DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10-12, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2018/0290264, previously cited) in view of Matthee (US 6042886, previously cited) and further in view of Kasashima (US 2009/0165768, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches an abrasive article comprising a body including: an abrasive portion (162) having an annular shape (fig 15) defined by an inner annular surface (surface connected to backing 160), the abrasive portion including abrasive particles contained in a bond material ([0116]), and wherein the abrasive portion comprises at least one groove in an outer annular surface (fig 16; concave groove on surface 168); and a backing (160) coupled to the inner annular surface of the abrasive portion (fig 16), wherein the backing comprises a first radial surface, a second radial surface opposite the first radial surface (top and bottom surfaces as viewed in fig 16), and an inner annular backing surface extending between the first radial surface and second radial surface (annular surface backing the abrasive portion as shown in fig 16), and wherein the backing does not comprise abrasive particles ([0115]; backing includes only a metal or metal alloy).
Li is silent as to an average surface roughness of the first radial surface, second radial surface, or inner annular backing surface being at least 0.1 microns. However, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (MPEP 2144.05 II. A.). Applicant has provided no showing of criticality for the claimed range. Additionally, Matthee teaches an abrasive article comprising a backing (1) wherein the surfaces (col 4, lines 59-64; entire body can be made of a material that provides the roughness, which would include all surfaces) of the backing have an average surface roughness of at least 0.1 microns (col 4, lines 45-52 describes roughness of abrasive layer is same as roughness of backing (not “leveled out” by abrasive coating); col 6, lines 4-5 describes roughness of 10 microns). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a surface roughness of the surfaces of the backing of Li, including the first and second radial surfaces and inner annular backing surface, as providing the backing with a particular surface roughness improves the bonding capabilities of the backing layer as taught by Matthee (col 4, lines 11-14).
Li does not teach the backing comprises a radial width that is at least 0.1% greater than a radial width of the abrasive portion. However, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (MPEP 2144.05 II. A.). Applicant has provided no showing of criticality to the relative radial widths of the backing or abrasive portion. Furthermore, Kasashima teaches an abrasive article comprising a backing (element 24 in fig 1D including elements 22a and 22b) and an abrasive portion (element 28 in fig 1D), recognizing that a radial width of the backing (H1 labeled in fig 1C) has a direct effect on the ability of the backing to reinforce the tool ([0045]), and a radial width of the abrasive portion (labeled H2 in fig 1C) has a direct effect on the tool life and deformation of the abrasive ([0048]). As Kasashima establishes the radial width of the backing and abrasive portion are both results effective variables, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the radial widths of the backing and abrasive portion of Li such that the radial width of the backing is at least 0.1% greater than the radial width of the abrasive portion, achieving the predictable result of optimizing reinforcement, tool life, and deformation as taught by Kasashima.
Regarding claim 3, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Claim 3 provides an upper limit to the range of relative widths recited in claim 1. As this has been established as a results effective variable, the range of claim 3 is obvious for substantially the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li as modified by Matthee further teaches average surface roughness of the first radial surface, second radial surface and inner annular backing surface is no greater than 25 microns (as described in the rejection of claim 1 above, Matthee teaches an average roughness of 10 microns; col 6, lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 5, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li as modified by Matthee further teaches the first radial surface, second radial surface and inner annular backing surface of the backing comprises an average surface roughness of at least 0.1 microns (as described in the rejection of claim 1 above, Matthee teaches making the entire backing with the roughened surface, which would include each of these surfaces when applied to the backing of Li).
Regarding claim 6, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li is silent as to a particular hardness of the backing. However, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (MPEP 2144.05 II. A.). Applicant has provided no showing of criticality for the claimed range. Additionally, Li further teaches the hardness of the backing can be selected to prevent cracking of the abrasive ([0122]). Therefore, It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed hardness of at least 76 HRB, as the hardness of the backing is a known results effective variable which effects the amount of deformation of the backing and the tendency of the abrasive to crack as taught by Li ([0122]).
Regarding claim 7, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li further teaches the backing comprises an axial thickness of no greater than 1% greater than an axial thickness of the abrasive portion (fig 16; thicknesses are equal).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li further teaches there is only one contact surface between the abrasive portion (162) and the backing (160), wherein the contact surface is the inner annular surface of the abrasive portion and an outer annular surface of the backing (as shown in figs 15 and 16).
Regarding claim 12, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li further teaches the bond material of the abrasive portion comprises tungsten ([0118]).
Regarding claims 15-17, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li further teaches the abrasive article is configured to fit (note that the cover plate and mounting plate are not positively recited and are therefore not necessary to meet the claimed article; the claimed article need only be capable of being used with a cover plate in the claimed way) between a cover plate (108) and a mounting plate (140; unlabeled bottom plate in fig 4; shown labeled in fig 10) such that at least 1% and no greater than 99% of a first and radial surface of the abrasive portion (top and bottom surface) and of the first radial surface of the backing is configured to contact the cover plate (fig 22; see geometry of bottom cover plate with small groove allowing the backing to be partially, but not fully in contact with the radial surfaces of both the backing and abrasive portion; this geometry can be applied to either cover plate to achieve the desired contact area; note that the cover plates are not positively recited as a part of the claimed article).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li further teaches the abrasive article is configured to fit (note that the cover plate and mounting plate are not positively recited and are therefore not necessary to meet the claimed article; the claimed article need only be capable of being used with a cover plate in the claimed way) between a cover plate (108) and a mounting plate (140; unlabeled bottom plate in fig 4; shown labeled in fig 10) and the mounting plate and the cover plate and mounting plate have a harness of between 50 and 100HRB (note that the mounting plate and cover plate are not positively recited and their exact hardness is not required to meet the claims; as the abrasive article of Li is capable of fitting between a mounting plate and cover plate as shown in fig 22, and the plates could be of any hardness, Li is seen as teaching the claimed capability).
Regarding claim 20, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li further teaches the backing comprises no more than 3 openings or holes (fig 15; single opening 164).
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Matthee, and Kasashima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wiand (US 2013/0217315, previously cited).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li does not teach the backing comprises a material that is the same material as the bond material of the abrasive portion or the difference between coefficients of thermal expansion of the backing and abrasive portion being no greater than 1%. Wiand teaches an abrasive article wherein a material of a backing (320) is the same material as a bond material of an abrasive portion ([0071]), the portions having the same material necessarily resulting in the same coefficient of thermal expansion. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the backing of Matthee out of the same material as the bond material and therefore have the same coefficient of thermal expansion, as using the same material provides improved bond strength between the abrasive and backing as taught by Wiand ([0136]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Matthee, and Kasashima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshikawa (US 6517427, previously cited).
Regarding claim 13, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li does not teach the backing comprises tungsten. However, it is obvious to select “a known material based on its suitability for its intended use” (MPEP 2144.07). Yoshikawa teaches an abrasive article including a backing (1) comprising tungsten (col 5, lines 19-26; col 5, line 64-col 6, line 12). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the backing of Li out of tungsten, as tungsten is known to be suitable as an abrasive backing, providing the strength and bond capabilities necessary in an abrasive cutting wheel as taught by Yoshikawa (col 5, lines 19-30; col 5, line 64-col 6, line 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7 Aug 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1 and its dependents, applicant argues that Li and Kasashima do not render obvious the claimed relative radial widths of the backing and abrasive portion. Applicant argues that the radial widths discussed in Kasashima apply only to the structure of Kasashima and not to the unique structure of Li. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Both Li and Kasashima teach an annular abrasive portion attached to a metal backing. In both Li and Kasashima, the metal backing is used to attach the abrasive to an inner base. As detailed in the rejection above, Kasashima teaches that the radial width of the backing has a direct effect on reinforcement of the base, and that the radial width of the abrasive has a direct effect on the tool life and deformation of the tool. These effects are explicitly recited by Kasashima and are applicable to Li, which uses a similar abrasive on backing structure. Applicant’s position centers around an argument that the tool of Li does not have a base, and therefore there would be no incentive for a person of ordinary skill to provide a backing with a with sufficient width for reinforcement. However, the abrasive article of Li is held within a base formed by elements 140 and 108. Clearly, the radial width of the backing of Li would affect the strength of the overall tool including the base, as an increased radial width would provide more metal reinforcement at the edge of the base, which would improve its strength. This is the effect described the Kasashima in [0045] and is consistent with the expectations of a person having ordinary skill in the art.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Applicant argues that there is no suggestion in the prior art to use a backing that has a radial width that is 0.1% greater than the radial width of the abrasive portion, stating that there is no reasoning or teaching in the prior art of this relationship. However, as detailed above, Kasashima provides a clear explanation of the effects adjusting the radial widths of both the abrasive portion and backing, establishing these both as clear results effective variables. Therefore, with only routine experimentation, it would have been obvious to arrive at the claimed difference in radial widths for optimizing tool reinforcement, tool life, and deformations as taught by Kasashima ([0045], [0048]). This knowledge comes from Kasashima and the level of ordinary skill in the art, not from applicant’s specification as argued by applicant. Note that applicant has provided no showing of criticality or explanation of any particular improvement over the prior art resulting from the claimed relative radial widths.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCEL T DION/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/JOEL D CRANDALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723