Detailed Action
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments, filed 04/15/26, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller et al. (US PG Pub. 2007/0227898) in view of Um Yun et al. (KR 2016/0060979A, of record) and Tennant et al. (USP 2,465,319) and further in view of Lee et al. (US PG Pub. 2010/0303891A1).
Muller et al. teaches in Example 1 that a benzen-1,2,3,5-tetracarboxylic acid (terephthalic acid) is added to copper sulfate, and further grafted maleic anhydride is added and reacted at 90 degrees celsius for 3 days to obtain a metal-organic framework composite material, and the above-mentioned metal-organic framework composite material is obtained by reacting copper ions with maleic acid and corresponds to the metal-organic framework (MOF) of the claimed invention. Example 3 in Muller et al. discloses the production of a copper-containing metal-organic framework (MOF) by electrolysis of copper electrodes in the presence of terephthalic acid and dimethyl maleate, see (Example 3). Muller et al. teaches sheets in [0028].
Muller et al. do not teach use of polypropylene-graft-maleic acid.
Muller et al. also do not teach use of terephthalate glycol ester.
Um Yun et al. teaches polypropylene-graft-maleic acid resin and a method for producing a laminated sheet of a method for manufacturing polypropylene-graft-maleic acid resin and method for manufacturing multiple-layered sheet, see description of the translation, title and abstract.
Lee et al. teaches use of a supramacromolecular complexes, by using polyethylene-graft-maleic acid and polypropylene-graft-maleic acid which are used for healing wounds, see title and [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the known polypropylene-graft-maleic acid or polyethylene-graft-maleic acid in place of the polypropylene grafted maleic acid anhydride of Muller et al. as taught by Um Yun modified by Lee et al. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because both the references teach use of such in making a sheet. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have utilized the polypropylene grafted maleic acid to the copper organic framework of Muller et al. with an expectation of obtaining a similar metal-organic framework because Muller teaches metal-organic framework composite material is obtained by reacting copper ions with maleic acid anhydride. Additionally, Lee teaches forming complexes with such polymers, polypropylene-graft-maleic acid or polyethylene-graft-maleic acid used for wound healing. Combining prior art elements according to known methods would have provided predictable results of obtaining a copper metal organic framework comprising copper ions complexed with polypropylene-graft-maleic acid or polyethylene-graft-maleic acid, based on the guidance provided by Um Yun and Lee et al.
Muller et al. also do not teach use of terephthalate glycol ester.
Tennant et al. teaches polymeric linear terephthalic esters, see title. The reference teaches polymerized esters of terephthalic acid and glycols of the series HO(CH2)nOH, where n is an integer within the range of 2 to 10, see column 1, lines 40-46. The fibers are made by using these terephthalate esters, see column 1, lines 48-50. In columns 3-4, the reference teaches use of terephthalate polymeric ethylene glycol esters of terephthalic acid. The process of making filament is taught in column 14, lines 5-10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the known terephthalate ethylene glycol ester as taught by Tennant et al. into the metal organic framework of Muller et al. in place of terephthalic acid with an expectation of obtaining a similar metal-organic framework because Muller teaches metal-organic framework composite material is obtained by reacting copper ions with terephthalic acid. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have utilized the to the copper organic framework of Muller et al. with an expectation of obtaining a similar metal-organic framework because Muller teaches metal-organic framework composite material is obtained by reacting copper ions with terephthalic acid and making sheets out of it. Combining prior art elements according to known methods would have provided predictable results of obtaining a copper metal organic framework comprising copper ions complexed with terephthalate ethylene glycol ester used for making filaments.
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new rejections made above necessitated by claim amendments.
Action is final
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/SNIGDHA MAEWALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612