Detailed Action
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on May 21st, 2026. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 21st, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pgs. 4-10, “Remarks”) argues that Chopra and Depaula fail to teach the limitations presented in amended Claim 1.
However, as seen below, Claim 1 is now rejected by the combination of Otsubo and another embodiment of Otsubo.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate that the corresponding limitations are addressed with a secondary reference/embodiment in an obviousness analysis.
Claims 1-2 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo et al. (2017/0034911 A1; hereinafter Otsubo) in view of another embodiment of Otsubo.
Regarding Claim 1, Otsubo (figs. 20-21) teaches a method comprising:
Stacking a pre-formed first layer of insulating material ([0083], a first layer 2, referred to as first layer of insulating material, see annotated fig. 21) having one or more passages ([0080]-[0081], opening for conductors 36 and 7, see fig. 20) on a substrate ([0083], a bottommost layer 2, referred to as substrate, see annotated fig. 21);
depositing a deformable conductive material ([0080]-[0081], 36, 7) in at least one of the passages in the first insulating layer (first layer of insulating material), wherein the deformable conductive material (36, 7) comprises a liquid or a gel ([0044], may be a paste); and
stacking a pre-formed second layer of insulating material ([0083], a second layer 2, referred to as second layer of insulating material, see annotated fig. 21) on the first layer of insulating material (first layer of insulating material), wherein
the second layer of insulating material (second layer of insulating material) at least partially encloses the deformable conductive material (36, 7) in the at least one passage in the first layer of insulating material (first layer of insulating material), and unitizing the first (first layer of insulating material) and second layers (second layer of insulating material) in a unitizing operation ([0086], compression bonding), wherein
the deformable conductive material (36, 7) in the at least one passage is in a liquid or gel state after the unitizing operation ([0044], remains a paste at the temperature used for compression bonding).
Otsubo doesn’t explicitly teach a pre-formed first layer of insulating material having one or more passages and second layer of insulating material are pre-formed.
However, in another embodiment, Otsubo (fig. 13) teaches a pre-formed first layer of insulating material ([0073], 22) having one or more passages ([0073], 15). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to try and pre-forming the insulating layer and openings and yielded the predictable results of forming an opening for a conductive contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pre-form the insulating layer and openings since this limitation is one of a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions. This is an appropriate rationale to support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Annotated Figure 21
Regarding Claim 2, Otsubo (figs. 20-21) teaches the method of claim 1 wherein at least one of the passages (openings for 36 and 7) in the first layer of insulating material (first layer of insulating material) passes through the entire thickness of the first layer of insulating material (first layer of insulating material).
Regarding Claim 5, Otsubo (figs. 20-21) teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the second layer of insulating material (second layer of insulating material) has one or more passages (openings for 36 and 7), and the method further comprises: depositing the deformable conductive material (36, 7) in at least one of the passages in the second insulating layer (second layer of insulating material); and stacking a third pre-formed ([0073]) layer of insulating material ([0083], a third layer 2, referred to as third layer of insulating material, see annotated fig. 21) on the second layer of insulating material (second layer of insulating material), wherein the third layer of insulating material (third layer of insulating material) at least partially encloses the deformable conductive material (36, 7) in the at least one passage in the second layer of insulating material (second layer of insulating material), and unitizing the first second and third layers ([0086], compression bonding).
Regarding Claim 6, Otsubo (figs. 20-21) teaches the method of claim 5 wherein the at least one of the passages (openings for 36 and 7) in the first insulating layer (first layer of insulating material) communicates with the at least one of the passages (openings for 36 and 7) in the second insulating layer (second layer of insulating material)
Regarding Claim 7, Otsubo (figs. 20-21) teaches the method of claim 5 wherein at least one of the passages (openings for 36 and 7) in the second layer of insulating material (second layer of insulating material) passes through the entire thickness of the second layer of insulating material (second layer of insulating material).
Regarding Claim 8, Otsubo (figs. 20-21) teaches the method of claim 5 wherein the third layer of insulating material (third layer of insulating material) has one or more passages (openings for 36 and 7), and the method further comprises: depositing the deformable conductive material (36, 7) in at least one of the passages in the third insulating layer (third layer of insulating material); and stacking a fourth pre-formed ([0073]) layer of insulating material ([0083], a fourth layer 2, referred to as fourth layer of insulating material, see annotated fig. 21)on the third layer of insulating material (third layer of insulating material), wherein the fourth layer of insulating material (fourth layer of insulating material) at least partially encloses the deformable conductive material (36, 7) in the at least one passage in the third layer of insulating material (third layer of insulating material), and unitizing the first, second, third and fourth layers ([0086], compression bonding).
Regarding Claim 9, Otsubo (figs. 20-21) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the unitizing operation comprises at least one of heat pressing ([0073]), oven curing, or RF welding the first (first layer of insulating material) and second layers (second layer of insulating material) together.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Jiang et al. (US Patent 6,163,957; hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding Claim 3, Otsubo doesn’t teach the method of claim 1 wherein depositing the deformable conductive material in at least one of the passages in the first insulating layer comprises: overfilling the at least one passage with deformable conductive material; and removing excess deformable conductive material from a surface of the first layer of insulating material.
However, Jiang (fig. 4) teaches depositing the deformable conductive material (Col. 6, Lines 22-27; 20) in at least one of the passages in the first insulating layer (Col. 4, Lines 2-5; 14) comprises: overfilling the at least one passage with deformable conductive material (Col. 11, lines 23-32); and removing (Col. 7, Lines 66-67; removed via 16) excess deformable conductive material (20) from a surface of the first layer of insulating material. Jiang also teaches that this method allows for an inexpensive deposition process and eliminates a set of alignment tolerances (Col. 11, lines 23-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for depositing conductive material of Otsubo to include the overfilling and removal of deformable conductive material of Jiang to create an inexpensive deposition process.
Regarding Claim 4, Jiang (fig. 4) teaches the method of claim 3 wherein removing excess deformable conductive material (Col. 6, Lines 22-27; 20) from the surface of the first layer of insulating material (Col. 4, Lines 2-5; 14) comprises removing a release layer (Col. 7, Lines 66-67; 16) from the surface of the first layer of insulating material (14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pfefferlein et al. (2019/0393187 A1) teaches a deformable conductive material that stays deformable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817