DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/16/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, 15, 16, 20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagatomo WO2022/124409.
Nagatomo discloses an elastic wave device comprising a piezoelectric layer 2; electrodes having a first surface facing the piezoelectric layer and separated from the piezoelectric layer by a distance; the electrode comprising a first comb shaped structure comprising a first busbar and a first set of fingers extending from the first busbar and a second comb shaped structure comprising a second busbar and a second set of fingers extending from the second busbar and first gap 10 dielectric13 disposed on at least one other surface of the electrode fingers and configured to extend past a plane defined by the first surface of the electrode fingers and toward the piezoelectric layer to define a cavity between the first surface of the electrode fingers and the piezoelectric layer, the cavity at least partially filled with a gas , wherein the cavity is present between the piezoelectric layer and multiple fingers of the first set of finger and the second set of fingers and wherein the widths of portion of the cavity that are aligned with the respective finger of the electrode are equal or great that individual widths of the respective fingers.
With regards to claim 2, the first gap is configured to cause at least a portion of the electrode finger to be suspended apart from the piezoelectric layer by the distance.
With regards to claim 3, the first gap adheres to at least one other surface of the electrodes.
With regards to claim 4, portions of the first gap extend past the plane through different gaps in the electrodes.
With regards to claim 5, the electrodes comprise multiple gaps; and the first gap is present within the multiple gaps and abuts the piezoelectric layer.
With regards to claim 6, the widths of the respective portion of the cavity are approximately equal to the individual widths of the respective fingers.
Nagatomo states “In the excitation region C, it is more preferable that the plurality of first electrode fingers 3 and the plurality of second electrode fingers 3 are all provided on the first main surface 2a of the piezoelectric layer 2 via the first gap 10. That is, it is more preferable that the regions where the electrode fingers 3 and 4 and the excitation region C overlap with each other in a plan view in the Z direction all overlap with the first void 10. By providing the first gap 10 in this way, unnecessary waves can be reduced.”
With regards to claim 7, the gas comprises air.
With regards to claim 12, the cavity extends along lengths of the fingers.
With regards to claim 15, a height of the cavity is between approximately one nanometer and fifty nanometers.
Nagatomo states that the height of the first void 10, that is, the length of the first void 10 in the Z direction is hv1, hv1 is preferably 0.1 nm or more and 100 nm or less, preferably 1 nm or more and 20 nm or less.
With regards to claim 16, the piezoelectric layer of the surface acoustic device inherently excites a shear mode. (figure 3b and 4)
With regards to claim 20, the elastic wave devices multiple cascaded resonators; and a resonator of the multiple cascaded resonators comprises the piezoelectric layer and the dielectric.
With regards to claim 22, the elastic wave device is capable of functioning as a filter and is comprised in piezoelectric film having a thickness of 400 nm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagatomo WO 2022/124409 in view of Goto JP2018074575.
Nagatomo disclose an elastic wave device comprising a piezoelectric layer 2; electrodes having a first surface facing the piezoelectric layer and separated from the piezoelectric layer by a distance; the electrode structure comprising an interdigital transducer configured to excite a surface acoustic wave within the piezoelectric layer; the electrode comprising a first comb shaped structure comprising a first busbar and a first set of fingers extending from the first busbar and a second comb shaped structure comprising a second busbar and a second set of fingers extending from the second busbar and first gap 10 dielectric13 disposed on at least one other surface of the electrode fingers and configured to extend past a plane defined by the first surface of the electrode fingers and toward the piezoelectric layer to define a cavity between the first surface of the electrode fingers and the piezoelectric layer, the cavity at least partially filled with a gas , wherein the cavity is present between the piezoelectric layer and multiple fingers of the first set of finger and the second set of fingers and wherein the widths of portion of the cavity that are aligned with the respective finger of the electrode are equal or great that individual widths of the respective fingers.
Thus, Nagatomo is shown to teach all the limitation of the claim with the exception of the substrate comprising a plurality of non-conductive layers comprising a support layer and a temperature compensation layer and the piezoelectric layer being disposed on and being in physical contact with the substrate, the temperature compensation layer disposed between the support layer and the piezoelectric layer
Goto et al discloses in figure 21 is a cross-sectional view of an acoustic wave device 20. The acoustic wave device 20 includes a piezoelectric layer 12, an IDT electrode 14, a high-speed layer 16, and a temperature compensation layer 22. The acoustic wave device 20 is the same as the acoustic wave device 10 of FIG. 1 except that the temperature compensation layer 22 is disposed between the piezoelectric layer 12 and the high-speed layer 16. As illustrated, the temperature compensation layer 22 has a first side in physical contact with the piezoelectric layer 12 and a second side in physical contact with the high speed layer 16. The temperature compensation layer 22 can improve the TCF of the acoustic wave device 20 as compared with the acoustic wave device 10. The temperature compensation layer 22 can bring the TFC of the acoustic wave device 20 closer to zero than the TCF of a similar acoustic wave device that does not include the temperature compensation layer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide the substrate of Nagatomo with a temperature compensation layer between the piezoelectric layer and the support layer as taught by Goto et al.
The motivation for this modification would have been to provide means to control frequency temperature coefficient (TCF).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25 and 28-35 are allowed.
Claims 9-11, 13, 14, 17-19, 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With regards to claims 9-11 and 28-35, the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly teach the specific circuit configuration with emphasis on the dielectric comprising a cap disposed across the second surface of the multiple fingers; and spacers disposed between the piezoelectric layer and the cap through gaps present between the multiple fingers.
With regards to claims 17-19, the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly teach the specific circuit configuration with emphasis on a first dielectric layer that is disposed between the dielectric and the electrode structure, disposed between the dielectric and the piezoelectric layer, and disposed between the dielectric and the cavity; a second dielectric layer that is disposed between the first surface of the electrode structure and the cavity; or a third dielectric layer that is disposed between the piezoelectric layer and the cavity and disposed between the piezoelectric layer and the dielectric.
With regards to claims 17-19, the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly teach the specific method with emphasis on bonding the first wafer to the second wafer to form the cavity between the portion of the first surface of the electrode structure and the piezoelectric layer.
With regards to claims 17-19, the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly teach the specific circuit configuration with emphasis on
September 15, 2026
/K.E.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843