DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner Recommendation
It is the suggestion of the Examiner, to include specifics of the invention in the claims as supported by the specifications.
Response to Amendment
The responses filed on 06/02/2026 have been correspondingly accepted and considered in this Office Action. Claims 1-20 have been examined. Applicant’s arguments filed 06/02/2026 regarding support for “one or more images associated with a speaker" based on “speaker items in the UI as visual imagery associated with the speaker portions” as indicated in pg. 9 overcomes the rejection of claims 1, 10 and 17 under 35 U.S.C 112(a) rejections previously set forth in the Office Action mailed 12/08/2025 and rejection of claims 2-9, 11-16 and 18-20 based on their dependency to the claims 1, 10 and 17 respectively. Therefore, the above referenced rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/02/2026 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 (also representative of claims 10 and 17) state that
“These portions of Weisman do not teach or suggest a transcript-level IO that links a particular identified transcript portion, the searched topic, and rendering of the audio file, much less an IO that enforces playback from the first topic-corresponding instance upon selection of a first transcript segment. Treating an episode URL as the claimed deep-linking IO reads the "portion of the transcript file" and "topic" linkages out of the claim”
Applicant’s arguments above with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to the art rejection(s) of the remainder of dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103, in case said claims are correspondingly discussed and/or argued for at least the same rationale presented in Remarks filed 06/02/2026, Examiner respectfully notes as follows. For completeness, should the mentioned claims be likewise traversed for similar reasons to independent claims 1, 10 and 17 correspondingly, Examiner respectfully directs Applicant to the same previous supra reasons provided in the response directed towards claims 1, 10 and 17 correspondingly discussed above. For at least the same supra provided reasons, Examiner likewise respectfully disagrees, and Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colbath, Sean, et al. "Spoken documents: creating searchable archives from continuous audio." Proceedings of the 33rd Annual Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences. IEEE, 2000 in view of Mahajan et. al., US Patent 7,640,272 further in view of Joller et. al. US PgPub.2022/0139398.
Regarding claim 1, Colbath teaches a method, comprising: in response to a first interaction with a set of search results related to a topic, selecting, by a device, an audio file associated with the first interaction with the set of search results (see
Colbath, Fig. 4, pg. 5 discusses search results based on Topics, persons speaker, organizations, text ); identifying, by the device, a transcript file that corresponds to the audio file, the transcript file comprising functionality that enables rendering of the audio file (see Colbath, Fig. 4, center of screen is the transcript of the story, with the extracted names highlighted and color-coded. On the right-hand side, the extent of the story is shown. If the user wishes to hear the underlying audio, they can select a speaker turn to listen to, a story scope, or a region of text, and play back the audio associated with that region); generating, by the device, a deep-linking interface object (IO) that links the portion of the transcript file, the topic, and the rendering of the audio file(see Colbath, Fig. 4 displays entity names like CDC, Terry Nichols, Oklahoma cities as indicated in Specifications Fig. 7, and pg. 4-5 describing rendering of audio portions, topics); generating, by the device, an output with the deep-linking IO and of the identified transcript based on the identification of the portion, the output comprising a configuration of the transcript file(see Colbath, Fig. 4 displays the speakers on right side, entities color coded and linked to related entities and topics( deep IO)); causing display, by the device, of the output with the deep-linking IO and the portion of the transcript file on a display screen of a user device wherein the portion of the transcript file comprises segmented sections of text including one or more hyperlinked entities (see Colbath, Fig. 4, center screen with color coded entities, speakers on left and related information on Right & right click of mouse for rendering audio and other details ); in response to a second interaction with the deep-linking IO at the display screen comprising selection of a first segment of the segmented sections, rendering, by the device, an audio portion of the audio file related to the first segment and one or more images associated with a speaker in the audio portion, wherein the audio portion for the speaker begins from the first instance where the portion corresponds to the topic is discussed( see Colbath, Fig. 4, pgs. 4-5 describes selecting speaker from right side as needed for the relevant portions with images as per remarks known to a POSITA as submitted by applicant on 06/02/2026)); and causing, by the device, display of the one or more images and the audio portion associated with the second interaction generated output on a display screen of a user device (see Colbath, Fig. 4-6 describes the related information to searches and subsequent searches and pg. 9 describes the combination of other visualization and search tools for future systems ).
Colbath teaches in response to a second interaction with the deep-linking IO at the display screen comprising selection of a first segment of the segmented sections, rendering, by the device, an audio portion of the audio file related to the first segment and one or more images associated with a speaker in the audio portion wherein the audio portion for the speaker begins from the first instance where the portion corresponds to the topic is discussed. To further teach, in response to a second interaction with the deep-linking IO at the display screen comprising selection of a first segment of the segmented sections, rendering, by the device, an audio portion of the audio file related to the first segment and one or more images associated with a speaker in the audio portion, Mahajan is used to further teach in response to a first interaction with a set of search results related to a topic, selecting, by the device, an audio file from the set of search results(see Mahajan, col 4 lines 11-26 shows the search results 132 can access the A/V content to the user interface along with the metadata ); identifying, by the device, a transcript file that corresponds to the audio file, the transcript file comprising functionality that enables rendering of the audio file when the transcript file is displayed (see Mahajan, Fig. 2A, Mahajan col. 5 lines 11-17 shows closed caption box 210 to display transcript ); identifying, by the device, a portion of the transcript file that corresponds to the topic (see Mahajan, col 11 lines 11-15 User interface 800 also includes a subject matter section 812. Subject matter section 812 has a corresponding topic index 814 that can be used to identify the topic, or subject matter, being discussed during the corresponding portion of the A/V content ); generating, by the device, an output with the deep-linking IO and the transcript file (see Mahajan, col 2 lines 36-39 In any case, presenting the A/V content along with the metadata driven displays and community metadata driven displays to the user is indicated by block 162 in FIG. 2. Mahajan, col 4 lines 11-18 describes the search results contain hyperlinks(deep-linking IO) to the contents identified relevant to the searches); causing display, by the device, of the output with the deep-linking IO and the portion of the transcript file on a display screen of a user device, wherein the portion of the transcript file comprises segmented sections of text including one or more hyperlinked entities (. Mahajan, Fig. 2A, illustrates the User interface showing the transcript and relevant markers. Mahajan, Fig. 8 displays the identified audio clips and related factoids/contexts ( transcripts); see Mahajan Fig. 2A, Fig. 6 and Fig. 8; col 11 lines 22-35 discusses all the links to the entities mentioned in the transcript and the related timelines); in response to a second interaction with the deep-linking IO at the display screen comprising selection of a first segment of the segmented sections, rendering, by the device, an audio portion of the audio file related to the first segment and one or more images associated with a speaker in the audio portion wherein the audio portion for the speaker begins from the first instance where the portion corresponds to the topic is discussed(see Mahajan, Fig. 2A shows the transcripts and segments in 210, 208 and speakers in section 220 and the based on the speaker selected the related clip(image) is displayed in 200, and topics/chapter are indicated in section 232 and indicated in Mahajan, Fig. 4).
Colbath and Mahajan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they relate to methods for searching for media content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Colbath on the processing of audio files to search, summarize, and extract information from that audio quickly and accurately with the teachings of Mahajan to process the metadata of audio/video content which is used in generating user interface interaction components which allow a user to view subject matter in various segments of the A/V content and to interact with the A/V content based on the automatically generated metadata to improve the user ability to discover, navigate, and consume very large amounts of available A/V content ( see Mahajan, col 1 lines, 25-35 ).
However Colbath in view of Mahajan fail to teach identifying, by the device executing one or more computer-implemented artificial intelligence models, a portion of the transcript file that corresponds to the topic. However, Joller teaches identifying, by the device executing one or more computer-implemented artificial intelligence models, a portion of the transcript file that corresponds to the topic (see Joller, [0036-0037] discuss text segmentations and identification of topics in segments of text; Joller, [0041-0044] discusses identification of topics in transcribed texts using neural networks ( artificial intelligence models) ).
Colbath, Mahajan and Joller are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they relate to methods for searching for media content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Colbath and Mahajan on the processing of the metadata of audio files used in generating user interface interaction components with the machine learning/natural language processing teachings of Joller to facilitate processing, analyzing, and/or structuring of longer-form audio content ( see Joller, [0006] ).
Regarding claim 2, Colbath in view of Mahajan further in view of Joller teach the method of claim 1, Mahajan further teaches analyzing the audio file by performing natural language processing (NLP), and identifying a set of terms mentioned via the audio file(see Mahajan, col 41-43 Natural language processor 322 performs natural language analysis on speech recognition results 400); determining a subset of terms from the set of terms corresponding to the topic (see Mahajan, col 3 lines 57-60 Identifying the keywords is indicated by block 158 in FIG. 2. In one illustrative embodiment, the keywords are identified by tagging them as keywords using any desired mechanism); identifying supplemental content for each term in the subset of terms (see Mahajan, col 3 line 45 – col 4 line 1 Once the keywords are identified, they are provided to search engine 112. Search engine 112 can be any desired information retrieval search engine configured to search, through network 116, various sources of content 118 and 120. See Mahajan, Fig. 2, 160 Once the keywords are identified, they are provided to search engine 112. Search engine 112 can be any desired information retrieval search engine configured to search, through network 116, various sources of content 118 and 120); and annotating each term in the subset of terms based on identified supplemental content (see Mahajan, col 4 lines 12-18 In another embodiment, search results 132 comprise hyperlinks to the content identified as relevant to the search. As is described later, the links can be selected by the user to navigate to the relevant content. Retrieving related web information (search results 132) for each chapter is indicated by block 160 in FIG. 2. The search results 132 can be stored in metadata store 114 as well ). The same motivation to combine as claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 3, Colbath in view of Mahajan further in view of Joller teach the method of claim 2, Mahajan further teaches wherein the transcript file comprises the annotated subset of terms (see Mahajan, col 3 lines 55-64 the keywords are identified as stored in metadata; first subset of terms). The same motivation to combine as claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 4, Colbath in view of Mahajan further in view of Joller teach the method of claim 2, Mahajan further teaches wherein the annotation enables a display of the identified supplemental content(see Mahajan, Fig. 2A, 206).
Regarding claim 5, Weisman in view of Mahajan further in view of Joller teach the method of claim 2, Mahajan further teaches wherein the search for supplemental content is respective at least one of a local library of audio file and remote network locations (see Mahajan, col 3 line 66- col 4 line 6 Search engine 112 can be any desired information retrieval search engine configured to search, through network 116, various sources of content 118 and 120. In the illustrative embodiment, search engine 112 simply searches the content based on the identified keywords and returns search results 132 based on the search. In another embodiment, search engine 112 performs the search while (or just before) the A/V content 104 is played by a user). The same motivation to combine as claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 6, Colbath in view of Mahajan further in view of Joller teach the method of claim 1, Mahajan further teaches identifying a set of speakers from the audio file, wherein identification of the set of speakers is based on detected audio characteristics for each speaker(see Mahajan, col 7 lines 32-lines 42 performs the speaker segmentation based on acoustic characteristics); identifying a set of terms within the audio file related to each speaker in the set of speakers (see Mahajan, col 7 lines 36- 38 Audio analyzer 320 thus clusters segments of speech into a plurality of clusters wherein each cluster belongs to a single speaker ); determining portions of the audio that correspond to a set of terms for each speaker (see Mahajan, col 7 lines 43-col 8 line 3 discusses identifying names, topics(set of terms) mentioned and annotating accordingly ); and segmenting the transcript file based on the determined portions, wherein the transcript file is a segmented version of the transcript file (see Mahajan, col 7 line 61- col 8 line 3 Natural language processor 322 performs natural language analysis on speech recognition results 400. This is indicated by block 460 in FIG. 5, and can be done for a variety of different reasons. For instance, natural language processor 322 can be used in segmenting A/V content 104 into topic segments. This is shown by block 404 in FIG. 4 and generating the topic segmentation is indicated by block 462 in FIG. 5. This can be merged with the chapter analysis function described above, or provided as an input to that function). The same motivation to combine as claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 7, Colbath in view of Mahajan further in view of Joller teach the method of claim 6, Mahajan further teaches detecting names mentioned within the audio file(see Mahajan, col 7 lines 48-52 Otherwise, the names of the speakers are often mentioned during speech. Analyzer 320 can simply use the names mentioned (such as during introductions or at other points in the A/V content stream) to identify which speakers correspond to which clusters); determining that at least one detected name corresponds to an identified speaker(see Mahajan, col 7 lines 46-52 For instance, where closed captioning is provided, the speaker names can be easily associated with clusters. Otherwise, the names of the speakers are often mentioned during speech. Analyzer 320 can simply use the names mentioned (such as during introductions or at other points in the A/V content stream) to identify which speakers correspond to which clusters ); and annotating the transcript file to indicate the at least one detected name when displayed, wherein the transcript file is an annotated version of the transcript file(see Fig. 2A, 208, 220 ). The same motivation to combine as claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 9, Colbath in view of Mahajan further in view of Joller teach the method of claim 1, Mahajan further teaches causing, by the device, communication over network to a third party platform, the communication comprising information related to the topic of the transcript file(see Mahajan, Fig. 6 interface 124, has Web results 604); receiving, by the device, a digital content item provided by the third party platform, the digital content item comprising content corresponding to the topic(see Fig. 6, 604 Web results, 628sponsored sites, User interface 124 also has a "recommended" section 606. Recommended section 606 illustratively includes other recommended A/V content that is related to the A/V content being displayed on screen 600 ); and causing, by the device, display of the digital content item in association with the transcript file (see Mahajan, Fig. 6 Summary section 610 illustratively includes a short textual summary of the A/V content being displayed).
Regarding claim 10, is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to the method claim presented in claim 1 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to the method claim presented in claim 2 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to the method claim presented in claim 3 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to the method claim presented in claim 4 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to the method claim presented in claim 6 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to the method claim presented in claim 7 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, is directed to a device claim corresponding to the method claim presented in claim 1 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, is directed to a device claim corresponding to the method claim presented in claims 2, 3 and 4 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 2, 3 and 4.
Regarding claim 19, is directed to a device claim corresponding to the method claim presented in claim 6 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, is directed to a device claim corresponding to the method claim presented in claim 7 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 7.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colbath, Sean, et al. "Spoken documents: creating searchable archives from continuous audio." Proceedings of the 33rd Annual Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences. IEEE, 2000 in view of Mahajan et. al., US Patent 7,640,272 further in view of Joller et. al. US PgPub.2022/0139398 further in view of Bleak US PgPub. 2023/0141096.
Regarding claim 8, Colbath in view of Mahajan further in view of Joller teach the method of claim 1, Mahajan teaches determining that the transcript file is not current based on a threshold (see Mahajan, col 11 lines 53-59 the user preference information is used to process the identified a/v content, this is interpreted as any form of customization including identifying the transcript is not current based on a threshold ) and generating another transcript file for the audio file, wherein the identified transcript is the other transcript(see Mahajan, col 12 lines 7-27 the a/v contents are stitched together and then the personalized program is presented along with the corresponding metadata ( including transcript as discussed earlier) – interpreted as generating another transcript ).
However, to further compact prosecution, Bleak is used to further teach determining that the transcript file is not current based on a threshold (see Bleak [0080] At block 406, the transcript data may be presented on a display of the device. At block 408, a revision (threshold) to the transcript data may be obtained obtaining at the device from the remote transcription system); and generating another transcript file for the audio file, wherein the identified transcript is the other transcript (see Bleak, [0082] [0082] At block 412, in response to the indication of the change to the presentation, the revision may be presented by the device. In some embodiments, the revision may be obtained by the device after the indication of the change to the presentation is obtained. Alternately or additionally, the revision may be obtained by the device before the indication of the change to the presentation is determined; interpreted as another transcript is generated ).
Colbath, Mahajan, Joller and Bleak are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they relate to methods for searching for media content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Colbath in view Mahajan on the metadata of audio/video content which is used in generating user interface interaction components which allow a user to view subject matter in various segments of the A/V content and to interact with the A/V content based on the automatically generated metadata with the customization of the transcription processing teachings of Bleak to provide assistance to special needs people to participate in the audio communications ( see Bleak, [0002]).
Regarding claim 16, is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to the method claim presented in claim 8 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ivers et. al., US PgPub. 2022/0208155 teaches visualization of audio content system (1300). Based on the textual elements, e.g., (1331-1333), algorithms directed to generating and suggesting visual content as described above, will offer matching visual assets (1340). In some embodiments, users, administrators, and automated processes/devices may select certain visual assets (1340) for pairing with the audio segment (1306, 1308) (see Ivers, Fig. 13A-C).
Pappu et. al., US PgPub. 2017/0062010 teaches a work flow example 600 for serving relevant digital content associated with advertisements (e.g., advertisement content) based, at least on, the transcription of digital content (see Pappu, Fig. 6).
/NANDINI SUBRAMANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2656