DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figures 1-13, Claims 1-13 and 15-18 [applicant provided no argument] in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, “boar” should be corrected as --board--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the structure and/or arrangement of the “bobbin body” of the bobbin assembly is unclear. Figures 1-13 of the present invention focus on the structure of the terminal header/support [310] for the transformer. The structure and/or arrangement of the “transformer board” is unclear. Applicant should clarify. Claims 2-13 and 15-18 inherit the defect of the parent claim.
Claims 4-5, the meaning of “side surface” and “front surface” is not clearly specified and/or defined. Applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the flange part extend/protrude relative to the “bobbin body”.
Regarding claim 13, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the snap protrusions relative to the “bobbin body” and the transformer board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-11, and 15-18, as best understood in view of the rejection under 112 second paragraph, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen [CN 211907169 U].
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5 and 15, Chen discloses a planar transformer mounted on a main PCB [300], comprising: a transformer board [113]; a core part [111, 112] positioned at a central portion [CH] of the transformer board; a bobbin assembly provided on the transformer boar; and one or more pins connecting the transformer board and the main PCB to each other [figures 1-4], wherein the bobbin assembly comprising: a bobbin body [211, 221]; and a flange part [LS2, LS4] protruding from the bobbin body and having a lower surface mounted on an upper surface of the main PCB, wherein the bobbin body is coupled to the transformer board with the flange part extends from a front surface of the bobbin body and protrudes from the side surface of the bobbin body by a predetermined length [figures 1-2].
Regarding claim 6, Chen further discloses more pins [figures 1-6] connecting the transformer board and the main PCB to each other, wherein each of the one or more pins is fixed by the bobbin body.
Regarding claims 7 and 16-17, Chen further discloses a through hole [TH] through which each of the one or more pins penetrates is formed in the transformer board, and an end of each of the pins penetrating through the transformer board is welded, such that each of the pins is welded and coupled to the transformer board [figures 2-6], wherein each of the pins has a shape in which it is bent at least twice, and has one side coupled to the transformer board and the other side to the main PCB.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Chen discloses each of the pins has an inverted U-shape [figures 2-6].
Regarding claims 9-10, Chen discloses a through hole through which each of the pins penetrates is formed in the bobbin body [figures 1-6], a step part formed by forming a predetermined region including a portion in which the through hole is formed so as to be lower than the other region to form a step with the other region is formed in a lower portion of the bobbin body [figures 1-6].
Regarding claim 11, Chen further discloses a guide groove in which at least a portion of a central portion of each of the pins is accommodated is formed in the bobbin body [figure 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claim 2, Chen further discloses heights different [H1, H2] of the flange parts can be controlled/adjusted.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust the flange parts to have a lower surface thereof at a higher position than a lower surface of the transformer board for the purpose of providing positioning of the transformer relative to the main board.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, Chen discloses the “bobbin body” including flange part protrude and/or extend in different direction [figures 1-6].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to extend [and/or protrude] the flange part to the side surface [or the front surface, or the rear surface of the “bobbin body”] of Chen for the purpose of providing and/or improving support for the “bobbin assembly”.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Jun et al. [KR 101177061 B1].
Chen further discloses a width of the guide groove is substantially the same as a width of each of the pins.
Chen discloses the instant claimed invention except for the teaching of press-fitting of the pins.
Jun et al. discloses inverted U-shaped pins [130] press-fitted into a guiding slot/hole [123] of a coil structure [figures 5-6].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the press-fitting teaching of Jun et al. in Chen for the purpose of improving manufacturing and/or assembling.
Claim(s) 13, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Young et al. [KR 10-2018-0000677].
Chen discloses the instant claimed invention except for one or more snap protrusions.
Young et al. discloses a transformer structure comprising:
- a transformer “board” having a coil [116, 216 figures 1-3]; and
- at least one terminal header [fixing part 300] coupled to the transformer “board”, wherein the terminal header includes at least one terminal connecting pins [310] and one or more snap protrusions [330, 340] provided for coupling with the transformer “board”.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include at least one snap protrusions to Chen bobbin assembly, as suggested by Young et al., for the purpose of providing snap-fil structure and/or improving coupling.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837