DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in line 6, “calibration module calibration module” is duplicated. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in paragraph [0005], “calibration module calibration module” is duplicated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification is filled with the phrase “In some embodiments” rendering the structure required by any one embodiment to be unclear. The specification sets forth a “calibration module” without setting forth the specific structure required to perform the functions set forth with respect to the “calibration module” in the claims. These functions include “determine if the inflatable member is applying pressure to a body portion” paragraph [0028]; “determine when the inflatable member” is not applying pressure the body portion, paragraph [0040]; “determine atmospheric pressure” paragraph [0029]; determine when the inflatable is applying pressure and when it is not, paragraph [0040], determine when atmospheric pressure is a greater or less than normal, ie. is changing, paragraph [0041] and controlling pumps [0042].
Paragraphs [0048] through [0061], sets forth every possible structure to perform the functions set forth in the specification but only in high level of generality, ie a processor with program or custom circuitry without one specific structure set forth. The office is not capable of determining what would be considered an equivalent of the “calibration module” when only generically recited structure is set forth.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “calibration module” in claims 1-20 and evaluation module claim 11. It is unclear from the specification the specific structure of the calibration module and in view of paragraphs [0048]-[0061], any structure or structure plus software will be considered equivalents.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1 line 8 and line 13 of claim 16, "calibration module calibration module." is repeated. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10, 11, 13-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hohlrieder et al(2019/0133737, hereinafter Hohl).
Claim 1 – Hohl teaches an apparatus, including: a bodily implant, band -1-, hose -9- and pump -10- configured to be implanted into a body of a patient, the implant including an inflatable member, see hollow chamber -3- inside elements -1- and -1a-, a sensor -22-, and a calibration module -17- and -20-, the inflatable member -1- being configured to be disposed proximate a portion of the body of the patient, urethra see paragraph [0028], the sensor -22- is operatively coupled to the inflatable member and is configured to detect a fluidic pressure within the inflatable member, and the calibration module calibration module is configured to receive pressure data from the sensor and determine when the inflatable member is placing a pressure on the portion of the body of the patient, see paragraph [0055].
Claim 2 – Hohl teaches the inflatable member is configured to be disposed in an inflated configuration, figure 6 and a deflated configuration, figure 5.
Claims 3 and 4 – Hohl teaches, wherein the inflatable member is configured to be disposed in an inflated configuration, figure 6 and a deflated configuration, figure 5, the inflatable member being configured to place a first pressure on the portion of the body of the patient when the inflatable member is in its inflated configuration, to close urethra and a second pressure on the portion of the body of the patient when the inflatable member is in its deflated configuration, to allow for urination, the first pressure being greater than the second pressure.
Claim 5 – Hohl teaches the bodily implant includes a pump -11-, the pump being operatively coupled to the inflatable member -1a- and configured to pump a fluid out of the inflatable member, figure 5.
Claim 6 – Hohl teaches a pump -11-, the pump being operatively coupled to the inflatable member -1a- and configured to pump a fluid into the inflatable member, figure 6.
Claim 8 – Hohl teaches the bodily implant includes an electric pump, element -15- electric drive.
Claim 10 – Hohl teaches the bodily implant includes a reservoir configured to hold fluid, inside pump part -11-.
Claim 11 – Hohl teaches the calibration module -17- and -20- includes an evaluation module, the evaluation module being configured to evaluate pressure data, see paragraph [0055]-[0060].
Claim 13 – Hohl teaches the inflatable member is configured to be disposed proximate a urethra of a patient, see paragraphs [0053] and [0054].
Claim 14 – Hohl teaches the inflatable member -1- is configured to be disposed in a circular configuration as shown in figure 4.
Claim 15 – Hohl teaches the inflatable member -1- is configured to be disposed in a circular configuration and is configured to surround a urethra of a patient, see paragraphs [0053] and [0054].
Claim 19 – Hohl teaches deflating an inflatable member -1- and -1a- that is disposed within a body of a patient, paragraphs [0058] through [0061]; sensing the pressure applied by the inflatable member to a portion of the body of the patient with sensor -22-; and determining when the inflatable member is no longer applying a pressure to the portion of the body of the patient, at the commencement of urination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohlrieder et al(2019/0133737, hereinafter Hohl) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Smith et al(2020/0222188, hereinafter Smith).
Claim 7 – Hohl teaches an implant as claimed but uses an internal reservoir and a single pump to deliver fluid to and remove fluid from the inflatable member not a two pump system.
Smith teaches an inflatable implant -204- a reservoir -202- a first pump -208- to pump fluid from the reservoir to the inflatable member and a second pump -210- to pump fluid from the inflatable implant back to the reservoir.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the medical arts at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the reservoir and two pump system as taught by Smith in place of the reservoir and single pump system of Hohl as an ordinary substitution of functionally equivalent systems to provide fluid from a reservoir to the inflatable device and to return fluid from the inflatable member to the reservoir.
Claim 9 – the pumps -208 and -210- taught by Smith are electric pumps.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohlrieder et al(2019/0133737, hereinafter Hohl) in view of Smith et al(2020/0222188, hereinafter Smith).
Claim 16 – Hohl teaches an apparatus, including: a bodily implant, -1-, -9- and -10- configured to be implanted into a body of a patient, the implant including an inflatable member -1-, -1a-, a reservoir, within -11-, pump -11-, a sensor -22-, and a calibration module -17- and -20-, the inflatable member -1a- being configured to be disposed proximate a portion of the body of the patient, the sensor -22- is operatively coupled to the inflatable member and is configured to detect a fluidic pressure within the inflatable member, and the calibration module calibration module is configured to receive pressure data from the sensor and determine when the inflatable member is placing a pressure on the portion of the body of the patient, see paragraphs [0054]-[0061]. Hohl does not teach a two pump system as claimed.
Smith teaches an inflatable implant -204- a reservoir -202- a first electrical pump -208- to pump fluid from the reservoir to the inflatable member and a second electrical pump -210- to pump fluid from the inflatable implant back to the reservoir.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the medical arts at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the reservoir and two pump system as taught by Smith in place of the reservoir and single pump system of Hohl as an ordinary substitution of functionally equivalent systems to provide fluid from a reservoir to the inflatable device and to return fluid from the inflatable member to the reservoir.
Claim 17 - the inflatable member -1- is configured to be disposed proximate a urethra of a patient, see paragraphs [0053] and [0054].
Claim 18 - the inflatable member -1- is configured to be disposed in a circular configuration and is configured to surround a urethra of a patient, see figure 1 and paragraphs [0053] and [0054].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohlrieder et al(2019/0133737, hereinafter Hohl) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bratteli(6,733,461, hereinafter Brat) .
Claim 12 – Hohl teaches an apparatus as claimed but does not teach a smoothing module configured to smooth the pressure data.
Brat teaches an apparatus for improving pressure calibration including a smoothing module for smoothing the pressure data to enable consistent determining and marking changes in the pressure, column 9 lines 53.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the medical arts at the time the invention was effectively filed include a smoothing module(filter) configured to smooth the pressure data measured by the sensor -22- to more effectively determine the changes in the pressure as suggested by Brat. Such smoothing is accomplished by using appropriate filtering which produces smoothed pressure data as taught by Brat.
Such a modification to the apparatus of Hohl would produce an apparatus including the appropriate filters configured to smooth the pressure data as suggested by Brat.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohlrieder et al(2019/0133737, hereinafter Hohl) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Bratteli(6,733,461, hereinafter Brat) .
Claim 20 – Hohl teaches a method as claimed but does not teach smoothing the pressure data.
Brat teaches a method of improving pressure calibration including smoothing the pressure data to enable consistent determining and marking changes in the pressure, column 9 lines 53.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the medical arts at the time the invention was effectively filed to smooth the pressure data measured by the sensor -22- to more effectively determine the changes in the pressure as suggested by Brat. Such smoothing is accomplished by using appropriate filtering which produces smoothed pressure data as taught by Brat.
Such a modification to the method of Hohl would produce a method including smoothing the pressure data.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL G GILBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791