DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to amendments filed on August 04, 2026. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-12, and 14-25 are currently pending, with Claims 1, 11, and 18 being amended, and Claims 23-25 being newly added.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed August 04, 2026, the Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections, and withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. and 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed August 04, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-12, and 14-22 under Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, Konishi and Max, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection of Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-12, and 14-25 is made in view of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, Barth, Konishi, and Max.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 10-11, 18-21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Publication No. 2021130393 A, to Suzuki, et al (hereinafter referred to as Suzuki; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0297679 A1, to Woolliscroft, et al (hereinafter referred to as Woolliscroft; previously of record), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0087406 A1, to Barth, et al (hereinafter referred to as Barth; previously of record).
As per Claim 1, Suzuki discloses the features a method of aligning an autonomous vehicle path within an enclosed parking space (e.g. Paragraphs [0005], [0037]; where the control device (11) may detect a parking area and may perform autonomous parking and driving; and the target parking space (Pt) may be a garage (G) equipped with doors and shutters, underground parking lot with pillars around the parking space (P)), the method comprising:
detecting left and right sides of an opening of an enclosed parking space (e.g. Paragraphs [0018], [0025], [0029]-[0031]; where the vehicle (V1) can monitor its surroundings to determine a parking space (P) where the vehicle can park; and the control device (11) utilizes a parking space detection function that detects an area for the vehicle (V1) to park) with
at least one sensor system disposed on a vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0019]-[0020]; where the vehicle (V1) includes a front ranging device (4a), a lateral ranging device (4b) for detecting an object forward, left, or right of the vehicle), wherein
the opening comprises an opening to the parking structure (e.g. Paragraphs [0043]-[0044]; Figures 6A-7B; where the garage (G) has an entry/exit port (E)) and wherein
at least one lateral side of the opening is physically confined by a portion of the parking structure (e.g. Figures 6A-7B; where the parking position is confined by a wall of the garage (G));
determining a width of the opening based on a spacing between the detected sides of the opening with a controller of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0043], [0050]; where the garage (G) includes an entry/exit port (E) with a defined width, and the control device (11) determines the width direction of the parking facility to determine if the parking facility exists and if it is determined the entrance to the parking facility exists, the control device (11) of the vehicle (V1) measures the distance in the width direction of the vehicle with respect to the width of the parking space);
defining a lateral midpoint of the opening as a lateral target center point based on the determined spacing with the controller (e.g. Paragraph [0058]; Figure 8A; where the midpoints of the left and right of the entry/ exit port (E) are determined when the vehicle (V1) is outside the garage (G) through which the vehicle can move to align for parking);
aligning a vehicle path with the defined lateral target center point (e.g. Paragraph [0058]; Figure 8A; where the midpoints of the left and right of the entry/ exit port (E) are determined when the vehicle (V1) is outside the garage (G) through which the vehicle can move to align for parking);
saving the target center point in a memory device of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0050]; where the control device (11) stores the combination of the lines (L1, L2, L3) of the parking space which defines the parking area as corresponding to a previously determined parking pattern; and where the control device (110) may detect the parking space (P) by using past travel history information stored in a memory);
during a subsequent parking operation, re-detecting the left and right sides of the opening, determining an actual lateral midpoint of the opening based on a current spacing between the detected sides (e.g. Paragraph [0035]; where the actual distance between the parking space lines is determined; and where the parking position is set again, and a newly calculated parking route to move to the set parking position is determined),
determining a difference between the saved target center point and the actual lateral midpoint (e.g. Paragraphs [0035], [0052], [0095]; where the actual distance between the parking space lines is determined; and where the parking position is set again, and a newly calculated parking route to move to the set parking position is determined; and where the control device (11) determines if the widthwise end portion of the target parking space (Pt) is offset from the widthwise end portion of the parking facility), ‘…’.
Woolliscroft, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of defining a lateral midpoint of the opening as a lateral target center point based on the determined spacing with the controller.
Woolliscroft teaches a method for controlling vehicle movement, where the defined maneuver may comprise a central position within the vehicle vacancy (i.e., empty parking space), such as the vehicle central longitudinal axis being centrally located within the vehicle envelope (e.g., equidistant from respective lateral sides) (i.e., defines a lateral midpoint as a central position for parking), or may define an offset position, where the vehicle is offset towards a lateral side (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0199], [0991], [0999], [1002]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, defining a center of a parking space in the system of Woolliscroft, in order to effect accurate movement of the vehicle into the parking space (see at least Paragraphs [0674], [1109] of Woolliscroft).
Suzuki fails to disclose every feature of determining a difference between the saved target center point and the actual lateral midpoint; updating the saved target center point based on the determined difference; storing, in the memory device of the vehicle, the updated target center point for use in further parking operations.
However, Barth, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of determining a difference between the saved target center point and the actual lateral midpoint.
Barth teaches a method for assisting a driver when parking a vehicle, where an initial parking trajectory is determined, and a measurement error during the measurement of the original parking space is calculated when a parked vehicle is not located in its actual position but rather in an erroneous position; and where the lateral distance from the objects to the left and right of the vehicle is determined and is compared to the expected distances on the basis of the originally sensed geometry and the current vehicle position, such that the trajectory can be corrected (e.g. Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, with the feature of compensating for the drift in the system of Barth, in order to adapt the parking trajectory for the actual situation (see at least Paragraph [0040] of Barth).
Woolliscroft teaches the features of updating the saved target center point based on the determined difference; storing, in the memory device of the vehicle, the updated target center point for use in further parking operations.
Woolliscroft teaches a method for controlling vehicle movement, where the defined maneuver may comprise a central position within the vehicle vacancy (i.e., empty parking space), such as the vehicle central longitudinal axis being centrally located within the vehicle envelope (e.g., equidistant from respective lateral sides) (i.e., defines a lateral midpoint as a central position for parking), or may define an offset position, where the vehicle is offset towards a lateral side; and where an offsetting parameter may be determined by the controller based on historical data, such as associated with one or more of a particular location or scenario, and the controller may perform a check against a previous input to determine the subsequent parking maneuver, which may be stored in memory for subsequent use of the data (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0453], [0476], [0702], [0812], [0830]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, with the feature of storing, and updating a parking location in the system of Woolliscroft, in order to effect accurate movement of the vehicle into the parking space (see at least Paragraphs [0674], [1109] of Woolliscroft).
As per Claim 2, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Suzuki further discloses the features of further comprising
identifying whether the target center point is within a definable area proximate the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0018], [0031]; Figures 6A, 8A; where the vehicle (V1) determines the parking area and the control device (11) determines if the parking area is an area in which the vehicle can park) and
aligning the vehicle path responsive to the target point being within the definable area (e.g. Paragraph [0054]; where the parking position (Y2) is set to a position where the center of the own vehicle (V1) overlaps with the center of the target parking space (Pt)).
As per Claim 4, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, teaches the features of Claim 2, and Suzuki further discloses the features of further comprising
detecting free space within the enclosed parking space with the at least one sensor system (e.g. Paragraphs [0018], [0031], [0040]; Figures 6A, 8A; where the vehicle (V1) determines the parking area and the control device (11) determines if the parking area is an area in which the vehicle can park; and the control device (11) determines that the target parking space exists) and
realigning the target center point within the enclosed parking space based on the detected free space (e.g. Paragraphs [0035], [0054]; where the parking position (Y2) is set to a position where the center of the own vehicle (V1) overlaps with the center of the target parking space (Pt); and where the actual distance between the parking space lines is determined; and where the parking position is set again, and a newly calculated parking route to move to the set parking position is determined).
As per Claim 10, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Suzuki further discloses the features of further comprising realigning the target center point in response to the saved target center point not corresponding to a center point based on a current spacing between detected sides (e.g. Paragraph [0035]; where the actual distance between the parking space lines is determined; and where the parking position is set again, and a newly calculated parking route to move to the set parking position is determined).
As per Claim 11, Suzuki discloses the features of an autonomous vehicle control system (e.g. Paragraphs [0005], [0037]; where the control device (11) may detect a parking area and may perform autonomous parking and driving; and the target parking space (Pt) may be a garage (G) equipped with doors and shutters, underground parking lot with pillars around the parking space (P)) comprising:
a controller configured to control operation of an autonomous vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0010]; where the parking support system includes a vehicle controller (5), which is an in-vehicle computer for electronically controlling the drive system, braking, and steering of the vehicle), the controller configured to
align an autonomous vehicle path within an enclosed parking space (e.g. Paragraphs [0005], [0037]; where the control device (11) may detect a parking area and may perform autonomous parking and driving; and the target parking space (Pt) may be a garage (G) equipped with doors and shutters, underground parking lot with pillars around the parking space (P)) by
detecting left and right sides of an opening of an enclosed parking space (e.g. Paragraphs [0018], [0025], [0029]-[0031], [0037]; where the vehicle (V1) can monitor its surroundings to determine a parking space (P) where the vehicle can park; and the control device (11) utilizes a parking space detection function that detects an area for the vehicle (V1) to park; and where the target parking space (Pt) may be a garage (G) equipped with doors and shutters, underground parking lot with pillars around the parking space (P)) with information received from
at least one sensor system disposed on the autonomous vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0019]-[0020]; where the vehicle (V1) includes a front ranging device (4a), a lateral ranging device (4b) for detecting an object forward, left, or right of the vehicle),
determining a width of the opening based on a spacing between the detected sides of the opening (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0043], [0050]; where the garage (G) includes an entry/exit port (E) with a defined width, and the control device (11) determines the width direction of the parking facility to determine if the parking facility exists and if it is determined the entrance to the parking facility exists, the control device (11) of the vehicle (V1) measures the distance in the width direction of the vehicle with respect to the width of the parking space),
defining a lateral midpoint of the opening as a lateral target center point based on the determined spacing (e.g. Paragraph [0058]; Figure 8A; where the midpoints of the left and right of the entry/ exit port (E) are determined when the vehicle (V1) is outside the garage (G) through which the vehicle can move to align for parking);
saving the target center point in a memory device of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0050]; where the control device (11) stores the combination of the lines (L1, L2, L3) of the parking space which defines the parking area as corresponding to a previously determined parking pattern; and where the control device (110) may detect the parking space (P) by using past travel history information stored in a memory); and
during a subsequent parking operation, re-detecting the left and right sides of the opening, determining an actual lateral midpoint of the opening based on a current spacing between the detected sides (e.g. Paragraph [0035]; where the actual distance between the parking space lines is determined; and where the parking position is set again, and a newly calculated parking route to move to the set parking position is determined),
determining a difference between the saved target center point and the actual lateral midpoint (e.g. Paragraphs [0052], [0095]; where the control device (11) determines if the widthwise end portion of the target parking space (Pt) is offset from the widthwise end portion of the parking facility), ‘…’.
Woolliscroft, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of defining a lateral midpoint of the opening as a lateral target center point based on the determined spacing with the controller.
Woolliscroft teaches a method for controlling vehicle movement, where the defined maneuver may comprise a central position within the vehicle vacancy (i.e., empty parking space), such as the vehicle central longitudinal axis being centrally located within the vehicle envelope (e.g., equidistant from respective lateral sides) (i.e., defines a lateral midpoint as a central position for parking), or may define an offset position, where the vehicle is offset towards a lateral side (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0199], [0991], [0999], [1002]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, defining a center of a parking space in the system of Woolliscroft, in order to effect accurate movement of the vehicle into the parking space (see at least Paragraphs [0674], [1109] of Woolliscroft).
Barth, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of determining a difference between the saved target center point and the actual lateral midpoint.
Barth teaches a method for assisting a driver when parking a vehicle, where an initial parking trajectory is determined, and a measurement error during the measurement of the original parking space is calculated when a parked vehicle is not located in its actual position but rather in an erroneous position; and where the lateral distance from the objects to the left and right of the vehicle is determined and is compared to the expected distances on the basis of the originally sensed geometry and the current vehicle position, such that the trajectory can be corrected (e.g. Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, with the feature of compensating for the drift in the system of Barth, in order to adapt the parking trajectory for the actual situation (see at least Paragraph [0040] of Barth).
Suzuki fails to disclose every feature of determining a difference between the saved target center point and the actual lateral midpoint; updating the saved target center point based on the determined difference; storing, in the memory device of the vehicle, the updated target center point for use in further parking operations.
Woolliscroft teaches the features of updating the saved target center point based on the determined difference; storing, in the memory device of the vehicle, the updated target center point for use in further parking operations.
Woolliscroft teaches a method for controlling vehicle movement, where the defined maneuver may comprise a central position within the vehicle vacancy (i.e., empty parking space), such as the vehicle central longitudinal axis being centrally located within the vehicle envelope (e.g., equidistant from respective lateral sides) (i.e., defines a lateral midpoint as a central position for parking), or may define an offset position, where the vehicle is offset towards a lateral side; and where an offsetting parameter may be determined by the controller based on historical data, such as associated with one or more of a particular location or scenario, and the controller may perform a check against a previous input to determine the subsequent parking maneuver, which may be stored in memory for subsequent use of the data (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0453], [0476], [0702], [0812], [0830]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, with the feature of storing, and updating a parking location in the system of Woolliscroft, in order to effect accurate movement of the vehicle into the parking space (see at least Paragraphs [0674], [1109] of Woolliscroft).
As per Claim 18, Suzuki discloses the features of a non-transitory computer readable storage medium including instructions for operating an autonomous vehicle control system (e.g. Paragraphs [0006]; [0011]; where the system can perform a parking process autonomously or semi-autonomously; and where the parking support device (1) includes a control device (11), which functions as an accessible storage device, a ROM (111) in which a parking support program is stored), the computer readable storage medium including instructions
prompting a controller to align an autonomous vehicle along a path into an enclosed parking space (e.g. Paragraphs [0005], [0037]; where the control device (11) may detect a parking area and may perform autonomous parking and driving; and the target parking space (Pt) may be a garage (G) equipped with doors and shutters, underground parking lot with pillars around the parking space (P)) by
detecting left and right sides of an opening of an enclosed parking space (e.g. Paragraphs [0018], [0025], [0029]-[0031]; where the vehicle (V1) can monitor its surroundings to determine a parking space (P) where the vehicle can park; and the control device (11) utilizes a parking space detection function that detects an area for the vehicle (V1) to park) with
at least one sensor system disposed on a vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0019]-[0020]; where the vehicle (V1) includes a front ranging device (4a), a lateral ranging device (4b) for detecting an object forward, left, or right of the vehicle),
determining a width of the opening based on a spacing between the detected sides of the opening with a controller of the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0043], [0050]; where the garage (G) includes an entry/exit port (E) with a defined width, and the control device (11) determines the width direction of the parking facility to determine if the parking facility exists and if it is determined the entrance to the parking facility exists, the control device (11) of the vehicle (V1) measures the distance in the width direction of the vehicle with respect to the width of the parking space);
defining a target center point based on the determined spacing with the controller (e.g. Paragraph [0058]; Figure 8A; where the midpoints of the left and right of the entry/ exit port (E) are determined when the vehicle (V1) is outside the garage (G) through which the vehicle can move to align for parking), comprising
saving the target center point into the storage medium (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0050]; where the control device (11) stores the combination of the lines (L1, L2, L3) of the parking space which defines the parking area as corresponding to a previously determined parking pattern; and where the control device (110) may detect the parking space (P) by using past travel history information stored in a memory), and
during a subsequent parking operation, re-detecting the left and right sides of the opening, determining an actual lateral midpoint of the opening based on a current spacing between the detected sides (e.g. Paragraph [0035]; where the actual distance between the parking space lines is determined; and where the parking position is set again, and a newly calculated parking route to move to the set parking position is determined),
Suzuki fails to disclose every feature of updating the saved target center point based on the determined difference; and aligning a vehicle path with the updated target center point, and storing, in the memory device of the vehicle, the updated target center point for use in further parking operations.
Woolliscroft teaches the features of updating the saved target center point based on the determined difference; and aligning a vehicle path with the updated target center point, and storing, in the memory device of the vehicle, the updated target center point for use in further parking operations.
Woolliscroft teaches a method for controlling vehicle movement, where the defined maneuver may comprise a central position within the vehicle vacancy (i.e., empty parking space), such as the vehicle central longitudinal axis being centrally located within the vehicle envelope (e.g., equidistant from respective lateral sides) (i.e., defines a lateral midpoint as a central position for parking), or may define an offset position, where the vehicle is offset towards a lateral side; and where an offsetting parameter may be determined by the controller based on historical data, such as associated with one or more of a particular location or scenario, and the controller may perform a check against a previous input to determine the subsequent parking maneuver, which may be stored in memory for subsequent use of the data; and the vehicle controller may automatically override or adjust the output of the maneuver signal, which may be store the completed target maneuver (e.g. Paragraphs [0453], [0701]-[0702], [0812], [0830]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, with the feature of storing, and updating a parking location in the system of Woolliscroft, in order to effect accurate movement of the vehicle into the parking space (see at least Paragraphs [0674], [1109] of Woolliscroft).
Barth, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of determining a difference between the saved target center point and the actual lateral midpoint.
Barth teaches a method for assisting a driver when parking a vehicle, where an initial parking trajectory is determined, and a measurement error during the measurement of the original parking space is calculated when a parked vehicle is not located in its actual position but rather in an erroneous position; and where the lateral distance from the objects to the left and right of the vehicle is determined and is compared to the expected distances on the basis of the originally sensed geometry and the current vehicle position, such that the trajectory can be corrected (e.g. Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, with the feature of compensating for the drift in the system of Barth, in order to adapt the parking trajectory for the actual situation (see at least Paragraph [0040] of Barth).
As per Claim 19, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, teaches the features of Claim 18, and Suzuki further discloses the features of further comprising
detecting free space within the enclosed parking space with the at least one sensor system (e.g. Paragraphs [0018], [0031], [0040]; Figures 6A, 8A; where the vehicle (V1) determines the parking area and the control device (11) determines if the parking area is an area in which the vehicle can park; and the control device (11) determines that the target parking space exists) and
realigning the target center point within the enclosed parking space based on the detected free space (e.g. Paragraphs [0035], [0054]; where the parking position (Y2) is set to a position where the center of the own vehicle (V1) overlaps with the center of the target parking space (Pt); and where the actual distance between the parking space lines is determined; and where the parking position is set again, and a newly calculated parking route to move to the set parking position is determined).
As per Claim 20, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, teaches the features of Claim 1, Suzuki further discloses the features of wherein the opening of the enclosed parking space comprises an opening to a garage and wherein the enclosed parking space is provided within an enclosure of the garage (e.g. Paragraphs [0041]-[0043], [0064]; Figures 6A-7B; where the target parking space (Pt) may be a garage equipped with doors and shutters, or can be a house-type garage (G) with a roof and a wall, located in a place where the distance to the wall is short (i.e., door jamb structures for a parking garage)).
As per Claim 21, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, teaches the features of Claim 1, Suzuki further discloses the features of wherein the portion of the parking structure is one of a wall and a support column of the parking structure (e.g. Paragraphs [0041]-[0043], [0064]; Figures 6A-7B; where the target parking space (Pt) may be a garage equipped with doors and shutters, or can be a house-type garage (G) with a roof and a wall, located in a place where the distance to the wall is short (i.e., door jamb structures for a parking garage)).
As per Claim 23, and similarly for Claims 24 and 25, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, teaches the features of Claims 1, 11, and 18, and Barth further teaches the features of wherein the difference between the saved target center point and the actual lateral midpoint results from a drift between a sensed location and an actual location, and updating the saved target center point compensates for the drift.
Barth, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for assisting a driver when parking a vehicle, where an initial parking trajectory is determined, and a measurement error during the measurement of the original parking space is calculated when a parked vehicle is not located in its actual position but rather in an erroneous position; and where the lateral distance from the objects to the left and right of the vehicle is determined and is compared to the expected distances on the basis of the originally sensed geometry and the current vehicle position, such that the trajectory can be corrected (e.g. Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, with the feature of compensating for the drift in the system of Barth, in order to adapt the parking trajectory for the actual situation (see at least Paragraph [0040] of Barth).
Claims 5-8, 12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,268,905 B2, to Konishi (hereinafter referred to as Konishi; previously of record).
As per Claim 5, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, teaches the features of Claim 1, but the combination of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, fails to teach every feature of further comprising identifying a vehicle capacity for the enclosed parking space based on the determined width.
However, Konishi in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a parking assist apparatus mounted on a vehicle, where the control computer (15) determines whether the length of the parking area (21) in the vehicle width direction is at least twice the reference length (i.e. the ordinary length of an area vehicle width) (i.e. the parking system determines if there is one or two available parking spaces) (e.g. Col. 5 lines 40-49).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, with the feature of defining more than one space in the system of Konishi, in order to facilitate parking equally between the left and right sides of an available space in which to park (see at least Col. 2 lines 18-23 of Konishi).
As per Claim 6, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, Barth, and Konishi, teaches the features of Claim 5, and Konishi further teaches the features of dividing the determined width by the number of possible enclosed parking spaces to define a parking space width of each of the possible enclosed parking spaces and defining the target center point as being centered on one of the defined parking space widths.
Konishi teaches a parking assist apparatus mounted on a vehicle, where the control computer (15) calculates a virtual line (5) that sections (i.e. divides) the parking area (21), and the virtual line (5) divides the length of the parking area (21) in the vehicle width direction into a plurality of equal parts; and where the vehicle trajectory is determined to be in the middle of one of the available parking spaces (e.g. Col. 6 lines 1-21; Figures 6, 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, with the feature of dividing the parking spaces into equal parts in the system of Konishi, in order to determine which parking spot the vehicle will park in and increase awareness of the user when navigating to a specific parking space (see at least Col. 11 lines 54-64 of Konishi).
As per Claim 7, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, Barth, and Konishi, teaches the features of Claim 6, and Konishi further teaches the features of determining the number of possible parking spaces by dividing the overall width by a predefined car width.
Konishi teaches a parking assist apparatus mounted on a vehicle, where the control computer (15) determines whether the length of the parking area (21) in the vehicle width direction is at least twice the reference length (i.e. the ordinary length or an area vehicle width) (i.e. the parking system determines if there is one or two available parking spaces); and where the control computer (15) calculates a virtual line (5) that sections the parking area (21), and the virtual line (5) divides the length of the parking area (21) in the vehicle width direction into a plurality of equal parts (e.g. Col. 5 lines 40-49; Col. 6 lines 1-21; Figures 6, 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, with the feature of dividing the parking spaces into equal parts in the system of Konishi, in order to determine which parking spot the vehicle will park in and increase awareness of the user when navigating to a specific parking space (see at least Col. 11 lines 54-64 of Konishi).
As per Claim 8, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, Barth, and Konishi, teaches the features of Claim 7, and Konishi further teaches the features of further comprising aligning the target center point to correspond with a center of one of a plurality of parking spaces in response to the vehicle capacity of the enclosed parking space being more than one.
Konishi teaches a parking assist apparatus mounted on a vehicle, where the control computer (15) calculates a virtual line (5) that sections (i.e. divides) the parking area (21), and the virtual line (5) divides the length of the parking area (21) in the vehicle width direction into a plurality of equal parts; and where the vehicle trajectory is determined to be in the middle of one of the available parking spaces (e.g. Col. 6 lines 1-21; Figures 6, 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, with the feature of defining a center point for the parking trajectory in the system of Konishi, in order to facilitate parking equally between the left and right sides of an available space in which to park (see at least Col. 2 lines 18-23 of Konishi).
As per Claim 12, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, teaches the features of Claim 11, and Suzuki further teaches the features of wherein the controller is further configured to
identify whether the target center point is within a definable area proximate the vehicle based on information received from the at least one sensor system disposed within the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0018], [0031]; Figures 6A, 8A; where the vehicle (V1) determines the parking area and the control device (11) determines if the parking area is an area in which the vehicle can park);
align the vehicle path responsive to the target point being within the definable area (e.g. Paragraph [0054]; where the parking position (Y2) is set to a position where the center of the own vehicle (V1) overlaps with the center of the target parking space (Pt)) ‘…’.
The combination of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, fails to teach every feature of identify a vehicle capacity for the enclosed parking space based on the determined width.
However, Konishi in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a parking assist apparatus mounted on a vehicle, where the control computer (15) determines whether the length of the parking area (21) in the vehicle width direction is at least twice the reference length (i.e. the ordinary length of an area vehicle width) (i.e. the parking system determines if there is one or two available parking spaces) (e.g. Col. 5 lines 40-49).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, with the feature of defining more than one space in the system of Konishi, in order to determine which parking spot the vehicle will park in and increase awareness of the user when navigating to a specific parking space (see at least Col. 11 lines 54-64 of Konishi).
As per Claim 14, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, Barth, and Konishi, teaches the features of Claim 12, and Konishi further teaches the features of dividing the determined width by the number of possible enclosed parking spaces to define a parking space width of each of the possible enclosed parking spaces and defining the target center point as being centered on one of the defined parking space widths.
Konishi teaches a parking assist apparatus mounted on a vehicle, where the control computer (15) calculates a virtual line (5) that sections (i.e. divides) the parking area (21), and the virtual line (5) divides the length of the parking area (21) in the vehicle width direction into a plurality of equal parts; and where the vehicle trajectory is determined to be in the middle of one of the available parking spaces (e.g. Col. 6 lines 1-21; Figures 6, 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, with the feature of dividing the parking spaces into equal parts in the system of Konishi, in order to determine which parking spot the vehicle will park in and increase awareness of the user when navigating to a specific parking space (see at least Col. 11 lines 54-64 of Konishi).
As per Claim 15, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, Barth, and Konishi, teaches the features of Claim 14, and Konishi further teaches the features of further comprising aligning the target center point to correspond with a center of one of a plurality of parking spaces in response to the vehicle capacity of the enclosed parking space being more than one.
Konishi teaches a parking assist apparatus mounted on a vehicle, where the control computer (15) calculates a virtual line (5) that sections (i.e. divides) the parking area (21), and the virtual line (5) divides the length of the parking area (21) in the vehicle width direction into a plurality of equal parts; and where the vehicle trajectory is determined to be in the middle of one of the available parking spaces (e.g. Col. 6 lines 1-21; Figures 6, 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, with the feature of defining a center point for the parking trajectory in the system of Konishi, in order to enable the vehicle to set up a parking trajectory to be centered on the available space in order to facilitate parking equally between the left and right sides of an available space in which to park (see at least Col. 2 lines 18-23 of Konishi).
Claims 16-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0284131 A1, to Max (hereinafter referred to as Max; previously of record).
As per Claim 16, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, teaches the features of Claim 11, but Suzuki fails to teach every feature of further comprising saving the target center point in a memory device of the vehicle and confirming the saved target center point based on the detected sides.
Woolliscroft teaches the features of saving the target center point in a memory device of the vehicle.
Woolliscroft teaches a method for controlling vehicle movement, where the defined maneuver may comprise a central position within the vehicle vacancy (i.e., empty parking space), such as the vehicle central longitudinal axis being centrally located within the vehicle envelope (e.g., equidistant from respective lateral sides) (i.e., defines a lateral midpoint as a central position for parking), or may define an offset position, where the vehicle is offset towards a lateral side; and where an offsetting parameter may be determined by the controller based on historical data, such as associated with one or more of a particular location or scenario, and the controller may perform a check against a previous input to determine the subsequent parking maneuver, which may be stored in memory for subsequent use of the data (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0453], [0476], [0702], [0812], [0830]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, with the feature of storing, and updating a parking location in the system of Woolliscroft, in order to effect accurate movement of the vehicle into the parking space (see at least Paragraphs [0674], [1109] of Woolliscroft).
Max further teaches the features of confirming the saved target ‘…’ point based on the detected sides.
Max teaches a method for driving a vehicle into a predefined parking space, where a first trajectory for automatic travel of the vehicle to the parking space is stored in a memory device on the vehicle, and the display can provide the parking information to the driver and allow the driver to decide (e.g. by a confirmation action) whether the travel path is to be stored in the memory or not) (e.g. Paragraphs [0013], [0021], [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, with the feature of storing, saving, and confirming a parking trajectory in a memory in the system of Max, in order to provide an optimal parking trajectory for the user (see at least Paragraph [0076] of Max).
As per Claim 17, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft, Barth, and Max, teaches the features of Claim 16, and Max further teaches the features of further comprising: realigning the target center point in response to the saved target center point not corresponding to a center point.
Max teaches a method for driving a vehicle into a predefined parking space, the first trajectory can be removed from the memory device and replaced by a new trajectory if the first trajectory has changed or an obstacle along the first trajectory is specified; and the first trajectory can bypass an obstacle (i.e. realign the parking trajectory) if the tolerance values are not exceeded for the parking trajectory (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0076]; Claim 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, with the feature of realigning the vehicle in the system of Max, in order to provide an optimal parking trajectory for the user (see at least Paragraph [0076] of Max).
As per Claim 22, Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, teaches the features of Claim 1, but the combination of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, fails to teach every feature of wherein aligning the vehicle path further comprises aligning the vehicle path using the saved target center point.
However, Max, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for driving a vehicle into a predefined parking space, the first trajectory can be removed from the memory device and replaced by a new trajectory if the first trajectory has changed or an obstacle along the first trajectory is specified; and the first trajectory can bypass an obstacle (i.e. realign the parking trajectory) if the tolerance values are not exceeded for the parking trajectory (e.g. Paragraphs [0014], [0076]; Claim 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicants' invention to further modify the method for modifying the parking support method of Suzuki, in view of Woolliscroft and Barth, with the feature of aligning a vehicle in the system of Max, in order to improve path planning and avoid anxiety for the driver (see at least Paragraphs [0016], [0057] of Max).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663