DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed 04/22/26.
Response to Amendment
The objection to the disclosure as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 01/22/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The objection to Claim 19 as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 01/22/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 01/22/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 11, 13-15, and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2015/0194615 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 01/22/26 is herein amended due to the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 13, 14, and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (US 2018/0212165 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 01/22/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2015/0194615 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 01/22/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 11, 13-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2015/0194615 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, and 17-20, Lin et al. discloses inventive metal complexes of the following form:
([0016]), “including all its variations” ([0026], [0107]), where X1-4 = independently C or N (only) ([0023]), and L1-3 = groups such as CRR’ and NR (where R, R’ = aryl (phenyl), among others) ([0018], [0021]; see embodiments such as Compounds 19, 20, and 22 on page 8). Lin et al. discloses that variations can be produced from its particular examples and preferred embodiments ([0144]). Lin et al. discloses the following embodiment:
(page 23) such that M = Pt, X1-4 = C, RA = no substitution, ĸ = O, Z1 = C, Z4 = N, ring B = 5-membered heterocyclic ring, RB = no substitution, Z2 = C, RC = no substitution, ring C = 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), X5-6 = C, two REs = joined together to form a ring (benzene), Z3 = N, RD = no substitution, and ring D = 6-membered heterocyclic ring (pyridine) of Applicant’s Formula I; RE’ = no substitution (in the formula as recited in Claim 14). However, Lin et al. does not explicitly disclose an embodiment that fully reads on Applicant’s Formula I, particularly in regards to the nature of the L linking group. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify Compound 136 as disclosed by Lin (above) such that L = NR (with R = aryl (phenyl)) of Applicant’s Formula I. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves an exchange of one linking group (C(CH3)2) for a functional equivalent (N(aryl) such as N(phenyl)) selected from a highly finite list of viable linking groups (for any one of L1-3) as envisioned by Lin et al. (and easily envisioned from its general formula and the explicitly disclosed embodiments), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Lin further disclose an organic electroluminescent (EL) device (OLED) for the displays and the like comprising the following layers: substrate (110), anode (115), hole-injecting layer (120), hole-transporting layer (125), electron-blocking layer (130), light-emitting layer (135), hole-blocking layer (140), electron-transporting layer (145), electron-injecting layer (150), protective layer (155), cathode (160), and barrier layer (170) (Fig. 1; [0036], [0043]); its inventive compounds serve as dopant material in the light-emitting layer, which is combined with host material including the following ([0088]-[0089]):
([0094]).
Regarding Claim 15, Lin et al. discloses another embodiment:
(page 23) such that modifying Compound 137 in the same manner as described by the Office above would result in Ro-u = hydrogen of Applicant’s formula Pt32.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 9, 12, and 16 are currently objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is provided by Lin et al. (US 2015/0194615 A1), which discloses compounds of the following form:
([0016]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 23). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Lin et al. singly nor in further combination with any other prior art discloses or suggests any of the compounds as recited in the claims, particularly in regards to the nature of the tetradentate ligand coordinated to the metal M of any one of Applicant’s Formulae I and II.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 57-62 with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786