DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the Amendment/Remarks received on 9 September 2025. Claims 1-25 have been amended. Claims 1-25 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 11, filed 9 September 2025, with respect to the objection to the Drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive.
With respect to the Applicant’s argument,
The Applicant is unsure if the Office Action is referring to the original figures submitted on February 15, 2022 or to the replacement drawings filed on May 17, 2022 since the Office Action states that it is responsive to the communication(s) filed on February 15, 2022. The Applicant respectfully requests clarification. (see Remarks, pg. 11, paragraph 3)
The Office Action mailed on 26 September 2024 incorrectly reflects the Drawings filed on 15 February 2022 were reviewed and not the replacement Drawings filed on 17 May 2022.
In regards to the Applicant’s argument,
The Applicant believes that the remarks provided above and the amendments made to Figs. 2, 3, and 10-13 fully address the objection, thereby, rendering the objection moot. The Applicant respectfully requests that the objection be withdrawn. No new matter was introduced in providing the amendments to the figures. (see Remarks, pg. 11, paragraph 5)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner maintains the objections to the drawings filed on 9 September 2025 since the descriptions of Figures 2, 3, and 10-13 are indistinguishable, blurry, and/or grainy. For example (see boxes in Figures 2, 10, and 13):
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 12-13, filed 9 September 2025, with respect to objected claims 1-25 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendment filed on 9 September 2025. The objections of 1-25 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 13-18, filed 9 September 2025, with respect to rejected claims 1-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicant’s arguments,
The Applicant believes that multiple differences exist between the mobile device configured to control a plurality of air filtering units and the method of controlling an HVAC system set forth in the cited art. For example, Hediger fails to disclose a mobile device configured as set forth in Claim 1 and as used in Claim 10. The Office Action indicates that Hediger provides a mobile device configured to perform the operations described by the Applicant in par. [0047] of Hediger. However, in Hediger, a mobile device is only utilized in one step of the method of Hediger, i.e., the second step S2, wherein HVAC devices are registered (see Hediger, par. [0047]). Rather, Hediger utilizes a complex control structure 100 to control the HVAC system, wherein the control structure comprises a plurality of control devices that perform different control functions (see Hediger, par. [0030]). (see Remarks, pg. 14, paragraph 2)
There is no indication in Moon of the use of an interface to control a plurality of air filtering units nor the use of a mobile device having such an interface to simultaneously control multiple air filtering units. (see Remarks, pg. 15, paragraph 3)
However, the interface set forth in Moon represents a panel of buttons located on an individual portable air purifying unit used in the home or office that can be manually operated by the user of the unit. There is no indication in Moon of the use of an interface to control a plurality of air filtering units nor the use of a mobile device having such an interface to simultaneously control multiple air filtering units. If one skilled in the art were to utilize the interface set forth by Moon, each of the air purifying units of Hediger would require a separate interface that would be manually operated by the user. (see Remarks, pg. 17, paragraph 3)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Applicant's arguments are against the references individually, wherein one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In regards to the Applicant’s arguments,
The Office Action also indicates that Donlan represents analogous art related to building management systems (see Donlan, par. [0011]). The Applicant respectfully disagrees with this opinion. Rather, Donlan is focused towards determining workspace utilization, wherein occupancy data is received, averaged, and visualized (see Donlan, par. [0004], [0011]). Thus, Donlan does not involve the control of any type equipment in the building structure, such as air filtering units. In Donlan, a building management server 110 is stated to be accessible via any user communication device 107a-n via a web browser (see Donlan, par. [0217]). One skilled in the art would understand that remote access by a user to such a building management server to monitor workspace utilization in a building is not the same as actively controlling a plurality of air filtering units. For at least the above reason(s), the Applicant believes that one skilled in the art would not look to Donlan for a mobile device configured to control a plurality of air filtering units. (see Remarks, pg. 14, paragraph 3 – pg. 15, paragraph 1)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
MPEP 2141.01(a) Analogous and Nonanalogous Art recites:
I. TO RELY ON A REFERENCE UNDER 35 U.S.C. 103, IT MUST BE ANALOGOUS PRIOR ART In order for a reference to be proper for use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 , the reference must be analogous art to the claimed invention. In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325, 72 USPQ2d 1209, 1212 (Fed. Cir. 2004). A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Note that "same field of endeavor" and "reasonably pertinent" are two separate tests for establishing analogous art; it is not necessary for a reference to fulfill both tests in order to qualify as analogous art. See Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212. The examiner must determine whether a reference is analogous art when analyzing the obviousness of the subject matter under examination. If a reference is not analogous art to the claimed invention, it may not be used in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. However, there is no analogous art requirement for a reference being applied in an anticipation rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997)
…
The Supreme Court’s decision in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), did not change the test for analogous art as stated in Bigio. Under Bigio, a reference need not be from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention in order to be analogous art. Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212. This is consistent with the Supreme Court's instruction in KSR that "[w]hen a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one." KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
The Examiner emphasizes it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the Examiner maintains both the claims of the instant application and the prior art is directed to mobile user communication devices (instant application (U.S. 2023/0258359 (instant): abstract and pg. 2, par. [0037] and 2018/0113897 A1 (Donlan): pg. 8, par. [0217]). In addition, the Examiner has further clarified the rejections of claims 1-25 with respect to the Applicant’s argument. Hence, the Applicant’s argument is found unpersuasive.
Further, the Applicant's arguments are against the references individually, wherein one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to the Applicant’s arguments,
Rather, according to the citations referenced by the Office Action, Harrod discloses a controller that includes a communication interface suitable for operable connection to a specific air treatment device (see Harrod, par. [0002], [0007]). More specifically, a separate controller 22 is located on the body of each air treatment device 18 and is configured with a thermostat for temperature control, and to control air flow, as well as identify mechanical or electrical problems associated with the air treatment device (see Harrod, par. [0031]-[0032]; Fig. 1). Fig. 1 of Harrod demonstrates the location of a control device 22 on each of the air treatment devices within the building structure.
The Office Action also states that Harrod provides a representation of the graphical interface for each controller in Fig. 3 along with the indication that a screen shown by the graphical interface may be transmitted through an I/O port to an external device, such as a cellphone, to facility control of the controller 22 through the external device (see Harrod, par. [0059]). However, in this case, each air treatment device of Harrod would still have a controller with said interface located on the air treatment device with a copy of the screen being transmitted to the external device. Thus, even if one were to utilize the controller of Harrod in the air purifying units of Hediger each of the air purifying units would need to be controlled via a separate controller each having a separate communication interface. In addition, such combination of references fails to teach the use of a mobile device to perform each and every operation necessary to be performed simultaneously for a plurality of air filtering units. (see Remarks, pg. 16, paragraph 2 - pg. 17, paragraph 1)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner respectfully maintains the prior art of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0070086 A1 (Harrod) was relied for its teaching of “a plurality of air filtering units; displaying a graphical interface having a plurality of icons, wherein each of the plurality of icons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of an air filtering unit; navigating the graphical interface in response to a user selecting one of the plurality of icons; inputting, by a user, an appropriate operating parameters for the air filtering unit based on the icon selected by a user; and sending the inputted operating parameters to the air filtering unit via a wireless network to thereby control the air filtering unit to advantageously provide improved indoor air quality (IAQ)” in the rejection of claim 1, and similarly in claim 10 of the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 26 September 2025 (teaching of Harrod in claim 1: pgs. 12-15). The Applicant does not appear to address the teachings of Harrod as specifically set forth in the Non-Final Office Action; and the arguments are against the reference of Harrod individually, wherein one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Hence, the Applicant’s arguments are found unpersuasive.
In regards to the Applicant’s argument,
In addition, in Malve the building control system includes a central coordinator having an input/output port for sending signals to a controller of a discrete air conditioner unit (see Malve, par. [0003], [0023]). As shown in Fig. 2 of Malve, the central coordinator represents a component that is separate from the user interface. A separate central coordinator does not exist in the present disclosure, rather the mobile device performs said operation(s). Thus, even if one were to incorporate the disclosure of Malve into the control structure of Hediger, the mobile device of the present disclosure configured for controlling a plurality of air filtering units remains undisclosed and non-obvious. (see Remarks, pg. 17, paragraph 4 – pg. 18, paragraph 1)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0369505 A1 (Malve) teaches:
FIG. 3 provides a schematic block diagram of an illustrative central coordinator 14 that may be utilized in the building management system 2 of FIG. 2. In some cases, the central coordinator 14 may be a dedicated tablet computer, a laptop computer, a desktop computer, a smart phone, a server, or other remote device used to coordinate and control the various building components servicing the building or structure 6. As shown in FIG. 3, the central coordinator 14 may include an input/output port 46 for transmitting and receiving signals over the wireless network 40. In some instances, the input/output port 46 can be a wireless communications port for wirelessly sending and/or receiving signals over the wireless network 40. In one example, the input/output port 46 may include a low frequency radio frequency (RF) transceiver for transmitting and/or receiving RF signals on a ZigBee wireless mesh network. In other cases, as will be described in greater detail herein, the central coordinator 14 may also include a wired or wireless router or gateway for connecting to a communications network, but this is not required. The router or gateway may be integral to the central coordinator 14 or may be provided as a separate device. Additionally, the central coordinator 14 may include a processor (e.g. microprocessor, microcontroller, etc.) 48 and a memory 52. The central coordinator 14 may also have a user interface 56 including a display (not shown), but this is not required. In some cases, the central coordinator 14 may communicate with one or more remote temperature sensors, humidity sensors, lighting sensors, and/or occupancy sensors, which may be located throughout the building or structure 6, via the I/O port 46. Additionally, the central coordinator 14 may communicate with a temperature sensor and/or humidity sensor located outside of the building or structure for sensing an outdoor temperature and/or humidity, if desired. (pg. 3, par. [0033])
In the illustrative embodiment shown in FIG. 3, the user interface 56, when provided, may be any suitable user interface that permits the central coordinator 14 to display and/or solicit information, as well as accept one or more user interactions with the central coordinator 14. Through the user interface 56 of the central coordinator 14, the user may view and manage operation of building components (e.g. discrete air conditioner units 20, lighting banks 26, etc.) that service the building or structure 6. In some cases, the user may be able to group one or more discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or lighting banks 26 to form an operating group and establish operating zones within the building or structure 6. Alternatively, or in addition, the user may be able to set up an operating schedule and select an operating mode for an individual discrete air conditioner unit 20 and/or a group of discrete air conditioner units 20. Different operating schedules and/or operating modes may be selected for different discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or groups of discrete air conditioner units 20. The ability to view and manage multiple building components servicing the building or structure 6, including one or more discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or lighting banks 26, may facilitate improved management of the facility wide energy load which may lead to both energy and cost savings. (pg. 4, par. [0036])
In summary, the prior art of Malve teaches to a central coordinator 14 (e.g. a dedicated tablet computer, a laptop computer, a smart phone or other remote device) comprising of a user interface that is used to coordinate and control various building components servicing a building or structure. The Examiner respectfully recognizes the Applicant has addressed a separate embodiment which features an individual and separate central coordinator from a user interface (Fig. 2) without addressing the embodiment of an integrated central coordinator and user interface (Fig. 3) as set forth in claim 1 and 10 of the Non-Final Office Action. Hence, the Applicant’s argument is found unpersuasive.
With respect to the Applicant’s argument,
The Applicant believes that the selection of combining Hediger, Donlan, Moon, Harrod, and Malve to derive the mobile device configured for controlling a plurality of air filtering units as claimed by the Applicant in Claim 1 of the present disclosure could only be accomplished through the use of impermissible hindsight. Thus, the Applicant believes that such combination of art is improper because it relies on information gleaned solely from the Applicant's specification. Although the number of references combined to form a rejection is not a dispositive indicator of non-obviousness, the number of references should be considered when determining the use of impermissible hindsight. The need to combine a large number of references as in this case, clearly suggests a higher degree of hindsight bias (see In re Gorman, 933 F.2d at 986 (quoting Hybritech, 802 F.2d at 1383)). (pg. 18, paragraph 1)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to Applicant's argument that the Examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Further, in response to Applicant's argument that the Examiner has combined an excessive number of references, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
With respect to the Applicant’s argument,
The Applicant further believes that Claims 2-25, which depend directly or indirectly from Claim 1, are patentably distinguishable for at least the same reason(s) as Claim 1. Favorable reconsideration of Claims 1-25 is respectfully requested in view of the remarks provided above. (see Remarks, pg. 18, paragraph 2)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner refers to the above response, pg. 6, paragraph 7 - pg. 14, paragraph 11 of this Office action, and the argument herein as addressed.
Claim 10 and the drawings stand objected to and claims 1-25 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the descriptions of Figures 2, 3, and 10-13 are indistinguishable, blurry, and/or grainy. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Examiner’s Note:
The objections of the claim 10 are numerous; however, several examples have been provided to the Applicant as a sample of the outstanding issues with the claims. The Examiner respectfully asserts these samples are not an all-inclusive list of the outstanding issues with the claim filed on 9 September 2025. In addition, if the Applicant requires further clarification, the Applicant is invited to contact the Examiner for an interview prior to filing a future response.
The Applicant is respectfully requested to thoroughly assess any subsequent claim amendments for grammatical issues and make the necessary corrections prior to submission to obviate future objections in the interest of advancing prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “connecting each of a plurality of air filtering systems” in lines 3 and “the connected air filtering units” in line 4. The claims use two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid ambiguity in the claims a single term should be used for each claim limitation. Suggested claim language: “connecting each of a plurality of air filtering units” in lines 3 and “the plurality connected air filtering units” in line 4; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 10 includes the punctuation issue of “comprise;” in line 9. Suggested claim language: “comprise:”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 10 recites “a mobile device according to claim 1” in line 5 and additional limitations that characterize the mobile device of claim 1 which were recited in claim 1 and provide antecedent support for the same limitations in claim 10. For example, the following limitations of claim 10 do not reflect antecedent support for the limitations previously recited in claim 1:
“… a display, at least one processor, and memory …” in lines 5-6
“displaying a graphical interface having a plurality of icons …” in line 10
“assigning each of the individual linked plurality of air filtering units …” in line 12
“inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters …” in line 15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0208866 A1 (hereinafter Hediger) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0113897 A1 (hereinafter Donlan) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0094177 A1 (hereinafter Moon), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0070086 A1 (hereinafter Harrod), and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0369505 A1 (hereinafter Malve).
As per claim 1, Hediger substantially teaches the applicant’s claimed invention. Hediger teaches the limitations of a mobile device configured for controlling a plurality of air units,
a mobile device to perform operations (pg. 4, par. [0047]; i.e. “The mobile device could be for example a smartphone, a tablet, a smart watch, smart glasses with display functions.) comprising:
linking a graphical interface individually to each of a plurality of air units through a wireless network (pg. 4, par. [0047]; i.e. “… the HVAC devices are registered. This includes normally the identification of the HVAC device. This can be captured by reading the identifier of the HVAC device with a mobile device of a user (commissioning personal). The identifier could be an NFC tag in the HVAC device or a QR code shown on the HVAC device. The mobile device could be for example a smartphone, a tablet, a smart watch, smart glasses with display functions. This registration step can also be performed, when the HVAC devices installed are not yet powered. In one embodiment, the registration step includes also the registration of the location of the HVAC device in the building structure. This could be performed by a user input of the user on the mobile device or automatically, e.g. by an indoor navigation system, when the identifier of the HVAC device is read. … The registration information is used in the configuring section 150. The registration step S2 could include the user input or the measurement of the location of the HVAC device. The location information of the representations of the HVAC devices in the model could be compared with the location of the HVAC device determined in the registration step S2 in order to automatically detect the assignment of the HVAC device registered to the corresponding representation of the HVAC device of the model.”);
assigning each of the individually linked plurality of air units to at least one collection of air units (pg. 5, par. [0061]; i.e. “… the HVAC devices are grouped. … The structure of the HVAC devices of a group can be one or more of: the number of HVAC devices, the type of the HVAC devices and the assignments between the fluid control devices 11, 12, 13 and the sensor devices 21, 22. When comparing the structure of the HVAC devices of a group to the model of the HVAC system, a corresponding group of HVAC devices of the same application can be detected in the model. Thus, it is possible to assign the group of HVAC devices to a specific group of HVAC devices in the model.”); and
inputting a single set of appropriate operating parameters for the at least one collection of air units (pg. 4, par. [0052]; i.e. “… the assignment information already determined for other HVAC devices and/or the location information of the HVAC devices. Preferably, only one fluid control device is selected for varying the fluid control parameters. However, it is also possible to select two or more fluid control devices for changing their fluid control parameters together/at the same time.”).
Not explicitly taught are a plurality of air filtering units; and
the mobile device comprising:
a display;
at least one processor; and
memory stored instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device to perform operations comprising:
displaying a graphical interface having a plurality of icons, wherein each of the plurality of icons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of the plurality of air filtering units;
naming and storing the at least one collection of air filtering units;
navigating the graphical interface in response to a user selecting one of the plurality of icons;
inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for the named and stored at least one collection of air filtering units based on the icon selected by a user; and
sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each air filtering unit assigned to the at least one collection of air filtering units via the wireless network to thereby control the air filtering units together.
However Donlan, in an analogous art of a mobile user interface device (pg. 8, par. [0217]), teaches the missing limitations of a mobile device (pg. 8, par. [0217] and Fig. 1, element 107a-n; i.e. “User communication devices 107a-n may be any computers known in the art, including, but not limited to a desktop computer, a laptop, a portable electronic device, a mobile computer, a smartphone, a tablet, a personal digital assistant, or any other computer configured for communicating with a remove server, such as server 110, via a communication network 108 through a web-browser or other similar application.”) comprising:
a display (pg. 8, par. [0217]; i.e. “Each user communication device 107a-n may comprise a central processing unit (CPU), a user interface (e.g., display, keyboard, mouse, or the like), one of numerous forms of storage (e.g., solid-state memory (random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and the like), magnetic memory, such as disc drives, tape storage, and the like, and/or optical memory, such as DVD), and a network interface, as is known in the art.”);
at least one processor (pg. 8, par. [0217]; i.e. “Each user communication device 107a-n may comprise a central processing unit (CPU), a user interface (e.g., display, keyboard, mouse, or the like), one of numerous forms of storage (e.g., solid-state memory (random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and the like), magnetic memory, such as disc drives, tape storage, and the like, and/or optical memory, such as DVD), and a network interface, as is known in the art.”); and
memory stored instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor , cause the mobile device to perform operations (pg. 8, par. [0217]; i.e. “User communication devices 107a-n may access the services provided by the building management server 110 using a web-browser, such as Internet Explorer, Microsoft Edge, Firefox, Google Chrome, Opera, Safari, or the like. While the embodiments are described herein as accessing server 110 via a web-browser, the present embodiments are not limited to such an implementation. According to other embodiments, the user communication devices 107a-n may comprise a proprietary native mobile app, or any other similar software application, configured to access server 110 via the communication network 108. … Each user communication device 107a-n may comprise a central processing unit (CPU), a user interface (e.g., display, keyboard, mouse, or the like), one of numerous forms of storage (e.g., solid-state memory (random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and the like), magnetic memory, such as disc drives, tape storage, and the like, and/or optical memory, such as DVD), and a network interface, as is known in the art.”) comprising:
naming and storing the at least one collection of nodes (pg. 13, par. [0248] and [0250]; i.e. “The user may change the default names of any of the nodes by selecting the node and pressing the “Edit” button 1309. In response, the selected node appears in the form of a fillable field allowing the user to change the node name. “Save” button 1310 may be pressed to save any changes in a project file on the building attribute database 307.”) for the purpose of creating a space node (pg. 13, par. [0248]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger to include the addition of the limitations of a mobile device comprising: a display; at least one processor; and memory stored instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device to perform operations comprising naming and storing the at least one collection of nodes to effectively determine workspace utilization for building control and management (Donlan: pg. 1, par. [0004]).
Hediger in view of Donlan does not expressly teach a plurality of air filtering units;
displaying a graphical interface having a plurality of icons, wherein each of the plurality of icons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of the plurality of air filtering units;
navigating the graphical interface in response to a user selecting one of the plurality of icons;
inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for the named and stored at least one collection of air filtering units based on the icon selected by a user; and
sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each air filtering unit assigned to the at least one collection of air filtering units via the wireless network to thereby control the air filtering units together.
However Moon, in an analogous art of air purifying systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of an interface (Fig. 4b, element 14; i.e. control panel) having a plurality of buttons (Fig. 4b, element 50, i.e. buttons), wherein each of the plurality of buttons corresponds to one of either a preset operation (Fig. 4b, element 55 and 58; i.e. the control panel includes “Turbo” and “Ultimate Clean” buttons) or a control feature (Fig. 4b, element 51-54, 56, and 57; i.e. the control panel includes “Power”, “Auto”, “Fan Speed”, “Timer”, “Air”, and “Odor” buttons) of an air filtering unit (pg. 2, par. [0038] and [0040] and pgs. 10-11, par. [0092]-[0117]) for the purpose of removing particulates from air (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan to include the addition of the limitation of an interface having a plurality of buttons, wherein each of the plurality of buttons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of an air filtering unit to advantageously facilitate efficiency by alerting for poor air quality, filter cleaning or removal alerts, and automatic on and off modes (Moon: pg. 1, par. [0012]).
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon does not expressly teach a plurality of air filtering units;
displaying a graphical interface having a plurality of icons, wherein each of the plurality of icons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of the plurality of air filtering units;
navigating the graphical interface in response to a user selecting one of the plurality of icons;
inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for the named and stored at least one collection of air filtering units based on the icon selected by a user; and
sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each air filtering unit assigned to the at least one collection of air filtering units via the wireless network to thereby control the air filtering units together.
However Harrod, in an analogous art of building management systems and air purifiers (pg. 1, par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0031]), teaches the missing limitations of a plurality of air filtering units (pg. 6, par. [0065]; i.e. “Moreover, in certain embodiments, each zone may have a separate air treatment device to allow customization of different fragrances, neutralizers, or other air treatments that may be added to the conditioned air.”);
displaying a graphical interface (Fig. 3, element 46; i.e. graphical use interface) having a plurality of icons (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pg. 5, par. and [0058] and [0059]; i.e. [0040]: “GUI 46 also may include graphical elements 50 that may represent icons, buttons, sliders, menu bars, and the like. Graphical elements 50 may be selected by a user through the touch screen.” and [0059]: “User input 88 also may be received through an input/output (I/O) port 90. … In certain embodiments, the I/O port may be a wireless interface for connecting to a computer, cell phone, or personal navigation device over a wireless network, such as an IEEE 802.11x wireless network. Moreover, in certain embodiments, screens of GUI 46 may be transmitted through I/O port 90 to an external device, such as a cell phone or computer, to facilitate control of controller 22 through the external device.”), wherein each of the plurality of icons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of an air filtering unit (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg.3, par. [0041] and [0043], pg. 10, claim 15 and Fig. 4, element 74 of Fig. 2, element 28 of Fig. 2, element 52; i.e. an Indoor Air Quality (IAQ) system of an indoor unit of an HVAC system and claim 15: “… a graphical user interface comprising the selectable graphical elements and capable of receiving a user input that selects one or more operating parameters for the air treatment device via the selectable graphical elements”);
navigating the graphical interface in response to a user selecting one of the plurality of icons (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pg. 5, par. [0060]; i.e. [0039]: “Display 44 may be used to display a graphical user interface (GUI) 46 that allows a user to interact with the controller. GUI 46 may include various layers, windows, screens, templates, elements, or other components that may be displayed in all, or a portion, of display 44. Generally, GUI 46 may include textual and graphical elements that represent applications and functions of controller 22. ”, [0040]: “A graphical element 50D also may be selected by a user to display screens with menus and/or submenus for adjusting system settings and/or operation parameters of the HVAC system.” and [0060]: “ A graphical element 122 may be selected to adjust settings for zones within HVAC system 52. … Moreover, in certain embodiments, each zone may have a separate air treatment device to allow customization of different fragrances, neutralizers, or other air treatments that may be added to the conditioned air. ”);
inputting, by a user, an appropriate operating parameters for the air filtering unit based on the icon selected by a user (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg. 5, par. [0060], pg. 10, claim 15; i.e. claim 15: “… a graphical user interface comprising the selectable graphical elements and capable of receiving a user input that selects one or more operating parameters for the air treatment device via the selectable graphical elements” and [0060]: “ A graphical element 122 may be selected to adjust settings for zones within HVAC system 52. … Moreover, in certain embodiments, each zone may have a separate air treatment device to allow customization of different fragrances, neutralizers, or other air treatments that may be added to the conditioned air. ”); and
sending the inputted operating parameters to the air filtering unit via a wireless network to thereby control the air filtering unit (pg. 1, par. [0007] and pg. 10, claim 15; i.e. claim 15: “… a graphical user interface comprising the selectable graphical elements and capable of receiving a user input that selects one or more operating parameters for the air treatment device via the selectable graphical elements; and a processor capable of controlling operation of the air treatment device based on the selected operating parameters and capable of operating the heating, ventilating, air conditioning, or cooling system.”) for the purpose of controlling an air treatment device (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg. 5, par. [0060] and pg. 10, claim 15).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon to include the addition of the limitations of a plurality of air filtering units; displaying a graphical interface having a plurality of icons, wherein each of the plurality of icons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of an air filtering unit; navigating the graphical interface in response to a user selecting one of the plurality of icons; inputting, by a user, an appropriate operating parameters for the air filtering unit based on the icon selected by a user; and sending the inputted operating parameters to the air filtering unit via a wireless network to thereby control the air filtering unit to advantageously provide improved indoor air quality (IAQ) (Harrod: pg. 2, par. [0033]).
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon and Harrod does not expressly teach inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for the named and stored at least one collection of air filtering units based on the icon selected by a user; and
sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each air filtering unit assigned to the at least one collection of air filtering units via the wireless network to thereby control the air filtering units together.
However Malve, in an analogous art of a building control system (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitations of inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for at least one collection of units selected by a user (pg. 4, par. [0036]; i.e. “… the user interface 56, when provided, may be any suitable user interface that permits the central coordinator 14 to display and/or solicit information, as well as accept one or more user interactions with the central coordinator 14. Through the user interface 56 of the central coordinator 14, the user may view and manage operation of building components (e.g. discrete air conditioner units 20, lighting banks 26, etc.) that service the building or structure 6. In some cases, the user may be able to group one or more discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or lighting banks 26 to form an operating group and establish operating zones within the building or structure 6. Alternatively, or in addition, the user may be able to set up an operating schedule and select an operating mode for an individual discrete air conditioner unit 20 and/or a group of discrete air conditioner units 20. Different operating schedules and/or operating modes may be selected for different discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or groups of discrete air conditioner units 20.”); and
sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each unit assigned to the at least one collection of units to thereby control the units together (pg. 2, par. [0023] and pg. 4, par. [0036]; i.e. [0023]: “The central coordinator 14 may be configured to control the comfort level in one or more rooms and/or zones of the building or structure 6 by activating and/or deactivating one or more discrete air conditioner units 20 in a controlled manner.” and [0036]: “… the user interface 56, when provided, may be any suitable user interface that permits the central coordinator 14 to display and/or solicit information, as well as accept one or more user interactions with the central coordinator 14. Through the user interface 56 of the central coordinator 14, the user may view and manage operation of building components (e.g. discrete air conditioner units 20, lighting banks 26, etc.) that service the building or structure 6. In some cases, the user may be able to group one or more discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or lighting banks 26 to form an operating group and establish operating zones within the building or structure 6. Alternatively, or in addition, the user may be able to set up an operating schedule and select an operating mode for an individual discrete air conditioner unit 20 and/or a group of discrete air conditioner units 20. Different operating schedules and/or operating modes may be selected for different discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or groups of discrete air conditioner units 20.”) for the purpose of managing multiple building components (pg. 4, par. [0036]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon and Harrod to include the addition of the limitations of inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for at least one collection of units selected by a user; and sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each unit assigned to the at least one collection of units to thereby control the units together to advantageously provide improved management of a facility (Malve: pg. 4, par. [0036]).
As per claim 2, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon does not expressly teach the graphical interface comprises a plurality of menu screens.
However Harrod, in an analogous art of building management systems and air purifiers (pg. 1, par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0031]), teaches the missing limitation of
the graphical interface comprises a plurality of menu screens (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040]; i.e. [0039]: “Display 44 may be used to display a graphical user interface (GUI) 46 that allows a user to interact with the controller. GUI 46 may include various layers, windows, screens, templates, elements, or other components that may be displayed in all, or a portion, of display 44. Generally, GUI 46 may include textual and graphical elements that represent applications and functions of controller 22. ”, [0040]: “A graphical element 50D also may be selected by a user to display screens with menus and/or submenus for adjusting system settings and/or operation parameters of the HVAC system.”) for the purpose of controlling an air treatment device (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg. 5, par. [0060] and pg. 10, claim 15).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon to include the addition of the limitation of the graphical interface comprises a plurality of menu screens to advantageously provide improved indoor air quality (IAQ) (Harrod: pg. 2, par. [0033]).
As per claim 3, Hediger in view of Donlan does not expressly teach the icons corresponding to control features of the plurality of air filtering units comprise a power on/off button, a timer button, a sleep button, an alarm button, and a fan speed button.
However Moon, in an analogous art of air purifying systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of the buttons (Fig. 4b, element 50, i.e. buttons) corresponding to control features of the air filtering unit comprise a power on/off button, a timer button, a sleep button, an alarm button, and a fan speed button (pg. 2, par. [0038] and [0040], pgs. 10-11, par. [0092]-[0117], and Fig. 4b, element 51-54, 56, and 57) for the purpose of removing particulates from air (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan to include the addition of the limitation of the buttons corresponding to control features of the air filtering unit comprise a power on/off button, a timer button, a sleep button, an alarm button, and a fan speed button to advantageously facilitate efficiency by alerting for poor air quality, filter cleaning or removal alerts, and automatic on and off modes (Moon: pg. 1, par. [0012]).
Hediger in view of Donlan in view of Moon does not expressly teach the icons corresponding to control features of the plurality of air filtering units.
However Harrod, in an analogous art of building management systems and air purifiers (pg. 1, par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0031]), teaches the missing limitation of the icons corresponding to control features of the plurality of air filtering units (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg.3, par. [0041] and [0043], pg. 10, claim 15, pg. 6, par. [0065], and Fig. 4, element 74 of Fig. 2, element 28 of Fig. 2, element 52; i.e. the Indoor Air Quality (IAQ) system of an indoor unit of an HVAC system; claim 15: “… a graphical user interface comprising the selectable graphical elements and capable of receiving a user input that selects one or more operating parameters for the air treatment device via the selectable graphical elements”; and [0065]: “Moreover, in certain embodiments, each zone may have a separate air treatment device to allow customization of different fragrances, neutralizers, or other air treatments that may be added to the conditioned air.”) for the purpose of controlling an air treatment device (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg. 5, par. [0060] and pg. 10, claim 15).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon to include the addition of the limitation of the icons corresponding to control features of the plurality of air filtering units to advantageously provide improved indoor air quality (IAQ) (Harrod: pg. 2, par. [0033]).
As per claim 10, the limitation of “a mobile device according to claim 1” stands rejected for the same rationale as set forth in claim 1 by virtue of its incorporation of the mobile device of claim 1.
Further, Hediger teaches the limitations of a method for remotely controlling a plurality of air units comprising:
connecting each of a plurality of air filtering systems to a wireless network (pgs. 2-3, par. [0029] and [0034]; i.e. [0029]: “The communication network 4 is preferably an internal network like a (wireless) local area network ((W)LAN), LoRa network, an Ethernet, etc. However, other communication networks 4 like internet, mobile phone network, etc. are also possible.”), each of the connected air filtering units being positioned in an area (pg. 2, par. [0021] and pg. 4, par. [0047]; i.e. [0047]: “… the HVAC devices are registered. This includes normally the identification of the HVAC device. This can be captured by reading the identifier of the HVAC device with a mobile device of a user (commissioning personal). The identifier could be an NFC tag in the HVAC device or a QR code shown on the HVAC device. … The location of the HVAC devices in the building structure could be detected in the HVAC devices by a positioning system like GPS or WLAN triangulation for example.”); and
connecting a mobile device, to the wireless network (pgs. 2-3, par. [0029] and [0034]; i.e. [0029]: “The communication network 4 is preferably an internal network like a (wireless) local area network ((W)LAN), LoRa network, an Ethernet, etc. However, other communication networks 4 like internet, mobile phone network, etc. are also possible.”); and [0034]: “The mobile device could also communicate over the communication network 4 as the HVAC devices described above.”), cause the mobile device to perform operations (pg. 4, par. [0047]; i.e. “The mobile device could be for example a smartphone, a tablet, a smart watch, smart glasses with display functions.), wherein the operations comprise;
linking the graphical interface individually to each of the plurality of air filtering units through a wireless network (pg. 4, par. [0047]; i.e. “… the HVAC devices are registered. This includes normally the identification of the HVAC device. This can be captured by reading the identifier of the HVAC device with a mobile device of a user (commissioning personal). The identifier could be an NFC tag in the HVAC device or a QR code shown on the HVAC device. The mobile device could be for example a smartphone, a tablet, a smart watch, smart glasses with display functions. This registration step can also be performed, when the HVAC devices installed are not yet powered. In one embodiment, the registration step includes also the registration of the location of the HVAC device in the building structure. This could be performed by a user input of the user on the mobile device or automatically, e.g. by an indoor navigation system, when the identifier of the HVAC device is read. … The registration information is used in the configuring section 150. The registration step S2 could include the user input or the measurement of the location of the HVAC device. The location information of the representations of the HVAC devices in the model could be compared with the location of the HVAC device determined in the registration step S2 in order to automatically detect the assignment of the HVAC device registered to the corresponding representation of the HVAC device of the model.”);;
assigning each of the individually linked plurality of air units to at least one collection of air units (pg. 5, par. [0061]; i.e. “… the HVAC devices are grouped. … The structure of the HVAC devices of a group can be one or more of: the number of HVAC devices, the type of the HVAC devices and the assignments between the fluid control devices 11, 12, 13 and the sensor devices 21, 22. When comparing the structure of the HVAC devices of a group to the model of the HVAC system, a corresponding group of HVAC devices of the same application can be detected in the model. Thus, it is possible to assign the group of HVAC devices to a specific group of HVAC devices in the model.”);
inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for at least one collection of air units (pg. 4, par. [0052]; i.e. “… the assignment information already determined for other HVAC devices and/or the location information of the HVAC devices. Preferably, only one fluid control device is selected for varying the fluid control parameters. However, it is also possible to select two or more fluid control devices for changing their fluid control parameters together/at the same time.”).
Not explicitly taught are a plurality of air filtering units; and
a mobile device having a display, at least one processor, and memory, wherein the memory includes stored instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device to perform operations, wherein the operations comprise:
displaying a graphical interface having a plurality of icons, wherein each of the plurality of icons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of the plurality of air filtering units;
naming and storing the at least one collection of air filtering units;
navigating the graphical interface in response to a user selecting one of the plurality of icons;
inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for the named and stored at least one collection of air filtering units based on the icon selected by a user; and
sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each air filtering unit assigned to the at least one collection of air filtering units via the wireless network to thereby control the air filtering units together.
However Donlan, in an analogous art of a mobile user interface device (pg. 8, par. [0217]), teaches the missing limitations of a mobile device (pg. 8, par. [0217] and Fig. 1, element 107a-n; i.e. “User communication devices 107a-n may be any computers known in the art, including, but not limited to a desktop computer, a laptop, a portable electronic device, a mobile computer, a smartphone, a tablet, a personal digital assistant, or any other computer configured for communicating with a remove server, such as server 110, via a communication network 108 through a web-browser or other similar application.”) having a display (pg. 8, par. [0217]; i.e. “Each user communication device 107a-n may comprise a central processing unit (CPU), a user interface (e.g., display, keyboard, mouse, or the like), one of numerous forms of storage (e.g., solid-state memory (random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and the like), magnetic memory, such as disc drives, tape storage, and the like, and/or optical memory, such as DVD), and a network interface, as is known in the art.”), at least one processor (pg. 8, par. [0217]; i.e. “Each user communication device 107a-n may comprise a central processing unit (CPU), a user interface (e.g., display, keyboard, mouse, or the like), one of numerous forms of storage (e.g., solid-state memory (random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and the like), magnetic memory, such as disc drives, tape storage, and the like, and/or optical memory, such as DVD), and a network interface, as is known in the art.”), and memory, wherein the memory includes stored instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device to perform operations (pg. 8, par. [0217]; i.e. “User communication devices 107a-n may access the services provided by the building management server 110 using a web-browser, such as Internet Explorer, Microsoft Edge, Firefox, Google Chrome, Opera, Safari, or the like. While the embodiments are described herein as accessing server 110 via a web-browser, the present embodiments are not limited to such an implementation. According to other embodiments, the user communication devices 107a-n may comprise a proprietary native mobile app, or any other similar software application, configured to access server 110 via the communication network 108. … Each user communication device 107a-n may comprise a central processing unit (CPU), a user interface (e.g., display, keyboard, mouse, or the like), one of numerous forms of storage (e.g., solid-state memory (random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), and the like), magnetic memory, such as disc drives, tape storage, and the like, and/or optical memory, such as DVD), and a network interface, as is known in the art.”), wherein the operations comprise:
naming and storing the at least one collection of nodes (pg. 13, par. [0248] and [0250]; i.e. “The user may change the default names of any of the nodes by selecting the node and pressing the “Edit” button 1309. In response, the selected node appears in the form of a fillable field allowing the user to change the node name. “Save” button 1310 may be pressed to save any changes in a project file on the building attribute database 307.”) for the purpose of creating a space node (pg. 13, par. [0248]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger to include the addition of the limitations of a mobile device having a display, at least one processor, and memory, wherein the memory includes stored instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device to perform operations, wherein the operations comprise: naming and storing the at least one collection of nodes to effectively determine workspace utilization for building control and management (Donlan: pg. 1, par. [0004]).
Hediger in view of Donlan does not expressly teach displaying a graphical interface having a plurality of icons, wherein each of the plurality of icons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of the plurality of air filtering units;
navigating the graphical interface in response to a user selecting one of the plurality of icons;
inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for the named and stored at least one collection of air filtering units based on the icon selected by a user; and
sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each air filtering unit assigned to the at least one collection of air filtering systems via the wireless network to thereby control the air filtering units together.
However Moon, in an analogous art of air purifying systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of an interface (Fig. 4b, element 14; i.e. control panel) having a plurality of buttons (Fig. 4b, element 50, i.e. buttons), wherein each of the plurality of buttons corresponds to one of either a preset operation (Fig. 4b, element 55 and 58; i.e. the control panel includes “Turbo” and “Ultimate Clean” buttons) or a control feature (Fig. 4b, element 51-54, 56, and 57; i.e. the control panel includes “Power”, “Auto”, “Fan Speed”, “Timer”, “Air”, and “Odor” buttons) of an air filtering unit (pg. 2, par. [0038] and [0040] and pgs. 10-11, par. [0092]-[0117]) for the purpose of removing particulates from air (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan to include the addition of the limitation of an interface having a plurality of buttons, wherein each of the plurality of buttons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of an air filtering unit to advantageously facilitate efficiency by alerting for poor air quality, filter cleaning or removal alerts, and automatic on and off modes (Moon: pg. 1, par. [0012]).
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon does not expressly teach displaying a graphical interface having a plurality of icons, wherein each of the plurality of icons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of the plurality of air filtering units;
navigating the graphical interface in response to a user selecting one of the plurality of icons;
inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for the named and stored at least one collection of air filtering units based on the icon selected by a user; and
sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each air filtering unit assigned to the at least one collection of air filtering systems via the wireless network to thereby control the air filtering units together.
However Harrod, in an analogous art of building management systems and air purifiers (pg. 1, par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0031]), teaches the missing limitations of displaying a graphical interface (Fig. 3, element 46; i.e. graphical use interface) having a plurality of icons (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pg. 5, par. and [0058] and [0059]; i.e. [0040]: “GUI 46 also may include graphical elements 50 that may represent icons, buttons, sliders, menu bars, and the like. Graphical elements 50 may be selected by a user through the touch screen.” and [0059]: “User input 88 also may be received through an input/output (I/O) port 90. … In certain embodiments, the I/O port may be a wireless interface for connecting to a computer, cell phone, or personal navigation device over a wireless network, such as an IEEE 802.11x wireless network. Moreover, in certain embodiments, screens of GUI 46 may be transmitted through I/O port 90 to an external device, such as a cell phone or computer, to facilitate control of controller 22 through the external device.”), wherein each of the plurality of icons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of an air filtering unit (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg.3, par. [0041] and [0043], pg. 10, claim 15 and Fig. 4, element 74 of Fig. 2, element 28 of Fig. 2, element 52; i.e. an Indoor Air Quality (IAQ) system of an indoor unit of an HVAC system and claim 15: “… a graphical user interface comprising the selectable graphical elements and capable of receiving a user input that selects one or more operating parameters for the air treatment device via the selectable graphical elements”);
navigating the graphical interface in response to a user selecting one of the plurality of icons (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pg. 5, par. [0060]; i.e. [0039]: “Display 44 may be used to display a graphical user interface (GUI) 46 that allows a user to interact with the controller. GUI 46 may include various layers, windows, screens, templates, elements, or other components that may be displayed in all, or a portion, of display 44. Generally, GUI 46 may include textual and graphical elements that represent applications and functions of controller 22. ”, [0040]: “A graphical element 50D also may be selected by a user to display screens with menus and/or submenus for adjusting system settings and/or operation parameters of the HVAC system.” and [0060]: “ A graphical element 122 may be selected to adjust settings for zones within HVAC system 52. … Moreover, in certain embodiments, each zone may have a separate air treatment device to allow customization of different fragrances, neutralizers, or other air treatments that may be added to the conditioned air. ”);
inputting, by a user, an appropriate operating parameters for the air filtering unit based on the icon selected by a user (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg. 5, par. [0060], pg. 10, claim 15; i.e. claim 15: “… a graphical user interface comprising the selectable graphical elements and capable of receiving a user input that selects one or more operating parameters for the air treatment device via the selectable graphical elements” and [0060]: “ A graphical element 122 may be selected to adjust settings for zones within HVAC system 52. … Moreover, in certain embodiments, each zone may have a separate air treatment device to allow customization of different fragrances, neutralizers, or other air treatments that may be added to the conditioned air. ”);
sending the inputted operating parameters to the air filtering unit via a wireless network to thereby control the air filtering unit (pg. 1, par. [0007] and pg. 10, claim 15; i.e. claim 15: “… a graphical user interface comprising the selectable graphical elements and capable of receiving a user input that selects one or more operating parameters for the air treatment device via the selectable graphical elements; and a processor capable of controlling operation of the air treatment device based on the selected operating parameters and capable of operating the heating, ventilating, air conditioning, or cooling system.”); and
a plurality of air filtering units (pg. 6, par. [0065]; i.e. “Moreover, in certain embodiments, each zone may have a separate air treatment device to allow customization of different fragrances, neutralizers, or other air treatments that may be added to the conditioned air.”) for the purpose of controlling an air treatment device (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg. 5, par. [0060] and pg. 10, claim 15).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon to include the addition of the limitations of displaying a graphical interface having a plurality of icons, wherein each of the plurality of icons corresponds to one of either a preset operation or a control feature of an air filtering unit; navigating the graphical interface in response to a user selecting one of the plurality of icons; inputting, by a user, an appropriate operating parameters for the air filtering unit based on the icon selected by a user; sending the inputted operating parameters to the air filtering unit via a wireless network to thereby control the air filtering unit; and a plurality of air filtering units to advantageously provide improved indoor air quality (IAQ) (Harrod: pg. 2, par. [0033]).
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon and Harrod does not expressly teach inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for the named and stored at least one collection of air filtering units based on the icon selected by a user; and
sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each air filtering unit assigned to the at least one collection of air filtering systems via the wireless network to thereby control the air filtering units together.
However Malve, in an analogous art of a building control system (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitations of inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for at least one collection of units selected by a user (pg. 4, par. [0036]; i.e. “… the user interface 56, when provided, may be any suitable user interface that permits the central coordinator 14 to display and/or solicit information, as well as accept one or more user interactions with the central coordinator 14. Through the user interface 56 of the central coordinator 14, the user may view and manage operation of building components (e.g. discrete air conditioner units 20, lighting banks 26, etc.) that service the building or structure 6. In some cases, the user may be able to group one or more discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or lighting banks 26 to form an operating group and establish operating zones within the building or structure 6. Alternatively, or in addition, the user may be able to set up an operating schedule and select an operating mode for an individual discrete air conditioner unit 20 and/or a group of discrete air conditioner units 20. Different operating schedules and/or operating modes may be selected for different discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or groups of discrete air conditioner units 20.”); and
sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each unit assigned to the at least one collection of air filtering systems to thereby control the units together (pg. 2, par. [0023] and pg. 4, par. [0036]; i.e. [0023]: “The central coordinator 14 may be configured to control the comfort level in one or more rooms and/or zones of the building or structure 6 by activating and/or deactivating one or more discrete air conditioner units 20 in a controlled manner.” and [0036]: “… the user interface 56, when provided, may be any suitable user interface that permits the central coordinator 14 to display and/or solicit information, as well as accept one or more user interactions with the central coordinator 14. Through the user interface 56 of the central coordinator 14, the user may view and manage operation of building components (e.g. discrete air conditioner units 20, lighting banks 26, etc.) that service the building or structure 6. In some cases, the user may be able to group one or more discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or lighting banks 26 to form an operating group and establish operating zones within the building or structure 6. Alternatively, or in addition, the user may be able to set up an operating schedule and select an operating mode for an individual discrete air conditioner unit 20 and/or a group of discrete air conditioner units 20. Different operating schedules and/or operating modes may be selected for different discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or groups of discrete air conditioner units 20.”) for the purpose of managing multiple building components (pg. 4, par. [0036]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon and Harrod to include the addition of the limitations of inputting, by a user, a single set of appropriate operating parameters for at least one collection of units selected by a user; and sending the inputted single set of operating parameters to each unit assigned to the at least one collection of air filtering systems to thereby control the units together to advantageously provide improved management of a facility (Malve: pg. 4, par. [0036]).
As per claim 15, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon does not expressly teach wherein the graphical interface comprises a plurality of menu screens.
However Harrod, in an analogous art of building management systems and air purifiers (pg. 1, par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0031]), teaches the missing limitation of
the graphical interface comprises a plurality of menu screens (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040]; i.e. [0039]: “Display 44 may be used to display a graphical user interface (GUI) 46 that allows a user to interact with the controller. GUI 46 may include various layers, windows, screens, templates, elements, or other components that may be displayed in all, or a portion, of display 44. Generally, GUI 46 may include textual and graphical elements that represent applications and functions of controller 22. ”, [0040]: “A graphical element 50D also may be selected by a user to display screens with menus and/or submenus for adjusting system settings and/or operation parameters of the HVAC system.”) for the purpose of controlling an air treatment device (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg. 5, par. [0060] and pg. 10, claim 15).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon to include the addition of the limitation of the graphical interface comprises a plurality of menu screens to advantageously provide improved indoor air quality (IAQ) (Harrod: pg. 2, par. [0033]).
As per claim 16, Hediger in view of Donlan does not expressly teach the icons corresponding to control features of the plurality of air filtering units comprise a power on/off button, a timer button, a sleep button, an alarm button, and a fan speed button.
However Moon, in an analogous art of air purifying systems (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitations of the buttons (Fig. 4b, element 50, i.e. buttons) corresponding to control features of the air filtering unit comprise a power on/off button, a timer button, a sleep button, an alarm button, and a fan speed button (pg. 2, par. [0038] and [0040], pgs. 10-11, par. [0092]-[0117], and Fig. 4b, element 51-54, 56, and 57) for the purpose of removing particulates from air (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan to include the addition of the limitation of the buttons corresponding to control features of the air filtering unit comprise a power on/off button, a timer button, a sleep button, an alarm button, and a fan speed button to advantageously facilitate efficiency by alerting for poor air quality, filter cleaning or removal alerts, and automatic on and off modes (Moon: pg. 1, par. [0012]).
Hediger in view of Donlan in view of Moon does not expressly teach the icons corresponding to control features of the plurality of air filtering units.
However Harrod, in an analogous art of building management systems and air purifiers (pg. 1, par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0031]), teaches the missing limitation of the icons corresponding to control features of the plurality of air filtering units (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg.3, par. [0041] and [0043], pg. 10, claim 15, pg. 6, par. [0065], and Fig. 4, element 74 of Fig. 2, element 28 of Fig. 2, element 52; i.e. the Indoor Air Quality (IAQ) system of an indoor unit of an HVAC system; claim 15: “… a graphical user interface comprising the selectable graphical elements and capable of receiving a user input that selects one or more operating parameters for the air treatment device via the selectable graphical elements”; and [0065]: “Moreover, in certain embodiments, each zone may have a separate air treatment device to allow customization of different fragrances, neutralizers, or other air treatments that may be added to the conditioned air.”) for the purpose of controlling an air treatment device (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg. 5, par. [0060] and pg. 10, claim 15).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon to include the addition of the limitation of the icons corresponding to control features of the plurality of air filtering units to advantageously provide improved indoor air quality (IAQ) (Harrod: pg. 2, par. [0033]).
Claims 4, 11, 17, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, Malve, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0400152 A1 (hereinafter Shorter).
As per claim 4, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon does not expressly teach the memory stored instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device to perform operations further comprising:
receiving sensor information from the plurality of air filtering units; and
responding to the sensor information received from the plurality of air filtering units.
However Harrod, in an analogous art of building management systems and air purifiers (pg. 1, par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0031]), teaches the missing limitation of the plurality of air filtering units (pg. 6, par. [0065]; i.e. “Moreover, in certain embodiments, each zone may have a separate air treatment device to allow customization of different fragrances, neutralizers, or other air treatments that may be added to the conditioned air.”) for the purpose of controlling an air treatment device (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg. 5, par. [0060] and pg. 10, claim 15).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon to include the addition of the limitation of the plurality of air filtering units to advantageously provide improved indoor air quality (IAQ) (Harrod: pg. 2, par. [0033]).
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon and Harrod does not expressly teach the memory stored instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device to perform operations further comprising:
receiving sensor information from the plurality of air filtering units; and
responding to the sensor information received from the plurality of air filtering units.
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach the memory stored instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device to perform operations further comprising:
receiving sensor information from the plurality of air filtering units; and
responding to the sensor information received from the plurality of air filtering units.
However Shorter, in an analogous art of an air purification system (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040]), teaches the missing limitation of receiving sensor information from an air filtering unit (pg. 3, par. [0040], pgs. 12-13, par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 100; i.e. [0117]: “… a fan assembly incorporating the sensors, the display and the processor, in alternative embodiments the method could be implemented by a stand-alone personal computer device (e.g. smartphone, tablet etc.) comprising the processor and the display. The sensors could then be provided as integral components of the computer device, or as wired or wireless peripherals that are not integral but can be connected to the computer device. Such a stand-alone personal computer device could then be used by a user to monitor the air quality characteristics of ambient air surrounding a fan assembly using values measured by the sensors and to generate a graphic on the device display that provides an indication of the air quality of the ambient air based on the measurements received from the plurality of sensors.”); and
responding to the sensor information received from the air filtering unit (pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]; i.e. “The user could then manually adjust the controls of the fan assembly when changes in the air quality occur, as indicated by the graphic. Alternatively, if the fan assembly has the required functionality, the personal computer device could be wirelessly connected to the fan assembly so that the fan assembly can be controlled automatically by the personal computer device in dependence upon the monitored air quality.”) for the purpose of generating a purified airflow and/or a filtered airflow (pg. 3, par. [0039]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of receiving sensor information from an air filtering unit; and responding to the sensor information received from the air filtering unit to advantageously provide instant and continuous updated indication of air quality to improve environmental air quality (Shorter: pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]).
As per claim 11, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach continually receiving air quality data from the at least one collection of air filtering units.
However Shorter, in an analogous art of an air purification system (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040]), teaches the missing limitation of continually receiving air quality data from an air filtering unit (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040], pgs. 12-13, par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 100; i.e. [0039]: “… a fan assembly that displays to the user an indication of the quality of the ambient air that is an instantly and continuously updated during operation of the fan assembly and thereby provides that the user can determine if the current operational settings of the fan assembly are appropriate.” and [0117]: “… a fan assembly incorporating the sensors, the display and the processor, in alternative embodiments the method could be implemented by a stand-alone personal computer device (e.g. smartphone, tablet etc.) comprising the processor and the display. The sensors could then be provided as integral components of the computer device, or as wired or wireless peripherals that are not integral but can be connected to the computer device. Such a stand-alone personal computer device could then be used by a user to monitor the air quality characteristics of ambient air surrounding a fan assembly using values measured by the sensors and to generate a graphic on the device display that provides an indication of the air quality of the ambient air based on the measurements received from the plurality of sensors.”) for the purpose of generating a purified airflow and/or a filtered airflow (pg. 3, par. [0039]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of continually receiving air quality data from an air filtering unit to advantageously provide instant and continuous updated indication of air quality to improve environmental air quality (Shorter: pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]).
As per claim 17, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon does not expressly teach the method for remotely controlling a plurality of air filtering units of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving sensor information from the plurality of air filtering units; and
responding to the sensor information received from the plurality of air filtering units.
However Harrod, in an analogous art of building management systems and air purifiers (pg. 1, par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0031]), teaches the missing limitation of the plurality of air filtering units (pg. 6, par. [0065]; i.e. “Moreover, in certain embodiments, each zone may have a separate air treatment device to allow customization of different fragrances, neutralizers, or other air treatments that may be added to the conditioned air.”) for the purpose of controlling an air treatment device (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg. 5, par. [0060] and pg. 10, claim 15).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon to include the addition of the limitation of the plurality of air filtering units to advantageously provide improved indoor air quality (IAQ) (Harrod: pg. 2, par. [0033]).
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon and Harrod does not expressly teach the memory stored instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device to perform operations further comprising:
receiving sensor information from the plurality of air filtering units; and
responding to the sensor information received from the plurality of air filtering units.
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach the memory stored instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile device to perform operations further comprising:
receiving sensor information from the plurality of air filtering units; and
responding to the sensor information received from the plurality of air filtering units.
However Shorter, in an analogous art of an air purification system (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040]), teaches the missing limitations of receiving sensor information from an air filtering unit (pg. 3, par. [0040], pgs. 12-13, par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 100; i.e. [0117]: “… a fan assembly incorporating the sensors, the display and the processor, in alternative embodiments the method could be implemented by a stand-alone personal computer device (e.g. smartphone, tablet etc.) comprising the processor and the display. The sensors could then be provided as integral components of the computer device, or as wired or wireless peripherals that are not integral but can be connected to the computer device. Such a stand-alone personal computer device could then be used by a user to monitor the air quality characteristics of ambient air surrounding a fan assembly using values measured by the sensors and to generate a graphic on the device display that provides an indication of the air quality of the ambient air based on the measurements received from the plurality of sensors.”); and
responding to the sensor information received from the air filtering unit (pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]; i.e. “The user could then manually adjust the controls of the fan assembly when changes in the air quality occur, as indicated by the graphic. Alternatively, if the fan assembly has the required functionality, the personal computer device could be wirelessly connected to the fan assembly so that the fan assembly can be controlled automatically by the personal computer device in dependence upon the monitored air quality.”) for the purpose of generating a purified airflow and/or a filtered airflow (pg. 3, par. [0039]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitations of receiving sensor information from an air filtering unit; and responding to the sensor information received from the air filtering unit to advantageously provide instant and continuous updated indication of air quality to improve environmental air quality (Shorter: pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]).
As per claim 23, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon does not expressly teach combining air quality data from each air filtering unit within the at least one collection of air filtering units to derive a general air quality condition.
However Harrod, in an analogous art of building management systems and air purifiers (pg. 1, par. [0002] and pg. 2, par. [0031]), teaches the missing limitation of the plurality of air filtering units (pg. 6, par. [0065]; i.e. “Moreover, in certain embodiments, each zone may have a separate air treatment device to allow customization of different fragrances, neutralizers, or other air treatments that may be added to the conditioned air.”) for the purpose of controlling an air treatment device (pg. 1, par. [0007], pg. 5, par. [0060] and pg. 10, claim 15).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon to include the addition of the limitation of the plurality of air filtering units to advantageously provide improved indoor air quality (IAQ) (Harrod: pg. 2, par. [0033]).
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach combining air quality data from each air filtering unit within the at least one collection of air filtering units to derive a general air quality condition.
However Shorter, in an analogous art of an air purification system (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040]), teaches the missing limitation of combining air quality data from an air filtering unit to derive a general air quality condition (pg. 3, par. [0040], pgs. 12-13, par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 100; i.e. [0117]: “… a fan assembly incorporating the sensors, the display and the processor, in alternative embodiments the method could be implemented by a stand-alone personal computer device (e.g. smartphone, tablet etc.) comprising the processor and the display. The sensors could then be provided as integral components of the computer device, or as wired or wireless peripherals that are not integral but can be connected to the computer device. Such a stand-alone personal computer device could then be used by a user to monitor the air quality characteristics of ambient air surrounding a fan assembly using values measured by the sensors and to generate a graphic on the device display that provides an indication of the air quality of the ambient air based on the measurements received from the plurality of sensors. The user could then manually adjust the controls of the fan assembly when changes in the air quality occur, as indicated by the graphic.”) for the purpose of generating a purified airflow and/or a filtered airflow (pg. 3, par. [0039]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of combining air quality data from an air filtering unit to derive a general air quality condition to advantageously provide instant and continuous updated indication of air quality to improve environmental air quality (Shorter: pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]).
As per claim 24, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach graphically displaying the derived general air quality condition.
However Shorter, in an analogous art of an air purification system (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040]), teaches the missing limitation of graphically displaying the derived general air quality condition (pg. 3, par. [0040], pgs. 12-13, par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 100; i.e. [0117]: “… a fan assembly incorporating the sensors, the display and the processor, in alternative embodiments the method could be implemented by a stand-alone personal computer device (e.g. smartphone, tablet etc.) comprising the processor and the display. The sensors could then be provided as integral components of the computer device, or as wired or wireless peripherals that are not integral but can be connected to the computer device. Such a stand-alone personal computer device could then be used by a user to monitor the air quality characteristics of ambient air surrounding a fan assembly using values measured by the sensors and to generate a graphic on the device display that provides an indication of the air quality of the ambient air based on the measurements received from the plurality of sensors.”) for the purpose of generating a purified airflow and/or a filtered airflow (pg. 3, par. [0039]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of combining air quality data from an air filtering unit to derive a general air quality condition to advantageously provide instant and continuous updated indication of air quality to improve environmental air quality (Shorter: pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]).
As per claim 25, Hediger teaches the single set of appropriate operating parameters (pg. 4, par. [0052]; i.e. “… the assignment information already determined for other HVAC devices and/or the location information of the HVAC devices. Preferably, only one fluid control device is selected for varying the fluid control parameters. However, it is also possible to select two or more fluid control devices for changing their fluid control parameters together/at the same time.”).
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon and Harrod does not expressly teach adjusting the single set of appropriate operating parameters based on the derived general air quality condition.
However Malve, in an analogous art of a building control system (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of the inputting of the single set of appropriate operating parameters for at least one collection of units selected by a user (pg. 4, par. [0036]; i.e. “… the user interface 56, when provided, may be any suitable user interface that permits the central coordinator 14 to display and/or solicit information, as well as accept one or more user interactions with the central coordinator 14. Through the user interface 56 of the central coordinator 14, the user may view and manage operation of building components (e.g. discrete air conditioner units 20, lighting banks 26, etc.) that service the building or structure 6. In some cases, the user may be able to group one or more discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or lighting banks 26 to form an operating group and establish operating zones within the building or structure 6. Alternatively, or in addition, the user may be able to set up an operating schedule and select an operating mode for an individual discrete air conditioner unit 20 and/or a group of discrete air conditioner units 20. Different operating schedules and/or operating modes may be selected for different discrete air conditioner units 20 and/or groups of discrete air conditioner units 20.”).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view of Moon and Harrod to include the addition of the limitation of the inputting of the single set of appropriate operating parameters for at least one collection of units selected by a user to advantageously provide improved management of a facility (Malve: pg. 4, par. [0036]).
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach adjusting the single set of appropriate operating parameters based on the derived general air quality condition.
However Shorter, in an analogous art of an air purification system (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040]), teaches the missing limitation of adjusting operating parameters based on the derived general air quality condition (pg. 3, par. [0040], pgs. 12-13, par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 100; i.e. [0117]: “… a fan assembly incorporating the sensors, the display and the processor, in alternative embodiments the method could be implemented by a stand-alone personal computer device (e.g. smartphone, tablet etc.) comprising the processor and the display. The sensors could then be provided as integral components of the computer device, or as wired or wireless peripherals that are not integral but can be connected to the computer device. Such a stand-alone personal computer device could then be used by a user to monitor the air quality characteristics of ambient air surrounding a fan assembly using values measured by the sensors and to generate a graphic on the device display that provides an indication of the air quality of the ambient air based on the measurements received from the plurality of sensors. The user could then manually adjust the controls of the fan assembly when changes in the air quality occur, as indicated by the graphic.”) for the purpose of generating a purified airflow and/or a filtered airflow (pg. 3, par. [0039]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of adjusting operating parameters based on the derived general air quality condition to advantageously provide instant and continuous updated indication of air quality to improve environmental air quality (Shorter: pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, Malve, Shorter and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0174646 A1 (hereinafter Martin).
As per claim 12, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach determining air quality in an area, and alerting when the air quality is below a predetermined threshold.
However Shorter, in an analogous art of an air purification system (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040]), teaches the missing limitation of determining air quality in an area (pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]; i.e. “The user could then manually adjust the controls of the fan assembly when changes in the air quality occur, as indicated by the graphic. Alternatively, if the fan assembly has the required functionality, the personal computer device could be wirelessly connected to the fan assembly so that the fan assembly can be controlled automatically by the personal computer device in dependence upon the monitored air quality.”) for the purpose of generating a purified airflow and/or a filtered airflow (pg. 3, par. [0039]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of determining air quality in an area to advantageously provide instant and continuous updated indication of air quality to improve environmental air quality (Shorter: pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]).
Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, Malve, and Shorter does not expressly teach alerting when air quality is below a predetermined threshold.
However Martin, in an analogous art of air quality monitoring (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of alerting when air quality is below a predetermined threshold (pg. 6, par. [0068]; i.e. “Where server 108 detects that one or more of the detected air pollutants, temperature, and/or relative humidity is rising (or falling) and/or has exceeded (or has fallen below) a pre-established or predetermined threshold, server 108 can dispatch notifications to the homeowner, via e-mail, telephonically, using a short message service (SMS), a multi message service (MMS), a paging service, or the like, to inform him/her that actions need to be taken to abate the rise (or fall) in the pollutant, temperature, and/or relative humidity levels. Additionally and/or alternatively in this context, server 108 can broadcast a message or signal to air quality monitor 102 indicating that air quality monitor 102 should activate one or more audio/visual warning indicators that can be associated with sensor component 106.”) for the purpose of continually monitoring an environment for a presence of air pollutants (pg. 6, par. [0067] and [0068]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, Malve, and Shorter to include the addition of the limitation of alerting when air quality is below a predetermined threshold to advantageously monitor residential air quality with high reliability and sensitivity in a cost-effective manner (Martin: pgs. 1-2, par. [0014]-[0016]).
As per claim 13, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach the inputted single set of operating parameters is based on the determined air quality in an area.
However Shorter, in an analogous art of an air purification system (pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040]), teaches the missing limitation of inputted operating parameters is based on the determined air quality in an area (pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]; i.e. “The user could then manually adjust the controls of the fan assembly when changes in the air quality occur, as indicated by the graphic. Alternatively, if the fan assembly has the required functionality, the personal computer device could be wirelessly connected to the fan assembly so that the fan assembly can be controlled automatically by the personal computer device in dependence upon the monitored air quality.”) for the purpose of generating a purified airflow and/or a filtered airflow (pg. 3, par. [0039]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of inputted operating parameters is based on the determined air quality in an area to advantageously provide instant and continuous updated indication of air quality to improve environmental air quality (Shorter: pg. 3, par. [0039] and [0040] and pgs. 12-13, par. [0117]).
Claims 5-8, 14, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, Malve, Shorter and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0086066 A1 (hereinafter Anderson).
As per claim 5, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach the at least one collection of air filtering units comprises a hierarchy of at least two levels.
However Anderson, in an analogous art of building automation and management systems (pg. 2, par. [0022]), teaches the missing limitation of a hierarchy of at least two levels (pg. 5, par. [0047]-[0050]; i.e. [0047]: “… a hierarchical structure based on the location of devices and type of objects in one or more networks. For example, the logical view may be organized by location (e.g., building, floor, room or region, city, area, zone, etc.).” and [0048]: “The data processing system 200 identifies the name segment in an object's name as a location in or in proximity to a building of the device associated with the object and a type of the object. For example, in one non-limiting example, for an object name of "Building1.Floor3.Room12.RoomTemperatureSensor", the data processing system 200 identifies the period as a delimiter and the name segments separated by the periods as identification of the device location and object type. In this example, data processing system 200 identifies that the named object is for a room temperature sensor (e.g., a BAS device 116) that is located in building one on the third floor in room twelve by performing processes described in further detail herein.”) for the purpose of generating a hierarchical structure for system objects (pg. 5, par. [0047] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of a hierarchy of at least two levels to advantageously create a hierarchical view in a time efficient and cost effective manner (Anderson: pg. 1, par. [0009]).
As per claim 6, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach the hierarchy of at least two levels comprises at least one first level collection including at least two air filtering units selected from the plurality of air filtering units, and at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections.
However Anderson, in an analogous art of building automation and management systems (pg. 2, par. [0022]), teaches the missing limitation of the hierarchy of at least two levels comprises at least one first level collection including at least two devices selected from a plurality of devices, and at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections (pg. 2, par. [0025] and pg. 5, par. [0047]-[0050]; i.e. [0047]: “… a hierarchical structure based on the location of devices and type of objects in one or more networks. For example, the logical view may be organized by location (e.g., building, floor, room or region, city, area, zone, etc.).”, [0048]: “The data processing system 200 identifies the name segment in an object's name as a location in or in proximity to a building of the device associated with the object and a type of the object. For example, in one non-limiting example, for an object name of "Building1.Floor3.Room12.RoomTemperatureSensor", the data processing system 200 identifies the period as a delimiter and the name segments separated by the periods as identification of the device location and object type. In this example, data processing system 200 identifies that the named object is for a room temperature sensor (e.g., a BAS device 116) that is located in building one on the third floor in room twelve by performing processes described in further detail herein.”, and [0050]: For example, the data processing system 200 may place objects of devices that are in the same building or same campus of buildings within a first folder for that building or campus. The data processing system 200 may then create subfolders within the first folder for objects of devices on each floor in the building and subfolders within the floor subfolders for objects of devices in each room on the floor.”) for the purpose of generating a hierarchical structure for system objects (pg. 5, par. [0047] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of the hierarchy of at least two levels comprises at least one first level collection including at least two devices selected from a plurality of devices, and at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections to advantageously create a hierarchical view in a time efficient and cost effective manner (Anderson: pg. 1, par. [0009]).
As per claim 7, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach the at least one collection of air filtering units comprises a hierarchy of at least three levels.
However Anderson, in an analogous art of building automation and management systems (pg. 2, par. [0022]), teaches the missing limitation of at least one collection of devices comprises a hierarchy of at least three levels (pg. 5, par. [0047]-[0050]; i.e. [0047]: “… a hierarchical structure based on the location of devices and type of objects in one or more networks. For example, the logical view may be organized by location (e.g., building, floor, room or region, city, area, zone, etc.).” and [0048]: “The data processing system 200 identifies the name segment in an object's name as a location in or in proximity to a building of the device associated with the object and a type of the object. For example, in one non-limiting example, for an object name of "Building1.Floor3.Room12.RoomTemperatureSensor", the data processing system 200 identifies the period as a delimiter and the name segments separated by the periods as identification of the device location and object type. In this example, data processing system 200 identifies that the named object is for a room temperature sensor (e.g., a BAS device 116) that is located in building one on the third floor in room twelve by performing processes described in further detail herein.”) for the purpose of generating a hierarchical structure for system objects (pg. 5, par. [0047] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of at least one collection of devices comprises a hierarchy of at least three levels to advantageously create a hierarchical view in a time efficient and cost effective manner (Anderson: pg. 1, par. [0009]).
As per claim 8, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach the hierarchy of at least three levels comprises at least one first level collection including at least two air filtering units selected from the plurality of air filtering units, at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections, and at least one third level collection including at least two second level collections.
However Anderson, in an analogous art of building automation and management systems (pg. 2, par. [0022]), teaches the missing limitation of the hierarchy of at least three levels comprises at least one first level collection including devices selected from a plurality of devices, at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections, and at least one third level collection including at least two second level collections (pg. 5, par. [0047]-[0050]; i.e. [0047]: “… a hierarchical structure based on the location of devices and type of objects in one or more networks. For example, the logical view may be organized by location (e.g., building, floor, room or region, city, area, zone, etc.).” and [0048]: “The data processing system 200 identifies the name segment in an object's name as a location in or in proximity to a building of the device associated with the object and a type of the object. For example, in one non-limiting example, for an object name of "Building1.Floor3.Room12.RoomTemperatureSensor", the data processing system 200 identifies the period as a delimiter and the name segments separated by the periods as identification of the device location and object type. In this example, data processing system 200 identifies that the named object is for a room temperature sensor (e.g., a BAS device 116) that is located in building one on the third floor in room twelve by performing processes described in further detail herein.”) for the purpose of generating a hierarchical structure for system objects (pg. 5, par. [0047] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of the hierarchy of at least three levels comprises at least one first level collection including devices selected from a plurality of devices, at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections, and at least one third level collection including at least two second level collections to advantageously create a hierarchical view in a time efficient and cost effective manner (Anderson: pg. 1, par. [0009]).
As per claim 14, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach assigning each of the individually linked plurality of air filtering units to at least one collection of air filtering units comprises grouping air filtering units based on location and proximity to one another.
However Anderson, in an analogous art of building automation and management systems (pg. 2, par. [0022]), teaches the missing limitation of assigning each of the individually linked plurality of devices to at least one collection of devices comprises grouping devices based on location and proximity to one another (pg. 5, par. [0047]-[0050]; i.e. [0047]: “The logical view includes a hierarchical structure based on the location of devices and type of objects in one or more networks. For example, the logical view may be organized by location (e.g., building, floor, room or region, city, area, zone, etc.).”) for the purpose of generating a hierarchical structure for system objects (pg. 5, par. [0047] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of assigning each of the individually linked plurality of devices to at least one collection of devices comprises grouping devices based on location and proximity to one another to advantageously create a hierarchical view in a time efficient and cost effective manner (Anderson: pg. 1, par. [0009]).
As per claim 18, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach the at least one collection of air filtering units comprises a hierarchy of at least two levels.
However Anderson, in an analogous art of building automation and management systems (pg. 2, par. [0022]), teaches the missing limitation of a hierarchy of at least two levels (pg. 5, par. [0047]-[0050]; i.e. [0047]: “… a hierarchical structure based on the location of devices and type of objects in one or more networks. For example, the logical view may be organized by location (e.g., building, floor, room or region, city, area, zone, etc.).” and [0048]: “The data processing system 200 identifies the name segment in an object's name as a location in or in proximity to a building of the device associated with the object and a type of the object. For example, in one non-limiting example, for an object name of "Building1.Floor3.Room12.RoomTemperatureSensor", the data processing system 200 identifies the period as a delimiter and the name segments separated by the periods as identification of the device location and object type. In this example, data processing system 200 identifies that the named object is for a room temperature sensor (e.g., a BAS device 116) that is located in building one on the third floor in room twelve by performing processes described in further detail herein.”) for the purpose of generating a hierarchical structure for system objects (pg. 5, par. [0047] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of a hierarchy of at least two levels to advantageously create a hierarchical view in a time efficient and cost effective manner (Anderson: pg. 1, par. [0009]).
As per claim 19, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach the hierarchy of at least two levels comprises at least one first level collection including at least two air filtering units selected from the plurality of air filtering units, and at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections.
However Anderson, in an analogous art of building automation and management systems (pg. 2, par. [0022]), teaches the missing limitation of the hierarchy of at least two levels comprises at least one first level collection including at least two devices selected from a plurality of devices, and at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections (pg. 2, par. [0025] and pg. 5, par. [0047]-[0050]; i.e. [0047]: “… a hierarchical structure based on the location of devices and type of objects in one or more networks. For example, the logical view may be organized by location (e.g., building, floor, room or region, city, area, zone, etc.).”, [0048]: “The data processing system 200 identifies the name segment in an object's name as a location in or in proximity to a building of the device associated with the object and a type of the object. For example, in one non-limiting example, for an object name of "Building1.Floor3.Room12.RoomTemperatureSensor", the data processing system 200 identifies the period as a delimiter and the name segments separated by the periods as identification of the device location and object type. In this example, data processing system 200 identifies that the named object is for a room temperature sensor (e.g., a BAS device 116) that is located in building one on the third floor in room twelve by performing processes described in further detail herein.”, and [0050]: For example, the data processing system 200 may place objects of devices that are in the same building or same campus of buildings within a first folder for that building or campus. The data processing system 200 may then create subfolders within the first folder for objects of devices on each floor in the building and subfolders within the floor subfolders for objects of devices in each room on the floor.”) for the purpose of generating a hierarchical structure for system objects (pg. 5, par. [0047] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of the hierarchy of at least two levels comprises at least one first level collection including at least two devices selected from a plurality of devices, and at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections to advantageously create a hierarchical view in a time efficient and cost effective manner (Anderson: pg. 1, par. [0009]).
As per claim 20, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach the at least one collection of air filtering units comprises a hierarchy of at least three levels.
However Anderson, in an analogous art of building automation and management systems (pg. 2, par. [0022]), teaches the missing limitation of at least one collection of devices comprises a hierarchy of at least three levels (pg. 5, par. [0047]-[0050]; i.e. [0047]: “… a hierarchical structure based on the location of devices and type of objects in one or more networks. For example, the logical view may be organized by location (e.g., building, floor, room or region, city, area, zone, etc.).” and [0048]: “The data processing system 200 identifies the name segment in an object's name as a location in or in proximity to a building of the device associated with the object and a type of the object. For example, in one non-limiting example, for an object name of "Building1.Floor3.Room12.RoomTemperatureSensor", the data processing system 200 identifies the period as a delimiter and the name segments separated by the periods as identification of the device location and object type. In this example, data processing system 200 identifies that the named object is for a room temperature sensor (e.g., a BAS device 116) that is located in building one on the third floor in room twelve by performing processes described in further detail herein.”) for the purpose of generating a hierarchical structure for system objects (pg. 5, par. [0047] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of at least one collection of devices comprises a hierarchy of at least three levels to advantageously create a hierarchical view in a time efficient and cost effective manner (Anderson: pg. 1, par. [0009]).
As per claim 21, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve does not expressly teach the hierarchy of at least three levels comprises at least one first level collection including at least two air filtering units selected from the plurality of air filtering units, at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections, and at least one third level collection including at least two second level collections.
However Anderson, in an analogous art of building automation and management systems (pg. 2, par. [0022]), teaches the missing limitation of the hierarchy of at least three levels comprises at least one first level collection including devices selected from a plurality of devices, at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections, and at least one third level collection including at least two second level collections (pg. 5, par. [0047]-[0050]; i.e. [0047]: “… a hierarchical structure based on the location of devices and type of objects in one or more networks. For example, the logical view may be organized by location (e.g., building, floor, room or region, city, area, zone, etc.).” and [0048]: “The data processing system 200 identifies the name segment in an object's name as a location in or in proximity to a building of the device associated with the object and a type of the object. For example, in one non-limiting example, for an object name of "Building1.Floor3.Room12.RoomTemperatureSensor", the data processing system 200 identifies the period as a delimiter and the name segments separated by the periods as identification of the device location and object type. In this example, data processing system 200 identifies that the named object is for a room temperature sensor (e.g., a BAS device 116) that is located in building one on the third floor in room twelve by performing processes described in further detail herein.”) for the purpose of generating a hierarchical structure for system objects (pg. 5, par. [0047] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of the hierarchy of at least three levels comprises at least one first level collection including devices selected from a plurality of devices, at least one second level collection including at least two first level collections, and at least one third level collection including at least two second level collections to advantageously create a hierarchical view in a time efficient and cost effective manner (Anderson: pg. 1, par. [0009]).
Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, Malve, Shorter, Anderson, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0230328 A1 (hereinafter Armstrong).
As per claim 9, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, Malve, Shorter, and Anderson does not expressly teach the graphical interface comprises icons corresponding to each of the at least three levels in the hierarchy.
However Armstrong, in an analogous art of remote visualization system (pgs. 2-3, par. [0013]), teaches the missing limitation of icons (i.e. tabs) corresponding to each of at least three levels in a hierarchy (pg. 9, par. [0072] and pgs. 11, par. [0091] and [0092]; i.e. [0072]: “Furthermore, the user may also select single or multiple tags by a mouse click to view additional detailed information about the devices associated with the selected tags.”, [0091]: “In FIG. 18, each of the subsections 102, 104 and 106 have sub-folders or items configured in a hierarchy the reflects the hierarchy of the navigational tree of the applications from which the data originated.”, and [0092]: “Similarly, the data associated with the power equipment monitoring is illustrated using the navigational tree structure of the related application, which only includes area designations under which the devices (such as pumps, fans, motors and dryers) are located. As a result, each of the pieces of power equipment for which data is collected in the plant by the power equipment monitoring application is depicted in the subsection 104 under Area 1.”) for the purpose of monitoring a remote locations (pg. 5, par. [0048]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of icons corresponding to each of at least three levels in a hierarchy to advantageously enable a user to view data in a similar and consistent manner (Armstrong: pgs. 1-2, par. [0013]).
As per claim 22, Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, Malve, Shorter, and Anderson does not expressly teach the graphical interface comprises icons corresponding to each of the at least three levels in the hierarchy.
However Armstrong, in an analogous art of remote visualization system (pgs. 2-3, par. [0013]), teaches the missing limitation of icons (i.e. tabs) corresponding to each of at least three levels in a hierarchy (pg. 9, par. [0072] and pgs. 11, par. [0091] and [0092]; i.e. [0072]: “Furthermore, the user may also select single or multiple tags by a mouse click to view additional detailed information about the devices associated with the selected tags.”, [0091]: “In FIG. 18, each of the subsections 102, 104 and 106 have sub-folders or items configured in a hierarchy the reflects the hierarchy of the navigational tree of the applications from which the data originated.”, and [0092]: “Similarly, the data associated with the power equipment monitoring is illustrated using the navigational tree structure of the related application, which only includes area designations under which the devices (such as pumps, fans, motors and dryers) are located. As a result, each of the pieces of power equipment for which data is collected in the plant by the power equipment monitoring application is depicted in the subsection 104 under Area 1.”) for the purpose of monitoring a remote locations (pg. 5, par. [0048]).
Therefore, it would be been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hediger in view of Donlan in further view Moon, Harrod, and Malve to include the addition of the limitation of icons corresponding to each of at least three levels in a hierarchy to advantageously enable a user to view data in a similar and consistent manner (Armstrong: pgs. 1-2, par. [0013]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to air and building systems.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0323374 A1 discloses methods and systems for monitoring a condition of an air filter and providing an indication of when an air filter or other replaceable component should be changed.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0376940 A1 discloses methods and systems for collecting and analyzing data for managing and maintaining buildings.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0110461 A1 discloses systems for managing and processing data of a building system.
U.S. Patent No. 5,682,329 discloses a diagnostic system utilized to analyze an HVAC system in an environmental control system such as a network facilities management system.
U.S. Patent No. 7,809,472 B1 discloses controlling an environment within a plurality of zones within a building with a plurality of heating, ventilating and air conditioning units.
U.S. Patent No. 12,519,675 B2 discloses a method and system for controlling an indoor home appliance based on a scenario generated by using environment information obtained through a sensor of the home appliance.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117