DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 13-15, 17 & 23-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo (US20160248100) in view of Korzhenko (US20210119210) further in view of Huang (US20210399305) further in view of Sotzing (US20140024792).
Regarding Claim 1, Joo discloses an electrolyte composition (electrolyte with polymer block material, [008]), comprising a hydrogel (water soluble electrolyte, [0103]), including a copolymer and a salt (polymer block electrolyte, [0104]), wherein the copolymer comprises a polymeric center block (block copolymer, [0105], [0106]), wherein the polymeric center block comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVA block, [0106]).
Joo discloses wherein the electrolyte composition can be degradable to chemical and thermal reactions ([0106]). Joo further discloses wherein the polymer block can be a water-soluble polymer block ([0103]). Joo further discloses wherein the polymer block can contain PVA and PEO ([0107]).
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the electrolyte composition is a rubber-like hydrogel and wherein the hydrogel is biodegradable.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the copolymer comprises at least two polycaprolactone chains attached to a polymeric center block, and wherein the copolymer is a block copolymer or a graft copolymer.
Korzhenko discloses an electrolyte that can be a solid or gelled polymeric electrolyte ([0048], [0049]). Korzhenko further discloses wherein the polymeric binder can be chosen from copolymers ([0372]). Korzhenko further discloses wherein the copolymer can be formed of copolymers of caprolactone and polyvinyl alcohol ([0372]) or polyethylene oxide ([0276]). Korzhenko further discloses wherein the copolymers can be a block polymer ([0056]). Korzhenko teaches that this structure provides improved performance of the battery ([0016]).
The examiner notes that the modification of Joo in view of Korzhenko would provide an electrolyte with a polymer block formed of polyvinyl alcohol and polycaprolactone, which can be degradable under chemical and thermal reactions. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that since the electrolyte of Joo modified by Korzhenko has the same composition as the instant claim 1 electrolyte, that the modified electrolyte composition would be a rubber-like hydrogel that is biodegradable.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Joo with the teachings of Korzhenko to have wherein the electrolyte composition is a rubber-like hydrogel and wherein the hydrogel is biodegradable and wherein the copolymer comprises at least two polycaprolactone chains attached to a polymeric center block and wherein the copolymer is a block copolymer or a graft copolymer. This modification would yield the expected benefit of improved performance of the battery.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of less than 80%.
Huang discloses a polymer matrix that swells with water that is formed of polyvinyl alcohol ([0046]). Huang further discloses wherein the polymer matrix is filled with electrolyte ([0046]). Huang further discloses wherein the degree of hydrolysis of PVA can range from 70% to 99% ([0046]), which overlaps the instant claim range of less than 80%. Huang teaches that this structure provides a stable electrolyte ([0016]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Joo with the teachings of Huang to have wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of less than 80%. This modified structure would yield the expected result of a stable electrolyte.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the copolymer comprises a mole ratio of caprolactone to polyvinyl alcohol of from about 0.3:1 to about 0.7:1.
Joo in view of Korzhenko discloses wherein PEO is interchangeable with polycaprolactone.
Sotzing discloses a polymer electrolyte matrix ([008]). Sotizing further discloses wherein the polymers that can be used include polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene glycol, PEG-DA and that these polymers can be interchanged with each other ([0029]). Sotzing further discloses wherein the polymers can be mixed in a weight ratio of 95:5 to 5:95 ([0029]). Sotzing teaches that this structure provides improved flexibility for the electrodes ([0032]).
Therefore it is the examiner’s position that modified Joo with the teachings of Huang discloses a PVA:PCL ratio of 95:5 to 5:95, which overlaps the instant claim range of about 0.3:1 to about 0.7:1.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Joo with the teachings of Huang to have wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of less than 80%. This modification would yield the expected result of improved flexibility for the electrodes.
Regarding Claim 3-6, Joo in view of Korzhenko further in view of Huang further in view of Sotzing discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of less than 80%, a degree of hydrolysis from about 30% to less than about 80%, from about 60% to less than about 80%, and from about 75%
Huang discloses a polymer matrix that swells with water that is formed of polyvinyl alcohol ([0046]). Huang further discloses wherein the degree of hydrolysis of PVA can range from 70% to 99% ([0046]), which overlaps the instant claim range of less than 80%, a degree of hydrolysis from about 30% to less than about 80%, and from about 60% to less than about 80%, and from about 75%. Huang teaches that this structure provides a stable electrolyte ([0016]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Joo with the teachings of Huang to have wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of less than 80%, a degree of hydrolysis from about 30% to less than about 80%, and from about 60% to less than about 80%, and from about 75%. This modified structure would yield the expected result of a stable electrolyte.
Regarding Claim 13 & 14, Joo in view of Korzhenko further in view of Huang further in view of Sotzing discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the copolymer comprises caprolactone in an amount of from about 5 wt% to 20 wt%, and 8 wt% to about 20 wt%.
Joo in view of Korzhenko discloses wherein PEO is interchangeable with polycaprolactone.
Sotzing discloses a polymer electrolyte matrix ([008]). Huang further discloses wherein the polymers that can be used include polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene glycol, PEG-DA and that these polymers can be interchanged with each other ([0029]). Sotzing further discloses wherein the polymers can be mixed in a weight ratio of 95:5 to 5:95 ([0029]). Sotzing teaches that this structure provides improved flexibility for the electrodes ([0032]).
Therefore it is the examiner’s position that modified Joo with the teachings of Huang discloses a PVA:PCL ratio of 95:5 to 5:95, which overlaps the instant claim range of 5wt% to 20 wt% and 8 wt% to 20 wt%.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Joo with the teachings of Korzhenko and Sotzing to have wherein the copolymer comprises caprolactone in an amount of from about 5 wt% to 20 wt%, and 8 wt% to about 20 wt%. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved flexibility for the electrodes.
Regarding Claim 15, Joo discloses an electrochemical device (lithium air battery, [0036]), comprising: An anode ([0037]); A cathode ([0037]); and
Joo discloses an electrolyte composition (electrolyte with polymer block material, [008]), comprising a hydrogel (water soluble electrolyte, [0103]), including a copolymer and a salt (polymer block electrolyte, [0104]), wherein the copolymer comprises a polymeric center block (block copolymer, [0105], [0106]), wherein the polymeric center block comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVA block, [0106]).
Joo discloses wherein the electrolyte composition can be degradable to chemical and thermal reactions ([0106]). Joo further discloses wherein the polymer block can be a water-soluble polymer block ([0103]). Joo further discloses wherein the polymer block can contain PVA and PEO ([0107]).
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the electrolyte composition is a rubber-like hydrogel and wherein the hydrogel is biodegradable.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the copolymer comprises at least two polycaprolactone chains attached to a polymeric center block.
Korzhenko discloses a polymer electrolyte that can be formed by a combination of polyvinyl alcohol and polyethylene oxide ([0046]). Korzhenko further discloses that the polyethylene oxide or polycaprolactone can be used in the polymer electrolyte ([0046]), teaching that polyethylene oxide and polycaprolactone are interchangeable in use with polymer electrolytes.
The examiner notes that the modification of Joo in view of Korzhenko would provide an electrolyte with a polymer block formed of polyvinyl alcohol and polycaprolactone, which can be degradable under chemical and thermal reactions. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that since the electrolyte of Joo modified by Korzhenko has the same composition as the instant claim 1 electrolyte, that the modified electrolyte composition would be a rubber-like hydrogel that is biodegradable.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Joo with the teachings of Korzhenko to have wherein the electrolyte composition is a rubber-like hydrogel and wherein the hydrogel is biodegradable and wherein the copolymer comprises at least two polycaprolactone chains attached to a polymeric center block.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of less than 80%.
Huang discloses a polymer matrix that swells with water that is formed of polyvinyl alcohol ([0046]). Huang further discloses wherein the polymer matrix is filled with electrolyte ([0046]). Huang further discloses wherein the degree of hydrolysis of PVA can range from 70% to 99% ([0046]), which overlaps the instant claim range of less than 80%. Huang teaches that this structure provides a stable electrolyte ([0016]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Joo with the teachings of Huang to have wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of less than 80%. This modified structure would yield the expected result of a stable electrolyte.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the copolymer comprises a mole ratio of caprolactone to polyvinyl alcohol of from about 0.3:1 to about 0.7:1.
Joo in view of Korzhenko discloses wherein PEO is interchangeable with polycaprolactone.
Sotzing discloses a polymer electrolyte matrix ([008]). Sotizing further discloses wherein the polymers that can be used include polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene glycol, PEG-DA and that these polymers can be interchanged with each other ([0029]). Sotzing further discloses wherein the polymers can be mixed in a weight ratio of 95:5 to 5:95 ([0029]). Sotzing teaches that this structure provides improved flexibility for the electrodes ([0032]).
Therefore it is the examiner’s position that modified Joo with the teachings of Huang discloses a PVA:PCL ratio of 95:5 to 5:95, which overlaps the instant claim range of about 0.3:1 to about 0.7:1.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Joo with the teachings of Huang to have wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of less than 80%. This modification would yield the expected result of improved flexibility for the electrodes.
Regarding Claim 17, Joo in view of Korzhenko further in view of Huang further in view of Sotzing discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of less than 80%, a degree of hydrolysis from about 30% to less than about 80%, from about 60% to less than about 80%, and from about 75%
Huang discloses a polymer matrix that swells with water that is formed of polyvinyl alcohol ([0046]). Huang further discloses wherein the degree of hydrolysis of PVA can range from 70% to 99% ([0046]), which overlaps the instant claim range of less than 80%, a degree of hydrolysis from about 30% to less than about 80%, and from about 60% to less than about 80%, and from about 75%. Huang teaches that this structure provides a stable electrolyte ([0016]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Joo with the teachings of Huang to have wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of from about 60% to less than about 80%. This modified structure would yield the expected result of a stable electrolyte.
Regarding Claim 23-25, Joo in view of Korzhenko further in view of Huang further in view of Sotzing discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the copolymer is present in the hydrogel in an amount of from about 5 wt% to about 35 wt% based on a total weight of the hydrogel, from about 5 wt% to about 20 wt%, based on a total weight of the hydrogen, and in an amount of from 60 wt% or less, based on a total weight of the hydrogel.
Korzhenko discloses wherein the polymeric binder can be in the overall electrolyte structure from a mass percent of about 20% by mass to 70% by mass ([0281]), which overlaps the instant claim range of from about 5 wt% to about 35 wt% based on a total weight of the hydrogel, from about 5 wt% to about 20 wt%, based on a total weight of the hydrogen, and in an amount of from 60 wt% or less, based on a total weight of the hydrogel. Korzhenko teaches that this structure provides improved performance of the battery ([0016]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Joo with the teachings of Korzhenko to have wherein the copolymer is present in the hydrogel in an amount of from about 5 wt% to about 35 wt% based on a total weight of the hydrogel, from about 5 wt% to about 20 wt%, based on a total weight of the hydrogen, and in an amount of from 60 wt% or less, based on a total weight of the hydrogel. This modification would yield the expected result of improved performance of the battery.
Regarding Claim 26 and 27, Joo in view of Korzhenko further in view of Huang further in view of Sotzing discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Joo in view of Korzhenko discloses a PVL-PCL copolymer.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the copolymer is a graft copolymer.
The examiner notes under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, “graft copolymer” is any structure of copolymer where the copolymers are bonded to the main polymer backbone with side chains.
Sotzing discloses wherein the polymer gel electrolyte can be formed from polymerizable side-chain groups attached to the polymer backbone ([0029]). Huang teaches that this structure provides a stable electrolyte ([0016]). Sotzing teaches that this structure provides improved flexibility for the electrodes ([0032]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Joo with the teachings of Sotzing to have wherein the copolymer is a graft copolymer of PVA-graft-PCL copolymer. This modification would yield the expected result of improved flexibility for the electrodes.
Regarding Claim 28 and 29, Joo in view of Korzhenko further in view of Huang further in view of Sotzing discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the PVA-graft-PCL copolymer comprises acetate functional groups in ana mount of from about 20% to about 70%, based on a total amount of functional groups, and about from about 30% to about 55%, based on a total amount of functional groups.
Joo discloses wherein the metal precursor contains the acetate functional group ([0100]). Joo further discloses wherein the metal precursor can be contained in the polymer at a ratio of 1:9 to 1:2, ([0113]), which overlaps the instant claim range of about 20% to 70% and about 30% to about 55%.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Joo to have wherein the PVA-graft-PCL copolymer comprises acetate functional groups in ana mount of from about 20% to about 70%, based on a total amount of functional groups, and about from about 30% to about 55%, based on a total amount of functional groups.
Regarding Claim 30 and 31, Joo in view of Korzhenko further in view of Huang further in view of Sotzing discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the PVA-graft-PCL copolymer is crosslinked.
Sotzing discloses wherein the gel electrolyte compotition can be crosslinked ([0028]). Sotzing teaches that this structure provides improved flexibility for the electrodes ([0032]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Joo with the teachings of Sotzing to have wherein the PVA-graft-PCL copolymer is crosslinked. This modification would yield the expected result of improved flexibility for the electrodes.
Claim(s) 21 & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo (US20160248100) in view of Korzhenko (US20210119210) further in view of Huang (US20210399305) further in view of Sotzing (US20140024792) further in view of Pan (US20100178545).
Regarding Claim 21 & 22, Joo in view of Korzhenko further in view of Huang further in view of Sotzing discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Joo does not directly disclose wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of from about 30 % to 65 % or less.
Pan discloses a polymer membrane ([006]) that is formed of polyvinyl alcohol ([007], [009]). Pan further discloses wherein the membrane has an affinity to electrolytes and has hydrophilic monomers ([0011]). Pan further discloses wherein the polyvinyl alcohol has hydrolysis degree of 55-99 % ([009]), which overlaps the instant claim range of 30% to 65%. Pan teaches that this structure provides a battery with high temperature resistance and long cycle life ([006]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Joo with the teachings of Pan to have wherein the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a degree of hydrolysis of from about 30 % to 65 % or less. This modified structure would yield the expected result of high temperature resistance and long cycle life.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments in view of their arguments, see Claims, filed February 27th, 2026 , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 & 15 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Joo in view of Korzhenko further in view of Huang further in view of Sotzing under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728