DETAILED ACTION
AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statements
A legible copy of Non Patent Literature Cite No. CA (Chinese Notice on Grant for CN Application No. 202211197356.X dated November 26, 2025) in the information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 16 September 2026 has not been provided. Accordingly, the IDS filed 16 September 2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the non-compliant information referred to therein (i.e., Non Patent Literature Cite No. CA) has not been considered.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 12 and 19 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected (Non-Final Rejection).
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, at Pages 15-17, filed 1 September 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment, do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 19 are objected to for informalities.
Claims 12 and 19 recite “determine … whether a subset of the electromagnetic rays hit a facet …”, “responsive to determining … calculate an electromagnetic response”, and then again “determine whether the subset of the electromagnetic rays hit any facet of the potential target; and responsive to determining …. calculate the electromagnetic response …”, which appears to be a duplication (copy & paste) error. That is the same two steps (D) & (E) appear to be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 12-14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KRISTENSEN et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0286923 A1) in view of VOLKOV et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0104199 A1), and further in view of MUTHLER (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0390757 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KRISTENSEN discloses a method comprising: receiving first electromagnetic ray information for an electromagnetic ray that is simulated in an environment that includes a plurality of potential targets (simulation system 400A may use real-time ray-tracing, Para. [0080] of KRISTENSEN; See also the LIDAR data, RADAR data, ultrasonic sensor data, image data, and/or other sensor data 102 that is used to derive an input scene configuration to the sensor model 120 (whether for training or in operation) may be generated in a virtual or simulated environment … for example, with respect to a virtual vehicle (e.g., a car, a truck, a water vessel, a construction vehicle, an aircraft, a drone, etc.), the virtual vehicle may include virtual sensors (e.g., virtual cameras, virtual LIDAR, virtual RADAR, virtual SONAR, etc.) that capture simulated or virtual data of the virtual or simulated environment … in addition to or alternatively from real-world data being used to derive an input scene configuration to the sensor model 120, simulated or virtual sensor data may be used and thus included in the sensor data 102, Para. [0063] of KRISTENSEN; See also RADAR target clustering and tracking may be used to determine the associations between RADAR points 312 and objects 306—or bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension corresponding thereto, Para. [0055] of KRISTENSEN); determining a potential target of the plurality of potential targets that is closest to the first electromagnetic ray information (a LIDAR point 310 closest to a centroid of the bounding shape 304 and/or the cropped bounding shape 308 may be used to determine the final distance value, Para. [0053] of KRISTENSEN; See also RADAR target clustering and tracking may be used to determine the associations between RADAR points 312 and objects 306—or bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension corresponding thereto, Para. [0055] of KRISTENSEN; See also a list of identified reflections may be pared down to a designated number (e.g., by identifying the designated number of reflections based on some metric such as reflections having the largest reflectivity values, closest range, etc.), the designated reflections and corresponding reflection characteristics may be encoded into corresponding vectors, and the vectors may be concatenated to form a single dimensional input vector … generally, the number of reflections may be selected to match the dimensionality of the input(s) into the sensor model 120 … by way of non-limiting example, a list of 180 reflections, each having values for 5 reflection characteristics (e.g., bearing, elevation, range, velocity, RCS), may be encoded into inputs of the sensor model 120 … as such, in some scenarios where there are fewer detected reflections than there are inputs into the sensor model 120, some of the input values may be null or zero, KRISTENSEN at Para. [0044]); converting the first electromagnetic ray information to second electromagnetic ray information based on the potential target (radio waves reflect off of certain objects and materials, and a RADAR sensor (which may correspond to the origin of the coordinate system in FIG. 2) may detect these reflections and reflection characteristics such as bearing, azimuth, elevation, range (e.g., time of beam flight), intensity, Doppler velocity, RADAR cross section (RCS), reflectivity, SNR, and/or the like … generally, reflections and reflection characteristics may depend on the objects in a scene, speeds, materials, sensor mounting position and orientation, etc. … reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and IMU sensors) to generate point clouds … in FIG. 2, each of the RADAR points 212 represents the location of a detected reflection in the world space … collectively, the RADAR points 212 may form a point cloud representing detected reflections in the scene, Para. [0042] of KRISTENSEN; See also conversions between world space locations and corresponding image space locations of LIDAR data may be known, or determined, using intrinsic and/or extrinsic parameters—e.g., after calibration—of the LIDAR sensor(s) and/or the camera(s) that generated the image 302 … as such, because this relationship between world space and image space is known, and because the LIDAR data and the image data may have been captured substantially simultaneously, the LIDAR data distance predictions may be associated with the various objects 306—or their corresponding bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension—in the image 302, Para. [0048] of KRISTENSEN); determining, based on the second electromagnetic ray information and the pre-calculated acceleration data structure, whether the electromagnetic ray hits a facet of the potential target (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and/or IMU sensors) to generate LIDAR point clouds … properties of objects in the scene such as positions or dimensions may be encoded into a suitable representation of a scene configuration … geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s) … for example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN); and determining whether to calculate an electromagnetic response of the potential target based on whether the electromagnetic ray hits a facet of the potential target (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also a sensor model may learn to predict virtual sensor data from a representation of a scene configuration, Para. [0027] of KRISTENSEN).
Although KRISTENSEN teaches ray casting and ray tracing (Paras. [0002] & [0003]), KRISTENSEN appears to fail to explicitly disclose the first electromagnetic ray information including a starting point and direction of the electromagnetic ray relative to a global coordinate system of the environment and the second electromagnetic ray information comprising the starting point and direction relative to a local coordinate system of the potential target.
VOLKOV, however, is in the field of ray tracing/casting (Para. [0003] of VOLKOV) and teaches the first electromagnetic ray information including a starting point and direction of the electromagnetic ray relative to a global coordinate system of the environment (ray origin, ray direction, Paras. [0945]-[0947] of VOLKOV; See also global and local coordinate system, Para. [0393] of VOLKOV) and the second electromagnetic ray information comprising the starting point and direction relative to a local coordinate system of the potential target (a coordinate space is calculated which is aligned to the hair direction … for example, the z-axis may be determined to point into the hair direction, while the x and y axes are perpendicular to the z-axis … intersecting a ray with such an oriented bound requires first transforming the ray into the oriented space and then performing a standard ray/box intersection test, Para. [0749] of VOLKOV; See also the bounds of ray packets are stored in in full precision but individual ray points P1-P3 are transmitted as indexed offsets to the bounds … similarly, a plurality of local coordinate systems may be generated which use 8-bit integer values as local coordinates … the location of the origin of each of these local coordinate systems may be encoded using the full precision (e.g., 32-bit floating point) values, effectively connecting the global and local coordinate systems, Para. [0393] of VOLKOV).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ray tracing/casting-based sensor simulation method of KRISTENSEN with the ray tracing information of VOLKOV for the purpose of lossy compression (Para. [0393] of VOLKOV). In addition, Para. [0187] of KRISTENSEN explicitly suggests using ray-tracing hardware to quickly determine the positions and extents of objects within a world model.
KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV appears to fail to explicitly disclose determining a potential target of the plurality of potential targets that is closest to the first electromagnetic ray information using a pre-calculated acceleration data structure including data about the potential target, the pre-calculated acceleration data structure indicative of a geometric profile of the potential target and configured to be reused without recalculation for every frame and determining, based on the second electromagnetic ray information and the pre-calculated acceleration data structure, whether the electromagnetic ray hits a facet of the potential target
MUTHLER, however, is in the field of ray tracing/casting (Para. [0015] of MUTHLER) and teaches determining a potential target of the plurality of potential targets that is closest to the first electromagnetic ray information (each ray performs a search to find the closest object … each ray potentially can hit different objects, Para. [0023] of MUTHLER) using a pre-calculated acceleration data structure including data about the potential target (previously-created acceleration data structures or substructures can be activated as needed depending on desired visualization, Para. [0034] of MUTHLER), the pre-calculated acceleration data structure indicative of a geometric profile of the potential target (acceleration data structures used for finding an intersection between a ray and the scene geometry … acceleration data structures are usually spatial or object hierarchies used by the ray tracing traversal algorithm to efficiently search for primitives that potentially intersect a given ray, Para. [0024] of MUTHLER) and configured to be reused without recalculation for every frame (capability to rebuild parts of the scene on a frame-by-frame basis enhances the flexibility of the acceleration structure for ray tracing in that the same acceleration structure can be reused with relatively small modifications for changing scenes, Para. [0034] of MUTHLER); converting the first electromagnetic ray information to second electromagnetic ray information based on the potential target (transform from the world coordinate space (or another coordinate space) of the top level acceleration structure (TLAS), e.g. which includes nodes 314, 316, 318 and 320, to an object space of the windscreen 206 and the rest of the car 202 may be associated with each of the nodes 302, 304, 306 and 308, Para. [0073] of MUTHLER), the second electromagnetic ray information comprising the starting point and direction relative to a local coordinate system of the potential target (the acceleration structure can be rebuilt per frame with changes such as transforming an acceleration structure or portion thereof from one coordinate space to another, for example, from the world space in which a scene is defined for an application, to an alternate world space in which the objects in the scene are oriented to better fit bounding volumes, reducing the empty space within bounding boxes encompassing scene objects, and thereby reducing false positives in the ray-bounding volume intersections, Para. [0034] of MUTHLER); determining, based on the second electromagnetic ray information and the pre-calculated acceleration data structure, whether the electromagnetic ray hits a facet of the potential target (ray follows the child pointers for the bounding volumes the ray hits to other nodes until the leaves or terminal nodes (volumes) of the BVH are reached, Para. [0125] of MUTHLER; [a BVH (bounding volume hierarchy) is an acceleration data structure])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ray tracing/casting-based sensor simulation method of KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV with the acceleration data structure method of MUTHLER for the purpose of efficiently searching for primitives that potentially intersect a given ray (Para. [0024] of MUTHLER).
Regarding claim 2, KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining whether to calculate the electromagnetic response of the potential target comprises: determining to calculate the electromagnetic response of the potential target responsive to determining that the electromagnetic ray hit a facet of the potential target (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and/or IMU sensors) to generate LIDAR point clouds … properties of objects in the scene such as positions or dimensions may be encoded into a suitable representation of a scene configuration … geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s). For example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN); and responsive to calculating the electromagnetic response, outputting the electromagnetic response to an electromagnetic model for input to an execution of an electromagnetic sensor simulation of the environment (a sensor model may learn to predict virtual sensor data from a representation of a scene configuration, Para. [0027] of KRISTENSEN; See also the depth map may be input into a channel of the sensor model 120, Para. [0061] of KRISTENSEN; See also geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s) … for example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN).
Regarding claim 3, KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the calculation of the electromagnetic response comprises: determining, based on the electromagnetic ray hitting the facet of the potential target, a reflected electromagnetic ray being reflected from the potential target (reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and/or IMU sensors) to generate LIDAR point clouds … properties of objects in the scene such as positions or dimensions may be encoded into a suitable representation of a scene configuration … geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s). For example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN); determining third electromagnetic ray information comprising a starting point and direction of the reflected electromagnetic ray relative to the local coordinate system of the potential target (a coordinate space is calculated which is aligned to the hair direction … for example, the z-axis may be determined to point into the hair direction, while the x and y axes are perpendicular to the z-axis … intersecting a ray with such an oriented bound requires first transforming the ray into the oriented space and then performing a standard ray/box intersection test, Para. [0749] of VOLKOV; See also the bounds of ray packets are stored in in full precision but individual ray points P1-P3 are transmitted as indexed offsets to the bounds … similarly, a plurality of local coordinate systems may be generated which use 8-bit integer values as local coordinates … the location of the origin of each of these local coordinate systems may be encoded using the full precision (e.g., 32-bit floating point) values, effectively connecting the global and local coordinate systems, Para. [0393] of VOLKOV); See also ray origin, ray direction, Paras. [0945]-[0947] of VOLKOV; See also global and local coordinate system, Para. [0393] of VOLKOV); and converting the third electromagnetic ray information to fourth electromagnetic ray information including the starting point and direction of the reflected electromagnetic ray relative to the global coordinate system of the environment (conversions between world space locations and corresponding image space locations of LIDAR data may be known, or determined, using intrinsic and/or extrinsic parameters—e.g., after calibration—of the LIDAR sensor(s) and/or the camera(s) that generated the image 302 … as such, because this relationship between world space and image space is known, and because the LIDAR data and the image data may have been captured substantially simultaneously, the LIDAR data distance predictions may be associated with the various objects 306—or their corresponding bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension—in the image 302, Para. [0048] of KRISTENSEN; See also ray origin, ray direction, Paras. [0945]-[0947] of VOLKOV; See also global and local coordinate system, Para. [0393] of VOLKOV), the fourth electromagnetic ray information being used for a next potential target instead of the first electromagnetic ray information received (spawning a new ray from the hit shader to find the next closest intersection (with the ray origin offset, so the same intersection will not occur again), Para. [0463] of VOLKOV; See also traversal state 4400 also includes the ray in world space 4401 and object space 4402 as well as hit information for the closest intersecting primitive, Para. [0435] of VOLKOV).
Regarding claim 5, KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining whether to calculate the electromagnetic response of the potential target comprises: determining to not calculate the electromagnetic response of the potential target responsive to determining that the electromagnetic ray does not hit a facet of the potential target (performance could be as simple as testing that the new CAN data does not create a false positive, Para. [0127] of KRISTENSEN); and the method further comprises: determining another potential target of the plurality of potential targets based on the first electromagnetic ray information (spawning a new ray from the hit shader to find the next closest intersection (with the ray origin offset, so the same intersection will not occur again), Para. [0463] of VOLKOV; See also a LIDAR point 310 closest to a centroid of the bounding shape 304 and/or the cropped bounding shape 308 may be used to determine the final distance value, Para. [0053] of KRISTENSEN; See also RADAR target clustering and tracking may be used to determine the associations between RADAR points 312 and objects 306—or bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension corresponding thereto, Para. [0055] of KRISTENSEN; See also a list of identified reflections may be pared down to a designated number (e.g., by identifying the designated number of reflections based on some metric such as reflections having the largest reflectivity values, closest range, etc.), the designated reflections and corresponding reflection characteristics may be encoded into corresponding vectors, and the vectors may be concatenated to form a single dimensional input vector … generally, the number of reflections may be selected to match the dimensionality of the input(s) into the sensor model 120 … by way of non-limiting example, a list of 180 reflections, each having values for 5 reflection characteristics (e.g., bearing, elevation, range, velocity, RCS), may be encoded into inputs of the sensor model 120 … as such, in some scenarios where there are fewer detected reflections than there are inputs into the sensor model 120, some of the input values may be null or zero, KRISTENSEN at Para. [0044])); converting the first electromagnetic ray information to other second electromagnetic ray information based on the other potential target (radio waves reflect off of certain objects and materials, and a RADAR sensor (which may correspond to the origin of the coordinate system in FIG. 2) may detect these reflections and reflection characteristics such as bearing, azimuth, elevation, range (e.g., time of beam flight), intensity, Doppler velocity, RADAR cross section (RCS), reflectivity, SNR, and/or the like … generally, reflections and reflection characteristics may depend on the objects in a scene, speeds, materials, sensor mounting position and orientation, etc. … reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and IMU sensors) to generate point clouds … in FIG. 2, each of the RADAR points 212 represents the location of a detected reflection in the world space … collectively, the RADAR points 212 may form a point cloud representing detected reflections in the scene, Para. [0042] of KRISTENSEN; See also conversions between world space locations and corresponding image space locations of LIDAR data may be known, or determined, using intrinsic and/or extrinsic parameters—e.g., after calibration—of the LIDAR sensor(s) and/or the camera(s) that generated the image 302 … as such, because this relationship between world space and image space is known, and because the LIDAR data and the image data may have been captured substantially simultaneously, the LIDAR data distance predictions may be associated with the various objects 306—or their corresponding bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension—in the image 302, Para. [0048] of KRISTENSEN), the other second electromagnetic ray information comprising the starting point and direction relative to a local coordinate system of the other potential target (ray origin, ray direction, Paras. [0945]-[0947] of VOLKOV; See also a coordinate space is calculated which is aligned to the hair direction. For example, the z-axis may be determined to point into the hair direction, while the x and y axes are perpendicular to the z-axis … intersecting a ray with such an oriented bound requires first transforming the ray into the oriented space and then performing a standard ray/box intersection test, Para. [0749] of VOLKOV; See also the bounds of ray packets are stored in in full precision but individual ray points P1-P3 are transmitted as indexed offsets to the bounds … similarly, a plurality of local coordinate systems may be generated which use 8-bit integer values as local coordinates … the location of the origin of each of these local coordinate systems may be encoded using the full precision (e.g., 32-bit floating point) values, effectively connecting the global and local coordinate systems, Para. [0393] of VOLKOV); determining, based on the other second electromagnetic ray information, whether the electromagnetic ray hits a facet of the other potential target (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and/or IMU sensors) to generate LIDAR point clouds … properties of objects in the scene such as positions or dimensions may be encoded into a suitable representation of a scene configuration … geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s) … for example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN); and determining whether to calculate the electromagnetic response associated with the electromagnetic ray based on the other potential target based on whether the electromagnetic ray hits a facet of the other potential target (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also a sensor model may learn to predict virtual sensor data from a representation of a scene configuration, Para. [0027] of KRISTENSEN).
Regarding claim 6, KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the other potential target is a next-closest potential target (spawning a new ray from the hit shader to find the next closest intersection (with the ray origin offset, so the same intersection will not occur again), Para. [0463] of VOLKOV; See also traversal state 4400 also includes the ray in world space 4401 and object space 4402 as well as hit information for the closest intersecting primitive, Para. [0435] of VOLKOV).
Regarding claim 7, KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pre-calculated acceleration data structure represents the potential target for a duration of an electromagnetic sensor simulation (an important element in such simulation environments is the creation of realistic sensor data from a given scene configuration, Para. [0003] of KRISTENSEN; See also ray tracing is a technique in which a light transport is simulated through physically-based rendering, Para. [0003] of VOLKOV; [the simulated ray tracing through physically-based rendering is interpreted as being during the duration of the electromagnetic sensor simulation]).
Regarding claim 8, KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER teaches the method of claim 7, wherein a same pre-calculated acceleration data structure indicative of a single geometric profile is used to represent multiple potential targets having a same computer-aided design (CAD) model (geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s). For example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN; See also a computer aided design (CAD), Para. [0062] of KRISTENSEN).
Regarding claim 12, KRISTENSEN discloses a system (simulation system 400A may use real-time ray-tracing, Para. [0080] of KRISTENSEN) comprising: at least one processor (various functions may be carried out by a processor executing instructions stored in memory, Para. [0033] of KRISTENSEN) configured to: receive first electromagnetic ray information for a set of electromagnetic rays that are simulated in an environment that includes a plurality of potential targets (the LIDAR data, RADAR data, ultrasonic sensor data, image data, and/or other sensor data 102 that is used to derive an input scene configuration to the sensor model 120 (whether for training or in operation) may be generated in a virtual or simulated environment … for example, with respect to a virtual vehicle (e.g., a car, a truck, a water vessel, a construction vehicle, an aircraft, a drone, etc.), the virtual vehicle may include virtual sensors (e.g., virtual cameras, virtual LIDAR, virtual RADAR, virtual SONAR, etc.) that capture simulated or virtual data of the virtual or simulated environment … in addition to or alternatively from real-world data being used to derive an input scene configuration to the sensor model 120, simulated or virtual sensor data may be used and thus included in the sensor data 102, Para. [0063] of KRISTENSEN; See also RADAR target clustering and tracking may be used to determine the associations between RADAR points 312 and objects 306—or bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension corresponding thereto, Para. [0055] of KRISTENSEN); determine a potential target of the plurality of potential targets that is closest to the first electromagnetic ray information (a LIDAR point 310 closest to a centroid of the bounding shape 304 and/or the cropped bounding shape 308 may be used to determine the final distance value, Para. [0053] of KRISTENSEN; See also RADAR target clustering and tracking may be used to determine the associations between RADAR points 312 and objects 306—or bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension corresponding thereto, Para. [0055] of KRISTENSEN; See also a list of identified reflections may be pared down to a designated number (e.g., by identifying the designated number of reflections based on some metric such as reflections having the largest reflectivity values, closest range, etc.), the designated reflections and corresponding reflection characteristics may be encoded into corresponding vectors, and the vectors may be concatenated to form a single dimensional input vector … generally, the number of reflections may be selected to match the dimensionality of the input(s) into the sensor model 120 … by way of non-limiting example, a list of 180 reflections, each having values for 5 reflection characteristics (e.g., bearing, elevation, range, velocity, RCS), may be encoded into inputs of the sensor model 120 … as such, in some scenarios where there are fewer detected reflections than there are inputs into the sensor model 120, some of the input values may be null or zero, KRISTENSEN at Para. [0044]); convert the first electromagnetic ray information to second electromagnetic ray information based on the potential target (radio waves reflect off of certain objects and materials, and a RADAR sensor (which may correspond to the origin of the coordinate system in FIG. 2) may detect these reflections and reflection characteristics such as bearing, azimuth, elevation, range (e.g., time of beam flight), intensity, Doppler velocity, RADAR cross section (RCS), reflectivity, SNR, and/or the like … generally, reflections and reflection characteristics may depend on the objects in a scene, speeds, materials, sensor mounting position and orientation, etc. … reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and IMU sensors) to generate point clouds … in FIG. 2, each of the RADAR points 212 represents the location of a detected reflection in the world space … collectively, the RADAR points 212 may form a point cloud representing detected reflections in the scene, Para. [0042] of KRISTENSEN; See also conversions between world space locations and corresponding image space locations of LIDAR data may be known, or determined, using intrinsic and/or extrinsic parameters—e.g., after calibration—of the LIDAR sensor(s) and/or the camera(s) that generated the image 302 … as such, because this relationship between world space and image space is known, and because the LIDAR data and the image data may have been captured substantially simultaneously, the LIDAR data distance predictions may be associated with the various objects 306—or their corresponding bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension—in the image 302, Para. [0048] of KRISTENSEN); determine, based on the second electromagnetic ray information (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and/or IMU sensors) to generate LIDAR point clouds … properties of objects in the scene such as positions or dimensions may be encoded into a suitable representation of a scene configuration … geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s) … for example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN); responsive to determining that the subset of electromagnetic rays hit the facet of the potential target, calculate an electromagnetic response of the subset of electromagnetic rays that hit the facet on the potential target (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also a sensor model may learn to predict virtual sensor data from a representation of a scene configuration, Para. [0027] of KRISTENSEN); determine whether the subset of the electromagnetic rays hit any facet of the potential target (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and/or IMU sensors) to generate LIDAR point clouds … properties of objects in the scene such as positions or dimensions may be encoded into a suitable representation of a scene configuration … geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s) … for example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN); and responsive to determining that the subset of the electromagnetic rays hit a facet of the potential target: calculate the electromagnetic response of the subset of the electromagnetic rays that hit the facet on the potential target (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also a sensor model may learn to predict virtual sensor data from a representation of a scene configuration, Para. [0027] of KRISTENSEN; See also reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and/or IMU sensors) to generate LIDAR point clouds … properties of objects in the scene such as positions or dimensions may be encoded into a suitable representation of a scene configuration … geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s) … for example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN); and output the electromagnetic response to an electromagnetic model for input to an execution of an electromagnetic sensor simulation of the environment; or responsive to determining that the subset of the electromagnetic rays do not hit any facet of the potential target, refrain from calculating or outputting the electromagnetic response of the subset of the electromagnetic rays that do not hit any facet of the potential target (the depth map may be input into a channel of the sensor model 120, Para. [0061] of KRISTENSEN; See also geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s) … for example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN).
Although KRISTENSEN teaches ray casting and ray tracing (Paras. [0002] & [0003]), KRISTENSEN appears to fail to explicitly disclose the first electromagnetic ray information including a starting point and direction of each respective electromagnetic ray relative to a global coordinate system of the environment and the second electromagnetic ray information comprising the starting point and direction relative to a local coordinate system of the potential target.
VOLKOV, however, is in the field of ray tracing/casting (Para. [0003] of VOLKOV) and teaches the first electromagnetic ray information including a starting point and direction of each respective electromagnetic ray relative to a global coordinate system of the environment (ray origin, ray direction, Paras. [0945]-[0947] of VOLKOV; See also global and local coordinate system, Para. [0393] of VOLKOV) and the second electromagnetic ray information comprising the starting point and direction relative to a local coordinate system of the potential target (a coordinate space is calculated which is aligned to the hair direction … for example, the z-axis may be determined to point into the hair direction, while the x and y axes are perpendicular to the z-axis … intersecting a ray with such an oriented bound requires first transforming the ray into the oriented space and then performing a standard ray/box intersection test, Para. [0749] of VOLKOV; See also the bounds of ray packets are stored in in full precision but individual ray points P1-P3 are transmitted as indexed offsets to the bounds … similarly, a plurality of local coordinate systems may be generated which use 8-bit integer values as local coordinates … the location of the origin of each of these local coordinate systems may be encoded using the full precision (e.g., 32-bit floating point) values, effectively connecting the global and local coordinate systems, Para. [0393] of VOLKOV).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ray tracing/casting-based sensor simulation method of KRISTENSEN with the ray tracing information of VOLKOV for the purpose of lossy compression (Para. [0393] of VOLKOV). In addition, Para. [0187] of KRISTENSEN explicitly suggests using ray-tracing hardware to quickly determine the positions and extents of objects within a world model.
KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV appears to fail to explicitly disclose determine a potential target of the plurality of potential targets that is closest to the first electromagnetic ray information using a pre-calculated acceleration data structure including data about the potential target, the pre-calculated acceleration data structure indicative of a geometric profile of the potential target and configured to be reused without recalculation for every frame and determine, based on the second electromagnetic ray information and the pre-calculated acceleration data structure, whether a subset of the electromagnetic rays hit a facet of the potential target.
MUTHLER, however, is in the field of ray tracing/casting (Para. [0015] of MUTHLER) and teaches determine a potential target of the plurality of potential targets that is closest to the first electromagnetic ray information (each ray performs a search to find the closest object … each ray potentially can hit different objects, Para. [0023] of MUTHLER) using a pre-calculated acceleration data structure including data about the potential target (previously-created acceleration data structures or substructures can be activated as needed depending on desired visualization, Para. [0034] of MUTHLER), the pre-calculated acceleration data structure indicative of a geometric profile of the potential target (acceleration data structures used for finding an intersection between a ray and the scene geometry … acceleration data structures are usually spatial or object hierarchies used by the ray tracing traversal algorithm to efficiently search for primitives that potentially intersect a given ray, Para. [0024] of MUTHLER) and configured to be reused without recalculation for every frame (capability to rebuild parts of the scene on a frame-by-frame basis enhances the flexibility of the acceleration structure for ray tracing in that the same acceleration structure can be reused with relatively small modifications for changing scenes, Para. [0034] of MUTHLER); convert the first electromagnetic ray information to second electromagnetic ray information based on the potential target (transform from the world coordinate space (or another coordinate space) of the top level acceleration structure (TLAS), e.g. which includes nodes 314, 316, 318 and 320, to an object space of the windscreen 206 and the rest of the car 202 may be associated with each of the nodes 302, 304, 306 and 308, Para. [0073] of MUTHLER), the second electromagnetic ray information comprising the starting point and direction relative to a local coordinate system of the potential target (the acceleration structure can be rebuilt per frame with changes such as transforming an acceleration structure or portion thereof from one coordinate space to another, for example, from the world space in which a scene is defined for an application, to an alternate world space in which the objects in the scene are oriented to better fit bounding volumes, reducing the empty space within bounding boxes encompassing scene objects, and thereby reducing false positives in the ray-bounding volume intersections, Para. [0034] of MUTHLER); determine, based on the second electromagnetic ray information and the pre-calculated acceleration data structure, whether a subset of the electromagnetic rays hit a facet of the potential target (ray follows the child pointers for the bounding volumes the ray hits to other nodes until the leaves or terminal nodes (volumes) of the BVH are reached, Para. [0125] of MUTHLER; [a BVH (bounding volume hierarchy) is an acceleration data structure])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ray tracing/casting-based sensor simulation method of KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV with the acceleration data structure method of MUTHLER for the purpose of efficiently searching for primitives that potentially intersect a given ray (Para. [0024] of MUTHLER).
Regarding claim 19, KRISTENSEN discloses a computer-readable storage media comprising instructions that, when executed, cause at least one processor (simulation system 400A may use real-time ray-tracing, Para. [0080] of KRISTENSEN; See also various functions may be carried out by a processor executing instructions stored in memory, Para. [0033] of KRISTENSEN) to: receive first electromagnetic ray information for a set of electromagnetic rays that are simulated in an environment that includes a plurality of potential targets (the LIDAR data, RADAR data, ultrasonic sensor data, image data, and/or other sensor data 102 that is used to derive an input scene configuration to the sensor model 120 (whether for training or in operation) may be generated in a virtual or simulated environment … for example, with respect to a virtual vehicle (e.g., a car, a truck, a water vessel, a construction vehicle, an aircraft, a drone, etc.), the virtual vehicle may include virtual sensors (e.g., virtual cameras, virtual LIDAR, virtual RADAR, virtual SONAR, etc.) that capture simulated or virtual data of the virtual or simulated environment … in addition to or alternatively from real-world data being used to derive an input scene configuration to the sensor model 120, simulated or virtual sensor data may be used and thus included in the sensor data 102, Para. [0063] of KRISTENSEN; See also RADAR target clustering and tracking may be used to determine the associations between RADAR points 312 and objects 306—or bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension corresponding thereto, Para. [0055] of KRISTENSEN); determine a potential target of the plurality of potential targets that is closest to the first electromagnetic ray information (a LIDAR point 310 closest to a centroid of the bounding shape 304 and/or the cropped bounding shape 308 may be used to determine the final distance value, Para. [0053] of KRISTENSEN; See also RADAR target clustering and tracking may be used to determine the associations between RADAR points 312 and objects 306—or bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension corresponding thereto, Para. [0055] of KRISTENSEN; See also a list of identified reflections may be pared down to a designated number (e.g., by identifying the designated number of reflections based on some metric such as reflections having the largest reflectivity values, closest range, etc.), the designated reflections and corresponding reflection characteristics may be encoded into corresponding vectors, and the vectors may be concatenated to form a single dimensional input vector … generally, the number of reflections may be selected to match the dimensionality of the input(s) into the sensor model 120 … by way of non-limiting example, a list of 180 reflections, each having values for 5 reflection characteristics (e.g., bearing, elevation, range, velocity, RCS), may be encoded into inputs of the sensor model 120 … as such, in some scenarios where there are fewer detected reflections than there are inputs into the sensor model 120, some of the input values may be null or zero, KRISTENSEN at Para. [0044]); convert the first electromagnetic ray information to second electromagnetic ray information based on the potential target (radio waves reflect off of certain objects and materials, and a RADAR sensor (which may correspond to the origin of the coordinate system in FIG. 2) may detect these reflections and reflection characteristics such as bearing, azimuth, elevation, range (e.g., time of beam flight), intensity, Doppler velocity, RADAR cross section (RCS), reflectivity, SNR, and/or the like … generally, reflections and reflection characteristics may depend on the objects in a scene, speeds, materials, sensor mounting position and orientation, etc. … reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and IMU sensors) to generate point clouds … in FIG. 2, each of the RADAR points 212 represents the location of a detected reflection in the world space … collectively, the RADAR points 212 may form a point cloud representing detected reflections in the scene, Para. [0042] of KRISTENSEN; See also conversions between world space locations and corresponding image space locations of LIDAR data may be known, or determined, using intrinsic and/or extrinsic parameters—e.g., after calibration—of the LIDAR sensor(s) and/or the camera(s) that generated the image 302 … as such, because this relationship between world space and image space is known, and because the LIDAR data and the image data may have been captured substantially simultaneously, the LIDAR data distance predictions may be associated with the various objects 306—or their corresponding bounding shapes 304 or other property or dimension—in the image 302, Para. [0048] of KRISTENSEN); determine, based on the second electromagnetic ray information(when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and/or IMU sensors) to generate LIDAR point clouds … properties of objects in the scene such as positions or dimensions may be encoded into a suitable representation of a scene configuration … geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s) … for example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN); responsive to determining that the subset of electromagnetic rays hit the facet of the potential target, calculate an electromagnetic response of the subset of electromagnetic rays that hit the facet on the potential target (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also a sensor model may learn to predict virtual sensor data from a representation of a scene configuration, Para. [0027] of KRISTENSEN); determine whether the subset of the electromagnetic rays hit any facet of the potential target (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and/or IMU sensors) to generate LIDAR point clouds … properties of objects in the scene such as positions or dimensions may be encoded into a suitable representation of a scene configuration … geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s) … for example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN); and responsive to determining that the subset of the electromagnetic rays hit a facet of the potential target: calculate the electromagnetic response of the subset of the electromagnetic rays that hit the facet on the potential target (when a significant number of rays strike a tracked object, that object may be added to the report of the LIDAR data … the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN; See also a sensor model may learn to predict virtual sensor data from a representation of a scene configuration, Para. [0027] of KRISTENSEN; See also reflection data may be combined with position and orientation data (e.g., from GNSS and/or IMU sensors) to generate LIDAR point clouds … properties of objects in the scene such as positions or dimensions may be encoded into a suitable representation of a scene configuration … geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s) … for example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN); and output the electromagnetic response to an electromagnetic model for input to an execution of an electromagnetic sensor simulation of the environment; or responsive to determining that the subset of the electromagnetic rays do not hit any facet of the potential target, refrain from calculating or outputting the electromagnetic response of the subset of the electromagnetic rays that do not hit any facet of the potential target (the depth map may be input into a channel of the sensor model 120, Para. [0061] of KRISTENSEN; See also geometric description(s) of a scene may be encoded into a suitable network input(s) … for example, two or three dimensional geometric model(s) may be arranged in a scene and rendered (e.g., from a desired point of view for the particular sensor being modeled) to form an image, which serve as an encoded scene configuration (or a portion thereof), Para. [0029] of KRISTENSEN).
Although KRISTENSEN teaches ray casting and ray tracing (Paras. [0002] & [0003]), KRISTENSEN appears to fail to explicitly disclose the first electromagnetic ray information including a starting point and direction of each respective electromagnetic ray relative to a global coordinate system of the environment and the second electromagnetic ray information comprising the starting point and direction relative to a local coordinate system of the potential target.
VOLKOV, however, is in the field of ray tracing/casting (Para. [0003] of VOLKOV) and teaches the first electromagnetic ray information including a starting point and direction of each respective electromagnetic ray relative to a global coordinate system of the environment (ray origin, ray direction, Paras. [0945]-[0947] of VOLKOV; See also global and local coordinate system, Para. [0393] of VOLKOV) and the second electromagnetic ray information comprising the starting point and direction relative to a local coordinate system of the potential target (a coordinate space is calculated which is aligned to the hair direction … for example, the z-axis may be determined to point into the hair direction, while the x and y axes are perpendicular to the z-axis … intersecting a ray with such an oriented bound requires first transforming the ray into the oriented space and then performing a standard ray/box intersection test, Para. [0749] of VOLKOV; See also the bounds of ray packets are stored in in full precision but individual ray points P1-P3 are transmitted as indexed offsets to the bounds … similarly, a plurality of local coordinate systems may be generated which use 8-bit integer values as local coordinates … the location of the origin of each of these local coordinate systems may be encoded using the full precision (e.g., 32-bit floating point) values, effectively connecting the global and local coordinate systems, Para. [0393] of VOLKOV).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ray tracing/casting-based sensor simulation method of KRISTENSEN with the ray tracing information of VOLKOV for the purpose of lossy compression (Para. [0393] of VOLKOV). In addition, Para. [0187] of KRISTENSEN explicitly suggests using ray-tracing hardware to quickly determine the positions and extents of objects within a world model.
KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV appears to fail to explicitly disclose determine a potential target of the plurality of potential targets that is closest to the first electromagnetic ray information using a pre-calculated acceleration data structure including data about the potential target, the pre-calculated acceleration data structure indicative of a geometric profile of the potential target and configured to be reused without recalculation for every frame and determine, based on the second electromagnetic ray information and the pre-calculated acceleration data structure, whether a subset of the electromagnetic rays hit a facet of the potential target.
MUTHLER, however, is in the field of ray tracing/casting (Para. [0015] of MUTHLER) and teaches determine a potential target of the plurality of potential targets that is closest to the first electromagnetic ray information (each ray performs a search to find the closest object … each ray potentially can hit different objects, Para. [0023] of MUTHLER) using a pre-calculated acceleration data structure including data about the potential target (previously-created acceleration data structures or substructures can be activated as needed depending on desired visualization, Para. [0034] of MUTHLER), the pre-calculated acceleration data structure indicative of a geometric profile of the potential target (acceleration data structures used for finding an intersection between a ray and the scene geometry … acceleration data structures are usually spatial or object hierarchies used by the ray tracing traversal algorithm to efficiently search for primitives that potentially intersect a given ray, Para. [0024] of MUTHLER) and configured to be reused without recalculation for every frame (capability to rebuild parts of the scene on a frame-by-frame basis enhances the flexibility of the acceleration structure for ray tracing in that the same acceleration structure can be reused with relatively small modifications for changing scenes, Para. [0034] of MUTHLER); convert the first electromagnetic ray information to second electromagnetic ray information based on the potential target (transform from the world coordinate space (or another coordinate space) of the top level acceleration structure (TLAS), e.g. which includes nodes 314, 316, 318 and 320, to an object space of the windscreen 206 and the rest of the car 202 may be associated with each of the nodes 302, 304, 306 and 308, Para. [0073] of MUTHLER), the second electromagnetic ray information comprising the starting point and direction relative to a local coordinate system of the potential target (the acceleration structure can be rebuilt per frame with changes such as transforming an acceleration structure or portion thereof from one coordinate space to another, for example, from the world space in which a scene is defined for an application, to an alternate world space in which the objects in the scene are oriented to better fit bounding volumes, reducing the empty space within bounding boxes encompassing scene objects, and thereby reducing false positives in the ray-bounding volume intersections, Para. [0034] of MUTHLER); determine, based on the second electromagnetic ray information and the pre-calculated acceleration data structure, whether a subset of the electromagnetic rays hit a facet of the potential target (ray follows the child pointers for the bounding volumes the ray hits to other nodes until the leaves or terminal nodes (volumes) of the BVH are reached, Para. [0125] of MUTHLER; [a BVH (bounding volume hierarchy) is an acceleration data structure])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ray tracing/casting-based sensor simulation method of KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV with the acceleration data structure method of MUTHLER for the purpose of efficiently searching for primitives that potentially intersect a given ray (Para. [0024] of MUTHLER).
Claim 13 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 6 (with the incorporation of parent claim 5); therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the same reasons.
Claims 14 and 20 have substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 3; therefore, they are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the same reasons.
Claim 16 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 7; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the same reasons.
Claim 17 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 8; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the same reasons.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KRISTENSEN et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0286923 A1) in view of VOLKOV et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0104199 A1), and further in view of MUTHLER (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0390757 A1), IOFFE et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0412407 A1) and TRAINER (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0202164 A1).
Regarding claim 4, KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER teaches the method of claim 3 (as shown above) but appears to fail to explicitly disclose wherein the calculation of the electromagnetic response further comprises: generating, based on incident fields with different polarizations, equivalent surface currents induced by the incident fields based on the first electromagnetic information received; examining multiple possible scattering paths of the reflected electromagnetic ray; responsive to one or more of the multiple possible scattering paths being required scattering paths of the reflected electromagnetic ray, computing, based on the required scattering paths, scattered fields of the reflected electromagnetic ray for different polarizations; and recording the scattered fields, a direction of departure, and a direction of arrival for each of the required scattering paths of the reflected electromagnetic ray.
IOFFE, however, is in the field simulating electromagnetic interactions including ray tracing using geometrical optics, or physical optics, or shooting and bouncing rays (Paras. [0001] & [0005] of IOFFE) and teaches generating, based on incident fields with different polarizations, equivalent surface currents induced by the incident fields based on the first electromagnetic information received (when modelling electromagnetic interactions with such a thin sheet, the interacting electromagnetic fields may be represented, for example using physical optics methods, by equivalent surface integrals of surface currents and surface charges along the sheet, whereby the surface currents and charges represent the tangential and/or normal electromagnetic field components of the interacting field, Para. [0049] of IOFFE; See also the radiation incident on the scattering object is represented by rays that are traced using geometrical optics and the interaction of the individual rays with surfaces, for example with the scattering structure or the antenna, is determined using physical optics by performing an integration covering the intersection of the individual rays with the surface, Para. [0040] of IOFFE; Regarding different polarizations, see also a bumper placed in front of the antenna may comprise several material layers, such as different painting layers, each having a thickness in the submillimeter range. Likewise, the antenna itself may comprise electrically small features such as different material layers of an electrode structure of the antenna or a radome of the antenna placed in front of the electrode structure. Although the distance of the bumper to the radar antenna is typically larger than the wavelength, it may be comparable to the size of the entire antenna so that the bumper may still be located in the near field region of the antenna, Para. [0003] of IOFFE; [different materials/wavelengths are interpreted as having different polarizations]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor simulation (including simulated sensor response) of KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER with the generation of surface currents of IOFFE for the purpose of ensuring that the predetermined radiation pattern accurately represents the electromagnetic field radiated (Para. [0046] of IOFFE).
In addition, TRAINER is in the field of analyzing sensed/detected ray paths (Para. [0594] of TRAINER) and teaches examining multiple possible scattering paths of the reflected electromagnetic ray (appropriate scattering models are used to describe the effects of wavelength on the scattering pattern, Para. [0456] of TRAINER; See also multi-dimensional analysis creates a function of multiple variables of S (or functions of S) … typically each variable is measured from a different scattering angle range, different scattering plane, different light polarization, different light wavelength or a function of these different variables, Para. [0464] of TRAINER; See also multiple scattering occurs when the scattered light from a particle is scattered again by other particles, before being received by the detector, Para. [0471] of TRAINER); responsive to one or more of the multiple possible scattering paths being required scattering paths of the reflected electromagnetic ray, computing, based on the required scattering paths, scattered fields of the reflected electromagnetic ray for different polarizations (multi-dimensional analysis creates a function of multiple variables of S (or functions of S) … typically each variable is measured from a different scattering angle range, different scattering plane, different light polarization, different light wavelength or a function of these different variables, Para. [0464] of TRAINER); and recording the scattered fields, a direction of departure, and a direction of arrival for each of the required scattering paths of the reflected electromagnetic ray (each variable is measured from a different scattering angle range, Para. [0464] of TRAINER; See also angular scattering distribution for that particle will be recorded over a large number of scattering planes by all of the detector elements in the array, Para. [0324] of TRAINER; See also multi-dimensional analysis creates a function of multiple variables of S (or functions of S) … typically each variable is measured from a different scattering angle range, different scattering plane, different light polarization, different light wavelength or a function of these different variables, Para. [0464] of TRAINER; See also peak detector receives the total signal, Para. [0337] of TRAINER).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor simulation (including simulated sensor response) of KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV, MUTHLER and IOFFE with the scattered ray analysis of TRAINER for the purpose of providing the best scatter measurement accuracy over an extended volume of particle dispersion (Para. [0593] of TRAINER).
Claim 15 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claim 4; therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the same reasons.
Claims 9-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KRISTENSEN et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0286923 A1) in view of VOLKOV et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0104199 A1), and further in view of MUTHLER (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0390757 A1) and KUPINSKI (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0296617).
Regarding claim 9, KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER teaches the method of claim 8 (as shown above) but appears to fail to explicitly disclose determining, based on material properties of each of the one or more potential targets, polarimetric reflection coefficients for each of the one or more potential targets.
KUPINSKI, however, is in the field of ray tracing/casting (Para. [0004] of KUPINSKI) and teaches determining, based on material properties of each of the one or more potential targets, polarimetric reflection coefficients for each of the one or more potential targets (polarimetric importance sampling is made possible by interpreting these weights as probabilities. Here, the depolarization parameter is used to determine the probability of a coherent/fully polarized or unpolarized light-matter interaction occurrence. In the disclosed embodiment, polarimetric measurements can be conducted to determine the fractional contribution of fully-polarized versus unpolarized light to characterize the depolarizing components or materials, and then use this characterization to simulate the materials' partially-polarized contribution in the ray trace, Para. [0047] of KUPINSKI).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ray tracing/casting-based sensor simulation method of KRISTENSEN (as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER) with the polarimetric reflection coefficients-based ray tracing information of KUPINSKI for the purpose of reducing the computational needs for characterizing the scenes that involve light-matter interaction which can result in reduced cost and physical footprint of associated hardware and software (Para. [0005] of KUPINSKI).
Regarding claim 10, KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: generating a polarimetric reflection coefficient lookup table that includes the polarimetric reflection coefficients for each of the one or more potential targets (TD model database which is shown to retain dominant polarimetric properties for both diffuse and specular light-matter interactions … for each 4×4 Mueller matrix, the TD model consists of 8 parameters: the radiometric average throughput, the depolarization parameter, and 6 parameters to describe the dominant coherent process. These 8 TD parameters maintain physical constraints on the Mueller matrix when interpolated to unmeasured geometries … the TD model expression is a weighted sum of a normalized Mueller-Jones matrix and a completely depolarizing Mueller matrix … Polarimetric importance sampling is made possible by interpreting these weights as probabilities … here, the depolarization parameter is used to determine the probability of a coherent/fully polarized or unpolarized light-matter interaction occurrence. In the disclosed embodiment, polarimetric measurements can be conducted to determine the fractional contribution of fully-polarized versus unpolarized light to characterize the depolarizing components or materials, and then use this characterization to simulate the materials' partially-polarized contribution in the ray trace, Para. [0047] of KUPINSKI; [the polarimetric database is interpreted as corresponding to a polarimetric lookup table]).
Regarding claim 11, KRISTENSEN as modified by VOLKOV and MUTHLER teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: determining, based on the material of each of the one or more potential targets being penetrable above a threshold, transmission coefficients for each of the one or more potential targets (the LIDAR sensors may be modeled as solid state LIDAR and/or as Optix-based LIDAR … in examples, using Optix-based LIDAR, the rays may bounce from water, reflective materials, and/or windows … texture may be assigned to roads, signs, and/or vehicles to model laser reflection at the wavelengths corresponding to the textures … RADAR may be implemented similarly to LIDAR … as described herein, RADAR and/or LIDAR may be simulated using learned sensors, ray-tracing techniques, and/or otherwise, Para. [0117] of KRISTENSEN).
Claim 18 has substantially similar limitations as recited in claims 10 and 11 (including the features of parent claim 9); therefore, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art previously made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: LILJA (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0085866 A1) teaches, at Para. [0133], “a resonator 632 is formed by a conductive member 517, where a standing wave pattern of electric fields and magnetic fields or surface currents can occur … more precisely, a resonator 632 is a conductive member, which favors electromagnetic resonance at a first frequency. An electromagnetic resonance is a natural oscillation phenomenon within a system, in which the electromagnetic energy of the oscillating system is primarily stored on the electric fields on one phase of the oscillation cycle, and on magnetic fields of the system on another phase of the oscillation cycle … in a conductive medium, the magnetic energy is closely connected to surface currents as is generally known by the electromagnetic constitutive relations.”
JOHN P. HOCKER
Examiner
Art Unit 2189
/JOHN P HOCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2189
/REHANA PERVEEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2189