Details
Claims 1-4, 7-11 and 13-15 are pending.
Claims 1-4, 7-11 and 13-15 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira et al (Pub. No.: US 2020/0284883 A1) in view of Ayers (Pub. No.: US 2022/0043459 A1) and HUANGFU (Pub. No.: US 2020/0067920 A1).
As per claim 1, Ferreira discloses a LIDAR device (Ferreira, Fig 1, Fig 108, paragraph 1696-1697, 3085, wherein the components described herein may be combined together or may be included separately in a LIDAR system (e.g., in a LIDAR device)) comprising: - an optoelectronic component (Ferreira, paragraph 0034-0035, wherein “The LIDAR Sensor System may comprise at least one light module. Said one light module has a light source and a driver connected to the light source. The LIDAR Sensor System further has an interface unit, in particular a hardware interface, configured to receive, emit, and/or store data signals. The interface unit may connect to the driver and/or to the light source for controlling the operation state of the driver and/or the operation of the light source. The light source may be configured to emit radiation in the visible and/or the non-visible spectral range, as for example in the far-red range of the electromagnetic spectrum. It may be configured to emit monochromatic laser light. The light source may be an integral part of the LIDAR Sensor System as well as a remote yet connected element. It may be placed in various geometrical patterns, distance pitches and may be configured for alternating of color or wavelength emission or intensity or beam angle.”)- a standard communication interface (Ferreira, paragraph 3062, 0393, 4382, wherein the Retrofit LIDAR sensor device may be further equipped with BLUETOOTH functions and/or Wi-Fi functions. By this, communication to external devices like a Smartphone or a car radio may be established. By way of example, the optical communication channel may be used for exchange of sensitive information (e.g. key exchange or safety critical information, for example authentication data), e.g. the optical communication channel may be used in conjunction with the radio-based channel for authentication and key exchange.);- an optical communication interface (Ferreira, paragraph 4382, wherein by way of example, the optical communication channel may be used for exchange of sensitive information (e.g. key exchange or safety critical information, for example authentication data), e.g. the optical communication channel may be used in conjunction with the radio-based channel for authentication and key exchange. This may increase the security of the communication, similar to a 2-factor-authentification (illustratively, communication over two different media));- a processing circuit (Ferreira, Fig 108, paragraph 1696-1697) configured to: - (Ferreira, paragraph 1892, 5417, 6218 wherein from time to time, the LIDAR sensor system may additionally be upgraded with upgrade parameters loaded into the firmware of the LIDAR sensor system 5900. These upgrade parameters may modify the field of view 5912 or laser beam profile, or they may upgrade the configuration of the spatial light modulator 5910. As such, the spatial light modulator 5910 may be optimized from time to time in order to achieve an optimal laser beam profile. Thus, the receiving ); - generate an authentication code (Ferreira, paragraph 4382, wherein “by way of example, the optical communication channel may be used for exchange of sensitive information (e.g. key exchange or safety critical information, for example authentication data)”; wherein the authentication data/ key exchange that is exchanged using the optical communication channel can be the generated authentication code);- encode the authentication code (Ferreira, paragraph 4382, wherein “by way of example, the optical communication channel may be used for exchange of sensitive information (e.g. key exchange or safety critical information, for example authentication data)”; wherein the authentication data/ key exchange that is exchanged using the optical communication channel is encoded in the format (light) for it to be exchanged using the optical communication channel);- generate instructions to control the optoelectronic component to emit a light signal in accordance with the encoded authentication code (Ferreira, paragraph 4382, wherein “by way of example, the optical communication channel may be used for exchange of sensitive information (e.g. key exchange or safety critical information, for example authentication data)”; wherein the authentication data/ key exchange that is exchanged using the optical communication channel is encoded in the format (light) for it to be exchanged using the optical communication channel); and - authenticate (Ferreira, paragraph 4382, wherein by way of example, the optical communication channel may be used for exchange of sensitive information (e.g. key exchange or safety critical information, for example authentication data), e.g. the optical communication channel may be used in conjunction with the radio-based channel for authentication and key exchange. This may increase the security of the communication, similar to a 2-factor-authentification (illustratively, communication over two different media)), wherein the optical communication interface is provided by the optoelectronic component (Ferreira, paragraph 4709, 4381-4382 wherein By way of example, the optical communication channel may be used for exchange of sensitive information (e.g. key exchange or safety critical information, for example authentication data), e.g. the optical communication channel may be used in conjunction with the radio-based channel for authentication and key exchange. This may increase the security of the communication, similar to a 2-factor-authentification (illustratively, communication over two different media)). Ferreira teaches modifying the software of the LIDAR device from time to time but does not explicitly disclose to receive a request to perform the modification. However, performing software modification/updating/upgrading in response to a request is well known in the art. For example, Ayers discloses to receive a request (Ayers, paragraph 0051, wherein EEMS 6 may transmit requests for sensor data, firmware updates, or other data to monitoring devices 33).
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ferreira such that a request is received to modify the software as claimed because this would have provided a way to upgrade/update. modify LIDAR devices only when the user is interested.Ferreira and Ayers do not explicitly disclose wherein the authentication code comprises a random number, and/or wherein the authentication code comprises at least one of a serial number associated with the LIDAR device, lifetime information associated with the LIDAR device, or geographical information associated with the LIDAR device. However, using a random number and/or a serial number as an authentication code is well known in the art. For example, HUANGFU discloses wherein the authentication code comprises a random number (HUANGFU, paragraph 0029-0030, 0034-0035, wherein “In one embodiment, the networking authentication information may include characters. As shown in FIG. 3, in the method of the embodiment, the step of determining the light emission control signal corresponding to the networking authentication information based on the preset rule may be implemented by step 301. In step 301, the characters in the networking authentication information are converted into corresponding light emission control signals by a Morse code rule or an American Standard Code for Information Interchange (ASCII) rule, wherein the converting the characters in the networking authentication information into the corresponding light emission control signals by the Morse code rule refers to the above-described conversion process of, e.g., the character a and the character b. For converting the characters in the networking authentication information into corresponding light emission control signals by the ASCII rule, different combinations of 0 and 1 may be used to correspond to different characters, and 0 and 1 in the characters may correspond to the short-time light emission and the period-of-time light emission, respectively”; “In one embodiment, the networking authentication information may include at least one of a networking password, a networking service set identification and a running parameter”; wherein it is well known to provide a random characters as a network password).
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ferreira and Ayers using HUANGFU such that the authentication code is a random number and or a serial number as claimed because this would have provided a way to allow converting the authentication code into a light emission control signal quickly and conveniently (see HUANGFU paragraph 0034).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Ferreira further discloses wherein the standard communication interface comprises one of a wired communication interface or a radio-based wireless communication interface (Ferreira, paragraph 0010, 0074, 0362,4329, 4381, wherein The LIDAR Sensor System therefore may have a data interface to receive the measured values and/or data. The data interface may be provided for wire-bound transmission or wireless transmission);
As per claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and Ferreira further discloses wherein the optoelectronic component comprises a light source configured to emit a light signal (Ferreira, Fig 133D, 133E, paragraph 1257, wherein LIDAR system 12000 may include at least one light source 42. The light source 42 may be configured to emit light, e.g. a light signal (e.g., to generate a light beam 12008). The light source 42 may be configured to emit light having a predefined wavelength, e.g. in a predefined wavelength range. For example, the light source 42 may be configured to emit light in the infra-red and/or near infra-red range (for example in the range from about 700 nm to about 5000 nm, for example in the range from about 860 nm to about 2000 nm, for example 905 nm). The light source 42 may be configured to emit LIDAR light (e.g., the light signal may be LIDAR light). The light source 42 may include a light source and/or optics for emitting light in a directional manner, for example for emitting collimated light (e.g., for emitting laser light). The light source 42 may be configured to emit light in a continuous manner and/or it may be configured to emit light in a pulsed manner (e.g., to emit a sequence of light pulses, such as a sequence of laser pulses)), and wherein the optical communication interface is provided at least in part by a modulation of the light source to provide the light signal (Ferreira, Fig 133D, 133E, paragraph 3358, 3367 wherein LIDAR system may be configured to superimpose a modulation on the emitted light (e.g., on the emitted light signals, such as on emitted light pulses), such that crosstalk in the whole image resolution may be reduced or substantially eliminated.);
As per claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and Ferreira further discloses wherein the optoelectronic component comprises a sensing element configured to provide a received light signal (Ferreira, paragraph 3389, wherein the LIDAR system may include a sensor (e.g., the LIDAR sensor 52). The sensor may be configured to provide a sensor signal (e.g., an electrical signal, such as a current) representing a received light signal (e.g., a main signal and a superimposed modulation)), and wherein the optical communication interface is defined at least in part by a demodulation of the light signal received at the sensing element (Ferreira, paragraph 3529, 4380 wherein the term “signal demodulation” (also referred to as “electrical demodulation”) may be used to describe a decoding of data from a signal (e.g., from a light signal, such as a light pulse). Electrical modulation may be referred to in the following as modulation, where appropriate. Electrical demodulation may be referred to in the following as demodulation, where appropriate. Illustratively, in the context of the present application, the modulation performed by a signal modulator may be a signal modulation (e.g., an electrical modulation), and a demodulation performed by one or more processors may be a signal demodulation (e.g., an electrical demodulation));
As per claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated and Ferreira further discloses wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: receive an authentication response message, compare a content of the authentication response message with an authentication code, and authorize the request for the software modification in accordance with a result of the comparison (Ferreira, Fig 183-185, paragraph 5093-5094, 5119 wherein if the vehicle 18302 (e.g. the car) has the pre-shared (cryptographic, e.g. symmetric) key (“Yes” in 18504), the vehicle 18302 (e.g. the car) may generate a random number RN_C and further generates a random number message including the random number RN_C and sends the random number message via the OBB communication channel 18314 to the parking lot 18304 in 18508. In case the vehicle 18302 (e.g. the car) does not receive a further random number RN_P from the parking lot 18304 via the OBB communication channel 18314 (see FIG. 184) (this is checked in 18510)—“No” in 18510—the vehicle 18302 (e.g. the car) assumes that the parking lot 18304 (communication peer) does not require mutual authentication and performs the authentication process as described further below continuing in 18514 In case the vehicle 18302 (e.g. the car) receives and decodes the further random number RN_P from the parking lot 18304 via the Lidar-based OOB communication channel 18314 (“Yes” in 18510), the vehicle 18302 (e.g. the car) assumes that the parking lot 18304 requires mutual authentication and generates and sends a first authentication message 1 to the parking lot 18304 via the in-band communication channel 18312 (in 18512). After having received and decoded a second authentication message 2 from the parking lot 18304 via in-band communication channel 18312 (in 18514), the vehicle 18302 (e.g. the car) may verify the second authentication message 2 in 18516. If the verification fails (“No” in 18516), the authentication has failed and the process is finished (e.g. by generating and sending a corresponding failure message to the parking lot 18304) in 18506. If the verification was successful (“Yes” in 18516), the vehicle 18302 allows a requested resource access by the parking lot 18304 (in general by the authenticated communication peer) in 18518. Then, the authentication process is successfully finished in 18520);
Claims 8-11 and 15 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1-9.
As per claim 13, claim 1 is incorporated and Ferreira further discloses wherein the standard communication interface consists of a wired communication interface (Ferreira, paragraph 0074, wherein “The LIDAR Sensor System therefore may have a data interface to receive the measured values and/or data. The data interface may be provided for wire-bound transmission or wireless transmission”; paragraph 4382, wherein “by way of example, the optical communication channel may be used for exchange of sensitive information (e.g. key exchange or safety critical information, for example authentication data), e.g. the optical communication channel may be used in conjunction with the radio-based channel for authentication and key exchange”);
As per claim 14, claim 1 is incorporated and Ferreira further discloses wherein the standard communication interface consists of a radio-based wireless communication interface (Ferreira, paragraph 0074, wherein “The LIDAR Sensor System therefore may have a data interface to receive the measured values and/or data. The data interface may be provided for wire-bound transmission or wireless transmission”; paragraph 4382, wherein “by way of example, the optical communication channel may be used for exchange of sensitive information (e.g. key exchange or safety critical information, for example authentication data), e.g. the optical communication channel may be used in conjunction with the radio-based channel for authentication and key exchange”);
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/25/2025 have been fully considered but are now moot in lights of the new mapping and/or new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/HAMZA N ALGIBHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441