DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 04/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gannamaneni et al. (US 2022/0274496), herein after Gannamaneni (the rejection relied on the same disclosure discloses in the provisional application: 63/155,032 filed on 03/01/2021).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chon et al. (US 2020/0361323), herein after Chon, and Gannamaneni (US 2022/0274496).
Regarding claim 1, Chon discloses a vehicle high-voltage charging system using a motor driving system, the charging system (fig. 1) comprising:
a power distribution unit including: a first relay (R3, fig. 1) having one end connected to a charging power input terminal and an opposite end (one end of the R3 is connected to the negative terminal of the power supply and the opposite end, fig. 1; R3 that forms an electrical connection of the external electric vehicle supply equipment 20 and the vehicle system 10, paragraph [0054]); and
an integrated drive module separates from and external to the power distribution unit (see the annotated fig. 1),
Annotated fig. I
the integrated drive module including:
an inverter (12, fig. 1) connected to a rechargeable battery (12 is connected to the battery 11, fig. 1);
a motor (13, fig. 1) connectable to the inverter (13 is connected to 12, fig. 1) and configured to supply power, which is provided to a neutral point of the motor(paragraph [0039]-[0040]), to the inverter;
a neutral point capacitor (Cnp, fig. 1) arranged on a by-pass path, wherein a first end of the by-pass path is connected to the neutral point and the charging power input terminal to which DC charging power is adaptable to input, and a second end of the by- pass path is connectable directly to the rechargeable battery and the opposite end of the first relay (see the annotated fig. II); and
Annotated fig. II
wherein the by-pass path, the motor, and the inverter are arranged in the integrated drive module (see the annotated fig. I). However, Chon does not disclose a second relay arranged in the by-pass path and in series with the neutral point capacitor.
Gannamaneni discloses a vehicle charging system to rapidly charge the electric vehicle battery (fig. 1). Gannamaneni further discloses a relay (118, fig. 1) is connected in series with the neutral point capacitor (120 is connected to 118, fig. 1; paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chon’s vehicle charging system to have a relay connected in series with the neutral capacitor as taught by Gannamaneni, in order to enable and disable the capacitor depending on the voltage provided by the power supply system. By implementing the switch, the capacitor does not need to comprise a voltage greater than the battery. Thus, a reduced size and weight capacitor can be used in the charging system (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Chon in view of Gannamaneni discloses the vehicle charging system of claim 1, Gannamaneni further discloses wherein the second relay is positioned between the neutral point capacitor and the neutral point of the motor (118 is connected between N point and 120, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chon’s vehicle charging system to have a relay connected in series with the neutral capacitor as taught by Gannamaneni, in order to enable and disable the capacitor depending on the voltage provided by the power supply system. By implementing the switch, the capacitor does not need to comprise a voltage greater than the battery. Thus, a reduced size and weight capacitor can be used in the charging system (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, Chon in view of Gannamaneni discloses the vehicle charging system of claim 1, Gannamaneni further discloses wherein the second relay is a relay with solenoid and contactors (paragraph [0020]; any suitable switches can be used).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chon’s vehicle charging system to have a relay connected in series with the neutral capacitor as taught by Gannamaneni, in order to enable and disable the capacitor depending on the voltage provided by the power supply system. By implementing the switch, the capacitor does not need to comprise a voltage greater than the battery. Thus, a reduced size and weight capacitor can be used in the charging system (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 5, Chon in view of Gannamaneni discloses the vehicle charging system of claim 1, Gannamaneni further discloses wherein the second relay is a semiconductor switch without contactors (paragraph [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chon’s vehicle charging system to have a relay connected in series with the neutral capacitor as taught by Gannamaneni, in order to enable and disable the capacitor depending on the voltage provided by the power supply system. By implementing the switch, the capacitor does not need to comprise a voltage greater than the battery. Thus, a reduced size and weight capacitor can be used in the charging system (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Chon in view of Gannamaneni discloses the vehicle charging system of claim 5, Gannamaneni further discloses wherein the semiconductor switch is a MOSFET switch (paragraph [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chon’s vehicle charging system to have a relay connected in series with the neutral capacitor as taught by Gannamaneni, in order to enable and disable the capacitor depending on the voltage provided by the power supply system. By implementing the switch, the capacitor does not need to comprise a voltage greater than the battery. Thus, a reduced size and weight capacitor can be used in the charging system (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Chon further discloses wherein the power distribution unit further includes a third relay having one end connected to the rechargeable battery and an opposite end connected to the charging power input terminal (R1 is connected to the battery and charging power input terminal, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Chon further discloses wherein the power distribution unit further includes a fourth relay having one end connected to the neutral point of the motor and the first end of the by-pass path and an opposite end connected to the charging power input terminal (R2 is connected to N point and the first end of the bypass path and charging input terminal, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Chon further discloses wherein the charging system is adapted to be used for 400V to 800V boost charging (paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Chon in view of Gannamaneni discloses the vehicle charging system of claim 1. However, Chon is silent about wherein the neutral point capacitor and the second relay are arranged proximate to a stator winding of the motor to reduce electromagnetic interference.
Gannamaneni discloses battery charging system wherein the neutral point capacitor and the second relay are arranged proximate to a stator winding of the motor to reduce electromagnetic interference (the relay 118 and the neutral point capacitor is connected close to the winding of motor 124, fig. 1; thus, has the functionality of reduce electromagnetic interference).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chon’s vehicle charging system to have a relay connected in series with the neutral capacitor as taught by Gannamaneni, in order to enable and disable the capacitor depending on the voltage provided by the power supply system. By implementing the switch, the capacitor does not need to comprise a voltage greater than the battery. Thus, a reduced size and weight capacitor can be used in the charging system (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 12, Chon in view of Gannamaneni discloses the vehicle charging system of claim 1. However, Chon does not disclose second relay connected in series with the neutral capacitor.
Gannamaneni discloses a vehicle charging system where the relay is connected in series with neutral capacitor (120 connected with 118, fig. 1). Gannamaneni further discloses wherein the second relay is configured such that only ripple current of the neutral point capacitor flows through the second relay (the capacitor 120 can be disabled or enabled by opening or closing the switch 118, paragraph [0022] shows that the relay 118 is only used to carry the current from and into the capacitor and the ripple current is the current flowing in and out of the capacitor. Note: the main battery charging current is not passing through the relay).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chon’s vehicle charging system to have a relay connected in series with the neutral capacitor as taught by Gannamaneni, in order to enable and disable the capacitor depending on the voltage provided by the power supply system. By implementing the switch, the capacitor does not need to comprise a voltage greater than the battery. Thus, a reduced size and weight capacitor can be used in the charging system (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 13, Chon further discloses the charging system further comprising a second capacitor connected to the inverter and configured to filter DC voltage output from the inverter and DC voltage output from the rechargeable battery (Cdc capacitor connected between battery 11, and 12, fig. 1 where the capacitor basic operation is to filter the voltage).
Regarding claim 14, Chon further discloses wherein the charging system is configured to be charged by a first high voltage or a second high voltage power source, wherein the first high voltage is lower than the second high voltage and the second high voltage is a designed charging voltage of the rechargeable battery (paragraph [0004]; the charger can charge the battery 400v to 800v).
Regarding claim 15, chon further discloses wherein the neutral point capacitor is configured to filter DC voltage input to the charging power input terminal to reduce interference to a charging circuit (paragraph [0048], [0060] filtering the voltage is the basic operation of a capacitor).
Regarding claim 16, Chon further discloses wherein DC charging power input to the neutral point of the motor is boosted to a charging voltage of the rechargeable battery through coils of the motor and the inverter (claim 5).
Regarding claim 17, Chon in view of Gannamaneni discloses the charging system of claim 1. However, Chon is silent about the second relay.
Gannamaneni discloses the vehicle charging system where the second relay is connected in series with the neutral point capacitor (112 is connected to 118, fig. 1). Gannamaneni further discloses wherein the charging system is configured such that, with an external charging voltage lower than a designed charging voltage of the rechargeable battery, the second relay is closed to form a boost charging circuit (paragraph [0022] the relay 118 is closed to utilize the capacitor 120 which provides boost operation).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chon’s vehicle charging system to have a relay connected in series with the neutral capacitor as taught by Gannamaneni, in order to enable and disable the capacitor depending on the voltage provided by the power supply system. By implementing the switch, the capacitor does not need to comprise a voltage greater than the battery. Thus, a reduced size and weight capacitor can be used in the charging system (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 18, Chon in view of Gannamaneni discloses the charging system of claim 1. However, Chon is silent about the second relay.
Gannamaneni discloses the vehicle charging system where the second relay is connected in series with the neutral point capacitor (112 is connected to 118, fig. 1). Gannamaneni further discloses wherein the second relay is configured to activate and deactivate the neutral point capacitor of the charging system (The capacitor 120 can be disabled or enabled by opening or closing the switch 118, paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chon’s vehicle charging system to have a relay connected in series with the neutral capacitor as taught by Gannamaneni, in order to enable and disable the capacitor depending on the voltage provided by the power supply system. By implementing the switch, the capacitor does not need to comprise a voltage greater than the battery. Thus, a reduced size and weight capacitor can be used in the charging system (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 19, Chon further discloses wherein the third relay is configured to form a direct charging circuit such that the rechargeable battery is charged directly through the charging power input terminal (the first relay R1 is changed to an on-state during charging and external charging power is directly provided to the battery 11 through the first relay R1 and the main relay Rmain, paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 20, Chon in view of Gannamaneni discloses the charging system of claim 1. However, Chon is silent about the second relay.
Gannamaneni discloses the vehicle charging system where the second relay is connected in series with the neutral point capacitor (112 is connected to 118, fig. 1). Gannamaneni further discloses wherein a battery main charging current does not flow through the second relay (switch 118 is only used to activate and deactivate the capacitor and the main charging current does not flow through it, paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chon’s vehicle charging system to have a relay connected in series with the neutral capacitor as taught by Gannamaneni, in order to enable and disable the capacitor depending on the voltage provided by the power supply system. By implementing the switch, the capacitor does not need to comprise a voltage greater than the battery. Thus, a reduced size and weight capacitor can be used in the charging system (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 21, Chon further discloses wherein the fourth relay is configured to connect or disconnect the charging power input terminal to switch between boost charging and direct charging (the second relay R2 is a relay that determines an electrical connection state of the neutral point N of the motor 13 and the charging power input terminal 30, paragraph [0047]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chon (US 2020/0361323), and Gannamaneni (US 2022/0274496) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lian et al. (US 2022/0289053), herein after Lian.
Regarding claim 3,Chon in view of Gannamaneni discloses the vehicle charging system using a motor driving system according to claim 1. They do not explicitly disclose that the neutral capacitor is positioned between the second relay and the neutral point of the motor.
Lian discloses wherein the neutral point capacitor (capacitor 110, fig. 2) is positioned between the second relay and the neutral point of the motor (a neutral line of the motor coil 103 is connected with a first end of the capacitor 110, and the one-way conduction module 104 is connected between the second end of the capacitor 110, paragraph [0048], [0051], fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to modify Chon’s charging system in view of Gannamaneni to arrange the neutral point capacitor between the second relay and the neutral point of the motor as taught by Lian, in order to control the output voltage from the capacitor, and such an arrangement of capacitor and relay also reduces the complexity of the charging system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859