DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/25/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended claim 10 to recite “a plurality of optical sensors, each optical sensor positioned adjacent to the bottom surface of a corresponding microchannel and within the corresponding microchannel”. The examiner agrees that the sensors positioned adjacent to the microchannels in Fig. 6A of Coppeta et al. does not read on the newly added limitation of “within the corresponding microchannel”; however, the sensors shown in Fig. 6C of Coppeta et al. do read on the newly added limitation as sensors 605a-d are positioned within the microchannels. Applicant has also amended claim 10 to recite a “light source positioned to direct light towards the bottom surface”. Izquierdo et al. discloses that the light source directs light toward the microfluidic channel, which reads on the newly added limitation as the “bottom surface” is part of the microchannel.
Applicant argues on pp. 9-10 of Remarks that the examiner fails to provide a reasoned motivation to combine Coppeta et al. and Izquierdo et al. This is not persuasive as Izquierdo et al. discloses that an opaque layer in a microfluidic device restricts mixing of light emitted from different microfluidic chambers (para. 0261) and a light source excites biological material (abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the advantages of restricting light mixing between microfluidic chambers when light excites biological material, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include these features in a microchannel cell culture device. Thus, the examiner maintains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Coppeta et al. with the teachings of Izquierdo et al.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the light shielding layer must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coppeta et al. (US
2018/0142196 A1) (already of record) in view of Izquierdo et al. (US 2015/0107993 A1) (already of record).
Regarding claim 10, Coppeta et al. teaches a microchannel cell culture device (abstract), comprising: a well plate (Fig. 1 105 cell culture platform) defining an array of tissue modeling environments (abstract “tissue modeling environments”), each tissue modeling environment including a first structural layer including a plurality of fluid reservoirs (Fig. 1 110a first fluid reservoir, 110b second fluid reservoir, 110c third fluid reservoir, 110d fourth fluid reservoir), and a second structural layer including at least one microchannel (Fig. 2 125a first microchannel, 125b second microchannel) fluidically coupling a first fluid reservoir of the plurality of fluid reservoirs to a second fluid reservoir of the plurality of fluid reservoirs (para. 0046 "microchannel 125a fluidically couples the first fluid reservoir 110a to the third fluid reservoir"), a bottom surface of the second structural layer being optically transparent (para. 0009 "polystyrene"); and a plurality of optical sensors (para. 0083 "optical sensors"), each optical sensor positioned adjacent to the bottom surface of a corresponding microchannel and within the corresponding microchannel to scan the bottom surface of the corresponding microchannel of a corresponding tissue modeling environment (Fig. 6C 605a-d electrodes).
Coppeta et al. does not teach a light shielding layer that is substantially opaque or a light source positioned to direct light towards the bottom surface. However, Izquierdo et al. teaches a substantially opaque sub-layer (39) which restricts mixing of light emitted from different microfluidic chambers (para. 0261) and a light source for exciting biological material which is directed to the microfluidic channel (abstract). Izquierdo et al. teaches the sub-layer positioned adjacent to a top of a second layer containing a microfluidic channel (Fig. 4 39 opaque sublayer on top of 4 chip containing 6 microfluidic channel, and under 50 transparent substrate). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Izquierdo et al. configuration of a substantially opaque sub-layer adjacent to a top of a second layer containing a microfluidic channel and a light source in Coppeta et al.'s device with a reasonable expectation that the opaque sub-layer would restrict mixing of light from different microfluidic chambers, and the light source would excite biological material. This method for improving Coppeta et al.'s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Izquierdo et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Coppeta et al. and Izquierdo et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Regarding the limitation "focusing light to a target portion of the microchannel cell culture device", it has been held that a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior
art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP § 2114
II). Therefore, the apparatus disclosed by Coppeta et al. in view of lzquierdo et al. would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art apparatus is disclosed to be for exciting and causing activity of biological material (abstract) only at the microfluidic chambers with an opaque sub-layer (para. 0261) and would be structurally capable of focusing light to a target portion of the microchannel cell culture device absent clear evidence otherwise.
Regarding Izquierdo et al.’s disclosure of an apparatus for evaluating water pollution, the problem faced by the inventor of the instant application is shielding and focusing light to certain portions of the microfluidic device. Izquierdo et al.’s device is reasonably pertinent to solving this problem.
Regarding claim 11, Coppeta et al. teaches a microchannel culture device wherein each tissue modeling environment includes at least two microchannels, a first microchannel fluidically coupling the first fluid reservoir to the second fluid reservoir (Fig. 2 125a first microchannel connecting 110a first fluid
reservoir to 110c third fluid reservoir) and a second microchannel fluidically coupling a third fluid reservoir to a fourth fluid reservoir (Fig. 2 125b second microchannel connecting 110b second fluid reservoir to 110d fourth fluid reservoir).
Regarding claim 12, Coppeta et al. teaches a microchannel culture device wherein at least a portion of the first microchannel overlaps at least a portion of the second microchannel (Fig. 2 125a first
microchannel, 125b second microchannel; para. 0003).
Regarding claim 13, Coppeta et al. teaches a microchannel culture device further comprising a
membrane layer extending between the overlapping portions of the first and second microchannels (Fig.
3C 140 membrane; para. 0048).
Regarding claim 14, Coppeta et al. teaches a microchannel culture device wherein a bottom
surface of the overlapping portions of the first and second microchannels is optically transparent (para.
0009 "polystyrene").
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY LOPEZLIRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799