DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 1, 18, and 20 amended.
Claims 8-9 are cancelled.
Claims 1-7, and 10-20 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seler (US 2017/0213800 A1), in view of Hunziker (US 2020/0067198 A1) and Wang et al (US 2020/0303799 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Seler teaches a component carrier, comprising [0062 for semiconductor device package]:
a stack comprising several electrically conductive layer structures several and electrically insulating layer structures [0059 for metal conducting layers and dielectric insulating layers, 0062 element 60 for electrical conducting layer];
a high-frequency component embedded in the stack [0041 for using high frequency applications in the GHz bands];
at least one waveguide integrated in the stack [0072 for rectangular waveguide];
and a transmission line and a coupling element configured for transmitting a signal between the high-frequency component and the at least one waveguide [0039 for using microstrip lines (coupling elements) for waveguides, and 0067-0069 for using transmission lines element 51 and using vias for connection].
Seler fails to explicitly teach wherein at least two electrically conductive layer structures are connected to one another by at least one via and a transmission and/or reception unit coupled with the at least one waveguide through the stack configured for wirelessly transmitting and/or receiving a signal the at least one waveguide comprises a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled with each other by a coupling through hole connecting the first waveguide and the second waveguide extending through part of the stack, wherein at least one of the at least one waveguide is a hollow cavity in the stack and defined by inner sidewalls of the electrically insulating layer structures of the stack.
Hunziker has a component carrier with a base structure, an antenna arrangement, and an electronic component (abstract) and teaches wherein at least two electrically conductive layer structures are connected to one another by at least one via [0078]
and a transmission and/or reception unit coupled with the at least one waveguide through the stack configured for wirelessly transmitting and/or receiving a signal [0040-0041, and 0084]
the at least one waveguide comprises a first waveguide and a second waveguide [0110 for first and second waveguides element 442 and 446],
wherein the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled with each other by a coupling through hole connecting the first waveguide and the second waveguide extending through part of the stack [0039-0041, an 0110 for opening (hole) element 443]
wherein at least one of the at least one waveguide is a hollow cavity in the stack and defined by inner sidewalls of the electrically insulating layer structures of the stack [0040-0041 for embedded in the base structure (in the stack) for electronic components and 0110 for using hollow structures].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the vias and waveguides as taught by Hunziker for improving the operational efficiency and the electromagnetic compatibility of the described component carrier (Hunziker, 0040).
Seler fails to explicitly teach wherein the transmission line is located on one main surface of the stack and the transmission and/or reception unit is formed within the stack at an opposed main surface of the stack.
Wang has radio frequency transmission lines in a multi-layer printed circuit board structure include first and second rows of ground vias that extend vertically through the printed circuit board (abstract) and teaches wherein the transmission line is located on one main surface of the stack and the transmission and/or reception unit is formed within the stack at an opposed main surface of the stack [0005].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the conductors as taught by Wang for the purpose to reduce the size of the module (Wang, 0005).
Regarding Claim 2, Seler teaches the coupling element is or are arranged on a main surface of the stack [0057].
Regarding Claim 3, Seler teaches the component carrier is configured for transmitting a signal from the high-frequency component via the transmission line [0031-0032 for transmitting components],
the coupling element and the at least one waveguide to the transmission and/or reception unit for wireless transmission [0032 for using an antenna with rectangular waveguide].
Regarding Claim 4, Seler teaches the component carrier is configured for wirelessly receiving a signal by the transmission and/or reception unit and transmitting the received signal via the at least one waveguide [0029 for wireless components],
the coupling element and the transmission line to the high-frequency component [0029 for high frequency components in the GHz ranges].
Regarding Claim 5, Seler teaches the transmission and/or reception unit is configured for wirelessly transmitting and/or receiving a signal at a main surface of the stack [0062 for metal plate surfaces elements 23 and 24],
in particular at a main surface of the stack opposing another main surface of the stack at which the transmission line and the coupling element are formed [fig. 6 element 601 for coupling with transmission line, 0071-0072].
Regarding Claim 6, Seler teaches the transmission and/or reception unit is configured for wirelessly transmitting and/or receiving a signal at a sidewall of the stack [0084 for having a side face or sidewall means].
Regarding Claim 7, Seler teaches the transmission and/or reception unit is configured for wirelessly transmitting and/or receiving a signal via at least one transmission and/or receiving notch in a surface of the stack [0073 for using opening or notch as an antenna to emit signals].
Regarding Claim 12, Seler teaches having only one waveguide [0073].
Regarding Claim 17, Seler teaches at least one of the following features: wherein the embedded high-frequency component is fully circumferentially surrounded by material of the stack; wherein the component carrier is configured as a radar module [0042];
wherein the coupling element is a coupling antenna [0032 for using an antenna].
Regarding Claim 18, Seler teaches an electronic device, comprising [0062 for semiconductor]:
a component carrier having a stack [0062];
a high-frequency component [0041 for using high frequency applications in the GHz bands];
at least one waveguide [0072 for rectangular waveguide];
a transmission line [0067-0068 for using transmission lines element 51];
a coupling element [0072 for using an antenna with the waveguide];
and a transmission unit and/or a reception unit, the stack comprising several electrically conductive layer structure and several electrically insulating layer structures [0059 for metal conducting layers and dielectric insulating layers, 0062 element 60 for electrical conducting layer], are connected to one another by a via
the high-frequency component embedded in the stack [0041 for using high frequency applications in the GHz bands],
the at least one waveguide integrated in the stack [0072 for rectangular waveguide],
the transmission line and the coupling element configured for transmitting a signal between the high-frequency component and the at least one waveguide [0067-0068 for using transmission lines element 51];
Seler fails to explicitly teach wherein at least two electrically conductive layer structures are connected to one another by at least one via and a transmission and/or reception unit coupled with the at least one waveguide through the stack configured for wirelessly transmitting and/or receiving a signal the at least one waveguide comprises a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled with each other by a coupling through hole connecting the first waveguide and the second waveguide extending through part of the stack, wherein at least one of the at least one waveguide is a hollow cavity in the stack and defined by inner sidewalls of the electrically insulating layer structures of the stack.
Hunziker has a component carrier with a base structure, an antenna arrangement, and an electronic component (abstract) and teaches wherein at least two electrically conductive layer structures are connected to one another by at least one via [0078]
and a transmission and/or reception unit coupled with the at least one waveguide through the stack configured for wirelessly transmitting and/or receiving a signal [0040-0041, and 0084]
the at least one waveguide comprises a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled with each other by a coupling through hole connecting the first waveguide and the second waveguide extending through part of the stack [0039-0041, an 0110 for opening (hole) element 443]
wherein at least one of the at least one waveguide is a hollow cavity in the stack and defined by inner sidewalls of the electrically insulating layer structures of the stack [0040-0041 for embedded in the base structure (in the stack) for electronic components and 0110 for using hollow structures].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the vias and waveguides as taught by Hunziker for improving the operational efficiency and the electromagnetic compatibility of the described component carrier (Hunziker, 0040).
Seler fails to explicitly teach wherein the transmission line is located on one main surface of the stack and the transmission and/or reception unit is formed within the stack at an opposed main surface of the stack.
Wang has radio frequency transmission lines in a multi-layer printed circuit board structure include first and second rows of ground vias that extend vertically through the printed circuit board (abstract) and teaches wherein the transmission line is located on one main surface of the stack and the transmission and/or reception unit is formed within the stack at an opposed main surface of the stack [0005].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the conductors as taught by Wang for the purpose to reduce the size of the module (Wang, 0005).
Regarding Claim 19, Seler teaches configured as one of the group consisting of a level sensor device for sensing a filling level in a container, a communication device for wireless data communication with a communication partner device, and an automotive device configured for assembly in a vehicle [0041].
Regarding Claim 20, Seler teaches a method of manufacturing a component carrier, comprising [0062 for semiconductor device package]:
providing a stack comprising several electrically conductive layer structure and several electrically insulating layer structures [0059 for metal conducting layers and dielectric insulating layers, 0062 element 60 for electrical conducting layer];
embedding a high-frequency component in the stack [0041 for using high frequency applications in the GHz bands];
integrating at least one waveguide in the stack [0072 for rectangular waveguide];
forming a transmission line and a coupling element for transmitting a signal between the high-frequency component and the at least one waveguide [0067-0068 for using transmission lines element 51].
Seler fails to explicitly teach wherein at least two electrically conductive layer structures are connected to one another by at least one via and a transmission and/or reception unit coupled with the at least one waveguide through the stack configured for wirelessly transmitting and/or receiving a signal and the at least one waveguide comprises a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled with each other by a coupling through hole connecting the first waveguide and the second waveguide extending through part of the stack, wherein at least one of the at least one waveguide is a hollow cavity in the stack and defined by inner sidewalls of the electrically insulating layer structures of the stack.
Hunziker has a component carrier with a base structure, an antenna arrangement, and an electronic component (abstract) and teaches wherein at least two electrically conductive layer structures are connected to one another by at least one via [0078]
and a transmission and/or reception unit coupled with the at least one waveguide through the stack configured for wirelessly transmitting and/or receiving a signal [0040-0041, and 0084]
the at least one waveguide comprises a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled with each other by a coupling through hole connecting the first waveguide and the second waveguide extending through part of the stack [0039-0041, an 0110 for opening (hole) element 443],
wherein at least one of the at least one waveguide is a hollow cavity in the stack and defined by inner sidewalls of the electrically insulating layer structures of the stack [0040-0041 for embedded in the base structure (in the stack) for electronic components and 0110 for using hollow structures].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the vias and waveguides as taught by Hunziker for improving the operational efficiency and the electromagnetic compatibility of the described component carrier (Hunziker, 0040).
Seler fails to explicitly teach wherein the transmission line is located on one main surface of the stack and the transmission and/or reception unit is formed within the stack at an opposed main surface of the stack.
Wang has radio frequency transmission lines in a multi-layer printed circuit board structure include first and second rows of ground vias that extend vertically through the printed circuit board (abstract) and teaches wherein the transmission line is located on one main surface of the stack and the transmission and/or reception unit is formed within the stack at an opposed main surface of the stack [0005].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the conductors as taught by Wang for the purpose to reduce the size of the module (Wang, 0005).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seler (US 2017/0213800 A1), in view of Hunziker (US 2020/0067198 A1) and Wang et al (US 2020/0303799 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kirino (US 2018/0309207 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Seler fails to explicitly teach the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled with each other by an aperture in one of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure of the stack.
Kirino has a waveguide device (abstract) and teaches the first waveguide and the second waveguide are coupled with each other by an aperture in one of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure of the stack [0123].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the communication circuits waveguides as taught by Kirino for the purpose to enhance the performance of an antenna device that includes such a waveguide device (Kirino, 0119).
Regarding Claim 11, Seler fails to explicitly teach one of the first waveguide and the second waveguide is a substantially horizontally extending waveguide and the other waveguide is a substantially vertically extending waveguide, and wherein the substantially horizontally extending waveguide and the substantially vertically extending waveguide are connected by a bending section.
Kirino has a waveguide device (abstract) and teaches one of the first waveguide and the second waveguide is a substantially horizontally extending waveguide and the other waveguide is a substantially vertically extending waveguide [0123],
and wherein the substantially horizontally extending waveguide and the substantially vertically extending waveguide are connected by a bending section [0123, figure 6, elements 122 and 136].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the communication circuits waveguides as taught by Kirino for the purpose to enhance the performance of an antenna device that includes such a waveguide device (Kirino, 0119).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seler (US 2017/0213800 A1), in view of Hunziker (US 2020/0067198 A1) and Wang et al (US 2020/0303799 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McKinzie (US 2012/0062346 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Seler fails to explicitly teach at least one of the at least one waveguide is filled with air.
McKinzie has a parallel plate waveguide structure may be configured to suppress spurious propagating modes (abstract) and teaches at least one of the at least one waveguide is filled with air [0003].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the waveguide propagation circuit as taught by McKinzie for the purpose to prevent radiation from internal sources (McKinzie, 0004).
Regarding Claim 14, Seler fails to explicitly teach at least one of the at least one waveguide is filled with a low dissipation factor dielectric solid.
McKinzie has a parallel plate waveguide structure may be configured to suppress spurious propagating modes (abstract) and teaches at least one of the at least one waveguide is filled with a low dissipation factor dielectric solid [0003 for using ceramics].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the waveguide propagation circuit as taught by McKinzie for the purpose to prevent radiation from internal sources (McKinzie, 0004).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seler (US 2017/0213800 A1), in view of Hunziker (US 2020/0067198 A1) and Wang et al (US 2020/0303799 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Uemichi (US 2015/0349398 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Seler fails to explicitly teach the component carrier is configured for carrying out a mode conversion between the high-frequency component and the at least one waveguide.
Uemichi has a method for manufacturing a mode converter including a substrate (abstract) and teaches the component carrier is configured for carrying out a mode conversion between the high-frequency component and the at least one waveguide [0009-0010].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the mode converter circuit as taught by Uemichi for the purpose to achieve signal transmission with low reflection loss (Uemichi, 0011).
Regarding Claim 16, Seler teaches the stack comprises three interconnected cores [figure 10, element 601 for transmission line core, element 23a for isolated metal plate, and element 22 for rows of via for three core elements, 0076].
Seler fails to explicitly teach wherein the transmission line and the high-frequency component are electrically coupled by at least one vertical through connection embedded in the stack.
Uemichi has a method for manufacturing a mode converter including a substrate (abstract) and teaches wherein the transmission line and the high-frequency component are electrically coupled by at least one vertical through connection embedded in the stack [0009-0010].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the component carrying techniques, as disclosed by Seler, further including the mode converter circuit as taught by Uemichi for the purpose to achieve signal transmission with low reflection loss (Uemichi, 0011).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
On page 11, first paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant argues that Seler does not disclose a hollow waveguide in the stack (as amended claim 1). The examiner respectfully disagrees: Hunziker discloses a waveguide formed as a hollow structure embedded within the layered base structure, because the opening is created within and bounded by the surrounding dielectric layer stack on the component carrier, the inner sidewalls of that hollow cavity are necessarily defined by the electrically insulating layer structures themselves [Hunziker 0040-0041 and 0109-0110].
On page 15, second paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant argues that Wang is silent on the embedded hollow waveguide in the stack. The examiner respectfully disagrees: the feature is taught in Hunzikerunziker.
On page 16, last fifth paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant argues that Kirino does not disclose the embedded hollow waveguide in the stack. The examiner respectfully disagrees: the feature is covered in the references of the independent claims (section 30 of this office action).
On page 17, last fourth paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant argues that McKinzie does not disclose the embedded hollow waveguide in the stack. The examiner respectfully disagrees: the feature is covered in the references of the independent claims (section 30 of this office action).
On page 18, last third paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant argues that Uemichi does not disclose the embedded hollow waveguide in the stack. The examiner respectfully disagrees: the feature is covered in the references of the independent claims (section 30 of this office action).
On page 20, last third paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant argues that McKinzie does not disclose the embedded hollow waveguide in the stack. See examiner’s response to claim 1 (section 30 of this office action).
Conclusion
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648