CTFR 17/653,412 CTFR 86456 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments On pg. 13, par. 1 of Applicant’s Response, applicant argues that however, HUANG describes that the selection of the first RAT, in step 1506, can be based on a set of aspects, but HUANG does not disclose that the handover is step 1514 is based on any conditions. Thus, HUANG does not disclose or suggest "transition, based at least in part on at least one condition... a communication link carrying a protocol data unit (PDU) session from the second subscription to the first subscription," as recited in amended claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument. Huang states in par. 128, “At operation 1514, the UE 702 hands over the connection with the second IMS (~IP Multimedia Subsystem) server (e.g., the IMS service 714-2) (~using IMS (IP Multimedia Subsystem) in a 5G network, a dedicated PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session is established to carry the IMS voice and video traffic) from the second RAT to the first RAT or the third RAT”, wherein the handover from the second RAT (~second subscription) to the first RAT (~first subscription) (~step 1514 of Fig. 15) is based at least in part on at least one condition (~step 1512 of Fig. 15 - communicate, under the first subscriber identity, with a first IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) server of the first network through the first RAT to establish the first call) or can be based on any of the previous steps prior to step 1514 of Fig. 15 (~any of the previous steps are conditions for step 1514 to occur) since the step 1514 only occurs if the previous steps occur. To reiterate, step 1506 of Fig. 15 (~selecting based on condition) is also a condition (~previous step) required for step 1514 of Fig. 15 (~hand over from second RAT(~second subscription) to first RAT (~first subscription)) to occur. Huang states in par. 124, “At operation 1506, the UE 702 selects , in a first performance configuration, the first RAT to establish a first call under the first subscriber identity (e.g., the SIM1 702-1). In certain configurations, RAT is selected based on at least one of a call quality, a cost to make the first call, a power consumption (~condition associated with a device configuration of the UE) of the UE, and a handover rate”; wherein the transition from the second subscription (~SIM2) to the first subscription (~SIM1) is based on selecting the first subscription (~SIM1) and is thus based on the condition for selecting the first subscription (~SIM1) . The transition (step 1514 of Fig. 15) is based on the selection (step 1506 of Fig. 15), the selection (step 1506 of Fig. 15) is based on the conditions, and thus the transition (step 1514 of Fig. 15) is based on the conditions. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 3. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim s 1, 6-8, 17-20, 25, 30-32, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2019/0110236 A1) in view of Chen (US 2018/0368099 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ([0122], “wireless communication of a UE 702”) , comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Fig. 26, processor(s) 2604 coupled to computer-readable medium/memory 2606) , configured to: communicate using a first radio access technology (RAT) for a first subscription of the UE ([0124], “At operation 1506, the UE 702 selects, in a first performance configuration, the first RAT to establish a first call under the first subscriber identity (e.g., the SIM1 702-1) ”; [0127], “UE 702 communicates, under the first subscriber identity , with a first IMS server (e.g., the IMS service 714-1) of the first network through the first RAT to establish the first call”) , wherein the first RAT is selected from a group that includes a first cellular RAT associated with the first subscription, a second cellular RAT associated with a second subscription of the UE, and a wireless local area network (WLAN) RAT ([0123], “UE 702 determines whether the set includes a first RAT (e.g., the RAT-1 826) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-1) in the first network , a second RAT (e.g., the RAT-2 822) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-2) in the second network , and a third RAT (e.g., the RAT-3 824) accessing an access point of a WLAN (e.g., the WLAN network 716)”; [0122], “ a first subscriber identity (~first subscription) (e.g., SIM1 702-1) associated with a first network (e.g., the mobile network 791) and a second subscriber identity (~second subscription) (e.g., SIM2 702-2) associated with a second network (e.g., the mobile network 792)” ); communicate using a second RAT for the second subscription of the UE ([0140], “At operation 1706, the UE 702 communicates, under the second subscriber identity (~second subscription) , with the second IMS server through the second RAT (e.g., RAT-2 822) to establish the second call”) , wherein the second RAT is selected from the group that includes the first cellular RAT associated with the first subscription, the second cellular RAT associated with the second subscription of the UE, and the WLAN RAT ([0123], “UE 702 determines whether the set includes a first RAT (e.g., the RAT-1 826) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-1) in the first network , a second RAT (e.g., the RAT-2 822) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-2) in the second network , and a third RAT (e.g., the RAT-3 824) accessing an access point of a WLAN (e.g., the WLAN network 716)”; [0122], “ a first subscriber identity (~first subscription) (e.g., SIM1 702-1) associated with a first network (e.g., the mobile network 791) and a second subscriber identity (~second subscription) (e.g., SIM2 702-2) associated with a second network (e.g., the mobile network 792)” ); and transition, based at least in part on at least one condition, a communication link carrying a protocol data unit (PDU) session from the second subscription to the first subscription ([0128], “At operation 1514, the UE 702 hands over the connection with the second IMS (~IP Multimedia Subsystem) server (e.g., the IMS service 714-2) (~using IMS (IP Multimedia Subsystem) in a 5G network, a dedicated PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session is established to carry the IMS voice and video traffic) from the second RAT to the first RAT or the third RAT”, wherein the handover from the second RAT (~second subscription) to the first RAT (~first subscription) (~step 1514 of Fig. 15) is based at least in part on at least one condition (~step 1512 of Fig. 15 - communicate, under the first subscriber identity, with a first IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) server of the first network through the first RAT to establish the first call) or can be based on any of the previous steps prior to step 1514 of Fig. 15 (~any of the previous steps are conditions for step 1514 to occur) since the step 1514 only occurs if the previous steps occur ; To reiterate, step 1506 of Fig. 15 (~selecting based on condition) is also a condition (~previous step) required for step 1514 of Fig. 15 (~hand over from second RAT(~second subscription) to first RAT (~first subscription)) to occur; [0124], “At operation 1506, the UE 702 selects , in a first performance configuration, the first RAT to establish a first call under the first subscriber identity (e.g., the SIM1 702-1). In certain configurations, RAT is selected based on at least one of a call quality, a cost to make the first call, a power consumption (~condition associated with a device configuration of the UE) of the UE, and a handover rate”; wherein the transition from the second subscription (~SIM2) to the first subscription (~SIM1) is based on selecting the first subscription (~SIM1) and is thus based on the condition for selecting the first subscription (~SIM1) ; The transition is based on the selection, the selection is based on the conditions, and thus the transition is based on the conditions ) . Huang does not explicitly teach that the transition is based at least in part on the first subscription being a default data subscription (DDS) and the second subscription being a non-DDS subscription. However, Chen teaches transition is based at least in part on a first subscription being a default data subscription (DDS) and a second subscription being a non-DDS subscription (Based on a condition that a first subscription is a DDS and a second subscription a non-DDS ([0074], “a subscription associated with SIM card 215-a may be a DDS subscription and a subscription associated with SIM card 215-b may be a non-DDS subscription”) , a communication session transitions to the first DDS subscription from the second non-DDS subscription ([0074], “ The DDS subscription may dynamically or temporarily be switched for multimedia messaging service (MMS) (~PDU) reception ”, wherein the switch (~transition) is from the non-DDS subscription ) ; [0074], “one subscription may be prioritized over other subscriptions in dual SIM UEs 115. For example, a subscription associated with SIM card 215- a may be prioritized over the subscription associated with SIM card 215- b ... a subscription associated with SIM card 215- a may be a DDS subscription and a subscription associated with SIM card 215- b may be a non-DDS subscription ... The DDS subscription may dynamically or temporarily be switched for multimedia messaging service (MMS) reception ”; [0065], “Data services activated on one subscription and the corresponding network subscription for such data services are referred to herein as the primary (~default) subscription or the dedicated data subscription (DDS) (~primary (~default) subscription and dedicated data subscription (DDS) are equivalent and interchangeable) . Services that support voice calls only are often referred to as voice-only services or non-DDS services. Such subscription schemes may be elected or chosen based on data/voice plan costs and/or reliability (~wherein the default data subscription is chosen based on data/voice plan costs and/or reliability) ”, wherein on a dual SIM mobile device, a dedicated data subscription (DDS) is set as the default data subscription, allowing users to designate one specific SIM for all mobile data usage while potentially using the other SIM for calls and messages ) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chen with the teaching of Huang in order to have a pre-selected data plan that is automatically applied to a user's account essentially acting as the standard data option for their service, providing a baseline data usage amount without requiring manual selection each time they need to subscribe to a plan as well as a separate mobile data plan that is not automatically used by your device, allowing you to choose which data plan to use depending on your needs. Regarding claim 6, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one condition further comprises that a voice call is active on the first subscription (Huang [0110], “At beginning 1316, a SIM1 call is active . More specifically, at 1318, SIM1 call is active on SIM1 RAT-OPT-A 1306”; [0127], “At operation 1512, the UE 702 communicates, under the first subscriber identity , with a first IMS server (e.g., the IMS service 714-1) of the first network through the first RAT to establish the first call ”; [0090], “ SIM1 702-1 is used to have a voice call ”) , and that voice over WLAN service is enabled on the second subscription ([0111], “Then SIM2 voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) mobile terminating call occurs at 1322”; [0110], “ SIM2 1304 is using the WLAN network 716”; [0119], “UE 702 can hand over SIM1 call to the WLAN network”; [0080], “under the subscriber identity of SIM2 702-2, the UE 702 can access the mobile network 792 through the WLAN network ”) . Regarding claim 7, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one condition further comprises that a voice call is active on the second subscription (Huang [0112], “ SIM2 call can become an active call ”; [0111], “ SIM2 voice ... call ”; [0080], “under the subscriber identity of SIM2 702-2”; [0140], At operation 1706, the UE 702 communicates, under the second subscriber identity , with the second IMS server through the second RAT (e.g., RAT-2 822) to establish the second call ”) , and that voice over WLAN service is enabled on the second subscription (Huang [0111], “Then SIM2 voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) mobile terminating call occurs at 1322”; [0110], “ SIM2 1304 is using the WLAN network 716”; [0119], “UE 702 can hand over SIM1 call to the WLAN network”; [0080], “under the subscriber identity of SIM2 702-2, the UE 702 can access the mobile network 792 through the WLAN network ”) . Regarding claim 8, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one condition further comprises that voice over WLAN service is disabled on the second subscription (Huang [0111], “SIM2 voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) mobile terminating call occurs at 1322”; [0112], “Then at 1326, UE can hold SIM1 call and pick up SIM2 call, so that SIM2 call can become an active call. More specifically, a performance centric mechanism is applied at 1328, and SIM2 call becomes active on SIM2 RAT-OPT-A 1312 (~a voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) is no longer active and instead a mobile network is now active) and thus the voice over WLAN service is disabled on the second subscription (~SIM2)) ; Note: Huang [0109], “where SIM2 RAT-OPT-A 1312 refers to a RAT accessing the SIM's own network, i.e., the mobile network 792”) ; [0114], “ To keep active call performance, SIM2 call need to be transferred to mobile network, i.e., the mobile network 792. Thus, at 1338, connection of SIM2 1304 is handed over to SIM2 RAT-OPT-A 1312”, wherein the handover of the SIM2 1304 (~second subscription) to SIM2 RAT-OPT-A 1312 (~first subscription) based on a condition that a voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) is disabled ) . Regarding claim 17, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first RAT for the first subscription or the second RAT for the second subscription is selected based at least in part on (Huang [0124], “the first RAT is selected based on at least one of a call quality, a cost to make the first call, a power consumption of the UE, and a handover rate”) at least one of: a user setting stored by the UE; a RAT preference associated with at least one of the first cellular RAT, the second cellular RAT, or the WLAN RAT; at least one of an availability of the first cellular RAT, an availability of the second cellular RAT, or an availability of the WLAN RAT; or a signal quality measured for at least one of the first cellular RAT, the second cellular RAT, or the WLAN RAT (Huang [0124], “the first RAT is selected based on at least one of a call quality, a cost to make the first call, a power consumption of the UE, and a handover rate”) . Regarding claim 18, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors (Huang Fig. 26, processor(s) 2604) are further configured to: monitor at least one of availability or signal quality for at least one of the first cellular RAT, the second cellular RAT, or the WLAN RAT (Huang [0123], “UE 702 determines whether the set includes a first RAT (e.g., the RAT-1 826) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-1) in the first network, a second RAT (e.g., the RAT-2 822) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-2) in the second network, and a third RAT (e.g., the RAT-3 824) accessing an access point of a WLAN (e.g., the WLAN network 716)”) ; select a different RAT, than the selected RAT, based at least in part on monitoring at least one of the availability or the signal quality (Huang [0124], “the first RAT is selected based on at least one of a call quality, a cost to make the first call, a power consumption of the UE, and a handover rate”; [0107], “applying performance centric mechanism 1226 includes that SIM2 IMS service is transferred to the IMS service 714-2, at 1228. In other words, SIM2 call is using its own network, i.e., the mobile network 792, and therefore, a better voice/video quality can be achieved. More specifically, at 1230, a PDN handover request is sent to the mobile network 792”) ; and communicate on the first subscription using the selected different RAT ([0127], “At operation 1512, the UE 702 communicates, under the first subscriber identity, with a first IMS server (e.g., the IMS service 714-1) of the first network through the first RAT to establish the first call”) . Regarding claim 19, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the communication link carrying the PDU session includes at least one of an evolved packet data gateway tunnel or a non-3GPP interworking function tunnel (Huang [0119], “IPsec (~non-3GPP) tunnel setup”, wherein IPsec establishes a secure tunnel between a user device and the network through a "Non-3GPP Interworking Function" (N3IWF) in 5G networks ) . Regarding claim 20, Huang teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) ([0122], “wireless communication of a UE 702”) , comprising: communicating using a first radio access technology (RAT) for a first subscription of the UE ([0124], “At operation 1506, the UE 702 selects, in a first performance configuration, the first RAT to establish a first call under the first subscriber identity (e.g., the SIM1 702-1) ”; [0127], “UE 702 communicates, under the first subscriber identity , with a first IMS server (e.g., the IMS service 714-1) of the first network through the first RAT to establish the first call”) , wherein the first RAT is selected from a group that includes a first cellular RAT associated with the first subscription, a second cellular RAT associated with a second subscription of the UE, and a wireless local area network (WLAN) RAT ([0123], “UE 702 determines whether the set includes a first RAT (e.g., the RAT-1 826) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-1) in the first network , a second RAT (e.g., the RAT-2 822) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-2) in the second network , and a third RAT (e.g., the RAT-3 824) accessing an access point of a WLAN (e.g., the WLAN network 716)”; [0122], “ a first subscriber identity (~first subscription) (e.g., SIM1 702-1) associated with a first network (e.g., the mobile network 791) and a second subscriber identity (~second subscription) (e.g., SIM2 702-2) associated with a second network (e.g., the mobile network 792)” ); communicating using a second RAT for the second subscription of the UE ([0140], “At operation 1706, the UE 702 communicates, under the second subscriber identity (~second subscription) , with the second IMS server through the second RAT (e.g., RAT-2 822) to establish the second call”) , wherein the second RAT is selected from the group that includes the first cellular RAT associated with the first subscription, the second cellular RAT associated with the second subscription of the UE, and the WLAN RAT ([0123], “UE 702 determines whether the set includes a first RAT (e.g., the RAT-1 826) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-1) in the first network , a second RAT (e.g., the RAT-2 822) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-2) in the second network , and a third RAT (e.g., the RAT-3 824) accessing an access point of a WLAN (e.g., the WLAN network 716)”; [0122], “ a first subscriber identity (~first subscription) (e.g., SIM1 702-1) associated with a first network (e.g., the mobile network 791) and a second subscriber identity (~second subscription) (e.g., SIM2 702-2) associated with a second network (e.g., the mobile network 792)” ); and transitioning, based at least in part on at least one condition, a communication link carrying a protocol data unit (PDU) session from the second subscription to the first subscription ([0128], “At operation 1514, the UE 702 hands over the connection with the second IMS (~IP Multimedia Subsystem) server (e.g., the IMS service 714-2) (~using IMS (IP Multimedia Subsystem) in a 5G network, a dedicated PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session is established to carry the IMS voice and video traffic) from the second RAT to the first RAT or the third RAT”, wherein the handover from the second RAT (~second subscription) to the first RAT (~first subscription) (~step 1514 of Fig. 15) is based at least in part on at least one condition (~step 1512 of Fig. 15 - communicate, under the first subscriber identity, with a first IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) server of the first network through the first RAT to establish the first call) or can be based on any of the previous steps prior to step 1514 of Fig. 15 (~any of the previous steps are conditions for step 1514 to occur) since the step 1514 only occurs if the previous steps occur ; To reiterate, step 1506 of Fig. 15 (~selecting based on condition) is also a condition (~previous step) required for step 1514 of Fig. 15 (~hand over from second RAT(~second subscription) to first RAT (~first subscription)) to occur; [0124], “At operation 1506, the UE 702 selects , in a first performance configuration, the first RAT to establish a first call under the first subscriber identity (e.g., the SIM1 702-1). In certain configurations, RAT is selected based on at least one of a call quality, a cost to make the first call, a power consumption (~condition associated with a device configuration of the UE) of the UE, and a handover rate”; wherein the transition from the second subscription (~SIM2) to the first subscription (~SIM1) is based on selecting the first subscription (~SIM1) and is thus based on the condition for selecting the first subscription (~SIM1) ; The transition is based on the selection, the selection is based on the conditions, and thus the transition is based on the conditions ) . Huang does not explicitly teach that the transitioning is based at least in part on the first subscription being a default data subscription (DDS) and the second subscription being a non-DDS subscription. However, Chen teaches transitioning based at least in part on a first subscription being a default data subscription (DDS) and a second subscription being a non-DDS subscription (Based on a condition that a first subscription is a DDS and a second subscription a non-DDS ([0074], “a subscription associated with SIM card 215-a may be a DDS subscription and a subscription associated with SIM card 215-b may be a non-DDS subscription”) , a communication session transitions to the first DDS subscription from the second non-DDS subscription ([0074], “ The DDS subscription may dynamically or temporarily be switched for multimedia messaging service (MMS) (~PDU) reception ”, wherein the switch (~transition) is from the non-DDS subscription ) ; [0074], “one subscription may be prioritized over other subscriptions in dual SIM UEs 115. For example, a subscription associated with SIM card 215- a may be prioritized over the subscription associated with SIM card 215- b ... a subscription associated with SIM card 215- a may be a DDS subscription and a subscription associated with SIM card 215- b may be a non-DDS subscription ... The DDS subscription may dynamically or temporarily be switched for multimedia messaging service (MMS) reception ”; [0065], “Data services activated on one subscription and the corresponding network subscription for such data services are referred to herein as the primary (~default) subscription or the dedicated data subscription (DDS) (~primary (~default) subscription and dedicated data subscription (DDS) are equivalent and interchangeable) . Services that support voice calls only are often referred to as voice-only services or non-DDS services. Such subscription schemes may be elected or chosen based on data/voice plan costs and/or reliability (~wherein the default data subscription is chosen based on data/voice plan costs and/or reliability) ”, wherein on a dual SIM mobile device, a dedicated data subscription (DDS) is set as the default data subscription, allowing users to designate one specific SIM for all mobile data usage while potentially using the other SIM for calls and messages ) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chen with the teaching of Huang in order to have a pre-selected data plan that is automatically applied to a user's account essentially acting as the standard data option for their service, providing a baseline data usage amount without requiring manual selection each time they need to subscribe to a plan as well as a separate mobile data plan that is not automatically used by your device, allowing you to choose which data plan to use depending on your needs. Regarding claim 25, Huang in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the at least one condition further comprises that a voice call is active on the first subscription (Huang [0110], “At beginning 1316, a SIM1 call is active . More specifically, at 1318, SIM1 call is active on SIM1 RAT-OPT-A 1306”; [0127], “At operation 1512, the UE 702 communicates, under the first subscriber identity , with a first IMS server (e.g., the IMS service 714-1) of the first network through the first RAT to establish the first call ”; [0090], “ SIM1 702-1 is used to have a voice call ”) , and that voice over WLAN service is enabled on the second subscription (Huang [0111], “Then SIM2 voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) mobile terminating call occurs at 1322”; [0110], “ SIM2 1304 is using the WLAN network 716”; [0119], “UE 702 can hand over SIM1 call to the WLAN network”; [0080], “under the subscriber identity of SIM2 702-2, the UE 702 can access the mobile network 792 through the WLAN network ”) . Regarding claim 30, Huang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE ([0122], “a method (process) of wireless communication of a UE 702”; [0225], “The one or more processors 2604 are responsible for general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium/memory 2606. The software, when executed by the one or more processors 2604, causes the processing system 2614 to perform the various functions described supra for any particular apparatus. The computer-readable medium/memory 2606 may also be used for storing data that is manipulated by the one or more processors 2604 when executing software ”) to: communicate using a first radio access technology (RAT) for a first subscription of the UE ([0124], “At operation 1506, the UE 702 selects, in a first performance configuration, the first RAT to establish a first call under the first subscriber identity (e.g., the SIM1 702-1) ”; [0127], “UE 702 communicates, under the first subscriber identity , with a first IMS server (e.g., the IMS service 714-1) of the first network through the first RAT to establish the first call”) , wherein the first RAT is selected from a group that includes a first cellular RAT associated with the first subscription, a second cellular RAT associated with a second subscription of the UE, and a wireless local area network (WLAN) RAT ([0123], “UE 702 determines whether the set includes a first RAT (e.g., the RAT-1 826) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-1) in the first network , a second RAT (e.g., the RAT-2 822) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-2) in the second network , and a third RAT (e.g., the RAT-3 824) accessing an access point of a WLAN (e.g., the WLAN network 716)”; [0122], “ a first subscriber identity (~first subscription) (e.g., SIM1 702-1) associated with a first network (e.g., the mobile network 791) and a second subscriber identity (~second subscription) (e.g., SIM2 702-2) associated with a second network (e.g., the mobile network 792)” ); communicate using a second RAT for the second subscription of the UE ([0140], “At operation 1706, the UE 702 communicates, under the second subscriber identity (~second subscription) , with the second IMS server through the second RAT (e.g., RAT-2 822) to establish the second call”) , wherein the second RAT is selected from the group that includes the first cellular RAT associated with the first subscription, the second cellular RAT associated with the second subscription of the UE, and the WLAN RAT ([0123], “UE 702 determines whether the set includes a first RAT (e.g., the RAT-1 826) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-1) in the first network , a second RAT (e.g., the RAT-2 822) accessing a base station (e.g., the base station 704-2) in the second network , and a third RAT (e.g., the RAT-3 824) accessing an access point of a WLAN (e.g., the WLAN network 716)”; [0122], “ a first subscriber identity (~first subscription) (e.g., SIM1 702-1) associated with a first network (e.g., the mobile network 791) and a second subscriber identity (~second subscription) (e.g., SIM2 702-2) associated with a second network (e.g., the mobile network 792)” ); and transition, based at least in part on at least one condition, a communication link carrying a protocol data unit (PDU) session from the second subscription to the first subscription ([0128], “At operation 1514, the UE 702 hands over the connection with the second IMS (~IP Multimedia Subsystem) server (e.g., the IMS service 714-2) (~using IMS (IP Multimedia Subsystem) in a 5G network, a dedicated PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session is established to carry the IMS voice and video traffic) from the second RAT to the first RAT or the third RAT”, wherein the handover from the second RAT (~second subscription) to the first RAT (~first subscription) (~step 1514 of Fig. 15) is based at least in part on at least one condition (~step 1512 of Fig. 15 - communicate, under the first subscriber identity, with a first IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) server of the first network through the first RAT to establish the first call) or can be based on any of the previous steps prior to step 1514 of Fig. 15 (~any of the previous steps are conditions for step 1514 to occur) since the step 1514 only occurs if the previous steps occur ; To reiterate, step 1506 of Fig. 15 (~selecting based on condition) is also a condition (~previous step) required for step 1514 of Fig. 15 (~hand over from second RAT(~second subscription) to first RAT (~first subscription)) to occur; [0124], “At operation 1506, the UE 702 selects , in a first performance configuration, the first RAT to establish a first call under the first subscriber identity (e.g., the SIM1 702-1). In certain configurations, RAT is selected based on at least one of a call quality, a cost to make the first call, a power consumption (~condition associated with a device configuration of the UE) of the UE, and a handover rate”; wherein the transition from the second subscription (~SIM2) to the first subscription (~SIM1) is based on selecting the first subscription (~SIM1) and is thus based on the condition for selecting the first subscription (~SIM1) ; The transition is based on the selection, the selection is based on the conditions, and thus the transition is based on the conditions ) . Huang does not explicitly teach the transition based at least in part on the first subscription being a default data subscription (DDS) and the second subscription being a non-DDS subscription. However, Chen teaches transition based at least in part on a first subscription being a default data subscription (DDS) and a second subscription being a non-DDS subscription (Based on a condition that a first subscription is a DDS and a second subscription a non-DDS ([0074], “a subscription associated with SIM card 215-a may be a DDS subscription and a subscription associated with SIM card 215-b may be a non-DDS subscription”) , a communication session transitions to the first DDS subscription from the second non-DDS subscription ([0074], “ The DDS subscription may dynamically or temporarily be switched for multimedia messaging service (MMS) (~PDU) reception ”, wherein the switch (~transition) is from the non-DDS subscription ) ; [0074], “one subscription may be prioritized over other subscriptions in dual SIM UEs 115. For example, a subscription associated with SIM card 215- a may be prioritized over the subscription associated with SIM card 215- b ... a subscription associated with SIM card 215- a may be a DDS subscription and a subscription associated with SIM card 215- b may be a non-DDS subscription ... The DDS subscription may dynamically or temporarily be switched for multimedia messaging service (MMS) reception ”; [0065], “Data services activated on one subscription and the corresponding network subscription for such data services are referred to herein as the primary (~default) subscription or the dedicated data subscription (DDS) (~primary (~default) subscription and dedicated data subscription (DDS) are equivalent and interchangeable) . Services that support voice calls only are often referred to as voice-only services or non-DDS services. Such subscription schemes may be elected or chosen based on data/voice plan costs and/or reliability (~wherein the default data subscription is chosen based on data/voice plan costs and/or reliability) ”, wherein on a dual SIM mobile device, a dedicated data subscription (DDS) is set as the default data subscription, allowing users to designate one specific SIM for all mobile data usage while potentially using the other SIM for calls and messages ) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chen with the teaching of Huang in order to have a pre-selected data plan that is automatically applied to a user's account essentially acting as the standard data option for their service, providing a baseline data usage amount without requiring manual selection each time they need to subscribe to a plan as well as a separate mobile data plan that is not automatically used by your device, allowing you to choose which data plan to use depending on your needs. Regarding claim 31, Huang teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the at least one condition further comprises that a voice call is active on the second subscription (Huang [0112], “ SIM2 call can become an active call ”; [0111], “ SIM2 voice ... call ”; [0080], “under the subscriber identity of SIM2 702-2”; [0140], At operation 1706, the UE 702 communicates, under the second subscriber identity , with the second IMS server through the second RAT (e.g., RAT-2 822) to establish the second call ”) , and that voice over WLAN service is enabled on the second subscription ([0111], “Then SIM2 voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) mobile terminating call occurs at 1322”; [0110], “ SIM2 1304 is using the WLAN network 716”; [0119], “UE 702 can hand over SIM1 call to the WLAN network”; [0080], “under the subscriber identity of SIM2 702-2, the UE 702 can access the mobile network 792 through the WLAN network ”) . Regarding claim 32, Huang in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the at least one condition further comprises that voice over WLAN service is disabled on the second subscription (Huang [0111], “SIM2 voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) mobile terminating call occurs at 1322”; [0112], “Then at 1326, UE can hold SIM1 call and pick up SIM2 call, so that SIM2 call can become an active call. More specifically, a performance centric mechanism is applied at 1328, and SIM2 call becomes active on SIM2 RAT-OPT-A 1312 (~a voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) is no longer active and instead a mobile network is now active) and thus the voice over WLAN service is disabled on the second subscription (~SIM2)) ; Note: Huang [0109], “where SIM2 RAT-OPT-A 1312 refers to a RAT accessing the SIM's own network, i.e., the mobile network 792”) ; [0114], “ To keep active call performance, SIM2 call need to be transferred to mobile network, i.e., the mobile network 792. Thus, at 1338, connection of SIM2 1304 is handed over to SIM2 RAT-OPT-A 1312”, wherein the handover of the SIM2 1304 (~second subscription) to SIM2 RAT-OPT-A 1312 (~first subscription) based on a condition that a voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) is disabled ) .. Regarding claim 35, Huang in view of Chen teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication of claim 30, wherein the at least one condition further comprises that a voice call is active on the second subscription (Huang [0112], “ SIM2 call can become an active call ”; [0111], “ SIM2 voice ... call ”; [0080], “under the subscriber identity of SIM2 702-2”; [0140], At operation 1706, the UE 702 communicates, under the second subscriber identity , with the second IMS server through the second RAT (e.g., RAT-2 822) to establish the second call ”) , and that voice over WLAN service is enabled on the second subscription (Huang [0111], “Then SIM2 voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) mobile terminating call occurs at 1322”; [0110], “ SIM2 1304 is using the WLAN network 716”; [0119], “UE 702 can hand over SIM1 call to the WLAN network”; [0080], “under the subscriber identity of SIM2 702-2, the UE 702 can access the mobile network 792 through the WLAN network ”) . Regarding claim 36, Huang in view of Chen teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication of claim 30, wherein the at least one condition further comprises that a voice call is active on the first subscription (Huang [0110], “At beginning 1316, a SIM1 call is active . More specifically, at 1318, SIM1 call is active on SIM1 RAT-OPT-A 1306”; [0127], “At operation 1512, the UE 702 communicates, under the first subscriber identity , with a first IMS server (e.g., the IMS service 714-1) of the first network through the first RAT to establish the first call ”; [0090], “ SIM1 702-1 is used to have a voice call ”) , and that voice over WLAN service is enabled on the second subscription (Huang [0111], “Then SIM2 voice-over-WiFi (VoWifi) mobile terminating call occurs at 1322”; [0110], “ SIM2 1304 is using the WLAN network 716”; [0119], “UE 702 can hand over SIM1 call to the WLAN network”; [0080], “under the subscriber identity of SIM2 702-2, the UE 702 can access the mobile network 792 through the WLAN network ”) . 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim s 2 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen, and further in view of Telang (US 2017/0223597 A1) . Regarding claim 2, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to deactivate a cellular radio component associated with the second subscription based at least in part on transitioning the communication link carrying the PDU session from the second subscription to the first subscription. However, Telang teaches wherein one or more processors ([0011], “apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory and operable, when executed by the processor”) are further configured to deactivate a cellular radio component associated with a second subscription based at least in part on transitioning a communication link carrying a PDU session from the second subscription to a first subscription ([0046-0047], “If the user selects to keep the active voice call active, the UE 115- a communicates and interacts with an IMS (~using IMS (IP Multimedia Subsystem) in a 5G network, a dedicated PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session is established to carry the IMS voice and video traffic) to perform a handover process that transfers the active voice call to a VoWiFi-capable modem (e.g., a second radio resource of the UE 115- a ). The UE 115- a will then disable the VoLTE-capable modem as well as any other cellular-based radio resources of the UE 115- a while keeping the VoWiFi-capable modem active. In this manner, disabling (~deactivating) the cellular-based radio resources of the UE 115 may include deactivating one or more components of the cellular based radio resources circuitry , powering down the cellular-based radio resources, disabling a transmission path to one or more antennas associated with the cellular-based radio resources, etc.”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Telang with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to drastically lower current draws from the UE’s battery by significantly or completely cutting off electrical power supply to the UE’s cellular radio components. Regarding claim 21, Huang in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 20. The combination does not explicitly teach further comprising deactivating a cellular radio component associated with the second subscription based at least in part on transitioning the communication link carrying the PDU session from the second subscription to the first subscription. However, Telang teaches further comprising deactivating a cellular radio component associated with a second subscription based at least in part on transitioning a communication link carrying a PDU session from the second subscription to a first subscription ([0046-0047], “If the user selects to keep the active voice call active, the UE 115- a communicates and interacts with an IMS (~using IMS (IP Multimedia Subsystem) in a 5G network, a dedicated PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session is established to carry the IMS voice and video traffic) to perform a handover process that transfers the active voice call to a VoWiFi-capable modem (e.g., a second radio resource of the UE 115- a ). The UE 115- a will then disable the VoLTE-capable modem as well as any other cellular-based radio resources of the UE 115- a while keeping the VoWiFi-capable modem active. In this manner, disabling (~deactivating) the cellular-based radio resources of the UE 115 may include deactivating one or more components of the cellular based radio resources circuitry , powering down the cellular-based radio resources, disabling a transmission path to one or more antennas associated with the cellular-based radio resources, etc.”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Telang with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to drastically lower current draws from the UE’s battery by significantly or completely cutting off electrical power supply to the UE’s cellular radio components . 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim s 3 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen, and further in view of Aydin (US 2016/0255581 A1) . Regarding claim 3, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one condition further comprises that a remaining battery power of the UE is less than or equal to a battery power threshold. However, Aydin teaches wherein the at least one condition further comprises that a remaining battery power of the UE is less than or equal to a battery power threshold ([0032], “BS will only be switched off if less than a threshold number of UE s served by the BS have remaining battery power levels less than a battery threshold ”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Aydin with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to maintain connectivity and prevent service disruptions by a seamless handoff connection, ensuring uninterrupted service. Regarding claim 22, Huang in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 20. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one condition further comprises that a remaining battery power of the UE is less than or equal to a battery power threshold. However, Aydin teaches wherein at least one condition further comprises that a remaining battery power of the UE is less than or equal to a battery power threshold ([0032], “BS will only be switched off if less than a threshold number of UE s served by the BS have remaining battery power levels less than a battery threshold ”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Aydin with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to maintain connectivity and prevent service disruptions by a seamless handoff connection, ensuring uninterrupted service . 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim s 5 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen, and further in view of Wu (US 2019/0075537 A1) . Regarding claim 5, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the communication link carrying the PDU session is a communication link carrying an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) PDU session (Huang [0125], “At operation 1508, the UE 702 maintains, under the first subscriber identity, a connection with the first IMS (~using IMS (IP Multimedia Subsystem) in a 5G network, a dedicated PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session is established to carry the IMS voice and video traffic) server (e.g., the IMS service 714-1) through the first RAT”) . The combination does not explicitly teach further comprise maintaining a first IMS registration on the first subscription and a second IMS registration on the second subscription after transitioning the communication link carrying the PDU session from the second subscription to the first subscription. However, Wu teaches further comprising maintaining a first IMS registration on a first subscription and a second IMS registration on a second subscription ([0030], “Step 504: Perform a first IMS registration via the LTE network and a second IMS registration second IMS registration via the NR network respectively, when registering to the LTE network and the NR network”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wu with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to allow a device to be readily accessible for multimedia communication services like voice and video calls over an IP network, essentially informing the network that the device is available to receive calls and ensuring seamless connection when needed. Regarding claim 24, Huang in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the communication link carrying the PDU session is a communication link carrying an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) PDU session (Huang [0125], “At operation 1508, the UE 702 maintains, under the first subscriber identity, a connection with the first IMS (~using IMS (IP Multimedia Subsystem) in a 5G network, a dedicated PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session is established to carry the IMS voice and video traffic) server (e.g., the IMS service 714-1) through the first RAT”) . The combination does not explicitly teach the method further comprising maintaining a first IMS registration on the first subscription and a second IMS registration on the second subscription after transitioning the communication link carrying the PDU session from the second subscription to the first subscription. However, Wu teaches a method further comprising maintaining a first IMS registration on a first subscription and a second IMS registration on a second subscription ([0030], “Step 504: Perform a first IMS registration via the LTE network and a second IMS registration second IMS registration via the NR network respectively, when registering to the LTE network and the NR network”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wu with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to allow a device to be readily accessible for multimedia communication services like voice and video calls over an IP network, essentially informing the network that the device is available to receive calls and ensuring seamless connection when needed . 07-21-aia AIA 9. Claim s 9 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen, and further in view of Raghunathan (US 2018/0063735 A1) . Regarding claim 9, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. wherein the one or more processors (Huang [0122], “a method (process) of wireless communication of a UE 702”; [0225], “The one or more processors 2604 are responsible for general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium/memory 2606. The software, when executed by the one or more processors 2604, causes the processing system 2614 to perform the various functions described supra for any particular apparatus. The computer-readable medium/memory 2606 may also be used for storing data that is manipulated by the one or more processors 2604 when executing software ”) are further configured to attempt the call on the first subscription after transitioning the communication link carrying the PDU session from the second subscription to the first subscription (Huang [0128], “At operation 1514, the UE 702 hands over the connection with the second IMS server (e.g., the IMS service 714-2) from the second RAT to the first RAT or the third RAT”) . The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one condition further comprises that a call that originates on the second subscription experiences a call failure. However, Background of Raghunathan teaches wherein at least one a condition further comprises that a call that originates on a second subscription experiences a call failure ([0004], “user-experience with respect to the second subscription ... call failure on the second subscription”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Background of Raghunathan with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to prevent dropped calls on a network which can significantly impact user experience, causing frustration, productivity loss, and even safety concerns. Regarding claim 33, Huang in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the method further comprises: attempting the call on the first subscription after transitioning the communication link carrying the PDU session from the second subscription to the first subscription (Huang [0128], “At operation 1514, the UE 702 hands over the connection with the second IMS server (e.g., the IMS service 714-2) from the second RAT to the first RAT or the third RAT”) . The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least condition further comprises that a call that originates on the second subscription experiences a call failure. However, Background of Raghunathan teaches wherein a condition further comprises that a call that originates on a second subscription experiences a call failure ([0004], “user-experience with respect to the second subscription ... call failure on the second subscription”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Background of Raghunathan with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to prevent dropped calls on a network which can significantly impact user experience, causing frustration, productivity loss, and even safety concerns . 07-21-aia AIA 10. Claim s 10 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen, and further in view of Palat ("Accessing Legacy Technologies by a User Equipment", WO 2018031649 A1, pub. date 2018-02-15) . Regarding claim 10, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one condition further comprises a radio frequency limitation associated with a first band for the first subscription and a second band for the second subscription. However, Palat teaches wherein at least one condition further comprises a radio frequency limitation associated with a first band for a first subscription and a second band for a second subscription ([0084], RF frequency limitations of NR (~first band for a first subscription) and another technology (~second band for a second subscription) ) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Palat with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to protect people from potential health risks associated with excessive exposure to RF energy, typically measured in terms of Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) and enforced by organizations like FCC or similar bodies depending on the region. Regarding claim 34, Huang in view of Chen teaches the method of claim 20. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one condition further comprises a radio frequency limitation associated with a first band for the first subscription and a second band for the second subscription. However, Palat teaches wherein at least one condition further comprises a radio frequency limitation associated with a first band for a first subscription and a second band for a second subscription ([0084], RF frequency limitations of NR (~first band for a first subscription) and another technology (~second band for a second subscription) ) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Palat with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to protect people from potential health risks associated with excessive exposure to RF energy, typically measured in terms of Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) and enforced by organizations like FCC or similar bodies depending on the region . 07-21-aia AIA 11. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen, and further in view of Bawaskar ("High Priority Control is Operating Near the Cell Edge of the Switching of the User Equipment, CN 105917700 A, pub. date 2016-08-31) . Regarding claim 11, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one condition further comprises a high priority operation or a latency-sensitive operation associated with the first subscription. However, Bawaskar teaches wherein at least one condition further comprises a high priority operation or a latency-sensitive operation associated with a first subscription (pg. 5, “user experience of UE near the cell edge of the high priority operation ... for making a handover decision”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Bawaskar with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to save bandwidth and provides the cell boundary condition of better control of the operator (pg. 5 Bawaskar) . 07-21-aia AIA 12. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen, and further in view of Goddeti (US 2019/0306898 A1) . Regarding claim 12, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one condition further comprises that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) service is not available for the second subscription. However, Goddeti teaches wherein a condition further comprises that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) service is not available for a second subscription ([0026], “a subscriber's own cellular service may be in outage; for example, due to poor radio conditions, an IMS service on the subscriber may become unavailable via the subscriber's radio access network”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Goddeti with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order for another subscriber to provide an internet connection to an end-user and its applications using internet resource of one subscriber to support IMS services on another subscriber (Goddeti [0026]) . 07-21-aia AIA 13. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen, and further in view of Meredith (US 2013/0051239 A1) . Regarding claim 13, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one condition further comprises a prediction of an event that will impact service on the second subscription. Meredith teaches wherein the at least one condition further comprises a prediction of an event that will impact service on a subscription ([0070], “predict potential loss of service as a result of the service outage at cell 505 B ”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Meredith with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to provide a better deployment of finite maintenance resources for correcting network service outages (Meredith [0007]) . 07-21-aia AIA 14. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen, further in view of Meredith, and further in view of Wang ("System and Methods for Predicting Service Demand Based on Geographically Associated Events", WO 2020204732 A1, pub. date 2020-10-08) . Regarding claim 14, Huang in view of Chen, and further in view of Meredith teaches the apparatus of claim 13. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the event is predicted based at least in part on applying one or more machine learning techniques. However, Wang teaches wherein an event is predicted based at least in part on applying one or more machine learning techniques ([0123], “machine learning operating on historic data, that are used to predict the impact of future events”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen and Meredith in order to improve accuracy over time on predictions by being trained on data sets to identify patterns . 07-21-aia AIA 15. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen, and further in view of Raghunathan2 (US 2017/0332222 A1) . Regarding claim 15, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one condition further comprises an emergency call on the first subscription. However, Raghunathan2 teaches wherein the at least one condition further comprises an emergency call on the first subscription ([0011], “initiate an emergency call on a first subscription”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Raghunathan2 with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order for a user to immediately contact emergency services even if their phone number is not yet fully activated or registered on a network, ensuring access to critical help in situations requiring immediate response, regardless of their account setup status, prioritizing emergency calls and routing them to appropriate authorities even with limited network information . 07-21-aia AIA 16. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chen, and further in view of White (US 2015/0365820 A1) . Regarding claim 16, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors (Huang Fig. 26, processor(s) 2604) are further configured to establish a tunnel to a home network of the UE, via a network connection with another UE (Huang [0077], “the UE 702 may establish a secure tunnel over the WLAN network 716 with the ePDG 718. With the help of the ePDG 718 and the WLAN network 716, the UE 702 can communicate with the UE 703 via both the WLAN network 716 and the PDN gateway 708-2 of the mobile network 792 corresponding to SIM2 702-2”) .. The combination does not explicitly teach that the establishing of the tunnel is based at least in part on detecting a loss of cellular coverage for the UE. However, White teaches establishing of a connection is based at least in part on detecting a loss of cellular coverage for the UE ([0016-0017], “The mobile station may not be connected to the cellular network for several reasons ... due to the mobile station being in a geographic area with poor cellular coverage ... Upon determining that the mobile station is not presently connected to the cellular network, the device management server signals a home subscriber server (HSS) to update a user equipment profile for the mobile station to indicate that the mobile station has a pending device management session. The mobile station may connect to a first network either in real-time (e.g., without any intentional delay) or a time period (e.g., 10 minutes, 1 hour, 12 hours, etc.) after the HSS updates the user equipment profile for the mobile station”) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of White with the teaching of Huang as modified by Chen in order to enable continued data transfer, allowing of sending and receiving messages, accessing the internet, and making calls even when cellular signal is weak or absent. Conclusion 07-39 AIA 17. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEXANDER J. YI whose telephone number is (571)270-7696. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday: 8:00AM to 5PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jinsong Hu can be reached at (571)272-3965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALEXANDER J YI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643 /JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 2 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 3 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 4 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 5 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 6 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 7 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 8 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 9 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 10 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 11 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 12 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 13 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 14 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 15 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 16 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 17 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 18 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 19 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 20 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 21 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 22 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 23 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 24 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 25 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 26 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 27 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 28 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 29 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 30 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 31 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 32 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 33 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 34 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 35 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 36 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 37 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 38 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 39 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 17/653,412 Page 40 Art Unit: 2643