DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is an office action in response to Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 10 February 2026. Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20-23 are currently pending in the application. Claims 9 and 19 have been cancelled. Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20-23 are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is withdrawn in view of amendments.
The objection of claim 20 is withdrawn in view of amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 10-12, 14-16, and 20-21 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1) in view of Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1) are withdrawn in view of amendments.
The rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1) in view of Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1) are withdrawn in view of cancellation of the claim.
The rejection of claims 4-7, 13, 17-18, and 23 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1) in view of Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1) and Situ, et. al. (US 9297797 B2) are withdrawn in view of amendments.
The rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1) in view of Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1), Situ, et. al. (US 9297797 B2), and Samsoondar (US 20080180685 A1) is withdrawn in view of amendments.
The rejection of claim 22 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1) in view of Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1), and Dimeski, et. al. (Ion Selective Electrodes (ISEs) and interferences—A review) is withdrawn in view of amendments
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues "In Sauerbrey, there is no "output aperture" of an input cup disclosed. Even in modified Sauerbrey, it is not disclosed where the outlet 106 of Navawongse (e.g. Fig. 2A,B) would be positioned" (Remarks, pg. 9, par. 05). Examiner respectfully disagrees. When turning to Figure 2D of Navawongse, outlet 106 can be seen at a bottom portion of cup 103. Figure 2D alone does not disclose that bottom most portion is in the middle of the cup. However, looking to Figure 2C and considering paragraphs 0058-0059 of Navawongse we can see valve 110 is location in the center of the cup's 103 diameter. Valve 110 is disclosed to be "a valve 110 disposed at the outlet 106, specifically below the outlet 106" (par. 0059). Additional support can be found by Navawongse in the fact fluid moves through the cup 103 by gravity and therefore the outlet must be the lowest point (par. 0058). Examiner understands Navawongse teaches several cup-like reservoirs 103a-103c; however, the geometry and elements of a singular cup are being used in the modification of the of the sample input cup of Sauerbrey, not the cartridge piece.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 10, par. 02, filed 10 February 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1) in view of Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1) in view of Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1) and Choy, et. al. (US 20240042441 A1; with consideration of PCT filing date of 8 December 2020).
Applicant argues "A "fluidic path" is disclosed in Sauerbrey to be formed by both the cover portion 7 and top layer 68 only when they are being attached to each other, but the "fluidic path" is below the output aperture (of an input cup) circumferentially delimited not by material of the cover portion 7. Thus, modified Sauerbrey does not disclose "wherein the second portion comprises material below the output aperture configured to circumferentially delimit the input conduit providing fluid communication between the sample input region and the reception space" (Remarks, pg. 10, par. 02). Examiner agrees that Sauerbrey does not teach or fairly disclose that a single part delimits the entirety of the fluidic path leading from the output aperture to the reception space.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 9, par. 06 - pg. 10, par. 01, filed 10 February 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1) in view of Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1) in view of Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1) and Choy, et. al. (US 20240042441 A1; with consideration of PCT filing date of 8 December 2020).
Applicant argues "neither of the cited references discloses the claimed feature of "wherein an outer surface of the material delimiting the input conduit serves as adherent surface at which the first portion is attached". The claimed "the material" is the material below the output aperture which is configured to circumferentially delimit the input conduit" (Remarks, pg. 9, par. 06 - pg. 10, par. 01). Examiner agrees, the material of Sauerbrey teaches the two parts coming together and making the fluidic channel and outer material of the second portion connected to the first portion is also used to make the channel and therefore cannot be an "outer" portion.
Applicant offers no other arguments for claims 2-8, 10-18, and 20-23 save for their dependence on newly amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-12, 14-16, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1) in view of Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1) and Choy, et. al. (US 20240042441 A1; with consideration of PCT filing date of 8 December 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Sauerbrey teaches a measurement cell for measuring a constituent of liquid sample (Abstract) (for measuring at least one constituent of a liquid sample). Sauerbrey teaches a measurement cell that has a reception space 9 for receiving a sample (a reception space for the sample); reception space 9 is delineated by two layers coming together (Fig. 1-2). The first is layer is top layer 68 which have a surface 70 and sensor electrodes and is primarily a planar plate that make up the lower side of reception area 9 (see uppermost rectangle in provided Figure 2 below) (Fig. 1-2; par. 0080, 0083) (a first portion comprising a substantially plane plate delimiting the reception space at a first side and comprising at least one measurement area) (wherein the substantially plane plate comprises one or more analyte sensitive areas).
The plate layer making up one side of the reception space 9 joins together with wall section 72 from cover portion 7 that delimits the other side of reception space 9 (Fig. 1-2; par. 0083) (a second portion comprising: a reception space wall section, the second portion being coupled to the first portion such that the reception space wall section partly delimits the reception space at a second side). Sauerbrey teaches upstream reception space 9 is a sample inlet 13 (see in the lowermost square in provided Figure 2 below) formed integrally within portion 7 where the sample is introduced (Fig. 1-2; par. 0085) (a sample input… delimiting a sample input region). Connecting the inlet 13 to reception area 9 is a fluidic path (seen circled in provided Figure 2 below) that is created by portion 7 and top layer 68 coming together (an input conduit positioned between the sample input cup and the reception space, wherein the second portion comprises material configured to circumferentially delimit the input conduit) (wherein the sample input region is in fluid communication with the reception space via the input conduit). Sauerbrey teaches reception space 9 (by wall 72), the sample inlet 13, and the fluid path connecting the two are formed within cover portion 7 (Fig. 1-2; par. 0083-0085) (wherein the reception space wall section, at least a portion of the sample input cup and the input conduit are integrally formed).
Sauerbrey is silent to the sample input being a cup (shape) into which the sample is fillable and wherein the sample input cup comprises an output aperture at a bottom portion in a central region of the bottom portion.
Navawongse teaches an apparatus for holding and dispensing and analyzing
biofluid samples (Abstract). Navawongse teaches the biofluid dispensing apparatus connecting parts that hold and dispense small volumes of a larger biofluid sample (par. 0054). The device comprises a cartridge 100 (a second portion comprising) that performs the metering of the sample (par. 0054). The cartridge 100 comprises a cavity 102 which is a fluid reservoir 103 for containing the biofluid sample with an inlet 104 at a top end and an outlet 106 opposite the inlet 104 wherein the outlet 106 of the singular reservoir is at a lowermost and central position of the revisor 103 (Fig. 2A-2D; par. 0057-0058) (a sample input cup delimiting a sample input region into which the sample is fillable) (wherein the sample input cup comprises an output aperture at a bottom portion in a central region of the bottom portion). Navawongse teaches bioassays need precise sample volumes (par. 0005) reliably delivered (par. 0008) and should be performed on equipment that is easily reproducible (par. 0009) and the disclosed dispensing device that holds a precise volume of biofluid to be delivered addresses each of these common shortcomings in bioassay devices (par. 0010-0011).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sample inlet of Sauerbrey to have a more cup-like shape that is filled with and dispenses a precise volume of biofluid through a center, lower outlet of Navawongse because doing so would perform reproducibility of assays with a reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Modified Sauerbrey is silent to wherein the second portion comprises material below the output aperture configured to circumferentially delimit the input conduit providing fluid communication between the sample input region and the reception space and an outer surface of the material delimiting the input conduit serves as adherent surface at which the first portion is attached.
Choy teaches a sample preparation cartridge comprising a series of chambers and channels (Abstract). Choy teaches the cartridge 201 comprises three main parts (Fig. 3; par. 0039-0040):
a mixing chamber 207 that is wider at a top portion and narrows at a bottom portion with an input 203 located at a top portion (sample input region)
an isolation chamber 209 fluidically connected to chamber 207 through valve 219 (reception space)
an output channel 211 fluidically connected to chamber 209
Choy teaches the cartridge 201 comes together with blister pack 271 (a first portion) that seals the openings 237, 239, 257 of chamber 209 of cartridge 201 (Fig. 4; par. 0055) (a second portion). Choy teaches the entirety of chamber 207 is made entirely within the cartridge portion 201 and does not require pack potion 271 to be operable. Provided Figure 3 below depicts a short channel (see the outlined portion below element 219 in Figure 3 below) fluidically after valve 219 wherein the fluid sample moves from chamber 207 to chamber 209; this short channel is entirely made of cartridge portion 201 and does not require blister pack portion 271 (wherein the second portion comprises material below the output aperture configured to circumferentially delimit the input conduit providing fluid communication between the sample input region and the reception space). Choy teaches this configuration allows for more control in the movement of fluid from one part to another part of the cartridge (par. 0039).
Choy further teaches cartridge 201 comprises wall 273 to facilitate the attachment of blister pack 271 (Fig. 4; par. 0055) (wherein an outer surface of the material delimiting the input conduit serves as adherent surface at which the first portion is attached). Choy teaches the two portions, cartridge 201 and pack 271, attached by wall 273 allows for customization to the cartridge and what can be performed by the cartridge in combination with blisters with differing material insider the blisters (par. 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the planar top cover (second portion) of modified Sauerbrey with the circumferential cartridge of Choy because doing so would allow for more control in the movement of fluid from one part to another within the cartridge with a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the top cover (second portion) that forms only a portion of the fluidic pathway of modified Sauerbrey with the cartridge wall and blister pack combination of Choy because doing so would allow for customization of the cartridge with a reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
For claim 2, modified Sauerbrey in view of Navawongse teaches the fluid reservoir 103 is substantially symmetrical about an axis running from in inlet 104 to the outlet 106 (Fig. 2A-2D) (the sample input cup is substantially rotationally symmetric with respect to a longitudinal axis of the sample input cup).
For claim 3, modified Sauerbrey in view of Navawongse teaches the fluid reservoir 103 has a bell-like shape with a wider top portion (near inlet 104) and a narrower bottom portion (near outlet 106) (Fig. 2A-2D) (the sample input cup is bell shaped having an apex at a bottom portion).
For claim 10, modified Sauerbrey teaches the top layer 68 and cover portion 7 come together and help form reception space 9 (Fig. 1-2; par. 0083) (to the first portion and the second portion each comprise respective interface surface regions provided to form adherent surfaces at which the first portion and the second portion are mounted together).
For claim 11, modified Sauerbrey teaches the top layer 68 and cover portion 7 come together and help form reception space 9 (Fig. 1-2; par. 0083). Top layer 68 is flat as seen in Figure 3. Because top layer 68 is flat, the fluid path that starts after inlet 13, including inlet conduit and reception space 9 are made by the curvature of cover portion 7 (Fig. 1-2). This results in an interior surface of the total fluid path that is offset to the cover portion 7 side (wherein the interface surface region of the second portion is laterally offset from an input conduit axis of the input conduit towards the first side due to material delimiting the input conduit at the first side).
For claim 12, modified Sauerbrey in view of Navawongse teaches the sample holding cavity 102 has a part 102a2/102b2/102c2 that tapers inward towards outlet 106 (Fig. 2D) (a first zone at the bottom portion comprising a continuously changing diameter).
For claim 14, modified Sauerbrey teaches the cover portion 7 (second portion) is formed by injection molding and can be made with polycarbonate, polyester, polyamides, and blends thereof (par. 0052) (wherein the second portion is integrally formed manufactured by injection molding, using at least one of polycarbonate, polyester, polyamides and blends thereof).
For claim 15, modified Sauerbrey teaches the downstream the reception space 9 in an outlet 57 and the outlet 57 is configured to allow piping to be attached (Fig. 5; par. 0100-0101) (wherein the second portion further comprising, downstream the reception space, a reception space output port including a tube connector).
For claim 16, modified Sauerbrey teaches outlet 57 fluid can be moved through the device through a pump attached to outlet 57 by piping (par. 0101) (further comprising a suction pump, connected to the reception space output port).
For claim 20, Sauerbrey teaches a measurement cell for measuring a constituent of liquid sample (Abstract) (for measuring at least one constituent of a liquid sample). Sauerbrey teaches a measurement cell that has a reception space 9 for receiving a sample; reception space 9 is delineated by two layers coming together (Fig. 1-2). The first is layer is top layer 68 which have a surface 70 and sensor electrodes and is primarily a planar plate that make up the lower side of reception area 9 (see uppermost rectangle in provided Figure 2 below) (Fig. 1-2; par. 0080, 0083) (manufacturing a first portion comprising a substantially plane plate, wherein the substantially plane plate comprises one or more analyte sensitive areas).
The plate layer making up one side of the reception space 9 joins together with wall section 72 from cover portion 7 that delimits the other side of reception space 9 (Fig. 1-2; par. 0083). Sauerbrey teaches upstream reception space 9 is a sample inlet 13 (see in the lowermost square in provided Figure 2 below) formed integrally within portion 7 where the sample is introduced (Fig. 1-2; par. 0085). Connecting the inlet 13 to reception area 9 is a fluidic path (seen circled in provided Figure 2 below) that is created by portion 7 and top layer 68 coming together (par. 0052) (manufacturing a second portion comprising a reception space wall section, a sample input… and an input conduit positioned between the sample input… and the reception space, wherein the second portion comprises material configured to… delimit the input conduit) (wherein the sample input region is in fluid communication with the reception space via the input conduit). Sauerbrey teaches reception space 9 (by wall 72), the sample inlet 13, and the fluid path connecting the two are formed within the curvature of cover portion 7 coming together with top layer 68 (Fig. 1-2; par. 0052, 0083-0085) (coupling the second portion to the first portion such that the reception space is delimited by the substantially plane plate of the first portion at a first side, and such that the reception space is partly delimited by the reception space wall section at a second side). The means the cover portion 7 primarily forms and combines the inlet 13, input conduit, and reception space 9 in a single piece (Fig. 1-2) (wherein the reception space wall section, at least a portion of the sample input cup and the input conduit are integrally formed).
Sauerbrey is silent to the sample input being a cup (shape) into which the sample is fillable and wherein the sample input cup comprises an output aperture at a bottom portion in a central region of the bottom portion.
Navawongse teaches an apparatus for holding and dispensing and analyzing
biofluid samples (Abstract). Navawongse teaches the biofluid dispensing apparatus connecting parts that hold and dispense small volumes of a larger biofluid sample (par. 0054). The device comprises a cartridge 100 (a second portion comprising) that performs the metering of the sample (par. 0054). The cartridge 100 comprises a cavity 102 which is a fluid reservoir 103 for containing the biofluid sample with an inlet 104 at a top end and an outlet 106 opposite the inlet 104 wherein the outlet 106 of the singular reservoir is at a lowermost and central position of the revisor 103 (Fig. 2A-2D; par. 0057-0058) (a sample input cup delimiting a sample input region into which the sample is fillable) (wherein the sample input cup comprises an output aperture at a bottom portion in a central region of the bottom portion). Navawongse teaches bioassays need precise sample volumes (par. 0005) reliably delivered (par. 0008) and should be performed on equipment that is easily reproducible (par. 0009) and the disclosed dispensing device that holds a precise volume of biofluid to be delivered addresses each of these common shortcomings in bioassay devices (par. 0010-0011).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sample inlet of Sauerbrey to have a more cup-like shape that is filled with and dispenses a precise volume of biofluid through a center, lower outlet of Navawongse because doing so would perform reproducibility of assays with a reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Modified Sauerbrey is silent to wherein the second portion comprises material below the output aperture configured to circumferentially delimit the input conduit providing fluid communication between the sample input region and the reception space and an outer surface of the material delimiting the input conduit serves as adherent surface at which the first portion is attached.
Choy teaches a sample preparation cartridge comprising a series of chambers and channels (Abstract). Choy teaches the cartridge 201 comprises three main parts (Fig. 3; par. 0039-0040):
a mixing chamber 207 that is wider at a top portion and narrows at a bottom portion with an input 203 located at a top portion (sample input region)
an isolation chamber 209 fluidically connected to chamber 207 through valve 219 (reception space)
an output channel 211 fluidically connected to chamber 209
Choy teaches the cartridge 201 comes together with blister pack 271 (a first portion) that seals the openings 237, 239, 257 of chamber 209 of cartridge 201 (Fig. 4; par. 0055) (a second portion). Choy teaches the entirety of chamber 207 is made entirely within the cartridge portion 201 and does not require pack potion 271 to be operable. Provided Figure 3 below depicts a short channel (see the outlined portion below element 219 in Figure 3 below) fluidically after valve 219 wherein the fluid sample moves from chamber 207 to chamber 209; this short channel is entirely made of cartridge portion 201 and does not require blister pack portion 271 (wherein the second portion comprises material below the output aperture configured to circumferentially delimit the input conduit providing fluid communication between the sample input region and the reception space). Choy teaches this configuration allows for more control in the movement of fluid from one part to another part of the cartridge (par. 0039).
Choy further teaches cartridge 201 comprises wall 273 to facilitate the attachment of blister pack 271 (Fig. 4; par. 0055) (wherein an outer surface of the material delimiting the input conduit serves as adherent surface at which the first portion is attached). Choy teaches the two portions, cartridge 201 and pack 271, attached by wall 273 allows for customization to the cartridge and what can be performed by the cartridge in combination with blisters with differing material insider the blisters (par. 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the planar top cover (second portion) of modified Sauerbrey with the circumferential cartridge of Choy because doing so would allow for more control in the movement of fluid from one part to another within the cartridge with a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the top cover (second portion) that forms only a portion of the fluidic pathway of modified Sauerbrey with the cartridge wall and blister pack combination of Choy because doing so would allow for customization of the cartridge with a reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
For claim 21, modified Sauerbrey teaches at least one sensor electrode 10 on top layer 68; these sensor electrodes 10 can measure at least one ion(Fig. 1-2; par. 0021-0022) (wherein the measurement area comprises at least one analyte sensitive area, including an ion- selective electrode).
Claims 4-7, 13, 17-18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1), Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1), and Choy, et. al. (US 20240042441 A1; with consideration of PCT filing date of 8 December 2020) in further view of Situ, et. al. (US 9297797 B2).
For claim 4, modified Sauerbrey in view of Navawongse teaches the fluid reservoir 103 has overflow outlets 112 to prevent overfilling of the reservoir 103 (Fig. 2D; par. 0060-0062) (wherein the sample input cup comprises at least one of… at least one side outlet).
Modified Sauerbrey is silent to wherein the sample input cup comprises at least one of at least one side inlet and having its (side inlet and side outlet) longitudinal direction running in a direction including an angle between 30° and 60° with the longitudinal direction of the sample input cup.
Situ teaches an apparatus to monitor electrolytes in a solution with a flow cell (Abstract). The apparatus as taught by Situ comprises an upper path portion 47 and a flow cell portion 30 (Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 15- 23). Situ teaches that upstream the flow cell region is the upper path portion 47 (Fig. 1). The upper path comprises a dilution cup where the sample is first introduced to the apparatus and is in fluid connection with the flow cell region (column 4, lines 24-26). Situ teaches the cup portion of the apparatus has at least one inlet (conduit) 2 located on the side of the cup (Fig. 3; Col. 11, lines 40-73) (the sample input cup comprises at least one of at least one side inlet). Situ teaches the side inlet serves the purpose of providing a pathway for diluent or washing solution (col 11, lines 40-43).
Situ additionally teaches that the inlet is skewed horizontally to the top surface and given a more vertical direction to improve mixing (Col. 12, lines 7-14) (having its longitudinal direction running in a direction including an angle between 30° and 60° with the longitudinal direction of the sample input cup). Situ is silent to the exact angle the inlet should be skewed, but it is understood the angle would be somewhere between 0° (horizontal/parallel to the top) and 90° (vertical/perpendicular to the top). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the angle the inlet is skewed to find the optimized angle that allows for the liquid to be delivered cup so the solution can be mixed to achieve expected results (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sample inlet cup of modified Sauerbrey to include a secondary inlet of Situ because doing so would allow for the device to have a secondary path for introduction of a secondary solution like a wash or dilution solution with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
For claim 5, modified Sauerbrey in view of Navawongse teaches that the out can be used in the case of an overflow of solution (par. 0062) (the at least one of… a side outlet allowing to provide at least one of… an outlet of waste solution or overflow liquid). Modified Sauerbrey in view of Situ teaches at least one of the side inlets can be used to for a washing solution (Fig. 1, part 2; Col. 7, lines 3-5) (the at least one of a side inlet… allowing to provide at least one of... an inlet of washing solution).
For claim 6, modified Sauerbrey in view of Situ teaches the side inlet(s) of on the cup are arranged so the introduction of solution to the cup are tangential to the circumference of the cup (Col. 12, lines 4-7) (the at least one side inlet is oriented and positioned relative to the sample input cup such that liquid supplied by the side inlet discharges substantially tangentially to the inner face of the sample input cup into the sample input cup).
For claim 7, modified Sauerbrey in view of Situ teaches the cup has inlets 2 and 3 (Fig. 1 and 4) that are located at different axial positions (the at least one side inlet comprises a first side inlet and a second side inlet arranged at different axial positions of the sample input cup). Additionally, Situ teaches that injection port can be positioned so that the injection of fluid is in a swirling motion (column 12, lines 4-7) (the first side inlet and a second side inlet allow introduction of liquid into the sample input region in form of a spiral shaped stream at an inside surface of the sample input cup preventing cross-contamination).
For claim 13, modified Sauerbrey in view of Navawongse teaches the sample holding cavity 102 has a part 102a1/102b1/102c1 that has no slope or change in angle (Fig. 2D) (the sample input cup comprises a second zone at a middle portion comprising a substantially constant diameter… wherein an inner surface of the second zone includes an angle between 0° and 10° with a longitudinal axis of the sample input cup).
Modified Sauerbrey is silent to the second portion having one or more inlets.
Situ teaches an apparatus to monitor electrolytes in a solution with a flow cell (Abstract). The apparatus as taught by Situ comprises an upper path portion 47 and a flow cell portion 30 (Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 15- 23). Situ teaches that upstream the flow cell region is the upper path portion 47 (Fig. 1). The upper path comprises a dilution cup where the sample is first introduced to the apparatus and is in fluid connection with the flow cell region (column 4, lines 24-26). Situ teaches the cup portion of the apparatus has at least one inlet (conduit) 2 located on the side of the cup (Fig. 3; Col. 11, lines 40-73) (and having one or more inlets). Situ teaches the side inlet serves the purpose of providing a pathway for diluent or washing solution (col 11, lines 40-43).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sample inlet cup of modified Sauerbrey to include a secondary inlet as taught by Situ because doing so would allow for the device to have a secondary path for introduction of a secondary solution like a wash or dilution solution. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
For claim 17, modified Sauerbrey teaches the limitation as applied to claim 16 (see above). Modified Sauerbrey teaches the downstream the reception space 9 in an outlet 57 and the outlet 57 is configured to allow piping to be attached and draw fluid via a pump (Fig. 5; par. 0100-0101).
Modified Sauerbrey is silent to a liquid column separator, the liquid column separator comprising: at least one guiding member having a guiding surface at which incoming liquid is collected and is guided to run downwards, at least one drip off edge at a bottom of the guiding member; a bottom collection region vertically spaced apart from and below the drip off edge, wherein the liquid column separator is formed by an upper member comprising the guiding member and formed by a lower member forming the bottom collection region.
Situ teaches conduit 17 (Fig. 1) that controls the flow of liquid after analysis by the ISE system. Conduit 17 is a chamber with at least one of its chamber walls serving as a guiding member that’s surface directs the flow of liquid towards valve 37 (Fig. 1). Conduit 17 can be seen in Fig. 1. Making up conduit 17 is a first 90° turn in the channel which serves as an edge (at least one guiding member having a guiding surface at which incoming liquid is collected and is guided to run downwards, at least one drip off edge at a bottom of the guiding member). Directly below the first 90° turn edge in Fig. 1 is a region where the liquid collects after the edge and before valve 37 (a bottom collection region vertically spaced apart from and below the drip off edge, wherein the liquid column separator is formed by an upper member comprising the guiding member and formed by a lower member forming the bottom collection region). Situ teaches this arrangement post-reception area prevent unwanted wicking of the solution from one area to the next leading to contamination and skewed concentration measurements (col. 3, lines 1-18).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the post-reception area of modified Sauerbrey to have the certain orientations and walls as taught by Situ because doing so would prevent unwanted wicking of the fluid leading to contamination and inaccurate measurements. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
For claim 18, modified Sauerbrey in view of Situ teaches a vertical space between the 90° edge and collection region (Fig. 1 above) is a chamber that’s walls serve as two parallel guiding plates to direct the flow of liquid as it drops from the edge (for guiding the liquid two parallel and spaced apart guiding plates are provided between which the liquid is allowed to run downwards as a continuous liquid film). Situ teaches the body of the device, that makes up the boundaries of all channels, is ideally made of transparent material (Col. 9, lines 29-31) (an optical measurement is enabled in transmission through the transparent guiding plates and the liquid in between). Additionally, Examiner asserts that the recitations are drawn to process-type and intended use recitations that are not given patentable weight in apparatus claims. Given that Situ, et. al. commensurately discloses the positively recited elements the arrangement of situ is fully capable of providing the structure needed for these processes uses in as much as recited herein.
For claim 23, modified Sauerbrey in view of Situ teaches attached to pump 34 are intersection 23 and valve 37; between the two is conduit 17 (Fig. 1). Intersection 23 serves as the input to access the lower portion of the device to valve 37 which serves as on outlet to an exit conduit (Col. 5, lines 19-22) (to receive liquid at an input port and configured to output the liquid via an output port). Conduit 17 is the channel between the two that influences the flow of liquid (Fig. 1) (a liquid column separator connected to the suction pump... such that a continuous liquid column between the input port and the output port of the liquid column separator is interrupted).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1), Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1), Choy, et. al. (US 20240042441 A1; with consideration of PCT filing date of 8 December 2020), and Situ, et. al. (US 9297797 B2) in further view of Samsoondar (US 20080180658 A1).
For claim 8, modified Sauerbrey in view of Navawongse teaches that one possible orientation of an outlet can be on the side of the cup (Fig. 2D, part 112). Modified Sauerbrey in view of Situ teaches a cup to hold a liquid sample with inlets on the side and an outlet at the bottom of the cup (Fig. 1, parts 2 and 11).
Modified Sauerbrey is silent to the side outlet includes an overflow outlet arranged axially above the first side inlet and second side inlet.
Samsoondar teaches a sample holder for spectroscopic analysis of blood samples (Abstract). Samsoondar teaches a sample holder that comprises an inlet 111 at the lowest point that leads to an analysis chamber 1113, and ultimately an outlet 115 leading to an overflow chamber 127 (Fig. 4D) at the uppermost portion (an overflow outlet arranged axially above the first side inlet and second side inlet). Samsoondar teaches the overflow chamber and outlet provide benefits such as providing a barrier between the device and atmosphere, allow the escape of air bubble, and ensure that sample container can be entirely filled (par. 0067-0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effectively filing date of the invention to modify the cup with inlets and outlets of modified Sauerbrey (in view of Navawongse) that has on overflow outlet on the side of the cup to have an orientation where an overflow outlet is, axially, above all inlets of Samsoondar because doing so would provide a barrier between the cup and the atmosphere, allow air bubble to escape, and allows the container to be entirely filled with a reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauerbrey, et. al. (US 20170350851 A1), Navawongse, et. al. (US 20190224680 A1), and Choy, et. al. (US 20240042441 A1; with consideration of PCT filing date of 8 December 2020) in further view of Dimeski, et. al. (Ion Selective Electrodes (ISEs) and interferences—A review).
For claim 22, modified Sauerbrey teaches the device comprises sensor electrodes 10 for measuring ions as it passes through reception space 9 from the sample inlet 13 (par. 0021-0022) (the arrangement including the sample input cup is configured to support… ion selective electrode measurements of… sample as input via the sample input cup).
Modified Sauerbrey is silent to the arrangement is configured to support direct ion selective electrode measurements of undiluted sample as input via the sample input cup.
Dimeski teaches the variety of ways to use and what can be measured with ion selective electrodes (Abstract). Dimeski teaches ISE can be used for indirect (diluted samples) or direct (undiluted samples) measurements (pg. 310, par. 2) (direct ion selective electrode measurements of undiluted sample). Each method has its benefits, and direct measurements are commonly used in samples where ions are unaffected by solids and in point-of-care type systems (pg. 310, par. 2). Ultimately, type of ISE measurement used comes down to type of sample being analyzed and provides a sensitive and inexpensive measurement method.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the invention to modify the indirect method of modified Situ for the direct ISE measurement technique of Dimeski because doing so would provide a sensitive and inexpensive measurement method with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.T.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/SAMUEL P SIEFKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758