is fitted into the female member, the first sealing member is brought into contact with an inner circumferential surface of the female member such that a first gap is formed between the outer circumferential surface of the first cylindrical portion and the inner circumferential surface of the female member in at least a part of a section between the first sealing member and the first proximal end portion.
However, with the presence of a sealing member, there would be gaps on both sides of any present sealing member given that the sealing member and the inner circumferential surface would meet before the inner and outer circumferential surfaces, meaning a gap on either side would be present. With a gap present on both sides of the sealing member, there would be, according to the limitation, a first gap between the outer circumferential surface of the first cylindrical portion and the inner circumferential surface of the female member in at least a part of a section between the first sealing member and the first proximal end portion.
Kofoed as modified fails to explicitly disclose, wherein a width of the first gap in a radial direction of the first cylindrical portion changes along a direction that the first cylindrical portion is fitted into the female member.
However, Nelson teaches a male connector that tapers in a radial direction along where the male connector would be fitted into a female connector (Nelson: the exterior surface of the wall forming the connector 270 preferably tapers along at least part of the length thereof such that at least a portion of the connector 270 nearer the first end 271 has a greater exterior dimension than an exterior dimension of a portion of the connector 27 nearer the second end 272 as set forth in [0252]). This would mean that the gap formed between the tapered end of the male connector when into a female connector would increase radially toward the end of the male connector member.
Kofoed and Nelson are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical connection devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first cylindrical portion of Kofoed to incorporate the teaching of Cline and include wherein the male connector tapers in a radial direction along where the male connector would be fitted into a female connector (Nelson: the exterior surface of the wall forming the connector 270 preferably tapers along at least part of the length thereof such that at least a portion of the connector 270 nearer the first end 271 has a greater exterior dimension than an exterior dimension of a portion of the connector 27 nearer the second end 272 as set forth in [0252]), which would mean that the gap formed between the tapered end of the male connector when into a female connector would increase radially toward the end of the male connector member. Doing so is a commonly used feature for tube connectors and would facilitate insertion of the end of the connector into the tube, or female member, receiving it and would allow for a seal being formed on continued insertion thereof (Nelson: As set forth in [0252]). In the case of Kofoed as modified, given the tapered nature of the Furst cylindrical portion, while the first cylindrical portion is fitted into the female member, a width of the first gap in a radial direction of the first cylindrical portion would change along the direction in which the tubes are fit into one another.
Regarding claim 2, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Kofoed as modified by Cline further teaches the airway adapter, wherein the first sealing member (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b) has a ring shape extending in a circumferential direction of the first cylindrical portion (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b is extending from housing 308).
Regarding claim 3, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Kofoed as modified by Cline further teaches the airway adapter (FIG. 1-5 Airway adapter 20), wherein the first cylindrical portion (FIG. 1 and 4 Second portion 26) has a first distal end portion that is farther from the second cylindrical portion (As shown in annotated FIG. 4 below), than the first sealing member (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b which is located on the first cylindrical portion as modified above);
and the first sealing (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing rings 314a 314b) disposed at a position nearer to the first distal end portion than to the first proximal end portion (As shown in the annotated figure below and as modified above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Kofoed as modified by Nelson further teaches the airway adapter wherein the first cylindrical portion has a first distal end portion that is farther from the second cylindrical portion (As shown in the annotated FIG. 4 below), than the first sealing member (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b which is located on the first cylindrical portion as modified above);
and a dimension in the radial direction of the first cylindrical portion is smaller in value at the first distal end portion than at the first proximal end portion (Nelson: The exterior surface of the wall forming the connector 270 preferably tapers along at least part of the length thereof such that at least a portion of the connector 270 nearer the first end 271 has a greater exterior dimension than an exterior dimension of a portion of the connector 27 nearer the second end 272 as set forth in [0252]).
Regarding claim 6, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Kofoed does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sealing member includes a plurality of sealing members that are arrayed along a direction in which the male terminal is fitted into the female member.
However, Cline teaches a plurality of sealing members (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing rings 314a and 314b) that are arrayed along a direction in which the male terminal (Cline: FIG. 9B Housing 308) is fitted into the female member.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kofoed to incorporate the teaching of Cline and include a plurality of sealing members (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing rings 314a and 314b) that are arrayed along a direction in which the male terminal (Cline: FIG. 9B Housing 308) is fitted into the female member. It is obvious in the art that including more rings would improve the seal provided by the sealing member.
Regarding claim 7, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 6 above.
Kofoed does not explicitly disclose the airway adapter, wherein the first sealing members consist of at least two first sealing members having different protrusion heights from the outer circumferential surface; and one of the first sealing members that has a larger protrusion height is disposed at a position where an interval between an inner circumferential surface of the female member and the outer circumferential surface is larger when the first cylindrical portion is fitted into the female member.
However, Kofoed as modified by Nelson above teaches wherein a dimension in a radial direction of a cylindrical portion is smaller in value at a distal end portion than at a proximal end portion (Nelson: the exterior surface of the wall forming the connector 270 preferably tapers along at least part of the length thereof such that at least a portion of the connector 270 nearer the first end 271 has a greater exterior dimension than an exterior dimension of a portion of the connector 27 nearer the second end 272 as set forth in [0252]). Further, it would be obvious to someone skilled in the art that if the first cylindrical portion is tapered (As set forth above as modified by Nelson), the first sealing members consisting of at least two first sealing members, would have to have different protrusion heights from the outer circumferential surface (FIG. 4 Outside of second portion 26); and one of the first sealing members would have to have a larger protrusion height disposed at a position where an interval between an inner circumferential surface of the female member (FIG. 4 inside “F”) and the outer circumferential surface is larger when the first cylindrical portion is fitted into the female member. Doing so would mean that the sealing members are able to correctly provide a gas-tight seal since they will be able to engage properly with the inner circumferential surface of the female member.
Regarding claim 8, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Kofoed as modified by Cline further teaches the airway adapter, wherein the first sealing member (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing rings 314a and 314b) protrudes in the radial direction of the first cylindrical portion from the outer circumferential surface of the first cylindrical portion, and has a surface inclined along a direction that the first cylindrical portion is fitted into the female member (Cline: As shown in the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 17, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Kofoed further discloses the airway adapter, further comprising: a support portion (FIG. 2 Monitoring portion 28) that is disposed between the first cylindrical portion (FIG. 4 Second tubular portion 24) and the second cylindrical portion (FIG. 4 First tubular portion 26), and on which a sensor for detecting gas in the airway is mounted (As set forth in [Column 6 Lines 45-48]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofoed (US 5789660 A) in view of Cline (RU 2678035 C2) and Nelson (US 20200129724 A1) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Phillips (WO 2019105597 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Kofoed further discloses the airway adapter (FIG. 1-5 Airway adapter 20), wherein the first cylindrical portion (FIG. 1 and 4 Second portion 26) has a first distal end portion that is farther from the second cylindrical portion (As shown in annotated FIG. 4 below) than the first sealing member (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing ring 314b which is located on the first cylindrical portion as modified above);
Kofoed as modified does not explicitly disclose the first sealing member is disposed at a position nearer to the first proximal end portion than to the first distal end portion.
However, Philips teaches the first sealing member (Phillips: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 45) is disposed at a position nearer to the first proximal end portion than to the first distal end portion (Phillips: Shown in annotated FIG. 3 below).
Kofoed and Philips are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical connection devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kofoed to incorporate the teaching of Phillips and include the first sealing member (Phillips: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 45) is disposed at a position nearer to the first proximal end portion than to the first distal end portion. Doing so would ensure the desired parts of the apparatus properly engage and seal (Philips: As set forth in [0065]).
Claim 9, 10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofoed (US 5789660 A) in view of Cline (RU 2678035 C2) and Nelson (US 20200129724 A1) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Brudenell (WO 2021009511 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Kofoed as modified further discloses wherein the second cylindrical portion has a second proximal end portion (As shown in the annotated figure below).
Kofoed does not explicitly disclose the airway adapter, further comprising: a second sealing member that is disposed on an inner circumferential surface of the second cylindrical portion in the fitting portion, and that has higher flexibility than the second cylindrical portion and wherein the second proximal end portion is nearer to the first cylindrical portion than the second sealing member.
However, Brudenell teaches a second sealing member (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302) that is disposed on an inner circumferential surface of the second cylindrical portion (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Half 301b) in the fitting portion (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Inside of half 301b), and that has higher flexibility than the second cylindrical portion (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302 may be formed of rubber as set forth on [Page 11 Lines 30-31]).
Kofoed and Brudenell are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical connection devices involving gas. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kofoed to incorporate the teaching of Brudenell and include a second sealing member (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302) that is disposed on an inner circumferential surface of the second cylindrical portion (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Half 301b) in the fitting portion (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Inside of half 301b), and that has higher flexibility than the second cylindrical portion (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302 may be formed of rubber as set forth on [Page 11 Lines 30-31]). The second sealing member (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302) being disposed on an inner circumferential surface of the second cylindrical portion would mean that the second proximal end portion is nearer to the first cylindrical portion than the second sealing member. Doing so would ensure a gas tight seal between the two components (Brudenell: As set forth on [Page 11 Lines 28-31]).
Kofoed as modified fails to explicitly disclose, wherein in a case where the male member is fitted into the fitting portion, the second sealing member is brought into contact with an outer circumferential surface of the male member such that a second gap is formed between the inner circumferential surface of the second cylindrical portion and the outer circumferential surface of the male member in at least a part of a section between the second sealing member and the second proximal end portion.
However, with the presence of a sealing member, there would be gaps on both sides of any present sealing member given that the sealing member and the inner circumferential surface would meet before the inner and outer circumferential surfaces, meaning a gap on either side would be present. With a gap present on both sides of the sealing member, there would be, according to the limitation, a second gap formed between the inner circumferential surface of the second cylindrical portion and the outer circumferential surface of the male member in at least a part of a section between the second sealing member and the second proximal end portion when the second sealing member is brought into contact with an outer circumferential surface of the male member.
Kofoed as modified fails to explicitly disclose, wherein a width of the second gap in a radial direction of the second cylindrical portion changes along a direction that the male member is fitted into the fitting portion.
However, Nelson teaches a female connector that tapers in a radial direction along where the male connector would be fitted into a female connector (Nelson: Tapering may be provided in the inside of the collar terminating the respiratory tube, the inside of the collar narrowing from its mouth as set forth in [0252]). This would mean that the gap formed between the end of the female connector narrowing from its mouth, when a male connector is fitted within would increase radially toward the end of the female connector member.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second cylindrical portion of Kofoed to incorporate the teaching of Nelson and include wherein the female connector portion tapers in a radial direction along where the male connector would be fitted into a female connector (Nelson: Tapering may be provided in the inside of the collar terminating the respiratory tube, the inside of the collar narrowing from its mouth as set forth in [0252]), which would mean that the gap formed between the end of the female connector narrowing from its mouth, when a male connector is fitted within would increase radially toward the end of the female connector member. Doing so is a commonly used feature for tube connectors and would facilitate insertion of the end of a connector into the collar, or female member, receiving it and would allow for a seal being formed on continued insertion thereof (Nelson: As set forth in [0252]). In the case of Kofoed as modified, given the tapered nature of the second cylindrical portion, while a male member is fitted in the second cylindrical portion, a width of the second gap in a radial direction of the second cylindrical portion would change along the direction in which the tubes are fit into one another.
Regarding claim 10, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 9 above.
Kofoed as modified by Brudenell further teaches the airway adapter, wherein the second sealing member (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302) has a ring shape that extends in a circumferential direction of the second cylindrical portion (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302 is extending from half 301b).
Regarding claim 12, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 9 above.
Kofoed as modified further discloses the airway adapter (FIG. 1-5 Airway adapter 20), wherein the fitting portion has a second distal end portion (As shown in the annotated FIG. 4 below) that is farther from the first cylindrical portion than the second sealing member (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302 being disposed on the inner circumferential surface of the second cylindrical portion);
Kofoed as modified does not explicitly the second sealing member is disposed at a position nearer to the second proximal end portion than to the second distal end portion.
However, Brudenell teaches the second sealing member (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302) is disposed at a position nearer to the second proximal end portion than to the second distal end portion (Brudenell: As shown in the annotated figure below).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kofoed to incorporate the teaching of Brudenell and include the second sealing member (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302) is disposed at a position nearer to the second proximal end portion than to the second distal end portion (Brudenell: As shown in the annotated figure). Doing so would ensure the desired parts of the apparatus properly engage and seal (Brudenell: As set forth on [Page 11 Lines 28-31]).
Regarding claim 13, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 9 above.
Kofoed as modified by Nelson further teaches an airway adapter, wherein the second cylindrical portion has a second proximal end portion that is nearer to the first cylindrical portion, and a second distal end portion (As shown in the annotated FIG. 4 below) that is farther from the first cylindrical portion than the second sealing member (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302 being disposed on the inner circumferential surface of the second cylindrical portion); and a dimension of the fitting portion in the radial direction of the second cylindrical portion is smaller in value at the second proximal end portion than at the second distal end portion (Nelson: Tapering may be provided in the inside of the collar terminating the respiratory tube, the inside of the collar narrowing from its mouth as set forth in [0252]).
Regarding claim 14, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 9 above.
Kofoed as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the second sealing member includes a plurality of sealing members that are arrayed along the direction that the male member is fitted into the fitting portion.
However, Cline teaches a plurality of sealing members (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing rings 314a and 314b).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kofoed to incorporate the teaching of Cline and include a plurality of sealing members (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing rings 314a and 314b). It is obvious in the art that including more rings would improve the seal provided by the sealing member. In the invention as modified the plurality of sealing members would be arranged along the surface of the fitting portion of the female member in a direction in which a male member would be fitted into.
Regarding claim 15, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 14 above.
Kofoed as modified by Brudenell and Cline teaches the airway adapter, wherein the second sealing member consisting of at least two second sealing members (Cline: FIG. 9B Sealing rings 314a and 314b).
Kofoed as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the sealing members having different protrusion heights from the inner circumferential surface; and one of the second sealing members that has a larger protrusion height is disposed at a position where an interval between an outer circumferential surface of the male member and the inner circumferential surface is larger when the male member is fitted into the fitting portion.
However, it would be obvious to someone skilled in the art that if the fitting portion in the radial direction of the second cylindrical portion is smaller in value at the second proximal end portion than at the second distal end portion (Nelson: Tapering may be provided in the inside of the collar terminating the respiratory tube, the inside of the collar narrowing from its mouth as set forth in [0252]), the second sealing members consisting of at least two second sealing members would have to have different protrusion heights from the inner circumferential surface (FIG. 4 Inside first portion 24); and one of the second sealing members would have to have a larger protrusion height disposed at the position where an interval between an outer circumferential surface of the male member (FIG. 4 Outside “M”) and the inner circumferential surface is larger when the male member is fitted into the fitting portion. Doing so would mean that the sealing members are able to correctly provide a gas-tight seal since they will be able to engage properly with the outer circumferential surface of the male member.
Regarding claim 16, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 9 above.
Kofoed as modified by Brudenell further teaches the airway adapter wherein the second sealing member (Brudenell: Sealing ring 302) protrudes in the radial direction of the first cylindrical portion from an inner circumferential surface of the second cylindrical portion (Brudenell: As shown in the annotated figure below) and has an inclined surface extending along the direction that the male member is fitted into the fitting portion (Brudenell: As shown in the annotated figure below).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofoed (US 5789660 A), in view of Cline (RU 2678035 C2) and Nelson (US 20200129724 A1), in further view of Brudenell (WO 2021009511 A1) as applied to claim 9, in further view of Chiu (US 20140378950 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kofoed as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 9 above.
Kofoed further discloses the airway adapter (FIG. 1-5 Airway adapter 20), wherein the fitting portion has a second distal end portion (As shown in the annotated FIG. 4 below) that is farther from the first cylindrical portion than the second sealing member (Brudenell: FIG. 3 Sealing ring 302 being disposed on the inner circumferential surface of the second cylindrical portion).
Kofoed as modified does not explicitly disclose the second sealing member is disposed at a position nearer to the second distal end portion than to the second proximal end portion.
However, Chiu further teaches the second sealing member (Chiu: FIG. 4 Sealing member 4) is disposed at a position nearer to the second distal end portion than to the second proximal end portion (Chiu: As shown in the annotated figure below).
Kofoed and Chiu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of connectors for medical use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kofoed to incorporate the teaching of Chiu and include the second sealing member (Chiu: FIG. 4 Sealing member 4) is disposed at a position nearer to the second distal end portion than to the second proximal end portion (Chiu: As shown in the annotated figure). Doing so would ensure the desired parts of the apparatus properly engage and seal (Chiu: As set forth in [0023]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and dependent claims 2-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Gordon is no longer used to address the claim limitations. New grounds of rejection are made above in view of Kofoed as further modified by Nelson.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEIRA EILEEN CALLISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785