DETAILED ACTION
RCE filed 4/13/2025 is acknowledged. Amendment filed 3/16/2026 is entered.
Amendments to the paragraph [0098] of the Specification are acknowledged.
Claims 1, 14, 21, and 34 have been amended.
Claims 7, 11, 19, 20, 23, 37, and 40 have been previously cancelled.
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-18, 21, 22, 24-36, 38, and 39 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-18, 21, 22, 24-31, 33-36, 38, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osawa et al. (WO2019239505), hereafter Osawa, in view of Uchiyama (EP3373503A1) and Zalewski et al. (US20170090036A1), hereafter Zalewski.
Regarding claims 1 and 12-14,
Osawa discloses a method (Fig. 3-4) an apparatus (Fig. 11, UE 20) for wireless communication at a first wireless device (Fig. 2, Source) comprising at least one memory (1002), at least one transceiver (1004), and at least one processor (1001), communicatively connected to the at least one memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to detect an object in an environment that obstructs synchronization with a network (Fig. 2; paragraph 20-23; detecting disturbance state/blockage between Source and Destination based on SLSS/sidelink sync signal) and transmit, via the at least one transceiver, to at least one second wireless device (Fig. 11, base station 10), a message indicating the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network (paragraph 46; notify base station of the detection of disturbance state) and receiving a synchronization sisgnal from the at least one second wireless device in response to the message (paragraph 21; re-establish synchronization after interference detection).
Osawa discloses use of RSRP (paragraph 22, 34) but fails to expressly disclose the message includes information corresponding to at least one synchronization source, SyncRef UE, RSU or base station, proximate the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network included in a data structure indicating the object included in a data structure indicating the object and further comprising at least one other IE indicating a set of vehicle or non-vehicle specific characteristics associated with the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network or comprising an upcoming outage indication along direction of travel of the first wireless device.
Uchiyama discloses analogous art disclosing V2X synchronization in a shielded (i.e. obstructed) area using several types of synchronization source signals including signaling information corresponding to at least one synchronization source, SyncRef UE, RSU or base station, proximate the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network (Fig. 1, 6-8, 10; paragraph 49-57; identifying various synchronization source signals including near an obstructed/shielded area, i.e. tunnel) included in a data structure indicating the object (Fig. 7, S420, S428; paragraph 58; eNB instructs the UE through SIB/DCI, i.e. data structure, indicating proximity and direction relative to an obstruction/tunnel) further comprising at least one other IE indicating a set of vehicle and non-vehicle specific characteristics associated with the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network (paragraph 58-59; instructions may further include priority table, changeover instruction, lane ID, etc. corresponding to vehicle & non-vehicle specific characteristics related to the obstructing object/tunnel) and comprising an upcoming outage indication along direction of travel of the first wireless device (Fig. 7, step 412-416; Fig. 8, step 444-448; paragraph 58/pg. 8, lines 45-55; if UE is positioned near a tunnel and proceeding into the tunnel along its direction of movement, eNB instructs UE to select local sync).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Osawa by signaling information corresponding to at least one synchronization source, SyncRef UE, RSU or base station, proximate the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network included in a data structure indicating the object included in a data structure indicating the object and further comprising at least one other IE indicating a set of vehicle and non-vehicle specific characteristics associated with the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network and comprising an upcoming outage indication along direction of travel of the first wireless device, as shown by Uchiyama, thereby enabling dynamic synchronization near the border between obstructed and unobstructed areas.
Both Osawa and Uchiyama disclose obstruction to synchronization, as shown above, but do not expressly disclose non-vehicle specific characteristics comprises jammer data.
Zalewski discloses analogous art for verifying plausibility of GNSS position signals (Title) including jammer data as non-vehicle specific characteristics affecting synchronization in V2X (paragraphs 3-9; GNSS/GPS jammer mask the position signals of GNSS as an obstruction to synchronization).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Osawa and Uchiyama by providing jammer data as non-vehicle specific characteristics affecting synchronization, as shown in Zalewski, thereby enabling the verification of GNSS positioning in the presence of artificial jammers to allow synchronization in V2X environments.
Regarding claims 21, 24-26, 28, 34, and 36,
Osawa discloses a method (Fig. 3-4) and apparatus (Fig. 11, base station 20) for wireless communication at a second wireless device comprising a memory (1002) at least one transceiver (1004) and at least one processor (1001) communicatively connected to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to receive, from a first wireless device (Fig. 2, Source), a message indicating an object that obstructs synchronization with a network (paragraph 46; UE notifies base station of the detection of disturbance state) and perform a synchronization mitigation action in response to receiving the message indicating the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network (paragraph 47; base station transmits a cause (i.e. blockage) for relay to another UE performing sidelink communication with the Source UE) and transmit, to the first wireless device in response to the message, a synchronization signal as synchronization source (paragraph 21; re-establish synchronization after interference detection).
Osawa discloses use of RSRP (paragraph 22, 34) but fails to expressly disclose the message includes information corresponding to at least one synchronization source, SyncRef UE, RSU or base station, proximate the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network included in a data structure indicating the object included in a data structure indicating the object and further comprising at least one other IE indicating a set of vehicle or non-vehicle specific characteristics associated with the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network or comprising an upcoming outage indication along direction of travel of the first wireless device.
Uchiyama discloses analogous art disclosing V2X synchronization in a shielded (i.e. obstructed) area using several types of synchronization source signals including signaling information corresponding to at least one synchronization source, SyncRef UE, RSU or base station, proximate the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network (Fig. 1, 6-8, 10; paragraph 49-57; identifying various synchronization source signals including near an obstructed/shielded area, i.e. tunnel) included in a data structure indicating the object (Fig. 7, S420, S428; paragraph 58; eNB instructs the UE through SIB/DCI, i.e. data structure, indicating proximity and direction relative to an obstruction/tunnel) further comprising at least one other IE indicating a set of vehicle or non-vehicle specific characteristics associated with the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network (paragraph 58-59; instructions may further include priority table, changeover instruction, lane ID, etc. corresponding to vehicle & non-vehicle specific characteristics related to the obstructing object/tunnel) and comprising an upcoming outage indication along direction of travel of the first wireless device (Fig. 7, step 412-416; Fig. 8, step 444-448; paragraph 58/pg. 8, lines 45-55; if UE is positioned near a tunnel and proceeding into the tunnel along its direction of movement, eNB instructs UE to select local sync).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Osawa by signaling information corresponding to at least one synchronization source, SyncRef UE, RSU or base station, proximate the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network included in a data structure indicating the object included in a data structure indicating the object and further comprising at least one other IE indicating a set of vehicle or non-vehicle specific characteristics with the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network and comprising an upcoming outage indication along a direction of travel associated with the first wireless device, as shown by Uchiyama, thereby enabling dynamic synchronization near the border between obstructed and unobstructed areas.
Both Osawa and Uchiyama disclose obstruction to synchronization, as shown above, but do not expressly disclose non-vehicle specific characteristics comprises jammer data.
Zalewski discloses analogous art for verifying plausibility of GNSS position signals (Title) including jammer data as non-vehicle specific characteristics affecting synchronization in V2X (paragraphs 3-9; GNSS/GPS jammer mask the position signals of GNSS as an obstruction to synchronization).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Osawa and Uchiyama by providing jammer data as non-vehicle specific characteristics affecting synchronization, as shown in Zalewski, thereby enabling the verification of GNSS positioning in the presence of artificial jammers to allow synchronization in V2X environments.
Regarding claims 2-6 and 15-18,
Osawa discloses onboard unit (OBU) including one or more sensors to detect the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network using the OBU (paragraph 23, 71; enter interference state when the sensor detects an object around the vehicle). As shown above, Osawa also discloses another/third device (base station) relays a cause of the blockage (paragraph 47) but fails to expressly disclose an indication that identifies the object in the environment that obstructs the synchronization with one or more sync sources of the network.
Uchiyama discloses an indication that identifies the object in the environment that obstructs the synchronization with one or more sync sources of the network (Fig. 1, 6-8, 10; paragraph 49-57; identifying various local/global synchronization source signals including near/in an obstructed/shielded area, i.e. tunnel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Osawa by providing an indication that identifies the object in the environment that obstructs the synchronization with one or more sync sources of the network, as shown by Uchiyama, thereby allowing anticipation of signal availability and minimizing the negative effects of signal loss.
Regarding claims 8, 10, 30, 31, and 33,
The combination of Osawa, Uchiyama, and Zalewski discloses the message comprises at least one information element (IE) corresponding to the object that obstructs the synchronization with the network, wherein the at least one IE comprises one or more detected characteristics of the object based at least on one of topography, geographic terrain, or one or more structures within the environment (Osawa: paragraph 32-33; MAC signaling; Uchiyama: Fig. 1, 6-8, 10; paragraph 49-57; identifying various local/global synchronization source signals including near/in an obstructed/shielded area, i.e. tunnel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Osawa by providing information of detected characteristics of the object based at least on one of topography, geographic terrain, or one or more structures within the environment, as shown by Uchiyama, thereby allowing anticipation of signal availability and minimizing the negative effects of signal loss.
Regarding claims 22, 27, 29, 35, 38, and 39,
The combination of Osawa, Uchiyama, and Zalewski discloses to perform the synchronization mitigation action, the at least one processor is further configured to establish a synchronization connection with at least one synchronization source identified within the message before the second wireless device enters an environment having an obstructed synchronization with the network due to the object (i.e. Uchiyama; Fig. 6-8, paragraph 49-50; tunnel/underground; see above).
Claims 9 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osawa, Uchiyama, and Zalewski, and further in view of Hormis et al. (US20200382208A1), hereafter Hormis.
Regarding claims 9 and 32,
The combination of Osawa, Uchiyama, and Zalewski does not expressly disclose, but analogous art to Hormis discloses wireless communications systems (Title) and C-V2X (paragraph 107) in which data transmitted from a misbehaving wireless device that obstructs network synchronization (paragraph 48, 50, 104; interference by jamming devices in proximity to a wireless node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Osawa, Uchiyama, and Zalewski by detecting and mitigating interference from data transmitted from a misbehaving wireless device obstructs network synchronization, as shown by Hormis, to operate in a dynamic V2X environment with a variety of interfering items.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks on pg. 12-13 of the Amendment, Applicant contends none of the cited prior art to Osawa, Uchiyama, and Zalewski discloses the newly-added limitation of providing at least one IE comprising an upcoming outage indication along direction of travel of the first wireless device, as now in claims 1, 14, 21, and 34.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As now shown in the rejection, Uchiyama discloses an upcoming outage indication along direction of travel of the first wireless device, through disclosure in Fig. 7, step 412-416; Fig. 8, step 444-448 and paragraph 58 in which Uchiyama discusses the eNB instructs the UE to select local sync source if the UE is positioned near a tunnel and proceeds into the tunnel along its direction of movement, thereby meeting a broadest reasonable interpretation of the contested claim language. Therefore, the rejections based on the combination of Osawa, Uchiyama, and Zalewski are properly maintained.
Conclusion
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477