DETAILED ACTION
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 1,11 and 14 and added claim 22 which changes the scope of the claims and as such a new grounds of rejection is issued.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1,11 and 14 Applicant asserts:
The applied references, alone or in any proper combination, do not disclose or suggest the subject matter recited by Applicant's claims, and there would have been no apparent reason that would have caused one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the devices or techniques described by the applied references to arrive at the claimed subject matter.."
And further asserts:
None of Olson, Skelton, or any proper combination thereof, discloses the subject matter of independent claim 1, such as "a power transmitting circuit comprising a transmit antenna configured to transmit electromagnetic energy to a power receiving device of a specific user" 1…. as recited by amended independent claim 1.
And further asserts:
None of Olson, Skelton, or any proper combination thereof discloses determining a threshold power transfer efficiency based on a plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claims 1, 11 and 14, where the Examiner uses the combined teachings of Olson in view of Skelton to teach claim language
a power transmitting circuit (external charging device 48, Fig.14 of Olson) comprising a transmit antenna (Coil 54, Fig.3,14 and 17 of Olson) configured to transmit electromagnetic energy to a power receiving device of a specific user (Fig. 3 IMD 16. [0069] of Olson … Secondary coil 34 is within an “implantable medical device 16 situated under cutaneous boundary 38” [0067] of Olson. As such the implantable medical device 16 is of a specific user); receive, from the power transfer measurement circuitry, an indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving device of the specific user ([0088] [0090] of Olson … The power out is gauged by the power induced in implantable medical device 16 (i.e. “amount of power transferred to the power receiving unit of the specific user”) and is determined by multiplying the voltage of rechargeable power source 24 by the charging current in implantable medical device 16 (which is situated under cutaneous boundary 38)) over time (Fig. 9 average recharge coupling efficiency) as a plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user ( [0025] and [0117] of Olson …the stronger the coupling between the secondary coil and primary coil, the greater the amount of energy that may be transferred from the charger device to the secondary coil per unit time (e.g. indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving device for the specific user). As such the average recharge coupling efficiency is based on a plurality of power transfer measurements over time); the processing circuitry configured to record the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user ([0050] of Olson); determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user, a threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user (Fig. 9 and [0130] of Olson); determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements (Average recharge coupling efficiency.. [0117] of Olson) and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device ( “good’ or “fair” are predefined range of average recharge coupling percentage values,e.g. thresholds power transfer efficiencies [0130] of Olson) and the specific user (user with the power PRU), an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device (Fig. 9 and [0130] of Olson..) and control the user interface to output the indication of power transfer to the power receiving device (Fig. 9 and [0130] of Olson).
Additionally, Examiner sated that it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Olson and Skelton for the reasons set forth below.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1,11 and 14 Applicant asserts:
It has not been shown that this "predefined range" of average recharge coupling percentage values is determined based on power transfer measurements of the specific user.
Therefore, it has not been shown that Skelton discloses "processing circuitry configured to "determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements, a threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user," as recited by amended claim 1.
And further asserts:
Skelton then does not describe processing circuitry configured to "determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user, an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device.
Therefore, it has not been shown that Skelton discloses processing circuitry configured to both (1) "determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements, a threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user" and (2) "determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user, an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device,"7 as recited by amended independent claim 1.
In response:
determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user, a threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user (Fig. 9 and [0130] of Olson); determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements (Average recharge coupling efficiency.. [0117] of Olson) and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device ( “good’ or “fair” are predefined range of average recharge coupling percentage values, e.g. thresholds power transfer efficiencies [0130] of Olson) and the specific user (user with the power PRU), an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device (Fig. 9 and [0130] of Olson..) and control the user interface to output the indication of power transfer to the power receiving device (Fig. 9 and [0130] of Olson).
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,4-5,8-10,14, 16-17, 19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 20060247737) in view of Skelton (US 20120197322).
As to claim 1, Olson discloses a system (Figs. 3,14,17-18),comprising:
a user interface (Fig. 17-18 alignment indicator 150 and display 152);
power transfer measurement circuitry (telemetry antenna 218 and receive circuit 222 [0088]);
a power transmitting circuit (external charging device 48, Fig.14) comprising a transmit antenna (Coil 54, Fig.3,14 and 17) configured to transmit electromagnetic energy to a power receiving device of a specific user (Fig. 3 IMD 16. [0069] Charging unit 50 contains the electronics necessary to drive primary coil 54 with an oscillating current in order to induce current in secondary coil 34. Secondary coil 34 is within an “implantable medical device 16 situated under cutaneous boundary 38” [0067]. As such the implantable medical device 16 is of a specific user);
processing circuitry operatively coupled to a memory (Fig. 14 uP 212 and “system memory I/O”), the processing circuitry configured to:
control the power transmitting circuit to wirelessly output the electromagnetic energy to the power receiving device of the specific user ([0087] and Fig. 14 Transmit block 214 consists of an H-bridge circuit and drives primary coil 54 in external antenna 52. H-bridge control signals and timing are provided conventionally by microprocessor 212. [0087] Primary coil 54 is driven in order to induce current in secondary coil 34);
receive, from the power transfer measurement circuitry, an indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving device of the specific user ([0090] efficiency of external charging device 48 by measuring the power out of external charging device 48 divided by the power into external charging device 48. The power out is gauged by the power induced in implantable medical device 16 (i.e. “amount of power transferred to the power receiving unit of the specific user”) and is determined by multiplying the voltage of rechargeable power source 24 by the charging current in implantable medical device 16 (which is situated under cutaneous boundary 38). These values are obtained by telemetry from implanted medical device 16 which is done using the Receive block 222 and telemetry antenna 218 [0088] [0090]).
Olson does not disclose/teach the received indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving is over time as a plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user; the processing circuitry configured to record the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user; determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user, a threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user; determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user, an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device and control the user interface to output the indication of power transfer to the power receiving device.
Skelton teaches receiv[ing], from a power transfer measurement circuit [0050] the recharge coupling efficiency may be determined, e.g., by programmer 20 and IMD 14), an indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving device over time (Fig. 9 average recharge coupling efficiency) as a plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user ( [0025] Recharge coupling efficiency refers to the strength of the coupling between the secondary coil of the IMD and the primary coil of the recharging unit. …the stronger the coupling between the secondary coil and primary coil, the greater the amount of energy that may be transferred from the charger device to the secondary coil per unit time (e.g. indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving device for the specific user). Average recharge coupling efficiency is a plurality of recharge coupling efficiency values determined over a period of time [0117]). As such the average recharge coupling efficiency is based on a plurality of power transfer measurements over time); the processing circuitry configured to record the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user ([0050] the recharge coupling efficiency may be determined, e.g., by programmer 20 and/or IMD 14. predefined range of average recharge coupling efficiency); determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user, a threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user (Fig. 9 and [0130] “good’ or “fair” or “poor” are predefined range of average recharge coupling percentage values, (e.g. thresholds power transfer efficiencies) and therefore based on the plurality of predefined average recharge coupling percentage values) .. the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "good," … the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "fair); determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements (Average recharge coupling efficiency.. [0117]) and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device ( “good’ or “fair” are predefined range of average recharge coupling percentage values,e.g. thresholds power transfer efficiencies [0130]) and the specific user (user with the power PRU), an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device (Fig. 9 and [0130] .. average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "good," … the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "fair”. Fig. 9 and [0130] showing the percentages in recharge coupling efficiency and thresholds “good’ or “fair” indicates the power transferred to the power receiving device since recharge coupling efficiency is a function of power transferred to the device).
Skelton further teaches control the user interface to output the indication of power transfer to the power receiving device (Fig. 9 and [0130] Screen 128 also includes text within each respective bar indicating the average recharge coupling efficiency determined for the corresponding posture state. … a color coding scheme may be used in which the bar corresponding to a posture state may be filled in green if the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "good," filled in yellow if the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "fair).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Olson to receive, from the power transfer measurement circuit, an indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving is over time as a plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user; the processing circuitry configured to record the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user; determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user, a threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user; determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user, an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device and control the user interface to output the indication of power transfer to the power receiving device in order for the user to identify the posture or position for optimal efficiency for future recharge sessions.
As to claim 2, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of power transfer measurements comprises a measured power transfer efficiency (Fig. 9 of Skelton. Average recharge coupling efficiency is a plurality of recharge coupling efficiency values determined over a period of time [0117]).
As to claim 4, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the indication of the power transfer is implemented as a graphical display on the user interface (Fig. 9 of Skelton)
As to claim 5, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the indication of the power transfer is an audible indication output from the user interface ([0126] of Olson alignment indicator 150 functionally provides active feedback to patient 18, or other person, responsible for positioning primary coil 54 during charging of rechargeable power source 24. Alignment may provide sensory feedback, e.g., audible, visual or tactile) .
As to claim 8, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the power receiving device is an implantable medical device (Fig. 3 IMD 16).
As to claim 9, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the indication of a power transfer to the power receiving unit comprises one or more of: a digital message from the power receiving unit including a measured value of power received (Fig. 9 of Skelton showing average coupling efficiency and [0025] Recharge coupling efficiency refers to the strength of the coupling between the secondary coil of the IMD and the primary coil of the recharging unit. …the stronger the coupling between the secondary coil and primary coil, the greater the amount of energy that may be transferred from the charger device to the secondary coil per unit time (e.g. indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving device).
As to claim 10, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the power transmitting circuit is an inductive power transmitting circuit ([0087] of Olson Transmit block 214 consists of an H-bridge circuit and drives primary coil 54 in external antenna 52. H-bridge control signals and timing are provided conventionally by microprocessor 212. [0087] Primary coil 54 is driven in order to induce current in secondary coil 34); and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the power transmitting circuit to pause power transmission while the processing circuitry communicates with the power receiving device ([0134] of Olson Charging unit 50 then stops charging and waits (316) one second to check for reception of a telemetry signal from implantable medical device 16).
As to claim 14 Olson discloses a method (Figs. 3,14,17-18),comprising:
controlling, by processing circuitry operatively coupled to a memory(Fig. 12 uP 212 and “system memory I/o”), a power transmitting circuit (external charging device 48, Fig.14) to wirelessly output electromagnetic energy to power receiving device of a specific user (Fig. 3 IMD 16 [0069] Charging unit 50 contains the electronics necessary to drive primary coil 54 with an oscillating current in order to induce current in secondary coil 34. Secondary coil 34 is within an “implantable medical device 16 situated under cutaneous boundary 38” [0067]. As such the implantable medical device 16 is of a specific user.), wherein the power transmitting circuit comprises a transmit antenna (Coil 54, Fig.3,14 and 17) configured to output the electromagnetic energy to the power receiving device of the specific user (Fig. 3 IMD 16 [0069]);
Olson does not disclose/teach receiving, by the processing circuitry and from a power transfer measurement circuit, an indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving device of the specific user over time as a plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user; recording, by the processing circuitry, the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user; determining, by the processing circuitry and based on the plurality of power transfer measurements, a threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device associated and the specific user; determining, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user, an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device; and controlling, by the processing circuitry, a user interface to output an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device.
Skelton teaches receiving, by the processing circuitry and from a power transfer measurement circuit [0050] the recharge coupling efficiency may be determined, e.g., by programmer 20 and IMD 14), an indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving device of the specific user over time (Fig. 9 average recharge coupling efficiency) as a plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user ( [0025] Recharge coupling efficiency refers to the strength of the coupling between the secondary coil of the IMD and the primary coil of the recharging unit. …the stronger the coupling between the secondary coil and primary coil, the greater the amount of energy that may be transferred from the charger device to the secondary coil per unit time (e.g. indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving device). Average recharge coupling efficiency is a plurality of recharge coupling efficiency values determined over a period of time [0117]). As such the average recharge coupling efficiency is based on a plurality of power transfer measurements over time); recording, by the processing circuitry , the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user ([0050] the recharge coupling efficiency may be determined, e.g., by programmer 20 and/or IMD 14); determining, by the processing circuitry and based on the plurality of power transfer measurements, a threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device associated and the specific user (Fig. 9 and [0130] “good’ or “fair” or “poor” are predefined range of average recharge coupling percentage values, (e.g. thresholds power transfer efficiencies) and therefore based on the plurality of predefined average recharge coupling percentage values) .. the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "good," … the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "fair); determine, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements (Average recharge coupling efficiency.. [0117]) and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device ( “good’ or “fair” are predefined range of average recharge coupling percentage values,e.g. thresholds power transfer efficiencies [0130]) and the specific user (user with the power PRU), an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device (Fig. 9 and [0130] …. if the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "good," … if the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "fair”. Fig. 9 and [0130] showing the percentages in recharge coupling efficiency and thresholds “good’ or “fair” indicates the power transferred to the power receiving device since recharge coupling efficiency is a function of power transferred to the device).
Skelton further teaches controlling, by the processing circuitry, a user interface to output an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device (Fig. 9 and [0130] Screen 128 also includes text within each respective bar indicating the average recharge coupling efficiency determined for the corresponding posture state. … a color coding scheme may be used in which the bar corresponding to a posture state may be filled in green if the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "good," filled in yellow if the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "fair).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Olson to include receiving, by the processing circuitry and from a power transfer measurement circuit, an indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving device of the specific user over time as a plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user; recording, by the processing circuitry, the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user; determining, by the processing circuitry and based on the plurality of power transfer measurements, a threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device associated and the specific user; determining, based on the plurality of power transfer measurements and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the power receiving device and the specific user, an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device; and controlling, by the processing circuitry, a user interface to output an indication of power transfer to the power receiving device in order for the user to identify the posture or position for optimal efficiency for future recharge sessions.
As to claim 16, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the indication of the power transfer is implemented as a graphical display on the user interface (Fig. 9 of Skelton).
As to claim 17, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the indication of the power transfer is an audible indication output from the user interface ([0126] of Olson alignment indicator 150 functionally provides active feedback to patient 18, or other person, responsible for positioning primary coil 54 during charging of rechargeable power source 24. Alignment may provide sensory feedback, e.g., audible, visual or tactile).
As to claim 19, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the indication of an power transfer to the power receiving unit comprises one or more of: a digital message from the power receiving unit including a measured value of power received (Fig. 9 of Skelton showing average coupling efficiency and [0025] Recharge coupling efficiency refers to the strength of the coupling between the secondary coil of the IMD and the primary coil of the recharging unit. …the stronger the coupling between the secondary coil and primary coil, the greater the amount of energy that may be transferred from the charger device to the secondary coil per unit time (e.g. indication of an amount of power transferred to the power receiving device).
As to claim 20, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the power transmitting circuit is an inductive power transmitting circuit ([0087] of Olson Transmit block 214 consists of an H-bridge circuit and drives primary coil 54 in external antenna 52. H-bridge control signals and timing are provided conventionally by microprocessor 212. [0087] Primary coil 54 is driven in order to induce current in secondary coil 34), the method further comprising, controlling, by the processing circuitry, the power transmitting circuit to pause power transmission while the processing circuitry communicates with the power receiving device ([0134] Charging unit 50 then stops charging and waits (316) one second to check for reception of a telemetry signal from implantable medical device 16).
As to claim 22, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of power transfer measurements for the specific user ([0025] [0117] of Skelton) reflect the amount of power transferred through tissue of the specific user ([0025]-[0026] ……the stronger the coupling between the secondary coil and primary coil, the greater the amount of energy that may be transferred from the charger device to the secondary coil per unit time.[0106] the position of primary coil 113 relative that of secondary coil 91 influences the recharge coupling efficiency for the energy transferred transcutaneously from primary coil 113 to secondary coil 91).
Claims 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 20060247737) in view of Skelton (US 20120197322) evident by Graff (US 20220354032) in view of Nalbant (US 11081911).
As to claims 3, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry determines the power transfer efficiency based on: a measured value of power received by the power receiving unit ([0090] External charging device 48 measures the power out of external charging device 48 (gauged by the power induced in implantable medical device 16)… to determine efficiency of external charging device 48. This efficiency can be display as a bar or as a series of lights ([0091]) as seen in Fig. 18. Fig. 18 is a series of lights forming a bar graph indicative of a degree of efficiency of energy transfer, i.e., alignment. [0126]-[0127]. As such the power out of external charging device 48).
Olson is not specifically clear power transfer efficiency based on power at the transmit antenna as well as at a tuning capacitor connected to the transmit antenna.
However it is well known that power transfer efficiency is based on power at the transmit antenna as evident by Graff ([0069] The power transfer efficiency is based on the ratio Prx/Ptx, where Ptx represents the power transmitted by a transmitter antenna of a wireless charging system, and Prx represents the power received by a receiving antenna).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power transfer efficiency of Olson to be based on power at the transmit antenna in order to minimize the loss and increase the coupling between the transmitter and receiver coils.
In regards to a tuning capacitor connected to the transmit antenna, tuning capacitors connected to transmit antennas are old and well known (Nalbant ,Col 4 lines 15-20).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a tuning capacitor connected to the transmit antenna in order to facilitate operation of the transmitter in different conditions, such as different degrees of magnetic coupling to the receiver, different operating frequencies, etc (Nalbant ,Col 4 lines 15-20).
As to claim 15, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the plurality of power transfer measurements comprises a measured power transfer efficiency ([0091][0126]-[0127] and Fig. 18 the available efficiency can be divided into separate ranges and displayed as a bar or as a series of lights indicative of a degree of efficiency of energy transfer, i.e., alignment as seen in Fig. 18. [0128] and Table 4 provides an illustration of how the number of lights, representing a bar, may be lit depending upon the calculated efficiency of energy transfer is used. Therefore, Fig. 18 and Table 14 shows a plurality of energy transfer efficiencies (i.e.” power transfer measurements”) are calculated), and wherein the processing circuitry determines the measured power transfer efficiency based on: a measured value of power received by the power receiving unit ([0090] External charging device 48 measures the power out of external charging device 48 (gauged by the power induced in implantable medical device 16)… to determine efficiency of external charging device 48. This efficiency can be display as a bar or as a series of lights ([0091]) as seen in Fig. 18. Fig. 18 is a series of lights forming a bar graph indicative of a degree of efficiency of energy transfer, i.e., alignment. [0126]-[0127]. As such the power out of external charging device 48);
Olson is not specifically clear power transfer efficiency based on and power in the transmit antenna as well as at a tuning capacitor connected to the transmit antenna.
However it is well known that power transfer efficiency is based on power at the transmit antenna as evident by Graff ([0069] The power transfer efficiency is based on the ratio Prx/Ptx, where Ptx represents the power transmitted by a transmitter antenna of a wireless charging system, and Prx represents the power received by a receiving antenna).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power transfer efficiency of Olson to be based on power at the transmit antenna in order to minimize the loss and increase the coupling between the transmitter and receiver coils.
In regards to a tuning capacitor connected to the transmit antenna, tuning capacitors connected to transmit antennas are old and well known (Nalbant ,Col 4 lines 15-20). . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a tuning capacitor connected to the transmit antenna in order to facilitate operation of the transmitter in different conditions, such as different degrees of magnetic coupling to the receiver, different operating frequencies, etc (Nalbant ,Col 4 lines 15-20).
Claims 6-7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 20060247737) in view of Skelton (US 20120197322) in view of Lambert (US 20080300654) in view of Borke (US 20120133213).
As to claims 6 and 18, Olson in view of Skelton teaches the system of claim 1, and the method of claim 14.
Olson discloses the indication of the amount of power transferred (Fig. 17-18 alignment indicator 150 and display 152. [0091] [0126]).
Olson does not disclose/teach wherein the processing circuitry performing the method of operating in a training mode; wherein the indication of the power transfer while in the training mode provides a suggested position of the transmit antenna relative to the power receiving device, and wherein the suggested position is based on a user selected criteria.
Lambert teaches operating in a training mode ([0187] The training mode is used post-operatively to train the patient on using the therapy system 100); wherein the indication of the amount of power transferred (i.e. feedback) while in the training mode provides a suggested position of the transmit antenna relative to the power receiving device ([0188] The training mode allows the physician to familiarize the patient with the positioning of the external charger 101 relative to the implanted neuroregulator 104. The physician also instructs the patient in how to respond to the feedback parameters within the therapy system 100. [0121] The external charger 101 also provides feedback to the user indicating the current degree of alignment of the coils 102, 105).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the processing circuitry of Olson to wherein the processing circuitry is configured to operate in a training mode; wherein the indication of the amount of power transferred while in the training mode provides a suggested position of the transmit antenna relative to the power receiving device in order to familiarize the patient with the positioning of the external charger 101 relative to the IMD.
Olson in view of Lambert does not disclose/teach and wherein the suggested position is based on a user selected criteria.
Borke teaches and wherein the suggested position is based on a user selected criteria ([0072] and Fig. 6 displaying the field strength vector on the user interface screen 310 allows the user to select a location where the field strength is best aligned with the dispenser antenna, or provides the user with information on how to best align an externally mounted power receiving antenna with the electromagnetic field in a given location).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the suggested position to be based on a user selected criteria so that the user can control and reduce the charging time.
As to claim 7, Olson in view of Lambert on view of Borke discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the user selected criteria comprise criteria selected from at least one category, wherein the at least one category comprises at least one of: consistent recharge time, size of power coupling zone ([0072] of Borke).
Claims 11-12 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 20060247737) in view of Skelton (US 20120197322) in view of Takahashi (US 20160087448).
As to claim 11, Olson discloses a system (Figs. 3,14,17-18),comprising:
a user interface (Fig. 17-18 alignment indicator 150 and display 152);
a power transfer measurement circuitry (telemetry antenna 218 and receive circuit 222 [0088]);
a power transmitting circuit (external charging device 48, Fig.14) comprising a transmit antenna (Coil 54, Fig.3,14 and 17);
processing circuitry operatively coupled to a memory (Fig. 14 uP 212 and “system memory I/o”), the processing circuitry configured to:
control the power transmitting circuit to wirelessly output the electromagnetic energy [0087] Transmit block 214 consists of an H-bridge circuit and drives primary coil 54 in external antenna 52. H-bridge control signals and timing are provided conventionally by microprocessor 212. [0087] Primary coil 54 is driven in order to induce current in secondary coil 34);
receive from the power transfer measurement circuit an indication of an amount of power transferred to a power receiving unit (PRU) of a specific user ([0090] efficiency of external charging device 48 by measuring the power out of external charging device 48 divided by the power into external charging device 48. The power out is gauged by the power induced in implantable medical device 16 (i.e. “amount of power transferred to the power receiving device of a specific user”) and is determined by multiplying the voltage of rechargeable power source 24 by the charging current in implantable medical device 16 (which is situated under cutaneous boundary 38 [0067]). As such the implantable medical device 16 is of a specific user ). These values are obtained by telemetry from implanted medical device 16 which is done using the Receive block 222 and telemetry antenna 218 [0088] [0090]. ).
Olson does not disclose/teach during a power transfer session, record a plurality of power transfer efficiency measurements for the specific user; determine a session power transfer efficiency value based on a first measure of central tendency for the plurality of power transfer efficiency measurements for the specific user; determine a system power transfer efficiency based on a second measure of central tendency for a plurality of session power transfer efficiency values; calculate a threshold power transfer efficiency for the PRU the specific user based on the system power transfer efficiency; determine, based on the system power transfer efficiency and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the PRU and the specific user, an indication of a relative location between the transmit antenna and the PRU that provides a session power transfer efficiency above the threshold power transfer efficiency; and control the user interface to output the indication of the relative location between the transmit antenna and PRU that provides the session power transfer efficiency above the threshold power transfer efficiency.
Skelton teaches during a power transfer session, record a plurality of power transfer efficiency measurements for the specific user and determine a session power transfer efficiency value (average recharge coupling efficiency) based on a first measure of central tendency for the plurality of power transfer efficiency measurements (Fig. 4 [0074] [0128]-[0130] processor 80 of the implantable medical device 14 may determine.. the average recharge coupling efficiency observed for each respective posture state (i.e. session) during the recharge session) for the specific user; determine a system power transfer efficiency based on a second measure of central tendency for a plurality of session power transfer efficiency values ([0130] predefined range of average recharge coupling percentage values identified as “system power transfer efficiency”); calculate a threshold power transfer efficiency for the PRU associated with the specific user (threshold efficiency set based on the predefined range of average recharge coupling percentage values "good," "poor," and "fair". The recharge coupling efficiency of the charging process may be monitored by the IMD ([0004]) which is a PRU associated with a user) based on the system power transfer efficiency (Fig. 9 [0130] a color coding scheme may be used in which the bar corresponding to a posture state may be filled in green if the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "good," filled in yellow if the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "fair," and filled in red if the average recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "poor." In such a case, each one of "good," "poor," and "fair" may correspond to a predefined range of average recharge coupling percentage values).
Skelton further teaches determine, based on the system power transfer efficiency ([0130] average recharge coupling percentage values) and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the PRU and the specific user ("good," "poor," and "fair"), an indication of a relative location between the transmit antenna and the PRU that provides a session power transfer efficiency above the threshold power transfer efficiency ([0130] the recharge coupling efficiency may vary during a recharge session due to the movement of secondary coil 91 relative to primary coil 113 (e.g., movement that results in changes to the distance and/or angle between the primary and secondary coils. For example, the movement of patient 12 (e.g., a transition from one posture state to another) may cause secondary coil 91 to move relative to primary coil 113. As such, the recharge coupling efficiency for that posture state was determined to be "good," being above “poor” is directly related to the location of the transmit antenna relative to the PRU).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the processing circuitry of Olson to be configured to during a power transfer session, record a plurality of power transfer efficiency measurements for the specific user; determine a session power transfer efficiency value based on a first measure of central tendency for the plurality of power transfer efficiency measurements for the specific user; determine a system power transfer efficiency based on a second measure of central tendency for a plurality of session power transfer efficiency values; calculate a threshold power transfer efficiency for the PRU the specific user based on the system power transfer efficiency; determine, based on the system power transfer efficiency and the threshold power transfer efficiency for the PRU and the specific user, an indication of a relative location between the transmit antenna and the PRU that provides a session power transfer efficiency above the threshold power transfer efficiency in order for the user to identify the posture or position for optimal efficiency for future recharge sessions.
Olson in view of Skelton does not disclose/teach control the user interface to output the indication of the relative location between the transmit antenna and the PRU that provides the session power transfer efficiency above the threshold power transfer efficiency.
Takahashi teaches control the user interface to output the indication of the relative location between the transmit antenna and the PRU that provides the session power transfer efficiency above the threshold power transfer efficiency ([0067][0080] and Fig. 7 In the case where the receiving efficiency is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the receiving efficiency calculation unit 8124 determines that the power receiving apparatus 30 is not within the area 703 for transmission at the appropriate efficiency indicated in FIG. 7, and displays, in the display unit 27, a recommendation for moving the power receiving apparatus into a proper position (S1115). [0043] CPU 212 calculates the receiving efficiency by comparing the received power amount with the transmitted power).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the user interface of Olson to output an indication of the relative location between the transmit antenna and the PRU that provides the session power transfer efficiency above the threshold power transfer efficiency in order to increase transmission efficiency ([0067][0080]), thereby reducing the amount of power transmitted.
As to claim 12, Olson in view of Skelton in view of Takahashi teaches the system of claim 11.
Olson does not disclose/teach wherein the threshold power transfer efficiency is further based on a user selected criteria
Skelton teaches wherein the threshold power transfer efficiency is further based on a user selected criteria ([0029] a patient may select a particular posture state to occupy during a recharge session if that posture state is associated with a desired level of recharge coupling efficiency. By selecting a posture state that provides desirable recharge coupling efficiency, the patient may be able to reduce the required recharge time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Olson to wherein the threshold power transfer efficiency is further based on a user selected criteria so that the user can control and reduce the charging time.
As to Claim 21. Olson in view of Skelton teaches the system of claim 1,
Olson in view of Skelton does not teach wherein the indication of power transfer comprises a relative location between the transmit antenna and the power receiving device corresponding to the power transfer above the threshold power transfer efficiency, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive one or more subsequent power transfer measurements; determine, based on the one or more subsequent power transfer measurements, the power transfer to the power receiving device; compare the power transfer to the threshold power transfer efficiency; and determine, based on the comparison, the relative location.
Takahashi teaches wherein the indication of power transfer comprises a relative location between the transmit antenna and the power receiving device corresponding to the power transfer above the threshold power transfer efficiency, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive one or more subsequent power transfer measurements; determine, based on the one or more subsequent power transfer measurements, the power transfer to the power receiving device; compare the power transfer to the threshold power transfer efficiency; and determine, based on the comparison, the relative location ([0067][0080] and Fig. 7 In the case where the receiving efficiency is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the receiving efficiency calculation unit 8124 determines that the power receiving apparatus 30 is not within the area 703 for transmission at the appropriate efficiency indicated in FIG. 7, and displays, in the display unit 27, a recommendation for moving the power receiving apparatus into a proper position (S1115). [0043] CPU 212 calculates the receiving efficiency by comparing the received power amount with the transmitted power).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Olson to wherein the indication of power transfer comprises a relative location between the transmit antenna and the power receiving device corresponding to the power transfer above the threshold power transfer efficiency, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive one or more subsequent power transfer measurements; determine, based on the one or more subsequent power transfer measurements, the power transfer to the power receiving device; compare the power transfer to the threshold power transfer efficiency; and determine, based on the comparison, the relative location in order to increase transmission efficiency ([0067][0080]), thereby reducing the amount of power transmitted.
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 20060247737) in view of Skelton (US 20120197322) in view of Takahashi (US 20160087448) in view of Borke (US 20120133213).
As to claim 13, Olson in view of Skelton in view of Takahashi teaches the system of claim 12.
Olson in view of Skelton in view of Takahashi does not disclose/teach wherein the user selected criteria comprise criteria selected from at least one category, wherein the at least one category comprises: “consistent recharge time,” “size of power coupling zone,” or “optimized sweet spot and consistency.”
Borke teaches wherein the user selected criteria comprise criteria selected from at least one category, wherein the at least one category comprises: “size of power coupling zone” ([0072] and Fig. 6 displaying the field strength vector on the user interface screen 310 allows the user to select a location where the field strength is best aligned with the dispenser antenna, or provides the user with information on how to best align an externally mounted power receiving antenna with the electromagnetic field in a given location).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the user selected criteria of Olson in view of Skelton in view of Takahashi to comprise criteria selected from at least one category, wherein the at least one category comprises: “size of power coupling zone” so that the user can control and choose a preferred a charging time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859