Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1,14-16 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) in view of Smith et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of WEBER et al. (WO 2019222091) and Newman et al.( US 20170079760).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 14 - 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 14 and 15 of copending Application No. 17655952 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims represent an obvious variation or broadening of the scope. Both applications include a “manifold” including a housing with at least one valve and multiple ports, a fluid reservoir, an inflatable member and a fluid control system and electronic control system.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WEBER et al. (WO 2019222091) hereinafter WEBER et al.
WEBER et al. teaches an inflatable penile prosthesis (100) includes a fluid reservoir (102) configured to hold fluid, an inflatable member (104), and a pump assembly (106) configured to transfer the fluid from the fluid reservoir to the inflatable member during an inflation cycle. The pump assembly includes a first pump (108) configured to inject the fluid into the inflatable member according to a first flow rate, and a second pump (110) configured to inject fluid into the inflatable member according to a second flow rate, where the second flow rate is less than the first flow rate.
Regarding claims 1, 15-16, WEBER et al. teaches a fluid reservoir;
an inflatable member(s); Note above annotated Fig. 4A - 404
a pump assembly configured to transfer fluid between the fluid reservoir and the inflatable member, including: Note above annotated Fig. 4A - 406
a manifold, including: Here a “manifold” is a housing holding multiple valves: Note annotated figure 4A above and paragraph [0055] The pump assembly 406 includes a plurality of valves such as a valve 430, a valve 432, and a valve 434, which are disposed within fluid passageways of the valve block or body of the pump assembly 406.
a housing; Note paragraph [0055] teaches the body of the pump assembly which is interpreted as a housing for the pump/pump assembly.
at least one valve and at least one pump positioned in a fluid passageway formed in the housing;
Note [0045] In some examples, the controller 112 is configured to control one or more valves to transition the first pump 108 and the second pump 110 between a parallel configuration and a serial configuration during different phases of the inflation cycle. The valves may be disposed in fluid passageways within a valve body or block of the pump assembly 106 and note paragraph [0055].
a first fluid port in fluidic communication with the fluid reservoir; and a second fluid port in fluidic communication with the inflatable member; Note paragraph [0055] Each of the valve 430, the valve 432, and the valve 434 includes a first port and a second port. In the closed position, fluid does not transfer between the first port and the second port. In the open position, fluid is permitted to transfer between the first port and the second.
an electronic control system controlling operation of the pump assembly; and
at least one pressure sensing device in communication with the electronic control system. Note paragraphs [0029] the multiple pumps are not individually controlled by the user, but are mechanically and/or programmatically controlled by a controller 112 , [0040]- [0049] , [0042] the sensor 115 is configured to sense the pressure level in the inflatable member 104 and send one or more signals to the controller 112 that indicate the pressure level in the inflatable member 104. In some examples, the sensor 115 is configured to monitor the flowrate (e.g., the flowrate in both directions). The controller 112 may control the activation (and deactivation) of the first pump 108 and the second pump 110 based on the signals received from the sensor 115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEBER et al. (WO 2019222091) hereinafter WEBER et al. in view of Newman et al.( US 20170079760) hereinafter Newman et al.
WEBER et al. teaches the claimed invention as set forth above including receiving pressure level measurements from the at least one sensing device; apply a control algorithm based on the received pressure level measurements; and control operation of the at least one valve and the at least one pump in accordance with the applied control algorithm. Note paragraph [0028] the multiple pumps are not individually controlled by the user, but are mechanically and/or programmatically controlled by a controller 112, which from the point of view of the user, the multiple pumps of the pump assembly 106 may appear as a single pump. In some examples, the user is able to program the maximum output pressure and/or the pressure profile. [0039] The sensor 115 is configured to monitor the pressure level in the inflatable member 104. In some examples, the sensor 115 is calibrated before the inflation and deflation cycle is commenced. The sensor 115 is communicatively coupled to the controller 112 such that the controller 112 can receive signals from the sensor 115. In some examples, the sensor 115 is included within the pump assembly 106. In some examples, the sensor 115 is configured to sense the amount of fluid transferred to the inflatable member 104, and send one or more signals to the controller 112 that indicate the amount of fluid that has been transferred. [0041] In some examples, the sensor 115 is configured to sense the pressure level in the inflatable member 104 and send one or more signals to the controller 112 that indicate the pressure level in the inflatable member 104. In some examples, the sensor 115 is configured to monitor the flowrate (e.g., the flowrate in both directions). The controller 112 may control the activation (and deactivation) of the first pump 108 and the second pump 110 based on the signals received from the sensor 115 such that the operator is unaware of that the pump assembly 106 includes multiple pumps operating at different times.
Weber et al. does not specifically teach the electronic control system includes a printed circuit board including a processor. However, it is noted that a programmable controller implies processing utilizing a processor that would be implemented via a hardware circuit board.
Newman et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor an apparatus and method for treating erectile dysfunction, urinary and fecal incontinence, and other medical problems treated with inflatable medical implants. Including a wirelessly controlled inflatable medical implant system which includes an external control module and an implantable module. The external control module may transmit wireless power and control signals, which are received by circuitry on a flexible printed circuit board in the implantable module. In response to the received signals, circuitry in the flexible printed circuit board may cause a motor and pump combination to transfer fluid from a reservoir in the implantable device, through tubing, and into inflatable medical implant located in the penis. The flexible printed circuit board, motor, and pump may be placed within the fluid reservoir, which provides a heat sink that prevents overheating of the implant.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include in the device of Weber et al. where the electronic control system includes a printed circuit board including a processor as taught by Newman et al to enable a compact, easy to operate implant apparatus that is programmable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HASSLER et al.( CA 2507155) teaches A remotely controlled gastric band system that is practically immune to external magnetic fields, such as from a Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) machine, incorporates a bi-directional pump and fluid reservoir to adjust fluid volume for hydraulic
control of a gastric band. A piezoelectric driver (e.g., rotary actuator, linear actuator) selectively compresses and expands a metal bellows hermetically sealed within a biocompatible and nonferromagnetic enclosure or case such as titanium.
LEVIUS(WO 9204879) teaches a two-component fluid pump for inflating an inflatable penile prosthesis. The pump comprises a high-volume, low-pressure first pump component and at least one low-volume, high-pressure second pump component. Fluid to be pumped to the prosthesis is housed within the first component, and each of the first and second components is in valved communication with the prosthesis and in valved communication with each other. In a preferred embodiment the second pump component is disposed within the first pump component. The pump preferably can be implanted within the user, with the most preferable implantation site being within the scrotal sack.
Miller(US 5509888) teaches a device and method for regulating fluid flow within the human body includes small electromagnetic devices embedded in an inner housing of the present device that function under the control of a programmable control unit to create small magnetic fields which cause an artificial increase in the viscosity and apparent density of a magnetorheological fluid located in a compartment surrounding the structure through which fluid flow is to be controlled.
/BRIAN L CASLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791