DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 10/31/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-7 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claim 3 has been cancelled in addition to canceled claims 8-11.
The amendments and remarks filed are sufficient to cure the previous specification objections and 35 USC 103 rejection set forth in the Final office action mailed on 07/25/2025.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to because in Fig. 3(a), 3(b), and 3(c) the units written as “mAhc/m2” should be written “mAh/cm2”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “wherein the capacity ratio of a negative electrode to a positive electrode (N/P ratio) satisfies an equation” in claim 1, lines 12-13 is indefinite because a negative electrode and a positive electrode were previously presented in claim 1, therefore it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the same electrodes or attempting to introduce new electrodes. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “wherein the capacity ratio of the negative electrode to the positive electrode (N/P ratio) satisfies an equation”.
Regarding claim 7, the recitation “the capacity ratio of a negative electrode to a positive electrode (N/P ratio) is defined as” in claim 7, lines 2-3 is indefinite because a negative electrode and a positive electrode were previously presented in claim 1, therefore it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the same electrodes or attempting to introduce new electrodes. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “the capacity ratio of the negative electrode to the positive electrode (N/P ratio) is defined as”.
Regarding claim(s) 2 and 4-6, the claim(s) is/are rejected as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (Pub. No. US 20100136411 A1) in view of Ionescu et al. (Pub. No. US 20220263082 A1) in view of Kang et al. (Pub. No. KR 20210122995 A) in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20220255150 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon et al. teaches an all-solid-state lithium secondary battery (see [0002]), comprising: a first electrode (1st Electrode, Fig. 1 below, [0033]) having a first active material (108 on right side of 1st electrode, Fig. 1 below) formed on a side (right side of 1st Electrode, Fig. 1 below, 108 formed on the right side of 1st Electrode, [0034]); a 2n-th electrode (2nd Electrode, n=1, Fig. 1 below, [0033]) having a side facing (left side of 2nd Electrode facing 1st electrode, Fig. 1 below) the first active material (108 on the right side of 1st Electrode, Fig. 1 below) and having a 2n-th active material (108 on both sides of 2nd Electrode, Fig. 1 below, [0034]) formed on both sides (see 2nd electrode with 108 formed on both sides, Fig. 1 below, [0034]); and a (2n+1)-th electrode (3rd Electrode, n=1, Fig. 1 below, [0033]) having a side facing (left side of 3rd Electrode facing 2nd Electrode, Fig. 1 below) an other side (right side of 2nd Electrode, Fig. 1 below) of the 2n-th electrode (2nd Electrode, n=1, Fig. 1 below, [0033]) and having a (2n+1)-th active material (108 on left side of 3rd Electrode, Fig. 1 below) formed on a side (see 108 formed on the left side of 3rd Electrode, Fig. 1 below) or both sides (see 108 formed on both sides of 3rd Electrode, Fig. 1 below, [0034]), and wherein the n is a natural number from 1 to 20 (n=1), but fails to teach a solid electrolyte including a lithium salt formed between the first active material and the 2n-th active material; and a solid electrolyte including a cross-linking agent formed between the 2n-th active material and the (2n+1)-th active material, wherein a capacity ratio of a negative electrode to a positive electrode (N/P ratio) for each active material formed on adjacent current collectors is from 1.0 to 1.2, wherein the first electrode, the 2n-th electrode, and the (2n+1)-th electrode are each formed to include polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether as an ion conductive material, and wherein the capacity ratio of a negative electrode to a positive electrode (N/P ratio) satisfies the following Equation 1:
[Equation 1] (A×B)/{(C×D)−(E×B)} wherein: the A represents a reversible capacity per unit weight (mAh/g) of the negative electrode; the B represents a loading density (g/cm.sup.2) of a negative electrode active material; the C represents a reversible capacity per unit weight (mAh/g) of the positive electrode; the D represents a loading density (g/cm.sup.2) of a positive electrode active material; and the E represents an irreversible capacity per unit weight (mAh/g) of the negative electrode. The examiner would like to note that the current mapping set n=1 for ease of mapping, however Yoon discloses n is a natural number from 1 to 3 in Fig. 1 below. See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
However, Kang teaches wherein a first electrode (negative electrode, see [0094]) having a first active material (negative electrode active material layer, see [0094]) formed on a side (see [0094], formed on at least one side) and a second electrode (positive electrode, see [0094]) having a second active material (positive electrode active material layer, [0111]) formed on both sides (see [0111] where the active material layer is formed on the current collector, therefore applied to both): a solid electrolyte (second solid polymer electrolyte, see [0094]) including a lithium salt (lithium salt, see [0081]), a cross-linking agent (cross linking agent, see [0081]) and a plasticizer (plasticizer, see [0081]) wherein the plasticizer (plasticizer, see [0081]) comprises an ethylene glycol-based compound (polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether, see [0084] where the plasticizer is polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether) formed between the first active material (negative electrode active material layer, see [0094]) and the second active material (positive electrode active material layer, [0111], see [0094] where the second solid polymer electrolyte is interposed between the negative electrode and the positive electrode), wherein the first electrode (negative electrode, see [0094]) and the second electrode (positive electrode, see [0094]) are each formed to include polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether (first electrode: see [0094] active material layer includes first solid polymer electrolyte, see [0031] the first solid polymer electrolyte comprises a ion-conductive material which is polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether, Second electrode: see [0111] the positive electrode active material layer includes a third solid polymer electrolyte, see [0062] where the third solid polymer electrolyte includes a ion conductive material of polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether) as an ion conductive material (see [0035] the ion conductive material is of polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether, see [0066] where the ion conductive material is of polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoon to substitute the separator between the first electrode and the 2n-th electrode and between the 2n-th and (2n+1)-th electrode as taught by Yoon for the solid electrolyte placed between positive electrodes and negative electrodes as further taught by Kang to act as a separator (see [0081-0082] where the materials are ionically conductive, however they are not known presently in the art to be electrically conductive and therefore electrically insulating) and an electrolyte to improve charge/discharge capacity and improve ionic conductivity (see [0006] of Kang). Further Yoon teaches the separator can be made of polymer composites (see [0033] of Yoon) and electrochemical reactions occur in the presence of electrolyte (see [0034] of Yoon) and that modifications can be made to the device (see [0045] of Yoon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoon such that the first electrode, the 2n-th electrode, and the (2n+1)-th electrode are each formed to include polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether as an ion conductive material as taught by Kang because Kang teaches that it is known in the art to include polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether in the formation of positive and negative electrodes to improve charge/discharge capacity and improve ionic conductivity (see [0006] of Kang). Further Yoon teaches that modifications can be made to the device (see [0045] of Yoon).
Yoon in view of Kang fails to teach wherein a capacity ratio of a negative electrode to a positive electrode (N/P ratio) for each active material formed on adjacent current collectors is from 1.0 to 1.2.
However, Ionescu teaches wherein a capacity ratio (N/P ratio, see [0027]) of a negative electrode (110 anode, see [0014], see [0027]) to a positive electrode (120 cathode, see [0014], see [0027]) (N/P ratio) for each active material (NMC/LCO/LMO for cathode, and silicon for anode, see [0028]) formed on adjacent current collectors (see [0024] where each electrode comprises a collector where the collector is a coated material, see Fig. 1, where anode 110, and cathode 120 see [0014] are adjacent) is from 1.0 to 1.2 (0.5-2, see [0027]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoon in view of Kang such that the N/P ratio is between 0.5 and 2 as taught by Ionescu to enable high energy density and fast recharging (see [0018] of Ionescu) and it would have further been obvious to modify the N/P ratio to stay within the claimed range as Ionescu teaches it is a result effective variable of anode material, cathode material, target stability, target number of cycles and energy density (see [0027]). Further Yoon in view of Kang teaches that modifications can be made to the device (see [0045] of Yoon).
Yoon in view of Kang and further in view of Ionescu fails to teach wherein the capacity ratio of a negative electrode to a positive electrode (N/P ratio) satisfies the following Equation 1:
[Equation 1] (A×B)/{(C×D)−(E×B)} wherein: the A represents a reversible capacity per unit weight (mAh/g) of the negative electrode; the B represents a loading density (g/cm.sup.2) of a negative electrode active material; the C represents a reversible capacity per unit weight (mAh/g) of the positive electrode; the D represents a loading density (g/cm.sup.2) of a positive electrode active material; and the E represents an irreversible capacity per unit weight (mAh/g) of the negative electrode.
However, Kim teaches wherein a capacity ratio (N/P ratio, see [0079]) of a negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0079]) to a positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0079]) (N/P ratio) satisfies the following Equation 1 (see [0079], math detailed below):
[Equation 1] (A×B)/{(C×D)−(E×B)} (discharge capacity per unit area of negative electrode/discharge capacity per unit area of positive electrode, see [0079], math detailed below) wherein: the A represents a reversible capacity per unit weight (mAh/g) of the negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0079], math detailed below); the B represents a loading density (g/cm.sup.2) of a negative electrode active material (see [0079], math detailed below); the C represents a reversible capacity per unit weight (mAh/g) of the positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0079], math detailed below); the D represents a loading density (g/cm.sup.2) of a positive electrode active material (see [0079], math detailed below); and the E represents an irreversible capacity per unit weight (mAh/g) of the negative electrode (Kim teaches a pressing process during activation to form a stable SEI layer, see [0013], to prevent continuous formation of the SEI layer see [0007], which is an irreversible capacity of the negative electrode see [0006], therefore this process makes the value of E go to zero in the equation) and wherein the capacity ratio (N/P ratio, see [0079]) of a negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0079]) to a positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0079]) (N/P ratio) is defined as a ratio (discharge capacity per unit area of negative electrode/discharge capacity per unit area of positive electrode, see [0079] of Kim, see modification above) of a capacity of the negative electrode (discharge capacity per unit area of negative electrode, see [0079]) to a capacity of the positive electrode (discharge capacity per unit area of positive electrode, see [0079]) consumed by an irreversible reaction (see [0081] and [0082] of Kim where the discharge capacity per unit area of the positive and negative electrode are measured from a half-cell after cycling, therefore during cycling an irreversible reaction would occur and the discharge capacity per unit area would be decreased by the irreversible reaction and therefore consumed by the irreversible reaction) based on a combined electrode (see [0081]-[0082] of Kim where the half-cells each have a positive and negative electrode, therefore a combined electrode).
The examiner would like to note that Kim teaches N/P = discharge capacity per unit area of negative electrode/discharge capacity per unit area of positive electrode (see [0079]). Looking at Equation 1 above (A x B) = (mAh/g)(g/cm2) = (mAh/cm2) which is equivalent to discharge capacity (mAh) per unit area of negative electrode (cm2). In equation 1 above, (C x D) = (mAh/g)(g/cm2) = (mAh/cm2) which is equivalent to discharge capacity (mAh) per unit area of positive electrode (cm2). Further for (E x B), see explanation of E above, therefore E in equation 1 above goes to zero and (A x B)/{(C x D) – (E x B)} = (A x B)/{(C x D) – (0 x B)} = (A x B)/{(C x D) – (0)} = (A x B)/(C x D) = discharge capacity per unit area of negative electrode (mAh/cm2)/discharge capacity per unit are of positive electrode (mAh/cm2) = N/P ratio equation taught by Kim (see [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoon in view of Kang and further in view of Ionescu such that the N/P ratio as taught by Yoon in view of Kang and further in view of Ionescu satisfies equation 1 above and measure the reversible capacity per unit area of the negative electrode to positive electrode from half-cells having combined electrode as taught by Kim as a decrease in electrical conductivity, deterioration of lifespan characteristics, and a decrease in energy density, may be prevented (see [0080] of Kim). Further Yoon in view of Kang and further in view of Ionescu teaches that modifications can be made to the device (see [0045] of Yoon).
Regarding claim 2, Yoon in view of Kang in view of Ionescu and further in view of Kim teaches wherein polarities of the first active material (108 on right side of 1st electrode, Annotated Fig. 1 above) and the (2n+1)-th active material (108 on left side of 3rd Electrode, Annotated Fig. 1 above) are the same (Anode sheets 102a and 102b, Annotated Fig. 1 above, see [0033]), and wherein polarities of the 2n-th active material (108 on both sides of 2nd Electrode, Annotated Fig. 1 above, [0034]) and the (2n+1)-th active material (108 on left side of 3rd Electrode, Annotated Fig. 1 above) are different from each other (102b is an anode sheet, 104 is a cathode sheet, different polarities see [0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Yoon in view of Kang in view of Ionescu and further in view of Kim teaches wherein each of the solid electrolytes (second solid polymer electrolyte, see [0094] of Kang, see modification above) comprises a plasticizer (plasticizer, see [0081] of Kang, see modification above).
Regarding claim 5, Yoon in view of Kang in view of Ionescu and further in view of Kim teaches wherein the plasticizer (plasticizer, see [0081] of Kang, see modification above) comprises an ethylene glycol-based compound (polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether, see [0084] of Kang where the plasticizer is polyethylene glycol dimethyl ether, see modification above).
Regarding claim 7, Yoon in view of Kang in view of Ionescu and further in view of Kim teaches wherein the capacity ratio (N/P ratio, see [0027] of Ionescu, see modification above) of a negative electrode (110 anode, see [0014], see [0027] of Ionescu, see modification above) to a positive electrode (120 cathode, see [0014], see [0027] of Ionescu, see modification above) (N/P ratio) is defined as a ratio (discharge capacity per unit area of negative electrode/discharge capacity per unit area of positive electrode, see [0079] of Kim, see modification above) of a capacity of the negative electrode (discharge capacity per unit area of negative electrode, see [0079] of Kim, see modification above) to a capacity of the positive electrode (discharge capacity per unit area of positive electrode, see [0079] of Kim, see modification above) consumed by an irreversible reaction (see [0081] and [0082] of Kim where the discharge capacity per unit area of the positive and negative electrode are measured from a half-cell after cycling, therefore during cycling an irreversible reaction would occur and the discharge capacity per unit area would be decreased by an irreversible reaction and therefore consumed by the irreversible reaction, see modification above) based on a combined electrode (see [0081]-[0082] of Kim where the half-cells each have a positive and negative electrode, therefore a combined electrode, see modification above). See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
6. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (Pub. No. US 20100136411 A1) in view of Ionescu et al. (Pub. No. US 20220263082 A1) in view of Kang et al. (Pub. No. KR 20210122995 A) in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20220255150 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Nagase et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0197800 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yoon in view of Kang in view of Ionescu and further in view of Kim fails to teach wherein the all-solid-state lithium secondary battery is configured to be connected in series and in parallel.
However, Nagase teaches a solid-state lithium secondary battery (10, Fig. 1, [0033], Nagase) configured to be connected in series and in parallel (see [0108] of Nagase).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoon in view of Kang in view of Ionescu and further in view of Kim such that the solid-state lithium secondary battery is configured to be connected in series and parallel as taught by Nagase as this structure helps restore the decrease of output characteristics without deteriorating an anode (see [0011] of Nagase). Further Yoon in view of Ionescu in view Kang and further in view of Kim teaches that modifications can be made to the device (see [0045] of Yoon).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references previously applied.
Regarding applicants’ argument Yoon makes no specific mention of an electrolyte, the Examiner respectfully disagrees, as seen in [0034] of Yoon, electrochemical reactions are enabled in the cell in the presence of electrolyte.
Regarding applicant’s arguments Kang does not disclose any combination of the solid electrolyte with the particular electrode structure, this argument is moot because the Examiner is not using Kang to teach the particular structure, Kang is merely used to disclose a solid electrolyte placed between positive and negative electrodes and therefore the positive and negative electrode active materials.
Regarding applicants’ arguments the specific structural combination of the solid electrolyte interposed at specific positions between active materials would not have been obvious from the combination of Yoon in view of Kang, this argument is moot in view of a new interpretation of previously applied references.
In response to applicant's argument that the specific structure optimizes interfacial stability and energy density, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicants’ arguments the references previously applied fail to disclose or imply the technical concept of Equation 1 that considers the irreversible capacity of the negative electrode. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as Equation 1 merely specifies an irreversible capacity of the negative electrode, but does not specify the source of the irreversible capacity. Kim teaches a method of pressing during activation to form a stable SEI layer as seen in [0013]. This stable SEI layer prevents continuous SEI layer formation (see [0007]) which is an irreversible capacity of the negative electrode (see [0006]).
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723