DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 08/12/2025. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-13, 15, 17, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shousha (USPG Pub No. 2019/0094552) in view of Jensen (USPG Pub No. 2019/0175011).
Regarding claim 1, Shousha discloses a method, performed by one or more processors, of conducting an ophthalmic evaluation using a head-worn device (100) including one or more display devices and one or more cameras facing towards an eye of a user in use (see Figs. 1A-B, Paragraphs 108-110), comprising: displaying an ophthalmic evaluation user interface item (606) (see Fig. 19, Paragraphs 130, 149); receiving user selection of the user interface item (Paragraph 137); projecting a grid onto a retina of an eye of the user (Paragraph 136); capturing at least one image of the retina of the eye of the user (Paragraph 136); analyzing the at least one image to assess the health of the eye of the user by comparing an appearance of the grid in the captured image with a reference appearance of the grid (Paragraph 136); and providing an output of the analysis of the at least one image to the user (Paragraphs 135-136), wherein the method further comprises: associated with the head-worn device (Paragraphs 97, 199). Shousha discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify generating audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts on an audio speaker; and determining compliance with the audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts prior to capturing the at least one image. In the same field of endeavor, Jensen discloses generating audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts on an audio speaker (Paragraph 33); and determining compliance with the audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts prior to capturing the at least one image (Paragraphs 35, 36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Shousha with generating audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts on an audio speaker; and determining compliance with the audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts prior to capturing the at least one image of Jensen for the purpose of providing a less complex and time consuming computerized eye examinations (Paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 3, Shousha and Jensen teach the method set forth above for claim 2, Jensen further discloses wherein determining compliance prior to capturing the one or more images is performed by receipt of spoken confirmatory user input from. the user that the user has complied (Paragraph 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method of Shousha with the teachings of Jensen for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Shousha and Jensen teach the method set forth above for claim 1, Jensen further discloses further comprising: displaying a feature on the display device, wherein the ophthalmic evaluation prompts comprise instructions to look at the feature displayed on the display device (Paragraph 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method of Shousha with the teachings of Jensen for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Shousha discloses a computer system including a head-worn device (100), the computer system comprising: one or more processors; one or more display devices; one or more cameras facing towards an eye of a user in use (see Figs. 1A-3, Paragraphs 108-110); and a memory storing instructions that (see Figs. 2, 3), when executed by the one or more processors, configure the computer system to perform operations comprising: displaying an ophthalmic evaluation user interface item (606) on a display device (see Fig. 19, Paragraphs 130, 149); receiving user selection of the user interface item (Paragraph 137); projecting a grid onto a retina of an eye of the user (Paragraph 136); capturing at least one image of the retina of the eye of the user (Paragraph 136); and analyzing the at least one image to assess the health of the eye of the user by comparing an appearance of the grid in the captured image with a reference appearance of the grid (Paragraphs 135-136), wherein the operations further comprise: associated with the head-worn device (Paragraphs 97, 199). Shousha discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify generating audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts on an audio speaker; and determining compliance with the audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts prior to capturing the at least one image. In the same field of endeavor, Jensen discloses generating audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts on an audio speaker (Paragraph 33); and determining compliance with the audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts prior to capturing the at least one image (Paragraphs 35, 36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the computer system of Shousha with generating audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts on an audio speaker; and determining compliance with the audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts prior to capturing the at least one image of Jensen for the purpose of providing a less complex and time consuming computerized eye examinations (Paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 17, Shousha discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Figs. 2, 3), the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer system including a head-worn device (100) including one or more display devices and one or more cameras facing towards an eye of a user in use (see Figs. 1A-B, Paragraphs 108-110), cause the computer system to perform operations comprising: displaying an ophthalmic evaluation user interface item (606) on a display device (see Fig. 19, Paragraphs 130, 149); receiving user selection of the user interface item (Paragraph 137), projecting a grid onto a retina of an eye of the user (Paragraph 136), capturing at least one image of the retina of the eye of the user (Paragraph 136); and analyzing the at least one image to assess the health of the eye of the user by comparing an appearance of the grid in the captured image with a reference appearance of the grid (Paragraphs 135-136), wherein the operations further comprise: associated with the head-worn device (Paragraphs 97, 199). Shousha discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify generating audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts on an audio speaker; and determining compliance with the audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts prior to capturing the at least one image. In the same field of endeavor, Jensen discloses generating audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts on an audio speaker (Paragraph 33); and determining compliance with the audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts prior to capturing the at least one image (Paragraphs 35, 36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the storage medium of Shousha with generating audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts on an audio speaker; and determining compliance with the audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts prior to capturing the at least one image of Jensen for the purpose of providing a less complex and time consuming computerized eye examinations (Paragraph 5).
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 18, Shousha and Jensen teach the method, computer system and storage medium set forth above for claims 1, 11 and 17, Jensen further discloses wherein the audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts comprise instructions to look in a certain direction (Paragraphs 22, 33); and determining compliance is performed by image recognition performed on frames of an image stream received from the one or more cameras (Paragraphs 35, 36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method, computer system and storage medium of Shousha with the teachings of Jensen for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claims 1, 11 and 17.
Regarding claims 7, 15 and 20, Shousha and Jensen teach the method and computer system set forth above for claims 1, 11 and 17, Jensen further discloses wherein determining compliance prior to capturing the one or more images is performed by receipt of spoken confirmatory user input from the user that the user has complied (Paragraph 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method, computer system and storage medium of Shousha with the teachings of Jensen for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claims 1, 11 and 17.
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 21, Shousha further discloses wherein the capturing of the at least one image occurs before a pupil of the user’s eye can constrict in response to the projecting of the grid (Paragraph 107).
Claims 8-10, 14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shousha (USPG Pub No. 2019/0094552) in view of Jensen (USPG Pub No. 2019/0175011) as applied to claim ` above, and further in view of Samec et al. (USPG Pub No. 2020/0041796), hereinafter “Samec”.
Regarding claim 9, Shousha discloses associated with the head-worn device (Paragraphs 97, 199). Shousha, Jensen and Samec teach the method set forth above for claim 8, Jensen further discloses further comprising: generating audible ophthalmic evaluation prompts on an audio speaker (Paragraph 33); and determining compliance with the audible ophthalmic evaluation prompt prior to capturing the each of the multiple images (Paragraphs 35, 36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method of Shousha and Samec with the teachings of Jensen for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Shousha, Jensen and Samec teach the method set forth above for claim 8, Samec further discloses wherein the ophthalmic evaluation user interface item comprises a plurality of ophthalmic evaluations available for user selection (Paragraphs 1694, 1695), the method further comprising: receiving user selection of a specific ophthalmic evaluation; and setting illumination and camera exposure settings based on the specific ophthalmic evaluation (Paragraphs 1694, 1695). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the method of Shousha and Jensen with the teachings of Samec for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, Shousha, Jensen and Samec teach the computer system set forth above for claim 14, Samec further discloses wherein the ophthalmic evaluation user interface item comprises a plurality of ophthalmic evaluations available for user selection (Paragraphs 1694, 1695), wherein the instructions further configure the system to perform operations comprising: receiving user selection of a specific ophthalmic evaluation; and setting illumination and camera exposure settings based on the specific ophthalmic evaluation (Paragraphs 1694, 1695). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the computer system of Shousha and Jensen with the teachings of Samec for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 14.
Regarding claims 8, 14 and 19, Shousha and Jensen disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein capturing at least one image of the eye of the user comprises: capturing multiple images of the eye of the user from multiple cameras simultaneously; and generating a composite image of the eye of the user from the simultaneously captured multiple images. In the same field of endeavor, Samec discloses wherein capturing at least one image of the eye of the user comprises: capturing multiple images of the eye of the user from multiple cameras simultaneously (Paragraph 1879); and generating a composite image of the eye of the user from the simultaneously captured multiple images (Paragraph 1879). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method, computer system and storage medium of Shousha and Jensen with wherein capturing at least one image of the eye of the user comprises: capturing multiple images of the eye of the user from multiple cameras simultaneously; and generating a composite image of the eye of the user from the simultaneously captured multiple images of Samec for the purpose of providing a compact and inexpensive ophthalmic device which allows a convenient method for an eye examination of a patient (Paragraph 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 11/19/2025