DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 10-12, 14-17, and 22-23 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 7-9, 13, and 18-21 are withdrawn.
Claims 2 and 4 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendments filed on 08/13/2026 have been fully considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant provided amendments to the independent claim which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot. Specifically, Monty (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2015/0217041 A1) is introduced as a new secondary reference in the present rejection for disclosing and rendering obvious the new limitations presented via the amendments. Yao ‘356 (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2016/0038356 A1), McNeil (U.S. Patent No. 4,551,141), Moehring (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2021/0020072 A1), Sanchez (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2017/0266031 A1), Yao ‘050 (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2014/0352050 A1), and Harvie (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2005/0154360 A1) are reintroduced as primary and secondary references in the present rejection for disclosing and rendering obvious a majority of the claimed structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 10-11, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao ‘356 (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2016/0038356 A1), in view of Monty (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2015/0217041 A1), further in view of Moehring (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2021/0020072 A1), and further in view of Sanchez (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2017/0266031 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yao ‘356 teaches: A fluid collection system (Abstract), comprising:
a fluid collection device (see drain pan 2 at least in Figs. 3-4) configured to receive fluid discharged from a user (see at least para. [0020]);
a fluid collection container (51) including an interior region (see Figs. 2 and 4) in fluid communication with the fluid collection device configured to collect the fluid (see para. [0023]);
However, Yao ‘356 fails to explicitly teach an external catheter, a compressible suction device solely responsive to mechanical actuation, a first tube in fluid communication with the external catheter and an interior region of the suction device, a second tube in fluid communication between the interior region of the suction device and the interior region of the fluid collection container, an actuator operably coupled to the suction device, or an operator electrically coupled to an actuator, as required by the claim.
Monty teaches an analogous irrigation fluid dispensing tool for use in a suction and irrigation tool (see Abstract) comprising:
a suction device (see squeeze bulb 104 at least in Fig. 1 and para. [0040] explaining that squeeze bulb 104 functions as a suction pump) comprising an inlet located on a proximal end (see squeeze bulb inlet 108 in Fig. 3 and para. [0040]) and an outlet located on a distal end (see squeeze bulb outlet 110 in Fig. 3 and para. [0042]), the suction device including a compressible interior region (see chamber 102 in Fig. 3 and para. [0040]), the compressible interior region having the inlet on the proximal end (see squeeze bulb inlet 108 in Fig. 3 and para. [0040]) and the outlet on the distal end (see squeeze bulb outlet 110 in Fig. 3 and para. [0042]), the compressible interior region positioned between the inlet and the outlet along a fluid flow path extending from the inlet to the outlet (see for example Fig. 3 and para. [0042]), wherein the compressible interior region is configured to draw fluid from a fluid collection device into a fluid collection container solely responsive to mechanical actuation of the suction device (para. [0040] teaches that when the squeeze bulb 104 is compressed, fluid flows through check valve 87);
a first tube connected to the interior region of the suction device at the inlet (see fluid coupling 70 in Fig. 3 and para. [0038]; as broadly recited, the coupling 70 is considered to be a tube at least because it is tube shaped), the first tube configured to receive fluid from a fluid collection device (para. [0040] teaches that check valve 87 is configured to allow irrigation fluid to flow through check vale 87 and into squeeze pump inlet 108; therefore, coupling 70 also is configured to receive fluid to be directed into squeeze bulb 104), and a second tube connected to the outlet of the suction device and the interior region of the fluid collection container (see tube 88 in Fig. 3 and para. [0043]);
an actuator (see flow controller 50 in para. [0052] and Fig. 3) operably coupled to the suction device (see Figs. 1-3 and para. [0054]), the actuator configured to apply a compression force on an exterior of the suction device (see at least para. [0052]) and release the compression force to enable decompression of the suction device (see at least para. [0052]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yao ‘356 to incorporate the teachings of Monty by including a suction device, a first tube, and an actuator as claimed at least in order to have a suction tool that is self-powered by a user as it is operated without any electrical power preferably instead being operated by manual manipulation of the tool by one hand of the user while grasping the tool, as taught by Monty (see para. [0032]). In addition, in the device of Yao ‘356 and Monty, the compressible interior region of the suction device is in fluid communication with the fluid collection device (see drain pan 2 in Figs. 3-4) and the fluid collection container (51) of Yao ‘356.
However, neither Yao ‘356 nor Monty explicitly teach an external catheter or an operator electrically coupled to the actuator, as required by the claim.
Moehring teaches an analogous medical device comprising an external air pump 672 that may comprise a squeeze bulb with a bulb compressor 670 and control 674 (see at least Fig. 6 and para. [0138]). Moehring further teaches that the bulb compressor 670 may comprise a solenoid that that moves to compress the bulb 672 and that a processor can be configured to control the operation of moving the solenoid 670 to compress the bulb 672 (see at least para. [0140]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined device of Yao ‘356 in view of Monty to incorporate the teachings of Moehring by including an operator electrically coupled to the actuator for selective control of the actuator by the user at least because applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.). In the instant application, Moehring teaches that an external air pump device that comprises a bulb, a bulb compressor, a control, and a processor that controls the movement of the solenoid/bulb compressor to compress the bulb. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combined device of Yao ‘356 in view of Monty can be improved by including the bulb, bulb compressor, control, and processor of Moehring to yield a predictable result of fully automating the suction device thereby resulting in an improved system that is fully automated and yet mimics the action of a manually controlled pneumatic air pump, as taught by Moehring.
However, neither Yao ‘356, Monty, nor Moehring explicitly teach that the fluid collection device includes an external catheter configured to be positioned at least proximate to a urethra of a user, as required by the claim.
Sanchez teaches an analogous system for collecting and transporting urine away from a user (see at least Abstract) comprising an external catheter configured to be positioned at least proximate to a urethra of a user (see at least para. [0010]). Sanchez further teaches that the external catheter can be coupled to an apparatus occupied by a user, such as a bed or wheelchair, to stabilize the position of the external catheter relative to a user’s urethral opening and/or the area surrounding the urethral opening (see para. [0124]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined device of Yao ‘356, in view of Monty, further in view of Moehring to incorporate the teachings of Sanchez by including an external catheter configured to be positioned proximate to a user’s urethra at least in order to maintain the engagement between the external catheter and the user’s urethral opening and/or area surrounding the urethral opening, particularly for in situations where disability limits or impairs mobility of a user, as taught by Sanchez (see para. [0124]). Additionally, in the combined device of Yao ‘356, Monty, Moehring, and Sanchez, the first tube (see coupling 70 in Fig. 3 of Monty) is in fluid communication with the external catheter of Sanchez which results in the first tube siphoning liquid from the external catheter towards the fluid collection container.
Regarding claim 3, Yao ‘356, in view of Monty, further in view of Moehring, and further in view of Sanchez (hereinafter, Combination 1) teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, in the device of Combination 1, fluid is drawn and temporarily contained within the suction device (see para. [0040] of Monty).
Regarding claim 5, Combination 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Yao ‘356 teaches a switch located on an arm of a wheelchair (see para. [0024]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to locate the operator of Moehring (see combination in claim 1 for adding the operator) on the arm of the wheelchair at least because Yao ‘356 teaches that coupling a switch to the armrest is beneficial (see para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Combination 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Combination 1 teaches a controller having a programmable timer that is configured to control the actuator (see combination in claim 1 for adding an actuator and a computer that controls the actuator), as required by the claim.
Regarding claim 10, Combination 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally Combination 1 teaches wherein the suction device includes an inlet in fluid communication with the fluid collection device (see squeeze bulb inlet 108 in Fig. 3 and para. [0040]) and an outlet in fluid communication with the fluid collection container (see squeeze bulb outlet 110 in Fig. 3 and para. [0042]). Additionally, Monty teaches wherein a one-way valve is disposed within the inlet or the outlet (see check valves 86, 87 in para. [0039] and Fig. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Combination 1 to further incorporate the teachings of Monty by including a one-way valve disposed within the inlet or outlet at least in order for the squeeze bulb 104 to function as a suction pump, as taught by Monty (see para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, Combination 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 10. Additionally Combination 1 teaches wherein the one-way valve is a first valve disposed within the inlet (see para. [0039] and Fig. 3 of Monty), and the suction device includes a second valve disposed within the outlet (Id.).
Regarding claim 22, Combination 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Monty teaches wherein the suction device includes at least one valve positioned between the inlet and the outlet along the fluid flow path (see check valves 86, 87 in para. [0039] and Fig. 3; as broadly recited, since valves 86, 87 are at inlet 108 and outlet 110, they are considered to be between the inlet and outlet along the fluid flow path).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Combination 1 to further incorporate the teachings of Monty by including at least one valve positioned between the inlet and the outlet along the fluid flow path at least in order for the squeeze bulb 104 to function as a suction pump, as taught by Monty (see para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 23, Combination 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Additionally, Combination 1 teaches wherein the suction device is attached to the fluid collection container, the suction device, and the fluid collection container (see for example claim 1 above and Fig. 3 of Monty) collectively exhibiting a generally rectangular profiled (as broadly recited, Combination 1 exhibits a generally rectangular profile; see for example Fig. 2 of Yao ‘356).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao ‘356 (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2016/0038356 A1), in view of Monty (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2015/0217041 A1), further in view of Moehring (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2021/0020072 A1), and further in view of Sanchez (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2017/0266031 A1), as applied above in claim 1, and further in view of McNeil (U.S. Patent No. 4,551,141).
Regarding claim 14, Combination 1 teach the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Combination 1 fails to explicitly teach that the fluid collection container is positioned below the suction device, as required by the claim.
McNeil teaches an analogous drainage device (Abstract) comprising a fluid collection device 42 and a fluid collection container 10 (see col. 4, line 67 thru col. 5, line 8). McNeil further teaches wherein the fluid collection container is positioned below the suction device (Fig. 3 shows the collection bag 10 is positioned below the reservoir 44), wherein the fluid drains from the suction device into the fluid collection container via gravity (McNeil col. 1, lines 62-63 teach that emptying the reservoir can be done by gravity flow).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined device of Combination 1 to incorporate the teachings of McNeil by positioning the fluid collection container below the suction device at least in order to enable fluid to be drained via gravity, as taught by McNeil (see col. 1, lines 62-63).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao ‘356 (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2016/0038356 A1), in view of Monty (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2015/0217041 A1), further in view of Moehring (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2021/0020072 A1), and further in view of Sanchez (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2017/0266031 A1), as applied above in claim 1, and further in view of Yao ‘050 (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2014/0352050 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Combination 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, neither Yao ‘356, Monty, Moehring, nor Sanchez explicitly teach that the fluid collection container is configured to be mounted underneath a seat of a wheelchair, as required by the claim.
Yao ‘050 teaches an analogous wheelchair with a urinal device (Abstract) comprising a fluid collection device (see drain pan 1) and a fluid collection container (see container 3) mounted underneath a seat of the wheelchair (see Figs. 1-5 and at least para. [0019]-[0020].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined device of Combination 1 to incorporate the teachings of Yao ‘050 by including a fluid collection container mounted underneath a seat of a wheelchair, as required by the claim. Such a combination would be the simple substitution of the structural configuration of Yao ‘356 with the structural configuration of Yao ‘050 to achieve a predictable result of having a fluid collection container mounted underneath a seat of a wheelchair, as taught by Yao ‘050.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao ‘356 (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2016/0038356 A1), in view of Monty (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2015/0217041 A1), further in view of Moehring (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2021/0020072 A1), and further in view of Sanchez (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2017/0266031 A1), as applied above in claim 1, and further in view of Harvie (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2005/0154360 A1).
Regarding claims 15-16, Combination 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, neither Yao ‘356, Monty, Moehring, nor Sanchez explicitly teach that the fluid collection container includes an absorbent material or wherein the absorbent material includes gel beads, as required by the claims.
Harvie teaches an analogous fluid collection system comprising a fluid collection device 11, a fluid collection container 3, and a suction device 2 (see Abstract and para. [0119]). Harvie further teaches that the disposable urine bag 3 utilizes super absorbent polymer crystals (see para. [0028]). Harvie further teaches wherein the absorbent material includes gel beads (para. [0028] teaches that the super absorbent polymer crystals have a gelling effect on the urine).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined device of Combination 1 to incorporate the teachings of Harvie by including an absorbent material comprising gel beads within the fluid collection container at least in order for the absorbent material to have a gelling effect on discharged urine in order to contain and control the urine and any effluvia that it may produce in order to absorb urine as it is deposited in the fluid collection container, as taught by Harvie (see for example para. [0028 & 0158]).
Regarding claim 17, Combination 1 teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Combination 1 fails to explicitly teach that the fluid collection container includes an odor neutralizer configured to at least partially neutralize an odor of the fluid, as required by the claim.
Harvie teaches wherein the fluid collection container includes an odor neutralizer configured to at least partially neutralize an odor of the fluid (para. [0028] teaches that the super absorbent polymer crystals may further have a urine deodorizer mixed within the crystals).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined device of Combination 1 to incorporate the teachings of Harvie by including an odor neutralizer at least in order to eliminate odors, as taught by Harvie (see at least para. [0028]).
Conclusion
/JIHAD DAKKAK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781