Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 9/21/26 (hereinafter Response) has been entered. Examiner notes that claims 1 and 18 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application with claims 6-17 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Based on the arguments presented in the Response on pp.6-7 the 112(a) rejections raised in the final office action mailed 8/19/26 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,222,751 A to Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a bicycle frame (10) (Figs. 1 and 5) comprising:
a top tube (12) that connects to a head tube (11) at a front portion of the bicycle frame (10) (Figs. 1 & 5 and col lns 15-23 noting that Fig. 5 depicts the most relevant embodiment however Fig. 1 includes shared components of the bicycle frame of Fig. 5 as well as Fig. 1, e.g., the head tube 11.); a seat tube (14) that extends from a bottom bracket (15); a first seat stay (16) that connects to the top tube (12) at a first point of intersection (32) and a second seat stay (16) that connects to the top tube (12) at a second point of intersection (32) such that a back portion of the top tube (12) extends beyond the first point of intersection (32) and the second point of intersection (32) so that the top tube (12) is a cantilever; and a seatmast (28) sized to receive a seatpost (35), wherein the seatmast (28) extends upward from the top tube (12) at a location on the top tube (12) that is to the rear of the first point of intersection (32) and the second point of intersection (32) such that the back portion of the top tube (12) forms the cantilever, wherein the seatmast (28) extends upward from the top tube (12) at an angle such that a front of the seatmast (28) aligns with a front of the seat tube (14) and a rear of the seatmast (28) aligns with a rear of the seat tube (14) (Fig. 2 depicts first and second seat stays 16. Fig. 5 & col 3 lns 23-63 disclose and depict that the TT extends behind the junction of seat stays 16 and TT 12 and at a minimum forms a cantilever when the frame is in the folded position, e.g., see Fig. 3 as an example, however, examiner asserts a cantilever exists as shown in the assembled state as well).
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Chen further discloses a down tube (13) that extends from the head tube (11) to the bottom bracket (15) (Figs. 1 & 5 and col lns 15-23 and col 3 lns 23-44).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 2, Chen further discloses a first support that extends from the seat tube (14) to the first seat stay (16) and a second support that extends from the seat tube (14) to the second seat stay (16) (Fig. 5 & col 3 lns 23-44 disclose that the seat stays 16 and seat tube are supported by welding).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 3, further comprising an opening (A) formed under the top tube (12) and configured to convey turbulent air from underneath the top tube (12) to behind the bicycle frame (10), wherein at least a portion of the opening (A) is formed by a bottom portion of the top tube (12), at least a portion of the opening is formed by the first seat stay (16) and the second seat stay (16), and at least a portion of the opening is formed by the first support and the second support (Annotated Fig. 2, Fig. 5 & col 3 lns 23-63 disclose and depict an opening formed between he seat tube 14 and the seat stays 16 below the top tube 12 that exists both in the embodiment of Fig. 1 and Fig. 5. Examiner asserts that depending on the environmental conditions and speed the bicycle is travelling, at least some air travelling over the bike would be non-laminar, turbulent air would flow through the opening A, e.g., when a bicycle is mounted to the roof of a vehicle travelling on the highway. Further, Examiner notes that the underlined clause is considered to be intended use as it is a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed and although fully considered – is not understood to affect the scope of the claim because recitations of intended use of the claimed invention do not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. See MPEP 2114.).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses a bicycle frame (10) (Figs. 1&5) comprising:
a top tube (12) that connects to a head tube (11) at a front portion of the bicycle frame (10) (Figs. 1 & 5 and col lns 15-23 noting that Fig. 5 depicts the most relevant embodiment however Fig. 1 includes shared components of the bicycle frame of Fig. 5 as well as Fig. 1, e.g., the head tube 11.); a seat tube (14) that extends from a bottom bracket (15); a first seat stay (16) that connects to the top tube (12) at a first point of intersection (32) and a second seat stay (16) that connects to the top tube (12) at a second point of intersection (32); a seatmast (28) sized to receive a seatpost (35), wherein the seatmast (28) extends upward from the top tube (12) at a location on the top tube (12) that is to the rear of the first point of intersection (32) and the second point of intersection (32) such that a back portion of the top tube (12) forms a cantilever,wherein the seatmast (28) extends upward from the top tube (12) at an angle such that a front of the seatmast (28) aligns with a front of the seat tube (14) and a rear of the seatmast (28) aligns with a rear of the seat tube (14) (Fig. 2 depicts first and second seat stays 16. Fig. 5 & col 3 lns 23-63 disclose and depict that the TT extends behind the junction of seat stays 16 and TT 12 and at a minimum forms a cantilever when the frame is in the folded position, e.g., see Fig. 3 as an example, however, examiner asserts a cantilever exists as shown in the assembled state as well); and an opening (A) formed under the top tube (12) and configured to convey turbulent air from underneath the top tube (12) to behind the bicycle frame (10) (Annotated Fig. 2, Fig. 5 & col 3 lns 23-63 disclose and depict an opening formed between he seat tube 14 and the seat stays 16 below the top tube 12 that exists both in the embodiment of Fig. 1 and Fig. 5. Examiner asserts that depending on the environmental conditions and speed the bicycle is travelling, at least some air travelling over the bike would be non-laminar, turbulent air would flow through the opening A, e.g., when a bicycle is mounted to the roof of a vehicle travelling on the highway. Further, Examiner notes that the underlined clause is considered to be intended use as it is a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed and although fully considered – is not understood to affect the scope of the claim because recitations of intended use of the claimed invention do not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. See MPEP 2114.).
Regarding claim 19, depending on claim 18, Chen further discloses a first support that extends from the seat tube (14) to the first seat stay (16); and a second support that extends from the seat tube (14) to the second seat stay (16) (Fig. 5 & col 3 lns 23-44 disclose that the seat stays 16 and seat tube are supported by welding).
Regarding claim 20, depending on claim 19, Chen further discloses wherein at least a portion of the opening (A) is formed by a bottom portion of the top tube (12), at least a portion of the opening (A) is formed by the first seat stay (16) and the second seat stay (16), and at least a portion of the opening is formed by the first support and the second support (Annotated Fig. 2, Fig. 5 & col 3 lns 23-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen.
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 2, further comprising a first chain stay (17) that extends from the bottom bracket (15) to the first seat stay (16) and a second chain stay (17) that extends from the bottom bracket (15) to the second seat stay (16) (Figs. 1 & 5 and col lns 15-23 and col 3 lns 23-44).
To the extent that an argument can be made that Chen does not explicitly/inherently disclose a second, non-drive side chain stay, Examiner asserts that including a non-drive side chain stay would be considered so old and well known in the art that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found prima facia obvious to modify Chen to include a second chain stay for supporting a rear wheel with a dropout on the drive side and the non-drive side and to improve the torsional rigidity/lateral strength of the frame. See the following examples, US 425,017 A, US 426,191 A, US 509,986 A, US 3,030,124 A.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims being rejected under Nicol/Crusack have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-20180086410-A1 to Hsu disclosing an alternative cantilevered rear portion of the top tube with seat stays joining the top tube in front of the cantilever.
US-20170210439-A1 to Schwaiger disclosing an alternative cantilevered rear portion of the top tube with seat stays joining the top tube in front of the cantilever.
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611