DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fogarty et al (2007/0142700) in view of Kuyava et al(7,637,861, hereinafter Kuy; cited by applicant in the IDS of 3/25/2022) and Henkel et al(8,276,591, hereinafter Hen; cited by applicant in the ids of 3/25/2022).
Claim 1 - Fogarty et al discloses an inflatable penile prosthesis (IPP) comprising: a fluid reservoir (1) configured to hold fluid; an inflatable member (5a,5b); and
a pump assembly (3, fig.3) configured to transfer the fluid between the fluid reservoir and the inflatable member, the pump assembly including a pump bulb (8), a valve body (9,fig.8), a push valve (4) movably coupled to the valve body, a first fluid port (6) configured to be fluidly coupled to the fluid reservoir, and a second fluid port (7)
configured to be fluidly coupled to the inflation member, the push valve (4) including a movable valve element (301 of fig.8) configured to move between an inflation position and a deflation position within a bore of the valve body (compare fig.8a,8b), the movable valve element in the inflation position defining a fluid passageway through the bore to transfer fluid from the pump bulb to the second fluid port (see inflation position fig.8a), the movable valve element, when moved to the deflation position, configured to change the fluid passageway through the bore to transfer fluid from the second fluid port to the first fluid port such that the pump bulb is bypassed (see deflation position fig.8b). Fogarty does not set forth an unbiased valve member.
Kuy and Hen teach an implantable penile prosthesis and pump wherein both Kuy and Hen teach the use of biased and unbiased valve members, see elements -78- and -34- and elements -22- and -20- of Hen.
In the absence of showing any criticality in the use of biased, unbiased or a combination of both type valves, in a pump for a penile implant, the selection of at least one unbiased valve portion as taught by both Kuy and Hen would have been an ordinary design expedient of one of ordinary skill in the medical arts at the time the invention was effectively filed to use any combination of biased and unbiased valve elements as taught by Kuy and Hen. Such a modification would produce a valve taught by Fogarty including a combination of biased and unbiased members and have a high expectation of success because the combined use of biased and unbiased members are old and well known.
Claims 2-7, Fogarty et al discloses a biasing member (spring 303), ring member (340, paragraph [0094]), single push system (one touch release paragraphs [0006] and [0072]), feedback component (interaction of rings 341 and 317) , position of movable element with respect to valve body (fig.8a,8b).
Claims 8-9 and 11, Fogarty et al discloses the configuration of the ports, refill and inflation valves are discloses in Figures 3-10.
Claim 12, Fogarty et al discloses a pump assembly (3, fig.3) configured to transfer the fluid between the fluid reservoir and the inflatable member, the pump assembly including a pump bulb (8), a valve body (9,fig.8), a push valve (4) movably coupled to the valve body, a first fluid port (6) configured to be fluidly coupled to the fluid reservoir, and a second fluid port (7) configured to be fluidly coupled to the inflation member, the push valve (4) including a movable valve element (301 of fig.8) configured to move between an inflation position and a deflation position within a bore of the valve body (compare fig.8a,8b), the movable valve element in the inflation position defining a fluid passageway through the bore to transfer fluid from the pump bulb to the second fluid port (see inflation position fig.8a), the movable valve element, when moved to the deflation position, configured to change the fluid passageway through the bore to transfer fluid from the second fluid port to the first fluid port such that the pump bulb is bypassed (see deflation position fig.8b).
Fogarty does not set forth an unbiased valve member.
Kuy and Hen teach an implantable penile prosthesis and pump wherein both Kuy and Hen teach the use of biased and unbiased valve members, see elements -78- and -34- and elements -22- and -20- of Hen.
In the absence of showing any criticality in the use of biased, unbiased or a combination of both type valves, in a pump for a penile implant, the selection of at least one unbiased valve portion as taught by both Kuy and Hen would have been an ordinary design expedient of one of ordinary skill in the medical arts at the time the invention was effectively filed to use any combination of biased and unbiased valve elements as taught by Kuy and Hen. Such a modification would produce a valve taught by Fogarty including a combination of biased and unbiased members and have a high expectation of success because the combined use of biased and unbiased members are old and well known.
Claims 13-18, the movable valve element according to Fogarty et al has obviously several different diameters (fig.8d), two cylinder members are coupled to the ports by tubular members (fig. 1), the configuration of the ports, refill and inflation valves are disclosed in figures 3 and 4-10, the anti-auto inflation is described in paragraph [0073], a tactile feedback is provided by the interaction of rings 341 and 317.
Claim 19 – Fogarty teaches a method for controlling a direction of fluid through a pump assembly of an inflatable penile prosthesis, the method comprising: transferring, by a pump assembly, shown in figure 3, fluid from a fluid reservoir -1- to an inflatable member, 5a and 5b, including: transferring the fluid from the fluid reservoir -1- to a pump bulb -8- via a refill valve -11-; transferring the fluid from the pump bulb -8- to the inflatable member -5- via an inflation valve -12- and a push valve -302- having a movable valve element and a biasing member -303-; pushing the movable valve element along an axis to a deflation position to change a fluid passageway through a valve body of the pump assembly; and transferring the fluid from the inflatable member to the fluid reservoir via the push valve such that the fluid is not transferred through the pump bulb, see paragraph [0158] through [0180]. Anti-auto inflation is described in paragraph [0073].
Claim 20 – Fogarty teaches the refill valve -11- and the inflation valve -12- are not used to transfer the fluid from the inflation member -5a- to the fluid reservoir -1- when the movable valve element -302- is in the deflation position.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,311,382. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate the pending claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL G GILBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791