DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed February 4th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-14, 16, and 18-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-13, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn et al. (US 20120132727 A1) in view of Nagao (US 20220305501 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dunn discloses a rotating sprinkler (10, Figs. 1-2, Paragraph 0001) for distributing water over an area of landscape to irrigate that portion of landscape (Paragraph 0001), the sprinkler (10, Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a turret (26, Figs. 3-7) configured to rotate with the sprinkler (10, nozzle turret 26 is rotated by reversing mechanism 13 of sprinkler 10, Figs. 1-2, Paragraphs 0023-0024) and comprising:
a chamber (62, Fig. 4);
an inlet (“threaded inlet”, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0019) in flow communication with the chamber (62, Fig. 4), the inlet (“threaded inlet”, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0019) being configured to receive pressurized water (pressurized water is introduced at threaded inlet at the lower end of the outer case 18 and flows into chamber 62, Paragraphs 0019, 0024);
a primary port (66, Figs. 4-5) in flow communication with the chamber (62, shown in Fig. 4), the primary port (66, Figs. 4-5) being configured to receive a nozzle assembly (14, shown in Figs. 6-7, Paragraph 0026), the primary port (66, Figs. 4-5) comprising a first engagement structure (68, Fig. 4); and
a removable stream conditioner (84, 92, nozzle 14 may be constructed of multiple pieces assembled together, which can include the straightening fins 84 and 92 be removable from the nozzle 14, Figs. 8-10, Paragraph 0032) positioned in the primary port (66, exit port 66 receives nozzle 14 and straightening fins 84 and 92, shown in Figs. 4-7, Paragraph 0027), the stream conditioner (84, 92, Figs. 8-10) being independent of the nozzle assembly (14, nozzle 14 may be constructed of multiple pieces assembled together, which can include the straightening fins 84 and 92 be independent from the nozzle 14, Figs. 6-7, 9-10, Paragraph 0032) and comprising a plurality of fins (84 and 92 are fins, Paragraph 0026) forming a plurality of flow regions (openings between the fins 84 and 92, shown in Figs. 9-10), one or more of the plurality of flow regions (openings between the fins 84 and 92, shown in Figs. 9-10) having a cross-sectional flow area that decreases in a downstream direction towards the primary port (66, Figs. 4-5) so as to accelerate the pressurized water through the stream conditioner (84, 92, cross-sections within the fins 84 and fins 92, which are located within exit port 66, decrease in a downstream direction, and water accelerates in the straightening fins 92 before exiting nozzle 14, annotated and shown in Fig. 8, Paragraphs 0026-0027),
wherein the stream conditioner (84, 92, Figs. 8-10) and the nozzle assembly (14, Figs. 6-7, 9-10) are modular components from each other (interpreting as the stream conditioner and the nozzle assembly are separate parts that, when combined, form a complete whole, Cambridge Dictionary, 14, nozzle 14 is removable from the exit port 66 of the nozzle turret 26, and nozzle 14 may be constructed of multiple pieces assembled together to obtain desired results, which can include the straightening fins 84 and 92 be separate and modular with the nozzle 14, there may be more or fewer straightening fins, straightening fins located at a specific location such as only in the base or only in the outlet or in various parts of the nozzle turret 26, Paragraphs 0027, 0032) and the turret (26, nozzle 14 and straightening fins 82 and 92 are removable from the exit port 66 of the nozzle turret 26, Figs. 3-7, Paragraph 0027).
However, Dunn does not teach wherein the stream conditioner comprises a second engagement structure, the second engagement structure being complementary to the first engagement structure so as to rotationally align the stream conditioner with the primary port after the stream conditioner is installed in the primary port but before the nozzle assembly is installed in the primary port.
Nagao teaches the primary port (91, Fig. 3) comprising a first engagement structure (96, Fig. 3), and wherein the stream conditioner (111, 72, Fig. 3) comprises a second engagement structure (15, Fig. 3), the second engagement structure (15, Fig. 3) being complementary to the first engagement structure (96, external thread 15 fits into internal thread 96, shown in Fig. 1, Paragraph 0044) so as to rotationally align the stream conditioner (111, 72, Fig. 3) with the primary port (91, Fig. 3) after the stream conditioner (111, 72, Fig. 3) is installed in the primary port (91, Fig. 3) but before the nozzle assembly (31, Fig. 3) is installed in the primary port (91, external thread 15 fits into internal thread 96 by rotating the external thread 15 into internal thread 96 to screw and rotationally align the external thread 15 and the internal thread 96 together, as known in the art, and this occurs before nozzle tip 31 is installed in body 111, shown in Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0044, 0061, 0075).
Dunn and Nagao are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotating sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first engagement structure of the of the primary port and the second engagement structure of the stream conditioner taught in Nagao’s sprayer, to the primary port and the stream conditioner disclosed in Dunn’s sprinkler, to allow Dunn’s first engagement structure to have a complementary second engagement structure at the stream conditioner and Dunn’s stream conditioner and Dunn’s primary port to be rotationally aligned after the stream conditioner is installed in the primary port before the nozzle assembly is installed in the primary port. There is a motivation to combine the first engagement structure and the second engagement structure because doing so allows the parts to be mounted with high accuracy (Nagao, Paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 2, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 1. Dunn further discloses at least a portion of the stream conditioner (84, 92, Figs. 8-10) is disposed in the primary port (66, at least a portion of fins 84 and 92, located within nozzle 14, are disposed in the exit port 66, shown in Figs. 4-7).
With respect to claim 5, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 1 above. Dunn further discloses the stream conditioner (84, 92, Figs. 8-10) can rotate for less than 360 degrees about its axis relative to the primary port (66, Figs. 4-5) when installed in the turret (26, nozzle 14 is carried inside a nozzle turret 26, which can operate in a fixed arc, adjustable arc, or full circle rotation, which is known in the art as less than 360 degrees, Figs. 3-7, Paragraphs 0019, 0032).
Regarding claim 6, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 1 above. Dunn further discloses the stream conditioner (84, 92, Figs. 8-10) can rotate for less than 5 degrees about its axis relative to the primary port (66, Figs. 4-5) when installed in the turret (26, nozzle 14 is carried inside a nozzle turret 26, which can operate in a fixed arc, adjustable arc, or full circle rotation, which can include less than 5 degrees, Figs. 3-7, Paragraphs 0019, 0032).
In regards to claim 7, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 1 above. Nagao further teaches the second engagement structure (15, Fig. 3) is one or more notches (grooves of threads 15, shown in Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 9, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 1 above. Nagao further teaches the first engagement structure (96, Fig. 3) is one or more bosses (interpreting as a raised ornamentation, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, raised surfaces of threads 96, shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 1. Dunn further discloses the plurality of flow regions (openings between the fins 84 and 92, shown in Figs. 9-10) have a cross-sectional flow area that decreases in a downstream direction towards the primary port (66, cross-sections within the fins 84 and fins 92, which are located within exit port 66, decrease in a downstream direction, and water accelerates in the straightening fins 92 before exiting nozzle 14, shown in Fig. 8, Paragraphs 0026-0027).
In regards to claim 11, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 1. Dunn further discloses the turret (26, Figs. 3-7) comprises a nozzle recess (80, Figs. 8-10), the primary port (66, Figs. 4-5) being disposed in the nozzle recess (80, base 80 may be of any design to mate with outlet port 66, Figs. 8-10, Paragraph 0032), and at least a portion of the nozzle assembly (14, Figs. 6-10) is sized and shaped to fit within the nozzle recess (80, shown in Figs. 8-10).
With respect to claim 12, Dunn discloses a rotating sprinkler (10, Figs. 1-2, Paragraph 0001) for distributing water over an area of landscape to irrigate that portion of landscape (Paragraph 0001), the sprinkler (10, Figs. 1-2) comprising:
an outer body (18, Fig. 2) and a tubular structure (22, Figs. 2-3) disposed at least partially in the outer body (18, shown in Fig. 2), the tubular structure (22, Figs. 2-3) being in flow communication with an inlet (“threaded inlet”, pressurized water is introduced at threaded inlet at the lower end of the outer case 18 to riser 22, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0019) of the sprinkler (10, Figs. 1-2);
a turret (26, Figs. 3-7) supported by the tubular structure (22, shown in Fig. 3) and comprising:
a chamber (62, Fig. 4);
an inlet (54, Fig. 3) in flow communication with the tubular structure (22, shown in Fig. 3) and the chamber (62, water flows from inlet screen 54 of nozzle turret 26 to within riser 22 and into chamber 62, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0024); and
a nozzle recess (interpreting nozzle recess as a recession for a nozzle, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, 80, inlet base 80 is a recession that retains spout 90 of nozzle 14 in place, shown in Figs. 8-10, Paragraph 0026) in flow communication with the chamber (62, water flows from chamber 62 to port 64, to port 66, and enters center bore 86 of inlet base 80, shown in Figs. 4-8, Paragraph 0024, 0026), the nozzle recess (80, Figs. 8-10) being configured to receive a nozzle assembly (14, 90, shown in Figs. 8-10), and
a removable stream conditioner (84, 92, nozzle 14 may be constructed of multiple pieces assembled together, which can include the straightening fins 84 and 92 be removable from the nozzle 14, Figs. 8-10, Paragraph 0032) being secured within the nozzle recess (80, shown in Figs. 8-10) independent of securing the nozzle assembly (14, Figs. 6-7, 9-10) in the nozzle recess (80, nozzle 14 may be constructed of multiple pieces assembled together, which can include the straightening fins 84 and 92 be removable and independent from the nozzle 14, Figs. 8-10, Paragraph 0032), the stream conditioner (84, 92, Figs. 8-10) having a central axis (annotated in Fig. 8) and comprising a plurality of fins (84 and 92 are fins, Paragraph 0026) with one or more flow areas (openings between the fins 84 and 92, shown in Figs. 9-10) disposed between the plurality of fins (84, 92, shown in Figs. 9-10), the one or more flow areas (openings between the fins 84 and 92, shown in Figs. 9-10) having a cross-sectional flow area that decreases in a downstream direction (66, Figs. 4-5) so as to accelerate the water through the stream conditioner (84, 92, cross-sections within the fins 84 and fins 92 decrease in a downstream direction, and water accelerates in the straightening fins 92 before exiting nozzle 14, annotated and shown in Fig. 8, Paragraphs 0026-0027),
wherein the stream conditioner (84, 92, Figs. 8-10) and the nozzle assembly (14, Figs. 6-7, 9-10) are modular components from each other (interpreting as the stream conditioner and the nozzle assembly are separate parts that, when combined, form a complete whole, Cambridge Dictionary, 14, nozzle 14 is removable from the exit port 66 of the nozzle turret 26, nozzle 14 may be constructed of multiple pieces assembled together to obtain desired results, which can include the straightening fins 84 and 92 be modular with the nozzle 14, there may be more or fewer straightening fins, straightening fins located at a specific location such as only in the base or only in the outlet or in various parts of the nozzle turret 26, Paragraphs 0027, 0032) and the turret (26, nozzle 14 and straightening fins 82 and 92 are removable from the exit port 66 of the nozzle turret 26, Figs. 3-7, Paragraph 0027).
However, Dunn does not teach the nozzle recess comprising a first engagement structure, and wherein the stream conditioner comprises a second engagement structure, the second engagement structure being complementary to the first engagement structure so as to rotationally align the stream conditioner with the nozzle recess after the stream conditioner is installed in the nozzle recess but before the nozzle assembly is installed in the nozzle recess.
Nagao teaches the nozzle recess (91, Fig. 3) comprising a first engagement structure (96, Fig. 3), and wherein the stream conditioner (111, 72, Fig. 3) comprises a second engagement structure (15, Fig. 3), the second engagement structure (15, Fig. 3) being complementary to the first engagement structure (96, external thread 15 fits into internal thread 96, shown in Fig. 1, Paragraph 0044) so as to rotationally align the stream conditioner (111, 72, Fig. 3) with the nozzle recess (91, Fig. 3) after the stream conditioner (111, 72, Fig. 3) is installed in the nozzle recess (91, Fig. 3) but before the nozzle assembly (31, Fig. 3) is installed in the nozzle recess (91, external thread 15 fits into internal thread 96 by rotating the external thread 15 into internal thread 96 to screw and rotationally align the external thread 15 and the internal thread 96 together, as known in the art, and this occurs before nozzle tip 31 is installed in body 111, shown in Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0044, 0061, 0075).
Dunn and Nagao are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotating sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first engagement structure of the of the nozzle recess and the second engagement structure of the stream conditioner taught in Nagao’s sprayer, to the nozzle recess and the stream conditioner disclosed in Dunn’s sprinkler, to allow Dunn’s first engagement structure to have a complementary second engagement structure at the stream conditioner and Dunn’s stream conditioner and Dunn’s nozzle recess to be rotationally aligned after the stream conditioner is installed in the nozzle recess before the nozzle assembly is installed in the nozzle recess. There is a motivation to combine the first engagement structure and the second engagement structure because doing so allows the parts to be mounted with high accuracy (Nagao, Paragraph 0061).
With respect to claim 13, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 12. Dunn further discloses the one or more flow areas (openings between the fins 84 and 92, shown in Figs. 9-10) are arranged to form a central flow region (86, 94, shown in Figs. 9-10) and a perimeter flow region (flow regions between fins 84, shown in Fig. 9) for water to flow through the stream conditioner (84, 92, shown in Figs. 8-10).
With respect to claim 16, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 12 above. Nagao further teaches the second engagement structure (15, Fig. 3) is one or more notches (grooves of threads 15, shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 12 above. Nagao further teaches the first engagement structure (96, Fig. 3) is one or more bosses (interpreting as a raised ornamentation, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, raised surfaces of threads 96, shown in Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 19, Dunn discloses a rotating sprinkler (10, Figs. 1-2, Paragraph 0001) for distributing water over an area of landscape to irrigate that portion of landscape (Paragraph 0001), the sprinkler (10, Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a housing (18, 26, Figs. 3-7) configured to rotate with the sprinkler (10, nozzle turret 26 is rotated by reversing mechanism 13 of sprinkler 10, Figs. 1-2, Paragraphs 0023-0024) and comprising:
an internal chamber (62, Fig. 4);
an inlet (“threaded inlet”, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0019) disposed in a lower surface of the housing (18, 26, shown in Fig. 2), the inlet (“threaded inlet”, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraph 0019) in flow communication with the chamber (62, Fig. 4) and configured to receive pressurized water (pressurized water is introduced at threaded inlet at the lower end of the outer case 18 and flows into chamber 62, Paragraphs 0019, 0024);
an outlet (66, Figs. 4-5) in a sidewall of the housing (18, 26, shown in Figs. 4-5), the outlet (66, Figs. 4-5) being in flow communication with the chamber (62, shown in Fig. 4) and sized and shaped to receive a nozzle assembly (14, shown in Figs. 6-7, Paragraph 0026), the outlet (66, Figs. 4-5) comprising a first engagement structure (68, Fig. 4); and
a removable stream conditioner (84, 92, nozzle 14 may be constructed of multiple pieces assembled together, which can include the straightening fins 84 and 92 be removable from the nozzle 14, Figs. 8-10, Paragraph 0032) positioned in the outlet (66, exit port 66 receives nozzle 14 and straightening fins 84 and 92, shown in Figs. 4-7, Paragraph 0027) and being independent of the nozzle assembly (14, nozzle 14 may be constructed of multiple pieces assembled together, which can include the straightening fins 84 and 92 be independent from the nozzle 14, Figs. 6-7, 9-10, Paragraph 0032), the stream conditioner (84, 92, Figs. 8-10) comprising a plurality of fins (84 and 92 are fins, Paragraph 0026) sized and shaped to straighten and accelerate a turbulent flow of water from the internal chamber as water passes between the plurality of fins (fins 84 and 92 straighten a turbulent stream of water flowing from chamber 62, and water accelerates in the straightening fins 92 before exiting nozzle 14, Paragraphs 0024, 0026), the plurality of fins (84, 92, Figs. 8-10) having one or more flow areas (openings between the fins 84 and 92, shown in Figs. 9-10) disposed between the plurality of fins (84, 92, shown in Figs. 9-10), the one or more of the plurality of flow areas (openings between the fins 84 and 92, shown in Figs. 9-10) having a cross-sectional flow area that decreases in a downstream direction so as to accelerate the water through the stream conditioner (84, 92, cross-sections within the fins 84 and fins 92, which are located within exit port 66, decrease in a downstream direction, and water accelerates in the straightening fins 92 before exiting nozzle 14, annotated and shown in Fig. 8, Paragraphs 0026-0027),
wherein the stream conditioner (84, 92, Figs. 8-10) and the nozzle assembly (14, Figs. 6-7, 9-10) are modular components from each other (interpreting as the stream conditioner and the nozzle assembly are separate parts that, when combined, form a complete whole, Cambridge Dictionary, 14, nozzle 14 is removable from the exit port 66 of the nozzle turret 26, nozzle 14 may be constructed of multiple pieces assembled together to obtain desired results, which can include the straightening fins 84 and 92 be modular with the nozzle 14, there may be more or fewer straightening fins, straightening fins located at a specific location such as only in the base or only in the outlet or in various parts of the nozzle turret 26, or no stream straighteners, Paragraphs 0027, 0032) and the housing (18, 26, nozzle 14 and straightening fins 82 and 92 are removable from the exit port 66 of the nozzle turret 26, Figs. 3-7, Paragraph 0027).
However, Dunn does not teach wherein the stream conditioner comprises a second engagement structure, the second engagement structure being complementary to the first engagement structure so as to rotationally align the stream conditioner with the outlet after the stream conditioner is installed in the outlet but before the nozzle assembly is installed in the outlet.
Nagao teaches the outlet (91, Fig. 3) comprising a first engagement structure (96, Fig. 3), and wherein the stream conditioner (111, 72, Fig. 3) comprises a second engagement structure (15, Fig. 3), the second engagement structure (15, Fig. 3) being complementary to the first engagement structure (96, external thread 15 fits into internal thread 96, shown in Fig. 1, Paragraph 0044) so as to rotationally align the stream conditioner (111, 72, Fig. 3) with the outlet (91, Fig. 3) after the stream conditioner (111, 72, Fig. 3) is installed in the outlet (91, Fig. 3) but before the nozzle assembly (31, Fig. 3) is installed in the outlet (91, external thread 15 fits into internal thread 96 by rotating the external thread 15 into internal thread 96 to screw and rotationally align the external thread 15 and the internal thread 96 together, as known in the art, and this occurs before nozzle tip 31 is installed in body 111, shown in Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0044, 0061, 0075).
Dunn and Nagao are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotating sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first engagement structure of the of the outlet and the second engagement structure of the stream conditioner taught in Nagao’s sprayer, to the outlet and the stream conditioner disclosed in Dunn’s sprinkler, to allow Dunn’s first engagement structure to have a complementary second engagement structure at the stream conditioner and Dunn’s stream conditioner and Dunn’s outlet to be rotationally aligned after the stream conditioner is installed in the outlet before the nozzle assembly is installed in the outlet. There is a motivation to combine the first engagement structure and the second engagement structure because doing so allows the parts to be mounted with high accuracy (Nagao, Paragraph 0061).
In regards to claim 20, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 19. Dunn further discloses the outlet (66, Figs. 4-5) comprises a primary port (66 is an exit port, Paragraph 0024), the primary port (66, Figs. 4-5) being configured to receive at least a portion of the stream conditioner (84, 92, at least a portion of fins 84 and 92, located within nozzle 14, are disposed in the exit port 66, shown in Figs. 4-7).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn et al. (US 20120132727 A1) in view of Nagao (US 20220305501 A1) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of McCormick (US 20050103887 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 2. However, Dunn and Nagao do not teach the portion of the stream conditioner forms a press fit in the primary port. McCormick teaches a rotating sprinkler (10, Fig. 1) comprising the portion of the stream conditioner (40, internal passageway 40 is within nozzle 32, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0027) forms a press fit in the primary port (30, seat 30 is within nozzle assembly 16, Figs. 2-3, Paragraph 0027).
Dunn, Nagao, and McCormick are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotating sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stream conditioner and the primary port in McCormick’s rotating sprinkler to Dunn’s rotating sprinkler, as modified by Nagao, to have the portion of the stream conditioner forms a press fit in the primary port. Doing so creates a more secure connection between the stream conditioner and the primary port (McCormick, Paragraph 0027).
With respect to claim 14, Dunn, as modified by Nagao, discloses the rotating sprinkler of Claim 12. However, Dunn and Nagao do not teach the stream conditioner forms a press fit in the nozzle recess. McCormick teaches a rotating sprinkler (10, Fig. 1) comprising a stream conditioner (40, Fig. 4) forms a press fit in a nozzle recess (30, internal passageway 40 is within nozzle 32 and seat 30 is within nozzle assembly 16, Figs. 2-3, Paragraph 0027).
Dunn, Nagao, and McCormick are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotating sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stream conditioner and the nozzle recess in McCormick’s rotating sprinkler to Dunn’s rotating sprinkler, as modified by Nagao, to have the stream conditioner forms a press fit in the nozzle recess. Doing so creates a more secure connection between the stream conditioner and the nozzle recess (McCormick, Paragraph 0027).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-14, 16, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752 /ARTHUR O. HALL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3752