DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed June 13, 2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-51 are cancelled.
Claim 52 is currently amended.
Claims 52-73 are pending.
Claims 53-58 and 60-73 are withdrawn.
All previous objections and rejections not set forth below have been withdrawn.
Withdrawn Claim Objection
The objection to claims 53-58 and 60-73 is withdrawn in light of the correction of the status identifiers.
Withdrawn Claim Rejection
The rejection of claims 52 and 59 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2015/0020223, published Jan. 15, 2015) in view of Li et al. (Multiplex and homologous recombination-mediated genome editing in Arabidopsis and Nicotiana benthamiana using guide RNA and Cas9. Nat. Biotechnol. 2013 Aug;31(8):688-91; published 08 August 2013), Upadhyay et al. (RNA-guided genome editing for target gene mutations in wheat. G3 (Bethesda) 2013 Oct 11;3(12):2233–2238), and Shan et al. (Targeted genome modification of crop plants using a CRISPR-Cas system. Nat. Biotechnol. 2013 Aug;31(8):686-8; published 08 August 2013) is withdrawn in light of the amendment of claim 52.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 52 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 52 as currently amended is drawn to a method of increasing grain yield of maize crop plant, the method comprising providing multiple guide RNAs by Agrobacterium-mediated transformation to maize embryos from a plurality of maize inbred lines that simultaneously target multiple chromosomal loci conferring multiple traits involved in increasing grain yield of the maize crop plant in association with a Cas polypeptide to introduce a plurality of mutations simultaneously, and generating the maize crop plant that exhibits an increase in grain yield.
Claim 59 is drawn to the method of claim 52, wherein the chromosomal loci are selected from the group consisting of a regulatory element, 5’-UTR, intron, exon, coding sequence, and a promoter.
A method comprising providing multiple guide RNAs by Agrobacterium-mediated transformation to maize embryos from a plurality of maize inbred lines that simultaneously target multiple chromosomal loci conferring multiple traits involved in increasing grain yield of the maize crop plant in association with a Cas polypeptide to introduce a plurality of mutations simultaneously, and generating the maize crop plant that exhibits an increase in grain yield, recited in claim 52, does not find support in the specification as filed, and thus constitutes new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 52 and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2015/0020223, published Jan. 15, 2015) in view of Armstrong et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,603,061, issued Aug. 5, 2003), Adams et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20090100536, published Apr. 16, 2009), Gao et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,247,646, issued Aug. 21, 2012), Li et al. (Multiplex and homologous recombination-mediated genome editing in Arabidopsis and Nicotiana benthamiana using guide RNA and Cas9. Nat. Biotechnol. 2013 Aug;31(8):688-91; published 08 August 2013), Upadhyay et al. (RNA-guided genome editing for target gene mutations in wheat. G3 (Bethesda) 2013 Oct 11;3(12):2233–2238), and Shan et al. (Targeted genome modification of crop plants using a CRISPR-Cas system. Nat. Biotechnol. 2013 Aug;31(8):686-8; published 08 August 2013).
Claim 52 as currently amended is drawn to a method of increasing grain yield of maize crop plant, the method comprising providing multiple guide RNAs by Agrobacterium-mediated transformation to maize embryos from a plurality of maize inbred lines that simultaneously target multiple chromosomal loci conferring multiple traits involved in increasing grain yield of the maize crop plant in association with a Cas polypeptide to introduce a plurality of mutations simultaneously, and generating the maize crop plant that exhibits an increase in grain yield.
Claim 59 is drawn to the method of claim 52, wherein the chromosomal loci are selected from the group consisting of a regulatory element, 5’-UTR, intron, exon, coding sequence, and a promoter.
Zhang et al. teach a method comprising providing to a plant cell an RNA to target a chromosomal locus in association with a Cas polypeptide to introduce a mutation and generating a crop plant that exhibits an improvement in the agronomic trait (paragraphs [0023], [0032], [0035], [0168], [0169], [0558], [0561], [0659]). The method of Zhang et al. can be used to target chromosomal loci involved in improving one or more agronomic characteristics of a crop plant ([0035], [0168], [0169], [0659]). The method of Zhang et al. can be used to provide multiple guide RNAs that target multiple chromosomal loci to introduce a plurality of mutations simultaneously (paragraph [0659]). The chromosomal loci targeted can include a gene promoter, intron, exon, coding and noncoding sequences (paragraphs [0112], [0464], [0471], [0608], [0610]). Zhang et al. teach that the ability to use CRISPR-Cas systems to perform efficient and cost effective gene editing and manipulation will allow the rapid selection and comparison of single and multiplexed genetic manipulations to transform such genomes for improved production and enhanced traits, and Zhang et al. refer in this regard to U.S. Patent No. 6,603,061 -- Agrobacterium- Mediated Plant Transformation Method, and US 2009/0100536--Transgenic Plants with Enhanced Agronomic Traits (paragraph [0659]). Zhang et al. also teach that the CRISPR-Cas system is a new genome engineering technology that is affordable, easy to set up, scalable, and amenable to targeting multiple positions within a eukaryotic genome, as the system does not require the generation of customized proteins to target specific sequences, but rather utilizes a single protein, the Cas enzyme, that can be programmed by a short RNA molecule to recognize a specific DNA target (paragraphs [0006]-[0007]).
Zhang et al. do not teach increasing grain yield of maize crop plant by providing multiple guide RNAs via Agrobacterium-mediated transformation to maize embryos from a plurality of maize inbred lines that simultaneously target multiple chromosomal loci conferring multiple traits involved in increasing grain yield of the maize crop plant to introduce a plurality of mutations simultaneously, and generating the maize crop plant that exhibits an increase in grain yield.
Armstrong et al. teach a method of transforming a corn (maize) plant cell or plant tissue using an Agrobacterium mediated process comprising the steps of: inoculating a transformable immature embryo from a corn plant with Agrobacterium containing at least one genetic component capable of being transferred to the plant cell or tissue in an inoculation media containing an effective amount of at least one antibiotic that inhibits or suppresses the growth of Agrobacterium; co-culturing the transformable plant cell or tissue after the inoculating step in a medium capable of supporting growth of plant cells or tissue expressing the genetic component, said medium not containing said antibiotic; selecting transformed plant cells or tissue; and regenerating a transformed corn plant expressing the genetic component from the selected transformed plant cells or tissue (claims 1 and 3). Armstrong et al. teach the transformation of maize from a single genotype or from a combination of genotypes, including inbred genotypes (column 9 second full paragraph; Table 28; Table 31).
Adams et al. teach multiple chromosomal loci conferring multiple traits involved in increasing grain yield of a maize crop plant (Table 14, Table 2).
Gao et al. teach that grain yield of a maize crop plant can be increased by utilizing transgenic complementary paired genes controlling maize growth and yield, where specific genes increase female reproductive organs are paired with genes responsible for modifying the growth of non-yield specific plant tissues (paragraph spanning columns 2-3; column 42 Table 2). Gao et al. also teach transgenic maize inbred lines, and Agrobacterium-mediated transformation of maize embryos from maize inbred lines (Examples 1, 3 and 5).
Li et al. teach a method comprising providing multiple guide RNAs that simultaneously target multiple chromosomal loci of the AtRACK1b and the AtRACK1c members of the Arabidopsis RECTOR FOR ACTIVATED C KINASE 1 (RACK1) gene family in Arabidopsis protoplasts, in association with a Cas polypeptide, to introduce a plurality of mutations into the AtRACK1b and the AtRACK1c genes simultaneously, wherein the chromosomal loci are exons (page 690 column 3 first full paragraph and Figure 2; Supplementary Figure 3). Li et al. also teach that the CRISPR-associated protein (Cas) system is a simple, versatile and efficient genome engineering technology that provides for marker-gene independent and antibiotic selection-free genome engineering in diverse plant species (page 688 column 2; page 691 column 2).
Upadhyay et al. teach a method comprising providing multiple guide RNAs that simultaneously target multiple chromosomal loci of the inox (inositol oxygenase) and pds (phytoene desaturase) genes in wheat cells in association with a Cas polypeptide, to introduce a plurality of mutations into the chromosomal loci simultaneously (page 2236). Upadhyay et al. also teach that nontransgenic genome editing in plants is high-priority research for the improvement of food crops, and that the CRISPR-associated protein (Cas) system provides a powerful and effective tool for this purpose (abstract; page 2233 first paragraph).
Shan et al. teach a method comprising providing a single guide RNA that targets the chromosomal locus of the OsPDS phytoene desaturase gene in rice callus cells, in association with a Cas polypeptide, to introduce mutations into the chromosomal locus, and generating a rice plant, wherein the rice plant exhibits an albino or dwarf phenotype (page 686 column 3 second full paragraph and page 687 Figure 1). Shan et al. also teach that the CRISPR-associated protein (Cas) system is an alternative genome editing strategy that is robust, affordable and easy to engineer, and useful for modifying the genome of wheat and rice plants (page 686 first paragraph; page 687 last paragraph).
Given the teachings of Zhang et al. that multiple guide RNAs can be provided in association with a Cas polypeptide to a plant cell to target multiple chromosomal loci involved in improving one or more agronomic characteristics of a crop plant to introduce a plurality of mutations simultaneously, wherein the chromosomal loci targeted can include a gene promoter, intron, exon, coding and noncoding sequences, and wherein a crop plant that exhibits an improvement in an agronomic trait can be generated from such a plant cell, given the further teachings of Zhang et al. that the ability to use CRISPR-Cas systems to perform efficient and cost effective gene editing and manipulation will allow the rapid selection and comparison of single and multiplexed genetic manipulations to transform such genomes for improved production and enhanced traits, including by using Agrobacterium-mediated plant transformation as disclosed in Armstrong et al., and including editing genes that control enhanced traits such as those disclosed in Adams et al., given the teachings of Armstrong et al. that genetic components capable of being transferred to a maize plant cell or tissue can be provided to a maize plant cell or tissue by Agrobacterium-mediated transformation of maize embryos, including maize inbred embryos from maize inbred lines, and that a transformed maize plant expressing the genetic component can be regenerated therefrom, given the teachings of Adams et al. that multiple chromosomal loci conferring multiple traits involved in increasing grain yield of a maize crop plant are known in the art, given the teachings of Gao et al. that grain yield of a maize crop plant, including an inbred maize crop plant, can be increased by utilizing transgenic complementary paired genes controlling maize growth and yield, i.e. cloned genes that correspond to multiple chromosomal loci conferring multiple traits involved in increasing grain yield of a maize crop plant, given the teachings of Li et al. that providing multiple guide RNAs that simultaneously target multiple chromosomal loci to Arabidopsis protoplasts in association with a Cas polypeptide introduces a plurality of mutations into two members of the RACK1 gene family simultaneously, given the teachings of Upadhyay et al. that providing multiple guide RNAs that simultaneously target multiple chromosomal loci of the inox and pds genes to wheat cells in association with a Cas polypeptide introduces a plurality of mutations into the chromosomal loci simultaneously, given the teachings of Shan et al. that providing a single guide RNA that targets the chromosomal locus of the OsPDS gene to rice cells in association with a Cas polypeptide introduces mutations into the chromosomal locus that alter the phenotype of a rice plant generated from the rice plant cells, and given that Zhang et al., Li et al. , Upadhyay et al. and Shan et al. recognize the utility and desirability of the CRISPR-Cas system as a tool for genome editing, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide multiple guide RNAs by Agrobacterium-mediated transformation to maize embryos from a plurality of maize inbred lines that that simultaneously target multiple chromosomal loci conferring multiple traits involved in increasing grain yield of the maize crop plant, in association with a Cas polypeptide, wherein the chromosomal loci targeted can include a gene promoter, intron, exon, coding and noncoding sequences, to introduce a plurality of mutations simultaneously and generate a crop plant that exhibits an increase in grain yield.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to increase in grain yield of a maize crop plant by using a genome editing tool that is recognized in the art as both useful and desirable for editing genes that are known to be associated with important agronomic traits, such as grain yield in maize.
One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, given the success of Armstrong et al. and Gao et al. in utilizing Agrobacterium to transform maize embryos, including embryos from maize inbred lines, given the success of Adams et al. in increasing the grain yield of a maize crop plant by altering the expression of single cloned genes that correspond to individual chromosomal loci each of which confers a trait involved in increasing grain yield of a maize crop using traditional recombinant DNA techniques, given the success of Gao et al. in increasing the grain yield of a maize crop plant by altering the expression of multiple cloned genes that correspond to multiple chromosomal loci conferring multiple traits involved in increasing grain yield of a maize crop using traditional recombinant DNA techniques, given the success of Li et al. and Upadhyay et al. in targeting multiple chromosomal loci in plant cells by providing the cells with multiple guide RNAs that simultaneously target the loci in association with a Cas polypeptide to introduce a plurality of mutations into the loci simultaneously, and given the success of Shan et al. in generating a plant with an altered phenotype from plant cells that have been provided with a single guide RNA that targets a chromosomal locus in association with a Cas polypeptide to introduce mutations into the chromosomal locus.
Thus, the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious as a whole to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA E COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662