DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final office action for application 17/651,823 in response to the amendment(s) filed on 12/04/2025. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, 19 and 26-27 are under examination.
Withdrawn Objections
The amendment(s) to the claim(s), specification, and/or drawing(s) filed XX/XX/XXXX is acknowledged and the previous claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/04/2025 have been fully considered but were not found persuasive for the reasons set forth below. See updated claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, 19 and 26-27 rejections below.
Applicant argues “Park and Kim do not teach or suggest the features of amended independent claim 1, including a passivation layer including an artificially-formed ion conducting material and configured to be artificially applied on the negative current collector” (see e.g. pages 7 and 8 of applicant’s arguments):
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Park expressly discloses forming a polymer-based protective layer on a negative electrode current collector by preparing a polymer mixture and transferring the mixture onto the current collector surface to form the protective layer (see e.g. paragraph [0129] of Park). This is the same artificial application process that is described in the instant specification (see e.g. “To create an artificial SEI layer, PVA polymer coating was applied to a Ni current collector.” in paragraph [0098] of the instant specification). Both in the prior art and the instant application the passivation layer is not naturally formed, but rather is intentionally deposited onto a current collector prior to operation of the battery. This constitutes an artificially-formed and artificially applied ion-conducting passivation layer as recited in amended claim 1. Accordingly, Park teaches the claimed passivation layer including an artificially-formed ion conducting material configured to be artificially applied on the negative current collector.
Applicant argues “Kim merely describes an SEI layer and fails to teach or suggest an artificially-formed ion conducting material configured to be artificially applied on the negative current collector” (see e.g. page 8 of applicant’s arguments):
Examiner respectfully disagrees, as discussed above, the claimed limitation regarding an artificially-formed and artificially applied passivation layer is already taught by Park. Kim is relied upon for the metal halide cathode, not for the passivation layer. Therefore, Kim need not independently disclose the passivation layer in order for the combination of Park and Kim to render the claimed subject matter obvious. The combination properly relies on Park for the negative current collector structure and Kim for the metal halide cathode.
Applicant argues “independent claims 15 and 26 are patentably distinct for the same reasons as claim 1” (see e.g. pages 8 and 9 of applicant’s arguments):
Examiner respectfully disagrees, independent claims 15 and 26 recite substantially the same limitations regarding the negative current collector and artificially-formed passivation layer as claim 1. As discussed above, Park discloses these features, and the combination with Kim teaches the remaining limitations. Accordingly, claims 15 and 26 are not patentably distinct over the cited references for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 1. Similarly, for the same reasons set for above dependent claims 2, 4, 5, 7-14, 16, 17, 19, and 27 also remain rejected.
Claim Interpretation
The term “anode-free” was applied to the prior art using the definition given in paragraph [0029] of the instant application. “Anode-free” means that the battery is in its initial configuration, meaning the battery has been assembled but has not been initially charged, in this configuration the anode (negative current collector) does not contain any lithium. The term “artificially-formed” was applied to the prior art using the definition given in paragraph [0098] of the instant application. “Artificially-formed” means applying a polymer coating to a bare current collector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, 19 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US-2021/0104748-A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US-2021/0036323-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses an anode-free metal halide battery (see e.g. “only a negative current collector and first to third protective layers are used to assemble a negative electrode free battery structure” in paragraph [0025] and “halides” in paragraph [0076] of Park), comprising:
a negative current collector (see e.g. "negative electrode current collector" in paragraph [0011] of Park) comprising a conductor (see e.g. "negative electrode current collector" in paragraph [0008] and part number 21 in FIG. 2) and a passivation layer directly connected to the conductor (see e.g. "a first protective layer formed on a negative electrode...a second protective layer formed on the first...a third protective layer in paragraph [0011] of Park and part number 22 directly connected to part number 21 in FIG. 2), the passivation layer including an artificially-formed ion conducting material (see e.g. "After mixing polyethylene oxide (PEO) and LiFSI so that EO:Li have a molar ratio of 20:1, LiNO3 was added thereto to prepare a first protective layer, and this was transferred to a copper current collector (negative electrode current collector) surface to form the first protective layer on the copper current collector." in paragraph [0129] of Park; Park discloses that the passivation layer is formed artificially by creating a polymer mixture and applying it to a current collector) that allows metal ion transport therethrough (see e.g. "lithium ions migrate from the positive electrode by charge to form lithium metal between the negative electrode current collector and the first protective layer" in paragraph [0012] of Park), and the passivation layer configured to be artificially applied on the negative current collector (see e.g. "After mixing polyethylene oxide (PEO) and LiFSI so that EO:Li have a molar ratio of 20:1, LiNO3 was added thereto to prepare a first protective layer, and this was transferred to a copper current collector (negative electrode current collector) surface to form the first protective layer on the copper current collector." in paragraph [0129] of Park; Park discloses that the passivation layer is formed artificially by creating a polymer mixture and applying it to a current collector);
an electrolyte (see e.g. "electrolyte" in paragraph [0010] and "lithium salt in an electrolyte" in paragraph [0068] of Park) in direct contact with the negative current collector through the artificially-formed ion conducting material (see e.g. "an electrolyte disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode" in Abstract of Park; the electrolyte fills the space within the battery and thus would be in direct contact with the negative current collector through the artificially-formed ion conducting material); and
a cathode (see e.g. "positive electrode" in paragraph [0010] of Park and part number 11 in FIG. 2) wherein, in a first state corresponding to an initial uncharged condition:
the anode-free metal halide battery does not include an anode, and
the conductor of the negative current collector is a bare uncharged conductor (see e.g. "only a negative electrode current collector 21 and first to third protective layers 22, 23, 24 are used to assemble a negative electrode free battery structure" in paragraph [0025] of Park and FIG. 2; Park discloses that prior to initial charging the negative electrode consists only of a bare current collector (no lithium) with the passivation layer connected and upon charging lithium forms on the negative electrode).
Park does not disclose that the cathode comprises a metal halide salt incorporated into an electrically conductive material in direct contact with the electrolyte.
Kim, however, in the same field of endeavor, secondary batteries, discloses a cathode including a metal halide salt incorporated into an electrically conductive material in direct contact with the electrolyte (see e.g. "The cathode 16 includes at least one metal halide salt" in paragraph [0036] and part numbers 17 and 14 in FIG. 1 of Kim; Kim discloses in FIG. 1 that the metal halide salt (17) is in direct contact with the electrolyte (14)).
Furthermore, Kim teaches that by incorporating the metal halide into the cathode the amount of electrolyte needed in a battery reduce, as well as increase the amount of cathode material in a given enclosed volume, which can increase the cell level density. The improved cell level energy density makes possible the use of the battery in a wide range of applications including long-range electric vehicles. Kim also teaches that solid phase metal halide cathode active materials require no heavy metals which can reduce overall cell manufacturing costs (see e.g. paragraph [0005] of Kim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the anode-free metal halide battery of Park et al. such that the cathode comprises a metal halide slat incorporated into the electrically conductive material in direct contact with the electrolyte as taught by Kim et al. in order to improve cell energy density and use the battery in a wide range of applications as suggest by Kim.
Regarding Claim 2, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park does not disclose that the battery further comprises an oxidizing gas.
Kim, however, discloses an oxidizing gas within a battery (see e.g. “oxidizing gas” in Abstract of Kim).
Kim also teaches that the oxidizing gas may contribute to the consolidation and stabilization of a solid-electrolyte interphase (SEI) layer on the electrode, but is not consumed or evolved during use of the battery (see e.g. paragraph [0030] of Kim).Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anode-free metal halide battery of Park et al. such that it includes an oxidizing gas as taught by Kim et al. in order to stabilize the solid-electrolyte interphase as suggested by Kim.
Regarding Claim 4, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park does not disclose that the electrically conductive material is a porous carbon material forming a metal halide-carbon composite cathode.
Kim, however, discloses that the electrically conductive material in the cathode may be carbon powders (see e.g. “carbon powders” in paragraph [0033] and “electrically conductive material itself may be a porous material” in paragraph [0040] of Kim; incorporating the carbon powders with the metal halide cathode of Kim forms a metal halide carbon composite cathode).
Kim also teaches that incorporating carbon into the cathode led to a battery cell with excellent energy efficiency (>90%) (see e.g. paragraph [0062] of Kim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anode-free metal halide battery of Park such that it includes the metal halide carbon composite cathode as taught by Kim et al. in order to have a battery cell with excellent energy efficiency as suggest by Kim.
Regarding Claim 5, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the electrolyte is a liquid electrolyte (see e.g. “non-aqueous solvent and lithium salt” in paragraph [0064] of Park).
Regarding Claim 7, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the ion-conducting material is a linear polymer (see e.g. "poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene) (PVdf-HFP)" in paragraph [0038] of Park; PVdf-HFP is a linear polymer).
Regarding Claim 8, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the artificially-formed ion-conducting material further comprises a carbon inorganic filler (see e.g. “carbon” in paragraph [0053] of Park).
Park does not explicitly disclose the inorganic filler is carbon nanotubes, however, Park does disclose that the ion-conducting material can be carbon. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that “carbon” could mean any type of carbon including “carbon nanotubes”.
Regarding Claim 9, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses an electrically non-conductive separator (see e.g. “polyolefin-based porous membranes” in paragraph [0116] of Park; Polyolefin-based porous membranes are non-conductive separator materials) between the negative current collector and the cathode (see e.g. "a separator…therebetween" in paragraph [0024] of Park).
Regarding Claim 10, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the thickness of the passivation layer is in the range of 200 nanometers to 10 micrometers (see e.g. "the first protective layer may have a thickness of 200 nm to 10 μm" in paragraph [0041] of Park).
Park discloses a range that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 11, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the thickness of the passivation layer is in the range of 200 nanometers to 10 micrometer (see e.g. "the first protective layer may have a thickness of 200 nm to 10 μm" in paragraph [0041] of Park).
Park discloses a range that overlaps with the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 12, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the negative current collector acts as an anode upon reduction of metal ions to metal thereon (see e.g. “the lithium metal layer formed through such charge and discharge…to function as a negative electrode” in paragraph [0104] of Park).
Regarding Claim 13, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the negative collector is a metal foil (see e.g. "the negative current collector…As an example, copper, stainless steel aluminum, nickel" in paragraph [0034] and "forms such as…foils in paragraph [0035] of Park).
Regarding Claim 14, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Park further discloses a positive current collector (see e.g. "a positive electrode including a positive electrode current collector" in paragraph [0024] of Park).
Regarding Claim 15, Park discloses an anode-free metal halide battery (see e.g. “only a negative current collector and first to third protective layers are used to assemble a negative electrode free battery structure” in paragraph [0025] and “halides” in paragraph [0076] of Park), comprising:
a negative current collector (see e.g. "negative electrode current collector" in paragraph [0011] of Park) comprising a conductor (see e.g. "negative electrode current collector" in paragraph [0008] and part number 21 in FIG. 2) and a passivation laver directly connected to the conductor (see e.g. "a first protective layer formed on a negative electrode...a second protective layer formed on the first...a third protective layer in paragraph [0011] of Park and part number 22 directly connected to part number 21 in FIG. 2), the passivation layer including an artificially-formed ion conducting material (see e.g. "After mixing polyethylene oxide (PEO) and LiFSI so that EO:Li have a molar ratio of 20:1, LiNO3 was added thereto to prepare a first protective layer, and this was transferred to a copper current collector (negative electrode current collector) surface to form the first protective layer on the copper current collector." in paragraph [0129] of Park; Park discloses that the passivation layer is formed artificially by creating a polymer mixture and applying it to a current collector) that allows metal transport therethrough (see e.g. "lithium ions migrate from the positive electrode by charge to form lithium metal between the negative electrode current collector and the first protective layer" in paragraph [0012] of Park), and the passivation layer is configured to be artificially applied on the negative current collector material (see e.g. "After mixing polyethylene oxide (PEO) and LiFSI so that EO:Li have a molar ratio of 20:1, LiNO3 was added thereto to prepare a first protective layer, and this was transferred to a copper current collector (negative electrode current collector) surface to form the first protective layer on the copper current collector." in paragraph [0129] of Park; Park discloses that the passivation layer is formed artificially by creating a polymer mixture and applying it to a current collector);
an electrolyte (see e.g. "electrolyte" in paragraph [0010] and "lithium salt in an electrolyte" in paragraph [0068] of Park) in direct contact with the negative current collector through the artificially-formed ion conducting material (see e.g. "an electrolyte disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode" in Abstract of Park; the electrolyte fills the space within the battery and thus would be in direct contact with the negative current collector through the artificially-formed ion conducting material), the electrolyte comprising a metal ion-conducting solvent and at least one ion conducting salt (see e.g. “A solution obtained by dissolving 1 M of LiPF6 and 2% by weight of vinylene carbonate (VC) in a mixed solvent mixing ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC) and dimethyl carbonate (DMC) in a volume ratio of 1:2:1 was used as an electrolyte.” In paragraph [0133] of Park); and
a cathode (see e.g. "positive electrode" in paragraph [0010] of Park and part number 11 in FIG. 2) wherein, in a first state corresponding to an initial uncharged condition:
the anode-free metal halide battery does not include an anode, and
the conductor of the negative current collector is a bare uncharged conductor (see e.g. "only a negative electrode current collector 21 and first to third protective layers 22, 23, 24 are used to assemble a negative electrode free battery structure" in paragraph [0025] of Park and FIG. 2; Park discloses that prior to initial charging the negative electrode consists only of a bare current collector (no lithium) with the passivation layer connected and upon charging lithium forms on the negative electrode).
Park does not disclose that the cathode comprises a metal halide compound deposited on a conductive carbon material.
Kim, however, discloses a cathode that comprises a metal halide salt incorporated into an electrically conductive material (see e.g. “a metal halide salt incorporated into an electrically conductive material” in paragraph [0006] of Kim) and that the electrically conductive material is carbon (see e.g. “15 mg of undissolved lithium iodide deposited on the carbon cathode.” in paragraph [0015] of Kim).
Furthermore, Kim teaches that by incorporating the metal halide into the cathode the amount of electrolyte needed in a battery reduce, as well as increase the amount of cathode material in a given enclosed volume, which can increase the cell level density. The improved cell level energy density makes possible the use of the battery in a wide range of applications including long-range electric vehicles. Kim also teaches that solid phase metal halide cathode active materials require no heavy metals which can reduce overall cell manufacturing costs (see e.g. paragraph [0005] of Kim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the anode-free metal halide battery of Park et al. such that the cathode comprises a metal halide compound deposited on a conductive carbon material as taught by Kim et al. in order to improve cell energy density and use the battery in a wide range of applications as suggest by Kim.
Regarding Claim 16, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 15 (see e.g. claim 15 rejection above).
Park does not disclose that the cathode comprises lithium ions deposited on a porous carbon material.
Kim, however, discloses a cathode comprising lithium ions deposited on a porous carbon material (see e.g. "fabrication of the cathode began…a slurry solution including a carbon black powder…in some cases, the slurry solution including lithium iodide" in paragraph [0052] of Kim).
Kim also teaches that by depositing a high loading of undissolved lithium iodide on a carbon cathode, the battery achieved a specific capacity of 4 mAh/cm², directly proportional to the amount used. Despite the high loading, the battery maintained over 90% energy efficiency (see e.g. Example 3 of Kim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anode-free metal halide battery of Park et al. such that the cathode comprises lithium ions deposited on a porous carbon material as taught by Kim et al. in order to have a battery with a high energy efficiency as suggested by Kim.
Regarding Claim 17, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 16 (see e.g. claim 16 rejection above).
Park does not disclose that the porous carbon material is a LiI carbon composite.
Kim, however, does disclose that the porous carbon material is a LiI carbon composite (see e.g., "fabrication of the cathode began…a slurry solution including a carbon black powder…in some cases, the slurry solution including lithium iodide" in paragraph [0052] of Kim).
Kim also teaches that by depositing a high loading of undissolved lithium iodide on a carbon cathode, the battery achieved a specific capacity of 4 mAh/cm², directly proportional to the amount used. Despite the high loading, the battery maintained over 90% energy efficiency (see e.g. Example 3 of Kim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anode-free metal halide battery of Park et al. such that the porous carbo material is a LiI-carbon composite as taught by Kim et al. in order to have a battery with a high energy efficiency as suggested by Kim.
Regarding Claim 19, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 18 (see e.g. claim 18 rejection above).
Park further discloses that the electrically insulating polymer is a polyurethane-based polymer, a polyethylene polymer, or a polyvinyl alcohol (see e.g. "The first protective layer may include…a polyurethane-based polymer…a polyethylene polymer...polyvinyl alcohol" in paragraph [0038] of Park).
Regarding Claim 26, Park discloses an anode-free metal halide battery (see e.g. “only a negative current collector and first to third protective layers are used to assemble a negative electrode free battery structure” in paragraph [0025] and “halides” in paragraph [0076] of Park), comprising:
a negative current collector (see e.g. "negative electrode current collector" in paragraph [0011] of Park) comprising a metal foil (see e.g., "the negative current collector…As an example, copper, stainless steel aluminum, nickel" in paragraph [0034] and "forms such as…foils in paragraph [0035] of Park) and a passivation laver directly connected to the metal foil (see e.g. "a first protective layer formed on a negative electrode...a second protective layer formed on the first...a third protective layer in paragraph [0011] of Park and part number 22 directly connected to part number 21 in FIG. 2), the passivation layer including an artificially-formed ion conducting material (see e.g. "After mixing polyethylene oxide (PEO) and LiFSI so that EO:Li have a molar ratio of 20:1, LiNO3 was added thereto to prepare a first protective layer, and this was transferred to a copper current collector (negative electrode current collector) surface to form the first protective layer on the copper current collector." in paragraph [0129] of Park; Park discloses that the passivation layer is formed artificially by creating a polymer mixture and applying it to a current collector) that allows lithium ion transport therethrough (see e.g. "lithium ions migrate from the positive electrode by charge to form lithium metal between the negative electrode current collector and the first protective layer" in paragraph [0012] of Park), and the passivation layer is configured to be artificially applied on the negative current collector material (see e.g. "After mixing polyethylene oxide (PEO) and LiFSI so that EO:Li have a molar ratio of 20:1, LiNO3 was added thereto to prepare a first protective layer, and this was transferred to a copper current collector (negative electrode current collector) surface to form the first protective layer on the copper current collector." in paragraph [0129] of Park; Park discloses that the passivation layer is formed artificially by creating a polymer mixture and applying it to a current collector):
an electrolyte (see e.g. "electrolyte" in paragraph [0010] and "lithium salt in an electrolyte" in paragraph [0068] of Park) in direct contact with the negative current collector through the artificially-formed ion conducting material (see e.g. "an electrolyte disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode" in Abstract of Park; the electrolyte fills the space within the battery and thus would be in direct contact with the negative current collector through the artificially-formed ion conducting material), the electrolyte capable of transporting electrons and lithium ions (see e.g. “A solution obtained by dissolving 1 M of LiPF6 and 2% by weight of vinylene carbonate (VC) in a mixed solvent mixing ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC) and dimethyl carbonate (DMC) in a volume ratio of 1:2:1 was used as an electrolyte.” In paragraph [0133] of Park; an electrolyte of this type is capable of transporting electrons and lithium ions); and
a cathode (see e.g. "positive electrode" in paragraph [0010] of Park and part number 11 in FIG. 2), wherein, in a first state corresponding to an initial uncharged condition:
the anode-free metal halide battery does not include an anode, and
the metal foil of the negative current collector is a bare uncharged metal foil (see e.g. "only a negative electrode current collector 21 and first to third protective layers 22, 23, 24 are used to assemble a negative electrode free battery structure" in paragraph [0025] of Park and FIG. 2; Park discloses that prior to initial charging the negative electrode consists only of a bare current collector (no lithium) with the passivation layer connected and upon charging lithium forms on the negative electrode)..
Park does not disclose that the cathode comprises a metal halide salt incorporated into an electrically conductive material.
Kim, however, in the same field of endeavor, secondary batteries, discloses a cathode including a metal halide salt incorporated into an electrically conductive material (see e.g. "The cathode 16 includes at least one metal halide salt" in paragraph [0036] and part numbers 17 and 14 in FIG. 1 of Kim; Kim discloses in FIG. 1 that the metal halide salt (17) is in direct contact with the electrolyte (14)).
Furthermore, Kim teaches that by incorporating the metal halide into the cathode the amount of electrolyte needed in a battery reduce, as well as increase the amount of cathode material in a given enclosed volume, which can increase the cell level density. The improved cell level energy density makes possible the use of the battery in a wide range of applications including long-range electric vehicles. Kim also teaches that solid phase metal halide cathode active materials require no heavy metals which can reduce overall cell manufacturing costs (see e.g. paragraph [0005] of Kim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the anode-free metal halide battery of Park et al. such that the cathode comprises a metal halide slat incorporated into the electrically conductive material as taught by Kim et al. in order to improve cell energy density and use the battery in a wide range of applications as suggest by Kim.
Regarding Claim 27, Park in view of Kim discloses the anode-free metal halide battery of claim 26 (see e.g. claim 26 rejection above).
Park further discloses a second state corresponding to a charging condition in which lithium ions are released into the electrolyte, migrate through the electrolyte, and reduce to lithium metal upon the negative current collector (see e.g. “lithium ions migrate from the positive electrode by charge to form lithium metal between the negative electrode current collector and the first protective layer in the negative electrode” in paragraph [0023] and FIGs. 2 and 3 of Park).
Park does not explicitly disclose that in the charging condition the battery is electrically connected to an external charging circuit, the metal halide compound releases electrons into the electrolyte, and the external charging circuit provides a negative charge to the negative current collector and receives the electrons from the electrolyte.
Kim, however, discloses that the battery is electrically connected to an external charging circuit (see e.g., “during recharge of battery 10, the cathode 16 provides an electrical pathway between an external voltage source and electrolyte 14 to supply voltage for another redox reaction to charge battery 10” in paragraph [0031] of Kim), and further discloses that the metal halide compound releases electrons into the electrolyte (see e.g., “the separator 18 forces electrons through an external electrical circuit to which battery 10 is connected such that the electrons do not travel through battery 10 (e.g., through electrolyte 14 of battery 10), while still enabling the metal ions to flow through battery 10 during charge and discharge” in paragraph [0041] of Kim). Kim further teaches that the external charging circuit may be connected to the separator (see e.g., paragraph [0041]) or the cathode (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose that the external charging circuit provides a negative charge to the negative current collector and receives electrons from the electrolyte, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that if the external circuit is connected to the separator or cathode, it would likewise be connected to the negative current collector so as to complete the circuit and facilitate electron transfer during charging.
Kim also teaches that solid-phase metal halide cathode active materials require no heavy metals, thereby reducing overall cell manufacturing costs (see e.g. paragraph [0005] of Kim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anode-free metal halide battery of Park et al. such that the battery is electrically connected to an external charging circuit so that the metal halide compound releases electrons and lithium ions into the electrolyte as taught by Kim et al. in order to achieve reduced material cost and enable external charging consistent with known lithium ion electrochemical principles as suggested by Kim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.E./ Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723