DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Chon et al. (US 2020/0361323), herein after Chon.
Regarding claim 1, Chon discloses a vehicle high-voltage charging system using a motor driving system, the charging system (fig. 1) comprising:
a power distribution unit including: a first relay (R3, fig. 1) having one end connected to a charging power input terminal and an opposite end (one end of the R3 is connected to the negative terminal of the power supply and the opposite end, fig. 1); and
an integrated drive module separate from and external to the power distribution unit (see the annotated fig. 1),
Annotated fig. I
the integrated drive module including:
an inverter (12, fig. 1) connected to a rechargeable battery (12 is connected to the battery 11, fig. 1);
a motor (13, fig. 1) connectable to the inverter (13 is connected to 12, fig. 1) and configured to supply power, which is provided to a neutral point of the motor(paragraph [0039]-[0040]), to the inverter;
a neutral point capacitor (Cnp, fig. 1) arranged on a by-pass path, wherein a first end of the by-pass path is connected to the neutral point and the charging power input terminal to which DC charging power is adaptable to input, and a second end of the by- pass path is connectable directly to the rechargeable battery and the opposite end of the first relay (see the annotated fig. II); and
Annotated fig. II
a second relay (R2, fig. 1) arranged in the by-pass path and in series with the neutral point capacitor (R2 is connected in series with Cnp, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Chon further discloses wherein the second relay is positioned between the neutral point capacitor and the neutral point of the motor (R2 is connected between N point and Cnp, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Chon discloses wherein the neutral point capacitor (Cn, fig. 1) is positioned between the second relay and the neutral point of the motor (that Cnp below is positioned at the top end by the relay R2 and (through the switch S6) back to the neutral point at the bottom end, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Chon further discloses wherein the second relay is a semiconductor switch without contactors (R2 is a relay, paragraph [0038]; Note: a simple relay is a semiconductor switch without contactors).
Regarding claim 7, Chon further discloses wherein the power distribution unit further includes a third relay having one end connected to the rechargeable battery and an opposite end connected to the charging power input terminal (R1 is connected to the battery and charging power input terminal, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Chon further discloses wherein the power distribution unit further includes a fourth relay having one end connected to the neutral point of the motor and the first end of the by-pass path and an opposite end connected to the charging power input terminal (R2 is connected to N point and the first end of the bypass path and charging input terminal, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Chon further discloses wherein the charging system is adapted to be used for 400V to 800V boost charging (paragraph [0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chon (US 2020/0361323) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishikawa et al. (US 2019/0351769), herein after Nishikawa.
Regarding claim 4, Chon discloses the vehicle high-voltage charging system using a motor driving system according to claim 1. However, Chon is silent about the relay is a relay with solenoid and contactors.
Nishikawa discloses the relay is a relay with solenoid and contactors (paragraph [0026] shows that the relay have the coils and contactors).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Chon’s second relay with solenoid and contactors at taught by Nishikawa, in order to provides electrical isolation, allowing low-power, safe, and efficient control signals in high power charging system.
Regarding claim 6, Chon discloses the vehicle high-voltage charging system using a motor driving system according to claim 1. However, Chon is silent about the semiconductor switch is a MOSFET switch.
Nishikawa discloses the semiconductor switch is a MOSFET switch (paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Chon’s relay as the semiconductor MOSFET switch as taught by Nishikawa, in order to have superior efficiency, high-speed switching (nanoseconds), and compact, lightweight, and reliable operation in the charging system.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian Huffman can be reached at (571) 272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859