DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on September 4, 2026. In light of the Remarks filed September 4, 2026, these drawings are accepted with the interpretation given below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 5, the limitation “removably within receiver tube” should be “removably within a receiver tube”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by patent number US 6,834,879 B1 to Lorman.
Regarding claims 1 – 4, 6 – 9, 16 and 17, Lorman discloses a hitch ball mount (drawbar 10) comprising:
[Claim 1] a draw bar shank (inner tube 40) and an opposing ball support portion (ball mount bracket 50);
wherein the draw bar shank comprises a draw bar rod (inner tube 40) and a vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) disposed on an outer surface of the draw bar rod (See Figs. 3 and 4);
wherein the draw bar shank (inner tube 40) is sized to fit closely and removably within a receiver tube (the inner surface of outer tube 15) of a receiver hitch assembly (the outer tube 15 attached to the towing vehicle via receiver tube 35; Col. 5, Lns. 6 – 11) [NOTE: Applicant doesn’t actually show/ define a receiver tube (indicated as indicia 12) that is different from the hitch receiver (indicated as 11). The Examiner takes this to mean the receiver tube 12 is the inner surface of receiver 11. Therefore, Lorman reads on the limitations as defined by applicant’s disclosure.] and
wherein, the receiver hitch assembly (the outer tube 15 attached to the towing vehicle via receiver tube 35; Col. 5, Lns. 6 – 11) includes a receiver (the outer surface of outer tube 15) to be mounted to a towing vehicle and the receiver includes the receiver tube (the inner surface of outer tube 15), so that when the draw bar shank is positioned within the receiver tube (Figs. 3 and 4), the vibration-isolating member contacts a portion of the interior of the receiver tube and holds the draw bar rod in a spaced relationship with the interior of the receiver tube (Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 35);
[Claim 2] wherein the vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) includes a side hole (hitch pin receiver 30) sized for receiving a hitch pin (cushioned hitch pin 20);
[Claim 3] wherein the vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) comprises a vibration-absorbing material (natural rubber that is vulcanized; Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 35);
[Claim 4] wherein the vibration-absorbing material (natural rubber that is vulcanized; Col. 5, Lns. 30 - 35) comprises a composite or rubberized material;
[Claim 6] wherein the vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) includes a side hole (hitch pin receiver 30) in each of two opposing side walls and each of the side holes is sized to receive a hitch pin (cushioned hitch pin 20);
[Claim 7] wherein the vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) is removable from the draw bar rod (inner tube 40; the elastomeric material is bonded and therefore is removable, Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 35); and
[Claim 8] wherein the vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) comprises a sleeve (elastomeric sleeves, Col. 3, Lns. 43 – 47) configured to be slidingly positioned over the draw bar rod (inner tube 40; See Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claims 10 – 13, Lorman discloses a vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) for use with a hitch ball mount (drawbar 10), the vibration-isolating member comprising:
[Claim 10] a sleeve (elastomeric sleeves, Col. 3, Lns. 43 – 47) comprising a vibration-absorbing material (natural rubber that is vulcanized; Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 35), wherein the sleeve is configured (i) to fit closely over a draw bar rod (inner tube 40) of a hitch ball mount, (ii) to fit closely and removably within an interior of a receiver tube (the inner surface of outer tube 15) of a receiver (the outer surface of outer tube 15) hitch assembly (although Lorman’s resilient layer is rubber that is bonded to the rubber, since the materials of attached (bonded) they can be separated, making the Lorman’s vibration-absorbing material removable; Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 36), and (iii) to hold the draw bar rod in a spaced relationship with a surface of the interior of the receiver tube when the draw bar rod is positioned within the interior of the receiver tube with the sleeve disposed over the draw bar rod and in contact with the interior surface of the receiver tube (See Figs. 3 and 4); and
wherein the receiver hitch assembly (the outer tube 15 attached to the towing vehicle via receiver tube 35; Col. 5, Lns. 6 – 11) includes a receiver (outer tube 15) to be mounted to a towing vehicle, and the receiver (the inner surface of outer tube 15) includes a receiver tube.
[Claim 11] wherein the vibration-absorbing material (natural rubber that is vulcanized; Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 35) comprises a composite or rubberized material; and
[Claim 12] wherein the sleeve (elastomeric sleeves, Col. 3, Lns. 43 – 47) includes a side hole (hitch pin receiver 30) in each of two opposing sleeve side walls and each of the side holes is sized to receive a hitch pin (cushioned hitch pin 20); and
[Claim 13 ] wherein the vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) is removable from the draw bar rod (inner tube 40; the elastomeric material is bonded and therefore is removable, Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 35).
Regarding claims 14, 15, 17, 19 and 20, Lorman discloses a receiver hitch assembly comprising in combination:
[Claim 14] a hitch ball mount (drawbar 10) including a draw bar shank (inner tube 40) and an opposing hitch ball support portion (ball mount bracket 50); and
a receiver to be mounted to a towing vehicle, the receiver (the outer tube 15) including a receiver tube (the inner surface of outer tube 15);
wherein the receiver tube (the inner surface of outer tube 15) has a rearward end, and a top wall, a bottom wall and two opposing side walls defining a receiver tube interior surface (See Figs. 3 and 4), wherein the receiver tube rearward end includes an opening (hole 60) sized for receiving the hitch ball mount draw bar shank;
wherein the draw bar shank includes a draw bar rod (inner tube 40) and a vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) comprising a vibration-absorbing material (natural rubber that is vulcanized; Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 35) disposed about a circumference of the draw bar rod;
wherein the draw bar shank (inner tube 40) is sized to fit closely and removably within the receiver tube (the inner surface of outer tube 15) so that (although Lorman’s resilient layer is rubber that is bonded to the rubber, since the materials of attached (bonded) they can be separated, making the Lorman’s vibration-absorbing material removable; Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 36), when the draw bar shank is positioned within the receiver tube, the vibration-reducing member contacts a portion of the receiver tube interior surface and isolates the draw bar rod from contact with the receiver tube interior surface (Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 35); and
wherein each of the opposing side walls of the receiver tube (the inner surface of outer tube 15) includes a side hole (hitch pin receiver 30) sized for receiving a hitch pin (cushioned hitch pin 20) and the draw bar shank (inner tube 40) includes a lateral hole (clearance hole 45) which can be aligned with the receiver side holes and which is sized for receiving the hitch pin;
[Claim 15] wherein the vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) comprises a composite or rubberized material;
[Claim 16] wherein the vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) comprises a sleeve (elastomeric sleeves, Col. 3, Lns. 43 – 47) configured to be slidingly positioned over the draw bar rod (inner tube 40; See Figs. 3 and 4);
[Claim 17] wherein the vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) is removable from the draw bar rod (inner tube 40; the elastomeric material is bonded and therefore is removable, Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 35); and
[Claim 19] wherein the vibration-isolating member (elastomeric material 55) comprises a side hole (hitch pin receiver 30) in each of two opposing side walls of the vibration-isolating member and each of the side holes is sized to receive a hitch pin (cushioned hitch pin 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorman, in view of patent application publication number US 2012/0313349 A1 to Shalaby.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Lorman discloses the hitch ball mount (drawbar 10) of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the vibration-isolating member comprises a layer of vibration-absorbing material molded over the draw bar rod.
However, Shalaby discloses a universal hitch with integral articulation, clamping and locking, comprising a hitch member (universal hitch 80) made of a flexible material over-molded onto a body (2; Paragraph [0036]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, make the hitch member of Lorman by over-molding the rubber vibration member onto the shank, to eliminate an assembly operation in the manufacturing process for cost savings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed September 4, 2026, with respect to the language “the receiver tube formed in a receiver” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed September 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Lorman’s steel outer tube (15) is not a receiver. However, Lorman’s steel outer tube (15) does receive inner tube (40) and is to be mounted to a vehicle (such as at 35, in Fig. 1). Applicant’s receiver is broadly claimed and therefore, still reads on Lorman’s outer tube (15).
Applicant continues to argue Lorman’s “elastomeric material 55 does not include a hole sized for receiving a hitch pin”, and Lorman’s “elastomeric material 55 is not removable from the draw bar rod. Instead…its elastomeric material 55 is … bonded to the metal surfaces”. (Remarks, Page 9). As previously mentioned, Lorman clearly depicts elastomeric material (55) extending to hole (30) to receive pin (25) in cutaway shown in Fig. 1 (being cutaway, Col. 4, Lns. 1 – 4). The elastomeric material (55) clearly shown in black extends forward, rearward and around hole 30. Next, although, the elastomeric material is bonded to the surfaces of the hitch, the elastomeric material remains capable of removal even if it is destroyed in the process. Being removable without being destroyed is not part of the claim limitations. Since, the elastomeric material is rubber and it is bonded or chemically bonded to metal surfaces, then it can be removed (Col. 5, Lns. 30 – 36).
Applicant has amended claims 9 and 20 to state the protrusions are “raised protrusions”, thus defining over the Lorman reference and overcoming the rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, Lorman does not disclose the claimed hitch ball mount further comprising one or more raised protrusions disposed on an outer surface of the draw bar rod. Claim 20 includes similar allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Felicia L. Brittman-Alabi/ Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611