DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election Requirement
The Office acknowledges the Applicant’s election of Group II (directed to Formula II) in the Response filed 10/27/25.
The election reads on Claims 1-20.
It is the position of the Office that the prior art does not disclose or suggest an embodiment within the scope of several of the dependent claims wherein the compound comprises the structure of Formula II (Group II). The Office, in turn has used the prior art to read on claims directed to the patentably distinct species for compounds comprising the structure of Formula I (Group I).
Claims 1-20 are pending. No claims have been withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The Specification filed 03/29/22 the claim recites the following structures:
(pages 54-55) which are all graphically unclear due to their low resolutions. They need to be replaced by structures comprising bonds and atoms which are clearly drawn with solid lines.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the following structures:
which are all graphically unclear due to their low resolutions. They need to be replaced by structures comprising bonds and atoms which are clearly drawn with solid lines.
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites “Structure of PtA”; however, “A” is nowhere defined. The Office has interpreted A to correspond to integers from 1-66 for the purpose of this Examination.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 11, 13-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2015/0194615 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, and 17-20, Lin et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 23) such that M = Pt, X1-4 = C, RA = no substitution, ĸ = O, Z1 = C, Z4 = N, ring B = 5-membered heterocyclic ring, RB = no substitution, L = CRR’ (with R = R’ = alkyl (methyl)), Z2 = C, RC = no substitution, ring C = 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), X5-6 = C, two REs = joined together to form a ring (benzene), Z3 = N, RD = no substitution, and ring D = 6-membered heterocyclic ring (pyridine) of Applicant’s Formula I; RE’ = no substitution (in the formula as recited in Claim 14).
Lin further disclose an organic electroluminescent (EL) device (OLED) for the displays and the like comprising the following layers: substrate (110), anode (115), hole-injecting layer (120), hole-transporting layer (125), electron-blocking layer (130), light-emitting layer (135), hole-blocking layer (140), electron-transporting layer (145), electron-injecting layer (150), protective layer (155), cathode (160), and barrier layer (170) (Fig. 1; [0036], [0043]); its inventive compounds serve as dopant material in the light-emitting layer, which is combined with host material including the following ([0088]-[0089]):
([0094]).
Regarding Claim 15, Lin et al. discloses another embodiment:
(page 23) such that Ro-u = hydrogen of Applicant’s formula Pt32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 13, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (US 2018/0212165 A1).
Ji discloses compounds of the following form:
([0016]) where L1-3 = independently linking groups such as O, C=O, and CRR’ (where R, R’ = H and others) (among others) and combinations thereof. Embodiments are disclosed:
(page 24) such that (for Compound 50) M = Pt, X1-4 = C, ᴋ = O, Z1 = Z4 = C, ring B = 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), RB = no substitution, Z2 = C, ring C = 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), X5-6 = C, two REs = joined together to form a ring (benzene), RC = hydrogen, RA and RC = joined together to form a ring, Z3 = N, ring D = 6-membered heterocyclic ring (pyrimidine), RD = no substitution, and L = alkyl(ene) (propylene) of Applicant’s Formula II; RE’ = no substitution (in the formula as recited in Claim 14). However, Ji does not explicitly disclose an embodiment that fully reads on Applicant’s Formula II, particularly in regards to the nature of RA. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify Compound 50 as disclosed by Ji (above) such that RA = groups such as alkyl or acyl (with RC = hydrogen and RA and RC = joined together to form a ring). The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves an exchange of one linking group (O) (dotted box) for a functional equivalent (C=O or CRR’, for example) selected from a highly finite list of viable linking groups (for any one of L1-3) in its general formula, thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Ji further disclose an organic electroluminescent (EL) device (OLED) for the displays and the like comprising the following layers: substrate (110), anode (115), hole-injecting layer (120), hole-transporting layer (125), electron-blocking layer (130), light-emitting layer (135), hole-blocking layer (140), electron-transporting layer (145), electron-injecting layer (150), protective layer (155), cathode (160), and barrier layer (170) (Fig. 1; [0024], [0031]); its inventive compounds serve as dopant material in the light-emitting layer, which is combined with host material including the following ([0064]):
([0065]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2015/0194615 A1).
Lin et al. discloses the compound of Claim 1 as shown above in the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection. The compound is shown below:
(page 23). Lin et al. discloses that its inventive compounds are encompassed by the following formula:
([0016]), “including all its variations” ([0026], [0107]), where X1-4 = independently C or N (only) ([0023]). Lin et al. discloses that variations can be produced from its particular examples and preferred embodiments ([0144]). However, Lin et al. does not explicitly disclose the compound as recited in the claim. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify the compound as disclosed by Lin et al. (above) such that exactly two of Z1-3 = N of Applicant’s Formula I. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves the exchange of one atom (C) for a functional equivalent (N) selected from a highly finite list of viable coordinating atoms to the Pt as taught by Lin et al., thus rendering the production during the normal course of experimentation predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 12, and 16 are currently objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is provided by Lin et al. (US 2015/0194615 A1), which discloses compounds of the following form:
([0016]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 23). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Lin et al. singly nor in further combination with any other prior art discloses or suggests any of the compounds as recited in the claims, particularly in regards to the nature of the tetradentate ligand coordinated to the metal M of any one of Applicant’s Formulae I and II.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786