DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 16 December 2025, is acknowledged. Claims 1, 7, 12, and 18 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-7, 10-14, and 17 and the 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 8, 9, 15, 16, and 18-20, applicant states the cited references do not disclose the device of amended claims 1, 12 and 18. Examiner disagrees as the amendments can be broadly interpreted with respect to Henkel (US20020082471A1). With regard to claim 1, “second end portion” can be interpreted as any portion that touches the second end of the protrusion previously identified in Henkel, the second end portion can be interpreted as being “disposed within the fluid passageway at a location between the first end portion of the fluid passageway and a second end portion of the fluid passageway”. See annotated figure below. The same general interpretation can be applied to the 102 and 103 rejections of claims 12 and 18. For this reason, the previous rejection stands. The amended structure is set forth above in the labelled figure and rejections.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henkel (US 20020082471 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 12, Henkel discloses an inflatable penile prosthesis (paragraph [0005]) comprising: a reservoir configured to hold fluid (paragraph [0005)]); an inflatable member (paragraph [0005]); and a pump assembly (figure 2) configured to facilitate a transfer of a fluid from the reservoir to the inflatable member, the pump assembly including a pump bulb (figures 2, feature 36), and a valve body (figure 2) defining a fluid passageway (feature 33, 34), the valve body including a refill valve (feature 20) disposed in the fluid passageway, a protrusion having a first end portion disposed at a first end portion of the fluid passageway and a second end portion disposed within the fluid passageway at a location between the first end portion of the fluid passageway and a second end portion of the fluid passageway (Annotated in the figure below), the valve body including a seat disposed in the second end portion, (Annotated in the figure below), the refill valve including a valve member (Figure 2 “20”), in response to the pump bulb being compressed, the valve member configured to move within the fluid passageway in a first direction (to the right) to a closed position in which the valve member blocks the fluid from being transferred around the refill valve, in response to the pump bulb being uncompressed, the valve member configured to move within the fluid passageway in a second direction to an open position in which the valve member allows the fluid to transfer around the refill valve (paragraphs [0006] and [0007)).
Claims 2-3 and 10 – Henkel teaches a valve seat (24) is used with the valve member to move back and forth to block and open the valve member against the valve seat (paragraphs [0006] and [0007]). The valve seat is also tapered (Figure 4).
Claims 4-6 and 11 – Henkel teaches the valve member having a guide member that extends in a first and second direction with one end of the guide member including grooves (145, Figures 18 and 18A).
Claim 13 – Henkel teaches a biasing member (28) to bias the valve member closed.
Claims 14 and 17 – Henkel teaches (Figures 1-2) a central section (the section that includes spring 28) between a first second (passageway 33) and a second section (part of the passageway on the opposite side in which part of the valve member 20 extends), where the central section is larger than the second.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henkel as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Fogarty (US 20130072751 A1).
Claims 8 and 9 - Henkel et al discloses a pump assembly of a penile prosthesis and teaches the claimed device except for the valve specifically being void of a biasing member.
Fogarty discloses another penile prosthesis and teaches that is well known to use a valve member void of a biasing member (paragraph [0065)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to substitute a biased valve member, Henkel, with a valve member without a biasing member as a mere substitution of one well known type of valve member used in penile prosthetics for another.
Claim(s) 15, 16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henkel as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Hemmeter (US 4699128 A).
Henkel discloses a pump assembly of a penile prosthesis and teaches the claimed device (see claim 1 and annotated figure above) except for the valve specifically being a flapper valve.
Hemmeter discloses another penile prosthesis and teaches that is well known to use a valve member that is a flapper valve (element 12, column 3, lines 24-53). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Henkel by substituting a flapper valve for the biased valve member as a substitution of functionally equivalent valve types from other penile prosthesis.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,285,006. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate the claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/M.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791