DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CRF 1.114
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 09/19/2025, claims 1, 11, and 16 have been amended. Claims 9 and 10 were previously cancelled, and claims 21-33 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are pending and under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 8, 11, 16, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the phrases may be amended as “… relative to the floor surface” in line 16, “determine occurrence of [[the ]]squeegee fault” in line 21, and “[[a ]]generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust [[the]]a position of …” in line 22.
In claim 2, line 1, the term may be amended as “a list”.
In claim 3, line 1, the phrase may be amended as “Claim 1 further comprising awherein the smart alert system includes at least …”
In claim 4, line 1, the term may be amended as “[[the ]]danger signs”.
In claim 8, line 2, the term may be amended as “[[the]]a modality”.
In claim 11, the terms and phrases may be amended as “[[the]]a squeegee” in line 6, “the floor surface;” in line 22, “[[a]]the processor coupled to the sensing system and the actuator module” in line 23, “[[the ]]squeegee fault” in line 25, and “[[a ]]generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust [[the]]a position of …” in line 26.
In claim 16, the terms and phrases may be amended as “[[the]]a floor surface;” in lines 4-5, “the floor surface” in lines 6-7, “the floor surface” in line 14, “guiding [[the]]a path and a direction of the cleaning apparatus” in line 18, “[[a]]the processor coupled to [[the]]a sensor system” in line 26, “[[the ]]squeegee fault” in line 28, and “[[a ]]generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust [[the]]a position of …” in line 29.
In claim 17, line 1, the term may be amended as “a list”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 16 recites, inter alia, “an actuator module operatively connected to the squeegee head and configured to raise or lower the squeegee head relative to the surface”. Specification presents, in ¶ 0092-95, raising and lowering the squeegee, but it appears the functions are executed by a “system”. Specification does not disclose any actuator or actuator module connected to the squeegee head and configured to raise or lower the squeegee head.
Claims 1, 11, and 16 recites, inter alia, “a sensor system … configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head”. Specification discloses in ¶ 0092-95, a fault detection system, not the sensor system, has a method and module to detect a squeegee fault.
Claims 1, 11, and 16 recites, inter alia, “a processor coupled to the sensor system and the actuator module, the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input; and generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee in response to the fault condition”. Specification introduces the processor, in ¶ 00107-09, but does not state the processor is configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault and generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee.
Therefore, the recitations are considered to be New Matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh et al. (CN 107708511A, hereinafter Sheikh), in view of Cabrera et al. (US 2019/0216283, hereinafter Cabrera) and Thomas, Sr. et al. (US 2004/0049878, hereinafter Thomas).
Regarding claim 1, Sheikh discloses a semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus for cleaning floor surfaces (Sheikh English translation, p. 2:44-45, half automatic cleaning device and method of floor), comprising:
a frame supporting at least one storage volume (fig. 2 and Sheikh English translation, p. 12:3 and 30-31, a robot frame 210 includes a debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume]);
a drive system supported by the frame and configured to move the frame along a surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 14:9-12, a drive system 240 is connected to the frame 210 and enables the robot 200 to move on a floor surface);
a cleaning assembly coupled to the frame and configured to transfer debris from the floor surface to the at least one storage volume as the drive system moves the cleaning assembly along the floor surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 7:43-51, the cleaning robot comprises the frame and a cleaning assembly 165 for cleaning a surface. The cleaning can be done by vacuum suction; p. 12:30-31, the robot includes the debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume]),
the cleaning assembly further comprises: a squeegee motor; a squeegee head mounted on a rear skirt of the cleaning assembly, the squeegee head configured to engage the floor surface and channels debris toward the cleaning assembly; and an actuator module operatively connected to the squeegee head and configured to raise or lower the squeegee head relative to the surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 34:37-45 and figs. 30 and 34, an actuator 587 [corresponds to the recited squeegee motor] is coupled to a set of rollers 588 and a coupling part 534 [correspond to the recited actuator module] to raise or lower a rear skirt part 535. Because the actuator 587 raises or lowers the rear skirt part 535, the actuator is operatively connected to the skirt part; p. 10:8-23, the skirt may form at least a portion of a scraper made of flexible material, and it can absorb fluid. Thus, the scraper works as a squeegee. The scraper contacts a surface and entrains flow of debris to the cleaning assembly);
a sensor system comprising a plurality of sensors (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:33-35, an electronic system of the robot comprises sensors);
a processor coupled to the sensor system and the actuator module (Sheikh English translation, p. 4:27-29, a processor is configured to operate the cleaning device based on signal receives from a sensor; p. 31:48-53, the processor is configured to execute a set of instructions for the electronic system, thus it can be coupled to actuators/motors), but does not disclose the sensor system configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage; and the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input.
Cabrera teaches, in an analogous semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the sensor system configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage (¶ 0025 and fig. 1, a semi-autonomous cleaning device comprises a rear squeegee 104. A control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using a back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor system]. The squeegee fault can be the squeegee being out of position or leaking); and the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input (¶ 0016, operation of the cleaning device can be autonomous by use of an electronic control boarding including a processor and a memory; ¶ 0025, the control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using input data from the back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh to provide the squeegee fault detection as taught by Cabrera so that a corrective action can be taken when the squeegee has a problem (Cabrera ¶ 0034).
Sheikh as modified by Cabrera teaches the processor is configured to notify to adjust the position of the squeegee in response to the fault condition (Cabrera ¶ 0035), but does not disclose the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee.
Thomas teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee (¶ 0099, a floor cleaning apparatus includes a control system 34 for controlling a motor 150 [corresponds to the recited actuator module] to lift a squeegee assembly 120; ¶ 0146, in case of error, a scrub behavior module sends commands to stop a cleaner from cleaning and action includes raising the squeegee assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera to generate the control signal as taught by Thomas so that the cleaning process can be executed automatically.
Regarding claim 2, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors selected from list consisting of front camera, rear camera, optical camera, thermal camera, 3D camera, structured light sensor, active stereo sensor and RGB camera (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:28-p. 7:6, the sensors include cameras, and the camera can be an optical camera or a 3D camera).
Regarding claim 3, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the smart alert system includes at least one of light, sound, display screen, data notification, sound through a loudspeaker, sound through a microphone and data displayed through a touch display screen (Sheikh English translation, p. 21:43-50, an error alarm of the robot can be notified on a display of an electronic device).
Regarding claim 4, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the danger signs include alerting mode of failure, requirement of user intervention, and object obstruction by cleaning assembly (Sheikh English translation, p. 37:46-51, the electronic system receives information that operation condition is not safe or undesirable. In response to the information, the system may require a user to actuate a physical cutting-off switch. Therefore, the electronic system requires user intervention).
Regarding claim 16, Sheikh discloses a semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus for cleaning floor surfaces (Sheikh English translation, p. 2:44-45, half automatic cleaning device and method of floor), comprising:
a frame supporting at least one storage volume (fig. 2 and Sheikh English translation, p. 12:3 and 30-31, a robot frame 210 includes a debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume]);
a drive system supported by the frame and configured to move the frame along the floor surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 14:9-12, a drive system 240 is connected to the frame 210 and enables the robot 200 to move on a floor surface);
a cleaning assembly coupled to the frame and configured to transfer debris from the surface to the at least one storage volume as the drive system moves the cleaning assembly along the floor surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 7:43-51, the cleaning robot comprises the frame and a cleaning assembly 165 for cleaning a surface. The cleaning can be done by vacuum suction; p. 12:30-31, the robot includes the debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume]);
the cleaning assembly further comprises: a squeegee motor; a squeegee head mounted on a rear skirt of the cleaning assembly, the squeegee head configured to engage the floor surface and channels debris toward the cleaning assembly; and an actuator module operatively connected to the squeegee head and configured to raise or lower the squeegee head relative to the surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 34:37-45 and figs. 30 and 34, an actuator 587 [corresponds to the recited squeegee motor] is coupled to a set of rollers 588 and a coupling part 534 [correspond to the recited actuator module] to raise or lower a rear skirt part 535. Because the actuator 587 raises or lowers the rear skirt part 535, the actuator is operatively connected to the skirt part; p. 10:8-23, the skirt may form at least a portion of a scraper made of flexible material, and it can absorb fluid. Thus, the scraper works as a squeegee. The scraper contacts a surface and entrains flow of debris to the cleaning assembly);
a front and rear sensing module comprising a plurality of sensors capable of computing and guiding the path and direction of the cleaning apparatus (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:33-35, an electronic system of the robot comprises sensors; p. 14:27-33, the sensors are connected with motors, wheels, and other suitable interference structure to determine position, velocity, and acceleration of the robot; fig. 18, a camera 493 is disposed at the front of the robot to capture front view of the robot; fig. 2 shows a rear perspective view of the semi-autonomous robot and there is a laser sensor 294. Therefore, there are sensors at the front and back of the robot);
an expandability platform (Sheikh English translation, p. 5:38-45, the robot has connected component modules including software and hardware; p. 16:45-47, the electronic system may include a mounting member 219 as an expanded hardware module); and
an electronics system supported by the frame and including at least a memory and a processor, the processor being configured to execute a set of instructions stored in the memory and receiving input from the front and rear sensing module to perform at least one or more actions in relations to the expandability platform (Sheikh English translation, p. 4:30-41, the electronic system supported by the frame has a processor and a memory. The processor performs a set of instructions stored in the memory; p. 16:45-53 and figs. 2-3, in addition to the camera at the front of the robot, the electronic system is connected with two laser transceiver 294 at front and rear sides of the robot for sensing objects; p. 5:38-45 and 6:28-41, the electronic system can control a hardware module [corresponds to the recited expandability module] such as a driving system),
a processor coupled to the sensor system and the actuator module (Sheikh English translation, p. 4:27-29, a processor is configured to operate the cleaning device based on signal receives from a sensor; p. 31:48-53, the processor is configured to execute a set of instructions for the electronic system, thus it can be coupled to actuators/motors), but does not disclose the sensing module configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage; and the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input.
Cabrera teaches, in an analogous semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the sensing module configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage (¶ 0025 and fig. 1, a semi-autonomous cleaning device comprises a rear squeegee 104. A control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using a back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor system]. The squeegee fault can be the squeegee being out of position or leaking); and the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input (¶ 0016, operation of the cleaning device can be autonomous by use of an electronic control boarding including a processor and a memory; ¶ 0025, the control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using input data from the back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh to provide the squeegee fault detection as taught by Cabrera so that a corrective action can be taken when the squeegee has a problem (Cabrera ¶ 0034).
Cabrera teaches the processor is configured to notify to adjust the position of the squeegee in response to the fault condition (¶ 0035), but does not disclose the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee.
Thomas teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee (¶ 0099, a floor cleaning apparatus includes a control system 34 for controlling a motor 150 [corresponds to the recited actuator module] to lift a squeegee assembly 120; ¶ 0146, in case of error, a scrub behavior module sends commands to stop a cleaner from cleaning and action includes raising the squeegee assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera to generate the control signal as taught by Thomas so that the cleaning process can be executed automatically.
Regarding claim 17, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the plurality of sensors selected from list consisting of front camera, rear camera, optical camera, thermal camera, 3D camera, structured light sensor, active stereo sensor and RGB camera (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:28-p. 7:6, the sensors include cameras, and the camera can be an optical camera or a 3D camera).
Regarding claim 18, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the expandability platform is selected from a list consisting of modular frame components, modular software, a security module, app store module, centralized fleet management, open API module, and thermal cameras (Sheikh English translation, p. 5:38-45, a module is connected a component, and it includes software).
Regarding claim 19, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 16, further comprising a disinfection module to spray a disinfectant solution (Sheikh English translation, p. 15:53-54, the cleaning component 265 can spray fluid to a surface; p. 7:45-47, the cleaning robot may be used for disinfection).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Cabrera and Thomas, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Abe et al. (JP 2019046421A, hereinafter Abe).
Regarding claim 5, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose when the apparatus travels in a reverse direction, the apparatus initiates a beeping sound through a speaker.
Abe teaches, in an analogous traveling apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, when the apparatus travels in a reverse direction, the apparatus initiates a beeping sound through a speaker (Abe English translation, abstract, a reverse traveling vehicle outputs sound of alert; p. 3:29-30, an audio output unit is a speaker).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas to provide sound when the apparatus travels in a reverse direction as taught by Abe in order to provide warning information for safety (Abe English translation, p. 3:25-28).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Cabrera and Thomas, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ernst et al. (DE 102017104690A1, hereinafter Ernst).
Regarding claim 6, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose blinking or illuminated lights indicating a direction of travel.
Ernst teaches, in an analogous vacuum robot field of endeavor, blinking or illuminated lights indicating a direction of travel (Ernst English translation, p. 5:17-22, a vacuum robot comprises a plurality of LED lights. Through the running light, an indication of the direction of travel is visually displayed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas to provide travel direction indicating lights as taught by Ernst in order to provide direction information to a user. It can avoid collisions with a user (Ernst English translation, p. 2:19-22).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Cabrera and Thomas, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Vas et al. (WO 2018/026354A1, hereinafter Vas) and Jeon (KR 20170075269A).
Regarding claim 7, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose lights indicating a future path of travel.
Vas teaches, in an analogous traveling apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, lights indicating a future path of travel (¶ 0045, a traveling device 10 includes display elements 68. The display elements provide information of next change in the direction of movement to a user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas to provide the future path indicating lights as taught by Vas in order to provide convenient travel information to a user (Vas ¶ 0022).
Sheikh as modified by Cabrera, Thomas, and Vas does not disclose the display lights are colour-coded.
Jeon teaches, in a display field of endeavor and capable of solving problem, the display lights are colour-coded (Jeon English translation, p. 13:15-16, a control unit of an apparatus displays colors to indicate operation modes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light display of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera, Thomas, and Vas to provide the color coding as taught by Jeon in order to present various operation status clearly and distinctively.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Cabrera and Thomas, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Jeon.
Regarding claim 8, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the lights indicate the modality of operation selected from a list consisting of mapping, cleaning, warning, emergency, and awaiting operator input (Sheikh English translation, p. 7:7-14, the electronic system of the robot provides a display to provide operating condition information to a user; p. 37:46-54, the electronic system can present not safe or undesirable operation condition), but does not disclose the display includes the colour coding of lights.
Jeon teaches, in a display field of endeavor and capable of solving problem, the display lights are colour-coded (Jeon English translation, p. 13:15-16, a control unit of an apparatus displays colors to indicate operation modes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas to provide the color-coded lights as taught by Jeon in order to present various operation status clearly and distinctively.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh et al. (CN 107708511A, hereinafter Sheikh), in view of Choi et al. (KR 20090017191A), Cabrera et al. (US 2019/0216283, hereinafter Cabrera), and Thomas, Sr. et al. (US 2004/0049878, hereinafter Thomas).
Regarding claim 11, Sheikh discloses a semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus for cleaning floor surfaces (Sheikh English translation, p. 2:44-45, half automatic cleaning device and method of floor), comprising:
a frame supporting at least one storage volume (fig. 2 and Sheikh English translation, p. 12:3 and 30-31, a robot frame 210 includes a debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume]);
a drive system supported by the frame and configured to move the frame along a surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 14:9-12, a drive system 240 is connected to the frame 210 and enables the robot 200 to move on a floor surface);
an electronics system supported by the frame and including at least a memory and a processor, the processor being configured to execute a set of instructions stored in the memory and receiving input from the sensing system (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:33-35, the electronic system of the robot comprises sensors and receives information from the sensors; p. 4:30-41, the electronic system supported by the frame has a processor and a memory. The processor performs a set of instructions stored in the memory); and
a cleaning assembly coupled to the frame and configured to transfer debris from the surface to the at least one storage volume as the drive system moves the cleaning assembly along the surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 12:17-24, a cleaning component 265 is coupled to the robot frame 210 and the debris chamber 212 [corresponds to the recited storage volume] is in fluid communication with the cleaning component through a vacuum source. The cleaning component transfer debris from surface to the debris chamber);
the cleaning assembly further comprises: a squeegee motor; a squeegee head mounted on a rear skirt of the cleaning assembly, the squeegee head configured to engage the floor surface and channels debris toward the cleaning assembly; and an actuator module operatively connected to the squeegee head and configured to raise or lower the squeegee head relative to the surface (Sheikh English translation, p. 34:37-45 and figs. 30 and 34, an actuator 587 [corresponds to the recited squeegee motor] is coupled to a set of rollers 588 and a coupling part 534 [correspond to the recited actuator module] to raise or lower a rear skirt part 535. Because the actuator 587 raises or lowers the rear skirt part 535, the actuator is operatively connected to the skirt part; p. 10:8-23, the skirt may form at least a portion of a scraper made of flexible material, and it can absorb fluid. Thus, the scraper works as a squeegee. The scraper contacts a surface and entrains flow of debris to the cleaning assembly), but does not disclose a sensing system comprising a plurality of visual sensors disposed around the cleaning apparatus.
Choi teaches, in the analogous robot cleaner field of endeavor, a sensing system comprising a plurality of visual sensors disposed around the cleaning apparatus (Choi English translation, p. 8:34-36, a robot cleaner is provided with obstacle detecting sensors on the front, rear, left and right sides for detecting obstacles around the robot cleaner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh to provide the plurality of visual sensors as taught by Choi so that the cleaning robot can detect obstacles and travel in a certain pattern instead of constant straight moving in order to avoid obstacles and improve cleaning efficiency (Choi English translation, p. 3:22-29).
Sheikh as modified by Choi teaches a processor coupled to the sensor system and the actuator module (Sheikh English translation, p. 4:27-29, a processor is configured to operate the cleaning device based on signal receives from a sensor; p. 31:48-53, the processor is configured to execute a set of instructions for the electronic system, thus it can be coupled to actuators/motors), but does not disclose the sensing system configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage; and the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input.
Cabrera teaches, in an analogous semi-autonomous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the sensor system configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, the fault condition comprising a misalignment or blockage (¶ 0025 and fig. 1, a semi-autonomous cleaning device comprises a rear squeegee 104. A control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using a back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor system]. The squeegee fault can be the squeegee being out of position or leaking); and the processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault based on sensor input (¶ 0016, operation of the cleaning device can be autonomous by use of an electronic control boarding including a processor and a memory; ¶ 0025, the control board and/or an electrical system detects squeegee fault using input data from the back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Choi to provide the squeegee fault detection as taught by Cabrera so that a corrective action can be taken when the squeegee has a problem (Cabrera ¶ 0034).
Cabrera teaches the processor is configured to notify to adjust the position of the squeegee in response to the fault condition (¶ 0035), but does not disclose the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee.
Thomas teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the processor is configured to generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee (¶ 0099, a floor cleaning apparatus includes a control system 34 for controlling a motor 150 [corresponds to the recited actuator module] to lift a squeegee assembly 120; ¶ 0146, in case of error, a scrub behavior module sends commands to stop a cleaner from cleaning and action includes raising the squeegee assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Choi and Cabrera to generate the control signal as taught by Thomas so that the cleaning process can be executed automatically.
Regarding claim 12, Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the sensing system includes at least one optical camera (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:28-p. 7:6, the sensors include cameras, and the camera can be an optical camera).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Lee et al. (KR 101850386B1).
Regarding claim 13, Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 11, but does not disclose the sensing system includes an optical camera with structured lighting.
Sheikh teaches the use of an optical camera (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:42-54).
Lee further teaches, in an analogous robot cleaner field of endeavor, the sensing system includes an optical camera with structured lighting (Lee English translation, p. 3:20-27, a light pattern sensor includes a structured light camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors of Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas to provide the structured light camera as taught by Lee. It can precisely detect an obstacle in three dimensions (Lee English translation, abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the electronics system multiplexes a use of an optical camera (Sheikh English translation, p. 6:28-54, Sheikh teaches the use of multiple sensors including the optical camera), but does not disclose a second camera with structured lighting.
Lee teaches, in an analogous robot cleaner field of endeavor, the sensing system includes a camera with structured lighting (Lee English translation, p. 3:20-27, a light pattern sensor includes a structured light camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensors of Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas to provide the second camera with the structured lighting as taught by Lee. It can precisely detect an obstacle in three dimensions (Lee English translation, abstract).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Kwak (US 2017/0325647).
Regarding claim 15, Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 11, but does not disclose computation of presence or absence of obstacles is performed using at least one of voxel grid mapping module, floor mapping module, semantic segmentation module, and dynamic calibration module.
Sheikh teaches the use of software-based module (Sheikh English translation, p. 5:38-45).
Kwak further teaches, in an analogous robot cleaner field of endeavor, the computation of the presence or absence of obstacles is performed using at least one of voxel grid mapping module, floor mapping module, semantic segmentation module, and dynamic calibration module (¶ 0124-25, a control unit generates a floor map based on detected obstacles. Therefore, Kwak teaches use of floor map regarding the presence of the obstacle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Choi, Cabrera, and Thomas to provide the floor mapping module as taught by Kwak so that it can clean floor effectively without being hindered by an obstacle on the floor (Kwak ¶ 0029).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheikh in view of Cabrera and Thomas, as applied to claim 19 above, and in further view of Pan (CN 108514384A) and Lawson et al. (US 7021571, hereinafter Lawson).
Regarding claim 20, Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 19, but does not disclose the apparatus further comprises a fan and an atomizer nozzle.
Pan teaches, in an analogous robot cleaner field of endeavor, the robot comprises a fan and an atomizer nozzle (Pan English translation p. 4:40-47, the robot comprises a suction fan 3 and an atomizing nozzle 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas to provide the fan and the atomizer nozzle as taught by Pan. They help keeping the floor clean and prevent dust from flying in the air (Pan English translation, p. 3:23-24 and 4:40-47).
Sheikh as modified by Cabrera, Thomas, and Pan does not disclose the robot further comprises an electrostatic module.
Lawson teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the device comprises an electrostatic module (abstract, a spray device is used for treatment of carpets and other fabric coverings; col. 15:52-57, the spray device includes electrostatic sprayer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sheikh as modified by Cabrera, Thomas, and Pan to provide the electrostatic module as taught by Lawson. It helps removing odor from the carpets or fabrics (Lawson, col. 16:43-49).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Thomas.
Applicant argues Sheikh, Cabrera, Choi, Kim, Zhao, and Yamada do not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that an actuator module configured to raise or lower a squeegee head, a sensor system configured to detect a fault condition of the squeegee head, a processor configured to determine occurrence of the squeegee fault and generate a control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the amended claim limitations are new matter as discussed in 112(a) rejection because specification does not present the actuator module, the sensor system, and the processor as recited.
Nevertheless, Sheikh teaches the actuator 587 coupled to the coupling part 534 raises or lowers the rear skirt part 535 [corresponds to the recited squeegee] (Sheikh English translation, p. 32:37-45). Sheikh also teaches the processor utilizes the input data from camera [corresponds to the recited sensor] to operate the cleaning device (Sheikh English translation, p. 4:27-29) and executes the set of instructions for the electronic system (Sheikh English translation, p. 31:48-53).
Cabrera teaches the control board and/or an electrical system [corresponds to the recited processor] detects squeegee fault using a back camera [corresponds to the recited sensor system]. The squeegee fault can be the squeegee being out of position or leaking (¶ 0025).
Regarding the processor being configured to generate the control signal to the actuator module to adjust the position of the squeegee, Thomas teaches a control system 34 [corresponds to the recited processor] transmits control signals to motor 150 [corresponds to the actuator module] which may adjust a position of squeegee assembly 120 in a cleaning unit (¶ 0099 and 0146).
Applicant argues Sheikh does not teach actuator-based correction of the squeegee fault and Cabrera does not teach automatic physical response. Applicant asserts the present invention provides a closed-loop, autonomous correction system. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Sheikh as modified by Cabrera and Thomas teaches the system comprising sensors and actuators can detect the squeegee fault, and Thomas teaches the system can adjust the position of the squeegee. Because Cabrera teaches the system taking a notification action upon detecting the squeegee fault, Thomas can be combined with Cabrera to take the squeegee position adjustment action upon detecting the squeegee fault.
Conclusion
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723