DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 04/30/2026, claims 1, 2, 8, 11, 16, and 17 have been amended. Claims 9 and 10 were previously cancelled, and claims 21-33 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are pending and under examination.
Although Applicant indicates claim 17 is previously presented, claim 17 has been amended as “… from a list consisting of …”
Specification
The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to PCT/CA2020/051100 is ineffective because the incorporation by reference was filed after the PCT date of 08/12/2020, which considered the filing date of the US application. As such, the incorporation by reference statement must be removed, as it introduces new matter by being filed after the filing date of the application.
See MPEP 608.01(p) I B: For the incorporation by reference to be effective as a proper safeguard, the incorporation by reference statement must be filed at the time of filing of the later-filed application. An incorporation by reference statement added after an application s filing date is not effective because no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date and MPEP 1893.03(b): An international application designating the U.S. has two stages (international and national) with the filing date being the same in both stages. Often the date of entry into the national stage is confused with the filing date. It should be borne in mind that the filing date of the international stage application is also the filing date for the national stage application. Specifically, 35 U.S.C. 363 provides that an international application designating the United States shall have the effect, from its international filing date under Article 11 of the treaty, of a national application for patent regularly filed in the Patent and Trademark Office as well as:
PCT Article 11(3) - ...an international filing date shall have the effect of a regular national application in each designated State as of the international filing date, which date shall be considered to be the actual filing date in each designated State. The specification amendment filed on 02/11/2022 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the incorporation by reference to PCT/CA2020/051100.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 23, the term may be amended as “[[the]]a squeegee fault”.
In claim 11, the terms may be amended as “[[the]]a squeegee head” in line 6, “the floor surface” in line 20, “the sens[[or]]ing system” in line 24, and “[[the]]a squeegee fault” in line 26.
In claim 16, the terms may be amended as “the sens[[or]]ing system” in line 27, and “[[the]]a squeegee fault” in line 29.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 16 recites, inter alia, “an actuator module operatively connected to the squeegee head and configured to raise or lower the squeegee head relative to the surface, the actuator module comprising the squeegee motor operatively connected to the squeegee head through a mechanical linkage configured to translate rotational motion of the squeegee motor into vertical displacement of the squeegee head”. Specification presents, in ¶ 0092-95, raising and lowering the squeegee, but it appears the functions are executed by a “system”. Specification does not disclose any actuator or actuator module connected to the squeegee head and configured to raise or lower the squeegee head. Additionally, specification of the instant application does not present a mechanical linkage, nor translation of rotational motion of the squeegee motor into vertical displacement of the squeegee head.
Claims 1, 11, and 16 recites, inter alia, “a sensor system … configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head”. Specification discloses in ¶ 0092-95, a fault detection system, not the sensor system, has a method and module to detect a squeegee fault.
Claims 1, 11, and 16 recites, inter alia, “a processor coupled to the sensor system and the actuator module, the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input; and generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee in response to the fault condition, wherein the control signal causes the actuator module to autonomously reposition the squeegee head without operator intervention”. Specification introduces the processor, in ¶ 00107-09, but does not state the processor is configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault and generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee. Additionally, specification of the instant application is silent regarding the autonomous repositioning of the squeegee head, nor the intervention of an operator.
Therefore, the recitations are considered to be New Matter.
Claims 2-8 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency from claim 1, claims 12-15 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency from claim 11, and claims 17-20 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency from claim 16.
Claims 3, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, line 1, the term “the smart alert system” lacks antecedent basis. The phrase may be amended as “Claim 1 further comprising awherein the smart alert system includes at least …”
In claim 4, line 1, the term “the danger signs” lacks antecedent basis. The term may be amended as “[[the ]]danger signs”.
In claim 8, line 2, the term “the lights” lacks antecedent basis. The phrase may be amended as “Claim 1 further comprising lights wherein the lights indicate[[s]] …”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh et al. (CN 107708511A, hereinafter Sheikh), in view of Cabrera et al. (US 2019/0216283, hereinafter Cabrera) and Thomas, Sr. et al. (US 2004/0049878, hereinafter Thomas).
Regarding claim 1, Sheikh discloses a semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus for cleaning floor surfaces (Sheikh English translation, p. 2:44-45, half automatic cleaning device and method of floor), comprising:
a frame supporting at least one storage volume (fig. 2 and Sheikh English translation, p. 12:3 and 30-31, a robot frame 210 includes a debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume]);
a drive system supported by the frame and configured to move the frame along a surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 14:9-12, a drive system 240 is connected to the frame 210 and enables the robot 200 to move on a floor surface);
a cleaning assembly coupled to the frame and configured to transfer debris from the floor surface to the at least one storage volume as the drive system moves the cleaning assembly along the floor surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 7:43-51, the cleaning robot comprises the frame and a cleaning assembly 165 for cleaning a surface. The cleaning can be done by vacuum suction; p. 12:30-31, the robot includes the debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume]),
the cleaning assembly further comprises: a squeegee motor; a squeegee head mounted on a rear skirt of the cleaning assembly, the squeegee head configured to engage the floor surface and channels debris toward the cleaning assembly; an actuator module operatively connected to the squeegee head and configured to raise or lower the squeegee head relative to the floor surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 34:37-45 and figs. 30 and 34, an actuator 587 [corresponds to the recited squeegee motor] is coupled to a set of rollers 588 and a coupling part 534 [correspond to the recited actuator module] to raise or lower a rear skirt part 535. Because the actuator 587 raises or lowers the rear skirt part 535, the actuator is operatively connected to the skirt part; p. 10:8-23, the skirt may form at least a portion of a scraper made of flexible material, and it can absorb fluid. Thus, the scraper works as a squeegee. The scraper contacts a surface and entrains flow of debris to the cleaning assembly); and
a sensor system comprising a plurality of sensors (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:33-35, an electronic system of the robot comprises sensors);
a processor coupled to the sensor system and the actuator module (Sheikh English translation, p. 4:27-29, a processor is configured to operate the cleaning device based on signal receives from a sensor; p. 31:48-53, the processor is configured to execute a set of instructions for the electronic system, thus it can be coupled to actuators/motors), but does not disclose the sensor system configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage; and the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input.
Cabrera teaches, in an analogous semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the sensor system configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage (¶ 0025 and fig. 1, a semi-autonomous cleaning device comprises a rear squeegee 104. A control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using a back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor system]. The squeegee fault can be the squeegee being out of position or leaking); and the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input (¶ 0016, operation of the cleaning device can be autonomous by use of an electronic control boarding including a processor and a memory; ¶ 0025, the control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using input data from the back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh to provide the squeegee fault detection as taught by Cabrera so that a corrective action can be taken when the squeegee has a problem (Cabrera ¶ 0034).
Sheikh as modified by Cabrera teaches the processor is configured to notify to adjust the position of the squeegee in response to the fault condition (Cabrera ¶ 0025), but does not disclose the actuator module comprising the squeegee motor operatively connected to the squeegee head through a mechanical linkage configured to translate rotational motion of the squeegee motor into vertical displacement of the squeegee head, and the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee head, wherein the control signal causes the actuator module to autonomously reposition the squeegee head without operator intervention.
Thomas teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the actuator module comprising the squeegee motor operatively connected to the squeegee head through a mechanical linkage configured to translate rotational motion of the squeegee motor into vertical displacement of the squeegee head (¶ 0099 and fig. 12, a DC servo motor 150 [corresponds to the recited squeegee motor] rotates a cam 148 and moves a bracket 146 [corresponds to the recited mechanical linkage] to lift a squeegee assembly 120. Therefore, the rotational motion of the motor 150 is translated into a vertical motion of the squeegee assembly), and the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee head, wherein the control signal causes the actuator module to autonomously reposition the squeegee head without operator intervention (¶ 0099, a floor cleaning apparatus includes a control system 34 for controlling a motor 150 [corresponds to the recited actuator module] to lift a squeegee assembly 120; ¶ 0146, in case of error, a scrub behavior module 2600 sends commands to stop a cleaner from cleaning and action includes raising the squeegee assembly. The raising squeegee assembly is done autonomously by the scrub behavior module 2600 without operator intervention).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera to provide lifting of the squeegee head and to generate the control signal as taught by Thomas so that the cleaning process can be executed automatically.
Regarding claim 2, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors is selected from a list consisting of front camera, rear camera, optical camera, thermal camera, 3D camera, structured light sensor, active stereo sensor and RGB camera (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:28-p. 7:6, the sensors include cameras, and the camera can be an optical camera or a 3D camera).
Regarding claim 3, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the smart alert system includes at least one of light, sound, display screen, data notification, sound through a loudspeaker, sound through a microphone and data displayed through a touch display screen (Sheikh English translation, p. 21:43-50, an error alarm of the robot can be notified on a display of an electronic device).
Regarding claim 4, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the danger signs include alerting mode of failure, requirement of user intervention, and object obstruction by cleaning assembly (Sheikh English translation, p. 37:46-51, the electronic system receives information that operation condition is not safe or undesirable. In response to the information, the system may require a user to actuate a physical cutting-off switch. Therefore, the electronic system requires user intervention).
Regarding claim 8, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the lights indicate the modality of operation selected from a list consisting of mapping, cleaning, warning, emergency, and awaiting operator input (Sheikh English translation, p. 7:7-14, the electronic system of the robot provides a display to provide operating condition information to a user; p. 37:46-54, the electronic system can present not safe or undesirable operation condition).
Regarding claim 16, Sheikh discloses a semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus for cleaning floor surfaces (Sheikh English translation, p. 2:44-45, half automatic cleaning device and method of floor), comprising:
a frame supporting at least one storage volume (fig. 2 and Sheikh English translation, p. 12:3 and 30-31, a robot frame 210 includes a debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume]);
a drive system supported by the frame and configured to move the frame along the floor surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 14:9-12, a drive system 240 is connected to the frame 210 and enables the robot 200 to move on a floor surface);
a cleaning assembly coupled to the frame and configured to transfer debris from the floor surface to the at least one storage volume as the drive system moves the cleaning assembly along the floor surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 7:43-51, the cleaning robot comprises the frame and a cleaning assembly 165 for cleaning a surface. The cleaning can be done by vacuum suction; p. 12:30-31, the robot includes the debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume]);
the cleaning assembly further comprises: a squeegee motor; a squeegee head mounted on a rear skirt of the cleaning assembly, the squeegee head configured to engage the floor surface and channels debris toward the cleaning assembly; and an actuator module operatively connected to the squeegee head and configured to raise or lower the squeegee head relative to the floor surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 34:37-45 and figs. 30 and 34, an actuator 587 [corresponds to the recited squeegee motor] is coupled to a set of rollers 588 and a coupling part 534 [correspond to the recited actuator module] to raise or lower a rear skirt part 535. Because the actuator 587 raises or lowers the rear skirt part 535, the actuator is operatively connected to the skirt part; p. 10:8-23, the skirt may form at least a portion of a scraper made of flexible material, and it can absorb fluid. Thus, the scraper works as a squeegee. The scraper contacts a surface and entrains flow of debris to the cleaning assembly);
a front and rear sensing module comprising a plurality of sensors capable of computing and guiding a path and direction of the cleaning apparatus (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:33-35, an electronic system of the robot comprises sensors; p. 14:27-33, the sensors are connected with motors, wheels, and other suitable interference structure to determine position, velocity, and acceleration of the robot; fig. 18, a camera 493 is disposed at the front of the robot to capture front view of the robot; fig. 2 shows a rear perspective view of the semi-autonomous robot and there is a laser sensor 294. Therefore, there are sensors at the front and back of the robot);
an expandability platform (Sheikh English translation, p. 5:38-45, the robot has connected component modules including software and hardware; p. 16:45-47, the electronic system may include a mounting member 219 as an expanded hardware module); and
an electronics system supported by the frame and including at least a memory and a processor, the processor being configured to execute a set of instructions stored in the memory and receiving input from the front and rear sensing module to perform at least one or more actions in relations to the expandability platform (Sheikh English translation, p. 4:30-41, the electronic system supported by the frame has a processor and a memory. The processor performs a set of instructions stored in the memory; p. 16:45-53 and figs. 2-3, in addition to the camera at the front of the robot, the electronic system is connected with two laser transceiver 294 at front and rear sides of the robot for sensing objects; p. 5:38-45 and 6:28-41, the electronic system can control a hardware module [corresponds to the recited expandability module] such as a driving system),
a processor coupled to a sensor system and the actuator module (Sheikh English translation, p. 4:27-29, a processor is configured to operate the cleaning device based on signal receives from a sensor; p. 31:48-53, the processor is configured to execute a set of instructions for the electronic system, thus it can be coupled to actuators/motors), but does not disclose the sensing module configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage; and the processor configured to determine occurrence of a squeegee fault based on sensor input.
Cabrera teaches, in an analogous semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the sensing module configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage (¶ 0025 and fig. 1, a semi-autonomous cleaning device comprises a rear squeegee 104. A control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using a back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor system]. The squeegee fault can be the squeegee being out of position or leaking); and the processor configured to determine occurrence of a squeegee fault based on sensor input (¶ 0016, operation of the cleaning device can be autonomous by use of an electronic control boarding including a processor and a memory; ¶ 0025, the control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using input data from the back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh to provide the squeegee fault detection as taught by Cabrera so that a corrective action can be taken when the squeegee has a problem (Cabrera ¶ 0034).
Cabrera teaches the processor is configured to notify to adjust the position of the squeegee in response to the fault condition (¶ 0035), but does not disclose the actuator module comprising the squeegee motor operatively connected to the squeegee head through a mechanical linkage configured to translate rotational motion of the squeegee motor into vertical displacement of the squeegee head, and the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust a position of the squeegee head, wherein the control signal causes the actuator module to autonomously reposition the squeegee head without operator intervention.
Thomas teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the actuator module comprising the squeegee motor operatively connected to the squeegee head through a mechanical linkage configured to translate rotational motion of the squeegee motor into vertical displacement of the squeegee head (¶ 0099 and fig. 12, a DC servo motor 150 [corresponds to the recited squeegee motor] rotates a cam 148 and moves a bracket 146 [corresponds to the recited mechanical linkage] to lift a squeegee assembly 120. Therefore, the rotational motion of the motor 150 is translated into a vertical motion of the squeegee assembly), and the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust a position of the squeegee head, wherein the control signal causes the actuator module to autonomously reposition the squeegee head without operator intervention (¶ 0099, a floor cleaning apparatus includes a control system 34 for controlling a motor 150 [corresponds to the recited actuator module] to lift a squeegee assembly 120; ¶ 0146, in case of error, a scrub behavior module sends commands to stop a cleaner from cleaning and action includes raising the squeegee assembly. The raising squeegee assembly is done autonomously by the scrub behavior module 2600 without operator intervention).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera to provide lifting of the squeegee head and to generate the control signal as taught by Thomas so that the cleaning process can be executed automatically.
Regarding claim 17, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the plurality of sensors selected from a list consisting of front camera, rear camera, optical camera, thermal camera, 3D camera, structured light sensor, active stereo sensor and RGB camera (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:28-p. 7:6, the sensors include cameras, and the camera can be an optical camera or a 3D camera).
Regarding claim 18, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the expandability platform is selected from a list consisting of modular frame components, modular software, a security module, app store module, centralized fleet management, open API module, and thermal cameras (Sheikh English translation, p. 5:38-45, a module is connected a component, and it includes software).
Regarding claim 19, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 16, further comprising a disinfection module to spray a disinfectant solution (Sheikh English translation, p. 15:53-54, the cleaning component 265 can spray fluid to a surface; p. 7:45-47, the cleaning robot may be used for disinfection).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Cabrera and Thomas, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Abe et al. (JP 2019046421A, hereinafter Abe).
Regarding claim 5, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose when the apparatus travels in a reverse direction, the apparatus initiates a beeping sound through a speaker.
Abe teaches, in an analogous traveling apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, when the apparatus travels in a reverse direction, the apparatus initiates a beeping sound through a speaker (Abe English translation, abstract, a reverse traveling vehicle outputs sound of alert; p. 3:29-30, an audio output unit is a speaker).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas to provide sound when the apparatus travels in a reverse direction as taught by Abe in order to provide warning information for safety (Abe English translation, p. 3:25-28).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Cabrera and Thomas, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ernst et al. (DE 102017104690A1, hereinafter Ernst).
Regarding claim 6, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose blinking or illuminated lights indicating a direction of travel.
Ernst teaches, in an analogous vacuum robot field of endeavor, blinking or illuminated lights indicating a direction of travel (Ernst English translation, p. 5:17-22, a vacuum robot comprises a plurality of LED lights. Through the running light, an indication of the direction of travel is visually displayed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas to provide travel direction indicating lights as taught by Ernst in order to provide direction information to a user. It can avoid collisions with a user (Ernst English translation, p. 2:19-22).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Cabrera and Thomas, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Vas et al. (WO 2018/026354A1, hereinafter Vas) and Jeon (KR 20170075269A).
Regarding claim 7, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose lights indicating a future path of travel.
Vas teaches, in an analogous traveling apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, lights indicating a future path of travel (¶ 0045, a traveling device 10 includes display elements 68. The display elements provide information of next change in the direction of movement to a user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas to provide the future path indicating lights as taught by Vas in order to provide convenient travel information to a user (Vas ¶ 0022).
Sheikh as modified by Cabrera, Thomas, and Vas does not disclose the display lights are colour-coded.
Jeon teaches, in a display field of endeavor and capable of solving problem, the display lights are colour-coded (Jeon English translation, p. 13:15-16, a control unit of an apparatus displays colors to indicate operation modes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light display of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera, Thomas, and Vas to provide the color coding as taught by Jeon in order to present various operation status clearly and distinctively.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh et al. (CN 107708511A, hereinafter Sheikh), in view of Choi et al. (KR 20090017191A), Cabrera et al. (US 2019/0216283, hereinafter Cabrera), and Thomas, Sr. et al. (US 2004/0049878, hereinafter Thomas).
Regarding claim 11, Sheikh discloses a semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus for cleaning floor surfaces (Sheikh English translation, p. 2:44-45, half automatic cleaning device and method of floor), comprising:
a frame supporting at least one storage volume (fig. 2 and Sheikh English translation, p. 12:3 and 30-31, a robot frame 210 includes a debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume]);
a drive system supported by the frame and configured to move the frame along a surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 14:9-12, a drive system 240 is connected to the frame 210 and enables the robot 200 to move on a floor surface);
an electronics system supported by the frame and including at least a memory and a processor, the processor being configured to execute a set of instructions stored in the memory and receiving input from the sensing system (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:33-35, the electronic system of the robot comprises sensors and receives information from the sensors; p. 4:30-41, the electronic system supported by the frame has a processor and a memory. The processor performs a set of instructions stored in the memory); and
a cleaning assembly coupled to the frame and configured to transfer debris from the floor surface to the at least one storage volume as the drive system moves the cleaning assembly along the floor surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 12:17-24, a cleaning component 265 is coupled to the robot frame 210 and the debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume] is in fluid communication with the cleaning component through a vacuum source. The cleaning component transfer debris from surface to the debris chamber);
the cleaning assembly further comprises: a squeegee motor; a squeegee head mounted on a rear skirt of the cleaning assembly, the squeegee head configured to engage the floor surface and channels debris toward the cleaning assembly; and an actuator module operatively connected to the squeegee head and configured to raise or lower the squeegee head relative to the surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 34:37-45 and figs. 30 and 34, an actuator 587 [corresponds to the recited squeegee motor] is coupled to a set of rollers 588 and a coupling part 534 [correspond to the recited actuator module] to raise or lower a rear skirt part 535. Because the actuator 587 raises or lowers the rear skirt part 535, the actuator is operatively connected to the skirt part; p. 10:8-23, the skirt may form at least a portion of a scraper made of flexible material, and it can absorb fluid. Thus, the scraper works as a squeegee. The scraper contacts a surface and entrains flow of debris to the cleaning assembly), but does not disclose a sensing system comprising a plurality of visual sensors disposed around the cleaning apparatus.
Choi teaches, in the analogous robot cleaner field of endeavor, a sensing system comprising a plurality of visual sensors disposed around the cleaning apparatus (Choi English translation, p. 8:34-36, a robot cleaner is provided with obstacle detecting sensors on the front, rear, left and right sides for detecting obstacles around the robot cleaner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh to provide the plurality of visual sensors as taught by Choi so that the cleaning robot can detect obstacles and travel in a certain pattern instead of constant straight moving in order to avoid obstacles and improve cleaning efficiency (Choi English translation, p. 3:22-29).
Sheikh as modified by Choi teaches a processor coupled to the sensor system and the actuator module (Sheikh English translation, p. 4:27-29, a processor is configured to operate the cleaning device based on signal receives from a sensor; p. 31:48-53, the processor is configured to execute a set of instructions for the electronic system, thus it can be coupled to actuators/motors), but does not disclose the sensing system configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage; and the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input.
Cabrera teaches, in an analogous semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the sensor system configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage (¶ 0025 and fig. 1, a semi-autonomous cleaning device comprises a rear squeegee 104. A control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using a back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor system]. The squeegee fault can be the squeegee being out of position or leaking); and the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input (¶ 0016, operation of the cleaning device can be autonomous by use of an electronic control boarding including a processor and a memory; ¶ 0025, the control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using input data from the back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Choi to provide the squeegee fault detection as taught by Cabrera so that a corrective action can be taken when the squeegee has a problem (Cabrera ¶ 0034).
Sheikh as modified by Choi and Cabrera teaches the processor is configured to notify to adjust the position of the squeegee in response to the fault condition (Cabrera ¶ 0035), but does not disclose the actuator module comprising the squeegee motor operatively connected to the squeegee head through a mechanical linkage configured to translate rotational motion of the squeegee motor into vertical displacement of the squeegee head, and the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee head, wherein the control signal causes the actuator module to autonomously reposition the squeegee head without operator intervention.
Thomas teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the actuator module comprising the squeegee motor operatively connected to the squeegee head through a mechanical linkage configured to translate rotational motion of the squeegee motor into vertical displacement of the squeegee head (¶ 0099 and fig. 12, a DC servo motor 150 [corresponds to the recited squeegee motor] rotates a cam 148 and moves a bracket 146 [corresponds to the recited mechanical linkage] to lift a squeegee assembly 120. Therefore, the rotational motion of the motor 150 is translated into a vertical motion of the squeegee assembly), and the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee head, wherein the control signal causes the actuator module to autonomously reposition the squeegee head without operator intervention (¶ 0099, a floor cleaning apparatus includes a control system 34 for controlling a motor 150 [corresponds to the recited actuator module] to lift a squeegee assembly 120; ¶ 0146, in case of error, a scrub behavior module 2600 sends commands to stop a cleaner from cleaning and action includes raising the squeegee assembly. The raising squeegee assembly is done autonomously by the scrub behavior module 2600 without operator intervention).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Choi and Cabrera to provide lifting of the squeegee head and to generate the control signal as taught by Thomas so that the cleaning process can be executed automatically.
Regarding claim 12, Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the sensing system includes at least one optical camera (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:28-p. 7:6, the sensors include cameras, and the camera can be an optical camera).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Lee et al. (KR 101850386B1).
Regarding claim 13, Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 11, but does not disclose the sensing system includes an optical camera with structured lighting.
Sheikh teaches the use of an optical camera (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:42-54).
Lee further teaches, in an analogous robot cleaner field of endeavor, the sensing system includes an optical camera with structured lighting (Lee English translation, p. 3:20-27, a light pattern sensor includes a structured light camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors of Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas to provide the structured light camera as taught by Lee. It can precisely detect an obstacle in three dimensions (Lee English translation, abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the electronics system multiplexes a use of an optical camera (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:28-54, Sheikh teaches the use of multiple sensors including the optical camera), but does not disclose a second camera with structured lighting.
Lee teaches, in an analogous robot cleaner field of endeavor, the sensing system includes a camera with structured lighting (Lee English translation, p. 3:20-27, a light pattern sensor includes a structured light camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors of Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas to provide the second camera with the structured lighting as taught by Lee. It can precisely detect an obstacle in three dimensions (Lee English translation, abstract).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Kwak (US 2017/0325647).
Regarding claim 15, Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 11, but does not disclose computation of presence or absence of obstacles is performed using at least one of voxel grid mapping module, floor mapping module, semantic segmentation module, and dynamic calibration module.
Sheikh teaches the use of software-based module (Sheikh English translation, p. 5:38-45).
Kwak further teaches, in an analogous robot cleaner field of endeavor, the computation of the presence or absence of obstacles is performed using at least one of voxel grid mapping module, floor mapping module, semantic segmentation module, and dynamic calibration module (¶ 0124-25, a control unit generates a floor map based on detected obstacles. Therefore, Kwak teaches use of floor map regarding the presence of the obstacle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas to provide the floor mapping module as taught by Kwak so that it can clean floor effectively without being hindered by an obstacle on the floor (Kwak ¶ 0029).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Cabrera and Thomas, as applied to claim 19 above, and in further view of Pan (CN 108514384A) and Lawson et al. (US 7021571, hereinafter Lawson).
Regarding claim 20, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 19, but does not disclose the apparatus further comprises a fan and an atomizer nozzle.
Pan teaches, in an analogous robot cleaner field of endeavor, the robot comprises a fan and an atomizer nozzle (Pan English translation p. 4:40-47, the robot comprises a suction fan 3 and an atomizing nozzle 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas to provide the fan and the atomizer nozzle as taught by Pan. They help keeping the floor clean and prevent dust from flying in the air (Pan English translation, p. 3:23-24 and 4:40-47).
Sheikh as modified by Cabrera, Thomas, and Pan does not disclose the robot further comprises an electrostatic module.
Lawson teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the device comprises an electrostatic module (abstract, a spray device is used for treatment of carpets and other fabric coverings; col. 15:52-57, the spray device includes electrostatic sprayer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera, Thomas, and Pan to provide the electrostatic module as taught by Lawson. It helps removing odor from the carpets or fabrics (Lawson, col. 16:43-49).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Sheikh, Cabrera, and Thomas do not teach or suggest (a) a sensor detects a specific fault condition (misalignment or blockage); (b) a processor determines occurrence of the fault based on sensor input; (c) the processor generates a control signal; and (d) the actuator module, comprising a squeegee motor connected through a mechanical linkage, autonomously repositions the squeegee head without operator intervention. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the detection of the fault condition and the determination of the fault condition occurrence by the processor, Cabrera teaches a floor scrubber comprises a camera (sensor) and a control board and/or electronic system (processor) analyzes images from the camera to detect a squeegee is out of position (misalignment) (Cabrera ¶ 0025).
Regarding the processor generating a control signal, Thomas teaches a floor cleaning apparatus comprises a scrub behavior module 2600 (processor) sends commands (control signal) to raise a squeegee assembly in case of error (Thomas ¶ 0146).
Regarding repositioning of the squeegee head by a squeegee motor of the actuator module through a mechanical linkage without operator intervention, Thomas teaches a control system (actuator module) drives a DC servo motor to lift a bracket (mechanical linkage) thereby lifting a squeegee assembly (Thomas ¶ 0099). Claim of the instant application does not define what the repositioning means. Thus, any motion of the squeegee is considered as repositioning of the squeegee head. The squeegee assembly lifting is done by the scrub behavior module 2600 (Thomas ¶ 0146). There is no operator intervention in lifting the squeegee assembly.
Applicant also argues Sheikh teaches raising or lowering a rear skirt part 535, not the recited squeegee head. Claims of the instant application define the squeegee head is mounted on the rear skirt and the squeegee head is configured to engage the floor surface. Specification of the instant application states the rear skirt consists of the squeegee head or rubber blade for engaging the floor surface. Therefore, neither specification or claims define what material makes the squeegee head. Because the rear skirt consists of the squeegee head or the rubber blade, the squeegee head is at least not made of rubber. The skirt of Sheikh may form at least a portion of a scraper made of flexible material to direct fluid (Sheikh English translation, p. 10:8-23), therefore, it corresponds to the recited squeegee head.
Applicant argues 112(a) rejections of introducing new matter are improper. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the actuator module, specification does not present the term “actuator module” at all. Although Applicant states para. 0093 describes the squeegee motor controls the squeegee head position, para. 0093 does not state the squeegee head position. Instead para. 0083 states the current measurement of the squeegee motor determines or predicts the squeegee position. Applicant further states para. 0095 provides description of the squeegee motor performs raising and lowering function, but it does not state what component enables raising and lowering the squeegee. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not conclude that the actuator module, which is not disclosed in specification, controls the squeegee head to be raised or lowered. Examiner notes amended claims introduce the mechanical linkage configured to translate rotational motion of the squeegee motor, but specification does not mention the mechanical linkage and the rotational motion of the squeegee motor at all.
Regarding the sensor system, Applicant asserts para. 0094-95 explain the fault detection system detects conditions such as squeegee misalignment, and the system uses sensor inputs to identify the fault condition. However, specification does not provide any description that sensors, sensor system, or sensing system detects the fault condition of the squeegee head. Para. 0092 states the cleaning fault detection system monitors a cleaning fault, but it is not necessarily the squeegee head misalignment. Specification presents a vacuum fault, instead of the squeegee head fault. In addition, specification does not present whether the fault detection system comprises the sensor system.
Regarding the processor, Applicant asserts para. 0094-95 describes the fault detection system detects squeegee fault and corrective action is taken in response. However, para. 0095 describes if the fault situation is detected, a failure screen will be displayed and the squeegee remains raised. There is no description of the processor determines the squeegee fault and generates a control signal to adjust the position of the squeegee. The processor stated in para. 00107-09, is generally described that the processor controls the cleaning apparatus. Thus, specification does not present the processor determines the fault condition, and generates the control signal in response.
Therefore, the 112(a) rejections remain.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723