Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 06/03/2026, with respect to rejections under 112(a) and 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(a) and 112(b) rejections of the claims have been withdrawn.
Examiner notes for clarity of record, that regarding applicants’ response to the 112(a) rejection of claim 21 and 24. Applicant argues that figure 29 shows a second base. Examiner notes that this seems to be an embodiment with a plurality of gripping member (G1 and G2) which each have their own carriage (C1 and C2). Fig 10a shows a cross section of a gripping member G, with a single base 70 which sits on the carriage (C). As such Applicant seems to have support for a secondary gripping member which has its own secondary carriage and base. But does not have support for a single gripping member having a plurality of bases which was what was required by claims 21 and 24 prior to applicants’ amendment, as the claims only required a singular carriage or a single plurality of gripping members.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 05/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that claim 7 has been amended as suggested, but does not appear to be amended in the filled claim amendments, as such this objection is sustained.
Applicant then argues that the disclosure of vertical holding, rotation and movement does not disclose moving a plate to a position out of interference with the grinding tools of a stationary machining unit after processing of a first lateral edge of the plate, rotating the plate around a vertical axis, moving the plate longitudinally parallel to the longitudinal conveying direction and returning the plate to the first end such that a second edge of the plate is located to be processed by the grinding tools of a stationary machining unit in contrast to amended claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees, the technical field section of Bando, as cited in the office action discloses “Furthermore, the present invention provides an improved glass plate processing method and processing apparatus that holds a square glass plate by suction, rotates and stops by 90 °, linearly moves (horizontal movement), and sequentially processes four sides.” Which describes processing an edge, rotating the plate, moving in a longitudinal direction parallel to the longitudinal conveying direction, and repeating the processing for each side. As such one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of invention would find it obvious to modify the FOR1 in such a way in order to process all 4 sides of the workpiece. As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive.
In response to applicant's specific argument that lateral movement would not be possible, due to grinding devices on both sides, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The combined teachings of FOR1 in view of Bando suggest a grinding machine that operates such that the plate is moved horizontally to a position out of interference with the grinding tools of the stationary machining unit, rotated around said vertical axis, moved longitudinally parallel to the longitudinally conveying direction and returned to the first end with respect to the stationary machining unit, such that a second lateral edge of the plate is located at the first end to be processed by said grinding tools of the stationary machining unit. While Bando discloses doing this by moving the plate in the lateral direction, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this is not the only way to move a plate out of interference with the grinding wheel, for example, extending the track on which the carriage moves past the grinding wheels, or rotating the glass plate at a position between sets of grinding wheels would both allow for FOR1 in view of Bando to operate as described.
Applicant then argues that there is no disclosure or reason to arrive at a first gripping member of a group of plate gripping members being received on a slide slidably mounted on, and horizontally slidable relative to, a base rotatably mounted to a carriage where the base is rotatable around a vertical axis to allow a rotation of the plate about the vertical axis when the first gripping member engages the plate, with the slider movable relatively to the vertical axis. To which Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Bruce does disclose a slide (34 and 36) slidably mounted on and horizontally slidable relative to a base (20 and 30) rotatably mounted to a carriage (rotatably mounted to 16) wherein the base is rotatable around a vertical axis (around 16) to allow a rotation of the plate (14) about the vertical axis (16) when the first gripping member engages the plate, the slider movable relative to the vertical axis (34 and 36 are move horizontally towards and away from the axis 16, and are also moved circumferentially about the vertical axis as the base 20/30 moves). As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive.
Applicants remaining arguments are not found persuasive for the above reasons.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a group of plate gripping members in claim 1, a plate positioning system in claim 9, an abutment element in claim 10, abutment members and auxiliary units in claim 15
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “the slider movable radially relative to the vertical axis; and” Should be “the slide movable radially relative to the vertical axis; and”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: “Wherein the the group of plate gripping members, individually or in groups, in positions that are adjustable relative to the base in a horizontal direction by means of electronically-controlled actuator devices.” Should be “Wherein the group of plate gripping members, individually or in groups, are in positions that are adjustable relative to the base in a horizontal direction by means of electronically-controlled actuator devices.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 objected to because of the following informalities: “on a first base” Should be “on a base”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 12, 14-16, 18-20, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 (JP2006159377A), Bruce and (US 20080011918 A1) Bando (WO 2011121895 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, FOR1 teaches A machine for processing lateral edges of glass plates, plates of stone material or plates of synthetic material, the machine comprising:
a stationary support structure (1),
a group of plate gripping members (described in applicants spec as suction cups, clamp devices or equivalents thereof) (Suction portions 28 on suction plate 24), configured to hold a plate in a horizontal position during a plate processing (See Para [0022] “and a suction portion 28 which consists of a recess in the upper surface of the plate-shaped main body 25 and sucks the underside 26 of the glass plate 2 supported by the support surface 27.”),
wherein the group of plate gripping members is carried by a carriage (plate body 24) movable at least in a plate conveying longitudinal direction (See Para [0028] “The moving mechanism 51 includes a moving device 55 that moves the suction and hold plate 22 in the reciprocating direction X, and a moving device 56 that is arranged opposite the moving device 55 in the direction Y and moves the suction and hold plate 24 in the reciprocating direction X.”),
a stationary machining unit (13) for machining a lateral edge of the plate, the unit being carried by said stationary supporting structure (1) and including a series of grinding tools aligned along the conveying longitudinal direction (See 13, which includes 113 and 114 which have grinding surfaces 111 and 112 as visible in figures 1 and 2 of FOR1, Fig. 1 also shows the series of grinding units aligned along the longitudinal direction), in such a way as to engage in succession a first lateral edge of a plate that advances along said conveying longitudinal direction (See figure 1 showing glass pane 3 on carriage 24 moving in the x direction to contact grinding surfaces 112 and 111),
wherein with said carriage carrying the group of plate gripping members, an electronically-controlled actuator device (55, 56, 57 and 58) is associated, configured to move the carriage from a first end to a second end along said conveying longitudinal direction (See Para [0028] cited above) to allow the first lateral edge to be processed by the grinding tool (See Para [0060] “Next, the suction holding plates 22 and 24 holding and sucking the glass plate 2 are moved forward toward the forward end 6 in the common movement path 5 by the moving mechanism 51, and the edges 21 and 23 of the glass plate 2 to be moved forward are moved. Are ground by the grinding devices 101 and 102, and after the grinding, the moving speed of the suction holding unit 3 is reduced by the speed control means, and the corners 104 and 105 of the glass plate 2 are chamfered by the cornering device 103, and the corners are chamfered.”),
But does not explicitly teach, the group of plate gripping members rotatably mounted on the carriage, the group of plate gripping members horizontally adjustable in position with respect to the carriage, and relative to each other by means of electronically-controlled actuator devices, and electronic controller configured to adjust the position of the group of gripping members relative to each other and to the carriage before processing the plate, as a function of the size and/or shape of the plate, so as to arrange the group of gripping members to engage the plate so as to ensure that the plate is firmly locked in a horizontal position on the carriage during processing of the first lateral edge of plate by the grinding tools;
wherein a first gripping member of group of plate gripping members is received on a slide slidably mounted on, and horizontally slidable relative to, a base rotatably mounted to the carriage the base rotatable around a vertical axis to allow rotation of the plate about the vertical axis when the first gripping member engages the plate, the slider movable radially relative to the vertical axis; and
the first gripping member is configured to be oriented around this vertical axis by an electronically-controlled actuator device, in such a way that after processing of the first lateral edge of the plate, the plate is moved horizontally to a position out of interference with the grinding tools of the stationary machining unit, rotated around said vertical axis, moved longitudinally parallel to the longitudinally conveying direction and returned to the first end with respect to the stationary machining unit, such that a second lateral edge of the plate is located at the first end to be processed by said grinding tools of the stationary machining unit, in such a way that after processing of a lateral edge of a plate, the plate is moved to a position out of interference with the grinding tools of the stationary machining unit, rotated around said vertical axis, moved longitudinally parallel to the longitudinal conveying direction and returned to the first end with respect to the stationary machining unit, such that a second lateral edge of the plate is located at the first end to be processed by said grinding tools of the stationary machining unit.
However, Bruce discloses a similar glass handling apparatus, the group of plate gripping members (18a, 18b, 18c, 18d) rotatably mounted on the carriage (16), the group of plate gripping members horizontally adjustable in position with respect to the carriage (plate gripping members are capable of moving horizontally in both an x (50 and 52 seen in Fig. 2) and y direction (58 seen in Fig. 3), and relative to each other configured to adjust the position of the group of gripping members relative to each other and to the carriage before processing the plate (Each plate gripping member is adjustable horizontally relative to the others and the carriage via movement in the directions 50/52 or 58), as a function of the size and/or shape of the plate, so as to arrange the group of gripping members to engage the plate so as to ensure that the plate is firmly locked in a horizontal position on the carriage during processing of the first lateral edge of plate by the grinding tools (Gripping members are capable of doing so, See Para [0012] “In the illustrated embodiment, the at least one suction cup 18 is a plurality of suction cups, such as four suction cups 18a,18b,18c,18d, movably disposed in spaced relation on a frame 20.” Of Bruce describing the suction cups movably disposed relative to each other);
wherein a first gripping member (18a) of group of plate gripping members (18a, 18b, 18c, 18d) is received on a slide (34) slidably mounted on and horizontally slidable relative to, a base (20) rotatably mounted to the carriage (16), the base rotatable around a vertical axis to allow rotation of the plate about the vertical axis when the first gripping member engages the plate (See Para [0019] “As illustrated, the frame 20, and thus the device 12, are rotatably (and removably) mountable on the stand 16, which can balance the device 12 and vehicle glass 14 held by the device 12 on a support surface 70.”), the slider movable radially relative to the vertical axis (20 is rotatable about the stand 16, and slide 34 is mounted on 20, Additionally See Para [0019] “As illustrated, the frame 20, and thus the device 12, are rotatably (and removably) mountable on the stand 16, which can balance the device 12 and vehicle glass 14 held by the device 12 on a support surface 70.”), and
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the plate gripping members of FOR1 to be adjustable relative to each other and the carriage as doing so would allow for glass sheets of different sizes to be easily and securely supported during a processing operation, increasing the versatility of the device by allowing it to more easily work on different sized work pieces.
It would be further obvious to modify the gripping members to be adjustable via an electronically controller actuator device controlled by the electronic controller of FOR1 as doing so would be a matter of automating a manual activity, and it has been held that providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity (in this case, adjusting the location of the gripping members relative to each other and the carriage) is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, See MPEP 2144.04 III.
But does not disclose and the first gripping member is configured to be oriented around this vertical axis by an electronically-controlled actuator device, in such a way that after processing of the first lateral edge of the plate, the plate is moved horizontally to a position out of interference with the grinding tools of the stationary machining unit, rotated around said vertical axis, moved longitudinally parallel to the longitudinally conveying direction and returned to the first end with respect to the stationary machining unit, such that a second lateral edge of the plate is located at the first end to be processed by said grinding tools of the stationary machining unit, in such a way that after processing of a lateral edge of a plate, the plate is moved to a position out of interference with the grinding tools of the stationary machining unit, rotated around said vertical axis, moved longitudinally parallel to the longitudinal conveying direction and returned to the first end with respect to the stationary machining unit, such that a second lateral edge of the plate is located at the first end to be processed by said grinding tools of the stationary machining unit.
However, Bando discloses a similar glass processing device that discloses processing In such a way that after processing of a lateral edge of a plate, the plate is moved to a position out of interference with the grinding tools of the stationary machining unit, rotated around said vertical axis, moved longitudinally parallel to the longitudinal conveying direction and returned to the first end with respect to the stationary machining unit, such that a second lateral edge of the plate is located at the first end to be processed by said grinding tools of the stationary machining unit (See Last paragraph under “TECHNICAL-FIELD” section “Furthermore, the present invention provides an improved glass plate processing method and processing apparatus that holds a square glass plate by suction, rotates and stops by 90 °, linearly moves (horizontal movement), and sequentially processes four sides.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the carriage of FOR1 as modified to rotate and return the work piece for passes on different edges as doing so would allow for one to automatically process all edges of a work piece without interference or input from the operator.
Regarding Claim 3, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches wherein the carriage (24 of FOR1) carrying the group of plate gripping members can also be moved by an electronically-controlled actuator (16 of Bando) device in a transverse horizontal direction, orthogonal to said conveying longitudinal direction (See Fig. 4 of Bando showing motor 16 conveying the plate in a transverse horizontal direction, orthogonal to motor 6 and 8), so that after processing of a lateral edge of the plate, the plate can be moved transversely with respect to the conveying longitudinal direction to a position in which the plate can be rotated around said vertical axis without interfering with said stationary machining unit, after which the plate can be brough back to said starting position to start processing of another edge of the plate (See Citation of Bando in the rejection of claim 1 and See Fig. 3 of Bando showing the X direction moving the workpiece away from stationary machining unit 26).
Regarding Claim 4, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and in addition teaches wherein said carriage (24 of FOR1) carrying the unit of plate gripping members (See Fig. 3 of Bruce) is moveable in the conveying longitudinal direction (see FOR1 carriage 25, moving along X direction) along a longitudinal beam (FOR1 63), which has opposite ends slidably mounted on the stationary structure of the machine in said transverse direction (See Fig. 1 of FOR1), orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of the beam (beam 63 is movable via 163 in the Y direction seen in Fig.2, see figure 3 and FOR1 Para [0056] “The gap adjustment means 14 comprises a fixed support base 161 that fixedly supports the grinding wheel 111 and the corner removing wheel 131, a movable support base 162 that supports the grinding wheel 112 and the corner removing wheel 132 and is movable in direction Y relative to the fixed support base 161, and a moving mechanism 163 that moves the movable support base 162 in direction Y relative to the fixed support base 161.”).
Regarding Claim 5, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches
Wherein a conveyor device (rail 63) is associated with said stationary machining unit (112 and 113) to advance a plate (2) along said conveying longitudinal direction (rail 63), so that a lateral edge of the plate engages the grinding tools of said stationary machining unit in succession (See figure 1 where edges of plate are in line with grinding units 112 and 113), said device for actuating the longitudinal movement (56) of the carriage carrying the group of plate gripping members being controlled in such a way as to move the group of plate gripping members in synchronism with said conveyor device (moving device 56 moves the carriage which the gripping members are attached to order to move the plate towards the grinding devices).
Regarding Claim 7, FOR1 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches wherein the group of plate gripping members, individually or in groups, in positions that are adjustable relative to the base in horizontal direction by means of electronically-controlled actuator devices (For1 as modified by Bruce discloses a carriage (24 of FOR1) carrying a group of plate gripping members 18a-18d of Bruce that are adjustable in a horizontal direction (50, 52 and 58) by means of an electronically-controlled actuator (See Rejection of claim 1 above)).
Regarding Claim 9, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches further comprising a plate positioning system (described as an abutment element and sidewalls or equivalents thereof), for locating the plate in position with respect to the stationary machining unit along the longitudinal direction and along a transverse direction relative to the longitudinal direction, at the beginning of a machining cycle, before locking the plate on said group of gripping members, the group of gripping members then locating the plate in position with respect to the vertical direction (See FOR1 Para [0059] “When processing a glass plate 2 using the above-mentioned glass plate processing apparatus 1, first, the suction holding plates 22 and 24 located at the return end 8 are raised by the lifting mechanism 81, the glass plate 2 is placed on the raised suction holding plates 22 and 24, and the underside 26 of the placed glass plate 2 is sucked by the suction section 28, thereby suction-holding the glass plate 2 by the suction holding section 3.” Suction holding section 3 is equivalent to a plate positioning system and is capable of accomplishing the described function), and
In that after processing of a first lateral edge of the plate, the group of gripping members is always kept engaged on the plate until processing of all the lateral edges of the plate that are to be machined has been completed, so that the operation for locating the plate in position does not have to be repeated before processing another lateral edge of the plate (See FOR1 Para [0060] “After grinding, the moving speed of the suction hold section 3 is decelerated by the speed control means, and the corners 104 and 105 of the glass plate 2 are removed by the corner removal device 103. When the suction hold plates 22 and 24 which hold the glass plate 2 by suction and hold it after the corner removal reach the forward end 6 synchronously, the suction hold of the glass plate 2 by the suction hold plates 22 and 24 is released, and the processed glass plate 2 is removed from above the suction hold plates 22 and 24.”).
Regarding Claim 12, FOR 1 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches wherein the first gripping member (18a of Bruce) is connected to the slide (34 of Bruce), and further comprising a second gripping member (18c) is connected to a second slide (36 of Bruce) slidably mounted on the base (20 and 30 of Bruce) rotatably mounted to the carriage (16 of Bruce).
Regarding Claim 14, FOR1 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches further comprising two or more carriages carrying the respective units of gripping members to grip respective plates to be machined (See Figure 1 showing multiple carriages 25), each carriage being displaceable both in said conveying longitudinal direction (all carriages are located on a rails 63 for moving in the X direction shown in Fig. 1) and in said transverse direction orthogonal to the conveying longitudinal direction (See figure 2, Carriages can move in Z direction via lifting lowering device 85 and piston rod 91), by means of respective electronically-controlled actuator devices (See FOR1 Para [0040] “The lifting device 85 has a piston rod 91 extending in direction Z whose tip is attached to the lower end of the suction hold plate 22, and is equipped with an air cylinder device 92 fixed to the movable plate 65 of the moving device 55, and a pair of guide rails 94 fixed to the movable plate 65 of the moving device 55 and extending in direction Z which are engaged with the suction hold plate 22 via a slider 93.”).
Regarding Claim 15, FOR1 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches further comprising one or more of the following further characteristics:
-the group of gripping members having shapes selected according to the shape and size of the plate to be machined and/or have different sizes or shapes from each other,
-The carriage carrying the group of gripping members equipped with abutment members that are automatically activated on the side(s) opposite to the processing side to counteract forces exerted by the tools during the processing,
-one of the group of gripping members equipped with abutment members (Described in applicants’ specification as members that contact workpiece for positioning) for automatically positioning and centering plates of relatively reduced dimensions
-downstream and/or upstream of the stationary machining unit auxiliary units positioned to perform a cutting operation, at different angles, on one or more sides of the plate (described in applicants specification as a grinding wheel or tools capable of removing coating, removing mesh, cleaning or bush hammering or equivalents thereof) (see Para FOR 1 [0048] “The corner removing device 103 includes corner removing wheels 131 and 132 as a pair of corner removing tools that are disposed with the suction holding units 3 and 4 therebetween in the direction Y and that remove the corners while contacting the corners 104 and 105 of the glass sheet 2, electric motors 133 and 134 that rotate the corner removing wheels 131 and 132, approach and retract means 135 that moves the corner removing wheels 131 and 132 toward and away from the corners 104 and 105 of the glass sheet 2, a position fine adjustment mechanism 136 that finely adjusts the position of the corner removing wheel 131 in the direction Z, and a position fine adjustment mechanism 137 that finely adjusts the position of the corner removing wheel 132 in the direction Z”),
-downstream and/or upstream of the stationary machining unit, auxiliary units positioned for surface machining of the plate (described in applicants’ specification as a grinding wheel or tools capable of removing coating, removing mesh, cleaning or bush hammering or equivalents thereof).
Regarding Claim 16, FOR1 teaches a method for processing lateral edges of glass plates, plates of stone material or plates of synthetic material, comprising:
- a group of plate gripping members (28), holding a plate in a horizontal position (See Figure 1 of FOR1 showing plate 2 held horizontally),
-advancing said group of plate gripping members from a first end to a second end along a conveying longitudinal direction of the plate, to process a first lateral edge of the plate by causing the first a lateral edge of the plate to engage in succession a series of grinding tools forming part of a stationary machining unit (1) to process the first lateral edge, and aligned in said conveying longitudinal direction of the plate (See 101 and 102 aligned in x direction in Fig. 1 of FOR1, See Para [0060] “Next, the suction hold plates 22 and 24 which hold the glass plate 2 by suction are moved forward toward the forward end 6 on the shared moving path 5 by the moving mechanism 51, and the edges 21 and 23 of the glass plate 2 which are being moved forward are ground by the grinding devices 101 and 102.”),
Carrying said group of plate gripping members by a carriage moveable in said conveying longitudinal direction, and adjusting the group of gripping members in position, by electronically-controlled actuator devices (See Para [0060] cited above), but does not explicitly teach,
the gripping members are adjustable in position with respect to the carriage and relative to each other,
adjusting a first gripping member and a second gripping member of said group of plate gripping members horizontally and vertically relative to each other in position by said electronically-controlled actuator devices as a function of a size and/or shape of the plate, so as to arrange the group of gripping members in such positions as to ensure that the plate is firmly locked in a horizontal position on the carriage during the processing of the first lateral edge of the plate by the grinding tool;
rotating the first gripping member and the second gripping member relative to the carriage about a vertical axis; the adjusting the first gripping member and the second gripping member horizontally comprising moving the first gripping member and the second gripping member radially relative to the vertical axis;
after the processing of the first a lateral edge by the grinding tools, moving the plate horizontally to a position out of interference with the grinding tools of the stationary machining unit, rotating the plate around the vertical axis, moving the plate longitudinally parallel to the longitudinal conveying direction and returning the plate to the first end such that a second edge of the plate is located to be processed by said grinding tools of the stationary machining unit.
However, Bruce discloses a similar holding device wherein the gripping members (18a, 18b, 18c, 18d) are adjustable in position with respect to the carriage (16) and relative to each other,
adjusting a first gripping member (18a) and a second gripping member (18c) of said group of plate gripping members horizontally (direction 50 and 52) and vertically (via angular displacement in direction 56, See Fig. 2) relative to each other in position, so as to arrange the group of gripping members in such positions as to ensure that the plate is firmly locked in a horizontal position on the carriage (See Para [0003] “According to one embodiment, a vacuum-operated vehicle glass handling system is provided. More particularly, in accordance with this embodiment, the vacuum-operated vehicle glass handling system includes a plurality of suction cups movably disposed on a frame. A powered vacuum source is fluidly connected to the plurality of suction cups for providing a vacuum at each of the plurality of suction cups.”)
rotating the first gripping member and the second gripping member relative to the carriage about a vertical axis (gripping members are on frame 20, see Para [0019] “As illustrated, the frame 20, and thus the device 12, are rotatably (and removably) mountable on the stand 16, which can balance the device 12 and vehicle glass 14 held by the device 12 on a support surface 70.”); the adjusting the first gripping member and the second gripping member horizontally comprising moving the first gripping member and the second gripping member radially relative to the vertical axis (20 is rotatable about the stand 16, and slide 34 is mounted on 20, Additionally See Para [0019] “As illustrated, the frame 20, and thus the device 12, are rotatably (and removably) mountable on the stand 16, which can balance the device 12 and vehicle glass 14 held by the device 12 on a support surface 70.”);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the plate gripping members of FOR1 to be adjustable relative to each other and the carriage as doing so would allow for glass sheets of different sizes to be easily and securely supported during a processing operation, increasing the versatility of the device by allowing it to more easily work on different sized work pieces.
It would be further obvious to modify the gripping members to be adjustable via an electronically controller actuator device controlled by the electronic controller of FOR1 as doing so would be a matter of automating a manual activity, and it has been held that providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity (in this case, adjusting the location of the gripping members relative to each other and the carriage) is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, See MPEP 2144.04 III.
Additionally, Bando discloses a similar glass processing device that discloses processing In such a way that after processing of a lateral edge of a plate, the plate is moved to a position out of interference with the grinding tools of the stationary machining unit, rotated around said vertical axis, moved longitudinally parallel to the longitudinal conveying direction and returned to the first end with respect to the stationary machining unit, such that a second lateral edge of the plate is located at the first end to be processed by said grinding tools of the stationary machining unit (See Last paragraph under “TECHNICAL-FIELD” section “Furthermore, the present invention provides an improved glass plate processing method and processing apparatus that holds a square glass plate by suction, rotates and stops by 90 °, linearly moves (horizontal movement), and sequentially processes four sides.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the carriage of FOR1 as modified to rotate and return the work piece for passes on different edges as doing so would allow for one to automatically process all edges of a work piece without interference or input from the operator.
Regarding Claim 18, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and in addition teaches wherein the carriage (24 of FOR1) carrying the group of plate gripping members (18a-18d of Bruce) is moved by an electronically-controlled actuator device (16 of Bando) in a horizontal transversal direction, orthogonal to said conveying direction and wherein after processing a lateral edge of the plate (See Fig. 4 of Bando showing motor 16 conveying the plate in a transverse horizontal direction, orthogonal to motor 6 and 8), the plate is displaced in the transverse direction orthogonal to the conveying longitudinal direction to a position wherein it is rotated around said vertical axis without interfering with a stationary unit of tools, after which the plate is brought back to said starting position to start the processing of another edge of the plate (See Citation of Bando in the rejection of claim 16 and See Fig. 3 of Bando showing the X direction moving the workpiece away from stationary machining unit 26).
Regarding Claim 19, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 16, and in addition teaches a conveyor device (63) is associated with the stationary machining unit (1), said conveyor device advances a plate (2) along the plate conveying longitudinal direction (See x arrow in Fig. 1) in such a way that a lateral edge of the plate engages in succession the grinding tools of said stationary machining unit, while the device for actuating the movement of the group of plate gripping members is controlled in such a way as to move the group of gripping members in synchronism with said conveyor device (moving device 56 moves the carriage which the gripping members are attached to order to move the plate towards the grinding devices) and (See Para [0060] of FOR1 “Next, the suction hold plates 22 and 24 which hold the glass plate 2 by suction are moved forward toward the forward end 6 on the shared moving path 5 by the moving mechanism 51, and the edges 21 and 23 of the glass plate 2 which are being moved forward are ground by the grinding devices 101 and 102.”).
Regarding Claim 20, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and in addition teaches wherein the beginning of a machining cycle of a plate the plate is located in position relative to the stationary machining unit along the longitudinal direction and along the transversal direction, after which the plate is gripped by said group of plate gripping members, which located the plate in position with respect to a vertical direction (See FOR1 Para [0059] “When processing a glass plate 2 using the above-mentioned glass plate processing apparatus 1, first, the suction holding plates 22 and 24 located at the return end 8 are raised by the lifting mechanism 81, the glass plate 2 is placed on the raised suction holding plates 22 and 24, and the underside 26 of the placed glass plate 2 is sucked by the suction section 28, thereby suction-holding the glass plate 2 by the suction holding section 3.”), and
in that the plate, after processing of a first lateral edge of the plate, always remains engaged by said group of gripping members until the processing of all the lateral edges of the plate that are to be machined is completed so that the operation for locating the plate in position does not have to be repeated before processing another lateral edge of the plate (See FOR1 Para [0060] “After grinding, the moving speed of the suction hold section 3 is decelerated by the speed control means, and the corners 104 and 105 of the glass plate 2 are removed by the corner removal device 103. When the suction hold plates 22 and 24 which hold the glass plate 2 by suction and hold it after the corner removal reach the forward end 6 synchronously, the suction hold of the glass plate 2 by the suction hold plates 22 and 24 is released, and the processed glass plate 2 is removed from above the suction hold plates 22 and 24.”).
Regarding Claim 23, FOR1 as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 12 and in addition discloses wherein the first gripping member and the second gripping member are vertically displaceable relative to each other (See Bruce Para [0016] “As mentioned briefly above, the suction cup arms 34,36 are slidably movable along a longitudinal length of the main arm 30 (as indicated by arrows 50,52) and angularly movable relative to the main arm (as indicated by arrows 54,56).” And further see Fig. 2 showing the gripping members rotatable resulting in a vertical displacement relative to each other).
Regarding Claim 24, FOR1 as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 16 and in addition discloses wherein the adjusting the first gripping member (18a of Bruce) and the second gripping member (18c of Bruce) horizontally comprises the first gripping member sliding in a first direction (58) on a first slide (34) on a base (20 and 30 of Bruce) rotatably mounted to the carriage and the second gripping member sliding in a second direction on a second slide (36) on the base (20 and 30of Bruce) rotatably mounted to the carriage (See Para [0016] of Bruce “As mentioned briefly above, the suction cup arms 34,36 are slidably movable along a longitudinal length of the main arm 30 (as indicated by arrows 50,52) and angularly movable relative to the main arm (as indicated by arrows 54,56).).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 (JP2006159377A) Bruce and (US 20080011918 A1) Bando (WO 2011121895 A1) as modified in claim 1 above, and in further view of Ting (US 20080314089 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 7 but does not explicitly disclose wherein each gripping member of the group of gripping members are movable vertically relative base and relative to each other via a stem connected to each gripping member, the stem movable vertically in a base support connected to the base.
Ting discloses a similar glass gripping device wherein each gripping member (50) of the group of gripping members (See all members 50 in Fig. 1) are moveable vertically relative to the base (10) and relative to each other via a stem (5013) connected to each gripping member, the stem movable vertically in a base support (5015) connected to the base (10, connected via arm 20, See Para [0034] describing adjusting the rod to an appropriate length “The rear nut 5015 is a sidewise U-shaped body made of aluminum alloy, having the inner portion of its hole disposed with female threads 50151 by which the rear nut 5015 can be connected with the rear end of the threaded rod 5013. Thus, by turning the rear nut 5015, the threaded rod 5013 can be adjusted to a proper length tallying with the total thickness of the members fitted on the threaded rod 5013 so as to enable all the members to closely contact with one another and be firmly secured together after the rear nut 5015 is turned tight.” Moving via the stem would also move the gripping members vertically relative to the static base 10).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the gripping members such that wherein each gripping member of the group of gripping members are movable vertically relative to the base and relative to each other via a stem connected to each gripping member, the stem movable vertically in a base support connected to the base as advantageously described by Ting (See Para [0010] “The glass clamping-connecting rod is bored with an adjusting hole at a proper location for fitting the glass clamping-connecting member and adjusting it to a proper position for carrying out glass assembling work. In other words, the adjusting hole of the glass clamping-connecting rod can function to adjust glass locating errors, able to lessen time needed for glass assembling work and save cost in producing different-shaped supporting frames.”).
Claim(s) 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 (JP2006159377A) Bruce and (US 20080011918 A1) Bando (WO 2011121895 A1) as modified in claim 1 and 16 above, and in further view of Ghinamo (EP 1201612 A2).
Regarding Claim 13, FOR1 teaches all the limitations of claim 12 and in addition discloses the first slide and second slide are movable radially relative to the vertical axis (20 is rotatable about the stand 16, and slide 34 is mounted on 20, Additionally See Para [0019] “As illustrated, the frame 20, and thus the device 12, are rotatably (and removably) mountable on the stand 16, which can balance the device 12 and vehicle glass 14 held by the device 12 on a support surface 70.”) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first slide and the second slide are slidably mounted along horizontal direction orthogonal to each other and movable radially relative to the vertical axis to allow the controller to adjust the position of the first gripping member and the second gripping member.
However, Ghinamo discloses a similar suction cup glass handling apparatus herein the first slide and the second slide (co-planar arms 11) are slidably mounted along horizontal direction orthogonal (See directional arrows 13a and 14a) to each other to allow the controller to adjust the position of the first gripping member and the second gripping member (See Para [0010] “System 1 comprises an adjustable structure 9, in turn comprising a cross member 10 connected integrally to movable member 6; and two parallel, coplanar arms 11, each of which projects from a portion of cross member 10 and is connected to cross member 10 by two known guide-slide assemblies 13 and 14 so as to move, with respect to cross member 10, in two perpendicular directions 13a and 14a by virtue of respective electric or pneumatic motors 15 and 16. Each arm 11 is fitted with a row of suction cups 18, which are activated independently of suction cups 18 in the other row, lie in a plane P parallel to sheet 2, and, in use, engage a respective portion of sheet 2 defined by notch line 3.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the slide members of FOR1 as modified as FOR1 already discloses the suction cups 18a-18d are adjustable in the orthogonal direction on the slide, and modifying the slides of FOR1 as modified in light of Ghinamo would allow for easy automatic adjustment of the gripping members in both horizontal directions.
Regarding Claim 21, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and in addition teaches wherein the adjusting the first gripping member (18a of Bruce) and the second gripping member (18c of Bruce) horizontally comprises the first gripping member sliding on a first slide (34) on a first base (20 and 30 of Bruce) rotatably mounted to the carriage and the second gripping member sliding on a second slide (36 of Bruce) on the base (20 and 30 of Bruce) rotatably mounted to the carriage (slide 34 and 36 of Bruce are rotatably mounted to the base 20 and 30 of Bruce, See Bruce Para [0016] “As mentioned briefly above, the suction cup arms 34,36 are slidably movable along a longitudinal length of the main arm 30 (as indicated by arrows 50,52) and angularly movable relative to the main arm (as indicated by arrows 54,56).”), the first gripping member connected to the first slide, the second gripping member connected to the second slide (See Fig. 3), But does not explicitly disclose the first slide and the second slide slidably mounted along horizontal directions orthogonal to each other.
However, Ghinamo discloses a similar glass plate gripping apparatus, wherein the first and second slides (11) are slidably mounted in two horizontal directions (13a and 14a) orthogonal to each other (See Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the slides of FOR1 as modified to be slidably mounted in both horizontal directions as doing so would allow for greater flexibility regarding the specific location of the plate gripping members.
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 (JP2006159377A) Bruce and (US 20080011918 A1) Bando (WO 2011121895 A1) as modified in claim 1 and 16 above, and in further view of Hackert (US 20180118602 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, FOR1 teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and suggests, wherein said plate positioning system comprises an abutment element (Described in applicants’ specification as members that contact workpiece for positioning) (grinding wheels 111 and 112) which can be temporarily positioned in a raised position in which it can be engaged by a front edge of a plate to be machined (Can be raised and lowered in the Z direction via screw knobs 123, See Figure 1 and 2)
But does not explicitly teach, so as to locate the plate in position with respect to the conveying longitudinal direction.
However Hackert does teach a similar glass processing apparatus that does include a plate positioning system (12) which comprises an abutment element (54), which it can be engaged by a front edge of a plate to be machined so as to locate the plate in position with respect to the conveying longitudinal direction (Para [0033] “In the illustrated embodiment, the glass sheet centering station 12 may include a first side position adjustment mechanism 40 located at one side edge 42 of glass sheet 44 and a second side position adjustment mechanism 46 located at an opposite side edge 47 of the glass sheet 44. The first and second side position adjustment mechanisms 40 and 46 include an adjustment belt 48 that is trained about end drive rollers 50 and 52 and a central belt positioning roller 54. The central belt positioning rollers 54 are located inboard toward a centerline of the drive path P from the upstream end drive rollers 20, which creates a tapered region 56 of the first and second side position adjustment regions 40 and 46. The tapered regions 56 decrease the available width of the drive path P, which can adjust the cross-machine location of the glass sheet 44 to a desired location right before the glass sheet 44 is received by a glass holding conveyor belt 60 for laser processing.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or replace the grinder adjustment system of FOR1 to be a temporarily raised abutment positioning unit in order to ensure that the work piece is located in the correct position for processing as mentioned in Para [0033] of Hackert as cited above.
Regarding Claim 11, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and in addition teaches, Wherein the plate positioning system (12 of Hackert) further comprises a side wall (54 of Hackert) for abutment against the plate (Plate 44 of Hackert), which can be moved by an actuator device (belt 48 Hackert) in the transverse direction orthogonal to said conveying longitudinal direction (FOR1 knobs 121 adjust grinders in transverse direction, which are modified to be the abutment system described in Hackert), to transversely push a plate to be machined up to a predetermined transverse position with respect to the grinding tools of said stationary machining unit (See Para [0033] of Hackert cited above).
Conclusion
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723