DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. More specifically, while the Hu reference was previously cited, the reference has now been cited much more extensively to teach large portions of the amended claims, while the Tran and Liu references argued by applicant are no longer used to reject the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 21, 22, 24, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (U.S. Publication 2019/0026870) in view of Divakaran (U.S. Publication 2021/0297498).
As to claim 1, Hu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions thereon that, when executed by at least one processor (p. 5, sections 0049-0053), cause a computing device to perform operations comprising:
receiving a digital image having content to stylize and one or more style parameters for stylizing the digital image, the one or more style parameters including at least one of a style digital image or a style text prompt (fig. 3, elements 322 and 324; the content image is the image to be stylized while the style image is the style parameter);
determining, using a multi-domain style encoder of an artistic image neural network, one or more style encodings for the one or more style parameters within a multi-domain encoding space, wherein the multi-domain style encoder comprises a first image encoder for encoding style digital images (fig. 3, elements 324 and 332; p. 2, section 0028-p. 3, section 0029; p. 3, section 0034; p. 4, section 0041; the style image is fed to an encoder network, a portion of which receives the image and encodes features of the image; the input and processing path taken by the style image through the encoder network would read on a first image encoder; the encoder reads on a multi-domain encoder since it can encode from different domains such as an uploaded image or a preset style);
determining, from the digital image utilizing a second image encoder of the artistic image neural network, parameters for a learnable tensor (fig. 3; fig. 6; p. 3, section 0033-p. 4, section 0039; a portion of the encoder network is used to generate parameters of a content feature vector, which is a type of tensor; the vector/tensor is repeatedly optimized and fed back through a network, reading on a learnable tensor; the input and processing path taken by the content image through the encoder network would read on a second image encoder);
determining updated parameters for the learnable tensor using a plurality of iterations of an optimization loop of the artistic image neural network by, for each iteration of the plurality of iterations (fig. 3; fig. 6; p. 3, section 0033-p. 4, section 0039; the vector/tensor is repeatedly optimized and iteratively looped back through the network):
generating, based on the parameters of the learnable tensor using a decoder of the artistic image neural network, an intermediate artistic digital image (fig. 3, element 326; fig. 6, element 635; p. 3-4, section 0038; based on refined tensor/vector parameters, a tentative/intermediate image is decoded, inherently by some sort of module reading on a decoder);
generating using a third image encoder portion of the artistic image neural network, artistic encodings from the intermediate artistic digital image (fig. 3, elements 325 and 332; p. 3, section 0036; a portion of the encoder network is used to generate encodings for the tentative/intermediate image; the input and processing path taken by the tentative/intermediate image through the encoder network would read on a third image encoder);
determining a loss of the artistic image neural network by comparing the artistic encodings to the one or more style encodings (fig. 6, elements 630, 631, and 632; p. 3, sections 0034-0037; p. 4-5, section 0047; the tentative style feature vector, which is a representation of the initial style encoding, is compared to the refined style feature vector, which is one of the artistic encodings of the intermediate/tentative image, to determine a style loss parameter);
updating the parameters of the learnable tensor using the loss (fig. 6, elements 630, 631, and 632; p. 3, sections 0034-0037; p. 4-5, section 0047; the learnable/optimizable image vector/tensor is refined/updated using the loss),
and generating, utilizing the decoder of the artistic image neural network, an artistic digital image based on the learnable tensor with the updated parameters (fig. 3, element 326; fig. 6, element 635; an updated/refined image is decoded based on the learnable/optimizable image vector/tensor as the output of the system).
Hu does not disclose, but Divakaran discloses that the multi-domain style encoder comprises both a first image encoder for encoding style digital images and a text encoder for encoding style text prompts (fig. 1, elements 120 and 130; fig. 3; p. 3, section 0032; p. 4, section 0042; p. 5, section 0056; p. 6, section 0065; p. 7, sections 0070-0074; using the embedding/encoding modules of fig. 1, vector representations are created/encoded for words/text and images; the text and images can correspond to image styles such as clothing, sports, music, etc.; the text is from a prompt such as a social media entry form). The motivation for this is to map different content modalities into the same embedding space and link the different types of content to a user (p. 1, section 0005; p. 2, section 0030). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu to have a multi-domain style encoder comprise a first image encoder for encoding style digital images and a text encoder for encoding style text prompts in order to map different content modalities into the same embedding space and link the different types of content to a user as taught by Divakaran.
As to claim 3, Hu discloses wherein determining, from the digital image utilizing the second image encoder of the artistic image neural network, the parameters for the learnable tensor comprises generating, utilizing the second image encoder of the artistic image neural network, one or more initialized encodings of the digital image within an encoding space (fig. 3; fig. 6; p. 3, section 0033; using the encoding path taken by the content image, which reads on a second image encoder as noted in the rejection to claim 1, an initial feature vector encoding is first generated; the vector space this exists in would read on an encoding space)
As to claim 21, see the rejection to claim 1. Further, Hu discloses a system comprising a memory component and one or more processing devices coupled to the memory component, the one or more processing devices to perform operations (p. 5, sections 0049-0053).
As to claim 22, see the rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 24, Hu discloses wherein determining the loss by comparing the artistic encodings to the one or more style encodings comprises determining the loss by comparing the artistic encodings to the one or more style encodings utilizing a style loss and a pixel loss corresponding to the digital image (fig. 3; p. 3, sections 0033-p. 4, section 0038; p. 4, section 0043; a style loss, and a content loss with regard to the image pixels, reading on pixel loss, are used in the comparison).
As to claim 29, see the rejection to claim 1.
Claims 2 and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu and Divakaran and further in view of Sun (U.S. Publication 2020/0082610).
As to claim 2, Hu does not disclose, but Sun discloses instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to perform operations comprising modifying the artistic digital image to include one or more art details associated with a physical visual medium (p. 3, section 0033-p. 4, section 0035; a modification of a user painting is performed to simulate a physical medium such as a canvas with particular materials applied, as part of neural network operations) utilizing an artistic superzoom neural network (fig. 4; p. 2, section 0020; p. 7, sections 0066-0067; a “superzoom” network can be any network which increases resolution; resolution increase is performed as part of the neural network operations after a feature map is derived). The motivation for this is to model complex lighting effects accurately (p. 1, section 0003). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu and Divakaran to cause the computing device to perform operations comprising modifying the artistic digital image to include one or more art details associated with a physical visual medium utilizing an artistic superzoom neural network in order to model complex lighting effects accurately as taught by Sun.
As to claim 30, see the rejection to claim 2.
Claims 4, 26, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu and Divakaran, and further in view of Li (U.S. Publication 2018/0240257).
As to claim 4, Hu teaches iterations of an optimization loop for an intermediate artistic digital image as noted in the rejection to claim 1. Hu does not teach, but Li does teach wherein generating for each iteration comprises: generating, via a first set of iterations of an optimization loop, a first set of intermediate artistic digital images corresponding to a first image resolution; and generating, via a second set of iterations of the optimization loop, a second set of intermediate artistic digital images corresponding to a second image resolution (fig. 3; p. 1, sections 0002-0003; p. 5, section 0052; a set of iterations using a first set of layers is used to generate images of a first resolution and a set of iterations using a second set of layers is used to generate images of a second resolution). The motivation for this is to reproduce both global and local artistic style features (p. 2, section 0018). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu and Divakaran to generate, via a first set of iterations of an optimization loop, a first set of intermediate artistic digital images corresponding to a first image resolution and generate, via a second set of iterations of the optimization loop, a second set of intermediate artistic digital images corresponding to a second image resolution in order to reproduce both global and local artistic style features as taught by Li.
As to claim 26, see the rejection to claim 4. Further, Li discloses the second image resolution higher than the first image resolution (fig. 3; p. 5, section 0052; a medium resolution corresponding to a second resolution is higher than a first low resolution; alternatively, a high resolution corresponding to a second resolution is higher than a first medium or low resolution). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 31, Hu does not disclose, but Li discloses a method further comprising, for the plurality of iterations:
refining, using the artistic image neural network, the intermediate artistic digital image at a first resolution over a first set of iterations (fig. 3; p. 5, section 0050-p. 6, section 0056; the image is refined through a number of iterations at a lower resolution in addition to higher ones);
modifying, using a resize block of the artistic image neural network, a resolution of the intermediate artistic digital image from the first resolution to a second resolution (fig. 3; p. 5, section 0050-p. 6, section 0056; the upsampling layers read on a resize block since they are modifying the image to be higher resolution);
and using the artistic image neural network to process the intermediate artistic digital image at the second resolution over a second set of iterations (fig. 3; p. 5, section 0050-p. 6, section 0056; a set of iterations processing an intermediate medium or high resolution image using the upsampling layers is performed). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 4.
Claims 5, 6, 8, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu and Divakaran, and further in view of Mounsaveng (U.S. Publication 2021/0241041).
As to claim 5, Hu discloses wherein operations further comprise modifying an artistic digital image utilizing an augmentation chain of transformation operations, and comparing the artistic encodings to the one or more style encodings comprises comparing the artistic encodings generated from the modified intermediate artistic digital image to the one or more style encodings (p. 3, sections 0029-0030; p. 3, sections 0033-0037; an image is augmented via a number of operations including whitening and coloring; a tentative style vector encoding is compared to the refined/modified intermediate image style vector encoding). Hu does not disclose, but Mounsaveng discloses augmentation for each iteration of the plurality of iterations (p. 10, sections 0155-0169). The motivation for this is that optimizing based on augmented new data can avoid overfitting (p. 1, sections 0010-0011). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu and Divakaran to augment for each iteration of the plurality of iterations in order to avoid overfitting as taught by Mounsaveng.
As to claim 6, Mounsaveng discloses wherein modifying the intermediate artistic digital image utilizing the augmentation chain of transformation operations comprises modifying the intermediate artistic digital image via a sequence of transformation operations that includes a resize operation, a crop operation, a perspective operation, an image flip operation, and a noise operation (p. 2, sections 0022-0023; p. 7, sections 0110-111; p. 10, sections 0169-172; p. 13, section 0241; a sequence/chain of augmentation transformations includes zooming/resizing, cropping, rotation/translation which would change perspective, image flipping, and adding noise; since the sequence is applied to images in each iteration, the images, except for the image in the first iteration, are intermediate artistic digital images). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 8, Mounsaveng discloses wherein modifying the intermediate artistic digital image via the sequence of transformation operations that includes the image flip operation comprises modifying the intermediate artistic digital image by flipping the digital image horizontally (p. 2, sections 0022-0023; p. 7, sections 0110-111; p. 10, sections 0169-172; p. 13, section 0241; a sequence/chain of augmentation transformations includes zooming/resizing, cropping, rotation/translation which would change perspective, image flipping, and adding noise; the flip can be a horizontal flip). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 25, see the rejection to claim 5. Further, Mounsaveng discloses an augmentation chain of transformation operations comprising at least one of a resize operation, a crop operation, a perspective operation, an image flip operation, or a noise operation (p. 2, sections 0022-0023; p. 7, sections 0110-111; p. 10, sections 0169-172; p. 13, section 0241; a sequence/chain of augmentation transformations includes zooming/resizing, cropping, rotation/translation which would change perspective, image flipping, and adding noise).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, Divakaran, and Mounsaveng and further in view of Pranskevichus (U.S. Publication 2023/0267583).
As to claim 7, Hu discloses wherein the operations further comprise modifying the digital image; determining, from the digital image utilizing the second image encoder of the artistic image neural network, the parameters for the learnable tensor comprises determining the parameters for the learnable tensor based on the digital image with the modification utilizing the second image encoder of the artistic image neural network (p. 3, sections 0029-0030; p. 3, sections 0033-0037; a content image is augmented via a number of operations including whitening and coloring; parameters for the vector/tensor for the content image are determined based on the second encoder as noted in the rejection to claim 1). Hu does not disclose, but Pranskevichus does disclose that the modification applied is fractal noise (p. 5, section 0052; fractal noise is used to train the generative network). The motivation for this is to teach the generative network to reproduce small details more accurately. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu, Divakaran, and Mounsaveng to use fractal noise in order to teach the generative network to reproduce small details more accurately as taught by Pranskevichus.
Claims 9 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, Divakaran, and Mounsaveng and further in view of Li ‘757 (U.S. Publication 2020/0175757).
As to claim 9, Hu discloses wherein modifying the intermediate artistic digital image via the sequence of transformation operations that includes the noise operation comprises modifying the intermediate artistic digital image by an augmentation (see rejection to claim 5). Hu does not disclose, but Li ‘757 does disclose that this augmentation is adding Gaussian noise (p. 6, section 0053). The motivation for this is to make an embedding network more robust. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu, Divakaran, and Mounsaveng to use an augmentation of adding Gaussian noise in order to make an embedding network more robust as taught by Li ‘757.
As to claim 27, see the rejection to claim 9.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu and Divakaran and further in view of Liao (U.S. Publication 2022/0044352).
As to claim 23, Hu discloses wherein determining the loss by comparing the artistic encodings to the one or more style encodings comprises determining the loss by comparing the artistic encodings to the one or more style encodings utilizing a style loss and a loss corresponding to the digital image (fig. 3; p. 3, sections 0033-p. 4, section 0038; p. 4, section 0043; a style loss, and a content loss with regard to the image pixels, are used in the comparison). Hu does not disclose, but Liao discloses that the loss corresponding to the digital image is a perceptual loss (p. 10, section 0095-p. 11, section 0096; p. 11, section 0102-p. 12, section 0104; perceptual loss is used to compare an intermediate image having an applied style). The motivation for this is to explicitly constrain the input image of the constraint encoder and the output image of the decoder to remain unchanged in content. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hu and Divakaran to use a perceptual loss in order to explicitly constrain the input image of the constraint encoder and the output image of the decoder to remain unchanged in content as taught by Liao.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, Divakaran, and Li and further in view of Kearney (U.S. Publication 2021/0118129) and Pranskevichus.
As to claim 28, Hu does not disclose, but Kearney discloses wherein the operations further comprise modifying the digital image for use in the first set of iterations utilizing noise; and modifying the intermediate artistic digital image from the first set of intermediate artistic digital images for use in the second set of iterations utilizing additional noise (fig. 14a; fig. 14b; p. 16, section 0234-p. 17, section 0238; each iteration adds noise to the generated images). The motivation for this is to train prediction in a neural network. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hu, Divakaran, and Li to modify the digital image for use in the first set of iterations utilizing noise; and modify the intermediate artistic digital image from the first set of intermediate artistic digital images for use in the second set of iterations utilizing additional noise in order to train prediction in a neural network as taught by Kearney.
Kearney does not disclose, but Pranskevichus discloses that the noise is fractal (p. 5, section 0052; fractal noise is used to train the generative network). Motivation for the combination of references is similar to that given in the rejection to claim 7.
Conclusion
/AARON M RICHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617